【日本美食】日式拉麵進化論

日本拉麵日新月異,新口味也一個接著一個出現。拉麵的進化歷史深遠,大家在閱讀過這篇文章後,希望能帶著一份感激的心情去品味拉麵。

日本

深度日本

歐美國家近幾年來掀起一股日式拉麵(湯麵)熱潮。可以說幾乎每位造訪日本的外國旅客,都會去拉麵專賣店品嚐道地的拉麵。日式拉麵每天都有新變化,且全新不同的拉麵口味也接連問世。在此文中,我們要告訴大家日式拉麵的近代演化史。

拉麵風行於日本的開端

拉麵開始風行於日本是因為新橫濱拉麵博物館的開設,此為致力於介紹日式拉麵的博物館,其中充滿1958年的東京懷舊風情,此年也是泡麵發明的同一年。該館設立至今20年,使嶄新的觀眾認識拉麵,因此帶來拉麵熱潮,也使其口味特色等大幅改變。

[caption id="attachment_16061" align="alignnone" width="640"]The Shin-Yokohama Raumen Museum 新橫濱拉麵博物館 (Photo by arcreyes [-ratamahatta-] /Flickr)[/caption]

促使拉麵多元化的原因之一為拉麵師傅本身。在此之前,拉麵師傅會在拉麵專賣店當學徒,學習店內的口味後才自行開店。但最近自己研發獨特風味的拉麵師傅逐漸增加,為拉麵帶來變化與新口味。

拉麵口味演化論

來自關東及其他地區的知名拉麵店於新橫濱拉麵博物館開店。來訪此館的遊客不僅可嚐到傳統醬油或味噌口味的拉麵外,還可吃到來自全日本的獨特風味拉麵,例如福島縣的喜多方拉麵、福岡的博多拉麵、東京的豬背油脂Chaccha風格(背脂チャッチャ系)等。而其不同的口味也代表各區域間的差異。

*豬背油脂Chaccha風格為了使湯頭帶有濃郁口感,會加入煮過的豬背油脂(湯表面飄著的白色物質) 藉由放在網上甩動的動作將豬背油脂灑入湯中,此動作在日語中稱為Chaccha,,這種拉麵類型也以此命名。

1996年,青葉拉麵店將海鮮加入其肉類湯頭中,因而創造出「雙湯頭」。此店也因這種特殊的發想而聞名,並深深影響了拉麵業界,還引發了「雙湯頭」風潮。直至今日,您會發現還有許多店家都會用此技巧來調配湯頭。

在流行「雙湯頭」之前,拉麵湯頭皆是以雞骨架等肉類為主的湯頭,加入海鮮熬煮則是一大創舉,從此之後便激增許多使用海鮮湯底製作醬油拉麵的店家。

[caption id="attachment_86604" align="alignnone" width="640"]Aoba's Shoyu Ramen 青葉的醬油拉麵 (Photo by shibainu/Flickr)[/caption]

 

沾麵與拌麵,最有人氣的無湯拉麵

沾麵是由拉麵演變而來,但麵條不是放在湯裡,而是分開放置,食用時才會沾湯汁享用。

此種類型的沾麵存在已久,大勝軒餐廳可說是沾麵的先驅,此處的沾麵會將麵條放於另外的碗中,搭配稍帶甜味的醬油湯頭。此店本身雖生意興隆,但沾麵形式的拉麵卻不受到歡迎。

然而,這一切都因沾麵專賣店頑者所改變。在頑者出現之前,沾麵僅止於麵和湯分開放的一種拉麵類型,但頑者於2000年發明的濃郁湯頭,使沾麵呈現出不同於拉麵的樣貌。

此外,頑者還在湯中加入乾燥魚粉,因此受到拉麵迷的讚賞。頑者也開創了 「加湯(スープ割り)」體制, 此為加入湯汁後使濃郁湯頭口味變淡,以便食客享用,也使沾麵有個完美的結尾。以上所述「加湯」體制應該是來自於蒸籠蕎麥麵(盛りそば)的概念,其剩餘的湯汁可以加入蕎麥水後飲用,而以上要素也使頑者引發了沾麵熱潮。 

ronyhnn

[caption id="" align="alignnone" width="640"] Ganja's tsukemen[/caption]

沾麵風潮進而引領出第四種拉麵新形態-「拌麵」。拌麵是將其中的配料置於麵上並淋上濃厚的醬汁,攪拌後再行食用的麵食。根據不同的餐廳有著不同的命名方式,有的稱之為「油麵(abura soba)」、「拌麵(maze soba)」、「乾麵(shirunashi soba)」,但它們基本上都是指拌麵。

許多餐廳中,拌麵是拉麵或沾麵的配角,採季節供應方式,但因漸漸受到大眾的喜愛,有些餐廳開始轉型為拌麵專賣店。近年來則因人氣飆升,其中有些知名的拌麵店家還開設了分店。

雖然拌麵還沒有成為拉麵界中的主流,但您還是可在許多拉麵激戰區中發現它們的身影。

下列還有幾個促使沾麵及拌麵如此受到歡迎的原因。大多數的沾麵與拌麵專賣店中,顧客可以免費選擇自己想要的麵條份量,最多可達400克。但於普通拉麵店點選較大份量的麵條則需付費,相較之下,沾麵與拌麵專賣店對於食量大的人來說,或許會是個較好的選擇。

但以上的現象是有理由的:因拉麵的口味較複雜,其湯頭也必須使用多種食材去熬煮,所以導致成本較高。而沾麵與拌麵則不需使用湯底,因此成本相對低廉。這也是沾麵與拌麵專賣店可以免費加大麵條份量的箇中原因。

當消費者考慮選擇何種拉麵類型時,沾麵較容易有飽足感是其一大優勢。而對於店家來說,不用花時間熬煮湯頭也能使製作成本降低。以上兩點使得沾麵與拉麵越發風行。

店家規則

以前用完餐後,消費者必須直接付費給店主,但近年來大多數的餐廳都設有食券機。

食券販賣機中的點單通常是日文,所以當第一次前往餐廳時可能會難以點餐。如果有以上困擾時,機器最上排左邊的選單通常是店家推薦的餐點,如果感到猶豫時,點那個就對了!

[caption id="attachment_86615" align="alignnone" width="600"] 食券販賣機 (Photo by magerleagues/Flickr)[/caption]

當然,詢問工作人員也是個不錯的選擇,但在許多知名餐廳用餐時,建議可以選擇和前一人一樣的餐點。因為知名的餐廳通常只供應二到三種菜色,所以有在旅遊書看過店家介紹,或在網路上看過常客推薦的人,80%都會選擇相同的餐點,其差別只在於麵條份量及麵上放的食材的不同。

有些店家點餐時需專用詞語,我們稱為「注文(jumon)」。

此點餐中涵蓋許多關於自己的餐點的詳細訊息,如麵量加大、蔬菜減少等。因點餐時有很多選項可供選擇,我們在此就不深入介紹,但如果您造訪二郎拉麵(ラーメン二郎),點餐時一定會被問到拉麵需不需要加蒜頭。如果您沒有回應,服務人員就會自行決定,所以如果不吃蒜的人,記得請說不用加(nashi de)。

[caption id="attachment_86639" align="alignnone" width="640"] 二郎拉麵的經典樣式-麵上堆滿高高的蔬菜 (Photo by takeshikj/Flickr)[/caption]

再次強調,請留意食用拉麵前及吃完後有些一定要說的特別用語。雖然日本以絕佳的待客之道(omotenashi)而聞名,但如果您不遵守一些規則,可能會遭受到異樣的眼光。所以請記得造訪前要做好功課喔!

口語點餐餐廳與人氣口味

此種口語點餐餐廳中最知名的便是中村屋(Nakamuraya)。

此店專賣由魚類加上豬肉及雞骨架熬製而成的清澈湯頭。才開幕不久便已成為人氣店家,並贏得無數獎項。

tomominn66

[caption id="" align="alignnone" width="640"]Nakamuraya's Shio Ramen Nakamuraya's shio (salt) ramen[/caption]

拉麵愛好者研發獨門拉麵並開業的數量漸增,其口味皆以店主的喜好為準。在不久前,流行濃郁魚介湯頭的拉麵,但近年來則是香濃白濁的雞骨湯頭較為盛行。

最近也開設了許多拉麵學校及拉麵教室,其中也有拉麵師傅入學就讀,但不會有人承認。可以說越有名的拉麵店,越不會說自己師出何處。

精選附錄: 東京拉麵專賣店口袋名單

看完以上文章後,接下來將介紹上述有提及的拉麵店家。其中有些餐廳點餐方式較困難,所以造訪前請記得先在網路上瀏覽相關評語。

1. 青葉 [雙湯頭]

www.nakano-aoba.jp

此為融合濃郁肉類及海鮮湯底的雙湯頭創始店。總店位於東京中野,但都內如新宿或池袋也有許多分店。

2. 頑者 [沾麵]

http://www.ganja.co.jp

沾麵專賣店,湯頭中添加魚粉形成濃厚魚介風味。總店在埼玉縣川越市,別處也有開設其他分店,有時亦會於活動中展店。記得來訪前先於官網確認最方便前往的分店位置。

3.  二郎拉麵(ラーメン二郎)- 中目黑分店 

http://tabelog.com/tokyo/A1316/A131601/13003449/

總店位於東京都港區三田,其他地區也有系列分店,皆是受到二郎拉麵的啟發,味道也與其相似。

每間分店的拉麵皆為二郎拉麵的經典樣式-麵上堆滿高高的蔬菜。

因為總店的排隊人潮絡繹不絕,點餐方式也有些難度,最好的辦法是與日本友人一同前去。

其他分店中,在此推薦能享受到近似二郎拉麵總店的風味,又有舒適用餐環境的中目黑分店。 

在此,有時可看見外國遊客正在觀察他人點的餐點並嘗試點同樣的食物!

4. 野郎拉麵 [二郎拉麵風格]

http://www.yaroramen.com/

野郎拉麵的風格與二郎拉麵類似,並提供外國觀光客一個可放鬆又可安心享用餐點的環境。

其於都內擁有許多分店,店內也設有食券販賣機,點餐方便。此外,服務人員態度親切,就算用英文提問他們也很樂於回答。

5. 東京麵珍亭本舖 [Aburasoba]

https://www.hit-men.co.jp/Page/TOP

此為油麵創始店,立地於東京早稻田,他們也提供網路購物服務。

6. 東京油組總本店 [Aburasoba]

http://www.tokyo-aburasoba.com/

東京油組總本店為連鎖餐廳,其分店遍布東京,如澀谷、銀座、池袋、赤坂等地,因此前往用餐時也可順便購物。

每間分店提供的菜色變化不大,因此適合入門者食用。雖然此店的湯頭加入許多油脂,但卻與傳統湯頭不同。而它的餐點份量不大,所以熱量相對較低。當然,此店也提供免費麵條加量服務。

7. 野方Hope(野方ホープ) [豬背油脂Chaccha風格]

http://soryu1988.jp/nogata-hope/

豬背油脂Chaccha是種烹調技術,主要用於東京的拉麵店中,為了使湯頭有濃郁口感,會將燉煮過的豬背油脂加入湯中。

您可於野方Hope的東京都內各分店享用豬背油脂Chaccha風格的拉麵。

此店的烹調方式已有20年以上的歷史,其湯頭使用豬骨及雞湯製成雙湯頭,並加入豬背油脂。如果您喜歡濃郁湯頭的拉麵,千萬不要錯過了!它在原宿也有分店,在這裡逛街時別忘了前往嚐鮮喔!

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

玩樂

住宿

購物

搜尋餐廳

This post is also available in: Chinese (Traditional)

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on RedditEmail this to someone

Over the past few years, in America and Europe, Japanese ramen, or noodle soup, is seeing a huge boom in popularity. It’s not an exaggeration to say that most foreign visitors to Japan will go to a speciality ramen restaurant to enjoy real ramen. Japanese ramen is changing day by day, and new and different flavors are appearing one after the other. Here in this article, we are going to look at the recent evolution of Japanese ramen.

The Start of the Ramen Boom in Japan

One of the causes of the ramen boom in Japan was the establishment of the Shin-Yokohama Raumen Museum, a museum dedicated to the Japanese Ramen that features a recreation of Tokyo in 1958, the year that instant noodles was invented. Set up approximately 20 years ago, the museum introduced ramen to a whole new audience, bringing about the ramen boom, and a whole range of changes to ramen itself, such as variations in the flavor.

The Shin-Yokohama Raumen Museum

The Shin-Yokohama Raumen Museum  (Photo by arcreyes [-ratamahatta-] on Flickr)

One of the causes of the diversification of ramen was with the ramen cooks themselves. Up until then, ramen cooks would study at a specialist ramen restaurant to learn the flavor, and then go to set up a restaurant of their own,  but recently, the number of cooks who are creating their own unique and delicious ramen is growing, leading to new variations and flavors.

The Evolution of the Variation in Flavors of Ramen

Famous restaurants from the Kanto region as well as other regions around Japan set up shop in the Shin-Yokohama Raumen Museum. Here, visitors to the museum could enjoy not only the typical shoyu (soy sauce) or miso ramen, but the unique flavor variations from all over the country, such as the Kitakata ramen from Fukushima Prefecture, Hakata ramen from Fukuoka Prefecture and the Se-abura Chaccha style ramen from Tokyo. In other words, the variety of flavors represented the variations between each region.

*Se-abura Chaccha style: In order to bring out the flavor of the soup, stewed backfat (the white substance floating in the soup) is added to the soup. The backfat is sprinkled into the soup with a mesh, and this sprinkling action is known as “chaccha” in Japanese, which is where the name of the dish comes from.

In 1996, a restaurant called Aoba added seafood to its meat-based, thick stock, creating a “double-soup.” This unique variation made the restaurant famous, and had a huge impact on the ramen industry, triggering the “double-soup” boom. Even now, you will find lots of restaurants using this technique.

Up until the “double-soup” boom, the soup for ramen was mainly meat-based, made from chicken bones, but using seafood in the soup was a major change, and it was at this time that the number of restaurants offering fish-based shoyu ramen grew dramatically.

Aoba's Shoyu Ramen

Aoba’s Shoyu Ramen (Photo by shibainu on Flickr)

Tsukemen and Aemen, the Popular Soupless Ramen

Tsukemen is a variation of ramen where the noodles are not put into the soup, but served separately on a tray and dipped into the soup.

The tsukemen style itself has been around for a long time. The restaurant Taishoken is the pioneer in the dish, where noodles heaped onto the tray are eaten with a slightly sweet shoyu-based soup. The restaurant itself was popular, but the tsukemen style of eating didn’t become popular.

However, this was all changed by the tsukemen speciality restaurant Ganja. Until Ganja’s appearence, tsukemen had simply been ramen where the soup and noodles were served separately, but Ganja’s thick soup, created in around 2000, gave the dish an entirely different texture to ramen.

On top of this, Ganja mixed fish meal (dried, powdered fish) into the soup, making it a hit with ramen fans. Ganja also introduced a “soup-wari (soup mix)” system, where the thick soup is thinned with another soup and then drunk, giving a very flavorful finish to the dish.

This “soup-wari” system was probably taken from morisoba, where soba water is added to the sauce and drunk, but all these factors helped to make Ganja the trigger for the tsukemen boom, 

Ganja's tsukemen

Ganja’s tsukemen (

The tsukemen boom also brought forth a new genre called “aemen”. With aemen, ingredients are placed on top of the noodles and a rich sauce is poured over the noodles, which is then mixed an eaten. Depending on the restaurant, the name of the dish varies, with some examples including “abura soba (oil soba),” “maze soba (mixed soba),” or “shirunashi soba (soupless soba),” but the fundamental style of the dish is the same.

Aemen was served seasonally as a sub-brand of ramen or tsukemen by many restaurants, but due to the popularity of the dish, some restaurants became aemen speciality restaurants. Recently, it has become so popular that some of the more famous aemen restaurants have become chains.

While it hasn’t quite become popular enough to be the mainstream in the ramen world, you are guaranteed to find at least a few aemen restaurants in the highly competitive ramen areas.

There is also another reason why tsukemen and aemen have become popular. At most tsukemen and aemen restaurants, you can choose the amount of noodles you want, with large helpings of up to 400g for free. When you think about how ramen restaurants offer large helpings of noodles for an extra charge, tsukemen and aemen restaurants are an ideal option for big eaters.

However, there is a reason for this. As the flavor of ramen has developed and become more complex, the cost of the dish has gone up. The most expensive part of ramen is the soup, which uses all sorts of ingredients. So as tsukemen and aemen don’t use a base soup, they can be offered at a lower cost. This is the trick behind the free large helpings.

For consumers choosing which style of noodles to eat, the fact that you can get full from tsukemen rather than ramen is a big advantage. Also, for the restaurant side, not having to make the time consuming soup allows them to keep their costs down. These two points are the reason why tsukemen and aemen have become popular.  

Restaurant Rules

In the old days, you used to pay the restaurant owner straight after eating, but recently, the majority of restaurants have adopted a meal ticket system.

The meal ticket vending machines are usually written entirely in Japanese, so it can be difficult to understand the menu if you are visiting a restaurant for the first time. If that’s the case, the top left item of the menu is usually the restaurant’s recommended dish, so if you’re a bit lost, it should be ok to go for that one.

Ticket machine (photo by magerleagues on Flickr)

Of course, asking a member of staff is fine as well, but in a famous restaurant, you can always look at what the person in front of you ordered and go for that as well. Famous ramen restaurants usually only offer 2 or 3 dishes, so about 80% of the people who saw the restaurant in a guidebook or on the internet as well as the regulars at the restaurant are eating the same thing, with the only difference being the amount of noodles and the ingredients put on top.

Also, it depends on the restaurant, but there are some places where you need to use a special phrase, called a jumon or spell, when you order.

This jumon is made up of the details of your order, for example, lots of noodles, less vegetables, etc. There are a lot of options for the orders so we won’t go into too much detail here, but if you ever visit Ramen Jiro, a traditional cult ramen restaurant, one jumon worth remembering is the one about garlic.

At Ramen Jiro, you are guaranteed to be asked if you would like garlic with your dish when you order. If you don’t say anything in reply, the member of staff will decide themselves, so if you don’t want any garlic, be sure to say, “nashi de (no garlic)” when ordering. 

The typical look of a Jiro ramen. All of the restaurants pile vegetables high on the dish (Photo by blueberrystream on Flickr)

Again, depending on the restaurant, there are some special phrases or terminology that you need to say before and after eating, so please be careful. While the Japanese are said to show great hospitality, known as omotenashi in Japanese, for some reason, there may be cases where you get some strange looks at a ramen restaurant, so before going, make you sure do some research before going.

Self-taught restaurants and the trends in flavors

One example of this type of restaurant is the famous Nakamuraya.

Their soup, which is transparent and made from adding fish stock to a pork and chicken bone based stock, is their speciality. Shortly after opening, the restaurant became popular, and has won many awards.

Nakamuraya's Shio Ramen

Nakamuraya’s shio (salt) ramen  (

The number of ramen enthusiasts who have opened restaurants to create their own ideal ramen is also growing. The flavor is usually based on the tastes of the owner of the restaurant. A while ago, you could find a lot of very thick fish-based soups, but over the past few years, rich white chicken-based soups have become popular.

Ramen schools and cooking classes have also started, and there are ramen cooks who have studied at these schools, but there are a lot of cases where the cook won’t publicly admit that, and the more famous the restaurant is, the less clear it becomes.

Bonus point: Our top picks of places to go for ramen in Tokyo

To round up the article, we’d like to introduce a few of the ramen restaurants mentioned above. Please note that we have included some restaurants that are quite difficult to order at in the list, so be sure to check out the comments and reviews on the internet before going. 

1. Aoba [Doble-soup]

The original creator of the thick, meat-based stock and seafood “double-soup.” The main restaurant is in Nakano in Tokyo, but they have lots of branches in the capital, and you can find them in Shinjuku and Ikebukuro as well,

2. Ganja [Tsukemen]

A tsukemen restaurant with a fish meal and thick, fish-based soup. The main restaurantt is in Kawagoe City in Saitama Prefecture, but they have a number of branches and open up shop at events as well, so be sure to check their homepage to find the best place to visit.

3. Ramen Jiro – Meguro Branch

The main restaurant is in Mita in Minato Ward in Tokyo, but there are a number of affiliated branches that have opened up, as well as restaurants that have been inspired by Ramen Jiro and imitate the taste.

The typical look of a Jiro ramen. All of the restaurants pile vegetables high on the dish.

The queues at the main restaurant become incredibly long, and the way to order can be quite difficult, so if you really want to go, it might be a good idea to bring a Japanese friend along with you as a guide.

For a Ramen Jiro restaurant with a taste that is close to the original restaurant and an enjoyable atmosphere, we recommend Ramen Jiro in Meguro.

Sometimes here you will find visitors from overseas checking what the person in front of them ordered and copying them.

4. Yaro Ramen [Jiro type]

For a place where foreigners can relax and enjoy, we recommend the Ramen Jiro type restaurant, Yaro Ramen.

There are a lot of branches in the capital, and the meal ticket ordering is easy. The staff are also friendly, and they will be happy to answer any questions you may have in English.

5. Tokyo Menchintei Honpo [Aburasoba]

The originator of aburasoba, Tokyo Menchintei Honpo. Based in Waseda in Tokyo, they also do mail order.

6. Tokyo Aburasoba Sohonten [Aburasoba]

Tokyo Aburasoba Sohonten is a chain restaurant with branches throughout Tokyo.You can find them in Shibuya, Ginza, Ikebukuro, Akasaka and other places as well, so you can enjoy a meal there whilst doing your shopping.

The flavor does not vary depending on the branch, so it is suited for beginners. Despite using a lot of fat, it is different from the traditional soup and the servings are smaller so they don’t contain as many calories. Also, generally, large portions are free.

7. Nogata Hope [Se-abura Chaccha Type]

Se-abura Chaccha Type is originally a technique used by ramen restaurants along the major roads of Tokyo. In order to bring out the richness of the soup, stewed pork backfat is added to the soup. There are also a lot of ramen restaurants in the country that use backfat in their ramen.

You can enjoy the se-abura chaccha type ramen at Nogata Hope which has branches all around the capital.

This restaurant has kept this style for more than 20 years, and with its mix of pork bone and chicken based double-soup and backfat, it is recommended for people who want to try a thick and rich ramen. There is a branch in Harajuku as well, and definitely recommend a visit if you are out shopping there.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on RedditEmail this to someone