與舊物相遇,與有緣人相逢 ── 東京大江戶骨董市漫步

有些人神往日本傾慕它的「新」,比方新穎現代的摩登建築、貼人心的科技發明,有些人著迷日本則愛戀它的「舊」,舉凡服飾料理民藝工藝,一切與傳統有關的事物。而筆者乃屬後者,尤其贊歎日本古物市的繁集,平時休暇要展開踏尋骨董市與跳蚤市集的旅程。其中去訪最多的要數東京的大江戶骨董市。被譽為日本規模最大的露天古董市集,不論對古物同樣心有所好者,或純粹體驗漫步其中,本次就隨tsunagu Japan繫日本「Area of Japan」特輯企劃「推薦親友我的私心景點(東京篇)」一同溜達去吧。

東京

玩樂

※本文感謝大江戶骨董市事務局協助執筆完成。

日本規模最大的露天古董市集、大江戶骨董市

每月固定第一與第三個週日,於有樂町地區的「東京國際論壇・地上廣場」舉辦的大江戶骨董市,規模之大堪稱日本露天古董市之最,不僅在國內備受關注,也因曾獲海外媒體報導,吸引許多同樣愛好古物的外國淘客專程來訪。

以江戶開府400周年為契機

大江戶骨董市實行委員會事務局的淺野小姐分享,大江戶骨董市的緣起係以江戶建城400週年為契機,以重新發現舊物美好、並成立文化與藝術交流之地為目的,於2003年9月開市。當年想尋找舉辦場地便與東京國際論壇提案討論,最終決定落腳當時仍空著無人使用的地上廣場。除了有樂町這裡,疫前也曾不定期於代代木公園舉辦。

和洋融合的店家與氛圍

日本的古董市集行之多年且發展繁榮,在許多地方都經常舉辦,然,許多市集分類明晰,或以西洋骨董,或以日本古董為主軸,各專其職。

大江戶骨董市則未制定明確的主題,市集上能見到日本古董與西洋古董的攤家相鄰緊挨,日本古物不在話下,歐洲雜貨、古道具也多,來自各年代、各國界的歷史物件齊聚一市。多元而豐富的大江戶古董市「彷彿一座叢林。」淺野小姐說道。

這一攤是日本和服,那一攤是西洋老盤。這一腳還停留英國18世紀,下一步就跨至20世紀大正時代。另,這裡的出店業者年齡層廣泛,年青人多,會簡單英語甚至中文的人也有不少。筆者便曾數次看見有些年長的經營者積極開口與外國客人對話,輔以比手畫腳。從出店者到來客,一同構織成活絡的氣氛,即便不諳美術品古董品的專業知識,也能參加國外市集一樣自在的遊走其中。

古董市集新手的玩樂方法

何時前往為佳

一般而言,大江戶骨董市通常於上午9點開始,至午後4點結束。由於露天環境容易受天氣等因素影響,因此遇雨的話,舉辦與否及開市時間於當日官網公布而定。

根據筆者經驗,許多愛好者清早一開幕就風風火火入場,遍走各個攤位專心淘寶,到了正午以後,會有愈來愈多訪客,現場熱鬧水洩不通。雖表定時間至午後4點閉市,但不少店家約3點起便會陸續收拾攤位,不再受理接客。為了避開洶湧人群,也避免心儀物件被捷手先得,因此建議趁早前往為佳。

事前準備日幣現金

許多古董市集的店家為個人獨立經營,大江戶古董市亦不例外,現場的店家多半只供現金交易,因此建議事前備好充足的日幣現金。至於預算的金額應預備多少?從數千元的古董食器,至數萬元的手錶或壁飾,甚至數十萬的古董傢俱不等,數目取決於欲購買的品項而會大幅變動。

若當天現金準備不足,也不必擔心,可至東京國際論壇地下1樓Family Mart超商裡的ATM自動櫃員機,或鄰近的新國際大廈1樓ATM領取。

與店家對話的秘訣

古董市集不僅是物件流通之地,亦是愛好古董者交流的場所。身為闖入古董叢林的新手,初入時難免會有不知如何與店家交流的疑惑與不安。淺野小姐分享與店家自然展開對話的訣竅——用手觸碰古董之前,先詢問店主:「手に取っていいですか?(te-ni-totte-i-desu-ka/ 我可以用手拿嗎)」或以友好稱讚的方式:「これいいですね!(kore-i-desu-ne/ 這個很不錯耶)」向店家搭話,利用自身與店主同樣喜愛某事物的共通點,便能自然地開展話題。

除了眼光掃視,實際觸摸古董、感受其質地,也是認識古董品的好途徑,不妨向店家禮貌詢問,通常店主們都會很樂意、滔滔不絕分享呢。

古董品帶回家的方法

販售食器或易碎品的店家,有些會準備防撞的顆粒泡泡膜或者報紙,針對較為大型的物件,也有店家可能會準備紙箱防護。實際情況因店而異,好不容易買到的心愛寶貝,自然得小心一點呵護,身為海外觀光客,若手邊有塑膠袋或衣物的話,不妨也準備一兩件在包包裡,做簡易的防撞保護。

瞭解了大江戶骨董市的緣由,以及身為新手如何出入市集的方式,接下來就實際一探現場市集模樣吧。

 

當日出店風景

從英國淘回的古董選物店

大江戶骨董市上販售著歐洲食器攤販不少,來自神奈川的古董雜貨選物店menu,則一切圍繞著英國。從1950~1970年代的英國餐具、精巧可愛的玻璃瓶,到來自19世紀末至20世紀初、少說也具有100年~150年歷史的手扶椅木凳子等家具。是英國控不能錯過的攤位。幾乎每次都會在大江戶古董市出攤的menu,筆者便曾來此買過銀製餐具,老闆親切且悉心教導如何做清潔保養。

宛如私人收藏家的美國玩具攤

彷彿將自家收藏都搬到了市集來,玩具雜貨鋪一般的店家,經營者是一對夾著銀白髮絲的夫妻檔。攤位上主要是美國物件輔以昭和商品。除了有各式1960年代、色彩鮮豔且做工精細的美國玩偶玩具,到美國器皿,還有帶有濃濃昭和風味的鐵招牌、花色樣貌各異成排的鈕扣們。琳琅滿目的商品也吸引著各年齡層的來客,從年輕女性到上了年紀的爺爺,也有西方臉孔的客人光顧。

賦予傳統小物全新生命的和風攤舖

在市集裡閒逛時,忍不住駐足這攤堆滿了大地色澤、風格質樸卻溫馨的和風物件的攤位。掃視了一圈,其中吸引筆者眼光的,是這個有著美麗弧形的藤編容器。

店主爺爺熱心分享,他的古董多半是從大正年代(1912~1926年)至昭和年代(1926~1989年)初期的老件。而這只好看的藤編容器,是已有80~100年歷史的捕魚用具,以前古人會掛在腰間,把捕獲的魚隻存放到裡頭去,現代則有些人拿來當花瓶使用,會繫上繩索,掛於牆上、插花做裝飾。原以為只能擺著做飾品的容器,不想還有這層用途!

框住一幅幅美好時光的畫店

隨意疊放在地面上的畫作,層層交疊,不時有來客前來翻閱欣賞。除了可掛於牆壁的洋畫,也有尺寸如A4的藝伎剪影畫作,集合了各種紙上藝術。而夾雜在眾多畫作中,這副不曉得能否一手扛起的超大型算盤吸引了筆者目光。

個性十足的老闆分享道,這種大型的算盤是以前學校老師教學使用的教具,用於黑板前操作示範給同學看的,是非常罕見的物品。另,老闆還手指著算盤的地珠,說道,在更早以前年代算盤的地珠是五顆,這副僅有四顆,是前人為了增進算數效率而加以改良,屬於昭和時期的產物。

其他風景

走逛一圈會發現,大江戶市集裡的攤位,有些專門賣固定商品,有些則偏向雜貨,風采各異。另,這裡亦是有名的二手和服攤集聚地,除了和服、羽織、腰帶、草履等相關配件應有盡有。市集上,經常能看見身著和服者來此挑貨呢。不論是古董愛好者,衝著淘寶的目的而來,或單純想體驗古董市,巡找一處能走逛漫步的地方,多元而熱鬧的大江戶古董市,是一處能令人忘卻時間流逝、不自覺陷入其中魅力的地方。

大江戶骨董市 舉辦資訊

在大江戶古董市跨越時間與國境的相遇

大江戶古董市充斥各個跨越時代與世代、言語甚至國境的帶有歷史感的古品,卻不僅是古物交易場所,也是反映了歷史與文化魅力,重新發現古物美好之處。恣意而熱烈的氣氛中乘載著時光痕跡與回憶點滴,許多美好緣分與邂逅發生的大江戶骨董市集,下回您也來親自走訪一趟吧!

關東特輯

本文資訊均以公開時為準。


作者簡介

Fuchi
Fuchi Pan
來自炎熱南方,現居日本。熱衷一切吃食和有溫度的器皿。寫寫飲食文化,偶爾參雜些旅遊悸動。

搜尋餐廳

Tokyo's Oedo Antique Market: Encounter Amazing Treasures and People

Many people love Japan for the "new" parts of its culture like modern architecture and scientific innovations. Others, though, are attracted to the "old" Japan and its clothing, cuisine, folk art, and other traditions. Our Taiwanese editor and author of the day is in the second camp, and often goes to antique or flea markets on their days off. In this edition of "Area of Japan," they'll go into detail about one particular market they love, the Oedo Antique Market. If you're an antique lover or even just like taking strolls to savor the local atmosphere, read on to learn more about this amazing spot!

Tokyo

Things to Do

* This article has been written in collaboration with the administrative office of the Oedo Antique Market.

Oedo Antique Market: The Largest Outdoor Antique Market in Japan

The Oedo Antique Market is held on the first and third Sunday of every month at the plaza of the Tokyo International Forum in Yurakucho. It is said to be the largest outdoor antique market in Japan. The market is well known not only domestically, but has also been covered by international media. It continuously attracts antique lovers from all over the world who go out of their way to visit this place.

It All Started with the 400th Anniversary of the Edo Shogunate

According to Asano from the Oedo Antique Market's executive committee, this mecca for antique lovers began in September 2003 on the occasion of the 400th anniversary of the founding of the Edo shogunate (1603 – 1868), with the aim of creating a place for cultural and artistic exchange and celebrating all things antique-related.

While looking for a place to hold the event, the market’s organizers talked with the Tokyo International Forum and decided on its plaza, which was not being used by anyone else at that time. In addition to Yurakucho, the event had also been held at Yoyogi Park on an irregular basis before the COVID-19 pandemic.

A Unique Place Where East Meets West

Japanese antique markets have existed for a long time and are held throughout the country. But most of them stick to just one category and serve just one function, focusing on either Western or Japanese antiques.

In contrast, the Oedo Antique Market is not limited to one theme, allowing booths selling both Japanese and Western antiques to exist next to each other. Besides Japanese heirlooms, you’ll also find many European goods and historic items, as well as all kinds of antiques from all periods and countries gathered together. With such a wide variety, the Oedo Antique Market is “like a jungle,” according to Asano.

One booth might have Japanese kimono while another might have Western antique tableware. One moment you might be looking at 18th century English items, and the next you’ll be staring at 20th century Taisho era goods. You’ll find many young people among the Oedo Antique Market vendors, some of whom speak simple English or Chinese.

I once saw an elderly business owner doing their best to communicate with a foreign customer using just gestures. Vendors and visitors work together to create a lively atmosphere at the market, and even if you know nothing about art or antiques, you’ll be able to move about this place freely as if you were walking through a market in your home country.

A Beginner’s Guide to the Oedo Antique Market

Pick the Right Time

The Oedo Antique Market normally starts at 9:00 am and runs until 4:00 pm. Since this is an outdoor market, though, these hours are easily affected by factors such as the weather. In case of rain, whether or not the market will be held, plus its new schedule, will be announced on the official Oedo Antique Market website.

In my experience, many fans of antiques get to the market as soon as it opens and immediately start treasure hunting. By noon, more and more people arrive and the place becomes more hectic. The market officially closes at 4:00 pm, but many booths begin cleaning up around 3:00 pm and stop serving customers. To avoid the crowds, but also to avoid having something special fall into the hands of others, I recommend getting to the market as early as possible.

Bring Cash With You, In Yen

Most of the booths at antique markets are operated by private owners, and the Oedo one is no exception. Since private booths usually deal only in cash, I recommend that you bring plenty of cash with you, in yen. How much is “plenty”? It depends on what you want to buy. You can find anything here from antique tableware costing several thousand yen to clocks and wall decorations costing tens of thousands of yen and even antique furniture going for hundreds of thousands of yen.

But let’s say that you find yourself at the market without any hard cash. In such a case, you can thankfully withdraw money at the local convenience store (Family Mart), located on the basement floor of the Tokyo International Forum, or at an ATM on the first floor of the nearby Shin-Kokusai Building.

How to Talk to the Vendors

Besides being a place for selling goods, antique markets are also great for meeting other antique enthusiasts. Beginners who’re still testing the waters of the world of antiques may initially not know how to interact with vendors at antique markets and fairs. We asked Asano how to strike up a natural conversation with antique sellers. He said that it’s always a good idea to talk to the vendor before touching their wares. “Can I hold it in my hand?” or “I like this!” are great phrases to establish a friendly rapport. After that, the conversations tend to develop naturally.

In addition to using your eyes, actually touching and feeling the texture of an antique is also a good way to judge its quality, so please ask the stall owner for permission if you’re interested in something. The vendors also tend to be happy to tell you everything they know about their wares.

How to Bring Purchased Antiques Back Home

Some vendors selling tableware and fragile objects will provide cushioning material like newspapers to help you bring your purchase back home. For relatively large items, some may even provide paper boxes for additional protection. It all differs from stall to stall, but everyone wants to ensure that your new treasure gets to its new home safely. If you’re an overseas tourist and don’t have appropriate cushioning material, you may want to bring a plastic bag and a jacket or two with you to use instead.

Now that we’ve discussed the origin of the Oedo Antique Market and how beginners should navigate it, it’d probably be a good idea to put theory to practice. So, let's take a look at the day I spent antiquing there!

The Day I Visited the Oedo Antique Market

A Select Shop Specializing in English Antiques

There are many booths selling European tableware at the Oedo Antique Market. The store called “menu” from Kanagawa Prefecture that we visited that day was selling items from England, including English tableware from the 1950s to 1970s. Their stock also included delicate and pretty glass bottles and furniture such as armchairs from the late 19th to the early 20th century, making it at least 100 to 150 years old. I once bought some silver tableware from this vendor, and the owner was very kind and eager to show me how to properly care for it.

An American Toy Booth That Looks Like a Massive Private Collection

This booth run by one elderly couple looks like a toy store or as if the owners brought their private toy collection to the market. The booth is decorated with American objects and products, from eye-catching, finely crafted American dolls from the 1960s to American tableware, retro iron signs, and buttons of various shapes and colors. The impressive selection of goods attracts customers from all walks of life, including young women, elderly men, and international visitors.

A Japanese Shop That Breathes New Life Into Traditional Accessories

While looking around the antique market, I couldn't help but stop at this booth. It was full of simple yet warm, earth-colored Japanese-style goods. What quickly caught my eye was a rattan woven basket with a beautiful arch.

The owner, an older gentleman, was eager to show off his wares. He said that most of his antiques were from between the Taisho Period (1912 – 1926) and the early Showa Period (1926 – 1989). The beautiful rattan woven basket in the picture above is a fishing tool from 80 – 100 years ago. In the past, people used to wear it around their waist and carry the fish they caught inside it. Today, some people like to thread a string through it and use it as a wall-hanging vase. It made me realize there can be various uses for something that only looks like decoration!

A Painting Store That “Frames” the Good Old Days

At this store, paintings were placed randomly on the ground all stacked on top of each other while the occasional visitor looked them over. In addition to Western-style paintings hanging on the walls, the vendor also had a collection of various paper art, including A4-size silhouettes of geisha. Out of their entire inventory, one item in particular caught my eye: an abacus so large, you could hardly hold it with one hand.

According to the owner, these large abacuses were once actually used by school teachers to teach mathematics by holding them in front of the blackboard and showing various calculations to students. You rarely see them nowadays. Pointing to the beads of the large abacus, the owner told us that while older abacuses had five beads, this one had four beads because it’s a newer model that was created during the Showa Period to increase efficiency.

A Diverse Antique Market That Also Sells Kimono and Accessories

A quick look around all the booths revealed that the Oedo Antique Market is truly diverse. It has everything from specialty stores to those selling miscellaneous goods. More importantly, it’s also a popular place for buying and selling used kimono and related items such as haori jackets, obi sashes, zori sandals, and hagire scraps of cloth. You often see people in kimono shopping here.

Whether you’re an antique lover, a bargain hunter, or are simply curious about what an antique market looks like, the Oedo Antique Market is a great place to meet people from all walks of life, forget the passage of time, and lose yourself in the magic of the past.

Oedo Antique Market: Basic Information

Oedo Antique Market: Encounters That Transcend Time and Borders

At the Oedo Antique Market, visitors can transcend time, age, language, and national borders to encounter antiques steeped in history. The market is not only a place to buy and sell heirlooms, but also where you can rediscover the beauty of things that hold the magic of history and culture within them. You never know what discoveries and opportunities await you at this relaxed yet lively place. If you ever get the chance, visit the Oedo Antique Market and experience all of that for yourself.

 

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

Kanto Feature

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.


About the author

Fuchi
Fuchi Pan
Tokyo based Taiwanese writer/ editor. Passionate about Japanese food culture, culinary traditions and local/seasonal quality ingredients.
Klook.com

Restaurant Search