【京都行程】擁有純淨水質的日本酒故鄉—京都伏見一日輕旅行

京都伏見區位在相當方便的地理位置,從以千本鳥居而頗具盛名的觀光景點「伏見稻荷大社」出發,到其最近的車站車程約15分鐘;從知名茶鄉「宇治」搭車前往則需約30分鐘即可抵達。在伏見能欣賞到酒窖林立的風情街道,以及十石船經過後留下的美麗船波,還能搭配美酒品嘗豐盛美食。不僅如此這裡還是個曾有眾多武將與鬥士(有強烈意志為國家獻身的人)活動頻繁的地方,具有高度歷史價值,所到之處皆精彩有看頭。本文將為大家介紹伏見區一日推薦觀光行程!

伏見/山科

玩樂

清酒的故鄉——伏見。
以前也寫作「伏水」,
因這片土地上有著高品質純淨的地下水滋潤,故以此為名。
戰國英傑豐臣秀吉曾在茶會使用伏見城內的井水待客,
甚至還有被選為日本名水百選第一號的御香宮神社「御香水」。
至今大部分的酒窖仍是用此地下水造酒,
原來,這就是製造出柔軟口感好喝的伏見美酒之重要關鍵。

歷史的根源——伏見。
豐臣秀吉與坂本龍馬都曾在伏見留下歷史足跡,
許多著名歷史舞台都發生在伏見。
豐臣秀吉為了在伏見居住,因此建立伏見城,
同時也大規模整治宇治川與巨椋池等水道工程。
現今的濠川便是當時建立伏見城所整治的外圍護城河,
與濠川相通的伏見港便成為大阪與京都的連接點,
也是伏見開始發展的契機。
這裡還有間建立在濠川沿岸的寺田屋,是坂本龍馬經常留宿的旅館,
同時也是1862年坂本龍馬襲擊事件的事發地點。
據說當年多虧坂本龍馬的妻子楢崎龍的即時通報,
坂本龍馬才得以逃過一劫。
現今寺田屋附近的河岸,
還有矗立龍馬與楢崎龍的雕像。

緊接著印入眼簾的是渠道之美,
鱗比櫛次的酒窖與木造古厝,還有蜿蜒曲折、錯綜複雜的無名小巷。
其中引入琵琶湖帶來豐沛水量的渠道,巧妙地穿梭於城市之中,
是個水流平緩且水量充足的小型運河。
乘坐在來來往往、緩緩移動的小船中,看著水面上照映的白雲,
一瞬間,彷彿轉換了時空,
掉進舊時歷史的復古氛圍之中。

走訪完伏見街道後,這裡的特點之一就是還能順道去相距不遠且深受歡迎的伏見稻荷,以及開啟抹茶熱潮的茶鄉宇治!行程很好規劃,例如:在宇治的平等院鳳凰堂參拜後,喝杯宇治茶稍作休息。

接著再搭京版電車約15分鐘,即可抵達中書島站到伏見觀光!之後再到伏見稻荷大社參拜,最後回京都車站也很順路。這些景點中特別是伏見的街道風景,從任何角度拍照,都像畫作般美麗好看,每張照片都很值得分享。

清澈潔淨的水質、甘醇好喝的美酒與深厚底蘊的歷史,
「一日伏見輕旅行」就此展開。

乘坐來往交替不斷的小船,遊覽水鄉伏見。

十石舟

十石舟在江戶時代主要是從伏見到大阪,運輸酒與米以及乘載客人的船隻,據說也是坂本龍馬新婚旅行所搭乘的小船。雖然在明治後期曾消失過一段時間,但在平安遷都1200年的1997年之際,重新以遊覽船的姿態復出。如今十石舟已是一位難求的超人氣觀光行程。

跟著充滿朝氣有熱情且細心的船伕導覽,出發囉!

搭上船後即能感受到相當貼近水面,船隻發動前進時夾帶著引擎運轉的聲響,太陽光反射在水面上閃閃發光,十分耀眼美麗。船隻緩緩前進,同時聽著船伕用幽默風趣的口吻訴說十石舟和伏見的歷史。現在正好是櫻花開始盛開的季節,順著流水與和煦河風吹拂,相當舒適愜意。河邊兩岸盛開的櫻花與伏見街道相互照映,彷彿畫作般美不勝收。

在折返點短暫停留,參觀三栖閘門資料館。

抵達三栖閘門後,有約20分鐘短暫停留的時間可自由運用。無論想到三栖閘門資料館參觀(免費),了解相關歷史與建設構造,或到伏見港廣場散步都可以。三栖閘門是為了調節濠川和宇治川水位的高度差異、整頓船運運輸而建立,以便於濠川到宇治川的航運。而這裡正好當作折返地點,自由時間結束後再次搭船返回起點。

搭乘觀光船,感受江戶時代風情與伏見的涼風、淨水、樹木香。

乘船遊覽不僅可欣賞櫻花與柳樹的美麗姿態,還能看到月桂冠大倉紀念館的酒窖和坂本龍馬襲擊事件中著名的寺田屋。飽覽美景聽著講解,不知不覺約一小時的乘船之旅便來到了尾聲。隨著季節更迭,便能欣賞樹木的色彩變化與街道的轉變氛圍,下回就改看滿天橙紅楓葉的秋季美景吧。

月桂冠 大倉紀念館:濃厚歷史與清甜酒香交織的釀酒博物館

1637年,創始人大倉治右衛門從京都南部的笠置町來到伏見後,創立酒窖「笠置屋」,成就了今日的月桂冠。在大倉紀念館中保留了大倉家建立以來的月桂冠歷史,同時也在強力推廣伏見的釀酒文化,處處都能感受到深厚的歷史氣息。

浪漫復古的建築外觀令人好奇,來參觀博物館吧!

利用1902年(明治)建成的酒窖,改裝成白牆木造建築的月桂冠大倉紀念館,非常具有浪漫復古氛圍。遊覽紀念館中感覺就好像走進月桂冠的發源地,彷彿自己也變身為歷史中的主角,充滿神祕氛圍與氣息。

先來品嘗從井中提取的「Sakamizu Water」。

「Sakamizu Water」是從月桂冠發源地某個約地下50公尺的井中提取出來的水,至今仍不斷有井水湧出,據說月桂冠的酒就是用此水釀造。原本酒(Sake)的念法即是從「栄之水(Sakaenomizu)」產生的說法,因此成為「Sakamizu Water」名稱的由來。清爽冷冽、溫潤甘醇恰如其分,光是喝水,其美味程度就足以讓人難以忘懷!

前往中庭,江戶時代蔵人(※)的身影彷彿歷歷在目。

現在這間酒窖已成為一座展示館。前面並列排放的木桶,是一直到昭和(1926~1989年)初期釀酒發酵作業時使用的器具。據說當年這些木桶就是在這個中庭清洗後放在自然太陽光下曬乾。


(※)蔵人:指在酒藏工作的釀酒工人。

前往月桂冠香房,參觀傳統酒窖釀酒的過程。

一踏入酒窖中,強烈甘醇的米香撲鼻而來。這間迷你釀酒工廠是造酒專家杜氏自古使用傳統釀造技術製酒的地方。據說年產量約四萬公升與「笠置屋」初創時期的產量幾乎相同。來到這裡幸運的話,還有機會看到釀酒的實際作業過程。

了解伏見歷史與釀酒過程最精彩的展示館。

展示館中使用大型面板介紹製酒過程與作業程序,且運用照片及插畫呈現釀酒、日本酒歷史與伏見酒鄉文化的樣貌,淺顯易懂一目瞭然。更棒的是還能看到木桶、酒樽(酒桶)、櫂(攪拌棒)等指定為「京都市有形民俗文化財」的貴重製酒器材。

「品酒處」試喝3種風格迥異的酒,來點微醺之感。

參觀尾聲可至「品酒處」試喝,分別是甜韻充足的「復古瓶裝吟釀酒」、清爽不澀口的「玉之泉 大吟釀」及甘甜易入口的「PLUM WINE(梅酒)」,共有三種都非常好喝,好喝到在邊聽著介紹之下,不知不覺便咕嚕咕嚕地喝完了,一瞬間便感到微醺之意。

Torisei:在銘酒「神聖」的酒窖中品嚐日本酒與雞肉料理

Torisei本店(鳥せい本店)是至今在伏見從事造酒事業已超過300年以上的釀酒廠,也是銘酒「神聖」的創始人山本本家所營運、超受歡迎的串燒與雞肉料理餐廳。不僅受到伏見居民的愛戴,也有許多喜愛此店、來自各地方的忠實粉絲前來,店裡總是門庭若市。本店是由其中一棟神聖的酒窖改建而成,在充滿酒鄉伏見氛圍中,品嚐好喝的日本酒與美味的雞肉料理。

品酒前先嘗嘗伏見七井之一的名水「白菊水」。

店內使用的水及製作銘酒「神聖」的水,都是取自相當著名的伏見七井名水「白菊水」。水的口感柔順高雅,「就是這個名水才讓伏見的清酒變得甘醇又清香」,美味順口獲得高度讚賞。走進店內候位的地方也有提供白菊水可免費飲用。

Torisei的精華、必點的經典美味餐點「六支串燒雞拼盤」。

「六支串燒雞拼盤」是Torisei絕不可錯過的美味組合,裡面有雞肉串、香蔥雞肉串、雞心、雞肉丸、雞皮和雞胗共六種。外表焦香脆、裡面鮮嫩多汁美味可口!鹹度適中的串燒,再配上日本酒堪稱完美組合。建議大家可先點上一盤「六支串燒雞拼盤」,滿足地享受這必吃美味後再追加其他餐點。除了串燒之外,也非常推薦「雞皮餃子」與「雞肉可樂餅」。不僅如此還有許多午間套餐及定食菜單,可照個人喜好選擇喜歡的餐點。

山本本家製的日本酒搭配Torisei的料理堪稱絕配。

Torisei的店員首推的日本酒,不意外就是神聖的純米吟釀。這款日本酒全數選用來自京都的高級精選米種「祝」釀造而成,口感相當清爽柔和、入口滑順不澀口。

另外還有一款香氣濃郁的大吟醸酒「松之翠」,酒的清香與和甘甜,飲後便口齒留香、回味無窮。同時如同酒品標籤上所標示的,「松之翠」也是表千家家主的御用酒,不僅頗具有來歷也能使用在茶道之上。

Torisei原本就是以能暢飲日本酒而起家的店面,進而研發能搭配日本酒的各式料理,雖然清酒配美食的美味不在話下,但山本本家的清酒與Torisei串燒的組合絕對是天下無敵!

伏水酒藏小路:同時享受18間酒窖美味的日本酒天堂

伏水酒藏小路於2017年開幕,這裡集結伏見酒造組合所屬的18間酒窖,總數約120種日本酒,是個讓日本酒愛好者為之瘋狂的地方。店入口在納屋町商店街上,但其實店家後方還有入口,且只有這裡才能看到18間酒窖的酒樽(酒桶)並列排放的壯觀景象,分享這裡的照片肯定大受好評!

伏水酒藏小路必點的「18酒藏品酒組合」。

首次光臨的客人,當然最推薦的就是直接到供應日本酒的直營店「酒藏」,在其酒藏吧檯點必點這裡的「18酒藏品酒組合」,這可是由伏水酒藏小路的專屬清酒侍酒師從18間酒窖中嚴選的日本酒。每一種各約20ml先輕嚐做比較,從這個組合中找出個人的喜好口味,下次再選喝大瓶的,這樣也是個不錯的方法呢。

使用迷你陶土火爐,親手炙燒豪華海鮮。

酒藏吧檯最受歡迎的料理,就是用迷你陶土火爐直接炙燒的「炙烤海鮮」,就連魟魚翅、螢烏賊等海鮮都能親自用小火爐炙燒品嚐。嚼勁口感香味四溢,當作下酒菜再適合不過了。此外也有與品酒組合搭配後升級為品酒套餐的選擇喔。

一次品嚐多間餐廳料理,也有特別的外送餐點。

伏水酒藏小路裡有著類似美食街的概念,有多間餐廳美食可選擇,例如:壽司、Obanzai(※)、關東煮,或是拉麵等B級美食(※),還有義大利料理等共24間餐廳。一家接著一家小酌美酒並享受美食,特別的是從每間餐廳還能點其它店家的「外送餐點」。當然也有許多只能到各店面才點得到的特色料理,換間餐廳換個氣氛也不錯!
 

(※)Obanzai(おばんざい):京都傳統家常料理。
(※)B級美食:庶民美食。

店家專屬清酒侍酒師,正巧就姓伏見!

在可品嚐美食與酒的伏水酒藏小路當中,專屬的清酒侍酒師是位女性,這位就是伏見早奈惠小姐。如同伏見小姐所說:「能在這裡工作是命中注定」,原來她本來對日本酒談不上喜歡,一直到上大學在外打工後才深刻感受到日本酒的魅力,彷彿命定一般的安排。聽著伏見小姐述說著對伏見清酒的熱愛,手中這杯清酒喝起來更加美味了。

這次的「伏見一日輕旅行」大家覺得如何呢?
日本酒的故鄉——伏見。
歷史的根源——伏見。
走訪尚未探索的伏見之美,介紹值得珍藏的伏見魅力。
下次旅行,不妨來趟伏見,發掘專屬個人的「私藏京都」!

 

(刊登日期:2019年4月26日 作者:ENJOY KYOTO)

路線地圖

此篇文章中的景點B~E即為路線地圖上的景點B~E。

景點A 京阪電車中書島站
景點B 十石舟
景點C 月桂冠 大倉紀念館
景點D Torisei(鳥せい)
景點E 伏水酒藏小路
景點F 京阪電車伏見桃山站

本篇文章內容與照片版權歸「Hidden Gems of KYOTO Project」(日文)所有。

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

搜尋餐廳

A Town of Pure Water and Sake: A One-Day Tour of Fushimi, Kyoto

The Fushimi area of Kyoto is 15 minutes by train from the Fushimi-Inari Shrine, famous for its thousand vermillion gates, and 30 minutes away from Uji, well-known as a green tea capital. The town is blessed with excellent sake and food, as well as photogenic scenes such as its narrow streets lined with sake cellars and pleasure boats running along its canal. History buffs are sure to love the stories featuring famous warriors and statesmen that took place here. In this article, we will recommend a one-day itinerary for exploring this delightful town!

Fushimi/Yamashina

Things to Do

Fushimi, town of sake.
It’s often said that the town is blessed with exceptionally clear groundwater.
Military ruler Hideyoshi Toyotomi, who kept his castle here, is said to have dug a well and used the water for his tea ceremonies.
The water from the area’s Gokonomiya Shrine was designated as one of Japan’s 100 purest waters;
Not to mention the countless sake distilleries that use the area’s water.
Makes sense, given how delicious and soft the water tastes.

Fushimi, town of history.
The sites of several historical moments dot the area, featuring characters like Hideyoshi Toyotomi and Sakamoto Ryoma.
In order to construct his castle at Fushimi, Hideyoshi ordered massive flood-control projects including the Uji River and Lake Ogura, and the outer moat would later become the Hori River. This river, later the site of Fushimi’s port, would become an important midway point between Osaka and Kyoto, contributing to the city’s development.
On this river stood the Teradaya Inn, where Meiji-era reformer Ryoma Sakamoto was a frequent guest. In 1862, in this inn, an attempt was made on Ryoma’s life, in what became known as the Teradaya Incident. The assassins would have succeeded in taking Ryoma’s life, too, were it not for the quick thinking of his partner Oryo. Instead, Ryoma was able to escape to safety. Today, close to the site of the Teradaya Inn, we can find statues of Ryoma and Oryo.

Let's not forget about the scenery by the canal.
The canal, flowing from the great Lake Biwa, snakes through a jumble of nameless winding alleyways that are lined with old, wooden houses and cellars.
It’s a small, quiet canal, brimming with water, reflecting the white clouds in the sky, as small boats float along to and fro. Standing in the middle of this romantic, nostalgic scene, we feel as though time has paused.

Adding to its appeal, Fushimi is quite accessible: the town center is just a short distance away from such tourist favorites as the Fushimi-Inari Shrine and the town Uji. It’s very doable to start your day with a visit to the Byodo-in Temple in Uji, enjoy a break with some green tea, then hop on the Keihan Line for 15 minutes to Chushojima Station for a tour of Fushimi. Then afterwards, you could pay a visit to the Fushimi-Inari Shrine and return to Kyoto in the evening.

More than anything, Fushimi is exceptionally photogenic - you could photograph basically anything and it will be sure to be Insta-friendly.

Let's embark on our one-day tour of Fushimi, filled with clear water, delicious sake, and historical sites. Here we go!

A Boat Ride on the Jikkoku-Bune

Jikkoku-bune were originally a type of cargo boat used to ferry rice and sake to Osaka that carried passengers as well. In fact, Ryoma Sakamoto is said to have taken a ride on one of these boats for his honeymoon. These boats became a rarer sight at the turn of the 20th century, but made a revival as sightseeing boats in 1997. Nowadays these cruises have exploded in popularity, to the point that reservations can be difficult to come by.

With the help of a strong but kind boatsman, we set sail! The engine sound echoed along the water, which reflected sparkles from the sunlight. The surface felt remarkably close by. The boat ambled along slowly as the boatsman gave his humorous tour-guide speech about local history. It was just the time of year when cherry blossoms were beginning to bloom. The sound of the breeze, of the gently flowing water, and the sight of the cherry blossoms along both banks of the canal combined for a beautiful sight.

And then, a brief visit to the archives at the Misu Locks. We were given 20 minutes of free time, during which we explored the archive’s free exhibit about the history and construction of the locks, and strolled along the plaza at Fushimi Port. The locks are there to separate the canal from the Uji River, which have different water levels, and to function as an “elevator” of sorts for boats that seek to move from one to the other. It was here that our boat turned back. After our brief break, we boarded the boat again, to be ferried back to where we originally boarded.

A boat ride carrying the scent of the trees, the sound of the water, and the atmosphere of the Edo era.

Along the way, we were able to see not only beautiful scenes of willows and cherry blossoms, but also the Sake Museum of famous distillery Gekkeikan, as well as the Teradaya Inn where Ryoma was nearly assassinated. Before we knew it, the hour-long ferry ride was over! We were told the ferry is an excellent way to watch the town change complexion between the seasons, so perhaps we'll return in the autumn, this time to admire the fall foliage.

Gekkeikan Okura Sake Museum: Brimming With History and the Aroma of Sake

Gekkeikan traces its history back to 1637, when Okura Jiemon set up a distillery in Fushimi known as Kasagiya, named after his hometown of Kasagicho. The Gekkeikan Okura Sake Museum, which bears the name of him and his descendants, presents to the public the history of the company as well as the wider sake-brewing culture in Fushimi.

The museum’s romantic exterior draws us in.

The building, made of wood and with white walls, has been remodeled since it first opened in 1902 as a sake cellar. The whole place, as the origin of this centuries-old company, has a mystical air to it: being there makes us feel like characters in a historical mystery novel.

We start by getting a taste of “saka-mizu” from a well, which is 50 meters deep and still reliably produces groundwater to this day. This water has been used for Gekkeikan's sake brewing, and is known as “saka-mizu”. The origin of the name of this water was apparently derived from a once-used word for sake, "sakae-mizu", or "water of prosperity". The water is delicious by itself: refreshing and slightly sweet!

Now to the courtyard, where we get a glimpse of the life of the sake artisan.

By the courtyard, we see a few wooden barrels. Back when the building was still active as a distillery, these were used during the fermentation process. The courtyard was where these barrels would be washed and then dried in the sun.

Next up is the “sake-kobo”, a mini-factory where we observe the traditional sake-making process.

Stepping from the courtyard back into the building, we immediately notice the sweet fragrance of rice. Here we find the sake-kobo, a sake workshop in miniature, where a veteran brewer produces sake according to traditional methods. The workshop, we're told, produces about 40,000 liters of sake per year, about as much as the whole company made early in its history, back when it was known as the Kasagiya. If you arrive at the right time, you can watch the process happening in front of your eyes.

We move onto the exhibition hall, for a bit of history on sake-making in Fushimi.

There were panels showcasing the methods and daily lives of sake artisans, as well as explanations of the history of sake and of Fushimi’s history as a sake-making city. The panels were easy to read and were accompanied by photos and illustrations. Lastly, there was a collection of pails, barrels, and paddles used in production, all of which the City of Kyoto has designated as objects of cultural significance.

Lastly some sake-tasting, where we sampled three very distinct sakes.

There was the Retro Bottle Ginjoshu, with a solidly sweet flavor, the more elegant and understated Tama no Izumi Daiginjo, and a delightfully sweet plum wine. All three went down quite easily, with the result that our time sipping sake and listening to the guide left us somewhat tipsy.

Torisei: Sake and Grilled Chicken at the Site of an Acclaimed Distillery

Torisei’s main branch is a yakitori (grilled chicken skewer) restaurant operated by the Yamamoto Honke distillery, which has produced sake in Fushimi for over three centuries and makes the popular sake Shinsei. The store is well known far beyond Fushimi, and fans travel a long way to pay a visit. For this reason, the restaurant is constantly filled with customers, creating a lively atmosphere. The restaurant, which was converted from part of a sake cellar, is an excellent choice for those looking to enjoy sake and chicken cuisine in Fushimi.

Before the sake, however, comes some famous water.

The water served as the restaurant is also the water used to make Shinsei sake, and is known as shiragiku-mizu (white chrysanthemum water). It is well-known as one of the seven great well waters of Fushimi. Tasting the mild, refined water, it’s easy to see how Shinsei is as delicious as it is. This water is freely available for those in the waiting area as well.

A must-order item is the “Yakitori Six-Skewer Set”.

The six-skewer set combines standard yakitori, torinegi (chicken and green onion), ground and salted chicken, and chicken heart and skin. The outside is crunchy and fragrant, while the inside is juicy and tender; it’s perfectly seasoned as well. Our recommendation is to start off with this set and then order your favorite items afterwards. Aside from their yakitori, we’d also recommend their chicken-skin gyoza dumplings and chicken croquettes. They also have lunch menus and full-course meals, making Torisei a good choice for many occasions.

And of course, everything pairs well with their in-house sake.

Naturally, we had to start by trying the Shinsei sake, made entirely from Iwai ("celebration") rice grown in Kyoto. It had a soft taste that was easy on the palette. In addition, we tasted Matsu no Midori ("pine green"), a sake that had a stronger aroma and taste. A prominent master of the Japanese tea ceremony is said to love this particular sake and to use it during his tea gatherings.

We were struck by just how perfectly the sake and food paired together: it’s an obvious point, of course, since the restaurant was founded precisely so that customers could enjoy the two together, but we thought nonetheless that they’d done an excellent job!

Fushimi Sake Village: An Attraction Featuring 18 Different Distilleries

The Sake Village, which opened three years ago, is a stop where visitors can enjoy over 120 types of sake sourced from the 18 distilleries of the Fushimi Sake Brewers’ Association, making this a must-see for sake enthusiasts. There is an entrance from the Nayamachi shopping street, but we’d recommend entering from the back, as by the door you can find 18 colorful sake barrels in a row: definitely an Instagram worthy sight!

Definitely recommended is the “18 Sake Testing Set”.

Those coming for the first time should definitely start by ordering the 18 Sake Testing Set. As the name suggests, it includes 20 ml each of 18 different sake, all produced by one of the village’s distilleries and carefully selected by a sake sommelier. We’d recommend starting off with the tasting set and then ordering a full glass of the ones that you most enjoyed.

Some fresh fish grilled right on the spot!

The counter also offers a selection of food, among which the most popular choice is their grilled fresh fish. Fresh ray fin, firefly squid, and other fish are cooked on a shichirin (charcoal grill) right in front of the customer. The texture and aroma of the grilled fish is a perfect match for the sake, and the restaurant also offers a set including both of them.

Go stall-hopping and enjoy a variety of foods.

The Sake Village somewhat resembles a food cart fair, in that numerous different eateries (24 in total) offering different cuisines are lined up one after another: here you can find sushi, obanzai, and oden (dishes of stewed vegetables), ramen, and even Italian cuisine. A fun idea is to hop between the various stalls and try something from each. It is possible to stay at one place and order other stalls’ items, but this isn’t the case for all menu items, so it might be worthwhile to go stall-hopping!

With help from sommelier Ms. Fushimi!

The sommelier who guided us through the sake-tasting process was, amazingly, a lady by the name of Sanae Fushimi! “It was fate that brought me to work here,” she says. According to her, she hadn’t been a huge fan of sake early on, but it was her time waitressing during university that led her to love it. Her passionate explanations of the various types of sake allowed us to appreciate the tasting experience so much more!

What do you think of this one-day trip?
Fushimi, town of sake.
Fushimi, town of history.
A delightful experience off the beaten path. We encourage you all to “Find your Kyoto” and give Fushimi a visit!



(Date of publication: April 26, 2019 / Reporting: ENJOY KYOTO)

Route Map

Points B-E in the article correspond to points B-E on the map below.

Point A  Chushojima Station (Keihan Line)
Point B  Jikkoku-bune
Point C  Gekkeikan Okura Sake Museum
Point D  Torisei
Point E  Fushimi Sake Village
Point F  Fushimi-momoyama Station (Keihan Line)

The images and content of this article were taken with permission from "Hidden Gems of KYOTO Project" (Japanese page).

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Things to Do

Hotels & Ryokan

Shopping

Restaurant Search