精選5個關西地區自行車探索路線

關西地區的公共運輸系統完備健全,西從姬路、東到琵琶湖,遠至日本海沿岸皆相當便捷。但問題在於抵達目的地之後,準備前往其他景點時的交通工具。用走的太花時間,搭公車則是難度太高(對不諳日文的旅客來說),搭計程車雖然方便卻所費不貲。幸好,現在日本越來越多地區發現自行車旅行的優點與前景,無論租借服務及旅行路線選項都愈趨豐富完善。本篇文章將介紹關西地區五個能充分體驗自行車旅行的最佳路線!

關西

行程體驗

1. 「BIWAICHI」:騎自行車環繞日本最大湖泊一周

講到日本的自行車旅行時,其中一條最有名的莫過於琵琶湖自行車路線。這條路線名稱為「BIWAICHI」,是「琵琶湖一周(a full circle of Lake Biwa)」的日文之意簡稱。此外,這個路線也是日本政府認證且全國唯有三條的「國家級自行車道」其中之一。

這條路線總長193公里,這樣的長度全程騎完至少須花上兩天時間,是連職業自行車手也須事先做足訓練與準備才能挑戰的路線。不過請放心,因為琵琶湖兩側皆有多個車站交通便利,也有很多可休息與住宿的地方,自行車旅行的日程長度可隨個人喜好調整決定。例如:因為湖的南側有搭建橋樑,如果從大津(靠近京都)出發,也可以完成一小圈約45公里(約5小時)的小型琵琶湖一周路線。雖然湖岸線的區間交通流量最大,但能觀光的景點數量也是最多的。另外,由於琵琶湖離曾為日本政治中心的京都相當近,因此也能看到不少千年以上的歷史建築。

首先,抵達大津車站後(從「京都」車站搭乘琵琶湖線約10分鐘),即可到車站附近的大津車站觀光案內所租借自行車。首先往湖岸線方向,並往南前進後右轉,最先遇到的是不可錯過的歷史古蹟——膳所城遺址,這是1601年,由統一天下的德川家康所建立而成。接著再經過瀨田唐橋,是座有記載於《日本書紀》中(於8世紀撰寫的史書)的日本三大名橋之一。

再奮力往北前進13公里後,就能看到美麗的烏丸半島。烏丸紀念公園裡有間琵琶湖博物館,附近也有海灘與咖啡廳,騎車中途來這裡休息再適合不過了。休息後繼續好幾公里的路程,一路上左手邊是一望無際的湖面,右手邊是街道與草原交互出現的景觀,欣賞風景享受寧靜時光。一段時間後能看到琵琶湖大橋逐漸出現眼前,但請先快速經過不停留,直接到位在萬豪酒店對面的NAGISA公園,這裡有個著名的自行車聖地碑,沒拍張照留念就太可惜了。

行經琵琶湖大橋後,以逆時鐘方向沿著湖岸繼續前進。約3公里後會看到建立在湖面上的浮御堂。緊接著還可到雄琴溫泉,如果行程時間上沒問題的話(如果您自行車租好幾天,時間還很充裕的情況),就能悠閒泡個溫泉放鬆一下。透過溫泉消除疲勞、養精蓄銳,再努力衝刺剩下的14公里吧。

在坂本有個離湖岸線稍遠,須繞點遠路才能抵達的日吉大社,這是間歷經幾千年、擁有極大影響力的神社。其中,您可以在西本宮屋簷下的四個角落看到稱為神猿的猴子雕像,是這座神社的守護神。(另外還有間可謂對日本佛教來說最重要也不為過的寺院——比叡山延曆寺,雖然搭乘地面纜車很快就可抵達,但可能會偏離路線更遠。)

再回到自行車路線上,簡單介紹一下接著沿路會看到的歷史遺跡。首先,可看到發起叛變名將明智光秀所建造的坂本城遺址。接著來到唐崎神社,這裡有棵靈松,加上神社後方的琵琶湖景觀,整體呈現出極具日本情調的絕景。順路繼續前進,右手邊方向有座鮮豔朱紅色樓門的近江神宮,這裡主要供奉遷都於大津的7世紀天皇。另外,附近還有間文化設施「大津館」,是用當年為推動日本近代化所建造的首間飯店整修而成,裡面還有座優美的英式花園。透過遊覽名勝古蹟,將滋賀縣多年傳承的歷史一一解開。

名勝巡禮結束後,再回到大津的中心街道,找間湖岸咖啡廳觀賞大津港中央的花式噴水休息片刻。雖然這次介紹的自行車旅行只有繞行琵琶湖一周的五分之一,但同時還能造訪滋賀縣多個獨特著名的景點,內容豐富絕對不虛此行。

2. 天橋立、舟屋之里、伊根:京都府北部沿岸地形處處驚奇

稱為「天空之橋」的天橋立,是個在海灣上形成的沙洲,被視為一座連接天空與地面的橋樑,也是日本三景之一。

自行車可在天橋立車站正對面的「智惠Kurabe(智恵くらべ)」租借。繞行天橋立一周約14公里(2~3小時)的路程,對新手來說,雖然用一般自行車也不會難騎,但如果選擇電動自行車,可以更加輕鬆不費力。

首先看到的是離出發地不遠的名勝——智恩寺,是間供奉智慧之神文殊菩薩的寺院。這裡最著名的是獨特扇子造型的御神籤,大部分的參拜者離開前都會將籤綁在智恩寺的松樹上。拜訪完智恩寺後,緊接著就要渡過天橋立了!騎自行車單程約15分鐘的距離,從遠方眺望時會覺得天橋立很窄,但實際上也有約20至100公尺的寬度,騎自行車通過綽綽有餘。天橋立除了鬱鬱蔥蔥茂密的數千棵松樹外,這裡也有神社、海濱與茶館喔。

來到天橋立,除了騎自行車的特別體驗外,也別忘了從高處眺望天橋立的壯麗景緻,而這個絕佳的觀望景點就在傘松公園,能以不同角度欣賞剛剛自己騎車經過的沙洲。這裡還有個回溯千年以上歷史、自古流傳的獨特做法,就是彎腰從兩腿間上下顛倒眺望天橋立,眼前景象使人產生錯覺,彷彿海洋與天空互相對調,這條沙洲瞬間變成一座在天空延伸的橋樑。

搭乘纜車回到傘松公園的入口處,還能順路造訪附近的元伊勢籠神社與真名井神社。前者據說曾是太陽神女神與天照大神生活的地方,後者則是能品嘗到傳說中從天而降的神水。

如果時間不夠,可以直接從沙洲折返回程,這樣也算是走完一趟心滿意足的天橋立巡禮之旅。但如果依照官方的自行車地圖,其實還有個環繞小型潟湖一周的路線。行經這條路線時,左手邊可看到美麗的潟湖風景,右手邊則能眺望日本氛圍的街景。不只如此,沿路上還會經過溝尻舟屋、天橋立葡萄酒廠(這裡最受歡迎的是全家大小皆能品嘗的葡萄酒風味甜點!),還可到Kurhaus岩瀧享受溫泉設施。在這條能欣賞阿蘇海內海優美風景的路線上,整趟路程幾乎都有專用自行車車道,其餘所經道路也皆是寧靜小巷或寬闊的人行道,無需任何高難度的騎車技術喔!

在智惠Kurabe租借的腳踏車,記得要在下午5點前歸還。歸還後,接著還可到天橋立View Land,這裡也是其中一個能欣賞天橋立自然美景的著名觀景點,這裡跟前面去過的傘松公園一樣,彎下腰從兩腳之間看向天橋立,就能看到彷彿在天空中架設橋梁般的景緻。View Land除了有觀景台,還有摩天輪、雲霄飛車、卡丁車與迷你高爾夫等遊樂設施。從這裡看到的天橋立,因為觀賞角度與其他地方不同,又被稱之為「飛龍觀」。

如果您有計畫到京都北部旅遊,非常推薦您可在伊根小鎮多停留一些時間。伊根是個以如詩畫般美麗的舟屋、因而廣為人知的著名漁村。從天橋立到伊根,搭公車只需1個小時交通十分便利,此外也被列入京都府事業所「京都海道」網絡延伸的一環,在此區域規劃自行車路線。

伊根就是人們口中常說的充滿「日本」氣息的雅緻小鎮,這條自行車路線便從這樣美好氛圍的街道中出發。抵達伊根之里公園前的道路迂回曲折,再繼續往西北方走,景緻漸漸轉為茂密森林的鄉間道路。另外,沿路上還有間新井崎神社也不可錯過。這裡有個小型的海岬地形,能欣賞到如畫般的美麗海岸,還能遙望遠方寬廣遼闊的新井千枚田。

接著沿著國道178號返回伊根。13公里的距離長度,花費時間約2小時剛剛好,是個自行車新手也適合挑戰的路線。如果想要更多運動量的人,可以不返回伊根,繼續往更遠的丹後半島前進。丹後半島有個可愛雅緻的燈塔,還有非常新鮮好吃的海產,不只如此,這裡也有溫泉喔。不過,要騎完丹後半島全程有80公里以上的路程,因此只推薦給對體力極有信心的人可以嘗試。

3. 只泡溫泉太可惜!城崎溫泉絕景之旅

過去1400多年間,城崎溫泉連續被最多人選為「最受歡迎的旅遊景點」,這是因為城崎溫泉的溫泉水據說有著神奇的療癒能力。川流不息的河川兩側,聚集多個歷史悠久的建築。自古以來,許多旅客特地為溫泉而來,每個人都身穿浴衣漫步於城崎溫泉的街道上,畫面之美非常適合拍照留念。不過,城崎溫泉附近除了有主要的溫泉街與露天風呂外,還有很多不容錯過的名勝景點!參加當地的觀光事業所推薦的自行車旅程,就會介紹給您很多值得一看的景點,以及能簡單享受餐點最棒的地方喔。

這趟旅程就從造訪名為一之湯的溫泉浴池出發,緊接著到極樂寺與老字號和菓子店港屋。騎出溫泉街後,接著繼續沿著水面閃閃發光、寬廣的圓山川,往下游海岸方向前進。抵達海岸後,可以造訪在地捕獲松葉蟹相當著名的魚市場。特別的是還有間名為二方的店家,專賣用新鮮漁獲磨碎熬煉的魚漿所製作的蒲鉾(魚板)與竹輪。

此趟路線還會另外帶您前往2個名勝景點,是大部分造訪城崎的觀光客經常錯過的地方。第一個就是臨海的日和山海岸,在這裡可以欣賞到高聳的斷崖及遠方多座島嶼的壯麗景緻,諸多島嶼中據說有個是民間故事浦島太郎的故鄉。在島上還有一座東屋(※),彷彿神秘的民間故事真實存在這世界上。特別是濃霧環繞島嶼佇立其中時,更加如夢似幻!另一個景點則是離海岸有些距離的八五郎戶島濕地,這裡是專為復育瀕臨絕種的東方白鸛而打造的保育環境。
 

※東屋:類似涼亭建築,據說外觀就是浦島太郎故事中龍宮城的樣貌。

若希望參加此處介紹的導覽行程,請由下方資訊欄裡的連結申請。

此外,造訪城崎溫泉時,也能在「城崎溫泉車站」附近的「城崎溫泉 TOURIST INFORMATION SOZORO」和「城崎溫泉遊客觀光中心」租借腳踏車。

需要留意的是,參加導覽行程的集合地點和腳踏車租借地點不同(有導遊隨行的導覽行程,集合地點在「小宿  緣」)。

請參考以下的資訊欄了解更詳細的資訊吧!

4. 前進瀨戶內海沿岸 閱歷史品美酒

最近引起話題的自行車旅遊景點,位在兵庫縣西部的播磨地區,地方自治體將此地區的山脈、山谷、小鎮,如同Z字縫線連接般,建立共有9條自行車路線的「自行車社群(サイクルクラスター)」。9條路線中最出色且距離最長的是徐徐海風賞景路線,全長48公里需花約5個小時,適合中級者挑戰。也因此在無自行車道的路段時,需持續集中精神不可大意。

自行車旅遊的起點位在播州赤穗車站,從京都或大阪前往播州赤穗車站,不需轉車即可直達。在附近的赤穗觀光協會租借腳踏車後就馬上出發吧!出發後往南走,首先前往此地區的2大名勝——赤穗大石神社與赤穗城遺跡。

應該有人有聽過忠臣藏47名浪人的故事吧。故事中播磨藩藩主遭受旗本的侮辱,憤而拔刀砍傷對方,也因此被判刑以切腹謝罪。而後藩主的47名家臣為替亡君洗刷耻辱,經一年策劃成功殺害旗本,事後主動自首。在日本是個家喻戶曉的故事(甚至在其他國家也是),充分展現出何謂武士精神。

故事背景實際發生在赤穗,而赤穗城即為藩主的政廳。雖然現在看到的赤穗城是重建過的樣貌,但裡面的護城河、庭園景色都十分壯麗值得一看。另外,在附近的赤穗大石神社則為供奉47名武士創立的神社,並且是以主事者住家遺址建立而成。這裡還有個特別體驗,就是在一張特別的紙上寫下代表不愉快回憶的一個字,然後放在水鉢的水面上,會發現字跡慢慢消失,代表著心中不愉快的回憶也逐漸淡去。

另外,其他的行程大多是沿著海岸的國道32號線、458號線與250號線的路線。其中250號線因為能欣賞瀨戶內海的優美景緻,因此在日本的自行車手眼中也是相當知名的路線。天氣好的日子,最遠甚至還能看到小豆島、四國及瀨戶內海另一側的陸上景觀喔!

進入坂越小鎮後繼續沿著海岸前進的話,便會看見古老純樸、懷舊的商店街。經過一番努力抵達後,有種彷彿瞬間穿越了時空一般的氛圍。接著行程中的重頭戲-奧藤酒造鄉土館,是間擁有400年歷史的酒窖鄉土館,千萬別忘了買瓶酒當伴手禮喔!

沿著國道250號線繼續前進,會經過歷史悠久的室津漁港,接著再到賀茂神社稍作停留欣賞美麗海景。賀茂神社有個相當知名的自行車交通安全御守,專為保守騎自行車的人一路平安。御守有漂亮的藍色與粉色兩種顏色設計,對於熱衷騎自行車的人,絕對是個必備御守!

快接近終點時,便能看到綾部山梅林。24公頃的廣大園區中有兩萬棵梅樹,壯觀景緻令人驚艷不已。梅花盛開的季節約在二月中至三月底,每到這個時期,梅林會呈現整片浪漫繽紛的淡粉紅色。接著來到此趟旅程最後一站-斑鳩寺,這間寺院最珍貴且須著墨之處,在於它是約1400年前由輔佐天皇攝政的聖德太子所創建而成,而現今如提起聖德太子,更是知性與智慧象徵。在斑鳩寺境內優雅的三重塔完美呈現日本的本質與精神,拍出來的每張照片都是藝術。

接著繼續往附近的網干車站前進,再搭乘西向的電車到播州赤穗車站。只要將自行車收起裝好,就能帶上電車一起搭乘。別忘了在下午5點前歸還自行車喔!

5. 環繞福井市,五感盡享大自然恩惠

福井市位在足羽川與九頭龍川匯集之處,因此在這個地區騎自行車旅行,能一路欣賞沿著河川的美麗景致。其中一條自行車路線,是從位於西邊充滿魅力的永平寺出發,往位在東邊舊城下町遺跡的一乘谷繞行一周,約50公里長。雖然一路上多為平坦道路,但在往永平寺方向時路面較為陡峭,對新手來說建議選擇電力充足的電動自行車會更加省力。

不過,這裡要推薦另一條路線,目的地是騎往下游河域的三國漁港,路途上能一眼盡收東尋坊無敵美景。這條路線最大看頭就是能欣賞盛開的花田,無論春天或秋天,都非常推薦來這裡旅遊。

在福井車站觀光案內所租借電動自行車後就馬上出發吧。往足羽川的下游方向前進後右轉,眼前迎面而來的夢幻景觀,是每到春天沿著河川2.2公里路、幾百棵盛開的淡粉色櫻花並木,繽紛景緻美到令人窒息。如此壯觀景象,也可稱得上日本數一數二的賞櫻勝地。再稍微往下游方向前進,還能徜徉在一片黃澄澄、充滿朝氣的油菜花田中。

再繼續往下游前進,即可看到宮之下大波斯菊公苑。如果秋天來這裡,正好是欣賞美麗的紫色大波斯菊的季節。另外,這裡還有廣闊的稻田,秋天便會轉為一整片金黃色美景。

此趟旅程的終點是在三國的河川出海口。這個區域有運動公園和海濱,還有與當地漁業相連的街道與市場,相當具特色魅力。不只如此,還有溫泉設施可以利用喔!這裡絕對是能讓五感發自內心感受大自然之美的地方。另外,東尋坊也離這裡不遠,好不容易來了,可千萬別錯過喔。

這條自行車路線全長26公里,花費時間約3~4個小時。回程也一樣要騎車,感覺會有點辛苦,但請不用擔心!當地的越前鐵道,於周末與假日時有「自行車列車」可使用。包含三國的兩個車站及其他指定車站,都能帶著腳踏車一起搭乘。可利用時間是早上8點至晚上6點,一整年大部分期間都可以使用(冬季除外),票價則需多加200日幣。(2021年使用期間尚未公布。)

搭乘「自行車列車」雖然不能在福井站下車,但可以在鄰近車站上下車,從下車的地方再開始騎,還可以再觀光一下。租借的腳踏車可在多個租賃設施選擇自由歸還。

關西地區——自行車愛好者的新天地

環繞瀨戶內海的自行車路線Shimanami Kaido(瀨戶内海橫斷自行車道),在國際上認知度逐漸升高,因此也帶起日本各地區自行車租借服務與路線更加廣泛及完善。原先只有少數公車與電車才能抵達的地方,也就能拋開交通限制,依造自己的計畫完成旅行。

關西地區充滿著各樣獨具風格魅力的地方景點!更知道更多詳細資訊,歡迎點進以下連結參考!

the kansai guide banner

the exciting kansai banner

 

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

搜尋餐廳

5 Ways to Explore the Kansai Region on Bicycle

The Kansai region is blessed with an incredible public transit network, stretching from Himeji in the west, to Lake Biwa in the east, and all along the Sea of Japan coast as well. But once you arrive at your destination, getting around might be a bit difficult: walking takes time, buses are difficult to navigate (especially in English), and taxis are expensive. Thankfully, more and more areas in Japan are realizing the potential of bicycle tourism and are offering bikeshares and bike tours! Here are 5 areas in the Kansai region that you can fully explore on a bike!

Kansai

Experiences

1. The “Biwa-ichi”: Cycling Around Japan’s Largest Lake

The Lake Biwa cycling route is definitely one of Japan’s best-known cycling destinations. It is often called “Biwa-ichi,” short for “Biwako-isshu” (circling around Lake Biwa), and it is one of only three “National Cycle Routes” designated by the government.

The full trip is some 193 km, long enough that even experienced cyclists need to plan this in advance and should block off two days for it. You can plan a bike trip that’s as long or short as you want, though, as both sides of the lake have frequent rail services and plenty of places to take a break or stay overnight. There is also a bridge that spans the lake towards its southern edge, so if you start from Otsu (the closer side to Kyoto), you can make a mini-loop of about 45 km (~5 hours). This stretch of coastline sees the most traffic, but allows you to do the most sightseeing. As the lake is so close to Kyoto, Japan’s historical power center, you’ll bump into numerous buildings with histories of more than a thousand years.

Head to Otsu Station, which is 10 minutes from Kyoto on the Biwako Line, and rent a bicycle at the Otsu Station Tourist Information Center nearby. Bike down to the coastline and turn right. The first historical site of note you’ll come across is the ruins of Zeze Castle, built by Japan’s great unifier Tokugawa Ieyasu in 1601 but destroyed in 1870. You then come across the Seta no Karahashi bridge, which is noteworthy for being one of the Three Famous Bridges of Japan and was even mentioned in the Nihon-shoki (one of Japan’s oldest texts, from the 8th century).

Pedaling 13 km to the north will take you to the little Karasuma Peninsula, a park that also hosts the Lake Biwa Museum. It includes a mini-beach and a cafe as well, making it an excellent place to take a break. After a few more quiet kilometers – seemingly endless water to your left, alternating fields and towns on your right – you will come across the Lake Biwa Bridge. But you should briefly go past it first. The nearby Nagisa Park, in front of the Marriott Hotel, has a well-known Cyclist Monument that you definitely want to take a photo of.

Cross the Lake Biwa Bridge, then continue the counterclockwise loop. About 3 kilometers later, you’ll come across the floating Ukimido temple. Ogoto Onsen comes soon after, and if your bike plan allows it (if you booked a bike for multiple days, or you have enough time left), now’s an excellent time to take a soak in a hot spring. Wipe away your fatigue, and prepare your spirit for the remaining 14 km.

At Sakamoto, you can make a brief detour inland to visit Hiyoshi Shrine, an influential shrine for over a millennium. In its west hall, notice that all four corners are decorated with monkey figurines, as Masaru the Monkey is this shrine’s guardian. (The cable car leading up to Hiei-zan Enryaku-ji, perhaps the most important spot in Japanese Buddhism, is also nearby, although it would represent a considerable diversion.)

Heading back onto the path, the historical sites follow each other rapidly here: the ruins of Sakamoto Castle, built by the famous traitor figure Akechi Mitsuhide. Karasaki Shrine, whose legendary pine trees and lakeside location combine to create a truly Japanese image. To your right, the Omi Jingu, with its bright red Romon Gate, which celebrates the 7th-century Emperor who moved his capital to Otsu. And the "Otsu-kan" cultural center, a former hotel from Japan's first modernization period, with a lovely English garden. These sights are a testament to the prefecture's long and storied history.

And with that, you’re back in the center of Otsu. Wind down at a lakeside cafe, watching the Flower Fountain in the middle of the harbor. Of course, your bike trip might only have covered one-fifth of the mighty Lake Biwa, but this manageable trek lets you see a lot of what Shiga Prefecture has to offer.

2. Amano Hashidate and the Ine Boathouses: Wonderous Landscapes in Kyoto’s Northern Coast

Amano Hashidate, a little sandbar of land spanning an ocean inlet, roughly translates to a “bridge in heaven” and is thought of as a bridge connecting earth with the heavens. It is called one of Japan’s Three Great Views.

From Amano Hashidate station, pick up a bicycle at Chie Kurabe, a souvenir shop just across the street. The path around Amano Hashidate is 14 km (2-3 hours) and relatively accessible to beginners even without an e-bike, but it's always nice to get some mechanical help!

An immediate first spot is Chion-ji, a temple dedicated to the Buddhist god of wisdom, Monju Bosatsu. This temple is known for its special omikuji (fortune slips) that take the shape of a fan, which many visitors hang on the temple’s pine trees. After that, it’s time to cross the sandbar itself! Biking one way takes about 15 minutes. While seeming ephemeral from afar, Amano Hashidate is actually more than 20m wide (and up to 100m wide in places), which is enough space to cross on your bicycle. It is utterly lush with thousands of pine trees, and you can also find a shrine, a beach, and a tea house along the way.

Biking across Amano Hashidate itself is a perfectly fine experience, but everyone who visits should see it from up high. Kasamatsu Park is one excellent location for this, and you’ll come across it soon after you’re done crossing the sandbar. One quirky tradition that apparently dates back a thousand years is to look at it upside-down with your head between your legs. By confusing your sense of perspective and blurring the sea with the sky, it makes the sandbar appear as a heavenly bridge.

Once you climb back down from the park via cable car, you can visit the Motoise Kono Shrine and the Manai Shrine: the former is said to have been once inhabited by the sun goddess Amaterasu, while at the latter, you can taste water that is said to come from the heavens.

If you’re short on time, you can cycle back across the sandbar now and be content that you’ve fulfilled the classic Amano Hashidate experience. But the official route takes you around the little lagoon, where you can gaze upon the beautiful waters on your left and a classic Japanese small town on your right. Along the way, you can swing by the boathouses of Mizoshiri, the Amano Hashidate Winery (which offers family-friendly wine-flavored desserts!), and the Kurhaus Iwataki, a hot spring facility. Much of the path is a dedicated bike lane with an excellent view of the lake, and the rest are quiet side streets or ample sidewalks. No expert bike maneuvering needed!

Note that bikes from Chie Kurabe must be returned by 5 PM. After this you can then head up to Amano Hashidate Viewland, the other famous spot for gazing upon the natural monument. In addition to being an observation deck, the Viewland is also a decked-out amusement park with a Ferris wheel, roller coaster, go-karts and mini golf. The view of the sandbar from here is known as the “Flying Dragon View,” because of the particular angle.

If you’re planning on visiting northern Kyoto, we recommend you spend at least a few hours in the town of Ine, a fishing town that has become famous for its colorful, picturesque boathouses. It’s accessible with a 1-hour bus ride from Amano Hashidate, and the Kyoto prefectural office has prepared a bike route here as well, part of its wider “Kyoto Kaido” network.

The course begins in the main street of this quintessential Japanese small town, which winds its way through a park before becoming a forested country road as you head northeast. Look out for Niizaki Shrine, on a small spit of land overlooking the ocean, the picturesque Norose Coast, and enormous rice terraces that spread out against the backdrop of the sea.

You make your way back to Ine by turning onto Route 178. It’s a manageable course – 13 km, good for a 2-hour journey – and accessible to beginners. More athletic visitors might opt to just keep going instead of turning back: further on in the Tango Peninsula, you can find a pretty lighthouse, excellent fresh seafood, and an onsen resort. But cycling the full peninsula is over 80 km, so it’s best to only make this trek if you’re confident in your abilities.

3. More Than Just Baths! A Tour of the Natural Delights of Kinosaki Onsen

Kinosaki Onsen has been a premier tourist destination for some 1400 years due to what was thought of as the magical healing properties of its springs. It’s a very Insta-worthy destination, with the pretty images of traditional buildings clustered around a central river, and the visitors walking between the various baths dressed in traditional yukata clothes. But there’s a lot more to see around Kinosaki Onsen than the central town and the open-air baths! The local tourist office offers a bicycle tour that shows you around everything there is to see, as well as the best places to grab a bite.

The tour begins with visits to the Ichi-no-Yu public bath, Gokuraku-ji temple, and Minato-ya, a traditional confectionery. It then heads out of the central town and follows the broad, sparkling Maruyama River down to the ocean coast. Once you’re at the coast, you can swing by a fresh fish market that specializes in catching snow crab. In particular, there is one store, Futakata, that specializes in freshly-made fish cakes called kamaboko and chikuwa.

The tour also makes two stops that most tourists to Kinosaki wouldn’t think to visit: one is the Hiyoriyama Coast facing the sea. It’s an impressive sight of craggy cliffs and far-off islands dotting the landscape, including the island that appears in the folk tale Urashima Taro. The little gazebos standing on the island make it really seem like a mystical fairy-tale world, especially when the island is shrouded in mist! There is also the Hachigoro Toshima Wetlands, further from the sea, which is a wildlife preserve for the endangered Oriental White Stork.

If you're looking for the full guided tour experience, you can find the information int the box below, including how to register. Kinosaki Onsen has two bicycle rental locations for individiduals looking to take a ride, at SOZORO and at the Kinosaki Onsen Information Counter, both near the train station. (Please note that guided-tour participants meet at an entirely different location: the Koyado Enn inn.)

Individual bike rental:

4. The Harima Region: History and Sake Along the Inland Sea

Another emerging cycling destination is the Harima area of western Hyogo Prefecture, where local governments have set up a “cluster” of nine bicycle routes that weave through mountains and valleys and small towns. The Sea Breeze Course is by far the longest of these courses, at 48 km and about 5 hours, and requires an intermediate level: there are stretches of road without sidewalks that require riders to stay vigilant.

The ride starts out at Banshu-Ako Station, accessible with a single ride from Kyoto and Osaka. Rent a bicycle at the nearby Tourist Information Center, and you’re off! Head southward from the station to head to the city’s two major attractions: the Ako Oishi Shrine and the Ako Castle Ruins.

You may have heard of the story of the 47 Ronin, where a local lord was executed in the capital for the crime of drawing his sword on a rude, offensive court official. 47 of his retainers swore to avenge their master’s honor and, after a year of plotting, successfully killed the court official before turning themselves in. This tale is widely known in Japan (and even overseas), as it exemplifies the samurai code of conduct.

This story actually takes place here in Ako, and Ako Castle was the seat of this lord’s government. It’s still being repaired, but it’s worth visiting for the lovely scenery of the moat and gardens. The nearby Ako Oishi Shrine specifically honors the 47 samurai and is located at the former home of their ringleader. One thing you can do here is write down a bad memory on special paper, float it on the small pool, and watch the words you wrote disappear, freeing you from the memory.

Much of the rest of the route follows the seaside Routes 32, 458, and 250. The latter is famed among cyclists nationwide for its gorgeous views of the ocean. You can see as far as the Shodo Islands or, on a good day, even the island of Shikoku, all the way on the other side of the Inland Sea!

In the town of Sakoshi, you can turn onto a quaint, old-fashioned commercial street where you can feel as if you’ve cycled back in time. The centerpiece is the Okuto Shuzo Kyodo-kan, a sake distillery and museum that dates back 400 years. Take a decorative bottle back home with you!

You’ll then come across the long-standing fishing port of Murotsu, and here, you can stop at Kamo Shrine, with excellent views of the ocean. Kamo Shrine is famous for its omamori (good-luck charms) that offer traffic safety for cyclists. Available in colorful pink and blue designs, these omamori are a must-have for any dedicated cyclist!

Towards the end of the ride, you will come across the Mt. Ayabe Plum Grove, where some 20,000 plum trees across 24 hectares offer some truly astonishing views. The plum trees blossom between mid-February and late March, blanketing the park in a gorgeous pale pink. Finally, the trail ends at Ikaruga Temple, whose main claim to fame is that it was founded some 1400 years ago by Shotoku Taishi, the famed imperial advisor whose name is still synonymous with wisdom and brilliance. The elegant three-story pagoda is so quintessentially Japanese and very Instagrammable.

From there, make your way to nearby Aboshi Station and take the westbound train back to Banshu-Ako. Trains allow you to take bikes on board so long as they’re in a bicycle cover. Make sure to return the bike by 5PM!

5. Fukui: Appreciate Nature With All Five Senses

The city of Fukui is located where the Asuwa River meets the Kuzuryu River, and as a result, you can do a lot of sightseeing through riverside cycling. One option is to make a large, 50 km loop that swings east to the significant and beautiful monastery of Eiheiji, then south to the ruins of the former castle town of Ichijodani, then back to the city. While much of this route is flat, the approach to Eiheiji is quite steep, so cyclists with less experience should enlist the help of a fully-charged e-bike.

But we’ll go into the other main option, to cycle downstream until you end up at the fishing port of Mikuni and the impressive cliffs of Tojinbo. This route goes through some gorgeous flower gardens, so you want to plan your visit for spring or fall.

Start off at Fukui Station, where you can pick up an electric bicycle at the tourist information center. Make your way down to the Asuwa River and turn right; here, if you’re visiting in the spring, you’ll be greeted by the breathtaking sight of hundreds of pale pink sakura (cherry blossom) trees, lining the river over 2.2 km. It’s easily among the most expansive sakura spots in the country. A bit further down the same road is the Nanohana Road, where you can coast through a field of cheery yellow rapeseed blossoms.

Further down the river, you can encounter the Miyanoshita Cosmos Garden, where the cosmos flowers blossoms into a sweet purple in the autumn. You’ll also find broad expanses of rice farms, which turn the landscape golden in the fall.

The endpoint is Mikuni, where the river flows into the sea. There you’ll find parks and beaches, as well as cute townscapes and markets associated with the local fishing industry. Not only that, there is an onsen as well! You can truly enjoy nature with all of your senses here. The cliffs of Tojinbo are also a short hop away, and if you’ve made it all the way here, you absolutely must check it out.

The whole course is 26 km and can be done in about 3-4 hours. If you’re feeling too tired to bike the way back, then fret not! The local Echizen Railway has a “Cycle Train” program on weekends and holidays, where you can bring your bike on board at select stations, including the two stations at Mikuni. This program is available from 8 am to 6 pm, for most of the year (except the winter), and costs an additional fee of 200 yen. (The 2021 dates have not been announced.)

“Cycle Train” can’t take you all the way to Fukui Station, but you can get close to downtown, then get back on your bike and do some more sightseeing. You can drop off your bike at any of the bike rental network’s many stations.

The Kansai Region, Now Open to Cyclists

The international popularity of the Shimanami Kaido, a bike route across the Inland Sea, has contributed to an explosion in areas throughout Japan that offer dedicated bike rentals and bike paths. Places that once relied on infrequent buses and trains can now be visited on your own time. 

So pack your flowy pants, your sports-friendly shoes, and a water bottle, and plan your cycling getaway today!

The Kansai region is filled with all sorts of fascinating locations! Check out these links to find out everything the area has to offer:

the kansai guide banner

the exciting kansai banner


If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search