【九州3日遊】搭大眾交通工具也能玩!長崎、佐賀、福岡隱藏景點及當地文化巡禮

您是否也對日本北九州旅遊有著「自駕才能成行」的印象?其實,即使您不會開車或不想開車,也不代表就沒機會走進這塊美麗的地區。這次我們規劃了一趟玩轉九州三縣精彩景點的完美行程:從長崎的極美海岸和美食、佐賀的傳統陶瓷小鎮到福岡的太宰府神社地區,讓您在不租車的情形下一樣能走遍這些歷史遺跡和秘密景點,將旅遊清單一一打勾!

九州

實用資訊

※本文與九州觀光推進局合作執筆撰寫。

【Day1】前進長崎+佐賀:尋訪有明海岸線上的寶藏景點

除了長崎市區周邊外,有明海岸地區也非常值得走一遭。沈穩安靜的內海沿岸線上藏有許多大自然風光、不為人所熟知卻十分上相的景點、壯觀的寺廟神社,以及美味到讓人流連忘返的海陸美食。

小長井-世界級可愛的公車站在這裡!

您或許沒聽過小長井這個地名,但這裡是我們列在旅遊清單上的必推地點!試想在一個可愛的海濱小鎮上有多處色彩鮮豔如娃娃屋般的小車站,這些車站還被設計成夢幻的水果造型。沒錯!此一如繪本般的隱藏景色就位於長崎縣的小長井,吸引許多喜愛日本旅行和特色建築的遊客到訪。水果公車站最初是小長井地區政府在1990年的長崎旅遊博覽會時,希望可提供遊客們在從長崎市區到小長井的路途中更愉快的旅途體驗而建立,而這些公車站也因此成為當地的特有景點。

從草莓、哈密瓜、橘子、番茄到西瓜造型,水果公車站共計有16處(國道沿線14站及縣道2站)。在抵達第一個草莓造型的站牌後,我們就開始緊湊地找尋其他水果車站,希望能在時間內搜集完畢。在尋找可愛水果公車站的途中,我們也正好有機會能好好欣賞小長井地區的寧靜海岸線並深入當地角落。此外,在湛藍海岸和當地奶奶們種植的鮮豔花田背景陪襯下,也拍出許多獨特有趣的照片。當天波斯菊和向日葵盛開燦爛,營造出一種吉卜力電影場景的氛圍,搭配著溫暖陽光和煦煦微風,一轉眼就在這個風景如畫的海濱小鎮停留了好幾個小時。

烤牡蠣Seaside Marine - 來一頓鮮美的海鮮大餐!

「烤牡蠣Seaside Marine」靠近有明海灘,單一磚紅色的招牌和散發濃濃在地感的建築外觀,讓我們很快找到其位置。這一帶以有明海的新鮮貝類聞名,我們帶著滿腹期待走進餐廳,準備享受一場海鮮大餐。餐廳內約有一半空間為小型漁市,可以自行挑選想吃的當日現捕海產。在選了1公斤的生蠔和看起來肥美飽滿的大蝦後,一種我們在東京時不曾看過,稱為“檜扇貝”的彩色貝類引起我們好奇,也一起挑了幾顆準備來嚐「鮮」!

挑完海鮮後店員快速地準備好座位,準備開始烤海鮮了!這裡的所有食物都超新鮮,即使不加任何調味料也依然美味。除了沒話說的生蠔和蝦子外,人生第一次品嚐“檜扇貝”的滋味更是讓我們驚豔到想要再加碼多吃一點!提醒您,如果可以的話,建議多留一點時間在這裡,除了因燒烤本來就需要時間外,店裡樸實的氣氛加上窗外海浪拍打聲和眼前的海景,都會讓整體步調緩慢起來。除了食物,餐廳老闆也非常可愛,最後還熱情地載我們回小長井站,我們才不至於錯過火車班次。北九州3日遊才正開始,我們就已感受到九州人的熱情。帶著滿足的笑容,搭上了本次旅程中的第一趟火車之途。

大魚神社-漂浮在海上的夢幻海中鳥居

JR長崎線沿著有明海岸線跨越長崎縣和佐賀縣的交界,途中經過沒受破壞的海岸、漁場和坐落其中的小村落,景色美得讓我們大概整整30分鐘的時間都緊盯著窗外,深深讚嘆著大海的魅力。這附近的有明海尤其平靜、平坦的地平線讓海面就像是面大鏡子,倒映著天空和雲彩,閃耀著夢幻的銀紫色調,讓我們再度被眼前的全景震懾。我們就在這全景震撼之中向JR太良站靠近,迫不及待地期待前往下一個景點!

接下來的大王神社,絕美程度完全不輸稍早火車上的海景。其鳥居瀟灑地矗立在有明海中,我們到的時候正值退潮,因此我們有機會漫步在鮮紅色的神社鳥居下的這一小段僅在海水退去時才會出現的道路。走在這條佈滿貝殼的道路通往神社大門,每一步都能聽見貝殼碰撞時發出的清脆聲響。接著有好幾分鐘,我們就只是安安靜靜地看著眼前如絲綢般的海面,沈浸在九州的平靜療癒氛圍之中。

肥前濱宿-探索佐賀縣源自武士時代的神秘宿場

搭上從大王神社出發的公車,沿著海岸線繼續往北,來到了佐賀的肥前濱宿入口。這個自江戶時期宿場(類似驛站)而發展出的聚落,至今已成為重要的歷史遺產。這裡以釀造清酒和醬油聞名,在長達600公尺的 “酒藏通”上有許多歷史悠久的傳統建築、酒窖和酒舖。是嗜酒之徒的超熱門朝聖地。我們在平日午後抵達,雖沒有太多店家營業,街道上也人煙稀少,不過卻也因此更有種穿越時空的懷舊感,能夠在日光中和街道旁運河的流水聲中感受滿滿舊時氛圍。

此外,這些江戶時代的建築不僅保存狀況良好,也和當地住宅區高度融合,以舊乘田家住宅為例,這間武士住宅外沒有任何圍籬,可以自由進入,甚至還將花園提供其他戶人家共用,讓我們感到既驚訝又敬佩。這次實際了解鄉下地區日本武士的生活環境,才發現和過往看到在城堡內的武士相當不同。此外,佐賀地區經典的 "竈造(くど造り)"(屋頂形狀從上俯瞰呈現“ㄇ”字形的茅草屋)茅葺建築也非常有特色。

除了舊乘田宅外,肥前濱宿這區還有另一個不能錯過的茅草屋景點——濱庄津町濱金屋町。距酒藏通步行距離僅7分鐘,這一區在江戶時代時是肥前濱港的一部分,不少茅草小屋在此聚集。悠閒地穿梭散步在狹窄巷弄中,眼前看著海邊少見的茅草屋頂景觀,背後配上被夕陽光輝染成金色的牆面和建築,都在在讓我們對佐賀留下了深刻的印象。

祐德稻荷神社-夕陽下欣賞日本三大稻荷神社之一

我們趕在夕陽西下前抵達,這時的天色讓祐德稻荷神社的建築色調更顯紅豔,看來非常壯觀。神社於1687年創立,矗立在山頂上,以佈滿藍色和金色裝飾的華麗門面迎接遊客到來,橋下池塘還有許多錦鯉悠遊。佑德稻荷是日本三大神社之一,供奉著與稻米、繁榮和狐狸有關的神靈。因此每年都有很多人到此祈求生意或家庭興旺、收成順利等。

向上走到正殿,在這個距出發點18公尺高上的平台上,可以看到夕陽優雅地沈入遠方山谷間,從正殿出發還有一條小路能通往後方的另一小型神社。不過隨著天光漸暗,周圍的燈籠跟著亮起,也提醒了我們差不多是時候結束這一站,我們往回走,準備搭車前往今天的最後一站。

嬉野溫泉-品嚐小鎮的特色溫泉湯豆腐

一整天的行程後,帶著滿滿的回憶和咕咕作響的肚子,我們到了今晚入住飯店所在的嬉野溫泉地區,嬉野溫泉以具有美肌效用的溫泉受到歡迎,不過當下更吸引我們的是這裡特有的 "湯豆腐",也就是以溫泉水煮過的豆腐。新八壽司是一家提供嬉野溫泉湯豆腐的壽司店,搭配烏龍麵一起食用,簡單卻非常美味!廚師長告訴我們,嬉野湯豆腐之所以特別是因為嬉野溫泉含有特殊成分,在和豆腐一起煮過後,能使豆腐軟化,產生綿密黏稠的湯頭。

湯豆腐套餐中另包含一盤壽司、生魚片拼盤、炸雞,每道都很精彩,湯豆腐尤其美味,讓我們吃得意猶未盡,最後甚至還另外加點了豆腐和烏龍麵!

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

搜尋餐廳

3 Days in Kyushu: Exploring Hidden Gems and Rich Culture in Nagasaki, Saga, and Fukuoka Via Public Transportation

Travelers may think that visiting Kyushu in southern Japan is something possible only when traveling by car. But if you are like me and don't particularly like driving, does that mean you have to put aside your dreams of an ideal vacation in this attractive part of Japan? Not at all! Read on to discover how we planned the perfect route through the scenic areas of three of Kyushu’s majestic prefectures: Nagasaki's superb coastline and food, Saga's traditional ceramic towns, and Fukuoka's mesmerizing Dazaifu Shrine area - all without relying on rental cars a single time. Still, we were able to tick some truly hidden gems and historical wonders off our bucket list.

Kyushu

Travel Tips

*This article was written in collaboration with Kyushu Tourism Promotion Organization.

[Day 1: Nagasaki and Saga Prefectures - Ariake Sea Coastline's Bounty of Hidden Gems]

Instead of focusing on Nagasaki City and its surroundings, have you ever thought of exploring the Ariake Sea's charming coasts? The quaint shores of this inland sea hide a plethora of natural treasures, photogenic spots unknown to most, temples and shrines of touching beauty, and food from land and sea so delicious that it will make your mouth water for days. 

Konagai - Have Fun at the Cutest Bus Stops in the World (Hint: They Are Shaped Like Fruit)

The name Konagai may not ring a bell, but we actually had this place on our bucket list for a few years. Imagine the cutest little seaside town with the cutest little station that looks like a dollhouse tinged with pastel colors, and last but not least picturesque bus stops that are shaped like fruit. Konagai has all this and more and is a hidden gem in Nagasaki that will fill any Japanophile with joy, including us enthusiasts of all those weirdly cute buildings Japan likes to incorporate into daily life! Originally built by Konagai locals in 1990 for the Nagasaki Travel Expo with hopes to provide a pleasant journey to those commuting from the town to Nagasaki City, the fruit bus stops remained as a local landmark.

There are sixteen scattered in the area (14 along the national highway and 2 along the prefectural highway,) imitating strawberries, melons, mandarin oranges, tomatoes, and watermelons. So we didn't have any time to waste and as soon as we stepped off the bus in front of the "ichigo" (strawberry) bus stop we started our exploration looking to hit as many fruit bus stops we could. The fruit bus stops make for the cutest excuse to explore Konagai's peaceful shores and lovely nooks, taking fun and unique photos with the marine background and a vividly-colored flower field grown by local "obaa-san" (grandmas) right behind one of the strawberry bus stops. Cosmos and sunflowers were in full bloom when we visited, creating scenery reminiscent of a Ghibli movie, and the sun and wind were so gentle and warm that we could easily have spent hours just wandering around the picturesque seaside town. 

Kaki Yaki Seaside Marine - Try Your Hand at Grilling the Freshest Seafood Ever

Kaki Yaki Seaside Marine is another building that contributes to the cute appearance of Konagai. Painted pastel pink with an air of nostalgia, we could easily spot this local institution from afar, standing on a corner of the tranquil Konagai beach. This area of the Ariake Sea is particularly renowned for its locally fished and incredibly fresh shellfish. So, we entered the restaurant with our stomachs rumbling in anticipation of a seafood banquet. We were pleasantly surprised to find out that half of the restaurant is set as a miniature fish market where you can freely roam around freely and personally pick what you'd like to eat from the selection of fish of the day. We were already holding a kilo of local oysters and some delicious-looking prawns in our baskets when some rainbow-colored shellfish called "hyogi" caught our attention. Intrigued by these of giant scallops that we've never seen before, not even in Tokyo, we bought a couple to try. 

By the time we finished our market shopping the staff had already prepared the table for us, so that we could start grilling our seafood. Everything was so fresh that even without any seasoning or sauce it could have easily been some of the tastiest fish we've ever had. The oysters and prawns were delicious, but we were so impressed with our first ever bite ever of hyogi to the point that we were seriously considering buying some more. Just as a note: if you can, we suggest you to take your time, because oysters take longer to cook and also because the rustic atmosphere and the soothing sound and view of the sea from the windows will set the mood for a relaxing, slow-paced afternoon. The place and food were as lovely as its owner, who was kind enough to give us a ride back to Konagai Station just in time for our train. Konagai was only the first stop on our 3-day trip here in southern Japan, but we already got a taste of how welcoming the people of Kyushu are. With such thoughts and broad smiles, we got onboard our first local train of the day. 

Oouo Shrine - Stroll Under Dreamy Torii Gates Floating in the Sea

The JR Nagasaki Line covers a portion of the Ariake Sea coast, crossing the border between Nagasaki and Saga Prefectures in a zigzag that goes through unspoiled shores, fishing areas, and tiny villages so beautiful that we spent our 30-minute journey with our faces stuck to the train window, admiring the charms of the sea rolling outside. In this particular area, the Ariake Sea is so calm and the horizon so flat that the water works as a mirror reflecting the sky and the clouds above, shining in surreal silver and lilac hues. We were already in awe thanks to this mysterious panorama, so when we arrived at JR Tara Station we couldn't wait to see the next spot. 

The unique Oouo Shrine we came here to visit is no less magical than the marine scenery we saw from the train, and it stands with its floating "torii" gates in the middle of the Ariake Sea. By the time we arrived, it was low tide, so we were able to walk a small portion of the Tara Undersea Road that only emerges when the water recedes, strolling under the bright red torii of the shrine. The path leading to the sacred gates, usually covered by seawater, was a carpet of white shells. At each step, you could hear them softly creaking, resembling the gentle sound of a wind chime. We loved spending several moments just silently viewing the silky sea, really soaking in the soothing atmosphere of this part of Kyushu. 

Hizen Hama - Explore Saga Prefecture's Secret Postal Town From the Samurai Period

The local bus we took from Oouo Shrine led us further north on the coast, right to the entrance of one of Saga's most well-kept secrets: Hizen Hama. This Edo-Period postal town known as Hamashuku is now recognized as an important preservation district of traditional buildings and one can easily imagine why. The samurai town, long renowned for its production of refined sake and soy sauce extends along the 600-meter-long Sakaguradori, a street lined with charming historical buildings, sake breweries, and sake shops. Normally, the town attracts Japanese sake enthusiasts who flock here to try Saga's best sake. When we visited, however, it was late afternoon on a weekday, so most of the shops were already closed with just very few locals making their appearance on the main street. This gave us the chance to feel like we had traveled back in time and to enjoy the traditional atmosphere, sunny weather, and pleasant sound of the water flowing in the canals at the side of the streets even more.

The thing that surprised us the most is how the precious Edo-Period buildings are not only perfectly preserved but also nicely fit into the more residential areas of the town. The Former Norita Residence is a prime example. This samurai house has free entry, no fences whatsoever, and even shares its garden with someone's current-day home. It was interesting to discover more about the lifestyle of the samurai living in rural areas of Japan, as opposed to those who lived in castle-towns like we are used to. Learning about Saga's typical architectural style, the "kudo-zukuri" (thatched-roof houses that look like a "kudo" hearth when viewed from above) was also quite fascinating.

Speaking of thatched-roof houses, Hizen Hama has some very impressive examples still standing today. Just 7 minutes from Sakaguradori is Hamasho Zumachi Hamakanayamachi, an area of tiny and rustic thatched-roof houses that were originally part of the Edo-Period port of Hizen Hama, where we had fun wadering around the narrow alleyways. The scenery we were able to admire there is very rare, since thatched roofs are not usually found near the sea. To make it even more magical the setting sun was tinting the ochre walls of the historical buildings in golden hues, making for a truly unforgettable memory of this part of Saga Prefecture. 

Yutoku Inari Shrine - Admire One of Japan’s Three Major Inari Shrines at Sunset

We arrived at Yutoku Inari Shrine just in time to enjoy it with the colors of the sunset, and we were blown away by the grandeur of its red buildings. The shrine, founded in 1687, sits on top of a forested hill, welcoming visitors with a majestic portal with turquoise and golden decor, and a bridge crossing over a beautiful pond with "koi" carp. Yutoku Inari is considered one of Japan's top three shrines dedicated to Inari, a deity associated with rice, prosperity, and foxes. For this reason, many visit the shrine every year to pray for the prosperity of their business, family, or even a large catch.

We climbed up to the main hall, a terrace built on wooden beams eighteen meters above the valley floor, to see the sun beautifully sinking over the mountains in the distance. From the main hall, a walking trail leads further into the hills behind for smaller shrines to visit. But as the sky was becoming darker and darker and lanterns around us were slowly lighting up, we knew our time at Yutoku Inari was over, and satisfied we redescended to catch our last bus of the day. 

Ureshino Onsen - Taste the Town's Unique Hot Spring Tofu: Yudofu

With our heads full of beautiful memories from the day but our stomachs empty we arrived at Ureshino Onsen, the hot-spring town where our hotel was located. Of course, we picked Ureshino Onsen for its popular "bihada no yu" (beautiful skin water) which is extremely soft on the skin. What we really couldn't wait to try, though, was the town's unique delicacy, called "yudofu,"which is tofu that has been boiled in local spring water. Shinpachi Sushi, a sushi restaurant that also specializes in Ureshino's delicious hot-spring-boiled tofu, offers its own take on the recipe by adding "udon" (a type of thick Japanese noodle) to the soup. The chef at Shinpachi explained to us that Ureshino's yudofu is special because of the specific characteristics of the local hot-spring water, which when boiled with tofu creates a very creamy soup, and that the same doesn't happen with other types of hot-spring waters. 

Yudofu was beyond delicious (we literally couldn't stop saying how good it was for the whole dinner,) and since we were particularly hungry, we appreciated the addition of udon and the abundance of tofu. We each ordered a set that came with a plate of sushi and a portion of sashimi or "karaage" (Japanese fried chicken) and weren't disappointed by either. At the end of the dinner, we found ourselves scooping in the soup pot hoping for more tofu and udon to magically appear. 

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search