【京都美食】品嚐傳統與摩登!精選20樣京都嵐山的推薦午餐

京都的人氣景點「嵐山」,有著充滿往昔氛圍的街景、登錄於重要文化財和世界遺產的神社寺廟,是處能讓人感受豐饒歷史文化氣息的地方。此外,近年來在自然美景上也受到相當的好評,賞楓季期間更是吸引許多觀光客慕名而來。這次就將為您嚴選介紹在嵐山旅行時,可以順道前往享用美味京料理的午餐店家。

嵐山/嵯峨野

美食

京都才能享用到的好味道!精選3樣番菜午餐

菜之介

「番菜」為使用時令蔬菜製作、相當健康的京都傳統家庭料理。而「菜之介」便是間可以享用到使用當季嚴選食材做成料理的割烹番菜餐廳。以天然的紅點鮭、剝皮魚、香魚、河豚等魚類為首,還有京都蔬菜和嵯峨豆腐做成的番菜,以及講究的山椒小魚和西京漬等,您都可以在這裡品嘗到。

菜單品項非常豐富,從口味淡雅的番菜午餐到使用店老闆親手釣到的新鮮生魚製成的天婦羅午餐,各式各樣餐點供您選擇。此外在座席上,有可以近距離觀賞老闆料理過程的吧台席,以及可以輕鬆入座的座敷席。請選擇適合您的需求,度過一段悠閒的時光。

京都料理 TORIYONE

位於京都嵐山名勝松尾大社入口處的「京都料理 TORIYONE」,其招牌料理「名物活雞」是代代相傳的傳統菜餚,用雞骨熬煮成的白色滑潤湯頭,是這道菜的最大特色。口感極佳的湯汁加上越嚼越有味的雞肉和蔬菜,讓您可以享受到奢侈的美味。

此外,岩浴池和隨著四季更迭風情洋溢的庭園,也是這間店的魅力之一。一邊眺望庭園一邊享受悠閒的奢侈——。請來體驗一下這跳脫日常繁雜的片刻吧。

嵐山大善

「想要吃好吃的京壽司!」有著如此念頭的人,到京壽司餐廳「嵐山大善」就對了。距離觀光名勝渡月橋步行10分鐘,是個非常適合午餐休憩的地方。

黑鮪魚、鰤魚、鯛魚等新鮮的魚,都僅用芝麻油和鹽巴作調味,這種嶄新的吃法,可是讓人上癮的美味秘訣。

這裡的每樣壽司都是美味絕品,魚肉不僅厚實還非常柔軟,入口即化。依季節不同也會提供不同的當季鮮魚,不管造訪幾次都能有不一樣的享受,是這裡受歡迎的原因之一。

到京都嵐山不能不吃豆腐!精選4樣嵐山湯豆腐午餐

嵯峨豆腐 稻

「嵯峨豆腐 稻」是間能以實惠價格品嘗到京都豆腐皮御膳的餐廳。尤其是午餐時段的價位,更是以親民而受好評。

味道細緻的豆腐和豆腐皮,配上擺盤漂亮的京蔬菜和京漬物,讓您不只味覺,連視覺上都是大大享受。

嵐山有許多美味的湯豆腐餐廳,其中又以「嵯峨豆腐 稻」的湯豆腐最為美味!若煩惱不知道要吃什麼才好的話,請一定要來試試看。

豆腐料理 松枝

想一邊感受和式氛圍一邊用餐的話,推薦您「豆腐料理 松枝」。主菜的湯豆腐分為原味及抹茶2種,請用芝麻醬和醬油品嚐。不管香味、口味、口感,都是絕品。配上帶點微辣的山椒,堪稱一絕。

在過去曾是明治時期的畫家——北村曼州宅邸的這個地方,由於是聚集許多文人的文化沙龍,因而廣為人知。不妨在文豪所愛的這個地方,感受一下懷舊的日式氛圍吧。

松籟庵

「唯獨這裡的豆腐料理跟其他店不一樣」,得到當地居民如此美譽的「松籟庵」的懷石料理,在午餐時間也能享用到這奢侈的美味。

湯豆腐是指浸泡在昆布高湯的熱湯裡一段時間後,再用鰹魚高湯製成的沾醬享用的料理。一同附上的九条蔥和山椒的風味更是一絕,與豆腐非常的搭。脫離嵐山的嘈雜處,到靜寂的松籟庵享受午餐也很不錯。

湯豆腐 竹村

若想要大啖京都名產嵯峨豆腐的話,那就到「湯豆腐 竹村」吧。使用名店森嘉的軟綿綿嵯峨豆腐作成的湯豆腐,是這裡的招牌料理。再配上竹村秘傳醬汁品嚐的話,這細緻的湯豆腐美味令人不禁讚嘆。

湯豆腐、八寸、飛龍頭、芝麻豆腐…。簡單的調理,就能吃到豆腐原本的美味。請使用枕崎產柴魚片製成的高湯醬油享用吧。

番菜萬歲!精選3樣京都嵐山的自助式午餐

GYATEI

忘記減肥的事,好好品嚐一下美味的京都嵐山番菜吧。「GAYTEI」是間自助餐形式的餐廳,相當推薦給想吃飽又想吃得健康的人。在京都嵐山的竹林風情之中,一邊享用料理一邊欣賞充滿日式風格的景緻吧。

可以品嘗到30種以上料理的「GYATEI」,店裡招牌的番菜壽司、豆腐皮、生麩、鮮魚握壽司等,每一道料理都非常值得一吃。

Nouvelle Japonaise Arashiyama

想在自助餐午餐吃得很飽的話,推薦您「Nouvelle Japonaise Arashiyama」。這是間可以選擇主菜及當季番菜吃到飽的餐廳。

在可以選擇一道主菜的料理中,有漢堡排、壽喜燒、鍋類、牛排、松花堂便當…品項非常豐富,是令人相當滿意的自助餐。

位於HOTEL BINARIO嵯峨嵐山內的這間創意和食餐廳,價位也比較實惠,70分鐘吃到飽只要1,600日幣起就能享用到。

餐廳嵐山

地處能將渡月橋一覽無遺好位置的「餐廳嵐山」,您可以在這裡一邊欣賞絕美景色,一邊享用京都美食自助餐。

菜單有每季的當季番菜、豆腐等,只在這裡就能嚐盡整個京都的好味道。而且,菜色種類居然多達60種!以實惠又美味而廣受好評的自助餐,不妨就在這盡情享用京都料理吧。

何時造訪都能大大滿足,精選5樣京都嵐山的和食午餐

鰻魚屋 廣川

京都嵐山鮮少讓人聯想到「鰻魚」,不過「鰻魚屋 廣川」的鰻魚,卻可以品嘗到不同於以往的好味道。獲得米其林一顆星的這間關西代表鰻魚名店,雖然價格不是很親民,卻被評為關西第一的人氣餐廳,非常值得前往。

連日本以前的著名演員聖新太郎都非常喜愛的鰻魚,吃起來毫無腥臭且口感鬆軟。使用的醬汁也是熟成過的美味,將鰻魚的味道更加凸顯出來。意外地與白酒相當搭,不妨一邊小酌美酒,一邊享用美味可口的鰻魚。

京・嵐山 錦

能夠一覽渡月橋的料亭「京・嵐山 錦」,是間大量使用當季食材的日本料理老店。您可以在這裡欣賞到嵐山的櫻花、桂川的渡船和河川景致等,在四季更迭的美景中用餐。

擺盤於名為櫻宿膳的漆器重箱裡的料理,每個月都會更換口味提供。漆器與瓷器等器皿相當漂亮,貝殼漆器與重箱的華麗,讓人不禁看入迷。櫻宿膳的料理每樣都非常美味,其中又以味道深厚口感柔軟的鯡魚昆布卷最為推薦。

嵐山Yoshimura(嵐山よしむら)

位於面對渡月橋絕佳位置的「嵐山Yoshimura」,是可以品嘗到蕎麥麵午餐的餐廳。以使用優質蕎麥粉製作,及活用長年經驗技巧的職人手打蕎麥麵為傲。

推薦的是天笊膳,滑潤的蕎麥麵配上現炸天婦羅,其美味難以言喻,讓身心都相當滿足。Yoshimura的手工蕎麥麵也有提供配送服務,在家裡就能享用到包含職人心意的蕎麥麵,相當奢侈!

鯛匠 HANANA

「鯛匠 HANANA」是位於京都嵐山的鯛魚茶泡飯專門店。使用當地新鮮蔬菜和新鮮鯛魚做成的料理,可謂是絕品。而且器皿皆使用有田燒,更能體會到店家對於給予最優質用餐體驗的堅持。

除了料理之外,其他地方也能窺見店家的講究。以町家為概念設計的純和風外觀、暖簾另一側通往竹林的道路……在開始用餐前,就令人興奮不已。坐在可以眺望四季風景的吧台席上,享用美味的鯛魚茶泡飯也是很不錯的。

舞妓飯

「舞妓飯」的特色,就是使用講究的京蔬菜製成各式各樣的料理。由於店家位於接近嵐山自然的地方,用餐時可以欣賞到四季更迭的嵐山美景。

在許多講究的菜單之中,也有必須預約才能吃得到的料理。16色的一口串天婦羅膳是店家推薦的8樣和顧客自由選擇的8樣組合而成,能依照您的喜好選擇餐點相當吸引人。在寬廣的席位上享受美味的一餐吧。

嵐山觀光!精選5間適合上傳Instagram的網美咖啡廳

Cafe style resort 嵯峨野湯

距離嵯峨嵐山站步行即達的「Cafe style resort 嵯峨野湯」,是間翻修大正時代經營的錢湯的咖啡廳。

雖然是棟古建築,但以白色為基調裝修,呈現可愛又摩登的氛圍。離渡月橋、天龍寺也很近,在觀光之餘,也很推薦前往休息一下喔。

人氣料理是豆腐義大利麵。因覺得少見而前來品嚐的話,保證味道一定不會讓您失望且相當滿足。若要買伴手禮,店家也有原創的點心可購買。結帳時在番台(錢湯的櫃檯)進行也是非常新穎。是間非常時髦的咖啡廳,很適合好姐妹聚餐。

eX cafe 嵐山本店

店外景色也非常漂亮的「eX cafe 京都嵐山本店」,是電視劇也會前來拍攝外景的療癒系咖啡廳。重新裝修為現代風的豪邸,內部是充滿優雅氣息的時尚空間。能感受到日式風情的日本庭園也相當推薦。

自己燒烤享用的糰子也非常受到好評,衝著用七輪燒烤和式甜點前往的人可說是大排長龍呢。義大利麵午餐在調味上還加有柴漬、鹽昆布等,相當新穎,且味道出乎意料的非常搭,是這裡人氣的秘訣之一。這裡也有座敷席和包廂,建議可以預約包廂在裡面享用喔。

% Arabica京都 嵐山

「% Arabica京都 嵐山」是最近蔚為話題的咖啡專賣咖啡廳。份量稍為大一點的咖啡拿鐵配上漂亮的拉花,在喝之前就心動不已。此外,復古的咖啡機非常時尚,讓店裡更有氣氛。

老闆是全球第一的咖啡師,也引起了不小話題,在空間不大的店內,有許多咖啡愛好者慕名而來。在天氣良好的日子,也很推薦外帶。一面望著桂川和渡月橋的美麗景緻,一面輕啜美味的咖啡吧。

嵯峨野湯

咖啡廳「嵯峨野湯」最特別的特色就是「改造錢湯而成的咖啡廳」。是可以沉浸在錢湯獨特悠閒氛圍裡的療癒咖啡廳。

推薦的是餅皮厚實柔軟、呈現漂亮焦糖色的美味「桃子鬆餅」。甜甜的桃子加上鮮奶油以及軟綿的鬆餅,可真是令人垂涎三尺。在這能感受到木頭溫暖,以及顧客和樂氣氛的環境中,不妨來此度過開心的午餐時光吧。

Cafe Libra

「Cafe Libra」是經營了50年的老店,將原創的綜合咖啡豆用法蘭絨濾泡法沖泡而成的咖啡,廣受日本國內外顧客喜愛,每年都有許多人慕名而來。距離嵐山站非常近,交通位置良好,是輕鬆就能前往的地方。

推薦的三明治是「Cafe Libra」,講究的山食麵包配上當地北嵯峨現採蔬菜而成、頗具份量的美食。此外,這裡也有提供與蛋糕非常對味的美味咖啡,種類也相當豐富。

到嵐山慰勞心靈與肚子後,感受換然一新的自己

可以看見四季不同美景的嵐山,是個適合散步且又能感受到療癒的地方。此外,這裡除了料亭,也有不少時尚的咖啡廳和餐廳,能夠享用到各式各樣的美食也是其魅力之一。不妨趁這個機會,到嵐山好好的慰勞一下您的心靈和肚子吧。

文章提供來源:Relux Magazin

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

玩樂

住宿

購物

搜尋餐廳

20 Recommended Places to Grab Lunch in Arashiyama, Kyoto, Where Tradition Meets Modernity

Arashiyama is a district on the outskirts of Kyoto, whose scenic expanse is a haven of woodland hills that undergo drastic seasonal transformations of color, from crimson, autumn leaves to gentle, peach colored hues of cherry blossoms. The storied, traditional structures of the city appear to blend into the nature of the surroundings, and countless temples—moss laden stones, vermilion lacquered torii, and all—offer a tranquil, quaint atmosphere. Many have also been designated as important cultural properties and UNESCO World Heritage Sites. The following is an introduction to a handpicked selection of restaurants with delicious Kyoto cuisine that you can enjoy amidst the placid Arashiyama scenery.

Arashiyama/Sagano

Food & Drinks

Enjoy Flavors Unique to Kyoto! A Selection of 3 Restaurants Serving Obanzai, Traditional Kyoto Cuisine

Sainosuke

Sainosuke prepares their Kyoto specialties and other Japanese cuisine with ingredients respective to the natural produce of each season. The Kyoto home cuisine, called obanzai, consists of dishes that feature freshly caught wild fish like Amago salmon, filefish, ayu (sweetfish), and puffer fish, along with Kyoto vegetables and Saga tofu, not to mention flavorful seasonings like chirimen sansho (dried whitebait with a strong Japanese pepper) and Saikyozuke (sweet-miso marinated fish).

The restaurant has a significant repertoire of dishes that include everything from light obanzai lunches that are light on your stomach to tempura (deep fried) lunches made with the fresh fish caught by the head chef. The tatami-laden zashiki seats embody a Japanese ambience while you take in a little bit of a cooking performance as the do-it-all chef prepares your order. If you're looking to make the most of a one-and-only experience immersed in Arashiyama’s atmosphere, you can stop by Sainosuke for a leisurely meal.

Toriyone Kyoto

Toriyone can be found at the entrance of Matsuno'o Taisha Shrine, staple sightseeing attraction in Arashiyama. The specialty [Meibutsu Katsudori] is a traditionally passed down recipe served with a silky-white broth of slowly simmered chicken bouillon. The palate-pleasing soup envelops succulent pieces of fresh chicken that seem to release more flavor with each bite, and alongside the seasonally gathered vegetables, the Katsudori tastes as luxurious as it looks.

The restaurant also boasts the lavish attractions of a stone bath and a traditional Japanese garden for the full peripheral Kyoto ambiance. Between the views, a hot bath, and stomach-warming foods, you’re in for a surreal experience at Toriyone.

Arashiyama Daizen

If you’re craving some delicious sushi in Kyoto, Arashiyama Daizen is the place to be. The restaurant is located just a 10-minute walk from the Togetsukyo bridge, whose wooden parapet offers views of the beautiful surrounding nature, and is an ideal location for a relaxing lunch.

Fresh-caught fish like bluefin tuna, yellowtail, and sea bream are served with sesame oil and salt. Although this combination is rather unconventional, the eccentric flavor will have you hooked!

Each dish is prepared with thick, meaty slices of fish that seem to melt away in your mouth. Dishes are prepared according to the seasonal migrations of fish, and the versatile menu conforms to the flow of the seasons.

Tofu is an Arashiyama Specialty That You Won’t Want to Miss! An Introduction to 4 Tofu Specialty Restaurants for Lunch in Arashiyama

Saga Tofu Ine

Saga Tofu Ine serves the yuba gozen, a traditional assortment of Kyoto cuisine dishes at a budget-friendly price, espeically during lunchtime hours.

The fine-textured tofu and yuba (sheets of bean curd) are beautifully arranged with Kyoto vegetables and pickled vegetables for a meal that is as visually attractive as it is pleasing to the palate.

Although Arashiyama is known for its high quality of yudofu (boiled tofu), Ine sets itself apart with its homemade tofu. Don’t hesitate to stop by if you're not sure what to get for lunch on any given day.

Tofu Ryori Matsugae

If you’re looking for a traditional Japanese ambience, you’ll find the works at Matsugae, from a pristine garden, to tapestries of calligraphy and an all-in-all rustic, woody atmosphere that melds into nature as opposed to standing on top of it. You can enjoy 2 kinds of yudofu (boiled tofu), plain or matcha (green tea powder), which are served with sesame sauce and soy sauce. The dish is exquisite on all sensory fronts, and the attractive sight, smell and taste are accented by a touch of sansho, or Japanese pepper.

The location also once served as the residence of a prominent artist by the name of Kawamura Manshu in the Meiji era (1868-1912), and was frequented as a kind of cultural salon by other writers and artists. As such, you’ll be in for a dining experience in the retro Japanese ambiance of a location that once served as a venue for avid cultural discourse.

Shoraian

Shoraian's kaiseki ryori (tea ceremony dishes) have garnered a reputation for the restaurant as a location that serves “tofu dishes that set them apart from the rest.” You’ll be able to experience a lunchtime meal in an air of extravagance.

The boiled tofu is prepared by first setting it in a pot of simmering kombu dashi (broth), then serving it in a separate dashi with a katsuo (bonito) base. The garnish of Kujo leeks and the touch sansho pepper are exemplary when paired with the tofu. You can also get away from the crowds for some respite in the quiet atmosphere of Shoraian.

Yudofu Takemura

Yudofu Takemura is a great place to visit if you're curious about Saga tofu, a regional specialty. The restaurant receives their supply of tofu from Morioka Tofu, a distinguished tofu specialty store, and prepares an exquisite yudofu which also serves as the restaurant's namesake. The dashi is a well-guarded secret, but paired with the fine, silky texture of the tofu, the dish will have you absent-mindedly smacking your lips as you savor the flavor.

Between yudofu, hassun (small side dish), hirousu (deep-fried tofu ball with vegetables), gomadofu (tofu made from sesame paste), a simplicity of flavor is a common theme behind these ingredients chosen for how they emphasize the tofu itself. The dish is truly complete with a touch of the restaurant's soy sauce mixed with dashi, made using the finest katsuobushi (bonito), called Matsurazaki Katsuobushi.

Banzai for Obanzai! 3 Buffet-Style Lunches to Fully Savor Arashiyama Cuisine

Gyatei

How about forgetting about eating daintily for a bit and really savoring the many flavors of Arashiyama's delicious cuisine. Gyatei is highly recommended for those who are interested in eating your stomach full in a buffet stocked with healthy, delicious options. Dining at the restaurant also affords you the luxury of a picturesque view of a bamboo forest, which sets the tone of the traditionally Japanese ambiance.

There is a selection of over 30 different dishes at the buffet, including obanzai sushi, yuba, namafu (wheat gluten mixed with rice flour), and nigiri sushi made with fresh fish, all of which assuredly warrant a taste while you have the opportunity.

Nouvelle Japonaise Arashiyama

Nouvelle Japonaise's lunch buffet is highly recommended if you're feeling especially ravenous on any given day. The freedom to choose a main dish and seasonal obanzai side dishes is a defining characteristic of lunching at the restaurant.

The single main dish could be a difficult decision with choices including a Japanese hamburger, sukiyaki (hot pot stew), steak, or a Shokado Bento (a traditional tea ceremony course).

Although a hotel restaurant located inside of Hotel Binario, the prices are economical, like the 70 minute all-you-can-eat course starting from 1,600 yen.

Restaurant Arashiyama

Restaurant Arashiyama is posited in a location with a clear view of Togetsukyo Bridge, where you can enjoy a buffet of delicious Kyoto cuisine while enjoying the stunning scenery.

Their menu consists of 60 different kinds of seasonal obanzai dishes and tofu, all within the premises of a single restaurant. If you're looking to fill your stomach on Kyoto cuisine, stop by for sumptuous cooking and cost-effective prices at Arashiyama.

5 Assured Picks for Lunch at Traditional Japanese Restaurants in Arashiyama

Unagi Hirokawa

Though Arashiyama isn’t typically a region associated with unagi (eel), Hirokawa is a unagi restaurant with a one-of-a-kind flavor that you should definitely check out. The restaurant has even earned a Michelin star, garnering it a notable reputation within the Kansai region. Although the prices are reflective of their pedigree, the restaurant is considered one of the best unagi restaurants in the area, and certainly warrants a visit if you're looking to savor some eel.

The restaurant is said to have been a favorite of Japanese actor Katsu Shintaro, and the impeccably fresh eel with a soft, feathery texture is said to be free of any fishy aftertaste. The aged umami (Japanese savory taste) of the sauce is also plays a pivotal role in accenting the eel. Perhaps this may come as a surprise, but the flavor of eel is complemented well by white wines, so why not enjoy a glass along with your eel? 

Nishiki

Nishiki is traditional Japanese restaurant, or ryotei, serving fine Japanese cuisine prepared with an assortment of seasonal ingredients. You’ll also get to enjoy your meal with scenic views of Togetsukyo bridge, the Katsura River ferry, and a seasonal kaleidoscope of the natural foliage reflected on the river surface.

Meals are served in an ornate, black-lacquered jubako (tiered box) called the sakura yadozen, and the various picturesque arrangements of dishes vary depending on the month. The porcelain and lacquerware glisten with a vivid sheen, and the Kai-awase (a game which involved matching two halves of a painting drawn in two separate shells) lacquerware and beautiful jubako emphasize the quaint ceremonial aspects of fine Japanese dining. Although you can't go wrong with any part of the Sakura Yadozen, the delicate, soft-textured herring wrapped in kombu (kelp) is especially exquisite.

Arashiyama Yoshimura

Yoshimura serves soba (buckwheat noodles) lunches in a wonderful scenic location with a view of Togetsukyo Bridge. Fresh buckwheat flour is handmade into the restaurant's emblematic soba noodles by people who have spent long years perfecting their craft.

If in doubt, try the [Tenzaru Set]. The Tenzaru Set features a bowl of silky, soba noodles topped by piping-hot, crispy tempura to sate both your stomach and soul. Their handmade soba can also be ordered out as well, in which case you’ll have the luxury of a restaurant’s culinary expertise in the comfort of your home.

Taisho Hanana

Taisho Hanana is an ochazuke (green tea or broth poured over rice) specialty restaurant in Arashiyama. The restaurant receives its supply of fresh vegetables from local farmers, and the highest quality of red sea bream are chosen to use in various dishes. Hanana is also meticulous about the presentation their dishes, which are served in Arita ware, a high-end porcelain with enamel designs.

This particularity about the finer details is also evident in areas other than the courses themselves. The exterior is inspired by an old-town machiya (traditional wooden townhouse), and a bamboo forest lines the road extending from the shop curtain, piquing expectations from even before you set foot in the restaurant. Counter seats offer a view of the distinct seasonal changes in the surrounding nature, and is a perfect complement to the delicious ochazuke.

Maikohan

Maikohan is known for drawing the best out of Kyoto vegetables in their various dishes. The restaurant is located abreast Arashiyama's beautiful seasonal mosaic of nature, which you can savor along with your meal.

Among the various choices available on the menu, there are also certain dishes which require reservations to order. The 16-piece bite-sized tempura set includes a restaurant recommended selection of 8 sticks, along with 8 sticks of whatever you like (from choices that include fish, vegetables, and chicken), and being able to choose according to your preferences is the attraction of the course. The relaxed, gentle, wooden atmosphere makes for leisurely dining as you enjoy the delicious foods.

5 Instagram Worthy Cafes to Visit in Betwixt Your Arashiyama Sightseeing

Saganoyu Cafe Style Resort

Saganoyu Cafe Style Resort is just a short walk away from Saga Arashiyama Station. The cafe was built in the place of a sento (a public bath) from the Taisho era (1912-1926), blending an old-town look with a modern white interior.

The restaurant is also conveniently located near Togetsukyo Bridge and Tenryuji Temple, making it an ideal pit stop while going around sightseeing.

One of the popular dishes at the cafe is the tofu pasta. Even if you decide to go for it just out of curiosity, the novel flavor is very satisfying. The cafe also has a number of original sweets available in gift boxes. The front register is a bit quirky in that it’s a bandai, or a front counter where you traditionally check into bathhouses. The fancy atmosphere is ideal for an outing where'd you'd like a little something different. 

eX cafe Arashiyama Main Branch

eX Cafe is known for its refreshing interior decor complemented by a picturesque outdoor setting that has even been used for shooting a drama. What was formerly a manor has been renovated into an elegant, opulent, and spacious interior complete with a Japanese garden for a traditional cultural touch.

Being able to roast your own dango (dumplings) is a popular attraction, and their other Japanese sweets cooked on a shichirin (charcoal grill) regularly have people lining up at the doors to get their hands on them. They also have some creative fusion pastas with toppings such as Kyoto shibazuke (vegetables pickled in salt and red shiso herbs) pasta and shio kombu (salted kelp). The unconventional but complementary pairings are said to be the secret to the cafe's popularity. Zashiki (tatami) seats and private rooms are also available with prior reservations, and are apt for sitting and enjoying in leisure.

Arabica Kyoto Arashiyama

Arabica Kyoto is a coffee specialty store that has been garnering significant attention as of late. Their lattes are on the voluminous side, and each is embossed with an elaborate drawing on the surface that it's almost a shame to have drink it. The retro coffee machine adds to the atmosphere of the glass-paneled interior.

The barista here is held in high esteem, even being called the greatest in the world, and many coffee aficionados flock to the small store for delicious coffee. You should also definitely consider grabbing take-out on days with good weather, since you can take a short walk down to the Katsura River or Togetsukyo Bridge to enjoy it while enjoying the views.

Saganoyu

One of Saganoyu’s rare traits is the fact that the cafe is a renovated sento bathhouse. Traditional sento are known for their old-time, relaxed atmosphere—a facet that has been preserved even following renovations.

The recommendation choice at Saganoyu is the fluffy, thick, golden-brown [Peach Pancake]. The pancake batter is made of sweet peaches and rich cream, which becomes a thing of perfection when cooked. The warm natural wood, and ambient conversational tones of the lively atmosphere is the ideal setting for a carefree lunch.

Cafe Libra

Cafe Libra is an old-fashioned cafe establishment with a legacy spanning 50 years. Their coffee is made with an original blend of coffee beans and is prepared using the Nel Drip method (a process of brewing coffee with a cloth flannel dripper that originated in Japan), which produces a particularly smooth texture of delicious coffee that has captured the tongues of coffee-drinkers both inside and outside of Japan. The popular store is teeming with customers throughout the year. The store is also easily accessible, being located just a short walk from Arashiyama Station.

Their highly recommended sandwich is made with slices from a round loaf of shokupan (a fluffy, white Japanese bread) and a hearty helping of vegetables picked fresh from the nearby Kita Saga. The cafe also has an assortment of cakes to go along with their superlative coffee.

Refresh Your Mind and Sate Your Stomach in Arashiyama

Arashiyama harnesses a multitude of seasonal complexions, and is the perfect kind of place to take leisurely strolls and ease yourself into relaxation. You can also find a smattering of fine Japanese restaurants, fashionable cafes, and casual restaurants, depending on whichever atmosphere best suits what you're looking for amidst your travels. Whether it’s a quaint Kyoto atmosphere, or unbridled, lush mountains, Arashiyama highlights some of the most distinctive and beautiful features of Japan.

Translated and republished with permission from: SPIRA (formerly known as Relux Magazine)
By the way, you can book a hotel through Relux (run by SPIRA) by clicking here!

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search