【日本自由行】口耳相傳的日本: 人氣20古城排行

你或許已經知道了日本坐擁多到快要漫出來的古城,但是你知道哪些古城值得一去、哪些城堡適合下雨天前往嗎?TripAdvisor作了一份基於遊客口耳相傳的情報製作了一份排行榜--一份「有來真是太好了」的排行榜。快來瞧瞧吧!

日本

玩樂

正如你所知道的,日本有一段很長、很長的歷史,並擁有許多相應的歷史景點。你可以把走遍所有日本歷史景點做為你的人生目標,或是你可以依照類別依序拜訪:皇居御苑?還行,這些地方大多只會出現在特定地點;神社與寺院呢?只能祝你好運,應該會花上好幾年的時間。

古城應該相較之下比較容易:無論你拜訪日本的哪一縣,那裡總是會有座古城。當然,每座古城都有自己的風情 - 有些非常的雄偉,就像博物館;有些則只在原本城址留下斷垣殘壁。(幾乎每座城的最高處都有美麗的景色)。

你知道哪些古城值得一訪,哪些古城比較適合雨天前往嗎?TripAdvisor將會為這些問題提供解答。這個網站最近根據訪客的口傳評價,製作了一份古城排行-- 一份「有來真是太好了」的排行榜。在規劃行程之前,來瞧瞧這份排行吧:遊古城無論是對小孩還是大人都會是不錯的行程,尤其是當你在對的時候去到對的古城!

1. 熊本城 (熊本縣) 

tetedelart1855/Flickr

熊本城位於九州的南端,是日本三大古城之一(另有姬路城、松本城)。部分城跡於1877年遭燒毀,而殘存的13棟建築經過重建與修復,成為今日的樣貌。

日本城郭協會將熊本城列為日本100名城之一,而且熊本城也被列為日本的重要文化財。

TripAdvisor評價:

從天而降的古城: 規模廣大,而且有絕對是由 加藤清正 所建造的感覺。只要行走在熊本市區,你都一定可以從建築間的縫隙看到這座城。這座城之壯麗不是光是一整天就能夠盡收眼底的。

sun-sugar1956

2. 松山城 (愛媛縣)

PIXTA

松山城於1603年建立在勝山上。原本的塔台於1784年遭到雷擊;現在看到的塔台則是在19世紀中期重建的。松山城經歷了大規模的翻修,成了今日松山市民口中「原汁原味」的樣貌。

TripAdvisor評價:

俯瞰著松山市,如詩畫般的古城。這裏的博物館也是相當的有趣。在這裏,用來探索各處城跡的時間絕對值回票價,雖然我們因為下大雨而快閃了(這讓我們錯過了更多地方,比如像庭園)。

如果放晴的話,這裏會是讓你心甘情願花上數小時的美妙景點。

Patrick S

3. 姬路城 (兵庫縣)

かがみ~/Flickr

姬路城是日本境內最大古城,也是一座具重要意義的古城。這座城也被認為是日式城郭建築的典範,更是日本最早於聯合國教科文組織登錄為世界遺產(1993年)的古城之一。姬路城的建築當中蘊含了許多國寶,包括高塔與要塞建築。 

這座城的外觀猶如大白鳥展翅,人們經常以「白鷺」形容之。因為其規模以及壯麗,姬路城也常常在無論是日本或是國外的電影當中,作為日本的代表。 (在1967年的 007-James Bond電影 You Only Live Twice(雷霆谷) 有出現喔)。

TripAdvisor評價:

如果你能在櫻花盛開的季節來訪姬路城,絕對會是個難以忘懷的體驗。但是無論如何,無論何時來訪,相信我,這裡絕對是最棒的日本古城(我在日本生活了17年而且也四處造訪了各個古城:-))。

這座城離火車站很近,距離京都也不遠,所以請務必將姬路城安排到你的行程中--你絕對不會後悔的。

John G

4. 弘前城 (青森縣)

Kuruman/Flickr

弘前城,又名鷹岡城/高岡城,是江戶時代津輕家族的據點。弘前城周圍的公園是日本公認最佳賞櫻景點之一,在冬季弘前市也會在城郭周圍舉行「雪燈籠祭」。

TripAdvisor評價:

這裡是我在日本三澤旅遊的一個經典行程。城郭十分的美麗,而且當時有舉行一些慶典,讓弘前城染上了秋季絢麗的色彩。雖然你會需要走一段路,但沿路上的美景與食物及攤販,都會讓你流連。我們於週六前往,有許多的遊客四處席地坐著,也有人在野餐地吹著笛子。弘前城本身沒有像照片中看起來那麼大,但是美麗絲毫無打折。我絕對會將這個景點推薦給喜歡散步欣賞美景的人,同時這裡也有許多攝影愛好者會喜歡的詩畫般的景色。

JMM_traveler

5. 松本城 (長野縣)

かがみ~/Flickr

松本城建造於平地,是在日本松本地區負盛名的古城。因為其漆黑的外觀,它又被稱為「烏城」(與被視為白鷺的姬路城形成對比)。這座城郭的要塞保留了十六世紀的原始架構,是國寶級的資產。

TripAdvisor評價:

步行、過彎,然後你叫可以看到這座壯觀的古城。背景中皚皚白雪覆蓋的大山襯托著這座古城。在庭園周圍的護城河中還有可愛的天鵝四處悠游。
在城郭旁邊的博物館收藏了不同時代的古物殘跡。最讓我感興趣的是精美的工藝品。出身於富貴人家的女子會玩以多彩絲線繡成的彩球,在販售處亦有販售新製的彩球供遊客購買。
進入古城時你需要脫鞋。這座城有數樓層,而且沒有為無法爬樓梯的人提供無障礙設施。
這個景點確確實實地讓我震懾了,如果你有考慮來訪松本市,絕對別錯過松本城!

panpanda

6. 犬山城 (愛知縣)

Takeshi KOUNO/Flickr
犬山城座落於一條兩旁都是商店與餐廳、連接火車站的鄉鎮道路的底端,是於江戶時代建造而現今仍存在的十二古城之一,而且還是公認當中最具年歲的一座。犬山城也以忍者文化出名,不只在城內,在整個犬山地區中一有相關展示。 

TripAdvisor評價:

就算要搭長途的地鐵也完全值得!出了犬山車站約10分鐘步行距離,有個小而古色古香的城鎮,以及一間展示古代武士與忍者文化的商店,十分的迷人。我尤其喜愛當地的食品店與紀念品店。

這座古城本身很引人入勝,我們在此學習到高而窄難爬的階梯有助於抵禦外侮。在此也有相關的歷史,而且也有中國詩人將這座城的故事記載到他的詩作中。(譯註:這城的別名為「白帝城」,源自李白詠讚長江流域白帝城的詩作《早發白帝城》;寫此評論的外籍遊客可能對該城的介紹有些誤解)在這裏,我可以輕易花上數小時的時間;如果還有機會的話,我絕對會再來拜訪犬山城。

muse m

7. 松山城 (岡山縣)

PIXTA

在日本其實有兩座松山城:在岡山縣的這座城,別稱「備中松山城」或「高梁城」,以及位於愛媛縣的松山城。這座松山城跟犬山城一樣,是日本十二座保留原貌的古城之一,而松山城則是座落海拔最高的一座古城。

TripAdvisor評論:

一座真正的山上城郭!印象中,這座城在真正的保留區當中,非常的難以抵達。開車前往的話,你只能開到山腳下,再從停車場轉乘公車至步道口。對我這種平常不怎麼運動的人,爬山可是件相當吃力的事,而我絕對忘不了在經過20分鐘的登山後,重於見到松山城塔的那一刻。從這裡望向城鎮的景觀也十分迷人。

hi-sama

8. 竹田城跡 (兵庫縣) 

bullets95/Flickr

竹田城跡被認為是日本的馬丘比丘。這座城原本被稱作「出石城」。

TripAdvisor評價:

我已經到過了超過100座日本古城與成績,而我卻被朝來市的竹田城跡所深深吸引。
我在它為眾人熟知前前往,那時還並未收取參觀費。
人們稱它為「日本的馬丘比丘」。這或許是個誇大的稱呼,但是這裡絕對是城跡愛好這必看的景點!
如果時間充分的話,不妨早早起,看看雲海圍繞古城的另類美景。

zoomingjapan

9. 高遠城址公園 (長野縣)

nightwalk_it/Flickr

即使這是一個城跡,這裡是日本首三個極佳賞櫻地點(另外兩處是平山城和吉野山)。這裡已經看不太到城郭的外貌,但是賞櫻季節時這裡總是聚集了許多人。

TripAdvisor評價:

不只賞櫻季節適合前來。就算高遠城址在櫻花季總能吸引許多遊客,當我十一月造訪時,看到了樹葉美麗的顏色變化。如果你喜歡拜訪城址的話這裡絕對是個好地方,即使這裡已經看不到要塞高塔了。

Taigaa

10. 二條城 (京都)

Todd/Flickr

京都的二條城包括了二之丸御殿與本丸御殿遺跡。這裡為聯合國教科文組織登錄為世界遺產。

TripAdvisor評價:

這裡能讓你了解將軍的生活。我們不經意地進入參觀,對於這座城的修復完整性感到訝異,而且四處走走並瞭解將軍的生活非常的富含趣味,像「夜鶯地板」就是我們從來沒聽說過的東西。這裡的建築完善的回復呈現在美麗的樣子,而且這裡備有許多資訊,讓你了解各個房間的用途。

slowman

11. 宇和島城 (愛媛縣)

宇和島城是另一個平山城郭,又稱作「鶴島城」,是先前提過江戶時代12座古城的其中一座。

TripAdvisor評價:

宇和島城在一座小山丘上,所以要稍微爬點坡才能到達,而這裡有免費提供的竹製步行杖。前往古城的道路有兩種,一種是700公尺水泥鋪成的斜坡路(較平緩的路),另一種是400公尺的碎石階梯。在頂端處有個很棒的草地。古城的入場參觀費是200日圓。這裡比較不像博物館--這裡展示的東西非常之少,僅止於木造的塔台。爬高陡的階梯非常的有趣,也可以試著想像看看古時候的人是如何穿著傳統服飾、配戴武器上下移動的。宇和島城就算外頭再熱,內部依然維持涼爽,而且從最上層的窗戶看出去的景色非常棒。 

在古城入口周邊設有一些小型收費停車場。

Ksarasera

12. 中城 (沖繩縣)

Michael Toyama/Flickr

不同一般人對於古城的想像,中城是座沖繩的「gusuku」,一種沖繩市的城堡/保壘式帶石牆的建築。這個「gusuku」是聯合國教科文組織認定的世界遺產,也是日本境內最負盛名的百座古城之一。

TripAdvisor評價:

來到這裡就好像同時看到蘇格蘭的古堡和印加遺跡。中城是是個保留十分完整的古老城堡建築,座落於古代琉球王朝的南方海域。遊客可以藉由站在石牆上,感受中城灣的太平洋環景。在東邊的太平洋與西邊的東中國海的邊緣,也藏有令人屏息的美景。這座古城是你能夠找到保存最良好的古城之一,而它的歷史可以追溯到14世紀早期。入場費非常便宜(約只需4美金),而且城內分成六個區塊讓你可以四處攀登探索。在入口處有一間小小的冰淇淋店,而且這家店只賣芒果口味的冰淇淋,絕對不要只是擦身而過喔!這絕對是島上最好吃的冰淇淋。

Sheryl D

13. 丸龜城 (香川縣) 

George Alexander Ishida Newman/Flickr

丸龜城也是一座平山城郭,別稱龜山城、蓬萊城。除了石牆依然完整,1869年的大火幾乎摧毀了所有的古城建築,只留下少量今日依然屹立。

TripAdvisor評價:

令人印象深刻的景觀。這座城原先是建造來保衛香川免於海上侵略,所以座落在非常高的地方,需要攀登一些陡坡才能到達。丸龜城四周設有護城河,以及小庭園供小孩遊玩;還有棒球場,護城河裡優雅游動的鵝。請一定要以輕鬆愉悅的心情來訪。入場票可以從最底部大門內的商店購買。

IrishAustralian

14. 高知城 (高知縣) 

Takeshi KOUNO/Flickr

高知城是日本最完整的12古城之一,而且是國定重要文化財。鏡川與江之口川匯流進入高知城周邊的護城河。這座城也有出現在吉卜力工作室的動畫片《海潮之聲(海がきこえる)》當中。

TripAdvisor評價:

只要是想要拜訪日本重點古城的人們,我絕對會推薦高知城。有些古城會與周邊建築物並列顯得擁擠、很小或是比較不具歷史意義,高知城卻恰恰相反。它的建築結構教人歎為觀止,還有很多充滿智慧的設計,例如能夠困住並制敵人於死地的特殊門。這座城在日本非常具有歷史意義,而且它被使用及佔領的過程相當有趣。高知城經過了非常大規模的整修,修復狀況非常良好,成為今日令人屏息的壯觀奇景。與其觀賞靜止的畫作,我更想知道更多關於不同房間再不同朝代的用途,而這座城在很多時候能作為社區的集散地以及政府活動的舉行地。

Gerald O

15. 首里城 (沖繩縣) 

Noriko YAMAMOTO/Flickr

首里城是另一座沖繩的"gusuku",是琉球王國的重要據點。即使這座城在第二次世界大戰的沖繩之役中近乎全毀,1992年的修復工程也讓它幾乎回復到原本的樣貌。

TripAdvisor評價:

這裡是沖繩的必遊景點。能在一個14世紀的古城觀光是間非常少有的事。在這裏,你能更加了解沖繩與中國幾東南亞的貿易往來、沖繩與日本其他地區的差異,不只是從建築,還有文化層面上的不同。很不幸的,首里城在1945年時因戰火化成灰燼,不過藉由修復工程重回世人眼中,而且尚有一些城牆、大門以及一些文物(包括「龍樋」噴泉及「萬國津梁之鐘」)存在至今。這座城被漆成了鮮豔的朱紅色。作為世界遺產,首里城一定能夠讓遊客滿足。這裡還有一間很棒的禮品店,而且大多只要820日圓,而有些要價6美金以上。

Sheryl D

16. 江戶城跡、皇居東御苑 (東京) 

鈴木 宏一/Flickr

皇居東御苑對大眾開放。原本這裡有數層防禦結構(本丸 與 二之丸區域),至今僅有護城河、大門與警備尚存。御苑的庭園十分的漂亮,一年當中皆可一覽其四季幻化的美麗。

TripAdvisor評價:

這裡遠離喧囂的城市。如果你有充份的時間而想要在庭園般的地方晃晃的話,這裡是個不錯的選擇。我不能說這裡是必遊之處,但是我在那裡渡過了美好的時間。江戶時期的遺跡高聳而建構完美。鯉魚池景色如畫。我們還在那邊的運動場看到武鬥術的練習。

_Elizzybeth_Travels_

17. 勝連城跡 (沖繩縣)

Nelo Hotsuma/Flickr

另一座沖繩的"gusuku"。勝連城在當地方言稱作kacchin gushiku。這座城為太平洋所環繞,是個聯合國教科文組織認證的世界遺產。 

以古城來說這座城規模滿小的,但是一旦你爬上最頂端,美麗的景色盡收眼底。我在宇流麻市生活了三年,我非常喜歡這個地方,也喜歡這座古城。因為建在山丘上,所以有些比較陡的階梯要爬,但是這並不是件壞事。整體來說我覺得這座城很迷人,而且這裡絕對是你想打發時間的話一定要來的地方。如果你夠幸運的話,你會在城跡周圍看到小吃攤販及販售車;你絕對不會想錯過那裡的食物的!

Jayspeedy24

18. 若松城 (福島縣) 

若松城,又稱會津若松城、鶴之城。最大型的塔台建築於1965年重建,並以水泥加固。

TripAdvisor評價:

這座古城以相對來說現代的方式重建,所以它可能不如其他古城或是以木頭重建的建築有古早風情。在這裡的室內展示品籌備的很棒,也有很充分的英文解說。

我們參觀這座古城的時候,被廣告與漫畫化的八重吸引了目光。八重是在若松城1860年代為敵人攻陷前,參與護城戰役的女性。我不太確定她本人會認同她充斥在禮品店的粉紅武士服,但是這有趣的展示的確很引人注目。

J L 

19. 松江城 (島根縣) 

Laurenz Bobke/Flickr

松江城至今還是維持著它的木造結構,經常被稱作「黑城」、「千鳥城」。儘管在這座城發生了不少紛紛擾擾,松江城得以免於戰火。這整座城的歷史可追溯到1611年,沒有經過任何重建或補強工程。

TripAdvisor評價:

松江城是日本保存最良善的12座古城之一,幾乎保存了原有的模樣。到主城門之前的區域都是免費參觀(不像一般古城會在最外圍的城門收費),讓你可以從清晨就前來欣賞。你也可以走到古城的建築周遭,但是想要入內參觀還是得等到開放時間。在古城周圍步行可及的區域,也有其他的景點。

Jan J

20. 今治城 (愛媛縣)

今治城是日本三大海城之一(其他兩座為高松城、中津城)。塔台建築全於1980年重建完成。

TripAdvisor評價:

我已松山為起點,走了一趟今治半日遊(40分鐘的火車)。然後我從今治車站搭乘計程車,只花了700日圓,回程時則搭當地的公車。公車站牌在離開古城的主要道路上,從古城稍微往下走的左手邊。

這座城因為原始城郭已毀,現在是以重建的樣貌展現;重建的工程十分良好,現今的樣貌依舊令人印象深刻。這座城座落在大型的海水護城河中間,沿著外圍走,你可以拍到一些不錯的照片。這座城的目的主要是管控瀨戶內海的軍事及貿易商業往來。在主要塔台內,有展示豐富的武士武器及兵器收藏,我相信這會是日本最大的收藏之一。 [sic]

MumPlusOne2012

 

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

玩樂

住宿

購物

搜尋餐廳

This post is also available in: Chinese (Traditional)

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on RedditEmail this to someone

As you probably know, Japan has a long, long history complete with many, many historical landmarks. You could spend your entire life making it a goal to visit all of them, or you could take it genre by genre. The Imperial Palace grounds? Not too bad, they’re mostly in one area. Shrines and temples? Good luck, you’ll need years.

Castles might be a little easier. No matter which prefecture you visit in Japan, there’s bound to be a castle in the area. Of course, they’re all different – some are overwhelmingly grand and almost like museums, while others are just empty remnants of what the castle used to be (though every castle has a beautiful view once you reach the top). 

So how do you know which castles are worth going to and which are better off leaving for a rainy day? TripAdvisor is here to help you out. They recently made a castle ranking based on visitors’ word of mouth – a “We’re glad we went here!” ranking. Check this list out before planning your trip – castles can be a good time for all, from kids to adults, if you go to the right one during the right season!

1. Kumamoto Castle (Kumamoto Prefecture) 

manyou-kumamoto.jp

Kumamoto Castle is located on the southern end of Kyushu and is considered one of the three most important castles in Japan next to Himeji Castle and Matsumoto Castle. Part of the castle burned down in 1877, and the remaining 13 buildings have since been re-fortified and restored to be the castle site you can see today.

The Japan Castle Federation considers Kumamoto Castle to be one of the 100 finest castles in the country, and the site is an Important Cultural Property.

TripAdvisor review:

A castle descended from heaven: The scale is large, and it has the feel that it was definitely built by Kiyomasa Kato. No matter where you walk in Kumamoto, you can see the castle tower through the crevices in the buildings. One day is not enough to take in the entirety of the castle. 

sun-sugar1956

 

2. Matsuyama Castle (Ehime Prefecture)

www45.tok2.com

Matsuyama Castle was built in 1603 on Mt. Katsuyama. The original castle tower was struck by lightning in 1784; the current castle tower was built sometime in the mid-1800s. The castle has undergone a large-scale renovation and is now, as Matsuyama city calls it, in “pristine condition just as it was.”

TripAdvisor review:

Picturesque castle overlooking the city of Matsuyama. We found the museum to be quite interesting too. It’s well worth taking time to really explore the castle grounds, though we moved pretty quickly to avoid getting caught in rain that day (which prevented us from seeing more of the gardens, for example).

On a sunny day, this would be a wonderful place to spend a few hours.

Patrick S

3. Himeji Castle (Hyogo Prefecture)

city.himeji.lg.jp

Himeji Castle is the largest castle in Japan, as well as one of the most important. It is also considered to be the example of Japanese castle architecture. It was one of the first Japanese UNESCO World Heritage Sites and was registered in 1993. The castle contains several National Treasures in its infrastructure, including the castle tower, or keep. 

The castle is often referred to as a white egret or white heron because it is said to look like a large white bird about to fly. Because of its size and grandeur, it is often chosen to represent Japan in movies, both local and global (you may remember it from the 1967 James Bond film You Only Live Twice).

TripAdvisor review:

If you can experience this castle in cherry blossom time it’s extra special. Anyhow, whenever you go it’s the best castle in Japan. Believe me… I’ve lived there 17 years and have been checking them all out! 🙂 

It’s very convenient to the station, which is close to Kyoto. So it should be easy to include in your trip – please do, you won’t regret it.

John G

4. Hirosaki Castle (Aomori Prefecture)

shiro-navi.com

Hirosaki Castle, which was also referred to as Takaoka Castle, was the seat of the Tsugaru clan. The park which surrounds the castle is considered one of Japan’s best spots to view cherry blossoms, and in winter the city holds a snow lantern festival around the castle.

TripAdvisor review:

This was the highlight of my trip to Misawa, Japan. The grounds were beautiful and there was some sort of festival going on at the time, the fall colors were magnificent. You will do a lot of walking on the grounds but it was great to see all the beautiful sights, and explore all the food from the vendors. There were a lot of people when we went on a Saturday, there was also a man playing the flute while many relaxed on a huge picnic ground. The castle itself was not as big as it looks in the pictures but still very pretty. I would definitely recommend this to people who love to walk around to see the sights, there are many picturesque views that photographers will love.

JMM_traveler

5. Matsumoto Castle (Nagano Prefecture)

shiro-navi.com

This castle, which was built on a plain and is a flatland castle, is one of Japan’s most famous as it was the seat of the Matsumoto domain. Because of its black exterior, it is often called the “Crow Castle” (in comparison to the white Himeji Castle, which is known as a white heron). The castle’s keep has is original structure from the sixteenth century and is a National Treasure.

TripAdvisor review:

You approach this castle on foot, round the bend, and there’s the spectacular castle. In the background are gorgeous mountains capped with snow. There’s a moat around the gardens with lovely swans swimming around. 
Next to the castle is a museum with some artifacts of different time periods. Most interesting to me were these gorgeous crafts. Well born women would play with these balls made of colorful thread. New ones are being made still and ate sold in the gift shop. 
You remove your shoes upon entering the castle. There are several floors. No accommodations are made for those who can’t climb steep stairs.
This attraction took my breath away. If you are in Matsumoto, don’t miss it!

panpanda

6. Inuyama Castle (Aichi Prefecture)

inuyama.gr.jp

Inuyama Castle, which is located at the end of a town path lined with shops and restaurants from the station, is one of the 12 castles still in existence that were built before the Edo period. Among these castles, it is considered to be the oldest. Inuyama is also known for its ninja culture, which is displayed throughout the town and in the castle as well. 

TripAdvisor review:

Totally worth the long journey on metro travelling there. When we get out from the Inuyama station, just 10 minutes away there is a small ancient town and a shop that displays all the old samurai and ninja culture which was absolutely fascinating. Especially love all the local foodstores and souvenir shops.

The castle itself is very interesting, we learn that the stairs were build high and narrow to make it difficult to attack and climb. There were also histories to the place and this castle was even featured in one of a Chinese poet’s ancient poem. I can easily spend a few hours there and if there is a chance I’ll definitely re-visit as well.

muse m

7. Matsuyama Castle (Okayama Prefecture)

rainbow75.exblog.jp

There are actually two Matsuyama Castles in Japan: this one, otherwise known as Bitchu Matsuyama Castle or Takahashi Castle, and Matsuyama Castle in Ehime Prefecture. This Matsuyama Castle is one of the twelve remaining original castles in Japan, like Inuyama Castle, and is the one that sits the highest above sea level. 

TripAdvisor review:

A genuine mountain castle!! This is my own impression, but even inside the real keep, this is a castle which is extremely hard to access. In a car, you go until the mountainside. From the parking lot, a bus will take you to the beginning of the trail. For someone like me who doesn’t usually exercise, the mountain climb was pretty tough, and after 20 minutes of climbing I will never forget the moment when at last I saw the castle tower. The view of the town is also amazing.

hi-sama

8. Takeda Castle Ruins (Hyogo Prefecture) 

takedacastle

find-travel.jp

The ruins of Takeda Castle is regarded as the Machu Picchu of Japan. It was originally known as Izushi Castle.

TripAdvisor review:

I’ve been to over 100 Japanese castles and castle ruins, but I was really fascinated by Takeda Castle in Asago City.
I visited before it got so popular and there was no entrance fee yet.
People call it the “Machu Picchu of Japan”. Maybe that’s an exaggeration, but for castle fans this is a must-see!
If you have enough time, it’s also worth getting up super early to see the castle surrounded by clouds from a different observation point.

zoomingjapan

9. Takato Castle Ruins Park (Nagano Prefecture)

takatojoshikoen

marsu.co.jp

While this is another castle ruins site, it is most famous as one of the top 3 places in Japan to see cherry blossoms (the other two are Hirayama Castle and Mt. Yoshino). There is not much of the actual castle left, but because of its popularity as a cherry blossom viewing site, the park gets very crowded during peak season.

TripAdvisor review:

Not just for cherry-blossom season. It’s true that Takato Castle Ruin attracts huge visitors during cherry blosom season. When I went there in November, the leaves were beautifully changing colors. If you love to visit castle ruins Takato castle ruin is a nice place for you though the ruin has no keep (main tower).

Taigaa

10. Nijo Castle (Kyoto)

mery.jp

Nijo Castle in Kyoto consists of the Ninomaru Palace and the ruins of the Honmaru Palace. It is designated by UNESCO as a World Heritage Site.

TripAdvisor review:

Great insight into life of the shogun. We went in unexpectedly and were pleasantly surprised at how well restored the castle was and how easy it was to walk around and learn about the life of the Shogun. The ‘nightingale floor’ was something we had never heard of before. The buildings themselves are beautifully restored and there is plenty of information to keep you informed about how the different rooms were used.

slowman

11. Uwajima Castle (Ehime Prefecture)

uwajimajo2007tenshu5

www45.tok2.com

Uwajima Castle is yet another flatland castle. It is also called Tsurushima Castle, and is of the twelve remaining castles built before the Edo period.

TripAdvisor review:

The castle at Uwajima is up on top of a hill, so it’s a bit of a hike up. There are bamboo walking sticks you can use for free. There is an asphalt slope (the ‘easy’ path) that is 700m or the crumbly rock stairs that is 400m. There is a nice grassy area at the top and entrance to the castle is 200yen. It isn’t a museum– there are hardly anythings displayed. It’s pretty much just a wooden tower. The very steep stairs are fun to climb up and try to imagine how they must’ve done it with traditional clothing and weapons. The castle was nice and cool on the inside despite the heat and the view from the windows at the top were lovely. 

There are a few small (pay) parking lots around the entrance of the castle.

Ksarasera

12. Nakagusuku Castle (Okinawa Prefecture)

nakagusuku

hfanblogs.jp

Rather than the castle you and I might think of, Nakagusuku is an Okinawan gusuku, or an Okinawan castle/fortress-type kind of architecture with stone walls. This particular gusuku is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and is one of the 100 most famous castles in Japan.

TripAdvisor review:

This is like being at a Scottish castle and an Incan ruin at the same time. This is a remarkably intact old castle on the southern seas showing the ancient world of the Ryuku kingdom. Standing upon it’s stone walls visitors will enjoy the panoramic view of Nakagusku Bay on the Pacific. Breathtaking views also atop the parapets of both the Pacific on the east side and East China Sea on the western side. This castle is one of the best preserved in it’s original state that you will find, and dates back to the early 14th century. Admission is very cheap ( about $4 ) and there are six sections to this castle ruin to explore and climb about on. At the base of the entry is a little ice cream shop selling ONLY mango flavored ice cream. Don’t miss it. Buy the cone as it’s the best on the entire island!

Sheryl D

13. Marugame Castle (Kagawa Prefecture) 

marugamecastle

takenoco.info

Marugame Castle is another flatland castle also known as Kameyama or Horai. A fire in 1869 destroyed most of the castle buildings, so few are left standing today, but the stone walls are still intact.

TripAdvisor review:

Impressive outlooks. This castle was built to defend Kagawa from sea invasion, so it is built very high and therefore it is a steep walk to the castle itself. It is surrounded by a water filled moat and local gardens for children to play; a baseball pitch, and beautiful swans gliding around the moat. Take it easy and do visit. Tickets can be purchased from the shop at the bottom just inside the main gates.

IrishAustralian

14. Kochi Castle (Kochi Prefecture) 

community.travel.yahoo.co.jp

 

Kochi Castle is one of the twelve intact castles of Japan and is an Important Cultural Asset. The Kagami and Enokuchi rivers fill the outer moat surrounding the castle. The castle itself has been featured in the Studio Ghibli film Ocean Waves/Umi ga Kikoeru.

TripAdvisor review:

Anyone who wants to try to visit important Japanese castles would have to include Kochi Castle on that list. There are some castles that seem crowded and small and historically unimportant but Kochi castle is just the opposite. It is structurally fascinating with lots of intelligent designs like trick gates and entrances that lead to blind “traps” where an invading army would be slaughtered. This caste was an important part of the history of this part of Japan and the way that it was used and occupied throughout it’s history is fascinating. Kochi castle underwent extensive and extraordinarily well-done preservation and it is very impressive and majestic. I would have liked a little more detail about the day-to-day uses of the different rooms during the various periods when the castle served as the focal point for community and government activities, instead of just a bunch of static dioramas.

Gerald O

15. Shuri Castle (Okinawa Prefecture) 

shuricastle

nostalgy.sp.land.to

Share Castle is another gushuku in Okinawa and was the seat of the Ryukyu Kingdom. Although the castle was almost completely destroyed during the Battle of Okinawa in WWII, it was reconstructed in 1992 almost fully like the original.

TripAdvisor review:

This is a must see if going to Okinawa. Very rarely can you tour a 14th century castle. You can definitely see through trade with China and Southeast Asia, how Okinawa is different from mainland Japan and how it affected not only it’s architectural style but culture. Unfortunately Shurijo Castle was reduced to ashes (with much of Okinawa) in the battle of Okinawa during 1945, but the castle has been restored and there are still some main gates as well as wall structures, and artifacts (like the Ryuhi dragon spring and Bankoku Bell to name a few) through out. The castle is painted in brilliant vermillion. It’s a world heritage sight and will delight all who come. They have a wonderful gift shop and it costs only 820 yen. A little over $6.

Sheryl D

16. Edo Castle Ruins, East Garden of the Imperial Palace (Tokyo) 

imeperial house east

pu-u-san.at.webry.info

The East Gardens of the Imperial Palace are open to the public, and while they once containedthe Edo Castle’s old defense circles (the honmaru and ninomaru), only the moats, walls, entrance gates and some guardhouses are still around. The gardens themselves are quite beautiful, can be accessed all year round and look completely different from season to season.

TripAdvisor review:

Quiet break from the bustling city. If you have extra time and want to wonder around a garden, this is a great stop. I wouldn’t say it’s an absolute must see, but we enjoyed our time there. The edo ruins are towering and have wonderful construction. The koi pond is scenic and we even got a chance to peek in on some martial arts practice at the gymnasium on site.

_Elizzybeth_Travels_

17. Katsuren Castle Ruins (Okinawa Prefecture)

idecccchi.blog.fc2.com

Another Okinawan gusuku, this castle is known in the local dialect as kacchin gushiku. It is surrounded by the Pacific Ocean and is a UNESCO World Heritage site. 

This place is quite small as far as castle ruins go, but it has a very beautiful view once you reach the top of the ruins. I lived in Uruma-shi for 3 years and I loved the area and this castle. It can get quite hilly and has a lot of steep steps, but its not that bad of a climb. Overall my experience here was amazing. This is one of those sites you should check out if you have time to burn. If you’re lucky you might find a few food cars or stables around the castle ruin, which I highly recommend you stop by and get!

Jayspeedy24

18. Wakamatsu Castle (Fukushima Prefecture) 

wakamastu castle

shiro-navi.com

Wakamatsu Castle, or Aizu-Wakamatsu Castle, is also known as Tsuruga Castle. The largest tower of the castle was reconstructed in 1965 and fortified with concrete. 

TripAdvisor review:

The castle itself is a relatively modern rebuild, so it’s not as atmospheric as the original castles or the ones rebuilt in wood. But the exhibits that fill the space are well laid out and have a good amount of English explanations. 

When we visited the castle had been taken over by advertisements and manga versions of Yae, a woman who joined the fight to defend the castle before it was finally defeated in the 1860s. I’m not entirely sure she’d approve of her pink samurai self plastered all over the gift shop, but it was a lively display.

J L 

19. Matsue Castle (Shimane Prefecture) 

Matsue_castle01bs4592

ja.wikipedia.org

Matsue Castle still stands in its original wooden form, and is often called the “black castle” or the “plover castle.” Although it is a feudal castle, it was never directly involved in battle. The entire castle dates back to 1611, without any reconstructions or reinforcements.

TripAdvisor review:

Matsue castle is one of only 12 castles in Japan that survived in its more or less original appearance. Access is free up to the castles´ main door (not just the outer gate as is usual) which means you can enjoy it even in early morning hours. The castle itself is accessible too but you must wait until the official opening hours. There are other attractions in the walking distance around the castle as well.

Jan J

20. Imabari Castle (Ehime Prefecture)

??

blogs.yahoo.co.jp

Imabari Castle is known as one of Japan’s three “castles on the sea” along with Takamatsu Castle and Nakatsu Castle. The castle tower was completely rebuilt in 1980.

TripAdvisor review:

I travelled to Imabari as a half-day trip from Matsuyama (40 minutes by train). I then took a taxi from Imabari station, which only cost 700 yen, and caught the local bus back. The bus stop is on the main road as you exit the castle, just a little down to the left.

The castle is a reconstruction of the destroyed original, but it’s very well done and the end result is really quite impressive. The castle sits in the middle of a huge, sea-filled moat and you can walk all the way around to get some fantastic photos. The castle was originally built here to control the shipping (military and trade) through the Seto Sea. Inside the main tower is a great collection of samurai weapons and armour. I believe that it’s one of the biggest collections in Japan. [sic]

MumPlusOne2012

 

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on RedditEmail this to someone