這個納豆和你想的不一樣 納豆結合咖啡的新世代發明「SOYFFEE」

在健康飲食愈發受重視的時下,日本傳統發酵食品「納豆」因具有高營養價值,擄獲了世界的眼光。不過納豆濃烈的氣味令許多人敗陣下來。為此來自湘南的納豆製造所「Shonan Soy Studio」致力賦予納豆全新面貌,誕生出新世代「SOYFFEE」。試想傳統納豆結合新潮洋風的咖啡,會擦出甚麼火花?本文就要來介紹「SOYFFEE」的魅力及推薦吃法。

神奈川

美食

橫跨千年歷史的超級食物納豆

進入正題前,不妨先認識納豆到底為何物。納豆是日本一種傳統發酵豆製品,據說最早出現於彌生時代(​​公元前300年-250年),在日本流傳已有上千年歷史。

現今納豆的製造方法,一般會先用水泡發乾燥黃豆,再蒸煮,之後灑下納豆菌(一種棲息於稻草上的枯草桿菌)使黃豆性質產生變化,即所謂發酵過程。相較普通調理的黃豆,黏滑拉絲的發酵納豆含有更豐富的蛋白質、維生素B群、鋅、膳食纖維等成分,能增加腸道內益菌,促進消化功能,因此被譽為「超級食物」。

結合咖啡的新世代納豆「SOYFFEE」

沒嚐過的話或許很難想像,若用一句話來描述,「SOYFFEE」就是一款咖啡口味的納豆。外觀看上去是大粒納豆,卻無納豆獨特的氣味,反而帶有淡雅的咖啡香氣。與普通納豆相比,黏黏的白色菌絲較少,口感則和一般納豆無異,質地軟黏。

從原料到包裝的堅持 多元形式呈現

「SOYFFEE」的材料來源十分嚴謹,嚴選北海道產的特別栽培大粒黃豆,種植期間不使用化學肥料,只用機器和人工作業去除雜草。咖啡則是來自寮國產的純阿拉比卡咖啡豆。製作過程中僅添加沖繩產、富含礦物質的粗製糖,以及納豆菌,堅持使用天然調理法、有益身體的食材,加上包材選擇可重複利用的玻璃瓶,不僅友善環境,也令人吃得安心。

如今「SOYFFEE」發展出許多其他風味與形式——咖啡納豆「Original」、咖啡用量增加的「Original-Double」、額外添入蜂蜜甜韻更甚的「Original-Honey」、適合同果乾或糖果一起食用的乾燥版「Roasted」,以及低溫烘焙後、磨碎成細粉的納豆粉系列「Powder」。

從濕潤狀、乾燥狀到粉狀,選擇多樣化,不論搭配麵包、沙拉、甜點、優格、咖哩或義大利麵,鹹甜皆宜,吃法隨性自由。由於主原料是黃豆,茹素的人也很適合。

「SOYFFEE」系列商品,可以在官方網站或製造所兼Showroom「Shonan Soy Studio」店裡購得。

身為納豆新手的外國編輯真心話

如上述介紹,「SOYFFEE」的品項眾多,根據不同款項各有相對應的推薦吃法。以下分享編輯實際購入「Original-Double」和「Roasted Chocolate Block」的品嚐心得。

比起「Original」添加更多咖啡用量的「Original-Double」,與吐司、鮮奶油同享格外般配。編輯簡單把咖啡納豆灑在烤香的吐司上,和奶油起司一起食用,納豆黏稠的口感和軟嫩清爽的奶油起司非常相稱。咖啡味成功抑制了納豆原有的發酵氣味,口感上則偏像煮熟的豆子,柔軟細膩,帶有溫和甜味,如同菜餚。不過納豆軟黏的口感仍在,不喜愛黏呼呼質地的人可能還是吃不慣。

「Roasted Chocolate Block」則是與重視永續經營的京都巧克力專賣店「Dari K」,合作開發的素食小點心,是款能同時攝取蛋白質和納豆菌的健康巧克力。咖啡納豆淋上由印尼可可豆製成的78%巧克力。同時咬下甘甜而有嚼勁的咖啡納豆,和脆口苦甜的巧克力,在口中產生鮮明的對比。據說與濃郁的咖啡或紅酒都很合宜,編輯則嘗試與酸甜的優格與橘子一起食用,口感豐富而立體。

提倡綠色速食的發酵與黃豆外帶店「SOY BREWERY」

即便已經開發了一系列品項,小野岡先生創新的腳步依然未停。2022年4月,在同樣位於湘南地區、與大磯相隔兩站的茅崎市,開設了以發酵與黃豆為核心概念的外帶專賣店「SOY BREWERY」。

以「健康」、「永續經營」、「藝術設計」三導向出發,推出植物性飲食為主的菜單。原料主要使用「Shonan Soy Studio」開發、不添保存劑的納豆製品,搭配味噌、毛豆、素肉等其他黃豆食品,強調健康與美味兼具。

其中「味噌拿鐵」特別吸引編輯的目光。由昆布與鰹魚乾熬製的高湯,加入使用3年味噌與白味噌混合的味噌醬,最後沖入豆漿調製成。鹹香順口,是完全顛覆了想像的原創飲品。

另外編輯也嘗試照燒美乃滋(テリマヨ)、塔可(タコ)、佛(ブッダ)三種口味的墨西哥卷,以素肉為主,搭配納豆粉、新鮮菜蔬、和湘南在地產玄米、麴等健康食材,滋味豐富卻清爽,非常有飽足感。

為提供廉宜實惠價格,讓人人都能輕鬆享用,所有餐飲僅供外帶。從店鋪就能徒步到達鄰近的大磯海岸,為了讓附近的衝浪愛好者能享用健康早餐,自早上8:00便開始營業。

且呼應地球環保永續發展,店裡品項不使用塑膠包材,鼓勵大家自帶杯子。現點現做的熱食與飲料以外,也能在店裡購入前述介紹「SOYFFEE」的「Powder」系列。

重新定義日本傳統食品 納豆製造所 Shonan Soy Studio

2019年於神奈川縣中郡大磯町開幕的「Shonan Soy Studio」,身兼試吃所Showroom與製造工坊,力求將以黃豆為核心的日本傳統食品重新品牌化,開發嶄新的美味可能。

由鄰近大磯海岸的古民家改建成,原汁原味保留屋瓦木簷的老屋,外牆則刷白與深色暖簾相映,一樓的緣廊上隨意擺放軟墊子,海風徐徐,氛圍寧靜閒適,彷彿拜訪熟識的友人家。這裡可說是主理人小野岡圭太推廣納豆價值的據點。

牽起納豆與健康追求者的橋樑 創業家小野岡圭太

談及創辦「Shonan Soy Studio」緣由,一來是為了推廣健康飲食的重要性,二來則是想要讓更多人能喜愛納豆。

他曾推薦外國友人嘗試納豆,但大家嘗過以後接受度卻不高,甚至有人形容氣味如「連續穿3天的臭襪」。於是興起改良納豆的念頭,利用上班之餘埋首研究除去納豆臭味的方法,費時近兩年歲月,經過多次實驗與改良,他發現以咖啡完全取代水,藉由咖啡香來抑制發酵氣味效果最佳。

飲食不單是飲食 更是種生活態度

從咖啡口味的「SOYFFEE」到推廣健康享用速食的「SOY BREWERY(ソイブリュワリー)」,處處都能見到小野岡先生推廣日本傳統食品的願景,但其實改變現狀的熱望不僅限於日本國內,同時也希望能透過這些新型態的黃豆發酵食品,支援海外。

過往遊走開發中國家的旅行經驗,令他深刻感受到人與人之間存在的差距。日本的生活便捷,想去的地方、想吃的東西幾乎暢行無阻,甚至還有餘裕追逐夢想,然而並非所有國家的人都能過上如此生活。好比東南亞之中GDP最貧困國家之一的寮國,許多孩童從小就生活在蛋白質攝取不足的環境。

因此他在「Shonan Soy Studio」寄託品牌精神「BITE for BITE」(你的一口也能成為別人的一口),將一部分營業額購買黃豆,捐贈寮國;同時也在「Shonan Soy Studio」店內,提供寮國咖啡的樂捐試飲活動。

近期也開始與湘南地區的孩童食堂合作,為家庭經濟拮据的孩童供應黃豆,補充營養。期許能藉由自己的事業,為縮小世界各地人們因出生地與環境造就的差距貢獻一份心力。

嚐嚐獨一無二的咖啡納豆

若你吃過納豆但沒能留下美好回憶,或想嘗試卻遲遲跨不出第一步,納豆製造所「Shonan Soy Studio」或許有機會讓你改觀。

閱讀至此,是否讓你興起了嘗試咖啡納豆的念頭呢?目前「SOYFFEE」系列商品的購入管道,除了實際前往「Shonan Soy Studio」現場,也能在官方網站購得。曾對納豆敬而遠之的你,不妨從「SOYFFEE」的多樣化商品中挑選最符合心意的品項,發揮創意吃法,說不定你會從此愛上納豆唷!

▼欲了解更多小野岡圭太先生的人生故事,請繼續閱讀:
〈用無臭「咖啡納豆」改變世界!打破既有框架的納豆創業家・小野岡圭太〉

關東特輯

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

作者簡介

Fuchi
Fuchi Pan
來自炎熱南方,現居日本。書寫吃食器皿與設計況味,偶爾參雜些遊旅悸動。

搜尋餐廳

Natto of the Future! SOYFFEE Mixes Japan’s Famous Fermented Soybeans With Coffee

“Natto,” a fermented soybean delicacy from Japan, has been making a splash on the global health food scene owing to its high nutritional value. However, its potent aromas put many off, robbing them of the benefits of this remarkable superfood. Shonan Soy Studio, a natto producer on the coast of Sagami Bay in Kanagawa, aims to rectify this by mixing natto with coffee to create a treat all can enjoy. The resulting SOYFFEE pairs the nutrition of natto with the alluring fragrance of coffee, making it a great starting point to enhance your diet without suffering through the smell.

Kanagawa

Food & Drinks

Shop for made-in-Japan treasures - click to get 10% off your first order on our partner site BECOS

Natto: The Japanese Superfood With a Long History

Natto is one of Japan’s many fermented soybean products, with a history supposedly stretching back to the Yayoi Period (300 – 250 BC). While the country may have changed over the millennia, the love for natto remains the same.

The production of natto is very simple: dried soybeans are soaked and boiled in water before natto bacteria, often found in rice straw, is added and left to ferment. The resulting natto has a sticky, stringy texture and distinct aroma, with significantly more protein, vitamin B complex, zinc, and fiber than rival soybean products. Eating natto also increases the good bacteria in your gut, improving intestinal health. Owing to these benefits, natto is often dubbed a “superfood.”

SOYFFEE: Soybeans and Coffee For the Natto of the Future

The basic idea behind SOYFFEE was to create coffee-esque natto. On the surface, it looks like your typical natto, only with the smell replaced by the mild fragrance of coffee. While the aromas have changed, SOYFFEE still retains the soft texture of natto, although it isn’t as sticky as the regular variety.

Crafted With Care From Ingredients to Packaging

SOYFFEE is available in several different flavors and forms. Complementing the “Original” coffee natto is the “Original-Double” with twice as much coffee, along with the sweet “Original-Honey,” “Roasted,” which pairs well with dried fruits and candy, and “Powder,” made from crushed low-temperature roasted soybeans.

Being sticky, dry, or powdered, SOYFFEE goes with virtually any dish. From bread to salad, dessert, yogurt, curry, or pasta, a dash will elevate food to new heights. And because the main ingredient is soy, it is 100% vegetarian and vegan. Products can be purchased online or in-person at the Shonan Soy Studio showroom.

*Details about purchasing SOYFFEE can be found at the bottom of this article.

We Asked Our International Staff What They Think About SOYFFEE

As mentioned, there are many varieties of SOYFFEE and numerous ways of enjoying it. Our international editorial staff purchased the “Original-Double” and “Roasted Chocolate Block” to see if it really lives up to the hype.

Apparently, the extra-coffee “Original-Double” goes down a treat on toast or with fresh cream, so we opted for toast with cream cheese. The sticky natto paired perfectly with the soft, rich cream, while the coffee adroitly masked the strong aromas as advertised. Soft, delicate, and slightly sweet, SOYFFEE toast would make for a great pick-me-up between meals. However, we found that the trademark stickiness of natto somewhat remained, so those put off by the texture of regular natto may still find this a tough sell.

“Roasted Chocolate Block” is made in collaboration with Dari K, a Kyoto chocolatier with a focus on sustainability. It’s made from coffee natto covered in 78% cocoa chocolate from Indonesian cocoa beans, and is 100% vegetarian and packed with protein and natto bacteria. The crunchy natto and bittersweet chocolate forms a symphony of contrasting flavors. While best paired with strong coffee or wine, we sampled it with sour yogurt and orange, which yielded a heavenly mouthfeel.

SOY BREWERY: A Takeout Cafe With Sustainable Fast Food

Keita Onooka, the creator of SOYFFEE, is forever coming up with new ideas and businesses. In April 2022, he opened SOY BREWERY, a takeout cafe in Chigasaki specializing in fermented foods and soy-based products.

SOY BREWERY serves plant-based dishes designed around the ideas of “healthy eating,” “sustainability,” and “art.” Most of the ingredients come from Shonan Soy Studio, the producers of SOYFFEE, arranged into preservative-free natto products with miso, edamame beans, soy “meat,” and more.

Browsing the menu, the “Miso Latte” catches our eye. This intricate drink is made from  a broth of kelp and bonito flakes mixed with white miso and aged brown miso, finished off with soy milk to create a savory drink like you’ve never had before.

We also couldn’t resist the three types of burritos: Teriyaki-Mayo, Taco, and “Buddha,” all made from soy meat, powdered natto, fresh vegetables, genmai brown rice and koji malted rice from Shonan, and other natural ingredients. The tacos were refreshing, healthy, and satisfyingly filling. All the menu items are well priced, and available for take out. You can also purchase “Powder” SOYFFEE here too.

SOY BREWERY also does its part to protect the environment by not using any plastic wares and encouraging customers to bring their own cups. Opening at 8 am and within walking distance of the beach, the cafe has become a hit with local surfers looking to grab a nutritious breakfast before hitting the waves.

Shonan Soy Studio: Redefining Japan’s Traditional Dishes

Sitting within the town of Oiso in Naka District, Kanagawa Prefecture, Shonan Soy Studio (est. 2019) consists of a natto factory and tasting room. Their mission is to make Japan’s traditional soy dishes into a worldwide sensation while discovering new ways of enjoying them.

Shonan Soy Studio is housed within a remodeled traditional Japanese homestead right by the Oiso coastline. The distinctive original roof tiles remain, while the walls have been painted white to contrast with the dark “noren” curtain by the entrance. The 1st floor veranda is lined with cushions inviting patrons to sit and relax, making them feel as if they were visiting a friend’s home, rather than a shop.

Promoting Healthy Eating With Natto

Keita started his business with the desire to "promote the importance of healthy eating while making natto more accessible to the world.”

During his time studying abroad, he encouraged his international friends to try natto. However, many of them couldn’t get over the smell, often comparing it to "three-day-old socks.” Spurred on by these words, Keita spent two years developing a way to suppress the smell through trial and error. Ultimately, he discovered that coffee worked the best.

Natto: More Than Just a Health Food

Everything that Keita does, from the coffee-flavored SOYFFEE to the healthy fast food at SOY BREWERY, reflects his desire to "promote traditional Japanese food” here and abroad. He hopes to improve the health of people all over the world by introducing them to a new diet based on fermented soy products.

During his travels through developing countries, Keita became painfully aware of the disparities in how people lived. In contrast, life in Japan is remarkably convenient - you can go where you want, and eat as you like. If you have a dream, there are numerous ways to work towards making it a reality. However, not all people have this luxury. If you travel to, say, rural Laos, one of the poorest countries in Southeast Asia in terms of GDP, you will find children suffering from severe protein deficiencies and more.

That’s why Keita adopted "BITE for BITE” as the philosophy behind Shonan Soy Studio, using parts of his proceeds to purchase and donate soybeans to Laos, while organizing Laos coffee tasting events at his store.

The company also collaborates with local school cafeterias in the Shonan area, providing nutritional soybean supplements to children in need. This is part of Keita’s quest to correct the disparities stemming from birthplace and environment, both in and outside Japan.

The One and Only Coffee Natto

You can buy SOYFFEE products in-person at Shonan Soy Studio, or online through their official website. With a sizable assortment to choose from, you can easily find something that suits your palate. Who knows, maybe SOYFFEE will make a natto fan out of you after all!

For more on Keita Onooka’s story, check out the following article:

Keita Onooka - Changing the Way the World Views Natto Through Coffee

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

Kanto Feature

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

About the author

Fuchi
Fuchi Pan
Tokyo based Writer/ Editor. Passionate about food, travel, and learning something new. Strive to convey the hidden beauty of Japan through words and photography.

Restaurant Search