【長崎購物】必買伴手禮!最受當地人歡迎的長崎蛋糕TOP3

長崎蛋糕是伊比利半島的一種傳統糕點,十六世紀正當大航海時代葡萄牙和西班牙等強國、貿易商、傳教士紛紛到東方叩關時而傳進了日本長崎一帶,後來成為當地的代表甜點。經過五百多年的烘焙改良與演進,漸漸由皇室貢品、上層階級之間盛行的甜點流行至市井小民中,如今已成為日本家喻戶曉的銘菓。這篇文章將要介紹最受當地人歡迎的長崎蛋糕前三名,是長崎出生長大的居民們強力推薦的必買伴手禮喔!

長崎

購物

 

※本文為外部寫手所撰

TOP1松翁軒(しょうおうけん)

提到「松翁軒」這個名字,很多日本人應該也沒聽過,但它確是長崎縣民最愛的長崎蛋糕「御三家」之一,所謂的「御三家」指的是「松翁軒」、「福砂屋」和「文明堂」,此外還是當地居民公認的第一名!

原來松翁軒並沒有在日本其他地方展店,也沒有做任何大型廣告宣傳,有的只是口耳相傳與當地人的口碑,而且也僅能在當地及官網才能買到。

和其他知名的幾家長崎蛋糕相比,松翁軒的長崎蛋糕屬於厚重紮實的口感,吃在嘴裡,可以感受到他們下重本且不偷工減料。底部的砂糖結晶顆粒並沒有像「福砂屋」和「文明堂」那麼多,也許對喜歡砂糖顆粒感的人來說會有點空虛,但對不喜歡太甜的人來說卻是剛剛好,也可以更專心地品嚐雞蛋與牛奶共譜的濃郁風味,「松翁軒」的支持者們為此認為這才是最能夠代表長崎的長崎蛋糕!

「松翁軒」最具代表的就是五三燒,在師傅細心的技術下生產,蛋黃和蛋白的比例為5:3,因此有五三燒之稱。將蛋黃和蛋白分開處理,再加入少量的麵粉以突顯牛奶與雞蛋的香濃風味,由於蛋黃的比例較多,因此蛋糕呈現出黃澄澄的金黃色澤,飄散著香醇濃厚的蛋香,廣受饕客們的喜愛。另外他們的巧克力拿鐵、抹茶、白桃等口味也非常特別,建議可以一起購買,自用、送禮無不相宜。

TOP2琴海堂(きんかいどう)

超越傳統長崎蛋糕「御三家」的名號、登上第二名的是位於長崎市琴海地區的「琴海堂」,它的特色是職人堅守傳承下來的傳統作法,且特別重視食材的嚴選,因此頗受當地人愛戴,並稱之為「有生命的長崎蛋糕」。本來在「文明堂」學習的職人於昭和45年獨立出來創業,堅守純手工作法,沒有多餘的繁雜矯飾,口感樸實。

因為作法踏實、沒有過多的花樣與手法,加上純手工製做與對食材的講究,因此讓琴海堂青出於藍勝於藍。砂糖是採用德島阿波的「極上和三盆糖」、水飴則是佐賀縣糯米做成的「純糯米水飴」、而蛋是堅持使用長崎縣的「太陽卵」。由於一位師傅一天只能燒烤出80條的長崎蛋糕,店裡現在又只有四位師傅,所以一天最多只產320條,是連在長崎都少見的純手工製作店舖。

最受歡迎的商品「琴海之心」,比一般的長崎蛋糕多用了兩倍的「極上和三盆糖」,儘管如此,卻沒有過甜的感覺,反而是上品的微甜滋味。就算經過一段時間,依然有如剛燒烤出爐一般蓬鬆柔軟、口感紮實不減,「有生命的長崎蛋糕」果然不浪得虛名。在這裡偷偷告訴大家,有機會拜訪「琴海堂」的話,在購入長崎蛋糕時,不妨順便詢問店家可否拿回切掉的蛋糕邊邊,這個被切掉的蛋糕邊邊正是當地人的最愛!據說其焦脆的口感任誰也都難以抗拒,有機會不妨試試看喔!

TOP3福砂屋(ふくさや)

最後要介紹的福砂屋,是三家中歷史最長的老舖,他們的長崎蛋糕不僅具有元祖身份,同時也是台灣民眾熟悉並喜愛購買的伴手禮。採用精選雞蛋、砂糖、糖漿和小麥粉的簡單材料,不使用攪拌機、完全靠師傅手感攪拌,這正是其美味的祕訣所在。香濃芳醇的雞蛋香與溫潤柔和的牛奶,在柔軟綿密的蛋糕質地中交匯,吃進嘴裡美味無比,底部的砂糖結晶顆粒,別有畫龍點睛的功效,與蛋糕相互映襯,豐富的層次就是福砂屋長崎蛋糕與眾不同的地方。

福砂屋獨特製造的五三燒長崎蛋糕風味更濃、香氣更重,是長崎蛋糕中的精選品,在包裝上特別採用粉磚與奶黃色的高級和紙;另一款頗具人氣的荷蘭蛋糕,是在傳統長崎蛋糕的材料下加上優質巧克力,並在上面鋪上胡桃和葡萄乾後直接火烤,香氣洋溢、口感柔和,多了幾分耐人尋味的風情。此外,福砂屋也經常推出期間或地方限定,將傳統口味的長崎蛋糕,隨季節或節慶變化出不同包裝,相當適合作為伴手禮!

結語

以上最受當地人歡迎的長崎蛋糕TOP3,除了福砂屋在長崎市以外有展開連鎖店鋪,其他的兩間只有在當地才有,或是只能在網路上訂購。有機會去長崎旅遊的朋友們,千萬別錯過了這三間深受當地人喜愛的長崎蛋糕喔!

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

玩樂

住宿

購物

搜尋餐廳

Must-Buy Souvenirs From Nagasaki: Top 3 Nagasaki Castella Cakes Recommended By Locals

Nagasaki castella cake is a traditional pastry from the Iberian Peninsula. During the Age of Discovery in the 16th century, traders and missionaries were sent from powerful countries like Portugal and Spain to explore the east, introducing the cake into Nagasaki of Japan, which later became a signature dessert of the region. Over the course of over 500 years, it has undergone much improvement, turning from a delicacy favored by the royals and upper class to a dessert popular among commoners. Nowadays, the Nagasaki castella is considered to be a household confectionery in Japan. This article will introduce the top 3 Nagasaki castella brands recommended by locals. Read on to find out our must-buy souvenir list!

Nagasaki

Food & Drink

 

※Article by commissioned writer

No. 1: Sho'oken

The "Big Three" brands of Nagasaki castella cake according to locals are “Sho'oken”, “Fukusaya” and “Bunmeido”. While Sho'oken is considered the best, it is surprisingly not very well known even in Japan. This might be due to the fact that Sho'oken has not expanded beyond the prefecture, nor invested much in advertising, but solely rely on word of mouth among locals. The cake is available from their official shops and website only.

Compared to other famous brands, Sho'oken's castella cake is characterized by its rich flavor and firm texture, showing that they have spared no effort in cake-making. Another point to note is that there are fewer sugar crystals on the bottom than Fukusaya's and Bunmeido's. While people who love the crunchiness might be slightly disappointed, it is perfect for those who prefer less sugar. The egg and milk are also given a chance to shine without being overwhelmed by sweetness. Because of this, supporters of Sho'oken believe it to be the most iconic brand of Nagasaki castella.

Sho'oken's signature product is “Gosanyaki”, whose name comes from its 5:3 egg yolk-to-egg white ratio, carefully maintained by the patissier. It is prepared by separating the yolk and white for processing, then adding a small amount of flour to highlight the rich flavor of the milk and eggs. As the yolk makes up a larger proportion, this castella cake has a golden color and mouth-watering aroma, attracting gourmands from far and wide. Other than Gosanyaki, Sho'oken also offers a variety of special flavored cakes, such as chocolate latte, matcha, and white peach. Either as a souvenir for your friends or for your own enjoyment, you have to try them all!

No. 2: Kinkaido

Despite not being one of Nagasaki castella’s "Big Three", the first runner-up goes to “Kinkaido” located in Kinkai-chiku, Nagasaki-shi. Characterized by its traditional baking techniques passed down through generations as well as meticulous sourcing of ingredients, the bakery has gained favor with locals, and is dubbed the "living castella". Kinkaido was established in 1970 by an apprentice patissier originally working at Bunmeido, and has since been producing purely handmade cakes that might seem plain yet taste amazing.

With their solid and minimalist baking approach, 100% handmade process, and ingredient selection, Kinkaido managed to outshine its predecessors. The premium ingredients used include top-grade "wasanbon sugar" from Awa in Tokushima, "mizuame" (a kind of Japanese syrup) made from glutinous rice from Saga, and "taiyo eggs" from Nagasaki. Since there are only four patissiers at the shop, and each can bake 80 Nagasaki castella cakes every day at most, the maximum daily production is limited to 320 pieces. It is hard to find another handmade bakery as devoted as them, even within the region.

Kinkaido's bestseller is "Kinkai-no-Kokoro”. The amount of top-grade "wasanbon" sugar used is double that of normal Nagasaki castella. However, it does not taste excessively sweet at all, but carries a slight sweetness that confirms its excellence. Take your time and enjoy the cake: there is no need to rush, because the texture still remains spongy after some time as if it is fresh out of the oven. No wonder it is called the "living castella"! Here's an insider tip: if you are visiting Kinkaido, try asking the staff for the trimmed crust when you make a purchase. It is said to be the locals' favorite because of its irresistible crispness. Sample it yourself!

No. 3: Fukusaya

Last but not least is Fukusaya, the oldest brand among the three. Not only is it the pioneer in the making of Nagasaki castella, but it is also a popular souvenir choice for tourists. The secret to its deliciousness lies in the chefs’ superb skills and experience. They mix the simple ingredients of egg, sugar, syrup and wheat meal by hand, without using a blender. The rich aroma of egg, the gentle touch of milk and the fine texture of cake all come together to form a symphony of tastes, with the sugar crystals on the bottom as a finishing touch to impress your taste buds. This sophisticated flavor is what makes Fukusaya's castella stand out from the others.

Fukusaya's unique Gosanyaki has an especially rich taste and smell. Being a premium product, pink and cream-colored washi (Japanese paper) is used in its packaging. Another beloved product is the Dutch cake, which is prepared by adding quality chocolate to the basic Nagasaki castella ingredients, then covering the surface with a layer of walnut and raisin, and finally baking it directly on a fire. The resulting pastry has an enticing aroma and tender texture. What's more, Fukusaya often offers seasonal or regional limited goods, reimagining traditional Nagasaki castella cakes according to different times and festivities of the year. These are delightful souvenirs to bring home!

Afterword

So there you have it—the top 3 Nagasaki castella brands, as recommended by locals. Fukusaya is the only one with branches outside Nagasaki, whereas the other two are only available locally or online. If you happen to visit the prefecture, don't forget to drop by these 3 bakeries!


If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search