【日本自由行】123座鳥居交織成的赤色沿海之路!探索神秘的世界——精選12個日本特色鳥居

在日本文化裡,鳥居被認為是連接神明世界與俗世之間的門,從很久以前便存在於日本的詩歌與文章中,也是日本人潛意識中不可或缺的一部分,可說是日本傳統文化的一大象徵。本文將介紹日本12處可欣賞到鳥居的美麗景點!不妨前往當地,體驗深受日本人重視的精神世界與鳥居所展現出的神秘樣貌吧!

日本

玩樂

日本的鳥居是什麼呢?

鳥居正如其名,意指其上居住著各種鳥類,讓人聯想到如同神話世界般的美好之地。在神社入口或神社內一定會有鳥居,其構造為兩根柱子立於兩側,上方則架著兩塊平行的木板。隨著時間的流逝,鳥居不僅是一座普通的大門,更深深地烙印在日本文化的靈魂之中。

1. 伏見稻荷大社(京都):帶領您前往神聖之地,一萬多座鳥居令人著迷

伏見稻荷大社為日本首屈一指的著名神社。超過一萬座鮮紅色的鳥居從稻荷山的山腳綿延至山頂(也被稱為千本鳥居隧道)。此神社有個暱稱叫做稻荷先生,其中供奉著稻荷大明神,因在保佑生意興隆、學業進步與五穀豐收方面相當靈驗而聞名,每年都有來自日本各地的民眾在此祈求一整年能事事順心。初次造訪的人想必一定會因神社的奢華之美而感到震懾不已。一萬多座鳥居林立,營造出震撼人心的美景。走完長4公里的千本鳥居隧道需耗時約2〜3小時左右。

這些鳥居都是個人或團體為了祈求好運與生意興隆而捐獻。仔細觀察鳥居會發現每座的大小都不太一樣。鳥居共有6種大小,每種尺寸需捐獻的香油錢也不同,最小的5號尺寸為21萬日幣,最大的10號尺寸則為160萬日幣。紅色柱子上會以黑色字體清楚地寫上捐獻的企業、團體或個人資訊。鳥居的價格較高,因此較難捐獻,但有保佑作用的護身符只要數百日幣就能買到。有機會造訪此地時,不妨拍些照片、買些護身符回去當作伴手禮吧!

2. 嚴島神社(廣島):浮於海面上的神秘鳥居

嚴島神社的鳥居位於廣島宮島,也是日本最著名的鳥居之一。鳥居高16公尺、重60公噸,有著鮮紅色的外觀,佇立於海中。其獨特之處在於即使鳥居在地面上無任何地基,光靠鳥居的重量也能穩穩地聳立於海面上。因潮汐漲退的關係,一日之中能看到兩種截然不同的景緻,體會到不同的感受。漲潮時,鳥居彷彿漂浮在海上,神秘的影子倒映在透明的水面上。退潮時,則展現出雄壯且華麗的整體風貌。這時可靠近鳥居仔細欣賞或拍照留念。 

經過了145年,這座鳥居仍佇立在海中,忽隱忽現於蔚藍的大海與潮汐漲退之間,傳統神道文化的靈魂蘊藏其中。嚴島神社及華麗的鳥居與充滿抒情氛圍的大自然結合,營造出一幅獨一無二的藝術作品。此處為日本三大美景之一,更被著名的聯合國教科文組織選定為世界遺產,深受日本旅客的喜愛。

3. 森戶神社(神奈川):鳥居、富士山與燈塔相互輝映

當看見各具風貌的鳥居、富士山與燈塔和諧共存的景觀時,讓人非常地訝異。這座鳥居位於神奈川縣無人島名島(葉山)上的森戶神社內。旁邊則是葉山燈塔(別稱:裕次郎),是為了紀念知名演員石原裕次郎所興建而成。夕陽西下時,陽光灑落在鳥居、燈塔與富士山之上,營造出美麗動人的景象。相信見到此番美景的人都會忘記時光的流逝吧!

喜愛戶外活動者可於7、8月期間租借皮艇或獨木舟前往島上,可說是喜歡運動或探險的人必去的場所之一。

4. 天岩戶神社(宮崎):洞窟中的神秘鳥居

天岩戶神社距離高千穗町市區約10公里,隱身於天安河原洞窟中,擁有神聖又神秘的出眾美景。神社的名字帶有「太陽女神的洞窟」之意,而鳥居的誕生則與一個眾所皆知的傳說有關。據說此洞穴是天照大神為了躲避弟弟——須佐之男命的暴行而藏身的地方。當時世界頓時一片漆黑。其他神明嘗試了許多方法之後,天照大神終於走出洞穴,世界再次重返光明。因為這則神話故事,此處的居民決定在這個洞穴中興建供奉天照大神的神社。

在此可欣賞到由巨大的岩石與順著陽光彎曲的大樹所創造出的美麗光景。神秘的天安河原洞窟入口處有座古老的鳥居,旁邊則有許多堆疊起來的石頭。據說只要邊堆石頭邊祈禱的話,願望就會實現。有機會造訪此處時,您也不妨嘗試看看吧!

5. 元乃隅稻荷神社(山口):123座鳥居交織而成的美麗沿海之路

元乃隅稻荷神社興建於1955年,據說起源於在日本文化中與稻荷之神有密切關係的白狐的啟示。某天,一隻白狐出現在當地漁夫岡村齊先生身邊,白狐表示為了讓幫助漁夫滿載而歸的神靈開心,請他們在此處祭祀祂。據說在此神社祈求生意興隆、漁獲豐收、海上安全、好姻緣、求子、開運除厄、福貴雙全、交通安全與學業順利等各種願望都能實現。神社最大的特色就是綿延至本殿超過100公尺長的鳥居。位於出口處的最後一座鳥居上方則有香油箱,據說如果能將香油錢順利投入箱中的話就能實現願望。

元乃隅稻荷神社於2015年被美國CNN電視台評選為「日本31個最美景色」之一,成為了每年吸引數千名旅客前來的觀光勝地。

6. 八百富神社(愛知):座落於宏偉橋樑前方的海上神社

神聖的八百富神社位於周長約680公尺的小島——竹島上,藉由長387公尺的橋樑與俗世相連。橋樑前方則有座雄偉壯觀的鳥居。此外,島上也有許多主要以白色水泥打造而成的小型鳥居。這座島如同一座縮小版的溫帶森林,以擁有約65科、238種珍貴植物而聞名。

此神社由藤原俊成建造於1181年(平安時代)。八百富神社社叢(環繞神社生長的樹林)被認定為國家天然紀念物,神社內祭祀著美麗的市杵島姫命,其代表能帶來幸運、婚姻與分娩順利。八百富神社也是日本祭祀弁財天(知識學藝女神)的知名七處之一,據說只要夫妻牽手一起過橋便能幸福一輩子。有人來過這個地方嗎?有戀人的您別忘了帶另一半一起前往許願喔!

7. 櫻井神社(福岡):有著傳說中的「夫婦岩」,面向廣闊太平洋的神社

純白色的美麗鳥居威風凜凜地佇立於二見浦,浮現在天空與大海一片深藍色的背景之中。2018年春天,這座鳥居被當地居民重新漆成白色。距離海岸約150公尺處則有傳說中的夫婦岩。兩座岩石以長30公尺、重達1噸的注連繩(每年5月會更換新繩)相繫。兩座岩石高度分別為11.2公尺與11.8公尺。自古以來此處便是櫻井神社的神聖之地,備受眾人信仰。

 

佇立於海岸的鳥居與海浪融為一體,兩座岩石屹立,面向著廣闊的太平洋,彷彿見證著這個世界上不存在的美好愛情。此處獲選為日本可看見最美落日的場所之一。夕陽西下時,鳥居與夫婦岩點綴著染成火紅一片的天空,描繪出令人動容的美麗畫面。

8. 大洗磯前神社(茨城):沈醉於日出之國獨一無二的朝霞

建立於9世紀的大洗磯前神社歷史悠久,其與著名的神磯鳥居皆為日本可欣賞到美麗朝霞的知名景點。神社祭祀的神明為保佑全家安全與生意興隆的大己貴命。面向遼闊太平洋的海岸旁有塊岩石,其上佇立著的鳥居是此處的一大特色。

每年元旦時,人們會來到此地迎接從太平洋另一端升起的旭日。對於當地人來說,此習俗已成為了神聖的文化之一。有機會造訪茨城時,別忘了將這個充滿魅力的景點排進行程中喔!

9. 高山稻荷神社(青森):數千座白狐雕像林立的神聖之路

高山稻荷神社原為安藤一族(鎌倉至室町時期統治此地的家族之一),於屏風山正中央建造的神社,江戶時代(1603~1867年)改為祭祀稻荷神。由此處可看見岩木山、十三湖與日本海。高山神社與京都的伏見稻荷大社一樣,皆供奉稻荷神明。前往高山神社神明所在地的沿路上林立著202座朱紅色的鳥居(統計截至2018年5月)。在春櫻染成一片粉紅、或夏季樹木鬱鬱蒼蒼的風景中,紅色的鳥居分外顯眼。秋天時,鳥居也使浪漫的景緻增色不少,冬季則與純白的雪景創造出充滿張力的景觀。造訪此地,便能欣賞與感受日本四季的更迭之美。

此外,在此座神社也會看到其他令人驚訝的景觀。前排鳥居所在的公園中擺設著數千座狐狸雕像。因此,此處也被稱為「狐狸墓場」。為什麼會有此番奇怪的景象呢?傳說中狐狸為稻荷神的使者,當神明出現時,其身旁都會有一隻白色狐狸。因此,祭祀稻荷神的所有神社中,都會擺放胸口繫著紅色圍巾的白色狐狸雕像,用來看守神社。

10. 惠比壽岩、大黑岩(北海道):藍色大海中孤零零佇立於岩石上的鳥居

這兩塊相鄰而立的岩石位於北海道的小鎮「余市」,距離海岸約10公尺。高瘦且底部較細、感覺不太穩固的是惠比壽岩,比惠比壽岩稍大、稍矮,形狀較圓的岩石則是大黑石。這兩座岩石的特色在於大黑岩上的小型鳥居,散發出神秘之美。

惠比壽岩取名來自於七福神之一,會取做大黑這個名字則是因為岩石本身的形狀與顏色,也就是又大又黑的岩石之意。雖然兩塊岩石外觀截然不同,但彷彿像是彌補對方不足之處的景觀,讓人們稱之為北海道的「夫婦岩」。可說是讓人想不禁按下相機快門的有趣風景呢!

 

11. 白鬚神社(滋賀): 位於日本最大湖泊中的鳥居

此座神社的名字叫做白鬚,意指「白色鬍鬚」,使人聯想到年老的神明的鬍鬚。這個名字的靈感或許就是來自於神社祭祀的長壽之神吧!這座神社建立於幾千年前,位於滋賀縣琵琶湖西北部,據說是個能保佑功成名就、結緣與健康的能量場所。此處除了是著名的能量場所外,也是攝影界公認日本最美麗、能看到如詩如畫般閃耀的夕陽景觀的景點之一。

鳥居高12公尺(從水面算起的高度)、寬7.8公尺,距離國道58.2公尺。此處與海上的鳥居不同,不需在意潮汐漲退,隨時都能前往欣賞位於琵琶湖上的鳥居。 

12. 太皷谷稻成神社(島根):雄偉山中的神秘之美

此座神社位於津和野町,自江戶時代(1603〜1868年)便以發展蓬勃的城下町聞名。1773年,津和野的藩主為了守護此處與祈求和平,命令工匠模仿京都的伏見稻荷神社興建而成。因此,此處也被稱為「小京都」,是日本五大稻荷神社之一。

鮮紅色的鳥居座落於雄偉的大自然之中,從入口綿延至山頂。每年都有數百萬名信徒造訪與參拜。

以上介紹的12座鳥居中,您看過幾座呢?哪座讓您最印象深刻、或者哪座您未來最想去朝聖一趟呢?將您的體驗及感想與 tsunagu Japan 繫日本 分享吧!

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

玩樂

住宿

購物

搜尋餐廳

12 of Japan’s Most Unique Torii Gates That Will Transport You to a World of Mystery and Wonder

It is said that torii (shrine) gates connect this world with the world of spirits. They are an indispensable part of Japanese culture and have appeared in the country’s poems and prose for millennia. In this article, we’ll take a look at the 12 most beautiful locations featuring torii from all over Japan! Step through these gateways between worlds, and enjoy the mysticism of torii gates that has long captivated the people of Japan.

Nationwide

Things to Do

What Are Torii Gates?

“Torii” is written with the characters for “bird” (鳥) and “to be,” (居) and as the name suggests, it is supposed to invoke the image of a mythical, wonderful place where many different birds live. All Shinto shrines must have a torii gate at the entrance or on shrine grounds, with the structure being composed of two vertical beams connected by two horizontal planks at the top. Over the years, the torii has become more than just a regular gate and permanently etched itself into the very soul of Japanese culture.

1. Fushimi Inari Taisha (Kyoto): 10,000 Spellbinding Torii That Lead to the Land of Gods

Fushimi Inari Taisha is one of Japan’s best-known Shinto shrines. It’s famous for the over 10,000 deep vermilion torii that stretch from the foot of Mt. Inari to its peak (also known as the Tunnel of Senbon Torii, or “1,000 Torii”). The shrine is also lovingly called Oinari-san and venerates Inari Daimyojin, the deity of commerce, academics, and bountiful harvests. Every year, people from all over Japan travel to Fushimi Inari Taisha to pray for divine favors, with first-time visitors always being taken by the shrine’s great beauty and the scenery of more than 10,000 torii gates. It takes about 2-3 hours to walk the entire length of the 4km-long Tunnel of Senbon Torii.

All of the gates at the shrine were donated by individuals and organizations praying for good luck and success in business. But when you look at them closely, you can see that they come in different sizes. The size of the torii actually decides the amount of money a person or an organization has to offer to the shrine when donating a gate. There are six sizes in total. The smallest one, #5, requires a fee of 210,000 yen, while the biggest one, #10, comes with a bill for 1,600,000 yen. Once the donation has been made, the names of the donors are written on the vermilion torii in big, black characters. Because of their high price, not many people can afford to donate a torii gate, so most go with a simple o-mamori (luck/protection talisman), which only costs a few hundred yen. If you’re ever at Fushimi Inari Taisha, make sure to take some commemorative photos and buy yourself an o-mamori souvenir.

2. Itsukushima Shrine (Hiroshima): Where the Mystical Torii Floats on the Water

Itsukushima Shrine, located on Miyajima Island in Hiroshima, is home to one of the most famous torii gates in Japan. Measuring 16m in height and weighing 60 tons, the bright vermilion torii soars above the surface of the water, and it actually has no underground foundation. It stands on the seafloor entirely under its own weight. The scenery of the Itsukushima torii changes depending on the tide, offering visitors two beautiful sights in one location. During high tide, the torii appears to be floating above the sea, reflecting ethereally in the surrounding waters. During low tide, it appears to visitors in all of its glory, allowing them to come over, observe it closely, and take commemorative photos.

The Itsukushima torii has been standing in the middle of the azure sea for 145 years, appearing and hiding with the tide, and slowly becoming a symbol of the very soul of Shinto. With Itsukushima Shrine and the poetically beautiful nature in the background, this torii gate is one of the most unique Japanese works of art ever created. Today, it’s not only one of the Three Views of Japan (the country’s most celebrated scenic spots), but also a UNESCO World Heritage Site that continues to capture the hearts of the many visitors to Miyajima.

3. Morito Shrine (Kanagawa): Where a Torii, a Lighthouse, and Mt. Fuji Come Together

A torii, a lighthouse, and Mt. Fuji, all painted in different colors, together form one breathtaking scenery. The gate in question can be found at Morito Shrine, itself built on the deserted island of Najima (Hayama) in Kanagawa Prefecture. Next to it stands the Hayama Lighthouse (nicknamed Yujiro), built in memory of the famous actor Yujiro Ishihara. When the torii gate, the lighthouse, and Mt. Fuji are bathed in the light of the setting sun, they create one of the most beautiful landscapes in Japan. It’s easy to lose track of time admiring it.

Those who enjoy a bit of exploration can reach the island by rental kayak or canoe between July and August. Do not miss the spectacular sights offered by Najima’s Morito Shrine.

4. Amano Iwato Shrine (Miyazaki): A Mysterious Torii Hidden Inside a Cave

Amano Iwato Shrine is located about 10km from the Takachiho town center, inside Amano Yasukawara Cave. It is a sacred, mystical, and beautiful place known as the Cave of the Goddess of the Sun, and it’s well known for the legends that say it is the very birthplace of torii gates. According to lore, the goddess Amaterasu hid away in this cave after being wronged by her younger brother Susanoo, plunging the world into darkness. The other gods got together and tried everything to get her out, finally succeeding in the end and bringing light back to the world. Because of this myth, the locals built a shrine inside the cave to honor Amaterasu.

The beautiful scenery of the Amano Iwato Shrine includes huge boulders and towering, curved trees bathed in sunlight. There is also an old torii gate at the entrance to the mystical Amanoyasukawara Cave, which is surrounded by stacks of rocks. It’s said that if you stack rocks while praying here, your prayers will be answered. Try it out if you ever get the chance to visit the shrine!

5. Motonosumi Inari Shrine (Yamaguchi): A Beautiful Seaside Road of 123 Torii Gates

It is said that the Motonosumi Inari Shrine was built in 1955 thanks to a revelation from the spirit of a white fox, a divine animal connected to Inari, an important Japanese deity. The legend goes that one day, a white fox appeared next to Hitoshi Okamura, a local fisherman, telling him to hold a ceremony celebrating a spirit who has been helping out the local fishing industry. The resulting Motonosumi Inari Shrine is today said to bestow all sorts of divine favors: success in business, rich fish hauls, safety at sea, success in love, children, warding off evil, wealth and happiness, traffic safety, academic success, and wish fulfillment. The most unique thing about the shrine is the 100m-long row of torii gates stretching to its main hall. There is a collection box atop the last torii, and it is believed that if you manage to throw your coin inside it, whatever you pray for will come true.

In 2015, the Motonosumi Inari Shrine was chosen as one of CNN’s “31 Most Beautiful Places in Japan.” It’s a popular tourist destination that attracts thousands of visitors every year.

6. Yaotomi Shrine (Aichi): A Majestic Bridge Leading to a Shrine on the Sea

Located on the small island of Takeshima (circumference 680m), the mystical Yaotomi Shrine is connected to the mainland by a 387m-long bridge, at the foot of which you’ll find the shrine’s majestic torii gate. There are also many smaller torii all over the island, all made from white cement. Takeshima is also home to what appears like a temperate forest in miniature, full of 65 families and 238 species of rare plants.

Yaotomi Shrine was built in 1181 (Heian Period) by the famed poet and nobleman Fujiwara no Toshinari, and today it is part of the registered natural monument of Takeshima. The shrine deifies the beautiful Ichikishima-hime-no-Mikoto, the deity of good fortune, childbirth, and marriage, as well as the Buddhist goddess Benzaiten, patron of knowledge, arts, and sciences, and one of the Seven Lucky Gods of Japan. It’s said that if a couple crosses the bridge leading to the island while holding hands, they’ll be blessed with eternal happiness. If you ever get the chance, definitely visit Yaotomi with someone you love.

7. Sakurai Shrine (Fukuoka): A Shrine and “Married Couple Rocks” That Overlook the Pacific Ocean

With the blue sky and ocean in the background, the beautifully white torii of the Sakurai Shrine stands amidst the Futamigaura Bay. (The gate was actually repainted white by local residents in the spring of 2018.) Around 150m from the shore, you will also find the famous Meoto Iwa, or “Married Couple Rocks,” which are connected by a sacred shimenawa (straw rope), 30m in length and weighing 1t, that is replaced every May. The rocks themselves measure 11.2m and 11.8m in height, respectively. Since time immemorial, these have been considered a sacred component of the Sakurai Shrine.

The torii on the water blends in harmoniously with the waves while the Married Couple Rocks represent the perfect kind of love, one that might not even exist in this world, all against the background of the Pacific Ocean. It’s no wonder that this place has been chosen as one of the most beautiful sunset spots in all of Japan. When the sun goes down over Futamigaura Bay, the torii and the rocks stand out against the red-painted sky, creating a moving, otherworldly scenery.

8. Oarai Isosaki Shrine (Ibaraki): One of Japan’s Most Singular Sunrise Spots

Oarai Isosaki Shrine dates back to the mid-9th century and is home to the Kamiiso torii, considered one of the most beautiful sunrise spots in Japan. The gate famously stands on an island rock off the coast and faces the vast Pacific Ocean. The shrine venerates Onamuchi-no-Mikoto, the deity of peace, health, and prosperity.

Every year, people gather here during the New Year to witness Oarai Isosaki Shrine’s sunrise. It’s one of the most important and sacred local customs. If you ever get a chance to visit Ibaraki, be sure to include the shrine in your itinerary.

9. Takayama Inari Shrine (Aomori): Walk the Sacred Road of Thousands of White Fox Statues

The Takayama Inari Shrine was built by the Ando clan, which held political power in Japan from the Kamakura Period (1185 – 1333) through the Muromachi Period (1336 – 1573). The shrine was built right in the center of Mt. Byobu and was remodeled during the Edo Period (1603 – 1868). It offers amazing views of Mount Iwaki, Lake Jusan, and the Sea of Japan. Just like Fushimi Inari Taisha in Kyoto, this shrine also venerates Inari, and the road leading to the place where the deity is enshrined is lined with 202 red torii gates (as of May 2018). The red of the torii really stands out in spring against the background of pink sakura cherry trees, and in summer against the verdant trees and plants. In fall, the torii and the autumn foliage create a romantic scenery, while in winter, the gates contrast beautifully with the white snowscapes. Depending on what season you visit the Takayama Inari Shrine, you are guaranteed a different kind of beautiful sight.

There is one other unique thing about the shrine that may surprise you. In the garden at the start of the line of torii, there are thousands of stone fox statues, which is why the area is also sometimes called the “fox graveyard.” Why are they there? According to myths, Inari is the deity of foxes, and whenever it appears, it’s always accompanied by one white fox. That’s why all Inari shrines are protected by a fox statue with a red apron tied around its neck.

10. Ebisu and Daikoku (Hokkaido): The Lonesome Torii Atop the Rock in the Middle of a Blue Sea

In the small town of Yoichi, about 10m from the shore, there stand two rocks. Ebisu is tall, long, and dangerously narrow at the bottom, while Daikoku is bigger, rounder, and steadier. What’s interesting about them is at the top of Daikoku you’ll find a small yet mystical and beautiful torii gate.

Ebisu was named after one of the Seven Lucky Gods of Japan, while Daikoku’s name comes from the fact that it’s big (“dai” in Japanese) and black (“koku”). Although the two are very different, they seem to complement each other, which is why they’ve been called Hokkaido’s Married Couple Rocks. The original scenery is irresistible to any shutterbug.

11. Shirahige Shrine (Shiga): A Torii Floating Above Japan’s Biggest Lake

The name “Shirahige” literally means “white beard/mustache” and is meant to bring to mind the image of an older, wise deity. It’s possible that the name is connected to the deity of longevity that’s worshipped at the site. The shrine itself dates back thousands of years and is located on the northwest side of Lake Biwa in Shiga Prefecture. It’s a known power spot that attracts people praying for fame, marriage, and health. The area is also famous as one of Japan’s most beautiful and picturesque sunset spots, loved by shutterbugs the world over.

The shrine’s torii is 12m in height (measured from the surface of the water) and 7.8m in width, standing 58.2m from the highway. Unlike torii floating above the sea or the ocean, there are no tides to worry about, so you can visit this Lake Biwa gate whenever you want.

12. Taikodani Inari Shrine (Shimane): The Mysterious Beauty of a Majestic Mountain

The shrine is located in the town of Tsuwano, which was a prosperous castle town during the Edo Period (1603 – 1868). In 1773, in order to protect the town and bring forward peace, the lord of Tsuwano ordered the construction of a shrine modeled on Kyoto’s Fushimi Inari Taisha. That’s why the area has since been known as Little Kyoto and why Taikodani is considered one of Japan’s five most important Inari shrines.

The row of bright red torii gates goes through the heart of nature until it reaches the top of the mountain. Every year, millions of worshipers visit the shrine to pray.

Have you visited any of the 12 torii that we introduced? Which one left the biggest impression on you and which one would you most like to see in person? Share your thoughts and experiences with tsunagu Japan.

 

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search