日本神社解碼:神社裡的這個和那個!原來意義是這樣!

到日本旅遊,不免總是會前往一些著名的神社。除了抽幸運籤、寫繪馬許願、或者收集御朱印、御守之外,這些和寺廟有點像,但又不太一樣的神社,裡面的設施、配置,是否也讓您好奇它的意義?這裡將為您介紹構成一座神社的各種要素。

日本

日本文化

參道

日語:参道(さんどう)

也就是通往神社的參拜道路。狹義的參道指鳥居以內的道路,廣義則包括外側參拜客通行的街道;在後者的場合下,最主要的參道會被稱為「表參道」:像原宿的表參道便是通往明治神宮的幹道。

社號標

日語:社号標(しゃごうひょう)

入口處刻有神社名字的石碑。除了名字以外,有些神社也會在社號標上刻有社格(舊時官方制定的神社級別)或神紋。

鳥居

日語:鳥居(とりい)

已然成為神社代表符號的鳥居是神社的入口,也是神域的象徵。稍具規模的神社不只一座鳥居,因此會以第一鳥居、第二鳥居...來區分。人們也將鳥居作為向神明祈願的奉納品,在稻荷神社等庇佑工商業的神社,經常可看到由商家或中小企業奉納的鳥居林立。

神門

日語:神門(しんもん)

受到佛教寺院的影響,不少神社也會蓋起壯觀的樓門。在寺院稱為「山門」,神社則稱之為「神門」。有些神門會採用造型較簡潔,具有日本傳統風格的建築樣式。

注連繩

日語:注連縄/しめなわ

在鳥居上或社殿的簷下,都會掛有稱為注連繩的交纏草繩。注連繩象徵一種結界,圍起神聖的空間,並把災厄、污穢驅除在外。

狛犬 / 神使

日語:狛犬(こまいぬ)/ 神使(しんし)

狛犬源自寺院的石獅子,是神社的守護獸。通常右側狛犬會開口,左邊的狛犬則閉口,典故來自佛教,象徵梵文的「阿」「吽」,代表宇宙的始與終。某些神社則因祭神的使者為特定的動物,會以該動物代替狛犬。例如稻荷神社是狐狸、日吉神社是猴子、春日神社是鹿...等等。

燈籠

日語:灯籠(とうろう)

神社內外常可看到一座座石燈籠沿著參道排列。燈籠也是源自於寺院的獻燈,亦具有照明、裝飾的作用。除了石燈籠外也有木造的燈籠、青銅燈籠等各種樣式、材質。燈籠也是一種奉納品,年代久遠的神社常可看到刻著古老元號及地名、人名的獻燈,彷彿是歷史的見證。

鎮守之森

日語:鎮守の森(ちんじゅのもり)

神道是日本傳統的泛靈信仰,崇敬自然,因此許多神社會座落在樹林之中,甚至會進行人工造林。圍繞在神社周遭的樹林就稱為「鎮守之森」。

玉垣 / 瑞垣

日語:玉垣(たまがき)/ 瑞垣(みずがき)

在神社內外會有由木材、石材或水泥做成的圍籬,稱為「玉垣」。玉垣除了區隔空間動線,同樣有劃分聖俗空間的意涵。玉垣也可以是祈願的奉納品,例如香川金刀比羅宮的玉垣就沿著山道蔓延;京都車折神社內藝能神社的玉垣也延伸到幾乎找不到盡頭。

而神社最深處,保護本殿的圍籬或迴廊,則稱為「瑞垣」。

手水舍

日語:手水舎(ちょうずや・ちょうずしゃ・てみずや・てみずしゃ)

神道重視清淨,因此在參拜前須以水漱口、洗手。這是一種象徵性洗去污穢的儀式,稱為「禊」,手水舍就是進行這種儀式的設施。

在手水舍有既定的程序:
先以右手拿起杓子盛水,沖洗左手,換左手持杓沖洗右手;將杓換回右手後,以左手接水漱口,再次沖洗左手後,讓杓內剩餘的水沖過杓柄,將杓子歸位。
整個過程盡量以一杓水完成,而且切記不可以杓就口,或將水喝下。(比起不敬,更嚴重的是不衛生。)

神樂殿 / 舞殿

日語:神楽殿(かぐらでん)/ 舞殿(まいどの)

神社在祭典時會演出祭神的樂舞。專門用來演出這類樂舞的社殿就稱為神樂殿或舞殿。

社務所

日語:社務所(しゃむしょ)

神職人員處理神社的行政、事務性工作的辦公室就是社務所,通常也會在窗口陳列御守、神札...等「授予品」。(從信仰角度來說這些物品是神明賜給信者的,繳出去的錢則是奉納給神明,因此不稱為商品)

繪馬殿

日語:絵馬殿(えまでん)

馬被視為神明的坐騎,在古代會將活的馬匹奉納給神社。但不僅一般百姓送不起馬,神社也未必養得起這種高貴的動物,因此出現了代替活馬的「繪馬」。除了現代人用來寫下願望,掛在架子上的小木板以外,以前的人們還會奉納大如匾額的繪馬,也稱為「奉納額」。不少歷史悠久的神社都有陳列奉納額的建物,稱為繪馬亭或繪馬殿。

神馬舍

日語:神馬舎 ( しんめしゃ )

除了繪馬以外,多數神社會樹立神馬銅像代替真馬,有些大神社則會搭建專屬於活馬的「神馬舍」。但為了方便照顧,其實多數的神馬主要還是養在外地的馬場,只有祭典期間露面時才被送到神社待幾天而已。也有某些神社雖有神馬舍,但只擺了一頭木馬在裡面充數。

拜殿 / 幣殿

日語:拝殿(はいでん)/ 幣殿(へいでん)

拜殿是神社最主要的社殿之一,也是進行參拜的場所。大部分的一般參拜者都只能在拜殿門口參拜。神社的參拜方式是搖動樑上垂掛的鈴,投下賽錢(順序不拘),然後二鞠躬、二拍手再一鞠躬

但亦有少數神社採較特殊的拜法,如出雲大社是「二拜四拍一拜」。若要進入拜殿內,則要申請正式的升殿參拜,或者舉行神前婚禮、成年禮,或兒童的「七五三」參拜等等,才有機會。

「幣殿」是指陳列幣帛、祭品之處,有位於拜殿與本殿之間,構造獨立的;也有與拜殿相連,或拜殿、幣殿及本殿三者連為一體。亦有許多神社不設幣殿,由拜殿替代其功能。

本殿

日語:本殿(ほんでん)

本殿內部安置著神明所憑依的「御神體」,除了神職以外沒有人可以接近,且位於拜殿後方,又大多有瑞垣圍繞,不容易窺見其全貌,卻是神社最重要的場所。亦有少數古老神社如奈良大神神社、長野諏訪大社等,因傳承古神道自然崇拜的精神,以山岳為御神體,所以不設本殿。

攝末社

日語:摂末社(せつまつしゃ)

除了拜殿、本殿以外,在神社境內還可找到許多小神社,這些附屬的小神社統稱為「攝末社」。一般來說,祭祀的神明與本社主祭神具有淵源(例如同一系譜、在神話中有過互動關係、或者是主祭神的「荒魂」)的屬於「攝社」,較無淵源的則是「末社」。

寶物館

日語:宝物館(ほうもつかん)

許多歷史悠久的神社都累積了大量的古文獻、奉納品或祭器等等,其中不乏文化財或國寶級的工藝、美術品。神社內的寶物館就是用來展示這些寶物。在神社的寶物館你有機會看到遠古的銅鏡,勾玉、平安時代的繪卷、戰國時代的甲冑刀劍...等等,是可以大開眼界的地方。

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

搜尋餐廳

This post is also available in: Chinese (Traditional)

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on RedditEmail this to someone

Shinto shrines, Jinja (神社) in Japanese, are scattered throughout Japan. It shows how deeply rooted Shintoism was in the people’s lives. All those Shinto shrines’s architecture have a lot of common, but do you know what their names are, and what they are there for? Here are 20 points explaining Shinto shrine architecture!

1. Forests around the Shinto shrine

Since forests and mountains were considered sacred, many Shinto shrines were built inside them. They are called Chinjyu no Mori (鎮守の森). They also have a Goshinboku (御神木), which is a tree that is worshiped. The image above is the Goshinboku, which is the Japanese apricot, of Daizaifu Tenmanguu (太宰府天満宮) in Fukuoka.

2. Torii

Torii (鳥居) is an object that makes a borderline between the real world and the sacred world. It also is an entrance to the sacred region. The image above is the Torii, called Kane no Torii (銅の鳥居) in Kinpusenji (金峯山寺) in Nara. The Torii itself is named as an important cultural asset.

3. Chouzuya

Chouzuya (手水舎) is a square container filled with water. Visitors to the Shinto shrine must purify their hands and mouth with this water. In Shintoism, unholy things, called Kegare (穢れ) are thought to be come from the outside. It is important to be clean, physically and metaphorically when entering a Shinto shrine. 

4. Sandou

Sandou (参道) is the entrance path to the main shrine. It is usually built with stones in one straight line. If the shrine is in the mountains, the Sandou won’t be built by stones, but will be tamed soil paths. The image above is the Sandou of Kousanji (高山寺) in Kyoto.

5. Shamusho

Shamusho (社務所) is the place where shrine business, such as dealing with guests to the shrine, selling Omamori, and so on takes place. The size of the Shamusho depends on the shrine. The image above is the Shamusho of Wakamiya Hachimangu in Kouchi.

6. Tourou

Tourou (灯篭) is a traditional Japanese lamp. It is placed along the Sandou, to light up the paths. Originally, it came with Buddhism during the Nara period and was used in temples, but by the Heian period, it was used for lighting in Shinto shrines too. 

7. Komainu

Komainu (狛犬) are fictional Japanese beasts that look like lions and dogs. Stone statues of them are placed in the entrance of the shrines, one on each side. They are both looking into each other, or have their back against the shrine and are facing the visitors. They are said to protect the shrines. Other beasts are used for this purpose too, such as boars, dragons, foxes, wolves, and tigers. These animals are called Shinshi (神使). 

8. Shimenawa

Shimenawa is a rope twisted around things, or draped across a building. Shimenawa is a tool used in Shinto rituals. It has the purpose of creating boundaries from the real world to the sacred world, bouncing off Kegare, and showing that the god of the shrine is here. The image above is the Shimenawa in Izumo Taisha (出雲大社) in Shimane.

9. Omikoshi

Omikoshi (御神輿) is an object similar to a cart-like vehicle used in the Heian period. It is a vehicle where the object of worship, or gods, ride during the Matsuri. Also called a Shinyo (神輿). 

10. Haiden

Haiden are built in front of the main shrine for Sanpai (参拝). Sanpai is an act of paying respect to the Shinto shrine. The way of Sanpai differs from shrines, but it mostly involves bowing, clapping hands, throwing money into a box, and ringing a bell. 

11. Saisenbako

Saisenbako (賽銭箱) is a box with vertical bars. It is usually placed near the Haiden. While performing Sanpai, visitors will throw in money to show their respect. Usually coins are used. Some superstitious people use 5 yen coins, since the pronunciation of it is the same sound of Goen (ご縁). Goen is a Buddhism term explaining the ties between people and objects. 

12. Suzu no O

Suzu no O (鈴の緒) is the bell and the rope attached to it. It is placed near the Haiden and Saisenbako. Visitors ring this bell to show their respect. 

13. Honden

Honden (本殿) is the main shrine. This is where the object of worship, Shintai (神体) in Japanese, is placed. It is also called a Shinden (神殿). The image above is the Honden of the Itukusima Jinja (厳島神社) in Hiroshima.

14. Kaguraden

Kaguraden (神楽殿) is the place where you perform Kagura. Kagura (神楽) is a dance and song performed to dedicate to the gods in Shintoism. The Kagura can be a dance performed by Miko (巫女), women who work at the temple, or a play of Japanese mythology. 

15. Sessha/Massha

Sessha/Massha (摂社/末社) are shrines besides the main shrines built within the shrine’s grounds. The object of worship in these shrines may have relations to the object of worship in the main shrine. It is smaller in size compared to the main shrine. Also called Edamiya (枝宮) or Edayashiro (枝社). 

16. Sekihi

Sekihi (石碑) are stone monuments. The context of what is engraved on them differ from shrine to shrine: popular ones are the name of the shrine, information about the shrine, or related information about the object of worship. The image above is the stone monument of the name of the shrine: Tsukubasan Jinja (筑波山神社) in Ibaragi.

17. Omamori

Omamori (お守り) are protection charms sold at shrines. They come in many different shapes and sizes. A standard Omamori would be a rectangular shaped pouch, with whatever power it contains embroidered onto the cloth. You’re not supposed to open the pouch, or else the protection power would be gone. Protection charms are said to have power for passing exams, avoiding any kind of traffic accidents, having safe childbirth, avoiding bad things in general, and so on.

18. Ema

Ema (絵馬) is a house-shaped wooden tablet. It is dedicated to the shrine or temple and is used when you wish for something, or have granted a wish. You write down whatever wish you have, and hang it on a Ema Gakari (絵馬掛), as shown in the image above.

19. Ofuda

Ofuda (お札) is one of the most important emblems of a god that a shrine can give to a person. Also called a Shinsatsu (神札). It is sold at the shrine, and the act of purchasing it is called “offering Shohoryou” (初穂料を収める). It is customary to purchase an Ofuda at the start of the year, and returning the old Ofuda you’ve bought the year before to the shrine.

20. Hamaya

Hamaya (破魔矢) is an arrow that is sold at the shrine during the New Year season as a lucky charm. It can come with a bow, called a Hamayumi (破魔弓). It is customary to decorate the Hamaya facing in the bad direction of that year according to Feng Shui.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on RedditEmail this to someone