用無臭「咖啡納豆」改變世界!打破既有框架的納豆創業家・小野岡圭太

由黃豆發酵製成的納豆,強烈沖鼻的氣味,粘答牽絲的口感,幾乎集所有飲食上不討喜的條件於一身,不只外國人避之唯恐不及,在日本人眼中也是愛憎分明。其實納豆是對身體百般益處的營養品,將固有形象改頭換面,進而讓更多人接受它——是出身神奈川縣的小野岡圭太致力追求的目標。最終找到解答,將納豆結合咖啡。除了正職的上班族本業持續進行,更在2019年創設納豆製造所「Shonan Soy Studio」,另也跨足經營藝術飯店,小野岡先生是時下流行的斜槓族,如何在有限時間內完美身兼多職?陀螺般人生的背後有甚麼願景?透過 tsunagu Japan 繫日本的全新訪談企劃〈People of Japan〉,直接聽他述說。

神奈川

美食

相約採訪那天,才剛揮別東京連續一週的濕冷天氣,我們幸運地在溫暖春陽隨同下抵達神奈川縣中郡大磯町,一座以明媚海岸線為傲的湘南城鎮。

步下公車站,循著印有Shonan Soy Studio字樣的白色看板前行,宛如日劇和電影裡才會出現的古民家映入眼簾。這裡是「Shonan Soy Studio」的納豆製造場所兼Showroom。漆白的外牆與黑白暖簾相映,為仍保留屋瓦木簷的老屋增添了朝氣活力;古民家不可或缺的緣側(※)一隅,隨意擺上軟墊子,微風徐徐,彷彿到朋友家作客一般,盡是閒適風情。

※緣側:日式建築外側,庭院與屋內之間所設置鋪著木板的走廊。

全新感受 與甜點相宜的「無臭納豆」

「先嚐嚐我們最新推出的甜點。」與小野岡先生自信的語氣形成對比,我們心情顯得有些忐忑。桌上玻璃罐裡盛裝著看似甜點又不似甜點的玩意,從上至下依序是鮮奶油、納豆、芝麻慕斯。半信半疑下舀了一口,納豆竟無記憶中臭呼呼的異味,取而代之是淳雅的咖啡香氣,黏滑的口感則與和質地柔軟的鮮奶油、慕斯出奇地合宜。

「賦予納豆全新生命」,鍵盤輕鬆敲出的一行字,該是由無數的創意激盪與實驗不懈的精神堆疊而成。背後更蘊藏一份打破既定框架,改變世界的心思。

在海外發覺日本食品的可能性 而後萌生使命感

這一切源於高中時,成為接待家庭的經驗。當時來自加州的學生年紀比自己小,但不論談及政治或經濟等議題,對方的見識不僅超乎年紀,甚至比自己瞭解得更多,深深帶給他衝擊。好奇是否因教育背景的差異造就了彼此的不同,他選擇負笈美國就讀大學,體驗框架外的世界,幾年下來旅行足跡也遍及歐亞非洲,多達30國的豐富遊歷,注定走上一條不同凡響的道路。

海外闖蕩的經驗,讓小野岡先生漸漸確立人生目標。他發現日本食品如豆腐、豆乳、毛豆等,在國外早已跳脫日本人習常的型態,而是以在地人能接受的新興方式販售。將外國人尚不熟悉的日本傳統食品品牌化,進而推廣至世界,小小的願望種子在心裡植了下來。

幾次在開發中國家旅行時,他也深刻感受到了人們之間所存在的差距。日本的生活便捷舒適,幾乎能去任何想去的地方、吃想吃的東西,甚至有餘裕追夢,然並非所有國家的人都能過上如此生活,因此期許能藉由自己的事業,縮小世界各地人們因出生地和環境而造就的差距。

積累經驗活化再運用

化想做的事為目標、積極執行、樂觀挑戰,小野岡先生身上具備所有能想像到的創業家特質,早在大學期間他便如火如荼嘗試創業。在Youtube剛問世4年之際,便找來美國朋友共同經營面向日本人的英語教學頻道,再透過電子雜誌發行線上教科書;亦曾經與西服訂製師友人合作,投身使用麻、回收寶特瓶等環保素材製作襯衫的事業。透過不同形式,將自身的理念與熱情傳遞給他人。雖然後來事業中止了,但積極挑戰的初心未曾忘懷。

放慢腳步,將自己再次歸零。小野岡先生毅然重返日本,以新人身份進入外商化學大廠,一邊在職場上學習磨練,邊重新擬定30歲前再次創業的計畫。

憶起當年留學,在美國盛行的素食風潮與有機食物的新飲食型態,他也曾嘗試一週14餐裡有2餐茹素,發現蔬食飲食不單容易消化吸收,身體也更清爽輕盈。他想到日本亦有對身體良益的食品,那便是傳統食品納豆。納豆具有豐富的大豆蛋白質,營養價值極高,於是推薦外國友人嚐試,然而那異常的臭味彷彿一道跨不過的門坎,「就像連續穿了三天的臭襪子」讓大家紛紛投了降。

他開始利用下班後的時間化身研究家,尋找除去納豆臭味的方法。沒有食品製造業的相關經驗,倒也無妨,因他認為食品製造與化學製造的流程有相似之處。「公式通常是藉由增減一些東西來改變的,」隨著成分的增減與調整,會出現不同的結果。

「過去自己學到的經驗,是可以透過橫向展開加以活用的。」他在泡發乾燥黃豆與水煮黃豆的過程中,嘗試在水中添加綠茶、巴西里、檸檬草等材料除臭,最後發現完全以咖啡代水的效果最佳。

28歲那年,成立了以納豆為軸的食品開發製造所「Shonan Soy Studio」,咖啡口味的全新發酵大豆商品「SOYFFEE」就此誕生。

咖啡結合納豆 鹹甜百搭的「SOYFFEE」

外觀看上去是大粒納豆的「SOYFFEE」,鼻尖湊上一聞,非但沒了納豆特有的氣味,反而帶有淡雅的咖啡香氣。不過因口感同普通納豆一般,質地黏稠,不愛黏搭口感的人可能還是無法克服。

「SOYFFEE」的一大特徵便是吃法隨喜,或挟入吐司,或佐沙拉點心,和各式飲食都合宜。在難以攝取蛋白質的早餐或零食中添點吃,效果益佳。它與甜味也相得益彰,和蜂蜜或鮮奶油同食也適切,尤其與綿稠鮮奶油一起享用會有全新感受呢。

發揮過去所學知識與經驗,加以橫向活用,形成一個生生不息的循環,這是小野岡先生的精神之道。2022年4月,更研發出類似調味粉的納豆粉,在同樣位於湘南地區、與大磯相隔兩站的茅崎市開設發酵與黃豆外帶專賣店「SOY BREWERY」。

小野岡先生實踐的斜槓族人生

如前述,小野岡先生目前仍任職於外企化學大廠。一般人在上班同時還要忙活創業,簡直分身不暇,但他竟還能涉足飯店經營。原來是因為鍾情露營,「既然都常常去了,那就打造一個我能隨時停留的地方。」於是在山梨縣河口湖,開展以藝術與愜意為題的包租型獨棟飯店「hotel norm.」。發現自己感興趣的事物後,採取實際行動,將之轉變為工作——連同飯店經營,這些充分展現小野岡先生特質的事物,都是其人生一部分。

藝廊般的空間,是與不同藝術家合作,不定期更換主題的傑作;一日接待一組客人,為的是讓住客能在最舒適的狀態下放鬆身心。

然而陀螺般的生活忙得過來嗎?除了正職以外,還有數個工作在身的小野岡先生,雖然詮釋了時下流行的斜槓一族,但單打獨鬥自然不易。好在一路上有來自親朋好友的支持與協助,製作納豆如是,管理飯店亦然,「交給真正拿手的人做他們拿手的事」,讓他彷彿有了三頭六臂。

抱持熱忱前行 通往理想未來

要能同時身兼納豆創業家、藝術飯店老闆,以及上班族的身份,這過程中所需心力不可言喻。難道都沒有挫折的時候嗎?

「沒有覺得遇到什麼困難,該做的事慢慢就達成了。」在外人看來的事業有成,對小野岡先生而言,不過是盡全力投入自己熱衷的事物,努力打造人人平等的理想未來。如此期許也寄託於「Shonan Soy Studio」的品牌精神「BITE for BITE」(你的一口也能成為別人的一口),將一部分的營業額購買黃豆捐贈予寮國。

過往走訪寮國農村的經驗,他發現,寮國身為東南亞之中GDP最貧困的國家之一,人民一週僅吃得起一次肉食,孩子們從小就處在蛋白質攝取不足的環境裡,甚至為了生存必須犧牲讀書時間。但即便清貧,在佛教信仰盛行的當地,村民清晨會布施僧人米食,而僧人吃過後會將餘下的部分配給孩童。看見如此相互扶持的良性循環,讓他深受感動,也更加感恩自己所擁有的一切。

這兩年雖因疫情影響無法前往寮國,但有感日本貧富差距愈來愈大,也開始向湘南地區的孩童食堂供應黃豆,幫助家庭經濟拮据的孩童們。接下來預計將會與更多孩童食堂合作,也安排疫情結束後要重返寮國。

承載夢想的大豆生根茁壯

改變世界聽起來遙遠不可及,但若從未付諸行動嘗試,又如何斷定這一切不可能。誰也沒想過傳統納豆竟能與咖啡結合,還能化作美味的甜點佳餚。傳統的日本食品搖身以全新型態出現於世人面前,甚至能為世界與理想未來有所貢獻。我們期盼疫情結束後,有更多人一同領略咖啡納豆的美味,也期待著小野岡先生接下來還有其他創意無限的趣味點子。

▼欲了解更多有關咖啡納豆的新奇吃法,請繼續閱讀:
〈為了讓更多人愛上納豆 咖啡結合納豆的新世代發明「SOYFFEE」〉

關東特輯

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

作者簡介

Fuchi
Fuchi Pan
來自炎熱南方,現居日本。書寫吃食器皿與設計況味,偶爾參雜些遊旅悸動。

搜尋餐廳

Keita Onooka - Changing the Way the World Views Natto Through Coffee

The best way to learn about a country is by getting to know the locals. With our interview series “People of Japan,” we’ll bring you even closer to Japan by introducing business owners, cultural ambassadors, and all-round amazing people bonded by strong passions. In this segment, we spoke with Keita Onooka, who is striving to reinvent “natto,” a traditional Japanese food made from fermented soybeans known for its notoriously strong smell and slimy texture. Through the innovative combination of natto and coffee at Shonan Soy Studio, he hopes to make this peculiar superfood more accessible to the world!

Kanagawa

Food & Drinks

Buy Japanese Crafts Online click to get 10% off your first order - BECOS

Despite a week of rain and chilly temperatures, the weather granted our wishes and cleared up as we headed for the beautiful coastal town of Oiso, Kanagawa Prefecture, under a sunny spring sky.

After getting off the bus, we made our way to the white sign spelling out “Shonan Soy Studio.” This combined natto factory and showroom is housed in a traditional Japanese building straight out of a film, with the beautiful white outer walls and chic curtain hanging at the entrance giving off a dignified air. We sat upon floor cushions in the traditional “engawa” corridor, enjoying the gentle breeze against our cheeks.

“Non-Stinky Natto” - A New Sensation Pairing Beautifully With Sweets

“I think it’s best if you try these before we begin,” Keita said while placing a glass jug in front of us. Inside was a layer of natto sandwiched between fresh cream on top and sesame mousse on the bottom. Taking a hesitant bite, we were amazed to find the pungent smell of natto was replaced by an elegant coffee fragrance, yielding a mild taste pairing wonderfully with the cream and mousse.

“Bringing new life to natto” – behind this seemingly simple sentence is the fruition of countless ideas and hard work, breaking pre-existing barriers with the hope of changing the world.

Experiencing Japanese Food Abroad and the Duty of Giving Them New Life

Everything kicked off for Keita when his family began hosting foreign students in high school. One student from California was younger than him, but was able to debate politics and economics with opinions seemingly beyond their years. This amazed Keita, who became curious about the differences in education. He ended up studying abroad in the United States during university, allowing an experience of the outside world. He continued to explore the globe, backpacking through over 30 countries across Europe, Asia, and Africa. These experiences made him want to break barriers, walking along a path that diverged from the “norm.”

Backpacking made Keita realize that lots of people enjoy Japanese foods such as tofu, soy milk, and edamame, but not necessarily in the same way Japanese people are used to. His international experiences planted the seeds of a new dream: to brand traditional Japanese foods that may be unknown to non-Japanese people and spread them throughout the world.

He saw firsthand the disparities between humans while traveling through developing countries. In Japan, people can go where they want, eat what they like, and are able to chase their dreams. However, many countries are far more restrictive, and Keita longed to close the gaps caused by birthplace and environment.

Utilizing a Wealth of Experience

Keita’s optimistic and adventurous spirit helped him work towards his goals. He started off by partnering with an American friend to create a Youtube channel dedicated to teaching English to Japanese people, and even created his own textbook. From there, he tried his hand at clothing production, working with an experienced tailor friend to create shirts from eco-friendly materials like hemp and recycled plastic bottles. Through these projects, Keita was able to convey his own principles and ideologies, and although they did not come to fruition, they helped fan the flames of his ambition.

After slowing down for a bit, Keita went back to square one, returning to Japan and entering a large-scale, foreign-owned chemical manufacturer. While growing and learning at his workplace, he began his plan to start a new business by age 30.

During this time, he recalled the types of diets popular while studying in the United States, which included vegetarian and organic cuisine. Around two of his weekly 14 meals were vegetarian, and he realized that such meals were more easily digested and absorbed, making his body feel lighter. While considering all the healthy Japanese foods available, his attention focused on natto: a nutritional traditional Japanese food rich in soy protein. However, the strong smell stood as a tough barrier when trying to get his non-Japanese friends to eat it. Complaining that it smelled like three-day-old socks, they simply couldn’t enjoy it.

Keita began experimenting after work to search for ways of eliminating natto’s smell. While lacking experience in food manufacturing, he utilized his knowledge in the similar field of chemical manufacturing to aid in his mission.

“I believe that the know-how I gained from my experiences came in handy, and I could apply it in similar fields,” Keita explained. He experimented with rehydrating dried soybeans and simmering them, along with a multitude of different ingredients like green tea and water with basil and lemongrass. He finally came to the conclusion that coffee was the best way to get rid of the odor, as coffee doesn’t harm the intrinsic nutritional value of natto.

With this, at age 28, he set up Shonan Soy Studio, a food production facility focusing on natto. Here, “SOYFFEE,” a fermented soy product that tastes like coffee, was born.

SOYFFEE - A Beautiful Blend of Natto and Coffee

Although SOYFFEE appears like regular large natto beans, we were astonished to find that it had no trace of natto’s signature pungency. Instead, a deep whiff revealed a lovely coffee aroma. However, it still has the same consistency as natto, so those who do not fare well with “slimy” foods may want to steer clear.

You can enjoy SOYFFEE however you like – with toast, desserts, or even salads. It is a great addition to any breakfast or snack, containing plenty of the protein often difficult to consume during the day. It pairs surprisingly well with sweet flavors, and is heavenly with honey or cream.

Keita makes the most out of his various experiences and knowledge, channeling them into new ideas. In April 2022, he developed a natto powder seasoning and opened SOY BREWERY – a takeout-only shop specializing in fermented foods using natto powder and soy beans. SOY BREWERY is located in Chigasaki, only two stops away from Oiso in the Shonan area.

Keita Onooka’s Life of Parallel Careers

As mentioned, Keita’s main profession is working at a foreign-owned chemical manufacturer. Although many would find it difficult to conduct even one side business while working, Keita, who loves camping, has taken it upon himself to branch out further into running a hotel. “Since I visit the area a lot, I wanted to create a place I could stay whenever I was there,” said Keita when explaining his motivations to open his hotel. Called “norm.,” it is an exclusive-use hotel centered around the themes of “art” and “chill,” located on the bank of Lake Kawaguchiko in Yamanashi Prefecture.

Keita is the type of person to delve deep into his interests, taking action to turn them into businesses. The hotel is just one example of his unique way of life.

The gallery-like space changes periodically, with themes made in collaboration with all kinds of artists. Moreover, in order to give guests the most comfortable and relaxing experience, only a single group is allowed to reserve the hotel each day.

One would assume that Keita is extremely busy with all these side endeavors. Even so, being able to transform your hobbies into “parallel careers” would be enviable to many modern workers, and although juggling so many projects is no easy feat, Keita is fortunate enough to have the support of his friends and family. From natto production to hotel management, “I leave certain tasks to the pros,” Keita told us. Thanks to this, he is able to handle several projects at once.

The Path Built With Passion Leads to the Future

Keita wears multiple hats – he is a natto producer, art hotel owner, and regular office worker. It is safe to assume that reaching this status must have required plenty of hard work, and we wanted to know if he had ever experienced any setbacks.

“There were times when I felt like I was going through the motions,” Keita replied. Although he appears successful from an outsider’s perspective, he was working with nothing but his passion, endeavoring towards his goal of creating a future without disparities between people. This is what brought about the “Bite for Bite” spirit of Shonan Soy Studio, using part of the proceeds from sales to buy soybeans to donate to Laos.

Keita revealed to us the hardships he witnessed when visiting a farming village in Laos, one of the poorest countries in Southeast Asia. There, most people can only afford to eat meat once a week, with most children growing up with protein deficiencies and having to sacrifice what may seem commonplace to us, such as education. Even in such an environment, the Buddhist faith remains strong, and villagers will offer rice to traveling monks, giving the rest to needy children. This deep sense of community greatly moved Keita, who became even more grateful for everything he had in his life.

Unfortunately, Keita has not been able to return to Laos for two years due to coronavirus, and has instead turned his attention to the gradually growing wealth gap in Japan. He now offers soybeans to “children’s cafeterias” (facilities providing meals for children from low-income families) in the Shonan area, aiding less fortunate local children. He plans to continue working with children’s cafeterias in the future, but also hopes to make a return to Laos when the global situation calms down.

Treasuring the Soybean – A Legume of Potential

Changing the world may be an ambitious dream, but it is not impossible if one stands up and takes action. Keita was likely the first person ever to think of combining natto and coffee to create a delicious new product, and he is now using his innovative spirit to contribute to the creation of a better society. We’re excited to think about how many people will get the chance to try delicious natto coffee upon visiting Japan, and look forward to Keita’s forthcoming projects!

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

Kanto Feature

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

About the author

Fuchi
Fuchi Pan
Tokyo based Writer/ Editor. Passionate about food, travel, and learning something new. Strive to convey the hidden beauty of Japan through words and photography.

Restaurant Search