【日本文化】10件嫁到日本後才瞭解到不一樣的事

常在日劇中看到殷勤打掃的日本人妻或分房睡的夫婦,您是否也感受到日本夫妻的相處模式與台灣有些不同呢?雖說雙方在交往時期,大致上就可看出差異,但更深刻的體悟卻是在婚後才一一浮現。今天就來談談距離不遠的台灣與日本,當台灣女性與日本男性結成異國婚姻後,所感受到的文化衝擊會有哪些。

日本

深度日本

 

※本文為作者寫手所撰

1. 日本人妻必須勤奮,做家事的時間比想像中還多

「做家事的時間變得很多,大部份的家事都落在妻子身上」

「嫁到日本之後變得越來越勤奮了!洗衣、打掃、做晚餐、倒垃圾,通通包辦。」 

「丈夫會幫忙家事,不過做不好依然要自己重做,因此大部分家事還是妻子在做。」

「我可能是這輩子從小家事做得不夠多,因此最後才會嫁來日本!」

嫁到日本的人妻們接連感嘆又打趣地說道... 

 

即便在台灣不愛打掃的女性,來到日本後,也大多會養成每天隨手做家事的習慣,比在台灣時更注意灰塵等細節,因為有些日本丈夫會非常在意。

日本丈夫通常不太會主動幫忙做家事,但若妻子好聲好氣地尋求協助,他們還是捲起袖子來幫忙;不用等妻子開口就主動幫忙的也有,但明顯比台灣丈夫少。台灣丈夫常扮演倒垃圾及買宵夜的職務,就算妻子不愛做家事或是不夠細心,丈夫也不太會百般刁難,甚至許多家庭已是夫妻平均分擔,這一點跟日本比較不同。

某部分日本丈夫會於假日空閒時幫忙做飯或處理家務,但依據他們「大男人」程度的不同而會有所差異。不論如何,日本妻子們做家事的時間佔大多數,天天將家裡打掃得一塵不染者也有,一週做三次清潔掃除的更不用說。另外,如同日劇常上演的情節:丈夫準備出門上班時,妻子若還在家中,通常也都會勤奮地將丈夫送到門口,這是日本古時便有的傳統習慣。

2. 普遍要會具備廚藝及準備晚餐

日本丈夫心中對於妻子具備廚藝或每天準備晚餐,比起台灣丈夫有著更多期許,這一點尤其針對婚後定居於日本的夫妻。相較於台灣外食美味又便宜,丈夫下班不見得會回家吃飯,有些夫妻甚至會一起相約外食,因此台灣妻子不做飯也不會被嚴苛要求。但因日本會做料理的女性佔大多數,這點使得日本男性覺得女性做飯天經地義,就算遇到不擅於料理的妻子,他們多半亦希望其能多精進廚藝,和直接選擇外食的台灣夫妻不太一樣。另一方面,因日本餐費高昂,所以在無應酬的日子,回家享用晚餐的日本丈夫居多,如果妻子手藝夠好的話,甚至過年過節也會待在家裡吃飯慶祝呢!

如果妻子是全職家庭主婦或是兼職工作者,那麼為丈夫製作晚餐合情合理;但若妻子有正職工作的話,丈夫也會希望其下班後能回家做飯;妻子下班時間比較晚,丈夫雖會協助料理,但通常得事先說好。

雖然不是絕對,可是台灣餐桌上比較容易剩下菜餚,這點有時會讓妻子內心稍有不悅;但日本丈夫在享用妻子費心製作的晚餐時,通常會心存感激地把飯菜全部吃完,並且不太會嫌棄難吃或留有剩菜剩飯,除非身體不適,否則也不會說出「我不餓!」「我不想吃!」「我不喜歡吃!」這種話,然後留下整桌菜逕自離去。假使當天真的不需要晚餐或公司有應酬,一定會事先知會妻子無需準備。

按照老一輩日本人的習慣,妻子及家人需等待晚下班的父親回家後,大家齊聲說完「いただきます(開動了)」才會開始用餐,雖然現在日本社會已經沒有這麼嚴格了,但等待丈夫回家後才一起開動的日本家庭還是不少;相較於台灣在吃飯的習慣上就比較隨性,不會特別規定需等待全員到齊後才能開動。

3. 做兼職工作和全職家庭主婦者多於台灣

隨著時代變遷,日本婚後繼續做全職工作的女性有所增加,但兼職或全職家庭主婦的比例還是比較高。日本家庭通常不會要求妻子婚後一定要進公司上班或是當全職員工,除非妻子自願上班,或是家中經濟來源不夠;而台灣則以雙薪家庭為主、雙方皆有正職工作居多。

4. 日本丈夫個性較為強硬,不擅長禮遇妻子或妥協,對妻子的要求也比較多

日本人的個性比台灣人更顯強硬,缺少了普遍台灣男性的溫柔特質:不怕老婆、堅持自己的原則、對妻子的要求較高。不太能接受妻子有公主病或是女王病,除了禁止妻子任性、吵鬧和查勤外,還會要求她們注意各種基本禮儀,除了要將「謝謝、對不起」掛在嘴邊外,稱呼對方時也需保持禮貌,使用「あなた」與「OOさん」者為多。雙方出現爭論時,希望女方冷靜理性溝通的丈夫居多,身段非常柔軟、像小男人一般的日本丈夫真的很少,若遇到絕對要珍惜。

台灣丈夫相較之下比較溫柔體貼,願意禮讓和忍讓,對於妻子生氣時也比較能寬容對待,舉止也比日本丈夫更為紳士,除了買車子以外,多半以妻子的決定為主。因此「台灣男生個性好溫柔喔!」這句話時時能在與台灣人交往的日本女性口中聽到。

5. 日本丈夫和原生家庭的關係比台灣人更疏遠

日本人週末時不太會回老家見父母,通常只有過年才會回去,甚至有人兩三年才回老家一趟。這是因爲多數人在學校一畢業後便離鄉背井、到東京等大都市打拼。與老家距離遠、加上國內新幹線及機票都十分昂貴,於是大家久久都才回去一次(若是嫁給老家在東京的人就另當別論,與公婆碰面的次數可能會多一點)。

不與公婆同住的小家庭,平常也不怎麼聯繫,基本上是各過各的,保持彼此不打擾的狀態,公婆們多半習慣自己照顧自己,不太會尋求兒女幫助。丈夫不會時時要回家探望父母、甚至主動撥電話去問候老人家的日本人也不多,雖說少了婆媳問題,但與家族的親近程度明顯不及台灣。

6. 回婆家過年時通常需幫忙準備年菜,隨時開啟傳統好媳婦模式

平常不太回老家的日本丈夫,難得過年回鄉一趟,妻子們當然也不得不一起回去,即使再不喜歡面對長輩 ,一同回家拜年是基本禮儀。不過身為日本媳婦,回公婆家不只是做客拜年,幫忙準備年菜、做做家事洗洗碗是很平常的事。

感覺回婆家總是不能太放鬆,先生是回家過年,太太則是去幫忙做家事

兩位日本人妻異口同聲地說著。

雖然台灣媳婦去公婆家時,協助婆婆一起料理者也很多,但還是有直接外出吃飯、甚至是無需幫忙家務等選擇;但日本不太會讓媳婦坐在客廳閒閒沒事做,完全不用幫忙的婆家不算常見。

7. 日本人妻需協助丈夫接待朋友、打理回禮等大小事宜

日本丈夫通常工作很忙,所以需要妻子協助打理生活瑣事。例如:年節習俗事宜、送禮、回禮以及周到地對待丈夫身旁的朋友等等。除此之外,日本人最在意的「讀空氣」技能其實也用在平時的生活層面上,因此對親朋好友及鄰居也需時時留意、保持得體的禮儀、不能太過自我中心。當然,這一點特別針對居住在日本的夫妻,畢竟日本人很在意周遭眼光。

相較於日本的態度嚴謹,在凡是習慣寬宏以對的台灣,妻子可以比較隨性地接待各種人事物,以自己當下的心情為優先考量。舉例來說:與朋友聚會時,在台灣一邊滑手機一邊聊天的人不少,甚至躲在一旁只滑手機不說話的人也大有人在,但在日本就需要盡量避免。當丈夫的日本朋友們在聊天時,妻子表現出專心聆聽及高度興趣是必要的,否則日本朋友可能會一直詢問您「大丈夫?」(其背後真正的含義是「您有在聽嗎?」「參與一下吧?」「您還好嗎?是人不舒服嗎?」「您覺得話題很無趣嗎?」等等)。即便話題無趣得令人想睡,也需要打起精神來參與到最後。

另外,在聚餐時,通常負責倒茶水及發餐具者為同桌女性,因此身為妻子、如果剛好又是晚輩,一入座即積極地幫忙斟酒(水)發筷是很普遍的事。

8. 假日全天候陪伴家人/在家打電動或加班的日本丈夫多

有小孩的話,日本丈夫假日多半會陪伴妻小一起去公園野餐或玩耍,因此櫻花季時,可以看見許多家庭一同在櫻花樹下悠閒野餐;倘若沒小孩的話,他們也會選擇夫妻出遊或待在家裡休息及加班,將主要的時間留給家人。因日本喜愛打電動和看動漫的男性不少,這些人婚後休假日一到,還是會待在家做自己喜歡的事。只是認真的日本人,即便是假日,選擇在家加班也很稀鬆平常。

台灣丈夫假日時與朋友相約外出聚會者不少,假日時重心不見得全部都放在家庭上,偶爾會分散給朋友或父母。

9. 養育小孩的觀念大不同,日本生產完後也沒有坐月子的習慣

家中有小孩的家庭,日本丈夫通常會希望妻子平時能自己帶小孩,一有小孩後便分房睡的家庭算普遍,主要原因之一是擔心小孩半夜哭鬧會吵到隔天要上班的丈夫,聽聞不少日本妻子可都是主動提議的呢!夫妻與小孩一同以「川字型」睡法的家庭也有。

沒有產後坐月子觀念和習慣的日本人,如果想要坐月子,只能在自家坐,或是尋求台灣家人的協助。因文化觀念不同,基本上都是娘家在照顧,夫家幫忙者少,如果真的非常在意正統月子的妻子,通常會選擇直接在台灣生產。

而對於小孩的養育方式也大有不同:日本人從小就被灌輸「要考慮別人」「以和為貴」「守秩序」「負責任」,不會因年幼就過寵或放任,讓3、4歲的小孩不依賴父母獨自行走,或讓就讀幼稚園和小學的小孩獨自上學皆很平常;打罵小孩的日本父母不多,通常以勸說為主,當小孩子做錯事時,並不急於責罵,而是告訴孩子哪裡做錯,理性溝通應該如何改進,並且不厭其煩地重複教導;日本小孩在外乖巧懂事,於電車、餐廳、兒童遊樂場上皆很少看到哭鬧不休的日本小孩,也不常見到要討父母抱或吵著要坐娃娃車的小孩,即使只有2〜4歲,也讓人覺得很守秩序。

和台灣相比,台灣丈夫較會幫忙帶小孩和照顧小孩,生完小孩後,夫妻也多半維持同房。但在教育時容易以寵溺的方式,導致小孩養成過度依賴父母的習慣。

10. 台日價值觀差異大,兩者皆需妥協

台灣人與日本人即使部分文化相近,不過雙方自小學校和家庭的教育大有不同,所以在價值觀上會有所落差,台灣人所普遍認知的「常識」,到了日本人身上可能完全行不通;原本在台灣被認為是優點的事,卻可能被日本丈夫視為缺點。

舉例來說:台灣人有「寬容是美德」、「凡事不過度計較」等觀念,但部分日本丈夫可能會認為這是缺點,對於職人精神取向的日本人來說,凡事斤斤計較、有錯就該糾正到好、做錯事就必須道歉...這樣才是一種日式美德!但對於做錯事的斷定,究竟要以日本人的價值觀來判斷?還是以台灣人的價值觀來看待?這就是難解的課題。若日本丈夫凡事要用日本人的角度來要求時,妻子就會變得非常辛苦...也許您在台灣會是個人人稱讚的優質妻子,但在高要求的日本丈夫眼中卻可能還不夠完美。

此外,我們自幼學到的老莊思想、中庸之道、以德報怨等華人哲思,也可能不受日本丈夫理解及認同。日本人因沒受過這樣的教育,甚至不見得知道老子跟莊子是誰,所以中庸之道才會和日本的我執我慢背道而馳。夫妻於溝通的過程裡,無法用哲學思想來精準對話,所以難以理解彼此的觀念也在所難免。

日本男性普遍比女性強勢,思維上習慣以男性為主,加上缺乏西方紳士觀念,使得「台灣女X日本男」比起「台灣男X日本女」更容易引發爭執。現今日本男性無神論者比例偏高,若本身有著虔誠的宗教信仰,嫁來日本就需更多協調,才能跨越認知上的鴻溝。

結語

日本各省縣的男性們個性略有不同,有的地區比較傳統大男人,有的地區觀念則比較新穎,另外加上妻子本身的日文能力等等,帶來的婚姻幸福度也會稍有不同。

不嚴苛、不過度要求人、屬體貼型的日本丈夫仍有,年輕日本丈夫的個性也多半會比上了年紀的日本丈夫來得柔和許多。只是婚後住在日本的話,多會被日本丈夫要求需入境隨俗、改變既有觀念;但若夫妻住在台灣,也許情況會好一點,畢竟台灣氛圍還是比較輕鬆。

異國婚姻所要面對的課題有很多,親友們都遠在台灣,單打獨鬥的無力感會稍高一點。第一年是雙方最需要磨合的時期,一開始可能會有一方覺得特別委屈,但若能良好地溝通、轉念適應,還是能出現佳話喔!

 

*此篇文章以婚後定居於日本的妻子視點所撰。

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

玩樂

住宿

購物

搜尋餐廳

10 Things I Learned Only After Marrying a Japanese Husband

Japanese anime, manga, and dramas offer a glimpse into the daily life of typical Japanese families: wives busy handling household chores, or husband and wife sleeping in separate rooms. Is it the case in your country? Although such cultural differences are already noticeable during the dating stage, some things only become apparent after marriage. Here is an account from a Taiwanese wife's point of view of life with a Japanese husband, and of the cultural impact she experienced. Despite the geographical proximity of the two countries, some truly surprising culture differences emerged!

Nationwide

Japanese Culture

*This article is written from the point of view of a Taiwanese woman who married a Japanese man and moved to Japan after their marriage.

1. Wives Are in Charge of the Housework

"In Japan, a wife is responsible for most household chores; I'm spending more and more time on them."

"I have become more hardworking since I came to Japan! Doing laundry, cleaning the house, cooking dinner, taking out trash – I can do it all." 

"My husband helps with housework, but I'd have to do it again if he didn't do it right, so most of it is still on me."

"I never contributed much to housekeeping back home, so I'm probably making up for it now in Japan!"

Even those who put little effort into tidying the house back home will likely pick up the habit after marrying a Japanese spouse. This is because in Japan, the wife is expected to stay home and take care of it and the household. Cleaning the house thrice a week is a basic requirement; some will even do so every day! Housewives are also still expected to see their husband to the door as he heads out to work.

Since these traditional gender roles are still so prevalent in Japan, men are often not too helpful when it comes to household chores. That said, they will not turn down a polite request from their wives, and some might even offer help without being asked, though this happens less compared to husbands from other countries. For example, in Taiwan, husbands often assume duties such as taking out the trash and they do not make a fuss if their wives are not perfect at housekeeping. In fact, many Taiwanese couples actually divide the housework evenly between themselves, an uncommon approach for their Japanese counterparts.

2. Wives Are Expected to Be Good at Cooking and Should Always Cook

Compared with Taiwanese husbands, the Japanese have a higher expectation of their wives' cooking skills and expect home-cooked dinner every day. If the wife is not good at cooking, the husband would ask her to get better instead of opting to dine out. This is a stark contrast to Taiwan, where dining out is cheap and so it is not uncommon for husbands to eat on their own or dine out with their wives after work, and it is no big deal if wives do not cook. The reason for this is because the majority of Japanese ladies can and are expected to know how to cook. Furthermore, with the high cost of living in Japan, husbands prefer eating at home when they do not have to attend social gatherings.

This expectation to make dinner for the family makes sense for a housewife or part-time worker, but a full-timer is also expected to do the same upon returning home! The husband might help out if the wife has to work late, provided that it is discussed beforehand.

On the bright side, unlike Taiwan where families tend to have leftovers after dinner, Japanese husbands usually finish their plate to show gratitude towards their wives' effort, regardless of the meal's quality. They seldom say things like "I’m not hungry!", "I don't want to eat yet!" or "I don't like that!", nor do they leave a fully set table unless they are sick. If they are caught up with work or business gatherings and cannot dine at home, they will make sure to inform their wives beforehand. This is because there is still a custom of waiting for everyone in the family to be at the dinner table before digging into the meal in Japan, though this is less strictly enforced than in the past.

3. Japanese Wives Are More Likely to Be Full-Time Housewives or Work Part-Time

Times have changed and more ladies continue working full-time after getting married, yet they are still greatly outnumbered by part-time workers and full-time housewives. It is not a must for wives to have a full-time job in Japanese families, except when they want to or need the money. In Taiwan, dual income households are the norm, with both husband and wife working nine to five.

4. Japanese Husbands Tend to Have Rigid Personalities

Taiwanese men generally have a mild temperament, as opposed to the Japanese who have an unyielding attitude, and are unafraid of and have high standards for their wives. They do not tolerate a spouse with "princess syndrome": she cannot be too willful and she must have good manners. The way she refers to her husband is important, too, and popular choices are "あなた" (dear) and "OOさん" (Mr. XXX). During an argument, the husband will expect his wife to remain calm and talk things out.

Taiwanese husbands are relatively more considerate and willing to back down in a conflict, and often tolerate their wives' temper. They respect their wives' decision on almost anything. This is why Japanese ladies dating Taiwanese guys are often heard exclaiming, "Taiwanese boys are really sweet and caring!"

5. Japanese Husbands Are More Detached From Their Family

Japanese people seldom visit their parents on weekends. They will save it for the New Year, with some even only going back once every 2 to 3 years! This is because many leave their hometown and move to major cities such as Tokyo after graduation to make a living; given the long distance and high travel costs, they are discouraged from returning home too frequently.

What this means is that unless the couple happens to live together with the husband's parents, the wife will only be loosely in touch with her spouse's family, especially as Japanese husbands are often not particularly keen on seeing or calling their family to check in on them more often. The parents as well will often focus on looking after themselves in order to avoid seeking help from their children unless absolutely necessary. While in-law problems are reduced as a result, family relationships in Japan are less close than in Taiwan.

6. Japanese Wives Should Help With the Housework When Visiting Their Husband's Family

Since Japanese husbands rarely return to their hometown throughout the year, skipping the New Year's reunion is not an option for the wives. No matter how much they dread interacting with their in-laws, it is common courtesy to accompany their husbands on the trip. Being the wives in Japanese households, they cannot view themselves as guests during the visit, and it is an unspoken rule for them to help prepare festive dishes and do housework.

It's hard to relax at my husband's family home. He enjoys the New Year with his parents, while I have to do the housework.

In Taiwan, wives often give a hand with cooking at their in-laws' place as well, but it is not uncommon for people to simply enjoy their stay in leisure or dine out. Whereas in Japan, a wife loitering in the living room of her husband's family's house would not be looked upon kindly.

7. Wives Are Expected to Fully Support Their Japanese Husband and Present Them in a Good Light

Japanese husbands are always busy at work and rely on their wives to handle all sorts of trivial matters in life. For instance, they have to prepare for traditional festivals, manage the exchange of gifts, and be hospitable to their husbands' friends. In addition, to be able to "read the air" is a skill essential in daily life. Wives ought to pay attention to friends and neighbors, and always be polite and presentable. This is especially true for couples living in Japan because the locals care a lot about how others see them.

Whilst Japan has a strict set of social etiquette, Taiwan is more forgiving in comparison. Wives can put themselves first and adopt a more casual attitude. For example, they can chat with friends and at the same time fiddle with their phones during social gatherings. In Japan, however, this is considered unacceptable. When the husband is talking with his friends, the wife must listen attentively and show interest, at least on the surface, or else the others will keep asking "Everything alright?", which actually translates to "Are you listening?", "Please join us," "Are you not feeling well?", "Do you find this boring?", and the like. Even if she is completely disinterested, she is compelled to stay involved till the end.

8. Japanese Husbands Spend Their Days off Mainly With Family

Japanese fathers usually spend their holidays with their wives and children, like picnicking and playing in parks, which is why during the cherry blossom season, it is very common to see tons of families having a leisurely picnic under the cherry trees. As for couples without a child, they often opt to travel together or stay home to rest and deal with extra work. Simply put, Japanese people prioritize family time.

Taiwanese husbands are less inclined to preserve free time solely for family, and spend their holidays with friends and parents every now and then.

9. There Is a Huge Difference in Parenting Styles

For families with kids, the Japanese husband will leave the responsibilities to the wife. It is also a common practice for couples to sleep separately after the baby is born, in order not to disturb the husband should there be any commotion in the middle of the night. Apparently quite a number of Japanese wives will even make the suggestion themselves! Of course, some families will still choose to sleep together in one bed.

The Japanese parenting style is also quite unique. Japanese are taught to be considerate, peaceful, obedient, and responsible from a young age. Parents will not spoil their child; they will let 3 to 4-year-olds walk on their own feet, or let kindergarteners and primary schoolers go to school alone. It is uncommon for parents to scold their kids when they make a mistake; they tend to talk to them gently, telling them what they did wrong and how to make amends, repeatedly and patiently if necessarily. This is the reason why Japanese children are known for being well-behaved – you will not often see them crying and screaming in trains, restaurants, or playgrounds, nor will they ask to be carried by their parents or wheeled around in strollers. Even toddlers know how to behave in Japan!

The situation is quite different in Taiwan. Taiwanese husbands are more helpful in caring for the kids, and couples will continue sleeping together following childbirth. On the downside, they have a higher tendency of spoiling their children, making them easily become overly dependent.

10. What Is Valued in Japan Might Not Be Valued Elsewhere

Although Taiwanese and Japanese cultures share many similarities, the differences in school and family education have led to the development of contrasting values. Things that are regarded as "common sense" in your country might not be applicable in Japan, and desirable traits of wives back home might upset Japanese husbands.

Here is an example: Taiwanese in general think forgiveness is a virtue, and despise the over-demanding kind attitude. However, Japanese husbands might disagree with that. Their perfectionist nature pushes them to pursue ever higher goals; what is wrong must be made right, and whoever committed a mistake must apologize. Unfortunately, another difficult problem arises as a result: who is to decide what is wrong and what is right? Should you judge by Japanese or Taiwanese standards? If a Japanese husband demands his wife to behave like a local, she would undoubtedly be hard-pressed to meet the requirements. A great wife admired by everyone in Taiwan might fall short in the eyes of her husband.

Afterword

The challenges faced by an international marriage are frequent and many, and if you live away from friends and family, having to fight on your own can be a hapless experience. You might feel frustrated, but with honest communication and the resolve to adapt to a new environment, happiness will definitely come your way. So, take all of the above with a pinch of salt and don't be deterred from experiencing happiness with your Japanese partner. Ultimately, it takes determination and effort to make any marriage, international or not, work!

 

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search