【日本文化】日本不只有柴犬與秋田 來讓10種可愛的日本犬療癒您吧!

說到日本家裡養的寵物,最常見的便是狗和貓了。而其中忠誠的狗更是受到許多日本人喜愛,牠們被視為家庭的一份子並一起共度時光。在日本的犬種中,除最有名的柴犬與秋田外,還有其他通常只在日本才看得到的犬種。相信您絕對會被這些充滿個性的可愛狗狗所療癒!造訪日本時不妨找找看吧。

日本

深度日本

1. 何謂日本犬?

所謂的「日本犬」指的是祖先來自日本的犬種,只有柴犬、紀州犬、四國犬、甲斐犬、北海道犬、秋田犬6種,並被指定為日本的天然記念物。各犬種除生長區域與歷史背景各有不同的特色外,也還有數種日本原生的犬種,如土佐犬、日本狆、日本狐狸犬、日本㹴等。本篇文章中將會介紹具有日本獨特特色的犬種。

2. 日本犬品種

・柴犬

日本原生的柴犬與日本人有著深厚的淵源,其直系祖先可追溯至繩文時代(約1萬2000~4500年前)被飼養的狩獵犬。為日本犬中唯一的小型犬,體重約9kg。特徵是短毛、豎立的耳朵與捲曲的尾巴。警戒心高、個性獨立,另外也非常忠誠,對其飼主會有深厚的感情。此犬種為人氣寵物選擇,在國外也深受好評。此外近年出現的「豆柴」也非常受歡迎,身形比柴犬小,體重4〜6kg。

・紀州犬

紀州犬為飼養於西日本、橫跨和歌山・三重・奈良山區的犬種。原為非常活躍的獵犬品種。體重約13kg~27kg左右,特徵是身體上美麗的白毛、強健的體格以及高挺的鼻樑。不但體力佳、強壯有氣魄,且個性沈穩。據說他們對飼主非常忠誠,也很容易訓練。

・四國犬

正如其名,四國犬原活躍於日本西部四國中央的山地間,是非常優秀的獵犬。體重約為15kg左右。由於毛色和狼非常接近,再加上外形狂野,也曾被誤認成日本狼而引起騷動。四國犬狩獵的本能與鬥爭心非常強,如果飼主沒有善加管教,可能會造成咬傷事故,因此飼養時必須細心的照顧。

・甲斐犬

是日本原生犬種,據說其祖先為北方的狐狸犬。原為活躍於山梨縣・甲斐南阿爾卑斯山區的獵犬。體重約12kg~18kg左右,特徵為五官分明、充滿野性的體格、與長大後會出現如老虎般的美麗花紋。因其具有強烈的獵犬本能,較難訓練,因此不適合作為家犬。

・北海道犬

也被稱為愛努犬,因其自古以來便跟北海道的原住民愛努族一起生活。毛色各異,有紅、黑、白等顏色,有雙層毛皮以抵禦嚴寒,因此不耐熱。體格結實,體重約為20kg左右。個性忠誠、勇敢且吃苦耐勞,在訓練時雖會有點辛苦,但只要建立起信任後,將會是非常聰明的夥伴。

・秋田犬

是日本犬種中唯一的大型犬,是東京・澀谷有名的「忠犬八公像」(在此文章中也有介紹)的犬種。原為養育在秋田山區的獵犬。體重約35〜50kg,體格結實,蓬鬆的毛髮與可愛的臉龐非常有魅力。由於個性沉穩,且對飼主非常忠誠,不論是在日本還是國外都是非常受歡迎的犬種。

・土佐犬

為大型犬,在現今為高知縣的土佐藩地區曾作為鬥犬比賽用犬被繁殖。體重約90kg左右,是日本犬中肌肉特別發達的犬種,特徵為鬆垮的皮膚及垂耳。由於為鬥犬,有非常強烈的鬥爭本能,雖對不熟的人與其他狗有警戒,然而其個性沉穩親人,也對飼主非常忠誠。

・日本狆

此為上至貴族下至平民、深受日本人喜愛的犬種,據說連以愛狗聞名的德川綱吉將軍也被其擄獲。為體重3kg左右的小型犬,特徵是扁扁的鼻子、令人憐愛的長相及柔順美麗的長毛髮。因不太有體臭,很適合飼養於室內。個性冷靜且對人類和其他狗的態度友善,是深受歡迎的寵物犬種。

・日本狐狸犬

為帶有西洋犬種血緣的日本產犬種。為體重約9〜11kg的中型犬,特徵為立耳、尖尖的嘴巴與柔軟的白毛。個性開朗活潑且喜歡玩耍。由於好奇心與警戒心強,曾被認為很容易亂吠叫,但近年來性格溫和的個體數也漸漸增加。雖然很聽飼主的話,記性好也很聰明,但身在不習慣的場所時,可能會變得有點神經質。

・日本㹴

此為在日本知名度較低,甚至有絕種危機的稀有犬種。據說江戶時代(1603〜1868年)時,由有貿易關係的荷蘭人所引進長崎。為體重5kg左右的小型犬,毛非常短、觸感如天鵝絨一般,因此不耐寒。頭部為黑、淡褐色與白色,身體則為白色。個性開朗活潑,雖有警戒心,但易親人,因此能和孩童與其他狗相處得很好。

3. 與狗有關的景點

・忠犬八公像(東京)

1920年代時,一隻秋田犬「八公」在飼主去世後的9年間仍一直在澀谷車站等待主人,此為其銅像。牠的忠誠使其成為日本最有名的狗,故事還在好萊塢被拍成電影。此銅像更成為澀谷車站前著名的集合場所。

・神祇大社(靜岡縣)

神祇大社位於伊豆高原,以能與愛犬一起參拜而聞名。設有寵物專用水場,只要繫上狗繩,便能一起參拜。此外還有犬型的繪馬,能自由畫上五官,可愛的模樣深受歡迎。也有能繫在項圈上的寵物用御守,可以為愛犬祈禱幸福與健康。

・伊奴神社(愛知縣)

這裡祭祀的伊奴姬神能便祐產子、夫妻和睦與家庭安全等。而說到此神社的建造傳說,相傳山伏(山中修行的行者)因受河川氾濫所苦的村民託付,便使用狗的繪畫與寫著「犬之王」文字的硬幣整治了洪水,因此在神社擺有狗的石像,更有許多愛狗人士來此參拜。

 

日本最著名的犬種大概就是柴犬了。在日本也有許多家庭飼養柴犬,因此若您拜訪日本,便能常看到牠們出門散步的姿態。另外也有許多其他稀有的犬種,如果能遇到這些犬種的話可說是非常幸運。不論是什麼犬種,皆有其不同個性且深具魅力,在日本街上散步時不妨試著找找牠們的身影。

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

玩樂

住宿

購物

搜尋餐廳

10 Japanese Dog Breeds That Will Melt Your Heart with Their Cuteness

Most people think of the Shiba Inu or Akita Inu when it comes to Japanese dog breeds, but Japan has so many incredibly unique types of dogs. In this article, we'll show you some of the other rare and wonderful Japanese dog breeds that you would be hard-pressed to see elsewhere. We've also got some interesting sightseeing spots that dog fans can't miss out on. Get ready to have your hearts stolen by these unbelievably adorable doggies!

Nationwide

Japan In-Depth

Nihon Ken vs. Japanese Dogs

Anyone who can read a little bit of Chinese might think that "nihon ken" (日本犬) means "Japanese dogs," and therefore all Japanese dogs are "nihon ken." They are incorrect.

"Nihon ken" refers to native Japanese dog breeds, of which there are six: the Shiba Inu, Kishu Inu, Shigoku Ken, Kai Ken, Hokkaido Dog, and Akita. They have collectively been designated as a national Natural Monument by the Japanese government.

There are also a few more breeds that are distinctively Japanese, but are not included as one of the "nihon ken," mainly because of their origins. These include the Tosa Ken, Japanese Chin, Japanese Spitz, and the Japanese Terrier.

Now that you know the difference, let us introduce all of these dog breeds!

Nihon Ken Breeds

・Shiba Inu

The Shiba Inu is a Japanese dog breed with a long history with humans. In fact, they can be traced back to the Jomon period (around 12,000 to 4500 years ago), where they were bred to be hunting dogs. This is a small to medium breed weighing in at around 9kg on average. Sporting sharp ears, short fur, and a curled tail, these guys are very independent and wary of strangers, yet loyal and loving towards their owners. They are a beloved breed that have been steadily gaining more attention across the globe in recent years. The even smaller Mame-shiba only weighs around 4 to 6kg, and has also become increasingly popular lately.

・Kishu Inu

Originating from the mountainous area in Western Japan between Wakayama, Mie, and Nara, the Kishu Inu was bred to be a hunter. Weighing anywhere between 13kg to 27kg, they have a beautifully white coat and distinct facial features. They tend to have a lot of stamina, and carry a calm yet bold personality. They are also known to be easy to train due to how extremely loyal they are towards their owners.

・Shikoku-ken

Just as the name suggests, this Japanese dog breed originated in Shikoku, one of the 4 main islands that make up Japan. They performed admirably as hunting dogs, and weigh around 15kg on average. Because their coats are similar in color to the Japanese wolf, there has been incidents where some were mistaken for a wolf, causing a fuss in the areas they were sighted in. Intelligent and competitive by nature, they need an experienced owner with a steady hand to keep them out of trouble.

・Kai Ken

These dogs were used to hunt in the Southern Alps of Yamanashi Prefecture. Weighing anywhere from 12 to 18kg, they have sharp features and wild looks, and as they grow they gain more and more brindle markings, reminiscent of tigers. Having been bred for hunting, they require strict discipline, and hence may not be suited as a house pet.

・Hokkaido Dog

This breed is sometimes referred to as the Ainu Ken, as they have been a part of the Ainu lifestyle for a very long time. The Ainu are an indigenous people of Japan, and these dogs have developed to withstand the harsh winter of Hokkaido with them. They have two separate types of fur for this reason, but this also means that they are weak to hotter climates. Their coats can come in various colors such as black, white, or brown, and they can be a bit more bulky, weighing around 20kg. Patient, loyal, and brave, these intelligent guys can become excellent partners who are able to tell many commands apart if the owner decides to put in the effort to teach them.

・Akita Inu

Out of the nihon ken, this is the only large breed, and it is possibly the most well known due to the legacy of Hachiko. They have a strong frame and weigh about 35 to 50kg. Contrary to its origins as a hunting dog, they are adorably fluffy and can carry a multitude of cute expressions. Gentle in nature, they are very loyal to their owners, so they have become popular both in and out of Japan.

Other Japanese Dog Breeds

・Tosa Ken

Back when Kochi Prefecture was known as Tosa Province, they bred fighting dogs for competitions. Now known as Tosa Ken, this large breed can tip the scales at 90kg, and are the strongest of the dogs on this list. As a breed of fighting dogs, they can be wary of strangers and other dogs, but under that droopy skin and ears is a gentle heart that is as affectionate as it is loyal to its owner.

・Japanese Chin

The Japanese chin is a breed that is beloved by all sorts of people, even including royalty! The dog-loving Shogun Tokugawa Tsunayoshi is said to have loved this breed. It is small, weighing around 3kg, and is characterized by its distinctly flat snout and long silky fur. These dogs don't really smell, making them perfect as a house pet. They also have a friendly demeanor.

・Japanese Spitz

Weighing around 9 to 11kg, this medium sized breed has sharp ears, a protruding snout, and a soft, white coat. They have a bright and active personality and love to play. They have also been described as overtly noisy in the past due to their curious yet wary nature, but recently more even-tempered ones are being bred. Obedient and intelligent, they are quick learners but they can also be a little neurotic and overactive. 

・Japanese Terrier

This particular Japanese dog breed is so rare that not many people even know about it, even in Japan. Said to have been introduced in the Edo Period (1603 - 1868) by Dutch merchants to Nagasaki, it is a very small dog breed, averaging 5kg in weight. They have short coats, which gives their fur a velvety feel, but also makes them susceptible to cold weather. They have a black, white, or brown face, with a white body. Lively, cheerful yet cautious, they can be rather affectionate, so they do well with both children and other dogs.

While We're at It, Here Are Some Famous Dog-Related Spots Around Japan!

・Hachiko (Tokyo)

A popular meeting spot in Shibuya, this monument was built in honor of a real Akita Inu in the 1920s, who continued to wait for his owner at Shibuya Station even after he passed away for 9 years. The story is so famous that it has also been adapted into a Hollywood film.

If you're intrigued and want to pay Hachiko a visit, there's plenty to do in the area! Build your itinerary with our guide to 50 Things to Do in Shibuya.

・Jingi Shrine (Shizuoka)

Jingi Shrine is located in Izu-Kogen, and is famous for allowing visitors to bring their pups onto the temple grounds with them. There's a mini purification fountain so that both you and your pup can be cleansed before approaching the main shrine. The ema (prayer plaques) here are in the shape of a dog, and you are free to draw a face onto it. All of these little touches make it a very endearing place, and since they even sell o-mamori (Japanese amulets) that can be attached to a dog collar, why not come and pray for your companion's continued health and happiness? If it's your first time, check out our guide to praying at Japanese shrines!

・Inu Shrine (Aichi)

You can pray to Inuhime-no-gami here for anything related to family health and safety, kids, and marriage. Legends say that the village people called upon the services of a yamabushi (Japanese ascetic hermit) when the nearby river began to flood. The Yamabushi managed to calm the waters and put an end to the flooding by purifying it with a gohei (ritual wand) that had a picture of a dog and the words "Inu-no-ou" on it. A statue of a dog here is meant to serve as a reminder of that event, and this shrine has since become a popular spot for dog lovers.

Spotting Japanese Dog Breeds in Japan

The most well known Japanese dog breed overseas is probably the Shiba Inu. It's a breed that many Japanese people own, so you might chance upon them while they're out on walks. Of course, these aren't the only dogs you'll see hanging around, and you might even consider yourself lucky if you manage to spot a dog from one of these other breeds out and about. Each and every one has its own wonderful qualities, so be sure to keep an eye out for them as you explore Japan. And for even more adorable Japanese dogs, we have even more over at Japanese Dog Breeds: The Pride of Prefectures

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

Title Image: mannpuku / Shutterstuck

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Things to Do

Hotels & Ryokan

Shopping

Restaurant Search