【日本自由行】日本旅遊前那些你最好要知道的12件事

近年來日本越來越積極發展觀光,加上日幣時不時也會出現驚人的兌換匯率,無論風情或飲食也深受台灣人的喜愛,因而造就許多人出國度假的首選,無異就是日本了。北至北海道,南至沖繩或者是東京、大阪、京都、福岡等大城市,都不難發現許多觀光客的身影。而日本也是出了名有秩序、守規矩的國家,許多初來乍到的旅人們在出發前如果能夠先有一些基本概念,就不怕觸犯禁忌或鬧笑話,這篇文章就要來告訴大家,旅遊日本前,有哪些務必注意的地方,不僅可以讓你的旅程更加的順暢也避免不小心成為失格的旅人。

日本

實用資訊

 

※本文為外部寫手所撰

【公共及交通】

公共場所垃圾桶不易找,垃圾帶著走?

在日本旅遊時可以發現大部分的街道都維持得非常乾淨、沒什麼垃圾,卻幾乎不見垃圾桶的蹤影。難道大家都不丟垃圾的嗎?其實在1955年發生了邪教恐怖攻擊事件後,許多公共地方皆撤掉了垃圾桶,現在如果在外要丟垃圾,就必須到車站月台、便利商店、大型購物中心等處尋找垃圾桶,也有部分日本人也會隨身攜帶小袋子,把垃圾帶回家丟。

路上行進、手扶電梯到底靠左?靠右?

在台北捷運大家會習慣靠右站,而到東京的話則是剛好相反靠左站,但大阪卻又是靠右站,其實這些也都是並沒有明文規定。而在行走時到底靠哪邊,有一說法是在古代的關東裡武士居多,而刀器皆配戴在左側,為了行進中避免刀器碰撞引發無謂的爭執,習慣性的大家就會靠左走。至今並沒有這麼的明顯,但有些車站在為了讓人潮行進順暢,會設有專人指引或有箭頭表示靠哪側行進,所以旅日時還是稍微注意一下喔!

計程車跳錶聽說很貴?那有Uber可搭嗎?

到日本旅遊時,最常使用的交通工具應該就是電車了,但像是東京這樣大都市,複雜的地鐵線路可是讓人避之唯恐不及;或者是走路走到雙腿發軟、懶得拖著大包小包行李行動時,免不了一定會想搭乘計程車。以東京為例,根據日本的計程車國土交通省的資料顯示,在2017年1月30日起,跳表車資從原來的720日圓降至410日圓,若是短距離移動(兩公里內)、或是四人搭乘的話其實蠻划算的。由於Uber在日本尚未合法,所以想輕鬆遊日本的話,有時可以搭乘計程車喔!

想要租車駕駛遊日本可以嗎?

如果有帶小孩、老人家或是行動較不便的旅人們,可能會想在日本租車自駕吧?雖然日本跟台灣的駕駛方向不同,但由於日本駕駛人都還蠻守法,超速違規情並不是太多,所以其實可以安心地駕駛。如果本身已有國際駕照的旅人們,則只要攜帶護照跟國際駕照正本就可以在日本租車上路,若沒有國際駕照的人也不用擔心,只要在出發前記得到監理所申請駕照的日文譯本,在租車時出示護照、駕照及日文譯本,就可以合法租車囉!

【餐廳飲食】

餐廳只提供冰開水?想要溫開水怎麼辦?

許多人第一次來到日本都會被餐廳無論春夏秋冬皆提供冰水這件事給嚇到,其實有此一說是因為在很久以前的時代,冰塊製作不易、是珍貴的象徵,於是提供冰水變成招待貴賓之道衍而流傳至今。對習慣喝溫開水的旅人來說直接請餐廳提供溫水可能會有點困難,所以建議您可以隨身攜帶保溫瓶,記得離開飯店前從房間盛裝,或者途中有遇大型購物商場,裡頭的育嬰室也會提供熱水可供取用喔。

點太多美食吃不完可以打包帶走嗎?

雖然台灣已經有許多日本的美食,但來到當地還是會覺得每樣東西看起來都好美味啊!一不注意也有可能會失心瘋點太多,但在日本雖然有餐廳可提供外帶或外送,但大部分的餐廳是不會提供打包服務的,所以在點餐時也要稍微注意一下份量,以免浪費美食就太可惜了。

電車內究竟可不可以飲食?

在一般市區內的電車裡,雖然大多數的電車公司沒有明文規定禁止飲食,但幾乎很少看到有人在電車上大咧咧的吃東西,而如果是不妨礙他人的情況下,像是餅乾、麵包味道不是太重的食物,基本上是都能被接受的。另外如果是搭乘長途巴士或新幹線等長途列車,基本上都可以大方的帶食物上車,有些車站或車上也還會有販售非常有特色的鐵道便當,想嚐鮮的旅人在搭乘長途交通工具也別錯過囉!

吃素的人到日本旅遊怎麼辦?素食餐廳好找嗎?

不管基於宗教還是養生的關係,近年吃素的人口也逐漸在上升,但在日本即便是佛教的人也並沒有吃素的約束,相對到日本旅遊吃素的人,要找純素食的餐廳就真的比較困難。但隨著養生意識抬頭,都市圈也漸漸多了一些標榜完全蔬食的Vegan餐廳,如果剛好去的地方沒有此類的餐廳的話,建議可以找一些炸天婦羅、烏龍麵、蕎麥麵的餐廳,這些餐廳雖然並非全素,但是可以依照吃素人的需求較容易點到不含肉的餐點,再更簡單的方法就是到烘焙坊買麵包或者是便利商店不含肉的梅子飯糰、糙米飯糰、沙拉都是非常方便的方式。

【購物及其他】

日本購物「萬萬稅」,但每間店都有免稅嗎?

想盡情瘋狂購物的人一定很在意免稅的資訊吧!隨著近年觀光客爆買的情況越來越多,許多店家無不趕緊推出各種免稅優惠,來搶搭這班觀光財列車,但並非所有店家都有提供免稅,所以在購物前務必要稍微注意一下是否有「Tax Free」的牌子,再好好選購!還有特別注意的是在百貨公司裡消費免稅,通常要再到統一退稅櫃檯辦理,跟一般小型店舖直接收不含稅的價格不同,所以請務必要把發票收好並抓好退稅辦理時間,才不會錯失機會!

日幣花完哪裡可以兌幣?大部份店家可以用信用卡嗎?

大部分的旅客都會在出發前先換好旅行所需的日幣,但日本真的是購物天堂,不僅質量好,價格便宜又再加上免稅,一不小心真的會失心瘋的買到超出預算。當然可以換外幣的地方就變得非常重要,在日本如果持有國際取款的提款卡,就能於日本便利商店的ATM提款。此外,在許多大百貨公司、大型飯店、旅客服務中心還是部分銀行都有提供兌換外幣的服務。再來日本比較特別的是,在一些販賣特殊票券的地方也有提供兌換外幣的服務,像是最知名在許多車站附近都能看到的「大黑屋」,都可以簡單的兌換到外幣喔!

護照不小心遺失怎麼辦?

出國最怕的就是遺失東西,掉了錢包或手機可能還可以靠同行友人幫忙支助,但如果是不小心掉了護照可就麻煩了。真的發生的話請趕緊先到附近的警察局報案,請警察開立一張報失單及證明申請書,接著再到當地的台北駐日經濟文化代表處,申辦遺失手續即可,大約30分鐘後會收到「入國證明書」,而在旅遊到回國期間這張入國證明書就等同於你的臨時護照,回國前在辦理登機時跟地勤說一下即可,特別要注意的是通關檢驗時記得要走有人員檢驗的櫃檯。

泡溫泉一定要全裸嗎?

在日本有許多大大小小的溫泉勝地,許多旅客也是衝著知名溫泉而來的,像是草津溫泉、箱根溫泉等。而在台灣大部分的溫泉皆是需著泳衣才可以進入,但在日本多數的溫泉湯池皆是需全裸才能入池,如果不習慣的旅人則可選擇部分有租借私人湯屋的溫泉或者是大型遊樂設施有附溫泉湯池,像是大江戶溫泉、箱根小涌園Yunessun都是可以著泳衣進入使用的。雖然第一次全裸會需要點勇氣,但嘗試過一次後就會發覺其實也沒這麼害羞,而且全裸泡湯絕對比著泳衣時還要來的舒服,難得的機會何不妨來體驗一下呢?

雖然日本離我們非常近,許多文化也跟我們相似,但在許多小地方上還是有些許的差異性。為了不要造成別人的困擾,在出發前花一點時間稍微注意一下,不僅能讓整個旅程更加順暢外,也能讓日本人可以更大方的歡迎外國人的到來。另外,旅遊的途中也會經常發生一些難以預料的小插曲,希望這篇文章多少讓你在幾個突發狀況時,能夠簡單應變,當然也希望大家在旅行當中都能平平安安,玩得順心!

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

玩樂

住宿

購物

搜尋餐廳

12 Things You Should Know Before Traveling to Japan

Tourism in Japan has been steadily increasing for the past few years as a result of the Japanese government's promotional efforts and the low exchange rate of Japanese yen. As a result, it has become more necessary than ever to learn a few of Japan's social norms before actually traveling there. By doing so, you can avoid violating local taboo or making a fool out of yourself. So, here are the things you absolutely should know before traveling to Japan! With this article in hand, you are sure to have a smooth journey and be warmly welcomed no matter where you go in Japan.

Nationwide

Travel Tips

Public Utilities and Transport in Japan

Trash cans are not easy to find in public. How do I get rid of rubbish?

You may notice how clean and free of rubbish most of the streets are when you travel to Japan, and yet trash cans are nearly nowhere to be found. So, where do they throw the trash away? Actually, after a terrorist attack in 1955, the government removed trash cans in a lot of public places. So, if you need to throw away garbage while you're outside, you have to go to places like station platforms, convenience stores, and shopping malls to find a garbage bin. Some locals will bring a small bag with them to take the garbage back home.

Should I stay on the left or right side when walking on the road or standing on an escalator?

Commuters in Osaka stand on the right side, while it is the norm in Tokyo to stand on the left. So, where should you actually be standing on an escalator in Japan? Well, actually, there are no written regulations regarding this matter! Most people end up following the status quo, so if you do the same, you should be fine.

How about which side to walk on the road? Well, it is said that in the old days, there were many warriors in Kanto and they all wore their swords on the left. To avoid unnecessary conflicts caused by accidental collision of weapons, people used to walk on the left side of the road. This habit may not be that obvious nowadays, but there are still personnel or signs at some stations telling passengers which side to stay on in order to ensure smooth passenger flow. Remember to look out for the above when you're in Japan!

For more differences between the Kanto and Kansai regions, take a look at the article below.

I heard that taxis in Japan are very expensive. Can I get an Uber ride instead?

Trains are the most common type of transport in Japan, but the complex subway maps in metropolises like Tokyo can be terrifying. Besides, when your legs are sore from walking all day and you are exhausted from carrying all your bags and luggage, a taxi is just too hard to resist.

According to Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism, the starting fare of a taxi in Tokyo, for example, has dropped from 720 yen to 410 yen since January 1st, 2017. So, if you are traveling a short distance (within 2 kilometers) or if the fare is split between four people, taking a taxi can, in fact, be quite a bargain. 

While we'd like to recommend Uber, the truth is that peer-to-peer ride hailing is banned in Japan, as Japanese regulations prohibit non-professionals from providing paid transport services. While Uber is implemented in some parts of Japan (mainly the big cities), they have taken a more cab-hailing approach by working with local taxi companies, so it might make more sense to just book a regular taxi.

Can I rent a car for a self-drive tour around Japan?

If you are bringing children, the elderly, or a person with impairments with you to Japan, you will probably want to rent a car for a self-drive tour around Japan. Fortunately, Japanese drivers are quite law-abiding and there are not many speeding and traffic law violations, so you should be able to drive with peace of mind.

If you already have an international driving permit, all you need to do is bring your passport and original permit to the car rental place in order to rent a car. If you don't have one and you come from Belgium, Estonia, France, Germany, Monaco, Slovenia, Switzerland, or Taiwan, you can go to your local Japanese embassy or consulate and acquire a Japanese translation of your driving license. Bring your passport, original driving license, and Japanese translation of your driving license, and you should be able to legally rent a car in Japan!

Dining in Japan

What if the restaurants only offer iced water? How can I get some warm water?

If you come from a country where warm water is normally served at restaurants, you'll find it hard to believe that Japanese establishments offer their guests iced water no matter what season it is. The reason behind this practice is that in the old days, ice was not easy to produce and was therefore quite precious. Offering iced water thus became a way to treat honored guests and has been passed down for years. It might be hard for people who are used to drinking warm water to ask the restaurant for some, which is why we suggest always bringing a thermos. You may pour in hot water before leaving your hotel room or refill in the nursery rooms of large-scale shopping malls.

Can I take away my leftover food?

Your country may already have a lot of tasty Japanese cuisine, but the food looks even better when you are actually in Japan, so it is understandable if you order too much! Although certain restaurants in Japan have takeout and delivery options, most of them do not offer pack-to-go services for leftovers. So, keep that in mind when you order to avoid wasting the delicious food.

Is it okay to eat inside a train?

Although most trains do not have "no drinking and eating" as an actual written rule, you can seldom see anyone eating openly on them. That being said, it is generally acceptable to have some odorless food such as biscuits and bread. For long-distance buses and trains like shinkansen (bullet trains), eating is usually allowed. Some stations and trains even sell special railway bento (Japanese box lunches) known as "ekiben" or in English, train station bento. Don’t miss out if you are taking any form of long-distance transport in Japan!

For more things you should keep in mind when riding a train in Japan, the article below can come in useful.

What if I am a vegetarian? Is it easy to find vegetarian restaurants in Japan?

Due to religious or health reasons, the number of people identifying as vegetarians has been growing in recent years. In Japan, being a Buddhist does not necessary mean following a no-meat diet, so it might be quite hard to find a vegetarian restaurant here. Luckily, with the increase in foreign tourists and residents, more and more vegetarian places have been popping up in city centers.

In case there are no such restaurants nearby, you may look for places that offer fried tempura, udon noodles, and soba noodles. These places may not be completely vegetarian, but you can still order non-meat dishes. Alternatively, you can just buy bread from a bakery, or plum or brown rice onigiri (Japanese rice balls) or salads from a convenience store.

Shopping in Japan & Other Common Questions

Is every shop in Japan tax-free?

In recent years, as tourists' expenditures on shopping keep soaring, a lot of shops have launched various tax-free promotions in hopes of getting a piece of the action. However, not every shop is tax free, so look for the “Tax Free” sign before shopping at a particular store! Also, note that while many stores automatically deduct tax for you, this is not true for many department stores. You might have to bring all your receipts to a tax refund counter to claim the tax refund, so do remember to keep your receipts and go to the counter during opening hours!

How can I withdraw more money in Japan? Do most shops accept credit cards?

While most tourists do exchange their money for Japanese yen before actually traveling to Japan, the country is such a shopping paradise - what with its high-quality goods, low prices, and tax-free promotions - that it is easy to spend all your yen if you are not careful. Aside from currency exchange counters, if you have an ATM card that supports overseas withdrawal, you can simply withdraw yen at a convenience store. In addition, many large department stores, hotels, tourist centers, and some banks offer currency exchange services. Some ticket resellers also offer money exchange services, with one popular example being the famous Daikokuya.

What if I lose my passport by accident?

Losing things is probably your biggest fear when vacationing abroad. It's easy to get help from your travel buddies if you lose your wallet or phone, but it's not that simple if you lose your passport. If this does happen to you, head to the nearest police station at once. The police will file a loss/robbery report and issue a certificate of loss. Take that to your nearest embassy to have your passport re-issued. It should take just around 30 minutes (note: time varies depending on embassy) before you are given a certificate that will act as your temporary passport until you return to your home country. When you check in at the airport, tell the ground staff about the incident and remember to use a check-in counter with an inspection officer.

Other situations you need to be aware of when traveling around Japan are written in the article below.

Do I have to be naked when using onsen (hot spring)?

A lot of tourists come to Japan to try its hot springs of various sizes, such as Kusatsu Onsen and Hakone Onsen. While you may be required to wear a swimsuit in your home country, it is the norm to get completely naked before entering a hot spring in Japan. 

If you are not used to being nude in the public, you may instead rent a private onsen or go to large hot spring facilities, such as OEDO-ONSEN MONOGATARI and Hakone Kowakien YUNESSUN, where swimsuits are allowed. It may take some courage to get naked for the first time, but you will soon find out that nudity is not really a big deal. Bathing naked is also so much more comfortable than wearing a swimsuit! So, why don’t you give it a try?

Conclusion

Taking some time to learn more about Japan beforehand not only ensures a smooth journey, but also avoids causing trouble to the locals, ensuring that foreign visitors will continue to be warmly welcomed to Japan in the future. There may be some unexpected incidents during your trip, but we hope this article can help you deal with them in a better way so that you have a safe and happy journey!

Header credit: VTT Studio / Shutterstock.com

 

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

Title Image: lydiarei / Shutterstock

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search