【東京自由行】到淺草合羽橋必訪!體驗食品模型的製作,感受日本精緻技術之巧!

您知道外觀美麗、以假亂真因此備受日本人和外國人矚目的「食品模型」嗎?因為大部分的模型都是手工製作,也成為具有精密度與細緻度的日本文化之一。本文將為大家介紹實際製作的情形,而體驗的地點是在保存老街風情的淺草河童橋的「元祖食品模型屋」。

淺草

玩樂

可以體驗食品模型製作的「元祖食品模型屋」!

這一次我們將前往淺草、日本首屈一指的烹調用具批發店林立的「河童橋道具街」,拜訪擁有長達85年歷史的老店「元祖食品模型屋合羽橋店」。店門口陳列著精美的食品模型,還有壽司和冰淇淋的招牌,即使第一次造訪也很容易找到這家店。

體驗製作食品模型!

這次的體驗是使用傳統製作用的蠟(目前大多使用乙烯基樹脂或矽材質)。使用會在熱水中隨意改變形狀的蠟,挑戰製作炸蝦天婦羅(所謂的天婦羅,是將食材沾裹用麵粉和水調成的麵糊,再用油炸製成的日本料理)和萵苣。一邊體會「職人」的技術和食品模型

的歷史,一邊動手做看看吧。

※無法以日語溝通者若想體驗,必須有懂日語者同行。

※必須事先預約。基本上店內當天不受理報名體驗。

1.挑選做天婦羅的蔬菜

首先,挑選製作天婦羅的食材。一共有7種食材可供挑選。從蝦子、南瓜、香菇、番薯、青椒、茄子和蓮藕中選擇 2 樣喜歡的道具。想要看起來漂亮的要訣是,盡量選擇不同種類的材料。如果不知道該選什麼才好,建議您選擇天婦羅的王道「蝦子」。

2. 由工作人員親自示範

或許您會懷疑自己「第一次做,不知道能不能做好」,別擔心!專業的工作人員會一邊示範,一邊仔細指導。

在此提醒您,旁邊可能有其他的體驗者,為了讓大家都能開心地製作食品模型,請盡量減少私下交談。

3. 製作天婦羅的麵衣

首先製作最重要的麵衣(也就是製作天婦羅時用的麵糊部分)。製作麵衣用的蠟有一點燙,抓著裝有蠟的杯子上部,保持在距離水面60公分左右高的地方,然後像似寫Z字一樣地淋到水面。想要作出鬆軟的麵衣,澆淋時,一邊想像作成四方形的樣子,然後填滿縫隙。另外,手臂舉高會覺得痠而不自覺地放低,記得隨時確認手臂的高度。

4. 幫蝦子裹上麵衣

接下來的步驟是用麵衣包覆蝦子。蝦仁模型背面朝上,放的時候注意蝦尾的位置,尾巴部分要放在浮在熱水上的麵衣外側。然後用手指抓著尾巴,輕輕地斜斜地向下沉,同時慢慢地翻轉。在熱水裡作出麵衣較厚的部分,接著用手指調整形狀。但是,絕對不能過度觸摸表面,以免破壞好不容易做好的鬆軟麵衣。最後,放進冷水裡定型。

5. 炸蝦天婦羅完成

蝦子天婦羅到此大功告成。

另外,依選擇食材的不同,有時作成橢圓形、有時是正方形,澆淋蠟的方式略有不同,但是接下來的作法全部相同。

接著來做萵苣吧。這時候也和剛才製作天婦羅一樣,先由工作人員為我們示範正確的步驟。

6. 製作萵苣的菜心

製作萵苣需要用 2 種顏色的蠟。首先製作萵苣的菜心部分,用勺子舀滿滿一瓢,大約30刻度的白蠟。接下來,先在靠近自己的地方淋一些蠟,然後將勺子貼著水面開始將蠟倒進水裡,倒完之後,利用勺子底部把蠟液推開延展。

7. 製作萵苣的葉片部分

白色蠟全部淋在熱水上面後,接著使用綠色蠟製作葉子部分。使用的綠色蠟大約是2勺的量。一手托著白蠟的邊緣,一手像是要蓋住白蠟似地,順著白蠟前方小心且迅速地灑開。

8. 將萵苣葉從熱水裡拉起

為了讓蠟膜向前延展,用 3 根手指抓著萵苣的蠟,從靠近自己的地方往前方移動做出深度。接著,雙手輕輕拿著白色部分的兩端,斜斜地往箱子底部用力拉沉下去一次……

9. 一片大萵苣葉完成!

接著再慢慢地往身體前方拉起來,就這樣,一大片萵苣葉子完成了。竟然這麼大一片,任誰都會感到驚呀吧。

10. 調整萵苣的形狀

將完成的葉子放在熱水上,然後從白色部分開始向內捏折做成球狀。

11. 捲呀捲!捲成萵苣

接下來,將綠色部分不斷地向左右轉動,包成圓球狀。翻轉包覆時要注意,像是把空氣也包進去一樣地包,看起來才會鼓鼓的。因為如果包太緊,葉子與葉子之間沒有隔開的話,那就不是萵苣,變成高麗菜了。稍微調整形狀之後,也和製作天婦羅一樣,放進冷水裡固定。

12. 萵苣對切成二半

最後的修飾,請工作人員幫忙將萵苣切開成2半,與實物一模一樣的萵苣大功告成!

13. 食品模型大功告成!

360度,不論從哪個角度看都像似端出真正的天婦羅與萵苣。

不必擔心怎麼帶回家,店家會準備透明的塑膠盒和紙袋,雙手空空來開心體驗製作吧。蠟容易沾灰塵,最好蓋上保護罩裝飾,才能保持乾淨美麗的外貌。

什麼是淺草河童橋道具街呢?

「元祖食品模型屋」一共有3家店,分別在東京都和橫濱。這一次拜訪的是位在淺草合羽橋的店鋪。這條「河童橋道具街」是南北長達800公尺的商店街,所經銷販售的與「食」有關的道具商品是日本最多的。包括烹調用具、餐具和金屬器具等,應有盡有。而且,走在這條街上,還能享受令人懷念的日本懷舊風情。

矗立在大樓上面的大型廚師大叔,是「河童橋道具街」的醒目標誌,其有名的程度足以媲美知名旅遊景點「新宿歌舞伎町的哥吉拉」。看到這位大叔,就知道要走進「河童橋道具街」囉。

醒目的紅色,讓人忍不住走進店裡瞧一瞧,原來是販售燈籠(夜晚,提著行走以便照亮前方的路,有的是掛在店頭當標誌)的店鋪。日本的攤販或是居酒屋都會掛著向這樣的紅色燈籠。買一個回家當室內擺飾如何?

大大小小各式各樣的木湯匙。獨特的設計,平常可以自己用,請朋友吃飯時擺出來,可以為餐桌營造截然不同的特別感。

「河童橋道具街」上販賣的所有商品,每一樣都價格實惠。有興趣的朋友,一定要拿起來瞧一瞧,千萬別錯過喔。

食品模型的歷史

 

在日本以外的地方,人們似乎不太熟悉食品模型。但是,近年來越來越受到外國旅客喜愛。製作得如此精巧簡直以假亂真,模型本身宛如一件藝術品。究竟為什麼,日本的餐廳或料理店的店門口,都會擺出各種食品模型呢?

關於食品模型的誕生時間眾說紛紜;一般認為應該是在大正 (1912~1926) 末年到昭和 (1926~1989) 初期這段時間開始的。顧客走進店裡想要點餐時,只看到菜單,似乎很難想像料理長甚麼樣子。因此產生新概念,若能在店的正面陳列模仿真品的食品模型,感覺更容易點餐,也能提高店鋪的營業額。

此外,感覺「肚子餓扁了」時,如果展示櫃內陳列著與實物一般無二的食品模型……?雙腳應該會忍不住朝著,店面擺著看起來很好吃的食品模型的店走吧。一目了然、又能引誘顧客,不論對顧客或是對商家來說,都是值得慶幸的。

「元祖・食品模型屋」推薦的伴手禮

1樓有販售食品模型的鑰匙圈和磁鐵等,價格實惠的小商品專區。如果想買來送人,或是想在家裡製作的話,建議您可以從店內展示的多種不同等級的DIY食品模型組挑選。商品都有附上英文説明書,不必擔心看不懂。

這裡還有好多稀奇又好玩的商品,最受外國遊客好評的就是日本的文具。包括與實物一模一樣的書籤和筆筒等,每一樣都能讓您每天的生活更開心。

抬頭一看,一整排都是職人耗費時間精力使出渾身解數的傑作。其中也有非賣品,有一些則可以購買。其中又以壽司桶造型的時鐘最特別,既可愛又實用,非常受到國外顧客青睞。

另外,長著可愛的手和腳的紅蘿蔔系列,是這家店裡面價格稍貴的商品,但是聽說還是有很多人買來當結婚典禮紀念品,或是與朋友合買。

2樓就是這次介紹的食品模型製作工坊,需要先預訂才能在此體驗。每次造訪都有嶄新的發現,是一間令人期待的店。

 

[元祖食品模型屋合羽橋店資訊]

營業時間:10:00 AM〜5:30 PM 

休息:1/1〜3、除夕前夕可能提早打烊。

價格:天婦羅&萵苣 2,160日幣(每人/含稅)

※自2018年4月1日起調整為 2,300日幣 (每人/含稅)

※7歲以上兒童可以體驗。但是,10歲以下兒童必須由監護人陪同,因此監護人也必須一起體驗(付費)。 7月21日〜8月31日暑假期間,不得體驗者無法參加。。

※體驗採預約制。可以透過網路預約。無法以日語溝通者若想體驗,必須有懂日語者同行。

※電話預約只能以日語預約。

體驗時間: 1次 60分鐘〜75分鐘

交通:筑波快線「淺草站」下車,從A2出口走5分鐘左右;東京地鐵銀座線「田原町站」下車走12分鐘左右

地址: [本館] 東京都台東区西淺草3-7-6 (Google Map)

[別館] 東京都台東区西淺草2-25-9 (Google Map)
※別館為專用的體驗教室,不販售商品

網站: www.ganso-sample.com/en/ (英文)

網站: www.ganso-sample.com (日文)

 

讀完本篇介紹,您是否躍躍欲試呢?下次到日本旅遊時,一定要到「元祖食品模型屋」體驗一下製作食品模型喔!這可是留下難忘回憶的最佳活動。

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

玩樂

住宿

購物

搜尋餐廳

Experience the Japanese Craft of Making Fake Food at Kappabashi, Asakusa

Do you know about Japan’s “fake food” that’s been gathering attention locally and abroad? Usually made by hand, this elaborate and delicate craft is a part of Japan’s culture. In this article, we’ll be participating in the fake food crafting workshop at Ganso Shokuhin Sample-ya, which is located in Kappabashi, Asakusa – an area that still retains the nostalgic atmosphere of old Japan.

Asakusa

Things to Do

Make Fake Food at Ganso Shokuhin Sample-ya!

Ganso Shokuhin Sample-ya Kappabashi Branch is a respected, long-established store with a history of 85 years. It is located in Kappabashi Street, which is known as Japan’s biggest shopping street that’s dedicated to cookery. Its fake food display, as well as its sushi and soft-serve ice-cream menus, make it extremely easy to spot.

Let's Make Fake Food!

We’ll be using wax, which was the main “ingredient” used in the past. Nowadays, vinyl resin and silicone are more commonly used. By freely shaping the wax in warm water, we’ll attempt to make shrimp tempura (a Japanese dish that involves dipping ingredients into a batter made of wheat flour and water, and then deep-frying it until crunchy) and lettuce. Keep the techniques and history behind fake food in mind when doing this!

*Those who find it difficult to communicate in Japanese will need to be accompanied by an interpreter.

*You need to book in advance, as the store normally does not allow same-day reservations.

1. Choose the ingredients that you'd like to turn into tempura

First, pick which ingredients you’ll want to turn into tempura. There are seven ingredients for you to pick from: shrimp, pumpkin, mushrooms, sweet potatoes, bell pepper, eggplants, and lotus root. Choose any two that you like! It is recommended to choose different ones, as that looks better on a plate. If you really can’t decide, we recommend shrimp.

2. Watch and learn from the staff

Many first-timers are worried about messing up, as it’ll be their first time. However, all they have to do is watch the staff, who will thoroughly teach them what to do.

Other people may also be participating in the workshop. To ensure that everyone can successfully make fake food, please try to stay as quiet as possible.

3. Create the tempura batter

First, we’ll be making the important batter (made of wheat flour and water). Since the wax is rather hot, make sure to grab the top of the cup. Drizzle it down to the warm water from a height of around 60cm. To make it fluffy, try to fill in the gaps while imagining a square shape. Always be wary of your arms, since they tend to drop as you get more tired.

4. Put the batter on the shrimp

Next up is putting the batter on the shrimp. Lay the shrimp on the batter, making sure that its tail slightly extends past it. Next, grab the tail with your fingers and gently turn it, slightly submerging everything into the water. If you think the batter’s a little too thick, use your nails to reshape it while it’s submerged. However, you absolutely must not touch the surface too much, or you’ll ruin it! Finally, under cold water, shape it so that it curls together.

5. Your shrimp tempura is complete!

With that, you've successfully made shrimp tempura!

Depending on the ingredients you choose, you may get a different shape – such as elliptical or square – and you may have to drizzle the batter in a different way. However, the process from there is generally the same!

Let's try making the lettuce next! Just like the tempura, observe the staff first to see how it's supposed to be done.

6. Creating the lettuce core

For making lettuce, you’ll need to use two different-colored waxes. To create the root, scoop out 30ml of white wax (around one scoop) with a ladle and pour it in. After slightly stretching it, continue pouring from the bottom up, making sure to stretch it each time. You can do this by using the bottom of the ladle and sliding it sideways.

7. Creating the lettuce leaves

After you’ve poured all the white wax, it’s now time to use the green wax to create the lettuce’s leaves. You will need around two scoops of green wax. While holding the edge of the white wax, gently layer the green wax so it just slightly covers the white wax, and then swiftly stretch it out.

8. Take out the lettuce from the warm water

To create the depth needed to pull it out from in front of you, use three fingers to grab onto the lettuce and move it far away from you. Then gently grab onto the white part and submerge it down to the bottom of the case (or as low as your hands will go).

9. You've created a giant lettuce leaf!

Pull it out of the water by tugging it out to your front. You now have a giant lettuce leaf! Its size is sure to surprise anyone and everyone.

10. Shape it into an actual head of lettuce

Afterwards, let it float in the warm water, and then grab the white part and collect it so it becomes almost like a ball.

11. Roll the lettuce

Next, roll the green part together, switching from left to right. Make sure that it has a slightly puffy exterior, like as if there’s air in it. If there’s absolutely no space between the leaves, it’ll actually look more like cabbage! After lightly shaping it, harden it in the same cold water that you used for the tempura.

12. Cut the lettuce into half

Lastly, watch the staff cut the lettuce into half. Your lettuce is now complete! Doesn't it look almost like real lettuce?

13. You've successfully made fake food!

The fake lettuce and tempura set that you made will look authentic from any angle!

The staff have transparent packaging and paper bags, so you can easily bring your fake food creations home. Wax collects dust extremely easily, so it is recommended to wrap it up so that it can last for a long time.

Bonus: Explore Kappabashi Street and More with a Guided Asakusa Food Tour!

Do you want to do more than just make fake food samples in Asakusa? If you're not sure where to start, we highly recommend giving the Asakusa Cultural & Street Food Walking Tour a try. In a short amount of time, an English-speaking local guide will take you around all the best spots of Asakusa, including Kappabashi Street and more!

What is Kappabashi Street?

Ganso Shokuhin Sample-ya has three stores in Tokyo and Yokohama. The one we visited this time is located in Kappabashi, Asakusa. Kappabashi Street is Japan’s largest cookery-related shopping street that stretches out 800m from north to south. You can find anything from cooking ware and eating utensils to ironware. It has a somewhat nostalgic and retro Japanese atmosphere that you can take in.

The giant man towering on top of a building is the landmark for Kappabashi Street. It has enough impact to rival the Godzilla in Kabuki-cho, Shinjuku! Once you spot the giant man, head towards Kappabashi Street.

You'll notice a shop that'll blind your eyes with red. If you take a closer look, you'll find that it sells paper lanterns (used to light one's way at night and bring attention to shops). The red paper lanterns that it sells are hung at outdoor food stalls and izakaya (Japanese pubs) in Japan. Why not try purchasing some to decorate your space?

At Kappabashi Street, you can also find various sizes of wooden spoons. You can use them like they're meant to be used, but their unique designs make them great for certain occasions, such as when you've invited a friend over for a meal and you want everything to look a little special.

Many of the items sold at Kappabashi Street can be purchased at reasonable prices. If you’re interested, try grabbing one to see what they're like for yourself!

History of Fake Food

 

Fake food is something that you don’t usually see outside of Japan. However, it’s been the hot topic among travelers lately. Made with such attention to detail that people often mistake it for the real thing, fake food in Japan is almost like an art. You can find fake food being displayed in restaurants across Japan. How did this come to be?

There are various theories as to when fake food first came into existence, but many believe that it was created somewhere between the late Taisho period (1912 – 1926) and the early Showa period (1926 – 1989). Back then, when customers attempted to order food, they found it difficult to imagine dishes just from their menu descriptions. Fake food was created with the intention of lining up food samples that looked exactly like the real thing, which would make it easier for customers to make orders, improving the restaurant’s business.

Also, can you imagine what would happen if a hungry person came across a display case filled with fake food that looked exactly like the real thing…? They’d want to drop by those restaurants! For both customers and restaurants, fake food was an incredible invention.

Recommended Souvenirs From Ganso Shokuhin Sample-ya

On the first floor, there’s a corner where you can buy reasonably-priced fake food items, like keyholders and magnets. We recommend picking up their fake food crafting kits, which are separated based on experience levels. They’re great as souvenirs or for those who would like to try their hand at making fake food at home! They come with English instruction manuals, so you can rest easy on that.

They also have various other interesting and unique products! One big hit with tourists is their stationery. From bookmarks that look exactly like real food to pen stands, they sell a bunch of products that’ll spice up your every day life just a little more.

If you turn your eyes above, you’ll find amazing creations that fake food craftspeople worked really hard to make. Some of them are not available for purchase, but others are. In particular, their clock that’s shaped like a hangiri (wooden tub used for preparing sushi rice) is extremely popular with inbound travelers.

Their adorable product series of carrots with arms and legs may cost a little more, but there are plenty of people who purchase them for wedding ceremonies or for their friends!

On the second floor, you’ll find the workshop area for making fake food. If you book in advance, you can participate in the workshop too! This is a store where you can discover something new with every visit!

 

[About Ganso Shokuhin Sample-ya Kappabashi Branch]

Opening Hours: 10:00 am - 5:30 pm 

Closed: January 1 - 3. *May close early around the end of the year

Price/fee: (Tempura & Lettuce Set) 2,160 yen for 1 person
*Starting from April 1, 2018, this will rise to 2,300 yen.
*Only people who are 7 years old or above may participate. Children who are 10 years old or younger must be accompanied by a guardian. The guardian must also participate in the workshop, and must pay their own participation fee. During the summer (July 21 - August 31), non-participants may not participate at all.
*Reservations are required. You can book online. Those who have difficulty communicating in Japanese must be accompanied by an interpreter.
*Phone reservations can only be handled in Japanese.

Time required: 60 - 75 minutes for 1 workshop

Access: 5-minute walk from Exit A2 of Asakusa Station
12-minute walk from Tawaramachi Station

Address: (Main Branch) 3-7-6, Nishi Asakusa, Taito-ku, Tokyo   [本館] 東京都台東区西浅草3-7-6 (Google Map)
(Annex) 2-25-9, Nishi Asakusa, Taito-ku, Tokyo   [別館] 東京都台東区西浅草2-25-9 (Google Map)
*The annex building is a workshop space, so they do not sell any products.

HP: www.ganso-sample.com/en/ (English)

HP: www.ganso-sample.com (Japanese)

 

The next time you visit Japan, try participating in the fake food crafting workshop held at Ganso Shokuhin Sample-ya! It's an activity that's perfect for making long-lasting memories.

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Things to Do

Hotels & Ryokan

Shopping

Restaurant Search