您知道擁有千年歷史的「京唐紙」嗎?木版手工印刷的傳統紋樣之美

各位在造訪京都時,應該都曾在寺院的襖(隔扇)和飯店的壁紙等地方,看過美麗的日本紋樣吧。不過您知道嗎?這些紋樣也許是京都的傳統工藝品「京唐紙」喔。所謂的京唐紙,是在刻有日本傳統紋樣的版木上蓋上塗料,然後用手掌一張一張地精心印製而成。這次我們造訪了從1902年(明治35年)創立至今的京唐紙專賣店「丸二」,接下來就為各位介紹京唐紙的歷史、特色,以及其獨具一格的魅力所在吧!

京都

日本文化

Klook.com

京唐紙的歷史

唐紙是一種透過特殊工法所製作的裝飾用紙,在距今約1300年前,由遣唐使從中國帶回日本。據說唐紙在當時十分稀有,是少數上流階級用來寫信或是撰寫和歌的紙張。

進入平安時代後,在當時日本的首都京都,建造了日本第一座造紙廠「紙屋院」。之後帶有紋樣的唐紙開始出現,而這正是「京唐紙」的前身。

唐紙原本作為文具之用,隨著日本國內的產量增加,唐紙也逐漸運用在住宅、寺院等處的襖(隔扇)與障子(拉門)等室內裝飾品之中,尤其是襖特別常見。到了江戶時代,唐紙終於進入庶民的生活之中,唐紙襖也跟著普及。

時至今日,無論是飯店、餐飲店等充滿現代感的空間之中的壁紙,或是燈具、藝術造型板等室內擺飾等,都可以見到唐紙的蹤影。這些唐紙都是從擁有百年以上歷史的版木,以自古流傳至今的手工印製方式所製作而成。

唐紙的製作方式

京からかみの製造工程

唐紙是一種木刻版畫,製作方式為在刻有傳統紋樣的版木上蓋上塗料,然後一張一張地手工轉印在和紙上。至於塗料的濃度與色澤,則會視當天的濕度與氣溫來進行微調。如果是使用在襖等處的大開唐紙,必須更換版木的位置12次,藉此印出連續的紋樣,因此在印製時必須十分細心,以免紋樣的位置有所偏離。此外,為了讓唐紙呈現出膨鬆的質感,會將同樣的紋樣在同一個位置印上兩次。也就是說,要印製一張大開的唐紙,就必須調整版木和紙張的位置24次。

手工製作的唐紙印製過程細膩,必須仰賴職人的直覺與經驗,其獨特的膨鬆質感,可不是機械印刷所能做到的。而這種手工打造的溫暖質感,正可說是唐紙最吸引人的地方。

唐紙的材料

塗料(海蘿、雲母、胡粉)

唐紙的塗料,是在花崗岩的結晶「雲母」粉,以及由曬乾的貝殼所磨成的「胡粉」之中,放入乾燥後再經過熬煮的「海蘿」所製成。雲母具有獨特的光澤與白色的色澤,可以讓唐紙反射出有如珍珠般的雅緻光彩。胡粉則是具有消光的作用。

・鳥之子紙

丸二主要使用福井縣越前市所生產的「鳥之子紙」來製作襖。越前鳥之子紙是使用瑞香科的植物「雁皮」所製作的高級和紙,特色在於平滑帶有光澤,而且相當堅韌。

・版木

以手工一筆一劃刻上傳統紋樣的版木。特色在於刻紋頗深,以便職人用手掌將紋樣印在紙上。使用柔軟易加工,而且耐磨的日本厚朴製成。

・篩子

這種篩子是一種在木框貼上紗布的唐紙製作工具,用來將塗料蓋在版木上。使用方式為拿著篩子輕輕敲打,讓塗料均勻地蓋在版木紋樣的凸出部位上。

唐紙的製作過程

1. 將乾燥的海蘿用水浸泡後煮過,注意不要讓海蘿燒焦,將其用來作為塗料的接著劑。

2. 將海蘿濾渣後倒入杵臼,與雲母、胡粉、顏料一同拌勻。

3. 用刷毛將塗料移到篩子上。

4. 輕敲篩子,讓塗料蓋在版木上。

5. 將紙放在版木上。如果是使用在襖等處的大開唐紙,必須移動版木的位置12次,藉此印出連續的紋樣,這時必須先做好記號,將紙放在正確的位置。

6. 以手掌劃圓,讓塗料轉印在紙上。

7. 再次將篩子裡的塗料蓋在版木上,讓同樣的紋樣在同一個位置印第二次。

8. 自然乾燥後即大功告成。

呈現出時代背景與生活形態的紋樣設計

每個時代所流行的京唐紙紋樣,會隨著房間用途、一家之主的社會地位等因素而有所不同。以整體而言,初期的紋樣受到中國影響,感覺較為嚴肅;至於江戶時代之後新的紋樣,則融入了日本的自然現象,感覺較為柔和。

而受到宮廷貴族喜愛的「有職紋樣」,除了王朝文化所孕育出的優雅氣氛外,設計上也相當洗練,大多運用在宅邸的室內擺飾之中。至於寺院方面,則偏好適合寬敞空間的巨幅紋樣與雲朵紋樣,武家則是喜好象徵地位與權威的嚴肅紋樣。而在茶道方面,則是偏好細緻洗練的設計,大量採用植物的紋樣,尤其以桐樹紋樣最為常見。

從上圖的「光悅桐」可以看出,江戶時代的紋樣深受本阿彌光悅及尾形光琳所培育的「琳派藝術」影響。

只要觀察紋樣,就能想像當時的時代背景與人們的生活型態,而這也是唐紙的魅力之一。

不同的紋樣具有不同的意義

每個紋樣都具備其不同的意義,而這次tsunagu Japan編輯將以丸二的辦公室與工坊中的紋樣為例,為各位介紹其中的意義。

首先是第一張照片中的「丸紋」。日本自古以來就認為「丸」具有「溫和」之意,因此在圓形的紋樣中蘊含著「一切圓融」的意義。

第二張照片是大家所熟悉的「櫻花」。櫻花(sakura)是日本自古以來就深受喜愛的花種,不過您知道嗎?其實「sa」代表的是田神,「kura」指的則是神明所在之處,sakura本身就具有五穀豐穰之意。

第三張照片是「菊花」。菊花曾在中國被視為藥物,據說喝泡過菊花的水即可治病,因此菊花紋樣具有「健康長壽」的意義。

以傳統手法製作唐紙的「京唐紙 丸二」

這次接受我們採訪的「京唐紙 丸二」,創立於明治35年,從事襖門、裝裱(屏風、掛軸、裱框等)、室內裝飾材料的批發業,同時經營京唐紙工坊,主要以寺院神社、茶室、一般住宅等的襖紙與壁紙為對象,提供唐紙的製作販售及施工服務。

據說在京都,只有兩家公司會使用自古傳承至今的版木,並運用代代相傳的材料與工法來製作唐紙,而丸二正是其中之一。丸二守護著自平安時代以來在京都傳承至今的傳統工藝「京唐紙」,並將其魅力融入現代的生活型態之中予以推廣,在京唐紙領域中扮演十分重要的角色。

180年前的版木!透過約300塊版木傳承至今的傳統紋樣

丸二目前擁有約300塊版木,其中有一半目前仍在使用。在這些版木之中,許多已有百年以上的歷史,讓丸二得以將以往的傳統紋樣,直接引進現代生活之中。

上圖是丸二目前擁有的版木中,歷史最為悠久的一塊,是在185年前的天保8年所製造。據說直到2~3年前,丸二都還會用這塊版木來製造唐紙。這些珍貴的版木歷經多次修理或是用來製作復刻版,至今仍傳承著其歷史。

丸二對於唐紙未來所寄託的信念

丸二認為唐紙是一種「室內裝潢材料」,除了襖和壁紙外,也開發了像是藝術造型板等室內擺飾產品,使其可以融入現代生活型態之中。而且除了茶室、寺院神社等傳統建築外,就連「柊家 本館」、「虹夕諾雅 京都」、「京都麗思卡爾頓酒店」、「ROKU KYOTO」等知名飯店與旅館,也都採用了丸二的京唐紙和仿自版木的浮雕,來作為其室內擺飾。

「雖然已經是老生常談了,不過『傳統和革新』真的很重要。」西村社長說。「我們的傳統,指的是打從平安時代,就創造並且傳承至今的工法。紋樣可說是一種由傳統累積而來的集合體。我希望能夠珍惜一直以來的材料和工法,並且繼續傳承下去。而在革新方面,我們則是提出符合現代需求與生活型態的運用方式。開發適合現代生活的產品也是很重要的。我希望可以在顧及傳統與堅持的平衡下,將京唐紙推廣出去。」

在這個重視獲利與效率的精密印刷技術不斷發展的時代,卻仍保存著已有千年以上歷史的傳統工法,真可說是一種十分罕見的現象。為了讓京唐紙在保有原本的價值下流傳後世,想必丸二今後仍會持續推動革新吧。

在丸二所經營的設施「唐丸」,輕鬆體驗京唐紙的製作過程!

在丸二旗下的設施「唐丸」,您可以輕鬆體驗京唐紙的製作過程。在以初學者為對象的明信片製作體驗中,您可以挑選自己喜歡的版木(紋樣)和紙張,自行調配塗料的顏色,親手體驗印刷的過程。而在藝術造型板製作體驗中,甚至有機會使用百年以前的版木來製作喔!只要參加這些體驗課程,就能細細品味擁有千年歷史的傳統工藝深奧之處,親手打造一個自己喜歡的伴手禮喔。

群眾募資實施中!
京唐紙丸二的「在家製作唐紙體驗套組」(僅有英文版)

關西特輯

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

作者簡介

tsunagu
tsunagu Japan
tsunagu Japan官方帳號。
Klook.com

搜尋餐廳

Kyo Karakami: Traditional Japanese Wood Block Printing With Over 1,000 Years of History

If you have ever spotted elegant patterns on sliding doors or wallpaper in Kyoto, chances are they're “Kyo karakami.” One of the city’s traditional crafts, Kyo karakami is made by applying paint onto wood blocks with traditional Japanese designs and printing them onto paper. To learn more about this exquisite artform, we visited Kyo karakami specialist Maruni, who boast a history stretching all the way back to 1902!

Kyoto

Japanese Culture

Help tsunagu write guidebook to restaurants in Japan! - CLICK TO LEARN MORE

The History of Kyo Karakami

“Karakami” is a decorative paper made using techniques imported from China by Japanese envoys during the Tang Dynasty around 1,300 years ago. At first, the extremely rare karakami paper was only used by a limited number of upper-class people to write letters and poetry.

During the Heian period (794-1185), Japan's first paper mill, Kamiya-in, was established in Kyoto, the capital at the time. Afterwards, patterned karakami began to appear in the city, considered the prototype of Kyo karakami.

Karakami first gained popularity as stationery, expanding to interior decoration as domestic production increased. It found particular popularity as paper screens for sliding doors in residences and temples. During the Edo period (1603-1868), sliding doors adorned with karakami became accessible to the general population, rapidly spreading across the country.

Nowadays, karakami is seen in a wide range of new applications, including wallpaper, lighting fixtures, and art panels in hotels and restaurants. Despite being made in modern times, authentic karakami is still hand printed using 100-year-old techniques.

How Is Karakami Made?

京からかみの製造工程

Karakami is a type of print made by applying paint to wood blocks carved with traditional patterns to be hand-printed onto “washi” paper. The density and hue of the paint are adjusted according to the humidity and temperature of the day.

For large prints used in sliding doors, the wood block paint is applied 12 times, making it of utmost importance to avoid misalignment and preserve the uniformity of the pattern. In addition, patterns are printed twice on the same spot to achieve a fuller finish. This means a karakami wood block is applied a total of 24 times to one sheet of sliding door paper, leaving no room for error.

Karakami is made by hand, a delicate process requiring the intuition and experience of professional craftspeople. This yields a uniquely warm, three-dimensional texture that cannot be produced by machine printing, one of its biggest draws.

The Ingredients of Kyo Karakami

・Paint (Funori, Mica, Gofun)

Karakami paints are made by mixing powdered “mica,” a type of crystal found in granite, with “gofun,” a white pigment made from ground sun-dried seashells, along with “funori,” a glue born from dried and boiled seaweed. Mica has an eye-catching luster and milkiness to it, reflecting as elegantly as pearls. Gofun, on the other hand, is favored for its matte finish.

・Torinoko Paper

Kyo karakami maker Maruni uses “torinoko” paper for their sliding doors, which is mainly produced in the city of Echizen, Fukui Prefecture. Echizen torinoko is a high-grade Japanese paper made from the gampi plant, which belongs to the thymelaeaceae family. The paper is characterized by its smoothness, shine, and durability.

・Printing Block

Printing blocks are created by individually hand-carving traditional patterns onto wood. The designs are carved deeply, allowing craftspeople to apply the patterns by placing paper over the wood block and sliding their hand over it. The wood of the magnolia tree, which is soft, easy to process, and resistant to friction, is used to make these blocks.

・Furui Sieve

A “furui” is a type of sieve unique to karakami. Made from a round wooden frame covered with gauze, it’s used to apply paint onto the wood blocks. Holding the sieve and tapping it gently, the craftspeople can cover the protruding wood block patterns evenly with paint.

The Process of Making Karakami

1. To make the paint, first cook the funori seaweed in water, making sure not to burn it. This will become the adhesive.

2. Strain the funori and mix it with mica, gofun, and other pigments in a mortar.

3. Transfer the paint to the furui with a brush.

4. Using the furui, transfer the paint gently onto the wood block.

5. Place the paper on the wood block. For large sizes such as sliding door paper, the wood block will be pressed 12 times to create a continuous pattern, so the paper has to be aligned carefully along marks made in advance.

6. Slide the palm of your hand over the paper in a circular motion.

7. Transfer more paint onto the wood blocks and reprint the pattern in the same spots.

8. Let it dry naturally to finish.

Designs Reflecting Lifestyles and Historical Backgrounds

Kyo karakami patterns tend to differ depending on the role of the room they’re adorning and the social status of the master of the house. Generally, it’s said that early karakami patterns had a kind of hardness to them, influenced by their continental origin. In comparison, newer karakami patterns from the Edo period onward are softer, incorporating Japanese-style natural phenomena into their aesthetic.

“Yusoku” patterns were used in aristocratic residences because of their elegant, court-inspired motifs and sophisticated designs. Temples, on the other hand, favored large patterns suitable in open spaces and those representing clouds, while the warrior class prefered harder designs that symbolized status and authority. Meanwhile, practitioners of the tea ceremony sought out delicate, refined designs and plant patterns, especially those of the paulownia tree.

As shown in the above "Koetsu Paulownia" pattern, Edo period karakami designs were strongly influenced by the “Rinpa” school of art fostered by Hon'ami Koetsu and Ogata Korin.

The true allure of karakami lies in their patterns providing a window into the historical backgrounds and lifestyles of their time, serving as informative chronicles.

The Meaning of Each Karakami Pattern

Karakami patterns each have their own meaning, often with fascinating origins. Here are some of the designs we encountered at Maruni!

In the first photo above, we see the “marumon” pattern. In Japan, “maru” means “round” or “circle,” and has long been associated with the idea of “harmony” (“nagomi” in Japanese). As such, the pattern is said to represent “peace and harmony amongst people.”

The second photo displays the “sakura” cherry blossom pattern. Cherry blossoms have been adored in Japan for centuries, and it’s said that the “sa” in “sakura” represents the deity of rice fields and "kura" is where the deity resides. As a result, cherry blossoms are said to be connected to good harvests.

The third photo is the “chrysanthemum” pattern. In ancient China, this flower was used as a medicine, and it was believed that drinking chrysanthemum-infused water could cure illness. Naturally, the chrysanthemum came to represent “health and longevity.”

Kyo Karakami Maruni: Handcrafting With Traditional Techniques

Kyo Karakami Maruni, founded in 1902, is a wholesaler of sliding door fittings, paper goods (folding screens, hanging scrolls, frames, etc.), and interior design materials. The company also has its own Kyo karakami workshop, where it produces, sells, and installs sliding door and wallpaper karakami for temples, shrines, tea rooms, and residential houses.

There are only two companies in Kyoto, including Maruni, that manufacture karakami with traditional materials and techniques. Using wood blocks handed down generation to generation, they strive to preserve this traditional craft that has existed in Kyoto since the Heian period. At the same time, Maruni is helping karakami find its place in the modern world amidst contemporary lifestyles.

Over 180 Years Old! Traditional Patterns Passed Down Through 300 Wood Blocks

Maruni currently has around 300 wood blocks in its collection, half of which are still in use. Many were made over a hundred years ago, allowing Maruni to directly import patterns from the past into the modern world.

This is the oldest wood block in Maruni's collection, dating back a whopping 185 years to 1837, and was still in active use until two or three years ago. These priceless wood blocks are lovingly passed down from one artisan to the next, continuously being restored and reused for printing.

Maruni’s Commitment to the Future of Karakami

Maruni considers karakami "interior decoration material," and has developed karakami products that seamlessly blend into modern lifestyles, such as lighting fixtures (lampshades), art panels, and more, along with classics like sliding doors and wallpaper. In addition to traditional establishments like tea rooms and temples, Maruni's paper and reliefs molded from wood blocks are also seen in famous hotels and inns such as Hiiragiya, Hoshinoya Kyoto, The Ritz-Carlton Kyoto, and ROKU KYOTO.

“As is often said, tradition and innovation are equally important,” says CEO Nishimura.

“Tradition refers to the techniques that have been developed and passed down since the Heian period. Karakami patterns are a collection of these accumulated traditions. We would like to continue passing on these materials and techniques that have been used with great care for centuries. Innovation, on the other hand, is using products in ways that meet modern needs and lifestyles. It is equally important to develop products that are easy to use in today’s world. We hope to popularize Kyo karakami while maintaining a balance between tradition and innovation.”

In a world where next-generation printing techniques are being developed with an emphasis on efficiency and low cost, it is all the more important to continue honoring these ancient techniques to ensure they remain unforgotten. Through our visit to Maruni, we’re confident they will lead the way in preserving the soul of Kyo karakami for future generations.

Make Your Own Kyo Karakami at Maruni's Karamaru Facility!

Visitors can casually try their hand at Kyo karakami at Maruni’s “Karamaru” facility. In the postcard-making experience for beginners, you can choose your favorite wood blocks (patterns) and paper, mix your own paints, and enjoy the process of authentic hand printing. In the art panel-making experience, you can use wood blocks that are more than 100 years old! Designing your own personalized souvenir is the perfect way to discover the charm of this ancient Japanese craft!

Maruni is crowdfunding!
Click here for more information about the “Kyo Karakami Make-It-Yourself Kit” from Kyo Karakami Maruni

 

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

Kansai Feature

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

About the author

tsunagu
tsunagu Japan
This is tsunagu Japan's official account.

Restaurant Search