長崎・出島──日本鎖國時期唯一連結世界的對外窗口

您知道日本曾經完全與世界其他國家隔絕長達218年嗎?在這段漫長的鎖國歲月裡,外國人只被允許涉足長崎灣的一個人造島,名為「出島」的人造島。出島的建設是以貿易港口的功能為主軸設計,採用西方文化的元素並融合日式和西方建築風格。如今,出島已成為長崎縣的一部分,提醒人們日本與西方之間罕見、歷史悠久的跨文化互動,也因此吸引許多來自日本和海外的遊客。本文將深入探討長崎出島的歷史和文化意義,以此回顧處於鎖國時期的日本。

長崎

玩樂

出島是什麼?

出島座落於現代的長崎市,鄰近市中心並緊靠長崎灣。雖然出島現在已經變成大片土地的一個部分,不過它一開始是一個與陸地分隔的人工島。出島的設立是日本和荷蘭、葡萄牙等少數國家之間法律允許,進行有限數量貿易的港口。該島以其扇形聞名,由建造該島的工人們精妙地將其呈現。

日本政府在1922年將出島指定為國家歷史遺址,1951年宣佈其為公共修復項目且持續到今天。出島一直以來是一個很受歡迎的旅遊勝地,能夠一瞥數百年前歐洲商人在日本的生活情況。

出島的歷史

出島的概念是由江戶幕府三代將軍德川家光所提出,在進行有利可圖的貿易,同時還能夠控制歐洲文化和宗教在日本傳播。島上的建設前前後後約於1636年完成。只有荷蘭、葡萄牙商人和特定官員等能在島上開店,但不被允許隨便離開出島。同樣地,除非獲得特定任務或業務的許可,日本人也不得進入該島。

出島也被稱為「築島」,意為「豎立的島嶼」,於港口填海造地而成。儘管只是一個狹小的地區,國際之間的交流卻在出島上蓬勃發展。除了舶來品之外西洋的知識也從這裡進入日本,如哲學、醫學、化學、航海和武器等。日本學者甚至會特地前往出島學習這些西洋知識。

由於大多數歐洲人和其他非日本人只能在出島上生活,因此許多人在島上定居,並帶來自己家鄉的家庭文化和生活元素,把純粹的宿舍變得更有家的感覺。島上有商人和醫生等幾種職業,其他多數人則都是直屬或附屬於荷蘭東印度貿易公司,被派往出島協助運營。使得出島成為一個兼容並蓄和迷人的文化融合,歐式建築和室內裝潢與日本傳統設計完美結合的結晶。不過為了防止基督教的傳播,德川幕府於1639年將葡萄牙人從出島驅逐,以獎勵老老實實貿易、不偷偷傳教的荷蘭人,並給予他們壟斷出島的權利。

日本孤立主義的年代:鎖國時期

日本的孤立主義時期稱為「鎖国(さこく)」,是在德川幕府的統治下由德川家光發出鎖國令開始。從1633年到1639年修改頒布五次相關法令,其內容主要針對歐洲人。法令大致如下:

法令1:非幕府(1633)許可之商船,禁止出境
法令2:禁止日本人出境(1635
法令3:禁止日本人出境,居住在國外的日本人禁止返回日本,且禁止建造大型船隻(1635
法令4:僅允許葡萄牙人進入出島(1636
法令5:不再允許葡萄牙人前往日本(1639

當時荷蘭人固定在長崎外島平戶活動。荷蘭東印度貿易公司甚至在平戶建立自己的貿易據點。但在1641年,荷蘭被勒令搬遷至出島,確立鎖國體制並將日本大部分地區與世界隔離。美國和法國等其他國家都曾要求日本開啟對外貿易,但都遭幕府拒絕。鎖國持續長達218年,直至1853年馬修培里準將帶著惡名昭彰的黑船抵達日本,並強行將日本開國,重新連結於世。

開國後的出島

出島那著名的扇狀在開國約五十年後的1904年消失了。由於政府為加強土地利用進行一連串的填海造陸和造港的工程,原本孤立的出島就和長崎縣連在一起。當年的荷蘭東印度貿易公司也早已被解散,許多相關建築物獲重新利用,例如將工廠變成領事館等。

此時的出島變成長崎的外國人居留地,島上的地形發生巨大變化,使其更利於進行國際貿易。雖然出島大部分景觀在此期間發生不少變化,但仍有一些建築物屹立不倒,且已持續使用100多年之久。如建於1878年的前出島新教神學院和建於1903年的前長崎國際俱樂部大樓。

現今的出島

如今出島不再是一個島嶼,而是與長崎縣相連的一部份。即便如此,在這片小小的土地上留下的感覺仍讓人想起當時它是日本人和外國人唯一可以交流的地方。幾座舊建築物或被保留或已被重建。座落於繁華的長崎市中部,它仍保有著自己寧靜莊嚴、富麗堂皇的氛圍。出島的入口是一座傳統日式,稱為「海門」的大門。既適當又具象徵意義,因為從歷史上來看,海門是出島貿易站運行時通向商業和學術交流的門戶。

長崎縣自1948年以來一直在努力復原出島,在2016年時重新復刻幾座建築物。其中包括具有歷史和建築意義的建築,如荷蘭商館長官官邸「Kapitan Room」。是出島上內部擺設令人驚嘆的歐洲家具之中最大的建築。來到出島可以探索這些建築,比較其內外差異,一窺過去的居民生活。修復計劃的後期階段甚至欲嘗試恢復出島的原始扇形樣貌。

這裡的建築物大多使用深色木材,與日本傳統的白色牆壁形成了鮮明的對比。獨特的地方是於外部大量使用藍綠色裝飾。最初這種塗料是由荷蘭人帶來日本,也就是說這是荷蘭和日本文化融合的典範之一。這種塗料常用於日式木工如扶手上。務必要深入建物之中觀察所有令人著迷的細微差異!推薦您穿著和服,想像自己穿越時空回到過去,絕對是拍照的最佳素材!

拜訪出島,徜徉於歷史的洪流

出島是日本歷史不可或缺的一部分。直至今日每每提及日本文化中的西方元素時,出島依然是一個最佳代表之一。試著深入這些建物會為您的這趟旅程體驗增添一股沉浸感。下次造訪長崎時,務必要把出島放入行程中,細細品味日本歷史上這最吸引人的時期之一!

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

搜尋餐廳

Dejima: Isolationist Japan's Only Connection to the Outside World

Did you know that Japan was once completely shut off from the rest of the world, for a period of 218 years! During that time, foreigners were only allowed to set foot on one place, a man-made island called Dejima in Nagasaki Bay. Due to its status as a trading port, Dejima adopted elements of western culture, and to this day has an eclectic mix of Japanese and western architecture. Today, it stands as part of the prefecture and as a reminder of the rare, historical intercultural interaction between Japan and the West, attracted many visitors from both Japan and overseas. This article will delve into the history and cultural significance of Nagasaki’s Dejima, a reminder of Japan’s isolation period.

Nagasaki

Things to Do

What is Dejima?

Dejima is located in modern-day Nagasaki City, near the city center and right by Nagasaki Bay. Although now an integrated part of the mainland, Dejima was originally an island, man-made at that, and was established as a port for the restricted amount of trading that was allowed between Japan and the Portuguese. Dejima was historically famous for its fan shape, executed brilliantly by the workers who constructed the island. 

It was designated as a National Historic Site by the Japanese government in 1922, and in 1951 was declared as a public restoration project, which is continuing even today. It has long been a popular tourist destination, showing a rare glimpse into the lives of European merchants in Japan hundreds of years ago.

The History of Dejima

The concept for Dejima was established by the shogun (feudal lord) Tokugawa Iemitsu, allowing profitable trade while being able to control the spread of European culture and religion across Japan. Construction of the island was completed in 1636, and Portuguese merchants and other officials were allowed to set up shop on the island, although they were not allowed to venture outside of Dejima. Likewise, Japanese people were not allowed onto the island unless given permission for specific tasks or business. 

The island was also called “Tsukishima,” meaning “erected island,” and was made with reclaimed land from the harbor. Although a confined area, international exchange flourished on Dejima, and not only goods but Western knowledge was imported as well, such as medicine, chemistry, navigation, and weaponry. Japanese scholars would even make their way to Dejima to study. 

As most Europeans and other non-Japanese were not allowed further than Dejima, many took up residence on the island, introducing elements of their home cultures to make their quarters feel more like home. While there were people from several occupations such as merchants and physicians, most of the people were connected to the Dutch East India Trading Company and were sent to Dejima to assist with operations. This brought about an eclectic and fascinating blend of cultural aesthetics, with European architecture and interior decor playing elegantly with traditional Japanese design. However, worried about the spread of Christianity, the Tokugawa shogunate expelled the Portuguese from Japan in 1639, awarding the Dutch and those associated, who had gained favor through loyalty, a monopoly over trade and Dejima.

Japan’s Isolationist Period (Sakoku)

The isolationist period in Japan, also known as “sakoku,” began under the Tokugawa shogunate with orders from Tokugawa Iemitsu. Five Sakoku Edicts were implemented from 1633 until 1639 and were mainly tailored towards Europeans, stating the following:

Edict 1: Travel overseas was forbidden unless it was a trading vessel licensed by the Tokugawa shogunate (1633)

Edict 2: Japanese people were forbidden from traveling overseas (1635)

Edict 3: Japanese people were forbidden from traveling overseas, Japanese citizens living abroad could not return to Japan, and the construction of large ships was forbidden (1635)

Edict 4: The Portuguese were allowed only into Dejima (1636)

Edict 5: The Portuguese were not longer allowed to travel to Japan (1639)

For several years, the Dutch had settled on the Nagasaki outer island of Hirado, the Dutch East India Trading Company even establishing the Hirado Dutch Trading Post, but in 1641 they were ordered to pack up and relocate to Dejima, solidifying the Sakoku policies and effectively isolating most of Japan from the rest of the world. There were several calls from other countries such as the United States and France requesting for Japan to once again open itself to trade and other exchanges, but Japan would continue to refuse. The Isolationist Period remained in effect for 218 years until 1853, when Commodore Matthew Perry arrived in Japan with his infamous black ships and forcibly reopened the country to the rest of the world.

Dejima After the Isolationist Period

The iconic fan shape was lost in 1904, almost fifty years after the sakoku period was abolished, due to a prefectural harbor reclamation project in order to construct a promenade, and Dejima became attached to the Nagasaki mainland. The Dutch East India Trading Company had also been absolved, and many of the buildings were repurposed, such as the Dejima Dutch Factory being turned into a Consulate.

Dejima had been absorbed into the Nagasaki Foreign Settlement, and the topography of the island was drastically changed to make the island more friendly to international trade. Although much of the Dejima landscape was changed during this time, there are buildings that are still standing and have been for over 100 years, including the Former Dejima Protestant Seminary which was constructed in 1878, and the Former Nagasaki International Club building which was built in 1903.

Dejima Today

Dejima is no longer an island, and is instead now connected to the Nagasaki mainland. Even so, the feeling left in this small stretch of land is reminiscent of the times when it was the only location where Japanese and foreigners could mingle. Several old buildings remain or have been reconstructed, and although in the middle of the bustling Nagasaki City, it retains its quiet, regal atmosphere. A large gate called the “Sea Gate,” with traditional Japanese architecture, stands as the entrance to Dejima. This is both appropriate and symbolic, as it historically acted as the gateway to commercial and scholarly exchange back when Dejima was a trading post.

Nagasaki Prefecture has been working on restoring Dejima since 1948, and several buildings have been recreated as recently as 2016. These include historically and architecturally significant buildings including the popular Dutch Chief Factor’s Residence or the “Kapitan Room,” which is the largest building on Dejima with an interior decorated with stunning European furnishings. Many of the buildings can be explored, allowing you to see the contrast of the interiors and exteriors as well as get a glimpse into the lives of the residents back in the day. According to the long-term restoration plan, there will even be attempts to restore Dejima’s original fan shape.

The buildings are mostly constructed from dark wood which contrasts beautifully against the traditional Japanese white walls, but a unique addition is the blue-green trim that decorates many of the exteriors. Originally, this paint was imported by the Dutch, and is one of the prime examples of the blend of Dutch and Japanese cultures, as it often was used on Japanese-style carpentry such as handrails. Be sure to walk past and through the buildings to observe all the fascinating nuances! You can even dress up in kimono and pretend you are back in the olden times while taking beautiful pictures!

Visit Dejima and Step Back in Time

Dejima was an integral part of Japanese history, and to this day shows the fascinating effects of Western influences when introduced to Japanese culture. Being able to walk in and out of the buildings adds an extra layer of immersion to the experience. Be sure to check out Dejima whenever you are in Nagasaki, and learn about one of the most riveting periods in Japanese history!

Explore the Kyushu Area!

Dejima is one of the coolest historical areas in Nagasaki, but it's not the only history-rich location hiding in Kyushu, the region that Nagasaki Prefecture is a part of. In fact, Kyushu is home to some of the best castles and other historically-significant buildings in Japan. We think you'll love what the rest of Kyushu has to offer. Check out the official Kyushu tourism website for more information on what's out there in the region.

Visit Kyushu Official Website: https://www.visit-kyushu.com/en/

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search