是什麼讓一蘭紅到海外?一蘭拉麵終極指南

拉麵,是日本料理的一大生力軍,來訪日本絕不能錯過的美食之一。拉麵如此受歡迎的原因有很多;不僅可以吃得又快又便宜,而且味道鮮美、飽腹感強。日本街上有相當多很棒的拉麵店,那麼應該去哪家拉麵店呢?以開胃的拉麵和新穎的服務風格,從眾多競爭對手中脫穎而出的一蘭拉麵如何?它有名的程度可能超乎你的想像,甚至在世界各地都有許多海外分店!本文將探討是什麼讓一蘭如此獨特並值得您光顧的理由。

日本

美食

一蘭拉麵的歷史

一蘭拉麵以其豐富的豚骨博多式拉麵聞名,是福岡的標誌性風格。從1960年在博多的一家不起眼的「双葉ラーメン」的開始,到1966年改名為「一蘭」。隨後於1993年,一蘭拉麵在福岡的那の川開設一家旗艦店,獨棟的餐廳以分隔座位的形式運營。這一特色不僅提升一蘭拉麵的知名度,也促進其在福岡第二家門市的開業。

一蘭拉麵的第二家分店表現的也不錯。乘著這個趨勢在福岡又開了七家分店,然後於2001年在福岡以外的地方開設第一家分店——位於時髦的東京六本木。

隨著一蘭拉麵在日本全國範圍內穩定擴張,從北海道到沖繩,一蘭這個名字很快就在日本各地的美食中流行起來。至2020年02月,在日本80多個地點擁有門市分店。此外還將其勢力擴展到國外,在香港、紐約和台灣等皆設有海外分店。

下定決心要吃到一蘭拉麵的人們通常不會太介意排一個小時(因店而異),尤其是在東京澀谷和大阪道頓堀的熱門分店,了解什麼時候是非熱門時段並選擇特定的分店可能是比較明智的作法!

是什麼讓一蘭拉麵如此獨特

個人座位

進入餐廳後,可以看到專為個人用餐者設計的隔板座椅,營造出寧靜的氛圍,讓您有一個愉快的用餐氛圍。此外,每個隔間前都有一個紗門,無需與為您服務的店員面對面互動。據說這個發想是一蘭的公司總裁吉冨学在得知他的女性朋友於公共場合食用拉麵時,會感到害羞而提出的想法。於是設計這樣的單人座位,讓人在繁忙的旅行日程之後安靜地吃拉麵,為之後所需能量充電。

當然您可能和會和朋友一起入店享用拉麵,這時可能會想一邊吃拉麵一邊自由聊天。上面提到的隔板是可以自行拆除,以便與同行友人交談。有些分店甚至也有提供座席區或小型包廂。

客製化點餐

一蘭拉麵鼓勵顧客以他們喜歡的方式吃拉麵。踏入餐廳之前,就要開始訂製屬於自己的拉麵。有些店使用自動售票機,上頭的按鈕顯示一蘭拉麵提供的各種選擇。有最物超所值的經典豚骨拉麵(890日幣),拉麵+3種配料(叉燒3片+半熟玉子+海苔2片)的「一蘭精選(1,490日幣)」等等。

一蘭也提供單點配菜,有幾種令人垂涎的選擇,如半熟玉子、木耳、海苔和叉燒等。決定要吃哪種拉麵後,將錢投入機器購買餐卷即可。

坐進舒適的小隔間後,客製化點餐的流程可還沒有結束。店員會在紗門後遞給您一張表單。一蘭拉麵透過讓您選擇拉麵的每一個細節,來展示其對顧客的關注和服務的承諾。從麵條的硬度、背脂量、辣度到是否想要大蒜和大蔥等配料和多寡,都可以自行決定。

此外,表單有日語、英語、中文和韓語版本,即使不諳日語或英語,也可以放心點餐。如果您不喜歡或是不能吃豬肉,但又想體驗一蘭拉麵,東京的西新宿分店和大阪的難波御堂筋分店等一些分店是有提供無豬肉的拉麵。不過根據一蘭官網表示,雖然拉麵不使用豬肉,但一蘭仍非清真(hala)食品,關於這一點請多注意。

美味拉麵

而拉麵本身的味道如何贏得廣大粉絲的心? 首先,一蘭拉麵的外觀給人們一種視覺衝擊。每一碗都點綴著濃郁的紅色秘傳辣粉,讓人想立即吃一口,看看它的辣味是否耐人尋味。這種辣粉與眾不同,是一蘭拉麵的原創和招牌,以30多種香料經過精心混合並陳釀。所有香料中的鮮味經過結晶處理,製造出一種類似七味粉的辣粉混合物。這種辣粉與濃郁的臀骨湯搭配得非常好,提供層次感十足的口感,相當令人耳目一新。

拉麵的美味秘訣也與其精心製作的豚骨湯有很大的關係。湯頭的鮮味是經過長時間熬煮的豬骨中精心提取的精髓,散發出誘人的香氣和奶味。沒有什麼比濃湯更能恢復活力!

而為了確保在最理想的狀態下享用一蘭拉麵,每家分店都會嚴格執行的規定,即麵條必須在煮熟後15秒內上桌,確保麵條達到客人希望的硬度。

簡而言之,一蘭拉麵就是以秘傳辣粉、豚骨湯和硬麵條的組合為您帶來美食佳餚。

替え玉(加麵)

一蘭拉麵提供如此美味的拉麵,使人不禁想充分享受每一滴碗裡的精華。許多食客想要享用豚骨湯時也能同麵條一起品嚐,因此提供「替え玉(kae-dama)」的加麵服務。

加麵的方法是於自動售票機買一張加麵食卷,當吃完麵條但湯還有剩時,可以把它放在桌子內側的一個小長方形托盤上,店員便會知道您想要加麵。無論慢慢品嚐還是快速吃完,替え玉都有助於提升您的用餐體驗。

一蘭拉麵的知名度

憑藉其數量眾多的分店,一蘭拉麵贏得了許多榮譽。 對於許多日本人和外國人來說,一蘭拉麵因其獨特的用餐方式及令人賞心悅目的麵條,成為他們最喜歡的拉麵連鎖店。分隔的座位讓您可以安靜地單獨用餐,客製化系統提供更符合顧客喜好的拉麵,且每次來店都能自由更換表單上的選項。

此外,許多一蘭拉麵的分店都是一個禮拜七天24小時營業,可以隨時入店享用熱騰騰的拉麵,可以是午餐、晚餐、宵夜,甚至也可以當作早餐!

博多店、澀谷店、澀谷的西班牙坂店等分店,都有銷售一蘭品牌的即食包。如果您去的分店沒有出售這些即食包也不用擔心,因為在日本最大的連鎖雜貨店之一唐吉訶德也能夠買到。

每盒有五份,每份包裝裡都有一份拉麵、原汁原味的辣椒粉和粉包湯底。據測即食包的還原度相當高,讓您在舒適的家中也能搖身成為一蘭拉麵的大廚。

以即食包來說,每盒約2000日幣的價格是比較昂貴的,但它讓一蘭拉麵愛好者能在家中輕鬆還原、品嚐一蘭拉麵,因此許多觀光客會想購買,作為紀念品送給家人和朋友們,讓他們也能品嚐到世界聞名的拉麵。這間接地促進一蘭拉麵的受歡迎度,讓海外的外國人也能嘗試過一蘭拉麵並享受它的味道,並希望有一天實際走訪日本,在日本店內享用真正道地的拉麵。

海外分店

一蘭拉麵的名氣已超越國界,在美國有三家分店,香港則有兩間,在台灣也有兩間。

香港

一蘭拉麵於2013年在香港銅鑼灣開設第一家海外分店。後在尖沙咀開設全球最大的一蘭店,擁有多達182個座位並提供公共座位區!給一蘭拉麵帶來不同的面向,可以與您的用餐夥伴盡情聊天,同時沉浸在充滿活力的香港人的日常氛圍中。 

紐約(美國)

決心進居美國市場的一蘭於2016年在紐約布魯克林設立海外分公司和生產工廠。擁有自己的生產設備有助於維持一蘭拉麵的嚴格標準,美國的食客們很高興能品嚐到以日本本地同樣方式新鮮製作的麵條。一蘭在布魯克林完美呈現其口味的能力受到紐約人的好評,隨後於2018年3月在曼哈頓中城開設第二家分店,甚至於2019年3月在時代廣場開設一家兩層樓的分店。

台灣

繼香港和紐約分店大獲成功後,一蘭拉麵接者進軍台灣市場。2017年在台北市信義區成立分店,滿足台灣人對拉麵的渴望。全國媒體報導台灣人如何毫無怨言地等待4小時以能夠品嘗到一蘭的拉麵!由於這一驚人的成功,一年後在信義區距離首家分店約三分鐘步行路程的地點開設第二家分店!2021年也在台中朝富開設第三家分店。

給您的味蕾來場饗宴

感覺肚子在咕嚕咕嚕叫了嗎?一蘭拉麵提供的這種特殊的拉麵用餐體驗——從其酷炫的概念和平靜的氛圍再到美味的麵條和細緻的服務。也許筆者在福岡住過一段時間,所以可能有點在地人的自豪,但真心推薦下次來訪日本時一定要去一家一蘭的分店嚐嚐,或是買些即食包回家享用!

封面照片來源 : TungCheung / Shutterstock.com

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

作者簡介

Kai
Kai Le

搜尋餐廳

The Ultimate Guide To Ichiran Ramen: A Delicious and Unique Dining Experience

Ramen. It is such an important part of Japanese cuisine that you cannot visit Japan and not try it. There are many reasons as to why ramen is so popular: not only can it be eaten cheaply and quickly, but it is also delicious and filling. Since there are so many great ramen restaurants out there, which ramen restaurant should you visit? How about Ichiran Ramen, which has distinguished itself from its competitors with its savory ramen and novel serving style? It is so famous that it even has overseas branches in some parts of the world! This article will explore what makes Ichiran so unique and a visit worth your while.

Nationwide

Food & Drinks

History Of Ichiran Ramen

Ichiran Ramen is famous for its rich tonkotsu (pork-based broth) Hakata-style ramen, which is the signature style in Fukuoka. From its humble beginnings as a ramen stall called "Futaba Ramen" in Hakata in 1960, it later adopted the name “Ichiran” in 1966. Subsequently, in 1993, Ichiran Ramen launched a store in Nanokawa in Fukuoka City, which showcased a solo dining concept in the form of partitioned seats. This feature boosted Ichiran Ramen's popularity and facilitated the opening of its second store in Odo in Fukuoka City.

Ichiran Ramen's second store performed well too. Seizing the chance, Ichiran Ramen opened seven more branches in Fukuoka before setting up its first branch outside Fukuoka in 2001 - in swanky Roppongi, no less.

The name soon caught on with foodies from all over Japan as Ichiran Ramen steadily expanded all over the country, stamping its dominance from Hokkaido to Okinawa. By February 2020, it had stores in more than 80 locations in Japan. It also spread its market presence abroad, with overseas branches in Hong Kong, New York, and Taiwan. 

Determined to get their hands on a bowl of Ichiran Ramen, people often do not mind queuing for up to an hour (depending on the time) if they have to do so, especially at its popular branches in Shibuya, Tokyo as well as in Dotonbori, Osaka. It may be wise to do your research and visit these branches during off-peak hours!

What Makes Ichiran Ramen So Unique

Individual Seating

Once you step inside the restaurant, there is a view of partitioned seats designed for individual diners. These seats evoke a tranquil atmosphere and put you in a conducive mood for eating. Plus, there is a screen door in front of each cubicle, which means that you do not need to interact with the wait staff serving you. Manabu Yoshitomi, the company president of Ichiran, supposedly came up with this concept after learning that his female friends were shy about slurping their noodles in public. In any case, Ichiran Ramen allows you to devour your ramen in peace to recharge your energy after a hectic traveling schedule. 

Of course, you may be traveling with your friends, in which case you may want to chat freely with them during your meal at Ichiran Ramen. Ichiran Ramen does allow its customers to take down the partitions so that you can engage in conversation with your friends. Some branches also have small private rooms available.

Customized Ordering

Ichiran Ramen encourages its customers to eat ramen the way they like it. And your customization journey begins right before you step into the restaurant. You will be greeted by a vending machine that displays the various choices that Ichiran Ramen offers. You can choose the Classic Tonkotsu Ramen for a wallet-friendly 890 yen, the Ichiran Select 5 that includes ramen and five toppings for 1,490 yen, or whatever else on the menu fits your fancy.

As for the toppings it offers, it has several mouthwatering options, including a half-boiled salted egg, kikurage mushrooms, dried seaweed, and extra slices of pork. After deciding what kind of ramen you would like to have, insert your money into the machine to purchase a ticket.

Your customization journey continues the moment you make yourself comfortable in a cubicle. The wait staff will pass you an order sheet under the screen door. Here, Ichiran Ramen demonstrates its attention to detail and commitment to service by letting you choose every single aspect of your ramen. No detail is too small, as you can decide the firmness of the noodles, the fat content of the bowl, your preferred level of spiciness, and whether you wish to have toppings like garlic and green onions.

Plus, the order sheets are available in Japanese, English, Chinese, and Korean, so you can confidently make your order even if you do not understand Japanese. What's more, if you are not a fan of pork but want to partake in the Ichiran Ramen experience, some outlets such as the Nishi Shinjuku branch in Tokyo and Namba Midosuji branch in Osaka offer pork-less ramen. However, the website states that although the ramen does not use pork, the company does not think it can be considered halal, so please keep that in mind.

Delicious Ramen

Now, just how does the taste of the ramen win the hearts and minds of devotees? First and foremost, the appearance of Ichiran Ramen strikes a visual impact. Every bowl is embellished with a thick red sauce that makes you want to immediately dig in and see if its spiciness agrees with you. This sauce is like no other, as it is an original creation of Ichiran Ramen. More than 30 spices are painstakingly mixed and then aged. Thus, the umami from all these spices is crystallized to yield a togarashi pepper blend that gives your taste buds a delightful kick! 

Plus, it pairs very well with the rich tonkotsu broth, providing a layered taste that is refreshing on the palate.

Another secret to the taste is its intricately made tonkotsu broth. The umami is carefully extracted from pork bones which are boiled for a long time to give off an inviting fragrance and a creamy taste. There is nothing like a thick warm broth to help you rejuvenate yourself.

In addition, to ensure that you relish a bowl of Ichiran Ramen in the most ideal conditions, every restaurant enforces a strict rule that each bowl of noodles must be served to customers 15 seconds after they are cooked. This is to ensure that the noodles come in your preferred level of firmness.

In short, Ichiran Ramen's special sauce, creamy broth, and firm noodles all work together to give you a gastronomically good time.

Noodle Refill System

Ichiran Ramen serves such scrumptious ramen that you may want to enjoy every last drop. Ichiran Ramen understands that many diners want to savor and enjoy the broth together with the noodles, so it offers a kae-dama (noodle refill) system.

The way to do this is to buy a refill ticket at the vending machine so that when you are done with your noodles but still have leftover broth, you can place it on a small rectangular tray found at the end of your table. Placing the ticket on the metal tray will trigger a charm that lets the servers know that you would like more noodles, and a waiter or waitress will hurry over to bring you an additional serving. Be it savoring slowly or slurping swiftly, the kae-dama system helps to clean the bowl.

Popularity Of Ichiran Ramen

With its many domestic branches, it would seem that Ichiran Ramen has won quite the following. Indeed, many locals and foreigners may choose Ichiran Ramen as their favorite ramen chain store because of its unique experience, as well as its noodles that are pleasing to both the eyes and the palate. Its solo dining concept lets you eat individually in peace, and its customized system allows you to get the exact bowl of noodles you are craving. And you are always free to switch up your order for the next time!

Moreover, many Ichiran Ramen branches are open 24/7, which means that you can fit a meal there easily into your travel schedule and eat it whenever you want! Let it be breakfast, lunch, dinner, or a midnight snack!

Certain branches like the Hakata store, Shibuya store, and Shibuya Spain-zaka store sell Ichiran-brand instant ramen packs. Should the outlet you visit not sell these instant ramen boxes, fret not, for you can get your hands on them at Don Quijote, one of the largest discount chain stores in Japan.

Each box contains five servings, with every serving containing Ichiran Ramen's noodles, original spicy red seasoning, and dried broth base. This helps ensure the authenticity of the instant noodles and allows you to be an Ichiran Ramen Masterchef in the comfort of your own home!

Every box comes at a price of 2,000 yen which is comparatively pricey for instant ramen, but it allows ramen fans and anyone who may receive a pack a hassle-free taste of the ramen at home. Hence, many travelers buy many boxes as souvenirs for their family and friends back home, allowing friends and family to get a taste of the world-famous ramen. This indirectly contributes to Ichiran Ramen's popularity as some foreigners will have tried out Ichiran Ramen and enjoyed its taste, looking to experience the true thing in Japan.

Overseas Branches

Ichiran Ramen's fame extends beyond its shores as it has established three branches in America, another two branches in Hong Kong, and yet another two branches in Taiwan.

Hong Kong

Ichiran Ramen launched its first overseas branch in Causeway Bay, Hong Kong in 2013. It later opened the largest Ichiran store in the world at Tsim Sha Tsui, which has a whopping 182 seats and offers communal seating! This gives a different kind of experience with Ichiran Ramen as you can now chat with your meal buddies while soaking up the charged atmosphere of the ever-energetic Hong Kong people.

New York, United States

Determined to conquer the American market, Ichiran Ramen set up an overseas branch and a production facility in Brooklyn, New York in 2016. Having a production facility helped maintain Ichiran Ramen's stringent standards and diners were thrilled to savor the noodles freshly made in the same manner as Japan. Ichiran Ramen's ability to replicate its taste in Brooklyn was well-received by New Yorkers, for the second branch in Midtown, Manhattan soon followed in March 2018. Ichiran Ramen even launched a two-story branch in Times Square in March 2019.

Taiwan

Following the success of its Hong Kong and New York branches, Ichiran Ramen next entered the Taiwanese market. In 2017, it established a branch in Xinyi District, Taipei, thus fulfilling the Taiwanese's desire for its ramen. National media reported on how they uncomplainingly waited for 240 hours to try out its ramen! Due to this phenomenal success, a second branch was opened in Xinyi District a year later - and is a three-minute walk from the inaugural branch.

Give Your Taste Buds A Treat

Feel your stomach growling? Feel your tongue salivating? Indeed, Ichiran Ramen provides you a special experience - from its cool concept and calm ambiance to delicious ramen and detailed service. Of course, I spent some time living in Fukuoka, so I may be a bit biased, but be sure to visit one outlet on your next trip to Japan, or grab some instant noodles to enjoy at home!

Title image credit (left to right): StreetVJ / Shutterstock.com, JHENG YAO / Shutterstock.com

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search