日本人戴口罩的真正理由!剖析日本的口罩文化

隨著疫情影響,無論世界各地,出門戴口罩的人變得愈來愈普及。但是您知道嗎?早在肺炎之前,日本就有不少人有「外出戴口罩」的習慣了!究竟日本人為什麼喜歡戴口罩呢?本篇文章將為大家說明真正的理由,並介紹日本常見的口罩款式。

日本

日本文化

日本人與口罩的關係

日本看似人口眾多,但是專業醫療人員的比例其實不高。在西方,口罩給人「重病」或「前往醫院才需要用到」的印象,容易有「患上感冒」及「流行性疾病」等不太好的聯想,但是在日本,其實沒有想像中那麼負面喔。對日本人來說,戴口罩其實就像夏天戴墨鏡、冬天圍圍巾一樣平常。

透過以下四點,帶您瞭解「日本人愛戴口罩」的真正原因:

1. 基於健康和衛生考量

大部分國家的上班族都會享有幾天特休,也可以在生病時請病假。但是在日本,這兩種假是合併計算的,也就是說,日本並沒有所謂的「病假」文化,這點讓日本人不太喜歡因為感冒生病而白白浪費休假。

儘管知道抱病工作是不好的,但日本人會顧慮到周圍的人,所以多數都會戴上口罩。好比像東京這樣人擠人的大城市,空氣傳染病散播得非常快,唯有配戴口罩,才能降低快速傳染的可能性。雖然口罩的防止病菌散播效果,遠比防止感染病菌的效果來得更好,但多數身體健康的人,還是會在流感季節,每天配戴口罩保護自己。

2. 預防季節性過敏和不適

除了醫療用途,也有很多人為了身體舒適而戴口罩。日本冬季非常乾燥,常常引發流鼻血或嘴唇乾裂,預防這些狀況的最簡單方法就是戴口罩。把自己呼出的濕熱空氣留在口罩裡,發揮加熱效果。

初春時節盛開的美麗日本柳杉,實為過敏兒的噩夢,這便是花粉症的元兇。因無法避免,不如就戴上口罩,以減少吸入的花粉量。

3. 素顏時省時省力的法寶

不小心睡過頭,沒時間刮鬍子或化妝?因熬夜或內分泌失調、臉上長出難以見人的痘痘?日本很多年輕人會因為趕著出門、無暇打扮而戴上口罩。由於平常就會戴口罩的日本人相當普遍,所以也不會引人側目。

4. 減少社交

其實大部分的日本人皆不善於社交,極為重視個人隱私,過度在乎他人眼光的結果,導致他們也會利用口罩來減少與他人交流的機會。有些日本人認為,戴上口罩後較能冷静交談;另一方面,戴上口罩的話,即便在路上遇到熟人也不會被認出,可以自在地做自己想做的事、輕鬆愜意。

受日本人歡迎的口罩有哪些呢?

如果您逛過日本的便利商店或藥妝店,一定看過架上琳琅滿目的口罩(日文:マスク)。雖然乍看下大同小異,但還是有不同功能喔!若日後您想在日本購買口罩,不妨參考以下幾款做選購。

B.M.黑口罩

假如您想要美觀,又希望口罩能有效阻擋飛沫傳播,不妨考慮這款活性碳口罩。B.M. 是「黑色口罩」(Black Mask)的縮寫,外觀帥氣俐落,功能也與一般口罩完全相同,可說是機能與美觀兼具。除此之外,據說這款口罩採用的活性碳纖維,能提供更好的過濾效果,甚至改善呼吸不順暢。

價格:一包5個口罩約400日幣。

嬌聯超立體口罩

不習慣戴口罩的人,常常覺得口罩戴起來很不舒服吧?口罩緊貼著鼻子和嘴巴,總是令人有快窒息了的感覺...。由嬌聯推出的「3D 口罩」十分立體,能讓口罩和臉之間保有空隙,若需要長時間戴口罩,又希望能夠呼吸順暢的話,選擇這款絕對錯不了。

價格:一包7個口罩約405日幣。

Comfort Guard Pro 防護口罩

對戴眼鏡的人來說,口罩帶來的最大困擾,莫過於鏡片上的霧氣了!尤其在天冷的時候,呼出的熱空氣常常從口罩上方發散,把眼鏡薰得朦朧一片。與其一直擦眼鏡,不如選擇一款適合的口罩吧?Comfort Guard Pro口罩的頂部因有一小塊海綿墊,可以阻擋熱空氣流出,讓眼鏡不再起霧,且外觀上與一般口罩無異,非常實用,在日本很是受歡迎。

價格:一包5個口罩約320日幣。

Pitta Mask 口罩

如果您也是深受過敏困擾之人,考慮看看Pitta口罩吧!這款可以水洗的海綿口罩,不僅舒適,據說還能過濾空氣中99%的花粉喔!有些款式甚至能阻擋98%的紫外線呢。更重要的是Pitta外觀相當時尚,有不少日本年輕人還會根據服裝來選購不同顏色以作搭配。雖然價位比一般口罩貴,但考量到口罩可以水洗後重複使用,也算是非常經濟實惠啦!

價格:一包3個口罩約500日幣。

 

※此款口罩不具有阻擋飛沫及病毒功效。

Nodonu-Ru 保濕口罩

如果您深受日本乾冷的冬天所苦,可以考慮Nodonu-Ru的保濕口罩。每片口罩上都附有加濕層,用呼出的熱空氣加溫後,就會產生濕熱的蒸氣,讓鼻腔和喉嚨保持濕潤長達十小時。不論是在開著暖氣造成空氣乾燥的飯店房間,還是搭國際長途飛機,都適合戴上這款保濕口罩。

價格:一包3個口罩約350日幣。

 

※此款口罩不具有阻擋飛沫及病毒功效。

Hi-Luck Neo口罩

有「奢華口罩」之稱的Hi-Luck Neo是拋棄式口罩,但是採用配戴起來更舒適的可調式口罩繩,還有幫助呼吸順暢的閥口。除了舒適度更升級,這款口罩亦提供N95級防護效果,屬於一般口罩的最高等級。如此頂級的口罩,即便價格不斐,但為了兼具舒適與保護機能,多花點錢也不算冤枉。

價格:每個口罩約500日幣。

Gonoturn口罩

口罩也能大玩可愛時尚?為了讓口罩深具個人特色,Gonoturn推出一系列可重複清洗的口罩,圖案從動物臉孔、超級英雄到動漫角色應有盡有,甚至還有與韓國偶像團體BTS合作的聯名款喔!無論您是為了喜歡的角色而買,或是為了當作造型搭配,Gonoturn都會是您最佳的選擇。

價格:每個口罩約2,200日幣。

※此款口罩不具有阻擋飛沫及病毒功效。

結語

不論是為了對抗過敏源、流行性疾病、感冒或是美觀,下次前往日本的時候,您也留意看看架上款式眾多、各具特色的日本口罩,找到最適合自己的一款吧!

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

搜尋餐廳

Japan's Love Affair with Surgical Masks Explained & Popular Face Masks to Purchase

From the moment they step off the plane in Japan, first-time visitors will find themselves bombarded by culture-shock inducing experiences. From heated toilet seats with built-in white noise generators to the seemingly redundant amount of vending machines, there's no shortage of eye-opening moments to reaffirm that you’re not in Kansas anymore. One local feature that tends to stand out is the prevalence of surgical masks worn by Japanese residents. Read on to find out why they’re so popular and which brands to keep an eye out for should you want to fit in with the locals.

Nationwide

Japanese Culture

Why Are Masks So Popular?

Despite how it may look, Japan is not populated by a disproportionately large population of medical professionals. While an uncommon sight outside of hospitals in the Western world, surgical masks in Japan are as commonplace as sunglasses in summer or scarves in winter. Though it's easy to jump to dire conclusions about the reasoning behind this, the main factors driving their widespread usage are much more benign than you may think.

Health and Hygiene

In many parts of the world, employees are allotted a certain number of vacation days for personal use, and sick days for medical issues. For most Japanese businesses however, these two are one in the same. Add to this the fact that most Japanese workers tend to take less than seven vacation days per year and it makes for a culture than frowns upon calling out over a cold.

Though working while under the weather may not be the best idea, Japanese people tend to be highly considerate of those around them, hence the use of surgical masks. In tightly-packed cities such as Tokyo, airborne illnesses can spread quickly, but widespread usage of masks helps to greatly reduce this possibility. While surgical masks are much more effective at preventing the wearer from spreading illnesses rather than contracting them, many healthy people still opt to wear them daily during cold and flu season as an added protection.

Preventing Seasonal Discomforts

Apart from medical issues, surgical masks are often worn as a matter of comfort. The winter air in Japan is incredibly dry, making nose bleeds and painfully chapped lips a regular occurrence. A simple way to combat this is by wearing a mask. The moisture from your breath is then trapped in a confined space, acting as a heater.

Likewise, the beautiful Japanese cedar trees that bloom in early spring are a nightmare for allergy sufferers. While it's impossible to completely avoid it, surgical masks can cut down on the amount of pollen you inhale while outdoors.

A Quick Cosmetic Fix

Woke up late and didn't have time to shave or put on makeup? Got a stubborn pimple on your chin that refuses to go away? Many young people in Japan wear masks for those "roll out of bed and go" kind of days. Because of how common they are, surgical masks are the perfect way to cover up without drawing attention to yourself.

What Kind of Mask Should You Buy?

If you've wandered into a convenience store or pharmacy in Japan, you will have undoubtedly encountered some of the many surgical mask brands lining the shelves. With so many to choose from, deciding on one can be overwhelming. While it's understandable to assume that every mask is the same, there are a few things to keep an eye out for. If you're interested in buying masks during your visit to Japan, here are a few suggestions to point you in the right direction.

B.M.

If you've decided to hop aboard the surgical mask bandwagon but don't want to blend in with the crowd, these activated charcoal masks could be just the thing for you. B.M. (short for Black Mask) are designed for an edgier, stand-out look that are still every bit as functional as their plain white counterparts. As an added benefit, the activated charcoal that is woven into the fabric is said to provide an extra layer of filtering and can even help with bad breath!

Price: Approximately 400 yen for a pack of five masks.

Unicharm Cho-Rittai Mask

One complaint often heard from those not accustomed to wearing surgical masks is that they are uncomfortable. Spend a little time with a mask pressed closely against your mouth and nose and it's easy to see why. Thankfully, Unicharm has created a line of "3D Masks" that create an area of separation between the mask and your face. If you need a mask that can be worn comfortably all day, they are a safe bet.

Price: Approximately 405 yen for a pack of five masks.

Comfort Guard Pro

For the glasses wearers among us, wearing surgical masks often poses another challenge. Especially in colder months, the warm air from your breath escapes through the top of your mask, causing the lenses of your glasses to become foggy. Rather than constantly wiping them clean, Comfort Guard Pro masks have a small foam pad at the top of their masks to solve this issue. While not visible from the outside, the foam acts as a barrier, preventing air from escaping through the top and keeping your glasses clear.

Price: Approximately 320 yen for a pack of five masks.

Pitta Mask

If allergies are your main concern, look no further than Pitta masks. These washable foam masks are not only comfortable to wear, they also claim to filter out 99% of pollen in the air. For added functionality, some of their masks also boast up to 98% UV protection. They're a bit pricier than a standard surgical mask, but the high level of filtration and eco-friendly reusability make up for it.

Price: Approximately 500 yen for a pack of three masks.

Nodonu-Ru

If dealing with Japan's dry winter air is your primary concern, consider the Nodonu-Ru "wet mask". Each mask comes packaged with a wet filter that is inserted into the front of the mask. When this filter is heated by your breath, it creates a warm steam that helps to keep your nose and throat moisturized for up to ten hours. These masks are perfect for dry hotel rooms where heaters are constantly running, or on long international flights.

Price: Approximately 350 yen for a pack of three masks.

Hi-Luck Neo

Described by the manufacturer as a "luxury mask", the Hi-Luck Neo is a disposable mask that features adjustable straps for comfort as well as an exhaust valve to allow for easier breathing. In addition to its more comfortable experience, the mask offers N95 level protection, which is among the highest levels offered in consumer-level masks. The premium features are accompanied by a premium price tag, but for all-day comfort and protection, it's well worth the price.

Price: Approximately 500 yen per mask.

Gonoturn

If you're on-board with the practical functionality that masks offer but can't stand the aesthetic, don't worry, Japan has a cute solution. Aiming to make surgical masks more of a fashion statement, the company Gonoturn has launched a line of washable masks with designs featuring everything from animal faces, to super hero designs, to cartoon characters and everything in-between. For the perfect blend of function and fashion, be sure to give these a try.

Price: Approximately 2,200 yen per mask.

Conclusion

Whether beating hayfever or dealing with a cold, there are plenty of reasons to check out some of Japan's iconic surgical masks during your next trip here. From general health to fashion accessory, there is guaranteed to be something to fit anyone's needs and style.

Header credit: Rodrigo Reyes Marin / Shutterstock.com


If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search