【大阪自由行】為初訪大阪者量身打造一日遊行程:24小時大阪之旅

大阪是日本第三大城市,不論是大阪市還是周邊地區,都有很多好玩好逛的景點。就算只在大阪待一天,也不能錯過大阪城、生氣蓬勃的道頓堀和難波地區,更不能錯過大阪的各種美食!如果只在大阪待一天,可千萬不能把時間浪費在交通上。本指南安排的行程,可以讓您用最短的時間,逛完所有大阪精華景點!

大阪

玩樂

上午 8:30 | 大阪城

大阪城是大阪的地標,大阪城公園非常適合當作旅遊的第一站。大阪城歷史博物館早上 9 點開放,但是您可以早一點來,在花園裡走走逛逛再去大阪城。如果您是個早起者,不妨趁著觀光巴士蜂擁而至前,一早就到公園裡享用咖啡。

大阪城坐落於山丘上,四周環繞寬闊的護城河與雄偉的城牆,您可以一邊登上大阪城,一邊細細品味大阪城精緻複雜的建築與周圍的城市美景。

大阪城公園隨四季變換風貌的美麗花園也極富盛名。一月到三月是梅花的季節,三月時桃花盛開。到了四月,大阪城公園裡 300 株櫻花樹爭奇鬥豔,成為大阪最熱門的賞花景點之一。

登上大阪城並不會太困難,但如果您是帶著小孩或行動不便的旅客,可以選擇搭乘 9:30 開始行駛的小火車,火車會駛過花園,開往大阪城。小火車的單程票價是成人 300日幣,4 歲到 12 歲的孩童 200日幣,老人與行動不便者(附加一位照顧者)則是 100日幣。

大阪城歷經二次世界大戰的戰火摧殘,1997 年重建完成,現在的大阪城不僅只是恢復了原本的內部陳設,更成為一座博物館。大阪城博物館裡展示著歷史文物和藝品,還有觀景台可以飽覽大阪市的美景。

站在大阪城周邊的廣場,就能欣賞到大阪市的風光。所以,除非您非常著迷於大阪城的歷史,不然我們會建議您跳過參觀博物館的行程,在外面欣賞雄偉的大阪城和美麗的花園就好。大阪城公園占地 15 英畝,一定能讓您逛個過癮。

逛完大阪城公園,可以往東北走到大阪城公園站,搭大阪環狀線,前往天王寺站,整段路程大約 15 分鐘。

大阪城公園幅員廣大,所以我們建議您從谷町四丁目  站或森之宮站前往大阪城公園,這樣一來,離開的時候就不用往回走到大阪城公園站,可以省下不少時間。

上午10:30 | 海闊天空展望台(阿倍野海闊天空大廈)

抵達天王寺站後,第一站是附近的阿倍野海闊天空大廈。這可是全日本最高的摩天大樓,絕對不容錯過!

海闊天空展望台位在大樓頂端,觀景台位於 58、59 和 60 樓,站在上面就能俯瞰大阪市令人屏息的景緻。

阿倍野海闊天空大廈裡百貨商場林立,但是本篇指南接下來會介紹其他更值得一逛的購物地點,因此我們建議您逛逛觀景台就好。

寬闊的觀景台上也不乏好吃好玩的事,您可以在這裡購買紀念品,58 樓還有露天用餐區,可以在這裡享用各式點心飲料。

從巨大落地窗看出去,城市美景一覽無疑,如果您不懼高,可以站上玻璃地板區,體驗一下身處高空的臨場感。

至於想要挑戰極限的旅客,可以參加  EDGE THE HARUKAS 空中漫步行程,您可以走上狹窄的玻璃空中迴廊,從 300 公尺的高空俯瞰大阪市。體驗空中漫步需要配戴安全裝備,所以需要多預留一點準備時間。

上午11:30 | 天王寺公園

離開 300 公尺的高空,下一站是附近的天王寺公園。天王寺公園是前往大阪新世界的必經之地,不過公園本身也是很有看頭!以下是我們的建議行程:

藝術愛好者絕對不能錯過大阪市立美術館。美術館的建築歷史悠久,典藏約 8,000 幅作品,可以在這裡一覽日本和其他國家的一流藝術作品。

緊鄰美術館的慶澤園,是一座美不勝收的日式庭園,與京都知名的無鄰菴和平安神宮神苑一樣,都是出自小川治兵衛之手。

另一個值得一訪的景點是天王寺動物園。由於天王寺動物園占地不大,設備也未達國際標準,因此園方在設施升級上花了不少功夫。如果您的孩子很喜歡動物,票價親民的天王寺動物園絕對是您的首選。 

如果行程緊湊或是剛好到了午餐時間,我們建議您前往新世界之前,在慶澤園和茶臼山古墳稍作停留即可。

下午 1:00 |新世界和通天閣

新世界是大阪的地標之一,原先就是為了觀光娛樂而建。建造於 1912 年的新世界,當初是模仿巴黎和紐約的街景打造,二次世界大戰之後被世人遺忘,有好長一段時間曾經是大阪沒落地區的代名詞。

雖然新世界不如大阪其他地區那麼光鮮亮麗,但是充滿異國與復古風情的氛圍,以及著名的通天閣,依然吸引了不少遊客的目光。

通天閣最早建於 1912 年,1943 年遭大火吞噬,1956 年浴火重生。通天閣原先的設計借鏡自艾菲爾鐵塔和凱旋門,現在的通天閣則是展現獨樹一格的復古科幻未來風。通天閣底部的樓層販賣許多趣味糖果和紀念品,還有非常著名的幸運福神Billiken。

通天閣上也設有幾座觀景台,不過景色不如海闊天空展望台來得壯觀,所以可以跳過。除此之外,上去通天閣頂樓的票價是成人 800 日幣。

新世界完美融合大阪最迷人的特質:獨樹一格的街景與令人讚不絕口的「B 級平民美食」。

B 級絕對不是次等的意思!事實上,B 級美食是指簡單、樸實無華,比起賣相更注重口感的療癒美食,而新世界正是 B 級美食的天堂。

如果到新世界享用午餐,我們首推當地最有名的串燒。串燒當初是為了讓工人快速填飽肚子而發明的,現在卻成了國內外遊客來到新世界必嚐的日式速食。有些餐廳甚至會準備鍋子,讓客人自己 DIY 動手炸串燒。

吃串燒也有規則要遵守。由於桌上的沾醬是跟其他客人共享,所以千萬不能沾兩次。如果想沾更多醬汁,請用生菜葉當作湯匙來挖醬。

在新世界四處逛逛,找一家餐廳享用午餐。用完餐可經過通天閣,走到位於新世界北邊的惠美須町站,路程大約 5 分鐘。接著搭上大阪地下鐵的堺筋線,在日本橋站下車。

小提醒:如果您熱愛街頭小吃,卻人生地不熟,跟著當地人走就對了!Magical Trip 推出的Osaka Local Foodie Tour in Dotonbori and Shinsekai  不只介紹新世界的串燒,也會介紹我們的下一站道頓堀,將大阪最棒的街頭美食一網打盡!

下午3:00 |探索南街地區

南街地區是大阪最繁忙的地帶,也是逛街、娛樂和美食天堂。這裡很適合慢慢逛上一整天,但是在時間有限的情況下,最好還是擬定逛街策略。

我們精選幾處南街最值得一逛的區域和賣場,這些地方不只是商場,更是熱門觀光景點,而且都距離日本橋站不遠,走路幾分鐘即可抵達,所以您到的時候,可以選擇最有興趣的幾處逛逛。

南街是大阪最棒的購物天堂,但是您可能會迷失在琳瑯滿目的商店街。不論您想要買什麼,若是您想讓這趟日本購物之旅發揮最大效率,建議您雇請一位購物導遊,他會告訴你該去哪裡採購,還能夠幫忙給建議和翻譯。詳細資訊可以參考 Voyagin!

黑門市場

從日本橋站 10 號出口出來,就能抵達有「大阪人廚房」之稱的黑門市場。這條長達 580 公尺的寬大商店街上,販賣各式各樣的美食和雜貨。黑門市場大約成立於 190 年前,為大阪生氣蓬勃的美食文化重心增添不少光彩。

道具屋筋商店街(廚具雜貨街)

從日本橋站往西邊的難波站走約 7 分鐘,就能看到長 150 公尺的道具屋筋商店街。這條商店街專賣各式廚具,例如日本刀和陶器,甚至連餐廳裝飾用的燈籠、暖簾,還有日本著名的塑膠食物模型,這裡都買得到。

如果您熱愛下廚,喜愛日本料理,或是想購買實用又有品質保障的紀念品,這條街絕對是您的首選。

日本橋電電城

電電城有「大阪秋葉原」之稱,是電子迷和阿宅族的聖地。電電城位在惠美須町站和日本橋站之間,如果想買動漫、電玩周邊商品,或是想造訪女僕咖啡廳,電電城就是您的首選!

如果您對日本流行文化沒什麼興趣,只是想買電器用品,可以直接去難波的 Bic Camera商場,比較省時。

心齋橋和戎橋筋商店街

這兩條商店街分別位在道頓堀兩側,由戎橋連接兩地。如果從日本橋站過來,可以沿著難波地下街往西走,一直走到戎橋筋商店街,再沿著商店街往北走,走到對岸的心齋橋商店街,體驗兩地的氛圍。 

兩條商店街都非常活絡,總是擠得水洩不通,絕對值得一逛!除了琳瑯滿目的商店,還有遊戲機中心、卡拉 OK,以及多不勝數的餐廳。由於這裡是觀光勝地,所以大部分的商店都有免稅服務。就算只是單純逛逛不採購,也能深深感受大阪繁忙熱鬧的商店街文化。

美國村

美國村(拼音為 America Mura 或 Amemura)位在心齋橋商店街的西邊,走過去非常快。 

美國村原先是工業區,1970 年代成為大阪青年文化的發祥地。「美國村」這個名字,源自以前在這裡販賣的進口美國服飾。現在的美國村時尚服飾店、酒吧和夜店林立,成為大阪時尚潮人的聚集地。

御堂筋

熱鬧繁華的南街地區,是大阪的必訪景點,但是如果您想要體驗比較高檔悠閒的氛圍,可以到御堂筋看看。位在心齋橋地區的御堂筋,一路從難波站延伸到梅田站,路面寬廣、銀杏夾道,可以逛逛國際時尚精品店、蘋果旗艦店和大丸百貨。

下午 7:00 |法善寺和法善寺橫丁

法善寺位在道頓堀南方,看起來小巧的法善寺建於 1637 年,曾經是座稍大的寺院。二次世界大戰後,寺院只剩下一小部分,因此在當地人心中具有特殊地位。法善寺裡有一尊爬滿植被的水掛不動尊,據說只要朝神像灑水就能獲得好運,所以別忘了到法善寺走一走,許下心願。

位在法善寺北方的法善寺橫丁,是一條小巧但迷人的石板街道,兩旁餐廳和商家林立。夜晚的法善寺橫丁獨具魅力,來這裡享用晚餐絕對不會出錯。

假如法善寺橫丁的餐廳不合您的胃口,南街地區絕不會令您失望!中午吃過串燒了,還有章魚燒、大阪燒和河豚等您品嚐! 

南街地區大部分的餐廳都是 24 小時營業,而且對接待外國遊客都很有經驗。大型餐廳會在店外放上標誌或塑膠模型,讓您知道賣什麼料理。大阪的河豚料店,通常都會在入口放一缸缸的活河豚,所以很顯眼。 

下午8:00|道頓堀和水上觀光船

逛完南街地區,現在朝道頓堀前進。夕陽西下後,戎橋周邊地區的招牌和霓虹燈紛紛亮起,熱鬧的夜生活於焉展開。經典的 Glico 固力高跑跑人標誌,還有古怪的亮黃色唐吉訶德摩天輪,與河中的倒影相互輝映,更顯光彩奪目。

往道頓堀唐吉訶德摩天輪的方向走,可以走到搭乘道頓堀水上觀光船的碼頭。20 分鐘的水上觀光船行程,成人一趟 900日幣、兒童 400日幣,每 30 分鐘一班船。搭乘觀光船可以擺脫街道上擁擠的人群,從河上欣賞周邊街景。

下午 9:00 | 難波夜生活

假如您還不想回飯店,可以盡情體驗難波和道頓堀精彩的夜生活。不論是想喝遍每間酒吧、歡唱日式卡拉 OK,還是在夜店狂歡,難波和道頓堀都能滿足您。

小提醒:如果您是一個人旅行,或是想試試看最道地的玩法,可以考慮  Osaka Bar Hopping Night Tour in Namba(大阪難波酒吧之夜旅行團)。這個小型旅行團會帶您探索鮮為人知的優質酒吧,還可以認識當地人和其他遊客! 欲知詳情和預約請上Magical Trip。

 

來大阪玩可以住哪裡?

假如您按照我們的行程走,而且打算在大阪過夜,建議您住在北區的梅田站和大阪站附近,從這裡到大阪各地都很方便,不論是搭飛機或火車,都可以從這幾個站進出。如果您只會在大阪待一天,在北區就能夠逛完最熱門的商店街和觀光勝地,就算是來吃個早餐也很方便。

我們整理了這個地區最棒的餐廳和購物地點,即使時間急迫也來得及採買伴手禮,附近商店和百貨公司林立的大型火車站,也是不容錯過的景點。住在車站附近還有一個好處,因為車站裡的置物櫃總是供不應求,可以直接把行李放在飯店就方便多了。

我們按照不同預算選了三間飯店!

高價位:大阪麗思卡爾頓飯店

享譽全球的麗思卡爾頓飯店,就是奢華的代名詞。大阪麗思卡爾頓飯店,更是以極致美景和古典歐風裝潢擄獲人心。飯店位在梅田區的中心地帶,在大阪逛完一整天,可以在這裡洗淨疲憊。

麗思卡爾頓飯店的設施都是全球頂級,包括讓人眼花撩亂的餐飲選擇、巨大的室內泳池、奢華大理石浴室,還有令人意想不到的高級客房服務。如果想同時享受日本文化與奢華體驗,也可以選擇日式風格套房。

HotelAffiliate

中價位:大阪新阪急飯店

緊鄰梅田車站的大阪新阪急飯店,其實隸屬於阪急電鐵。假如您的行程緊湊,住在位於交通樞紐的飯店最方便,可以快速造訪當地。如果您接下來要去京都,住在這間飯店也很合適,因為您可以直接從梅田站出發,只要花 400 日幣、30 分鐘,就能搭乘京都本線直達京都市中心,絕對比子彈列車來得划算!飯店旁邊就是轉運站,可以直接由此搭車往返機場。鄰近飯店的阪急百貨,是一棟裝潢精緻古典的建築,也是日本數一數二的大百貨公司。

大阪新阪急飯店的房間乾淨舒適、富質感,也有許多餐飲選擇。我們推薦您選擇附榻榻米的日式房間,還可以選擇睡日式床墊或西式床鋪。

HotelAffiliate

實惠價位:大阪 WING 國際精選飯店─大阪梅田

「大阪 WING 國際精選飯店─大阪梅田」是附近最經濟實惠的飯店,評價也非常好!由於梅田地區的住宿費用較高,選擇這間飯店最理想不過。這間新開幕的飯店,甚至比附近的膠囊旅館還便宜!

相較於另外兩間飯店,雖然這間飯店不在市中心,距離大車站也只有 5 分鐘路程。Wing 國際精選飯店是日本的連鎖商務旅館,雖然這類旅館只提供基本服務,但是整體而言都很乾淨舒適,也提供洗衣服務和免費 Wi-Fi 等實用設施,最重要的是離車站很近。這間飯店於 2018 年中開幕,所以還很新,時髦又富有藝術氣息的室內裝潢,看起來比其他連鎖飯店更有個性。

總結

一天之內逛完大阪熱門景點並不難,如果您的時間充裕,還有很多好地點等著您探索!大阪站和梅田站附近的商店街和餐廳都值得一逛,除此之外還有很多世界一流的景點,像是大阪環球影城。

遵循本指南安排的行程,您的大阪之旅一定會滿載而歸!如果來大阪玩,千萬別忘錯過了鄰近的京都、神戶和奈良!

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

玩樂

住宿

購物

搜尋餐廳

24 Hours in Osaka: Complete 1-Day Travel Itinerary for Osaka Beginners

As Japan's third largest city, there's so much to see in Osaka and its surroundings. Even if you only have one day in Osaka, you won't want to miss Osaka Castle, the lively Dotonbori and Namba areas, and, of course, all the amazing food! But, if you only have a day, you can't waste time crisscrossing the city. Read on for a route to see all of Osaka's highlights with minimal travel time using only short trips on public transport!

Osaka

Things to Do

8:30 AM | Osaka Castle

Osaka Castle is one of the symbols of Osaka, and a walk through Osaka Castle Park is a great way to start your day of sightseeing. The castle museum itself opens at 9:00 am, but you'll want to take your time to stroll the gardens as you make your way up to main castle. If you're a morning person, get there a little early and enjoy a coffee in the park before the fleets of tour buses arrive.

Osaka Castle itself is located on a hill surrounded by a wide moat and impressive sloped stone walls. The approach to the castle is an experience itself as you take in the castle's complex architecture and the view of the city as you climb.

Osaka Castle Park is also known for its seasonal flower gardens. From January to March, the flowers in the Plum Garden are in season, and peach blossoms also bloom in March. In April, the park's 300 cherry trees blooming around the castle make Osaka Castle Park one of Osaka's most popular hanami (flower viewing) destinations.

The walk uphill to the castle isn't too challenging, but if you're traveling with kids or someone with mobility issues, there is also a road train available from 9:30 am that gives you a tour of the park through the gardens and up to the castle. One-way tickets are 300 yen for adults, 200 yen for children from 4 to elementary school age, and 100 yen for seniors or those with disabilities (plus one carer).

Rebuilt in 1997 after being destroyed in World War II, today the main castle itself serves as a museum rather than a reproduction of the interior as it once was. Inside the museum you will find historical information, artifacts, and an observation deck that offers a panoramic view of the city.

You can get a good view of the city just from the plaza surrounding the castle, and if you follow this guide, you'll be making a stop next at an even more impressive observation area. So, unless you're very interested in the history of the castle, our suggestion is to skip going inside the museum itself and just enjoy the impressive castle grounds and gardens. At around 15 acres, there's plenty to see.

After spending some time in the park, head to Osakajokoen Station on the north-east edge of the castle park grounds and catch the Osaka Loop Line train to Tennoji Station. The trip should take around 15 minutes.

Because the park is so vast, if you can, we highly recommend first coming via Tanimachi Yonchome Station or Morinomiya Station. Doing this means you can make your way through the park without needing to retrace your steps to Osakajokoen Station when you leave, so you can see more in less time.  

10:30 AM | HARUKAS 300 (Abeno Harukas)

Once you reach Tennoji Station, head to the nearby Abeno Harukas. You'll find it hard to miss: it's the tallest skyscraper in Japan!

The HARUKAS 300 observatory is located at the very top of this building. With observatories on the 58th, 59th, and 60th floors, you'll find yourself looking out at a stunning view of Osaka and beyond.

There are also department stores and other things to see in the Abeno Harukas building, but this guide includes some time in even better shopping areas later in the day, so we recommend visiting for the observatory itself during your time here.

There's plenty to do at this expansive observatory, including some souvenir shops and an open-air terrace area on the 58th floor where you can stop for a snack or a drink.

The wall to floor windows offer an unobstructed view, and if you're not scared of heights, there are glass-floored areas where you can get a sense of just how high up you are.

For real thrill-seekers, a new attraction called EDGE THE HARUKAS allows you to take in the 300 meter high view while walking on a narrow, glass-fenced external walkway. You'll need to suit up in some safety equipment to do this, so plan a little extra time for this. 

11:30 AM | Tennoji Park

With your feet back on solid ground, head into the nearby Tennoji Park. You'll be cutting through this park to make your way to the Shinsekai area, but there are also some attractions to see in the park itself! Here are a few different options for what to do here.

Art lovers should stop at the Osaka City Museum of Fine Arts. Housed in a historical building, and with a collection of around 8,000 works, this is a great opportunity to see a high quality collection of artworks from Japan and beyond.

Beside the museum is the Keitakuen Garden, a gorgeous Japanese promenade garden designed by Jihei Ogawa, who also designed Kyoto's famous Murin-an and Heian Shrine gardens.

Tennoji Zoo is also located within the park. While this zoo is fairly small, and the enclosures are not up to international standards, the zoo is making efforts to upgrade its facilities. Its inexpensive entry price makes this worth a stop if you're with animal-loving kids. 

If you're running behind schedule or are just ready for lunch, we recommend just stopping by the Keitakuen Garden and the Chausuyama ko-fun (burial mound) as you make your way through the park to the Shinsekai Gate.

1:00 PM | Shinsekai and Tsutenkaku Tower

Originally built as an amusement area, Shinsekai, which means "New World" in Japanese, is one of Osaka's most iconic sights. Built in 1912 to evoke the streetscapes of Paris and New York, the area fell into neglect after World War II, and for a long time had a reputation as being one of Osaka's seedier areas.

While not as polished as other areas of Osaka, today the eccentric vibe and Tsutenkaku Tower draw plenty of visitors.

Tsutenkaku Tower was originally built in 1912, but after being damaged in a fire in 1943 it was rebuilt after the war in 1956. Originally the tower was designed to evoke the Eiffel Tower and Arc de Triomphe, but its current design has a retro-futuristic design all of its own. Today, the tower's lower floors are full of fun candy and souvenir stores, and even some spots for good luck like a statue of the local icon Billiken, the "deity of things as they are".

Tsutenkaku Tower also has multiple observation decks, but it may not live up to the view you've just seen at HARUKA 300, so it can be safely skipped. That said, if you'd like to go to the top, tickets cost 800 yen for adults.

This area is a perfect blend of two of Osaka's biggest charms: its distinctive streetscapes and its amazing "B-grade gourmet" food.

B-grade doesn't refer to the quality, by the way! Rather, this is simple and unpretentious comfort food that focuses more on taste than elegant presentation, and Shinsekai is a great place to experience it.

When you're in Shinsekai, our recommendation for lunch is the area's famous kushi-katsu, or bite-size skewers of deep-fried meat, seafood, or vegetable cutlets. Designed originally as a quick, filling food for workers in the area, today locals and visitors alike visit the Shinsekai area for this Japanese fast food. Some restaurants here even let you deep fry your own skewers using a cooker at your table.

There are a couple of unique kushi-katsu manners to keep in mind. Since the dipping sauce you'll find on your table is shared, double-dipping is very strongly prohibited. If you need some extra sauce, use the cabbage leaves provided as a scoop.

Take a walk through the area and then head into a restaurant here for lunch. After, head to Ebisucho Station past the Tsutenkaku Tower to the north of the Shinsekai area. This walk should take you around five minutes. Then, take the Osaka Metro Sakaisuji Line for one stop and get off at Nippombashi Station.

Tip: If you love street food but are new to Osaka, a local can show you exactly where to go! The Osaka Local Foodie Tour in Dotonbori and Shinsekai via Magical Trip starts with kushi-katsu in Shinsekai and takes you to the next stop in our guide, the Dotonbori area, sampling all of Osaka's best street food along the way.

3:00 PM | Exploring the Minami Area

Osaka's Minami area is one of the busiest in Osaka, and is a hub for shopping, entertainment, and dining. You could easily spend a whole day just wandering the streets here, but if you've got limited time, it's best to be more strategic.

Here are a selection of the Minami shopping areas and markets that are sightseeing destinations in and of themselves. All of these areas are within walking distance of Nippombashi Station, so once you arrive in the area you can pick and choose which ones you're most interested in.

This is one of Osaka's best shopping areas, but it can be chaotic. No matter what you're after, if you're looking to really take advantage of all Japan has to offer shopping-wise, consider hiring a personal shopping guide who can show you exactly where to go and help you with recommendations and translations. Check out Voyagin for more information!

Kuromon Ichiba Market

Take Exit 10 at Nippombashi Station and you'll find yourself in Osaka's kitchen, Kuromon Ichiba Market. This is a vast, 580-meter-long shopping street selling food and groceries of all kinds. Established around 190 years ago, this market gives a fascinating look at the heart of Osaka's vibrant food culture. 

Doguyasuji Shotengai (Kitchenware Street)

Head about 7 minutes west from Nippombashi Station towards Namba Station to find this 150-meter-long shopping street that specializes in cookware like Japanese knives and crockery, and even restaurant decorations like lanterns, noren (shop curtains), and Japan's famous plastic replica foods.

If you like to cook, are interested in Japan's food culture, or want some functional, high-quality souvenirs, this is a great place to explore.

Nippombashi DenDen Town

Osaka's answer to Akihabara, DenDen Town is a mecca for electronics and otaku (geek) culture. Located between Ebisucho Station and Nippombashi Station, if you're looking for anime, manga, or video game merchandise, or want to try visiting a maid cafe, this is the area for you!

If you're not that interested in Japanese pop culture but want to shop for electronics while in Osaka, heading to the Bic Camera department store in Namba will probably be a more efficient use of your time.

Shinsaibashi-suji and Ebisubashi-suji Shopping Streets

These two shopping streets are located on either side of the Dotonbori Canal and are linked by the Ebisu-bashi Bridge. If you're coming from Nippombashi Station, you can follow the underground Namba Walk west until you reach Ebisubashi-suji, and then follow the shopping street straight up north and across the canal to Shinsaibashi-suji to get a taste of both arcades. 

Both of these shopping streets are incredibly lively and crowded, and you definitely won't regret visiting both! Besides a wealth of shopping, you'll also find game arcades, karaoke, and of course, places to eat. Stores in this area see a lot of tourists, so most are set up for easy tax-free shopping. If you simply want to walk and browse, these shopping streets will give you a sense of Osaka's bustling street culture.

America Mura (Amemura)

America Mura, also known as Amemura, translates to "America Village". This area is located just to the west of the Shinsaibashi shopping street. 

Formerly an industrial area, Amemura became a hub for Osaka's youth culture in the 70s. Its name was derived from the imported American fashion sold here. Today, this concentrated cluster of fashion stores, bars, and clubs makes this one of the best spots in Osaka to explore Japan's alternative fashion and street wear scene.

Midosuji Avenue

While getting a taste of the hustle and bustle of the Minami area is definitely a must while you're in Osaka, if you'd prefer something little more high-end and relaxed, head to Midosuji Avenue that runs north from Namba Station all the way to Umeda Station. Walking around the wide, ginko tree-lined boulevard in the Shinsaibashi area, you'll find a range of international luxury boutiques, the Apple flagship store, and the Daimaru department store.

7:00 PM | Hozenji Temple and Hozenji Yokocho

Hozenji Temple is located to the south of Dotonbori Canal. This tiny temple was once part of a much larger temple complex built in 1637. After World War II, only a small part of the complex remained, making it a special spot for local residents. The remaining building houses a moss-covered statue called the Mizukake-Fudo. It's said that splashing water on this statue will bring you good luck, so be sure to stop here and make a wish. 

North of Hozenji Temple is Hozenji Yokocho, a tiny but charming stone-paved laneway lined with restaurants and shops. This area is particularly atmospheric at night, and you can't go wrong picking one of the many restaurants here for dinner.

If nothing catches your eye at Hozenji Yokocho, you'll have no trouble at all finding somewhere to eat in the Minami area! After having kushi-katsu for lunch, some other Osaka staples you should make a point of trying are takoyaki (octopus dumplings), okonomiyaki (savory pancakes), or fugu (puffer fish).  

Many restaurants in the Minami area are open 24 hours, and most are very used to serving foreign guests. Larger restaurants will either have signs or plastic sample foods outside so you know exactly what to expect. Fugu restaurants in Osaka will often have tanks with live fish at their entrance, so they're easy to spot. 

8:00 PM | Dotonbori Canal and Cruise

Now that you've explored the Minami area, head towards Dotonbori Canal. The area surrounding the canal around Ebisu-bashi Bridge, with its brightly lit-up restaurant signage and neon billboards really comes to life as the sun sets. The lights of the iconic Glico running man sign and quirky yellow Don Quijote Ferris wheel look even more spectacular reflected on the water.

Head towards that bright yellow Ferris wheel attached to the Dotonbori Don Quijote building to find the landing for the Tombori River Cruise. This 20 minute cruise costs 900 yen for adults, and 400 yen for children, and boats depart every 30 minutes. This is a great chance to get away from the crowds on the streets and take in the sights from the water instead.

9:00 PM | Nightlife in Namba

If you're not ready to head back to the hotel just yet, the Namba and Dotonbori areas stay busy well into the night. Whether you want to bar hop, try Japanese style karaoke, or hit the clubs, this is the best area in Osaka for nightlife.

Tip: If you're traveling solo or just want some local insight on where to go, check out the Osaka Bar Hopping Night Tour in Namba. This small-group tour takes you to some hidden gems in the area, and it's a great way to get to know some locals and other travelers, too! Read more about the tour and book at Magical Trip.

Where to Stay in Osaka?

If you're following this guide and plan on staying the night in Osaka, we recommend staying in the Kita area around the Umeda and Osaka Stations. This area has great access to all of Osaka, and regardless of whether you're traveling by plane or train, you'll likely arrive and depart from these stations. If you only have a day, staying here also gives you a chance to get a taste of this major shopping and entertainment area, even if just for breakfast before you head on to your next destination.

There are great restaurants and shopping spots here, which is great for picking up some last-minute souvenirs, and the huge train stations full of shops and department stores are a sight to see in and of themselves. Since the coin lockers in the stations can fill up quickly, an added bonus to staying near this transport hub is that it's also very convenient to be able to leave your luggage at the hotels without having to make an extra trip to collect it later.

Here are our three picks for different budgets in the area!

Luxury Pick: The Ritz-Carlton Osaka

Known worldwide as a synonym for luxury, The Ritz-Carlton Osaka offers gorgeous views and classic European style furnishings. Situated right in the heart of the Umeda area, this is the perfect place to retreat to after a day of exploring the busy streets of Osaka.

Of course, this hotel has world-class amenities, including a wealth of dining options, a vast indoor pool, marble bathrooms, and the impeccable guest services you'd expect from a high-end Japanese hotel. Japanese-styled suites are also available if you want an experience of luxury done the local way.

HotelAffiliate

Mid-Range Pick: Hotel New Hankyu Osaka

Located in the Umeda Station complex, the Hotel New Hankyu is actually owned by the Hankyu Railway that services Umeda Station. If you're short on time, staying here means you can get a taste of this area with all the convenience you'd expect by staying in a major transportation hub. This hotel is especially convenient if you're heading onward to Kyoto, as the Hankyu Kyoto Line that departs from Umeda Station will take you directly to the center of Kyoto for around 400 yen in around 30 minutes - much cheaper than a bullet train! It's also located right by the coach terminal where the buses that take you to the airport or onwards throughout Japan depart. This hotel is also very close to the Hankyu Department store, a glamorous, classically styled department store that's one of the biggest in Japan. 

The rooms here are clean and comfortable with quality furniture and plenty of dining options. Our recommendation is to pick the Japanese style rooms with tatami mats and a choice between futons (mattresses) or Western-style beds.

HotelAffiliate

Budget Pick: Hotel Wing International Select Osaka Umeda

Hotel Wing International Select Osaka Umeda is one of the best-rated budget hotels in the area, and is a great deal! Umeda is not the cheapest area in Osaka to stay, which makes this one a real find. In fact, this newly-opened hotel is less expensive than even some nearby capsule hotels!

While not quite as central as our other picks, it's still an easy 5-minute walk from the major stations. Hotel Wing International is a chain of what are called business hotels in Japan. Business hotels are typically fairly basic in terms of extra guest services, and instead focus on providing clean, comfortable places to stay close to major stations with useful features like washing machines and free Wi-Fi. Since this hotel opened in mid-2018, it still feels very new, and has a stylish, art-deco styled interior design that has a little more personality than some other chains.

Useful Resources for Your Trip to Osaka

Summary

It's not too hard to see many of Osaka's best sights in one day, but if you have a little time, there's a lot more to explore! The shopping and dining around the Osaka Station and Umeda Station areas are excellent, and Osaka is also home to some other world-class attractions like Universal Studios Japan.

Still, if you use this itinerary as a guide, you're sure to leave Osaka knowing you've got a real sense of the city! Make sure you don't miss the neighboring cities of Kyoto, Kobe, and Nara while you're in the area, too.

 

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Things to Do

Hotels & Ryokan

Shopping

Restaurant Search