【北九州自由行】百年時光縮影・門司港與九州鐵道博物館之旅

門司港站是筆者心目中最美的車站之一,這座超過百年的古典車站,是九州鐵道的發源地。1891年,這裡建下九州第一條鐵道,百年時光流轉,門司港即便受過無情戰火的洗禮,仍屹立不搖。從博多站搭乘列車抵達門司港後,踏上月台,見到門司港的絕美月台和車站的字樣,久久不能離去。月台旁,停放了仍在九州鐵道上載客奔馳的復古列車,讓人足以回望這百年來,在九州鐵道發生的風雲與故事。

北九州

玩樂

※本文為外部作者所撰。

 

前往絕美的九州門司港車站

大多數的人來九州門司港旅行,都會選擇住在博多,往返門司港站,不過現在有些航空公司也提供飛航北九州機場的選項,距離門司港也就更為便利了。

如果從博多車站出發到門司港,交通也相當方便,搭乘JR鹿兒島本線,最快只要花50分鐘就可以抵達,如果是使用JR九州鐵路周遊券,可以搭乘特急列車(不能搭乘新幹線)。

從博多搭乘JR特急,可以搭乘到音速號,上圖為金屬質感藍的883系列,非常帥氣酷勁。搭到小倉站,再轉乘普通車,最後一站就是目的地「門司港」。途中會經過一站叫「門司」,與門司港是不一樣的站,須留意別下錯站。

搭普通車時,若運氣好,有機會能搭乘到國鐵時代的老列車,特別懷舊,令人喜愛。

百年門司港車站介紹

超過百年歷史的古典車站「門司港站」,是九州鐵道的發源地。1891年,這裡建下九州第一條鐵道,爾後經過百年時光的流逝與洗滌,也曾受過無情戰火的洗禮,時至今日,門司港仍屹立不搖。

從博多站搭乘列車抵達門司港,踏上月台,見到門司港絕美的車站,以及車站字樣,令人久久不能離去。月台旁,還停放了仍在九州鐵道上奔馳的復古列車,讓人足以回望這百年來,在九州鐵道發生的風雲與故事。

1914年建立的門司港站,經過6年的修繕工程,終於在2019年大整修完畢,再現大正時期的經典建築風華,令人震撼。其不僅是日本重要文化財,更是第一座被認證為國家重要文化財的「車站」,歷史甚至超過東京車站。

門司港在二戰前,是僅次於神戶、橫濱、大阪的商港,往昔車站與門司港的繁華及重要性,可以從整個門司港周邊的各種建築與設施窺探知曉。

門司港月台旁有一個九州鐵道起點的象徵「旅立ちの鐘と幸福の泉」,當初是用來作為列車出發的信號鐘,將它保存下來,是一種很有意義的平安幸福象徵。另外男子廁所前青銅製的洗手台「幸運洗手水缽」,和過往讓返鄉旅客能洗漱放鬆、供人飲水的「歸水」,仍保留著當年建造的原樣。整個門司港車站角落,處處可以發現穿越時空的軌道,是個光在裡頭就能耗去大半時間,令人不想離去的地方。

九州鐵道紀念館介紹

由於筆者家裡有鐵道迷,所以旅行時間經常走訪日本的鐵道博物館,如東京大宮鐵道博物館、名古屋的磁浮鐵道博物館、京都鐵道博物館,早已是囊中物。每次造訪,只能讚嘆這些鐵道博物館的厲害和設計;九州鐵道紀念館和以上這些鐵道博物館的規模,或許無法相比,但是卻多了濃厚的懷舊感,也是了解和感受九州鐵道風華與歷史的最佳場所。

九州鐵道紀念館就位在門司港車站旁,順著指標很快就可以走到。因為規模小,紀念館的門票也相當廉宜(300日幣)。一進去,就能看到許多日本鐵道著名重要的經典列車,無論汽火車、直流電、交流電火車、柴油火車、臥鋪火車、寢台客車等都有,雖然數量沒那麼多,但家裡的鐵道迷看了仍然直呼過癮。

九州鐵道紀念館是在2003年建立的,主要保留九州鐵道的歷史、列車、文物等,對鐵道迷而言,在車輛展示場看到這些百年來曾經在九州鐵道服役過的經典列車,是最令人興奮的。

除了車輛展示場外,本館展覽區,同樣有著豐富的九州鐵道歷史與文物,許多老文物、信號燈、琺瑯牌等,都讓人看得欲罷不能。另外不可少的鐵道互動體驗區,其中的模擬駕駛室,可以親自上陣,體驗真實感十足的JR鐵道駕駛,如同日本每一座鐵道博物館,都是不可或缺也是最受歡迎的區域。

另外不能錯過的便是全景的鐵道模型,可以親自操控軌道上的列車模型,非常有身歷實境的感覺。除了室內的鐵道互動體驗外,戶外的迷你鐵道公園也相當受歡迎,可以自己駕駛九州鐵道的經典車款小火車行駛在鐵道上,像是海鷗號、湯布院之森號等,一次可乘坐三個人,是親子家庭非常喜愛的一項設施。

門司港經典建築旅行

走逛門司港周邊,讓人彷彿有種位於歐洲的錯覺,這些充滿歐式風情與日洋混合的經典建築,彷彿令人瞬間穿越了時光漩渦,回到過往。

除了古典美麗的門司港站之外,一出車站就可以看到仿德式木屋的舊門司三井俱樂部大樓,很經典的德式木屋建築,這裡甚至招待過知名物理學家愛因斯坦下榻過,已是日本文化資產。

另外還有美麗的紅磚建築,舊門司海關辦公大樓與國際友好紀念圖書館,均為英國維多利亞風格,也都已是門司港的近代化產業遺產。

大阪商船門司分公司的辦公大樓,是棟很特別的八角形塔樓和洋折衷式建築,充滿了西洋與日本的經典建築元素。當然也少不了,很多地方都看得到的經典日本銀行建築,是北九州銀行門司分行。

 

整個門司港宛如時代建築的縮影,走一遭就像掉入了日本西化的時光漩渦裡,整個風情與氛圍令人難忘,這已經開通一百多年的港口,儘管因為交通運輸的改變,風華不在,但是所存留下來的歷史與時光痕跡,仍濃厚的令人印象深刻。

「藍翼門司吊橋」是有名的「戀人聖地」,據說橋墩放下時能夠最早渡橋的情侶,就能幸福一輩子,每天會開橋關橋6次,許多想與重要之人幸福永遠的情侶會查好時間,特地前來期許得到幸福。而藍翼門司吊橋的夕陽美景,也相當出色有名。

門司港後來與本州建了一個海底隧道,門司港對面就是山口縣的下關市,隔著的海峽就是「關門海峽」,中日甲午戰爭,台灣割讓給日本的條約,馬關條約,就是在下關簽訂的,目前,徒步就可以穿過海底隧道,到山口縣下關市,不少人會到下關,好好大享海鮮。

門司港名物 燒咖哩

當然來門司港,不可不嚐的就是燒咖哩,幾乎在門司港很多餐廳都可以看到的名物。燒咖哩,可說是一道焗烤咖哩,最上頭覆上一顆新鮮雞蛋,經烤箱烤而成。

據說,燒咖哩起源於一個意外,當年某個咖啡館店員把剩下的咖哩放入烤箱做廚餘料理,想不到嚐後覺得美味,便成了後來的燒咖哩。若是寒冷的冬天來訪,點上一碗熱呼呼的燒咖哩,真的是至高無上的享受。

順遊小倉小旅行

許多人到門司港旅行,會選擇到本州下關一遊,其實小倉也很值得順遊,如果是從門司港搭車回博多,相當順路。有別於人滿為患的觀光大城,小倉是個寧靜充滿日常感、且歷史相當豐富的城市,在JR小倉站,重要景點都離車站不遠,可以方便地前往。喜愛電車者也不要錯過特別的單軌電車。

如時間有限,建議可以安排必去的小倉城,歷史悠久、淡雅素白的城池,雖然腹地不大但相當迷人,護城河與庭園也都非常好看,一旁還有日本知名推理小說家 松本清張紀念館。

另外單軌電車會經過有「北九州廚房」之稱的「旦過市場」,同樣好逛好吃,販售著時令食材與熟食配菜,是座可以體驗在地人生活的傳統市場。

若有機會在小倉住上一晚,相信更能體會那份小城特有的自在悠閒感。

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

玩樂

住宿

購物

搜尋餐廳

Dive Into a Century's Worth of Japanese History at Mojiko and the Kyushu Railway History Museum in Kitakyushu

Are you a fan of trains, architecture, or history? If so, you absolutely can't miss out on Mojiko (Moji Port) in the Kitakyushu region. It is home to the 100-year-old Mojiko Station, where the first railway in Kyushu was built, as well as a plethora of other buildings and structures that showcase the modernization of Japan. In this article, we show you what our trip to Mojiko was like and introduce some of the top places to visit while you're there.

Kita-Kyushu

Things to Do

Getting to the Magnificent Mojiko Station in Kyushu

Most people visiting Mojiko choose to stay in Hakata. Transportation between Hakata Station and Mojiko Station is easy - a train ride via the JR Kagoshima Main Line takes as little as 50 minutes. If you have the JR Kyushu Rail Pass, you can board the limited express train (but not the shinkansen/bullet train).

Some airlines now offer international flights to Kitakyushu Airport, which is even closer to Mojiko.

The JR limited express train departing from Hakata Station is called "Sonic,", and the photo above shows the dashing 883 series in metallic blue. Transfer to the local train at Kokura Station, and you'll see Mojiko Station last on the line. There is a Moji Station on the way, but it is not the same as Mojiko Station, so be careful not to get off at the wrong station!

If you are lucky, you may come across an old train from the Japanese National Railways (the business entity that operated Japan's national railway network between 1949-1987) era. If you do, enjoy that trip down nostalgia lane!

The 100-Year-Old Mojiko Station

Known as the cradle of Kyushu's railway system, the beautiful Mojiko Station is well over 100 years old. The first railway in Kyushu was built here in 1891, and a century later, during which it survived a tumultuous war, Mojiko still stands proud.

As the train takes you from Hakata Station into Mojiko Station, the charming platform and placards are there to greet you, alongside the retro trains that still run around Kyushu, offering a glimpse into the dynamic history of the region's railway system.

Built in 1914, Mojiko Station underwent renovation in 2013 and reopened after six years in 2019, its stunning Taisho-style architecture restored to its full glory. It is not only a National Important Cultural Property, but also the first train station to be recognized as such, with historical value surpassing even the famed Tokyo Station.

Before WWII, Mojiko was a commercial port following closely behind Kobe, Yokohama, and Osaka. The buildings and facilities nearby are telling of how busy and important the port used to be.

Next to Mojiko Station's platform is the "Departure Bell," which marks the starting point of the Kyushu Railway. As its name suggests, it was once the signal bell for departing trains, and its preservation is a symbol of joy and peace in itself. Another two relics kept frozen in time are the "Washbasin of Fortune," a bronze washbasin in front of the men's toilet, and the "Homecoming Water," a drinking fountain for travelers back in the day. Bits and pieces of the past are scattered all over Mojiko Station, and one might easily lose track of time trying to uncover them all.

Kyushu Railway History Museum

Compared with grand museums such as The Railway Museum in Omiya, Saitama, the SCMAGLEV and Railway Park in Nagoya, and the Kyoto Railway Museum, the Kyushu Railway History Museum is humble and quaint, yet there is no better place to learn about the storied history of Kyushu's railway system.

The museum sits right beside Mojiko Station; follow the signs and you will soon be there. The low admission fee of 300 yen is perhaps a nod to its modest size. Its train collection is small but diverse, encompassing the classics of Japanese railway history: the steam locomotive, DC and AC electric locomotives, the diesel locomotive, the sleeper train, etc. It is sure to satisfy any train enthusiast!

Established in 2003, Kyushu Railway History Museum preserves the history, trains, and relics of the Kyushu Railway. One can only imagine how exciting it is for railway buffs to see the iconic trains of the past century on display.

Apart from the train display hall, the main exhibition hall has its fair share of historical treasures as well, like signal lights and enamel signs. There is also an interactive area where visitors can enter the driver's compartment to experience a realistic simulation of operating a JR train.

The panoramic railway model is not to be missed - you get to control miniature trains running on the rail as if you are an actual train driver! Other than indoor interactive facilities, there is a very popular outdoor mini railway park where you can command petit trains modeled after the icons of the Kyushu Railway, e.g. Kamome and Yufuin no Mori. Each train can carry 3 passengers, making it the perfect family activity.

Admiring Mojiko's Retro Buildings

Walking around Mojiko, one might for a split second think they are in Europe. The retro buildings are a mix of Japanese and Western styles, transporting tourists back in time to an era long gone.

Aside from the beautifully vintage Mojiko Station, there is the former Moji Mitsui Club built in the image of a traditional German timbered house just across the road. Even the genius physicist Einstein had stayed there at some point! The building is now considered an important cultural property of Japan.

You'll also find the former Moji Customs Office and Kitakyushu International Friendship Memorial Library, both of which are Victorian-style red brick structures. They have become the heritage of Mojiko's modernization.

Another unique building is the former Osaka Shosen Mercantile Steamship Co. Building, a Japanese-Western structure with an octagonal tower, combining the best of two worlds. Last but not least, no architecture tour is complete without a visit to a classic Japanese bank building, in this case the Kitakyushu Bank Moji Branch.

A walk through Mojiko is like a journey through Japan's westernization, and the retro atmosphere is unforgettable. Although the advances in transportation mean that the 100-year-old port has lost its status, history has left its mark and it will surely continue to impress for a long time.

Blue Wing Moji is a pedestrian drawbridge that is also known as an altar for lovers. It is said that the first couple to cross the bridge after it is lowered will live together happily ever after; since the bridge is raised and lowered 6 times every day, many hopeful couples check the time beforehand to try their luck. It is a famous spot for watching the sunset as well.

A cross-harbor tunnel connects Mojiko with the main island of Japan. On the other side is Shimonoseki of Yamaguchi Prefecture. Many people walk through the tunnel to indulge in Shimonoseki's famous seafood.

Baked Curry: A Mojiko Specialty

Baked curry is a must-try item in Mojiko. It is served in most local restaurants, and is prepared by oven-baking a bowl of curry with a fresh egg on top.

Baked curry was apparently accidentally made. Years ago, a cafe staff put some leftover curry into the oven for a quick meal, then realized it tasted unexpectedly good, and so it evolved into a proper dish. If you happen to visit Mojiko in the winter, having a steaming pot of baked curry is nothing short of divine!

Before You Go, Drop By Kokura

Many tourists would stop by Shimonoseki before or after the trip to Mojiko, yet there is another worthwhile destination nearby - Kokura. It is conveniently located on the way back to Hakata from Mojiko. Unlike the large cities which are often very crowded, Kokura is a peaceful town with a rich history. Major sightseeing spots are all close to JR Kokura Station, and railway enthusiasts are sure to be delighted by the special monorail.

If you are in a hurry, the long-standing Kokura Castle should be your top priority. The elegant white castle, moat, and gardens are gorgeous. Next to it is the Matsumoto Seicho Memorial Museum, dedicated to the renowned Japanese crime writer.

Tanga Market, nicknamed the "Kitchen of Kitakyushu," can be reached via the local monorail. Seasonal ingredients and all kinds of cooked foods are sold there, making it a fantastic place for shopping and eating, as well as for experiencing the daily life of locals in a traditional market setting.

Want to fully immerse in the tranquility of a small town? Consider staying a night in Kokura!

Explore the Kyushu Area!

There are countless other historical places than Mojiko scattered throughout the region of Kyushu. If you're interested in exploring more of this vast region, check out the official tourist site for Kyushu below!

Visit Kyushu Official Website: https://www.visit-kyushu.com/en/

 

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search