在現代都會東京中的懷舊城鎮「月島」愜享文字燒

東京都江東區四處可見高樓大廈,充滿現代感的建築林立其中。而月島這個城鎮,就位於這一帶的隅田川沿岸。月島的特色在於隨處可見充滿下町風情的懷舊街景,營造出一種令人懷念不已的氣氛。月島座落於銀座、築地等人潮聚集的地區附近,卻散發出懷舊的風情。無論是當地居民或是觀光客,都深深愛著這座城鎮。在「Area of Japan 若有一天時間,我會想去這!~東京篇~」系列的本次專訪中,我們前往月島的街頭尋訪,品嚐了特產「文字燒」,並且親眼見識了融合懷舊與摩登、只有這裡才能見到的景色。以下也會一併介紹筆者推薦的景點喔!

東京

玩樂

月島 ~從勞工之城,發展成魅力十足的下町

月島是一座將隅田川沿岸填平,於1892年完成的人工島。這裡原本是一處寧靜的城鎮,但隨著明治時代(1868〜1912年)末期發展為工業地帶,吸引眾多勞工移居至此。在上述發展下,這一帶興建了維繫居民生活的商家,以及大量的集合住宅。為了迎合勞工階級的居民,許多店家在價格設定上較為低廉,再加上其它娛樂設施也吸引了附近的居民造訪,使得月島發展成一個充滿活力的地方。

在20世紀這段期間,由於1923年的關東大地震,以及第二次世界大戰時期的空襲,東京遭到嚴重的破壞。不過當時月島被視為重要的工業城市,因此在地震後迅速完成重建,再加上附近就有大醫院,才得以免於大轟炸的摧殘。也因為這些緣故,月島有別於東京其它地區,至今仍可見到年代久遠的歷史建築。

月島文字燒街 ~懷舊風情商家集散地

月島文字燒街是月島最值得一遊的景點之一。在全長約500公尺的道路兩側,可以看到80間左右的店家。這裡的正式名稱是「西仲通」,在平成時代(1989〜2019年)初期,「文字燒」成為了月島知名的美食。隨著「文字燒」大受歡迎,這條路也吸引了大量遊客,於是「月島文字燒街」就成了這裡的䁥稱。這一帶至今仍可見到多間「文字燒」專賣店,無論是懷舊的外觀,或是散發日本風情的裝飾,都令遊客感到十分著迷。

月島文字燒街有許多店家,每家店都具有其獨特的魅力,看起來也都十分美味。遊客可以沉浸在懷舊的氣氛之中,漫步在街道上找尋自己喜愛的店家。這條街兩旁掛著藍色的「暖簾」,這是一種象徵日本款待之情的遮陽布,而且在暖簾上有代表月島(「月之島」之意)的小小月亮。探頭往房屋之間的小巷一看,在那充滿昔日風情的通道中,可以看見堆放的箱子和綠色植物,散發出當地居民日常生活的氣息。

月島文字燒 MOHEJI ~月島最有名的文字燒店!

來到據說是文字燒起源的月島,當然得嚐嚐文字燒才行囉!關於文字燒的起源眾說紛紜,一說為源自於20世紀中期的一種便宜的點心,做法為在鐵板淋上薄薄一層麵糊煎煮。據說隨著月島逐漸繁榮,這種點心愈來愈受到當地小孩的喜愛,日後演變成現在這種樣貌。現在的文字燒也是在鐵板淋上一層薄薄的麵糊煎煮,再加上日文的發音也很相近,因此被認為是起源自月島。

文字燒被視為代表東京的美食之一,專賣店集中在淺草周遭到月島一帶,許多人都會專程前往月島,尋找真正美味的文字燒。在為數眾多的文字燒專賣店中,最受推崇的就屬「月島文字燒 MOHEJI」了。MOHEJI是由擁有150年歷史的鮮魚店所直營的人氣店家。這裡幾乎每天都從全球最大的魚市之一─豐洲市場批發鮮魚,也雖怪餐點與當季菜單會如此可口了。

菜單裡列了許多令人垂涎三尺的文字燒,筆者不曉得該挑哪樣才好,於是決定點店家推薦的人氣餐點「明太子(將黃線狹鱈的魚卵以辣椒醬醃漬而成)文字燒」。過了幾分鐘,一個碗公送到我面前,裡頭裝著MOHEJI自製高湯、大量高麗菜、維持絕妙平衡的方型麻糬,最上頭則是閃閃發亮的粉紅色明太子。這些食材已經經過處理,馬上就能在鐵板上調理。MOHEJI的店員會在座位前方的鐵板為客人調理,就算是第一次來也不必擔心。店員純熟的調理技巧很有看頭,轉眼間就將食材一一調理完成!

看到調理完成的文字燒,很多人應該都會大吃一驚吧。畢竟出現在眼前的,就只是一片薄薄的粉皮,看不出來是用什麼做成的。但是每咬一口,食材的風味就會佈滿口中,宛如在裡頭跳起舞來,滋味堪稱絕品。MOHEJI文字燒的湯頭,是按照店家獨特的配方,以海鮮、雞骨、香料蔬菜調配而成,鮮味十足卻又能襯托出其它食材的滋味。

我們挑了起司作為配料,跟明太子搭起來真是絕配。麵糊濃郁的滋味,就算不加配料也很可口,但是加了起司之後,味道又更加濃厚了。煎的時候麵糊邊緣會先變脆,口感十分獨特。麵糊較薄的部分可以嚐出明太子和起司濃郁的味道,也能感受到麻糬彈牙的口感。文字燒的口感會在煎的過程中不停變化,所以用不著急著吃完喔!餐桌上擺著各式各樣的醬汁和調味料,您也可以視自己的喜好幫文字燒調味。

我們是在下午前往光顧,這時店裡已經客滿,大家圍著鐵板談天說地,一邊品嚐美味的文字燒。MOHEJI是非常受到歡迎的店家,如果不想排隊等待,建議最好先預約座位。總店的空間並不寬敞,如果是多人同行,建議可以前往同樣位於月島文字燒街的分店「HANARE」、「HANARE NO HANARE」。順帶一提,據說章魚墨汁文字燒很受店員的喜愛,如果想冒險一下的話可以挑戰看看喔!

月島久榮 ~菠蘿麵包界排名第一的菠蘿麵包

菠蘿麵包這個名字的由來是因為其外表,而不是味道。菠蘿麵包是日本相當受到喜愛的菓子麵包,在便利商店也很容易買到,不過剛出爐的菠蘿麵包才是最好吃的。如果想品嚐「真正的菠蘿麵包」,建議可以到月島久榮來看看!這家店也位於月島文字燒街內,主力商品是已經流行多年的菠蘿麵包。店面貼著接受電視節目採訪時的畫面,其備受矚目的程度由此可見一斑。我們被店家四周那甜甜的香氣吸引,不由自主地就走進了店裡。

久榮一整天都會有麵包出爐,除了菠蘿麵包外,另外也有適合邊走邊吃的派和牛角麵包。也因為這個緣故,這裡很少出現缺貨的情形,總是能提供幾乎剛出爐的麵包。從櫥窗就能看到一排排美味的麵包,吸引路人忍不住停下腳步。我們除了剛出爐的招牌商品菠蘿麵包外,也品嚐了我個人有興趣的蘋果派和菠蘿脆餅。

包在塑膠袋裡、可以在便利商店等處買到的菠蘿麵包,有時候口感可能會硬邦邦的,不過月島久榮的菠蘿麵包可是外酥內軟。菠蘿麵包上有深咖啡色的刻痕,上頭撒了亮晶晶的砂糖,感覺更能襯托出麵包的甜味。這裡的菠蘿麵包的確好吃,也難怪會有人專程跑來月島想品嚐看看了!

另外蘋果派也是一絕,果汁四溢的蘋果餡,搭配滿滿奶油的派皮十分可口。剛買的麵包轉眼間就一個不剩,我們雖然都感到心滿意足,腦海裡卻傳來還想再吃的聲音。幸好手邊還有一袋由菠蘿麵包外皮烤成的菠蘿脆餅,可以留著之後解饞。菠蘿脆餅的口感酥脆,一口咬下就會跟著散開,味道就跟月島久榮剛出爐的極品菠蘿麵包不相上下。已經包裝好的商品也很適合買來當伴手禮,不過要是收禮的人知道送禮的人嚐過剛出爐的麵包,想必一定會羨慕不已吧!

佃小橋 ~藏身於水泥屋舍中的歷史建築

佃地區座落於熱鬧的月島文字燒街不遠之處,四處可見風情萬種的住宅,以及外觀充滿懷舊風格的店家。這一帶的後方是東京的高樓大廈。在西元16世紀最著名的「將軍(武士的首領)」德川家康的命令下,為了強化江戶的漁業與狩獵產業,而從大阪招募漁民來開發佃這個地區。

這一帶在昔日建築與現代大樓的交錯下,散發出一種十分神奇的氣氛;我們在路上走著走著,這時遠方一抹鮮豔的色澤吸引了我們的目光。走近一看,我們這才發現那是自古以來的日本橋樑。橋樑朱紅色的欄杆,與周邊懷舊建築、公寓那平淡無奇的色調,呈現出一種鮮明的對比。這座橋興建於1984年,位置與從前將佃島分隔為東西兩側的人工壕溝大致相同,因此可以讓人遙想當時這一帶開拓的歷史。

橋樑前有一處停泊小漁船的區域,在漁船出海捕魚之前的這段期間,可以在此欣賞水面平靜無波的景色。四周可以看見一般住宅、店家以及小公園等,諸如當地居民親密地互相打招呼的模樣,都在在令人感受到一種暖心之情。

從橋上放眼望去,眼前可說是一幅刻畫了現代東京的畫作,卻又呈現出新舊融合的景象。位於橋旁的公園非常適合小憩片刻。建議您可以坐在樹木環繞的長椅上,眺望佃小橋與後方大樓所融合而成的景色。

隅田川River Terrace ~眺望東京天際線美景

隅田川Terrace是一條位於隅田川旁的漫長步道。這條步道全長32公里,縱貫包括月島與一旁勝鬨在內的墨田區,同時也是相當熱門的慢跑與健行路線。我們想休息一下,於是向河川的方向走去,望著這一帶的景色歇息片刻。我們在步道上漫步,眺望遠方的大樓,然後停下腳步,挑了張長椅坐下。如果能在這俯瞰河流,吹拂潮風,眺望航行於平穩藍色小浪中的船舶,那該是多麼愜意的享受啊。

您可以從這條步道一眼望盡充滿都會氣息的天際線,從某些地點和角度,還能看到遠方的東京鐵塔和東京晴空塔呢!白天可能比較難在眾多建築中分辨東京鐵塔和東京晴空塔,不過到了晚上,這兩處就會點起燈飾,即使是在東京摩天大樓所散發的耀眼燈光中,也會顯得特別美麗。如果能在晚上來訪此處,就能體驗到有別於白天的浪漫氣氛喔。

雖然座落於東京,卻散發出一種融合懷舊與摩登風情的氣息

月島在東京各地中可說是獨樹一格。這裡不但融合了懷舊與摩登,還能欣賞到美麗的河邊景色,更能品嚐到道地的文字燒,可說是十分值得一遊的觀光景點!如果您想在東京都心附近尋找獨具風情的城鎮,建議一定要到月島來逛逛喔!

關東特輯

本文資訊均以公開時為準。


作者簡介

Kim
Kim S.

搜尋餐廳

Tsukishima - A Unique, Retro Neighborhood in the Middle of the Sprawling Tokyo Cityscape

Sitting next to the Sumidagawa River among towering skyscrapers and modern structures is Tsukishima, a retro neighborhood in downtown Tokyo that exudes an atmosphere full of nostalgia. Offering a quaint change of pace while situated close to Tokyo’s other popular neighborhoods such as Ginza and Tsukiji, Tsukishima is beloved by locals and travelers alike. For this edition of our “Area of Japan” series, we ventured to this quiet corner of Tokyo to taste the local specialty “monjayaki” and view unique scenery merging retro and modern townscapes, so read on to learn more about our favorite spots!

Tokyo

Things to Do

Tsukishima - A Charming Former Working-Class Neighborhood

Tsukishima is a man-made island that was created in 1892 using sediment that piled up along the Sumidagawa River. Although quiet right after its formation, it was developed into an industrial district towards the end of the Meiji period (1868 - 1912), and many laborers came to take up residence here. This changed the landscape, with rows of tenement houses being set up as well as shops to cater to the local residents. In order to be accessible to the working-class locals, many shops would sell their products for relatively cheap prices, and that along with other entertainment establishments in the area attracted lower and middle-class people from neighboring towns as well, feeding the effervescent energy.

Tokyo faced much devastation during the 20th century with the Great Kanto Earthquake of 1923 and bombings during World War II. However, as Tsukishima was regarded as an important industrial area, it was quickly rebuilt after the earthquake and was spared from heavy air raids due to the surrounding neighborhood hosting a hospital making it the perfect place to see unique, historic buildings.

Tsukishima Monja Street - A Lively Cluster of Retro-Looking Shops

One of the main highlights of Tsukishima is Tsukishima Monja Street, a paved road that stretches for about 500 meters and is sandwiched by around 80 shops on both sides. Although officially named Nishinaka Street, the lively street subsequently became affectionately known as “Tsukishima Monja Street” after becoming popular for a famous Tsukishima specialty called “monjayaki” (also known as “monja”) during the beginning of the Heisei period (1989 - 2019). It is now lined with rows and rows of monjayaki shops beckoning visitors with their retro exteriors, Japanese aesthetics, and charming decorations.

The shops are closely packed together with one tempting store after the other, yet each has its own unique charm that adds to the enjoyment of walking down the street while taking in the nostalgic atmosphere and searching for the next stop. The entirety of the street is framed by blue “noren” curtains, a symbol of Japanese hospitality, and subtle moon decorations paying homage to Tsukishima’s name which literally translates to “moon island.” Breaks between the buildings reveal quaint alleys overflowing with everyday charm, stacked with crates and offering glimpses of greenery.

Tsukishima Monja Moheji - Try Authentic Tsukishima Monjayaki

If you make it to Tsukishima, trying monjayaki is a must, as it is said to have originated in the area! Although its precise origins are unclear, it is believed that it evolved during the mid-20th century from a cheap snack called “monjiyaki.” Monjiyaki has been around for centuries and was made from a runny batter cooked atop a griddle. Popular among the local children during the development of Tsukishima, it is likely that monjiyaki grew into monjayaki, as it too is made from a thin batter and cooked on a griddle, and the similarity in the names would also indicate this.

Although labeled a Tokyo specialty, monjayaki shops are concentrated around the Asakusa and particularly Tsukishima neighborhoods, with many venturing to the latter to enjoy delicious, authentic monjayaki. Among the plethora of monjayaki shops to choose from, many patronize Tsukishima Monja Moheji, a beloved establishment run in tandem with a 150-year-old fishmonger. Fresh seafood is brought in almost daily from Toyosu Market, one of the largest fish markets in the world, which is evident in the delicious flavors of the food and seasonal menu.

Unsure of which monjayaki to pick among the numerous mouth-watering options, we were advised to go with the fan-favorite “Mentaiko (spicy pollack roe) Mochi Monja.” A few minutes later, a bowl with Tsukishima Monja Moheji’s signature stock topped with a mountain of cabbage, decorated with delicately-balanced mochi cubes, and crowned with a glistening pink piece of mentaiko appeared before us, ready to be poured onto the griddle. Tsukishima Monja Moheji is the perfect establishment for beginners, as staff prepare the dish on the griddle for you. Watch carefully, for their masterful movements finish in what feels like the blink of an eye!

Monjayaki’s finished appearance is admittedly surprising, as what sits before you is a rather unassuming layer of inconspicuous ingredients. However, the taste will also surprise you, as every bite overflows with flavors that dance throughout your mouth. Tsukishima Moheji Monja’s monjayaki stock is made with a unique blend of seafood, chicken bones, and potherbs, bursting with umami and accentuating the nuanced flavors of the other ingredients. 

We opted to add cheese as a topping, which mellowed out the mentaiko and added a gentle richness that harmonized the already delectable mix. The outer edges crisped up first and tasted more savory, while the runnier parts still had clear flavors of the mentaiko and cheese and chewy bites of mochi. You do not need to worry about rushing to finish the monjayaki, as the flavors will continue to evolve as it cooks! The tables are also equipped with several sauces and seasonings, so you can adjust as you like.

Although we visited in the mid-afternoon, the seats were full of customers happily chatting around the griddles cooking savory portions of monjayaki. Tsukishima Monja Moheji is deservedly very popular, so it is best to make a reservation if you do not want to wait. As the main branch is also fairly compact, if you are visiting with a larger group, it is better to visit the “Hanare” or “Hanare no Hanare” branches, both also located along Tsukishima Monja Street. By the way, squid ink monjayaki is particularly popular among the staff, so if you are up for a little adventurous eating, be sure to give it a try!

Tsukishima Kyuei - The Melonpan to Crown All Melonpan

Melonpan is a beloved Japanese pastry that is a common sight in convenience stores, named for its resemblance to a melon rather than its taste. However, nothing beats a fresh melonpan, so if you want to taste the real deal, head over to Tsukishima Kyuei! Also located along Tsukishima Monja Street, this melonpan specialty shop has gained massive popularity over the years, with posters of television appearances displayed above the storefront acting as a testament to its sparkling reputation. We were hypnotized by the sweet scent surrounding the shop, attracting us like moths to a flame.

Tsukishima Kyuei continuously bakes melonpan and other pastries such as hand-held pies and croissants throughout the day, replenishing when they see that they are running low and keeping their stock fresh. Their products are tantalizingly lined up against the store window, attracting visitors from afar and enticing passersby to stop and indulge in the scrumptious pastries. As their signature item is melonpan, we of course had to delight in a freshly-baked melonpan ourselves, and also grabbed a scrumptious-looking apple pie and bag of melonpan rusks while we were there as well.

While pre-packaged melonpan is often spongy and the upper crust only lightly crunchy, Tsukishima Kyuei’s melonpan was fluffy with a delightfully crisp top layer. We could clearly see the sugar that accentuated the sweetness of the bread crystalized atop the golden-brown grooves of the melonpan, melting in our mouths with each bite. It is no wonder that people wander all the way to Tsukishima just to get a taste of this melonpan!

The apple pie was equally as delicious, with the succulent apple filling pairing beautifully with the buttery, flaky crust. Our purchases were gone before we knew it, leaving us happy and satisfied, but our sweet tooths still called for more. Luckily, we still had our bag of enticing melonpan rusks, which are the dried top layer of the melonpan, that we could snack on later. While crunchy, they easily break apart between your teeth and maintain the heavenly taste of Tsukishima Kyuei’s freshly-baked melonpan. These pre-packaged goodies make for great souvenirs, although any recipient would be jealous that you got to munch on the freshly-baked version!

Tsukudakobashi Bridge - A Traditional Structure Hidden Among Concrete

A short walk from the bustling Tsukishima Monja Street are the quaint residences and retro-looking shops of the Tsukuda area, accentuated by the towering Tokyo buildings in the backdrop. The Tsukuda area was developed in the late 16th century by fishermen from present-day Osaka who were invited to the area by none other than the famed “shogun” (military general) Tokugawa Ieyasu to help strengthen the fishing and hunting industries in Edo (modern-day Tokyo).   

When walking along the charming roads past the eclectic mix of contemporary and mid-century apartments, we spotted a captivating pop of color in the distance, and upon closer inspection realized it was a traditional Japanese bridge quietly standing among the modern Tokyo landscape. The vermilion, Japanese-style railings of this bridge offer a vibrant contrast against the muted colors of the surrounding retro buildings and apartments. Although the current bridge was built in 1984, it offers a sense of the geography while the area was still being developed, standing in almost the exact same location of a man-made moat that separated the then island of Tsukuda into eastern and western areas.

The bridge looks upon a small dockage where local fishing boats moor, serenely swaying atop the water while waiting to be taken out for service. The surrounding area is filled with local charm, with residences, shops, and a small park, and residents leisurely making their way through the streets while happily greeting each other, offering a delightful glimpse into everyday Japanese lifestyles.

The view from the bridge is a visual example of the modernization of Tokyo, yet also illustrates the harmony between the old and new. The small park right by the bridge is the perfect place to rest, sitting on a bench surrounded by trees and shrubs while taking in the sight of the bridge crossing the river with the fascinating amalgamation of buildings in the background.

Sumidagawa River Terrace - Stunning Views of the Tokyo Skyline

The Sumidagawa River Terrace is a lengthy paved walkway located along the Sumidagawa River, stretching a total of 32 kilometers beside the river’s route throughout Tokyo and passing Tsukishima and the neighboring Kachidoki. Although popular for jogging and walking, we took a short walk towards the river to just relax and take in the scenery when we wanted a little break. After taking a leisurely stroll and admiring the buildings in the distance, we stopped and sat upon one of the numerous benches overlooking the water, watching boats putting atop the gentle blue ripples while breathing in the salty air.

The terrace offers remarkable views of the urban Tokyo skyline and, depending on the location and angle, you can even see Tokyo Tower or Tokyo Skytree in the distance! While blending in with the other buildings during the day, both towers are beautifully illuminated at night, standing prominent against the twinkling lights of the Tokyo skyscrapers and offering a romantic vibe different from the daytime.

Enjoy a Retro Atmosphere Without Leaving Downtown Tokyo

Tsukishima is a truly unique neighborhood in Tokyo with its blend of retro and modern aesthetics and waterfront views, and is also one of the few places where you can try authentic monjayaki! If you’re looking for a change of pace while staying close to Tokyo’s other popular neighborhoods, look no further than Tsukishima!

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

Kanto Feature

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.


About the author

Kim
Kim S.
Klook.com

Restaurant Search