【日本文化】全世界最長壽的國家!日本人活到老的祕密

日本人向來以壽命長而著稱,您可能不知道目前世界上最長壽的10個人當中,有5個住在日本。探究其原因,可以知道這與飲食和生活方式息息相關;但還有其他鮮為人知的因素可以解釋日本人為何能夠健康長壽嗎?今天,我們將看一看日本人為何得以長壽以及他們的生活方式。

日本

深度日本

這與他們吃什麼和吃多少有關

哈佛醫學院提出了想要長壽必須牢記的10件事。這10項可以歸結為三大領域:飲食、運動和社交。我們先來看看,日本人的飲食如何在他們的人生中發揮重大作用。

少糖

去過日本的人,大多數會談到日本人的苗條和健康。事實上,日本是全世界肥胖率最低的國家之一,只有3.5%,做為參考,英國的肥胖率是25%、美國更達到32%。

日本人平均每天攝取50g糖,雖然仍超出建議值30到35 g的上限,但是比起美國人和歐洲人每天吃70到100g的糖,也難怪日本人即使吃甜食,還是能夠保持苗條。

低熱量

另一個有趣的數據也值得參考,那就是日本人平均每日攝取的熱量值,大約是2700卡,這與美國和歐洲的每日平均3800至3500卡熱量相比,少了將近1000卡。考量到諸多健康風險(心臟病、糖尿病和中風等)都與肥胖有關,日本人吃得少又少吃糖,所以普遍身體健康又長壽也就不足為奇了。

有人可能會說,日本人之所以苗條,另一個重要原因是日本人的飲食非常注重健康食物,例如,蛋白質的來源多半是魚類而非牛肉。日本全國各地普遍都有農夫市集,出售當地的新鮮農產品,您可以在這些市場買到比超市更新鮮且便宜的蔬果。如果您的住處附近正好有農夫市集,建議您一定要去逛一逛,用實惠的價錢買到新鮮的食物。

更健康的選擇

此外,就算您無法直接向當地供應商購買食物,與其他國家相比,在日本還是可以輕鬆取得各種更健康的選項。例如日本的便利商店通常會提供各種新鮮蔬菜、沙拉、麵和魚肉便當,而其他國家的便利商店往往只提供口味或鹹或甜的垃圾食物及油炸食品。如果您想找點東西吃,建議您來點不一樣的,選擇吃更健康的食物。

綠茶

此外,日本人大量飲用綠茶,綠茶也是自動販賣機最受歡迎的商品。據說綠茶富含抗氧化成分,可以降低罹癌風險,還能改善大腦功能並有助於脂肪燃燒。根據日本厚生勞動省2010年公布的統計數據,日本兩大綠茶產地靜岡縣和鹿兒島縣,女性的平均壽命為86歲、男性的平均壽命則為80歲。

發酵食物

發酵食物在日本所佔的比例之多,遠超過其他許多國家,而且發酵食物所含的益菌,已經證實有助於腸道健康。走到日本各地都能找到發酵食品物,比如奈良最有名的是醃漬物(日式泡菜)、茨城縣則是納豆(發酵大豆)、關東地區是紅味噌、關西地區則有白味噌等,通常都是擺在餐桌上的一碟小菜。

保持活動、維持社交意味著常保健康

我們不能只把日本人民的健康和長壽歸功於食物,日本老人的另一個特徵就是持續活動,根據研究顯示,這也是長壽的關鍵。而積極活動的生活方式很重要,因為它可以促進人際交流。

根據哈佛醫學院另外一項長達80年的研究結果顯示,保持社交活動和人際關係對整體健康有莫大的好處。此外,孤立和孤獨可說健康殺手,會導致健康和腦功能下降。

日本政府積極鼓勵國民退休後二次就業,或是等到平均退休年齡62歲以後再退休,以保持活動和身體健康。日本許多長壽者都是從事農業活動,生活在農村,即使年過80仍然需要挑戰體能的工作。

從社會角度來看,雖然過去幾十年來,核心家庭在日本變得越來越普遍,但是長輩與子女和孫子女同住一個屋簷下的情形還是十分常見。有家庭的支持和家人互動的刺激,年長者也可以保持健康,壽命更長。

也許是健康照護、也許是基因

飲食和運動有助於保持健康,但疾病還是無法避免的。不過日本人還算幸運,日本的醫療保健系統在全世界數一數二,而且民眾很容易就能蒙受其惠,同時有很多治療的選擇。此外,日本GDP有10%都用於醫療保健。

最棒的是,私人企業也會鼓勵員工從年輕到老都保持良好的健康。松本市(位於長野縣,是全日本平均壽命最長的地方)的一家銀行,提供連續三年做健康檢查的老年人更高的儲蓄利率。這類預防性獎勵措施成效相當好,也讓長野縣每人的平均醫療費用降低。

還有一個論點提到,日本人的基因也是他們長壽的原因。基因型ND2-237Met和DNA 5178基因均與壽命有關,而且出現在日本人身上的比例非常高。據說這些基因能夠預防第二型糖尿病等成人型疾病,以及腦部和心血管疾病。

結語

有些人認為,由於近幾代人的生活方式逐漸改變(主要是日本某些地區的西化),日本可能無法再像以前那樣,孕育出那麼多壽命超過110歲的超級人瑞了。

話雖如此,日本依然是全球最長壽的國家之一。或許您可以從飲食生活習慣開始效仿日本,打造健康的身體,達到長壽的目標。

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

玩樂

住宿

購物

搜尋餐廳

Why Do Japanese People Have Long Lifespans?

Japanese people are known for their long lifespans, but did you know that Japan is home to 5 of the top 10 oldest currently living people in the world? Looking for answers why will turn up results like diet and lifestyle, but are there some other lesser-known factors that account for Japanese people’s tendency to live long healthy lives? Today we will be taking a look at how and why Japanese people longer.

Nationwide

Travel Tips

It’s About What They Eat and How Much

Harvard Medical School provides a list of 10 items to keep in mind in order to live a long life. These 10 can be reduced to three main fields: diet, exercise, and social interaction. Let’s begin by taking a look at how the Japanese diet plays a large role in their extra-long lives.

Less Sugar

Many people who have been to Japan will remark on how slim and fit Japnese people are. And it’s true, Japan has one of the lowest obesity rates in the world at a mere 3.5%. Compare this number to countries like the UK and the US where those figures reach 25% and 32% respectively.

On average, Japanese consume 50g of sugar daily, which is still higher than the recommended 30~35g limit, but compare this number to Americans and Europeans who consume somewhere between 70 to 100 grams per day, and the difference is clear why Japanese are able to stay slim.

Fewer Calories

Another interesting number to consider is the daily average intake of calories per person in Japan. At about 2700 calories per day, this is almost 1000 calories fewer than the US and Europe which range from 3800 to 3500 calories per day on average. Taking into account the numerous health risks associated with obesity (heart disease, diabetes, stroke, etc.) it is not surprising that Japan’s population is healthier and lives longer from eating less and consuming less sugar.

One could argue that another big reason why people are skinnier in Japan is the Japanese diet focuses more on healthy foods, as for example in place of beef, fish is a much more common source of protein. Farmers markets with local fresh produce are also not uncommon throughout the country, and oftentimes these markets will not only have fresher vegetables than what you can buy at the supermarket but they will also be cheaper, making it a win-win situation if there happens to be a farmers market close to where you live.

Healthier Choices

Furthermore, even if you aren’t buying your food from local vendors, it’s still fairly easy to get a variety of more healthy options in Japan as compared to other countries. Japanese convenience stores, for example, will often offer and range of fresh vegetables, salads, noodles, and fish related bento boxes, whereas convenience stores in other countries tend to carry mostly salty or sweet junk food or fried food. If you are in a rush and are looking for a bite to eat, just having the option to eat healthier makes a huge difference.


Green Tea

In addition, Japanese drink copious amounts of green tea, and it’s the most popular item in vending machines. Full of antioxidants that are said to reduce the risk of cancer, green tea is also said to improve brain function and help burn fat. According to statistics released in 2010 by the Japanese Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare, Shizuoka and Kagoshima prefectures, the two largest producers of green tea in Japan, have an average life expectancy of 86 for women and just shy of 80 for men.

Fermented Foods

Fermented foods are consumed in a larger quantity in Japan than in many other countries, and the beneficial bacteria that are included in fermented foods have been shown to promote gut health. Although it is common to find fermented foods all over Japan, usually included as a small side dish to most meals, places like Nara are famous for their tsukemono (Japanese pickles), Ibaraki for natto (fermented soybeans), the Kanto region for akamiso (red miso), and the Kansai region for shimiso (white miso).

Staying Active and Staying Social Means Staying Healthy

We can’t only attribute Japanese people’s health and longevity to food however, as staying active long into old age is another hallmark of elderly Japanese. Research shows that this is key to a long life, and an active lifestyle is important for another reason, as it doubles for social interaction.


In another study by the Harvard Medical school, results from an 80 year-long period of research suggests that staying socially active and connected is great for health overall, moreover, isolation and loneliness seem to be early killers, resulting in both declines in health and brain function.

The Japanese government actively encourages its citizens to pursue a second career after retirement or to wait to retire beyond the average age of 62, all in a bid to keep people active and healthy. Many of the oldest people in Japan are active farmers, living in the countryside and performing physically challenging work well into their 80s.


On the social side of things, although the nuclear family has become more normal in Japan during the last few decades, it is still not uncommon for elderly family members to live with their children and grandchildren in the same household. Having the support of family and stimulation from family interactions helps the elderly people stay healthy and live longer.

Maybe it’s Health Care, Maybe it’s Genetics

Diet and exercise are great for staying healthy, but unfortunately, illness and disease are sometimes unavoidable. Luckily for the Japanese though, in Japan there is easy access to one of the best health care systems in the world and there are a variety of ways to receive treatment. Moreover, 10% of the Japanese GDP is dedicated to healthcare. 

To top it all off, there have even been incentives from the private sector to maintain good health well into old age. A bank in Matsumoto (located in Nagano Prefecture and home to the longest living people on average in all Japan) offered higher interest rates for savings accounts to senior citizens who confirmed getting a health check-up three years in a row. This kind of push toward preventative medicines has seen great results and a rather low healthcare cost per capita in Nagano. 

There is also the argument that Japanese genetics play a factor in their longevity. The genotype ND2-237Met and DNA 5178 gene are both associated with longevity and are found in a high percentage of the Japanese population. These genes are said to protect against adult-onset diseases such as type 2 diabetes, as well as brain and cardiovascular diseases.

Conclusion

Some have argued that due to the changes in lifestyle over the past few generations (predominantly the westernization of some aspects of Japan), Japan may no longer be home to as many supercentenarians (people who live beyond the age of 110!) as it has seen in the past.

Having said that, Japan is still number one in longevity worldwide. So, whether it comes down to diet, society in general, or health care and genetics, there is undoubtedly a lot to be gained from emulating these Japanese methods for a long life. 

 

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

Title Image: beeboy ss/ Shutterstock

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search