與海女的邂逅 ── 傳承千年歷史的日本傳奇潛水達人

身處在一個女性難以活出自我的過往世界裡,日本傳奇「海女」替自己寫下了輝煌的那一頁。這些受人尊敬的潛水達人身披純白的衣服,自古面朝大海深處,用她們的力量和千年的智慧激勵一代又一代的年輕女性。 筆者驅車前往偏遠的海女小屋「里海庵(さとうみ庵)」,會見在海女文化根深蒂固的三重縣志摩地區工作的海女Miyuki(みゆき)。對這個職業強烈熱情的推動下,Miyuki引導我們認識海女的傳統,並分享在現代日本成為海女的意義與困難之處。

三重

日本文化

何謂海女?日本無畏的「海之女」歷史

當我們第一次見到Miyuki時,她佇立在海女小屋,頭上綁著傳統的白色頭巾,身影被一扇俯瞰著大海的窗戶框住。「海女」在日語中的意思即是「海中的女人」,這個詞指的是傳統的女性潛水員,在不使用任何現代潛水設備或捕魚工具的幫助下,下潛到25公尺深的地方去採集貝類、鮑魚等海鮮, 和海藻以及珍珠為生。

Miyuki開始為我們準備午餐——由海女們親自捕獲的新鮮當地海鮮——海鮮用木炭烤架的方式烹飪,小屋裡瀰漫著誘人的香氣,作為海女的生活的點滴、前輩的故事在平靜的空間中迴盪。據說海女的歷史已經有2000到3000年的歷史。「在金字塔建造的時代,海女便已存在」,她自豪地向我們解釋著。

三重縣浦村町的一處考古遺址發現大量的鮑魚刮刀和鮑魚殼,這些工具和鮑魚殼可追溯回距今約3000年的海女們的活動。也就是說這個地區早在那個時候就有海女的存在。此外,在日本許多古文獻和文學裡也常常提到海女的存在,如於759年編纂的日本最古老的詩集《萬葉集》,以及完成於平安時代(794 - 1185)西元1002年的枕草子等。從奈良縣平城宮遺址出土的考古物品,如可追溯回745年的木牌和一些歷史文獻也證明,海女自古以來就為日本的古都和伊勢神宮提供豐富的自然食物。

相傳古代日本皇室大和姬命到訪三重鳥羽地區,前往在三重縣伊勢神宮供奉太陽神 天照大神時,被一位名叫Oben(おベン)海女提供的鮑魚的味道迷住。從那時起,鮑魚就成了伊勢神宮的供品。

因此海女不僅肩負著為皇室和朝廷取回海鮮的任務,還與日本最神聖的聖地之一有著密切的聯繫,在儀式上為神靈提供鮑魚。鮑魚是供奉神社賓客的膳食中的一個元素。流傳至今甚至成為遊客的紀念品!

雖然在明治時代(1868-1912)之前,採珍珠的海女比較罕見。但在近代,海女的歷史與三重縣最著名的寶藏有著深刻的交織。1893年,被譽為珍珠之王的日本企業家御木本幸吉發現一種製造養殖和珍珠的技術,並在三重縣鳥羽市建立他的豪華珍珠公司。他聘請海女運用他們的知識來幫助企業在國際上蓬勃發展。

傳統上,海女在潛水時只穿「褌(ふんどし)」,或是兜襠布和頭巾。但大約在珍珠產業開始蓬勃發展的時候,外國遊客開始會來觀察他們工作。他們便改穿一種名為「矶着」的全身白色傳統服裝。選擇白色是因為它具有吉祥的意義,在水下也能大幅度解放一個人的身體能力,並抵禦鯊魚和其他危險的海洋生物。隨著1950年代潛水服的發明,很大程度上受到當今海女們的青睞。他們還會另外加入單鏡面罩,以使他們在水下的時間更有效率。

幾千年來從未改變的是海女獨特的呼吸技術。「我可以潛水大約30秒。但也有能屏住呼吸長達三分鐘的海女。」Miyuki是這麼說的。

海女們會練習一種呼吸技巧,在這種技巧中,潛水員會過度換氣並進行最後一次深呼吸後下潛。由於過度換氣的關係,當他們從重新浮出水面時,會以一種獨特的長哨聲釋放空氣,稱為「磯笛(海哨)」。這種獨特的呼吸方式代代相傳,使他們能夠在長時間水裡的環境避免對肺部的傷害,並於1996年被日本環境省指定為日本令人難忘的日本音風景百選之一。

鼓舞人心的女性力量和獨立的象徵 - 海女職業的過去和未來

海女和大海共處,與不可比擬的力量和危險的自然共存。由於物理上而言女性的皮下脂肪含量較高,她們通常被認為能夠比男性更長時間地忍受海水極冷的溫度。通常海女會在12歲時開始接受訓練,並在70、80歲時仍保持活躍,通常身體狀況好的令人羨慕。

靠著獨特的技能和知識,海女能夠獲得可觀的收入,潛入大海深處尋找海洋美食。筆者與Miyuki共進午餐的過程中品嚐一種特殊的貝類-角蠑螺。她也告訴我們在過去,家族中有一位海女的話會被認為是擁有財富和寶藏的意象。作為一個備受尊重和獲取高薪的角色,家族會因為能夠保持這種傳統而感到自豪,也會鼓勵家族中的女性成員從事這個職業,而非一般的婦女身份。

過去,日本女性大多不被允許工作或自行決定自己人生,但是海女們能夠自力更生,並擁有受當地社區積極、尊重的社會地位。「海女憑著自己的能力和專業知識,達到的成就令人印象深刻。我很佩服這些獨立的女性,所以我也決定要成為一名海女。」Miyuki是這樣說的。

雖然仍有像Miyuki這樣,受到前輩強而有力的啟發,使日本海女的傳統得以延續。但海女的人數其實仍然正在逐年減少。根據鳥羽海民博物館的調查,1956年日本有17,611名海女,而到了2010年僅剩2,174名,而其中一半都在三重縣的鳥羽市或志摩市活動。

危及海女文化延續的因素有很多,高齡化和年輕人的不感興趣只是其中一項。漁業的現代化和商業化,以及隨之而來的海洋資源枯竭都對海女活動需求的減少造成不少影響,也威脅到海女的生活方式。與此同時,不斷變化的海洋環境和暖化的地球溫度,對以海藻為主要食物來源的貝殼等生態造成破話,以至海女捕獲的鮑魚數量也在急劇減少。

「如今,只靠當一名海女的工作是很難謀生的,但我們堅信必須保護自然,為子孫後代保護海洋。透過只取我們真正需要的,與海洋和諧相處,並致力於自然保護,我們便可以保持海女文化的活力。」

Miyuki堅信海女的可持續性捕魚模式是解決地球環境遭破壞的方案。幾個世紀以來,海女確保不過度採集太多海洋資源,嚴格限制捕獲的貝殼的大小以及所使用的設備,因過度捕撈會破壞支持著他們生計的同一生態系統。現今海洋保護政策正在實施,這些政策依法規範捕魚季節和貝殼大小,也限制在海女活動地區每天捕魚的頻率和時間。

這種女性潛水員的傳統除了日本和韓國,其他地方鮮少能看到。但近年來,這種傳承數千年也始終未改變其核心的文化開始受到國際關注。2017 年,被指定為日本重要的非物質民俗文化財產。自2007年起,日本和韓國海女們便開始在努力將其文化推入聯合國教科文組織的非物質文化遺產行列,以期保留這一寶貴的傳統並得到普遍認可。

在三重縣志摩地區與海女見面,聆聽他們寶貴的生活經歷

在過去的幾年裡,海女的存在也幫助振興當地社區,吸引許多海外遊客到日本人較偏僻的地區。海女成為志摩觀光的象徵,這個地區的旅游海報和小冊子都可以找到相關插圖。據志摩市旅遊協會指出,2018年遊客人數達到創紀錄的9,000人。

海女小屋體驗施設「里海庵(さとうみ庵)」被豐富的大自然所環繞,大海在眼前延展開來。這裡是一個持續推廣海女潛水的設施,讓遊客沉浸在海女獨特的捕魚社區和文化中,享受美味海鮮和海女們的熱情好客。海女小屋是海女們聚會和休息的地方,供海女準備、吃飯、圍火取暖,並在潛水前後進行社交和交流的場所,是海女生活方式的體現,簡單而熱情,散發著當地人的活力和熱情。

提供豐富、新鮮捕獲的海鮮饗宴只是這間小屋魅力的一部分,那股無法言喻的氣氛和真正的互動,構成它的魅力所在。感覺如同我們也是當地社區的一份子。和Miyuki圍坐在壁爐旁聊著天,聽著她對生活和海洋的寶貴經驗。

了解海女的珍貴故事和傳統

3000年以來,海女一直在實踐他們古老海上生活和自由潛水的傳統,他們過著危險而非凡的生活,尋找海洋中的自然寶藏。智慧和堅韌是深刻靈感的源泉,應該加以保存和注意。何不一邊品嚐美味的海鮮,一邊聆聽他們寶貴的生活故事呢?這些精力充沛的海女們擁有鋼鐵般的心和溫暖的天性,一定會讓你有賓至如歸的感覺!

中部特輯

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

作者簡介

Stefania
Stefania Sabia

搜尋餐廳

An Encounter With the Ama: Japan’s Legendary Female Divers with Thousand-Year-Old Traditions

In a world where women historically struggled to establish themselves stands the legendary figure of the Japanese “ama.” Cloaked in their sheer white garments, these revered divers faced the depth of the sea since ancient times, inspiring many generations of young women with their strength and thousand-year-old wisdom. We drove to the remote ama hut “Satoumian” to meet Miyuki, an ama diver working in the Shima area of Mie Prefecture, where the ama culture is deeply rooted. Pulled by a powerful passion for the profession, Miyuki guided us through the traditions of the ama and shared the meaning and difficulties of being an ama in modern-day Japan.

Mie

Japanese Culture

Buy Japanese Crafts Online click to get 10% off your first order - BECOS

Who Are the Ama? History of Japan’s Intrepid “Women of the Sea”

When we first met Miyuki, she was standing inside the ama hut, her hair veiled by the traditional white headscarf and her figure framed by a window overlooking the vast sea. “Ama” literally means “woman of the sea” in Japanese, a word referring to traditional female freedivers who descend to depths of up to 25 meters without the aid of any modern scuba equipment or fishing tools to collect seafood such as shellfish, abalone, and seaweed as well as pearls for a living.

As Miyuki started to lay our lunchーfresh, local seafood caught by the ama themselvesーon a charcoal grill, the hut filled with an inviting aroma and her narrative on her life as an ama and stories about her predecessors reverberated through the calming space. “The ama practices are said to be 2,000 or even 3,000 years old. At the time of pyramids, ama already existed,” she proudly explained to us.

An archaeological site in the town of Uramura in Mie Prefecture revealed a great number of abalone scraper tools and abalone shells ascribable to ama activities that were dated as approximately 3,000 years old, suggesting that ama existed in the area as far back as that time. Ama are also mentioned multiple times in the verses of the “Man’yoshu,” Japan’s oldest collection of poetry compiled sometime after 759, and in the “Makura no Soshi,” one of the most important works of literature of the Heian period (794 - 1185), completed in 1002. Wooden tablets dated to 745 that were excavated from the ruins of Heijo Palace in Nara Prefecture and several other historical documents also attest that ama supplied Japan’s ancient capitals and Ise Jingu with abundant food offerings since ancient times.

According to legend, Yamatohime-no-mikoto, an ancient Japanese royal who enshrined the sun goddess Amaterasu Omikami at Ise Jingu in Mie Prefecture, visited Mie’s Toba area and was fascinated by the taste of abalone offered by an ama called Oben. Since then, abalone has been presented as an offering at Ise Jingu.

So, not only were ama honored with the task of retrieving seafood for the Imperial family and court, but they also had close ties with one of Japan’s most sacred sites by providing the abalone used as food for the deities during ceremonies. Abalone was also an ingredient incorporated in the meals presented to the shrine guests. It even became a souvenir for visitors!

Although pearl diving ama were considered rare before the Meiji period (1868 - 1912), in more recent times, the history of ama became profoundly interwoven with that of Mie Prefecture’s most renowned treasure. In 1893, Mikimoto Kokichi discovered a technique to create cultured pearls and established his luxury pearl company in Mie’s Toba City. He then employed ama and their knowledge to help the business thrive and grow internationally.

Traditionally, ama would wear nothing but a “fundoshi” (loincloth) or a garment wrapped around their hips and a headscarf when diving, but it was around when the pearl industry began to flourish and foreign customers would come to observe them at work, that their full-body traditional white attire called “isogi” was introduced. White was chosen for its auspicious meaning and ability of magnifying a person’s figure when underwater, with the result of warding off sharks and other dangerous marine creatures. With the invention of wet suits in the 1950s, these became largely favored by present-day ama who also added single-lens masks to their diving ensemble in order to make their time underwater more efficient. 

What hasn’t probably changed for millennia is the ama’s unique breathing technique. “I can dive for about 30 seconds. But there are ama who can hold their breath for up to 3 minutes,” said Miyuki when inquired about it.

Ama practice a breathing technique in which the divers would hyperventilate, take a final deep breath, and then make the plunge. As a result of hyperventilation, ama release air in a distinctive, long whistle sound called “isobue” (beach whistle) once they resurface from a dive. This unique way of breathing, passed down for generations from elder to younger ama, allows them to avoid damage to their lungs, and in 1996, it was also designated as one of Japan’s memorable 100 Soundscapes by the Japanese Ministry of the Environment.

An Inspiring Symbol of Women’s Strength and Independence - The Past and Future of the Ama Profession

Ama lived with the sea, coexisting with nature of incommensurable power and peril. They were believed to be able to endure the extremely cold temperatures of sea water longer than men due to women’s higher content of subcutaneous fat. They would usually start their training as early as 12 years old and remain active well into their 70s and 80s, often in enviable physical condition.

Only relying on their skills and knowledge, ama were able to earn a remarkable income diving into the depths of the sea in search for marine delicacies. We tried one, the turban shell, during the course of our lunch with Miyuki as she was telling us how, in the past, having an ama in your household was considered synonymous with wealth and fortune. Being a highly respected and well-paid role, families were proud to keep such traditions alive and would rather prefer their female members to learn the profession than being relegated to the domestic space.

Ama were capable of self-support and had an active, highly relevant position in their local community in times when Japanese women were mostly not allowed to work or decide for themselves. “It’s impressive what ama could do and achieve solely with the power of their own ability and expertise. I admire these independent women very much, so I decided to become an ama myself.”

Although there are still people like Miyuki who, inspired by her precursors’ powerful message, keep the traditions of Japan’s women of the sea alive, the number of ama divers is declining. According to a survey by the Toba Sea-Folk Museum, there were 17,611 ama in Japan in 1956, while in 2010, only 2,174 were left and half of them were diving in Mie Prefecture’s Toba City or Shima City.

Multiple factors endanger the continuation of the ama culture, with aging and the new generations’ disinterest being just a couple of them. The modernization and commercialization of fishery, with the consequent depletion of marine resources and dwindling demand for their activity, also threaten the ama way of life. At the same time, the changing ocean environment and warmer temperatures have taken a toll on the seaweed acting as the main source of sustenance for seashells, so much so that the number of abalones caught by ama divers is also dramatically shrinking.

“Nowadays, it’s very difficult to make a living by only working as an ama, but we stand by the belief that nature must be protected and the sea preserved for future generations. By taking only what we really need, living in harmony with the sea, and working towards nature conservation, we can keep the ama culture alive.”

Miyuki is adamant that the ama’s sustainable model of fishing is the solution. For centuries, ama made sure not to collect too many marine resources at one time, restricting the size of seashells caught as well as the equipment they utilize, as overfishing would damage the very same ecosystem that supported their livelihoods. Today, policies for sea protection are being implemented which regulate the fishing season and shell size by law, as well as limit the frequency and duration of fishing per day in areas where ama fishing is practiced.

The tradition of such female freedivers did not exist anywhere outside of Japan and Korea. But in recent years, this culture that has been passed down for thousands of years without changing its core methods has started gaining international attention. In 2017, it was finally designated as an Important Intangible Folk Cultural Property of Japan and since 2007, efforts to register Japanese ama and Korean haenyeo as UNESCO’s Intangible Cultural Heritage are ongoing in hopes of preserving this valuable tradition and making it universally recognized.

Meet the Ama and Listen to Their Invaluable Life Experiences in Mie Prefecture’s Shima Area

Over the last few years, the presence of ama has also helped revitalize local communities and attract overseas visitors to off-the-beaten-path areas of Japan. Ama became a symbol of Shima sightseeing and illustrations can be found on many tourist posters and pamphlets in the area which, according to the Shima City Tourism Association, noted a record number of 9,000 visitors in 2018.

Surrounded by rich nature, with the sea stretching right before your eyes, Amagoya (Ama Hut) Satoumian is a facility sustaining the promotion of ama diving by allowing visitors to immerse themselves in the ama’s unique fishing communities and culture and enjoy Shima’s scrumptious seafood and hospitality. “Amagoya,” or ama huts, are places of gathering and rest for ama to prepare, eat, warm themselves around the fire, and socialize before and after their diving sessions. They’re the embodiment of the ama’s way of life, simple yet welcoming, and they exude the energy and warm personality of the locals.

The abundant, freshly-caught seafood banquet on offer is only the tip of this hut’s appeal, as the atmosphere and genuine interactions make up the bigger portion of its charm. Feeling as though we were part of the local community, we sat around the fireplace with Miyuki, chatting and listening to her invaluable experiences of life and sea.

Learn About Ama Divers’ Precious Stories and Traditions

Ama divers have practiced their ancient sea foraging and free-diving traditions for around 3,000 years, living perilous and remarkable lives in search for treasures of the sea. Their wisdom and tenacity are a source of profound inspiration that should be preserved and taken note of. So, why not indulge in delicious seafood while listening to their invaluable stories of life? These vigorous women have hearts of gold and, with their warm nature, will be sure to make you feel at home!

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

Chubu Feature

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

About the author

Stefania
Stefania Sabia

Restaurant Search