講究的店家齊聚於此!在咖啡之街清澄白河度過悠閒的一天

您去過日本的咖啡廳嗎?筆者來自越南,移居日本已經邁入第三個年頭,剛到日本的時候,我以為日本只有像是DOUTOR、TULLY'S、星巴克等總是人擠人的連鎖咖啡店,只會在狹窄的空間裡擺幾張小小的桌椅而已。不過實際上,日本其實有很多個人經營、既時尚又充滿安詳氣氛的咖啡廳。而近年來備受矚目的東京清澄白河,就是聚集了許多這類咖啡廳的地方。喜歡咖啡廳的我,為了了解這些咖啡廳落腳於清澄白河的理由,並且順道品味咖啡,而親身走訪了一趟清澄白河。以下就是我走訪咖啡之街清澄白河的一日之旅,希望可以提供給各位作為參考!

東京

美食

咖啡與美術之街!清澄白河的歷史

清澄白河位於東京東部,就在江東區的隅田川附近。清澄白河曾是名為「深川」的下町。在成為知名的咖啡與美術之街之前,深川已經是有名的寺院聚集地,因此又被稱為「深川寺町」。目前這一帶仍保留了約70座寺院。

除了擁有眾多寺院外,清澄白河在江戶時代搭建了許多倉庫,用來保管大規模都市開發所需的木材、燃料、日常用品等重要原物料。當時這一帶可是原物料運輸與流通的中心呢。到了第二次世界大戰結束後,這裡成為了住宅與小工廠並存的典型下町。

現在的清澄白河為何會有這麼多咖啡廳?

都市重建結束後,原本的倉庫一一功成身退,不再有人使用。而改變這個趨勢的,就是於1995年開館的「東京都現代美術館」。美術館為了保管作品,必須確保寬敞的空間才行。正是因為這個緣故,天花板高、樑柱少、空間寬廣的倉庫,正好可以滿足美術館的需求。
東京都現代美術館開館後,周遭開始出現以倉庫改裝而成的藝廊,這也使得清澄白河吸引了更多的美術愛好者。在上述發展下,清澄白河就此成為了知名的「美術之街」。時至今日,這些倉庫除了被改裝成美術藝廊外,也有許多倉庫搖身成為咖啡煎焙廠。這一帶有許多河川,只要將導風管設置在面河的位置,就可以避免煎焙咖啡時影響到附近的居民。

清澄白河最老的咖啡廳開張於2004年,不過咖啡廳的數量開始大幅成長,則是在美國知名的咖啡品牌「藍瓶咖啡」,於2015年2月在清澄白河開設日本第一家分店之後(現在的店名是「清澄白河Flagship Cafe」)。這件事廣受媒體關注,也使得清澄白河逐漸打開其「咖啡之街」的知名度。了解這段歷史後讓我更想來杯咖啡了,於是我動身前往清澄白河,實地走訪了當地的咖啡廳!

清澄白河獨具特色的咖啡廳與咖啡專賣店

fukadaso cafe:由屋齡50年的公寓兼倉庫改裝而成的咖啡廳

第一站的「fukadaso cafe」,是一間由屋齡50年的公寓兼倉庫改裝而成的咖啡廳。在了解了清澄白河的歷史後,這家咖啡廳吸引了我的目光,於是我動身前往,希望能親眼見識一下這家由倉庫改裝而成的咖啡廳。

fukadaso cafe位於從清澄白河車站A3出口,步行約5分鐘距離的地方。從車站出發後不久,我就看見一棟外牆是白色鐵皮,鐵鏽散發出一種老舊氣息,外表看似倉庫的建築物。

這次我採訪了店長佐藤小姐。店長佐藤小姐告訴我,這棟房子是她的祖父深田先生所搭建的。這棟2層樓的建築在轉型為現在的咖啡廳之前,1樓原本是倉庫,2樓則是讓親人來訪時可以在此過夜的公寓。這棟房子原本要全部打掉重建,不過與改裝業者討論過後,為了維持建築物古老的氣息與原本就別具魅力的外貌,而採用了保留原本骨架,實施老化加工來予以改建的方式。

第一次造訪這裡,最令我感到印象深刻的就是fukadaso cafe的外貌了。帶有鐵鏽的鐵皮牆老舊模樣,讓人感受到這棟建築與清澄白河之間悠久的歷史。店裡空間寬敞,通風良好,使用的是懷舊風格的桌椅。有些桌子是用老舊的衣櫃製作而成,呈現出一種懷舊的異世界風情,在聚集了最新事物的喧囂東京可說十分罕見。

這天我點的綜合咖啡風味甘醇,相當好喝。起司蛋糕則是口感酥鬆,味道雅緻,鬆餅的濃郁與奶油的鮮味,搭配咖啡的苦澀可說是絕配。
除了主力商品咖啡以外,這裡也提供藍莓鬆餅、超司蛋糕、司康等餐點。我個人非常喜歡店裡的裝潢與氣氛。除了可以喝杯咖啡放鬆身心外,能夠感受清澄白河的歷史與風情,也是fukadaso cafe的魅力之一。如果您想在東京都尋找一間懷舊風格的時尚咖啡廳與休息空間,絕對不可以錯過這家店。

ARiSE COFFEE ROASTERS:可以品味15~20種咖啡豆的咖啡專賣店

第二站是會在店裡煎焙咖啡豆,為客人提供手沖咖啡的「ARiSE COFFEE ROASTERS」。這裡是一家對咖啡豆十分講究的的人氣咖啡專賣店,ARiSE COFFEE ROASTERS是一間位於十字路口旁的小店家,和fukadaso cafe之間距離不到100m。第一眼見到這家店時,那小巧的模樣令我十分驚訝。店裡的空間只有6坪上下,櫃台上擺著巨大的煎焙機和煎焙豆,另外還有4人座的長椅和兩張小椅子。

店長林先生是一位煎焙師。在開設ARiSE COFFEE ROASTERS之前,他曾在東京的山下咖啡這家煎焙中盤商,從事煎焙師的工作10年,之後參與The Cream of the Crop Coffee的創立過程,也曾擔任煎焙咖啡豆和招呼客人的工作。他在2013年獨立創業,創立了ARiSE COFFEE ROASTERS。為什麼會選擇在清澄白河開店呢?林先生告訴我:「因為我的興趣是滑滑板。清澄白河有很多條路適合滑滑板,我可以滑滑板來店裡,這對我來說是很理想的地方。」這理由還真是讓人意外。林先生和清澄白河已經有22年的淵源。

店裡有許多我從未體驗過的新鮮事。例如這家店只提供一樣菜單,也就是手沖咖啡,而且是經過店長和客人討論來決定咖啡豆的種類。客人要告訴店長自己的喜好,並且從多明尼加、哥倫比亞、越南、菲律賓等15~20種咖啡豆中挑選一種。如果是第一次喝單一產區的咖啡,不曉得該選哪種咖啡豆才好的話,建議可以跟林先生討論一下。我跟林先生說不想喝自己國家越南的咖啡豆,而是想試試其它種類,於是他推薦我店裡最受歡迎的多明尼加咖啡豆。這是我第一次喝多明尼加咖啡豆的手沖咖啡,酸味和苦味都不強烈,喝起來香醇順口。

另外令我感到訝異的,就是原本看起來有點狹窄的空間,在踏進店裡後,卻給人一種親切的感覺,身處其中十分自在。林先生的理想就是開一家充滿開放感的咖啡廳,讓客人可以輕鬆談天說地。實際上也的確是如此,當我坐在ARiSE COFFEE ROASTERS的長椅上,馬上就跟林先生聊起咖啡和清澄白河等話題,感覺就像是已經來過好幾次的熟客。

林先生知道我是越南人後,就熱情地向我介紹他住在越南大叻的日本朋友所挑選的咖啡,還告訴我最近在ARiSE COFFEE ROASTERS,越南咖啡豆賣得非常好。林先生說近年來,他一直在努力推廣泰國、寮國、菲律賓等在日本不是很有知名度的優質亞洲咖啡豆。如果您已經喝膩巴西、哥倫比亞等南美各國的咖啡豆,或是想嘗試看看新的咖啡豆,建議一定要到ARiSE COFFEE ROASTERS來看看,保證一定可以在這找到很棒的咖啡豆喔!

清澄白河有許多咖啡廳和咖啡店,其中ARiSE COFFEE ROASTERS擁有很多自己的粉絲。據說會來這裡買咖啡豆的大多是當地居民,不過也有許多為了喝一杯店裡所煎焙的咖啡,而專程從其它府縣或海外來訪的客人。

清澄白河還有一個特色。那就是這一帶雖然有很多咖啡廳和咖啡店,但是店家之間並不會費盡心思爭奪客人,而是為了促進清澄白河的發展而攜手合作。舉例來說,ARiSE COFFEE ROASTERS這家自家煎焙咖啡專賣店只提供黑咖啡,如果遇到想喝拿鐵的客人,林先生就會介紹藍瓶咖啡等其它店家。其它咖啡廳如果碰到客人想喝罕見的單一產區咖啡,也會推薦客人到ARiSE試試。也正是因為這種融洽的關係,才得以造就清澄白河溫暖安詳的氣氛。

藍瓶咖啡 清澄白河Flagship Cafe:可以品味到時尚咖啡的店家

最後要為大家介紹的,就是清澄白河最有名的「藍瓶咖啡 清澄白河Flagship Cafe」。無論是fukadaso cafe的佐藤小姐,還是ARiSE COFFEE ROASTERS的林先生,都異口同聲表示藍瓶咖啡的出現,改變了清澄白河的生態。在這家店於2015年2月開張之前,清澄白河原本也有幾間咖啡廳,不過據說客人大多是當地的老人家。但是在藍瓶咖啡進駐後,吸引了大量年輕人和外國人造訪,清澄白河也跟著愈來愈熱鬧。就這樣,清澄白河的知名度愈來愈高,甚至得到了「咖啡之街」的稱號。

發源於美國加州奧克蘭的藍瓶咖啡,為什麼會選擇日本的清澄白河開設第一間海外分店?我詢問了藍瓶咖啡,得到了以下的回覆。「日本喫茶店的手沖咖啡,都是一杯一杯萃取出來的,創辦人詹姆士.費里曼從這個文化中得到靈感,決定在日本開設第一家海外分店。之所以會選擇清澄白河,是因為這個地區比較少高樓,道路很寬敞,而且附近就有公園等設施,散發出一種悠閒的氣氛。這種氣氛和藍瓶咖啡的發源地,也就是加州奧克蘭很像,所以詹姆士很中意這裡。現在清澄白河Flagship Cafe的店面和地點,讓詹姆士一見傾心也是理由之一」。目前藍瓶咖啡在池袋、新宿、六本木等日本各地也有分店,不過身為日本第一家分店的清澄白河Flagship Cafe,至今仍吸引許多人造訪。

就跟清澄白河其它許多咖啡廳一樣,藍瓶咖啡也是由老舊的倉庫改裝而成。店裡十分寬敞,天花板也很高,開放感十足。走進店裡,可以看見左邊擺放著咖啡師用來沖咖啡的手沖架。店裡也有可以悠閒打發時間的一般座位,讓客人可以邊觀察咖啡師沖咖啡邊聊天。

據說藍瓶咖啡沖咖啡的祕訣,就在於沖泡時會留意熱水的溫度和咖啡豆的分量。咖啡杯底下有刻度,咖啡師在沖熱水時,會從杯子內側往外側,再從外側往內側緩緩地畫圓。熱水會分成4次沖入杯中。如果您想學習沖咖啡的訣竅,建議可以到藍瓶咖啡走一趟,觀察咖啡師怎麼沖咖啡,或是直接向他們請教。

除了好喝的咖啡外,這裡也提供紅茶、果汁、熱巧克力、愛爾淡啤酒等飲品。此外,這裡也提供多種餐點,例如手作燒菓子和布丁、熱呼呼的華夫餅等甜點,以及穀麥、現做熱三明治等食物。我點的是Coffee Cherry Fizz這種無咖啡因飲料,裡頭加了碳酸水,味道酸甜,喝了以後感覺十分清爽,非常適合在天氣熱的時候喝喔!店裡也提供免費WIFI服務,就算要在這裡辦公也沒問題。

可以在清澄白河感受美術氣息的「東京都現代美術館」

除了咖啡以外,東京都現代美術館於1995年在清澄白河開館,吸引了以美術愛好者為主的眾多目光,這也使得該地成為知名的「美術之街」。東京都現代美術館是為了有系統地研究、蒐集、保存及展示日本國內外的現代美術而設立,主要對象是日本的戰後美術作品。

美術館的建築是由建築師柳澤孝彥所設計,透過巨型大廳、三角柱圍繞的內廊、大型玻璃窗、開著圓孔的鋼牆等,來呈現出摩登的風格。2016年5月起美術館休館三年進行裝修,並於2019年3月再度開幕,改裝後的新風貌十分值得一看。

目前東京都現代美術館展示的作品約5,500件,並且收藏了總共約27萬本日本現代美術的相關圖書。館內分為展覽、調查研究、美術圖書室、作品蒐藏、教育推廣五大區域,各自具備不同的用途。除了上述設施外,館內也附設餐廳和咖啡廳。

木場公園就座落於東京都現代美術館旁。木場公園綠意盎然,不但有寬廣的庭院供小朋友嬉戲,也設置了桌椅供遊客休息或享用午餐。建議您可以買杯咖啡,找個地方坐下來放鬆一下身心。

在清澄白河,您可以同時沉浸於咖啡與美術的世界裡,有機會的話一定要來逛逛喔!

除了咖啡外,清澄白河也有許多寺院與倉庫,可以讓您感受下町情懷,還能欣賞美術作品。到日本旅遊時,如果想找一個可以放鬆一整天的清靜之地,清澄白河就是一個不錯的選擇。建議您可以到清澄白河喝杯咖啡,漫步於風情萬種的街道,找尋看看有趣的事物喔。

關東特輯

本文資訊均以公開時為準。


作者簡介

Nguyen
Nguyen Loan

搜尋餐廳

Enjoy the Many Exquisite Cafes of Kiyosumi-Shirakawa, Tokyo's Leading Coffee Neighborhood!

Have you ever been to a Japanese cafe? Although our cafe-loving Vietnamese editor’s first impression of Japanese cafes were crowded, cramped chain stores with small tables and chairs upon first arriving in Japan, the popular coffee neighborhood Kiyosumi-Shirakawa in Tokyo introduced her to some of the many stylish and relaxing independent cafes the country has to offer. For our “Area of Japan” series, she headed over to Kiyosumi-Shirakawa to find out why there are so many good cafes there. And, of course, to enjoy some delicious coffee!

Tokyo

Food & Drinks

Help tsunagu write guidebook to restaurants in Japan! - CLICK TO LEARN MORE

A Town of Coffee and Art! The History of Kiyosumi-Shirakawa

Kiyosumi-Shirakawa is located in eastern Tokyo near the Sumida River in the Koto ward. Before it became known as a coffee and art district, it used to be a blue-collar downtown area known as “Fukagawa” that was famous for its many temples, earning it the nickname “Fukagawa Temple Town.” Today, about 70 temples still remain in the area.

Besides its many temples, Kiyosumi-Shirakawa used to be known for its many warehouses storing important materials such as lumber, energy sources, and daily necessities essential for large-scale urban development during the Edo Period (1603 – 1868). This made Kiyosumi-Shirakawa a transportation hub and a center for the distribution of goods. After WWII, however, the area became a typical downtown district of residential houses and small factories.

Why Are There So Many Cafes in Kiyosumi-Shirakawa Today?

Once Tokyo was rebuilt after the war, Kiyosumi-Shirakawa’s warehouses gradually fell out of use, having outlived their purpose. In 1995, that all changed with the opening of the Museum of Contemporary Art Tokyo. Art museums need large spaces to store artwork and other exhibits... such as warehouses, what with their high ceilings, few columns, and plenty of room.

After the Museum of Contemporary Art Tokyo opened in Kiyosumi-Shirakawa, other local warehouses were transformed into galleries, and the district started to attract more and more art lovers. As this trend continued, Kiyosumi-Shirakawa became known as an “Art Town.” But in addition to art galleries, many other warehouses are now also used to roast coffee. Kiyosumi-Shirakawa’s location is perfect for roasting coffee without negatively affecting the neighborhood by directing the roasteries’ ducts towards the many rivers flowing through the area.

The first coffee shop opened in Kiyosumi-Shirakawa in 2004, but the number of cafes there exploded after the famous American coffee brand Blue Bottle Coffee opened its first Japanese branch in the area in February 2015 (now called “Blue Bottle Coffee Kiyosumi Shirakawa Flagship Cafe”). This attracted a lot of media attention, and since then Kiyosumi-Shirakawa has gradually become known as a “Coffee Town.” After I discovered why there were so many cafes and coffee shops in Kiyosumi-Shirakawa, I naturally started craving a cup, and so I headed over to investigate the area!

My Visit to Kiyosumi-Shirakawa's Unique Cafes and Coffee Shops

fukadaso cafe: A Charming Cafe Housed in a Renovated 50-Year-Old Warehouse and Apartment Building

The first place I stopped by was fukadaso cafe. A 50-year-old warehouse and apartment building that was transformed into a popular cafe after renovation work. After learning about the history of Kiyosumi-Shirakawa, I was intrigued and wanted to see for myself what a cafe housed in a renovated warehouse would look like.

fukadaso cafe is located a 5-minute stroll from Exit A3 of Kiyosumi-Shirakawa Station. After I started walking, I quickly spotted the warehouse-like building with exterior walls covered with white tin and yellow rust stains that give it a kind of old-fashioned charm.

I was lucky and had a chance to speak with the cafe’s owner, Sato. According to him, this building was built by his grandfather Fukuda. Before it became a cafe, the first floor of the structure served as a warehouse with apartments on the second floor where family members could stay when visiting. The original plan was to rebuild the entire building from the ground up, but after consulting with a renovator, it was decided that a better idea would be to age the framework in order to maintain the building’s original look and old-fashioned charm.

What struck me most during my visit was the exterior of the cafe. The old, rusted appearance of the tin walls was a testament to the building's historic connection to Kiyosumi-Shirakawa. The interior is spacious and airy, and the tables and chairs have a retro feel to them. Some of the tables are actually made from old dressers, creating a nostalgic and unique space that is hard to find in the busier parts of Tokyo where the latest, most-advanced trends reign supreme.

The blended coffee that I ordered that day was sweet, rich, and absolutely delicious. I also got a piece of cheesecake that was moist and refined, and pancakes with a rich, buttery flavor that paired perfectly with the bitter coffee.

Coffee is the star of the cafe’s menu, but they also do desserts such as blueberry pancakes, cheesecake, and scones. Personally, I loved the interior and atmosphere. The highlight of fukadaso cafe is that you can not only relax with a cup of coffee here, but also feel the history and charm of Kiyosumi-Shirakawa. For those looking for a stylish cafe and a place to relax amidst a nostalgic atmosphere in Tokyo, this is the place for you.

Arise Coffee Roasters: Offering 15 – 20 Types of Coffee Beans

My next stop was Arise Coffee Roasters, which offers drip coffee made from beans roasted right there on the premises. It’s a popular specialty store that takes a lot of pride in how they handle its coffee beans. Arise Coffee Roasters is a small operation located at an intersection less than 100 meters from fukadaso cafe. When I saw it for the first time, I was surprised at how compact it was. The store is only about 20 m² in size, with a large roasting machine, a counter lined with roasted beans, a bench seating four people, and two small chairs.

The owner, Hayashi, does the roasting himself. Before opening Arise, he worked for 10 years as a roaster at a wholesale company called Yamashita Coffee in Tokyo, and was involved in the launch of The Cream of the Crop Coffee store, where his responsibilities included roasting coffee beans and customer service. Then in 2013, he went independent and opened Arise Coffee Roasters. As for why he chose Kiyosumi-Shirakawa as the location, Hayashi says: "My hobby is skateboarding. Kiyosumi-Shirakawa has many good roads for skateboarding, and I wanted a place where I could skateboard to work. That’s why I chose this place.” I wasn’t expecting that kind of answer! Hayashi has been involved with Kiyosumi-Shirakawa for 22 years now.

I have never experienced a store like this before. First, Arise has only hand-drip coffee on the menu. Second, the owner helps you decide your order by chatting with you and listening to your preferences. Customers can choose from 15 – 20 different types of coffee beans coming from Dominica, Colombia, Vietnam, and the Philippines. If this is your first time drinking single-origin coffee and you don’t know which bean to go with, just ask Hayashi for help. When I mentioned that I wanted to try something different and from outside my native Vietnam, Hayashi suggested Dominican coffee beans, a staple of Arise. It was the first time I drank drip coffee brewed with those beans, and it had a pleasant flavor that wasn’t too acidic or bitter.

The next thing that surprised me was the store’s interior. Although the space seemed a bit small and cramped at first, once inside, it felt very friendly and comfortable. Hayashi wanted to create a store with a relaxed atmosphere where customers could feel comfortable talking to each other. In fact, sitting on the bench at Arise Coffee Roasters and talking with the owner about coffee and Kiyosumi-Shirakawa, I already started to feel like a regular.

When I told Hayashi that I am Vietnamese, he enthusiastically started talking about the store’s coffee that was carefully selected by his Japanese friend currently living in Dalat, Vietnam. He then said that Vietnamese coffee beans have recently become a hit at Arise Coffee Roasters. In recent years, the store has also started raising awareness of high-quality Asian beans from Thailand, Laos, and the Philippines, which are still relatively unknown in Japan. If you love coffee from South American countries like Brazil and Colombia, or if you’re interested in trying out new coffee beans, please stop by Arise Coffee Roasters. You’ll surely find something unforgettable here!

Even among the many cafes and coffee stores of Kiyosumi-Shirakawa, Arise Coffee Roasters has a lot of discerning fans. Most of its customers are locals who come here to buy coffee beans, but there are also many who travel all the way from other prefectures and even overseas to sip Arise’s freshly-roasted coffee.

The amazing thing about Kiyosumi-Shirakawa is that even though there are so many cafes and coffee shops around here, sometimes right next door to each other, there’s no fierce competition between them. Instead, they cooperate to help make Kiyosumi-Shirakawa even more popular. For example, Arise Coffee Roasters only serves in-house-roasted black coffee, so if anyone comes in wanting a latte, Hayashi will give them directions to other stores such as Blue Bottle Coffee. Similarly, other cafes will often recommend Arise to customers who want to try rare single-origin coffee. These kinds of cordial relationships are what create the warm and calm atmosphere of Kiyosumi-Shirakawa.

Blue Bottle Coffee Kiyosumi Shirakawa Flagship Cafe: Serving Coffee in Style

The last store that I visited was the famous Blue Bottle Coffee Kiyosumi Shirakawa Flagship Cafe. fukadaso cafe’s Sato and Arise Coffee Roasters’ Hayashi both said that the opening of Blue Bottle Coffee helped transform Kiyosumi-Shirakawa. Before the store came to the area in February 2015, there already were several cafes in Kiyosumi-Shirakawa, but most of their customers were local seniors. Once Blue Bottle Coffee appeared on the scene, though, the area became more and more popular with young people and foreign tourists. Without this cafe, Kiyosumi-Shirakawa probably wouldn’t have become known as “Coffee Town.”

When I asked a representative of Blue Bottle Coffee, which was founded in Oakland, California, why they chose Kiyosumi-Shirakawa for their first overseas expansion, here’s what they said: “James Freeman, our founder, was inspired by the Japanese cafe culture where each cup of coffee is carefully brewed one by one, and so he decided to open the first overseas branch of his chain in Japan. We ultimately decided on Kiyosumi-Shirakawa because of the openness of the area. There are few tall buildings here, the streets feel spacious, and the surrounding parks and other places provide a relaxing atmosphere. James liked the area because it reminded him of Oakland where Blue Bottle Coffee started. He also fell in love with the building and location where our Flagship Cafe is now located.” 

Today, Blue Bottle Coffee has stores in Ikebukuro, Shinjuku, Roppongi, and other locations throughout Japan, but the original Blue Bottle Coffee Kiyosumi Shirakawa Flagship Cafe continues to remain very popular.

Like many other cafes in Kiyosumi-Shirakawa, Blue Bottle Coffee is located inside a renovated warehouse. The interior of the store is very spacious with high ceilings that give it a relaxing sense of openness. To the left of the entrance is the drip station where baristas brew the store’s coffee. There are also tables where you can relax and enjoy a chat while observing the baristas at work.

The secret of Blue Bottle Coffee's brewing process is that they pay special attention to the temperature of the hot water and the amount of coffee beans. The baristas place a scale under the cup to measure the correct amount of coffee, and pour hot water slowly in a circular motion, starting from the inside of the cup and moving outwards, then the other way around. In total, the hot water is poured in four separate batches. If you want to learn how to brew the perfect cup of coffee, visit Blue Bottle Coffee and observe and talk with the baristas there.

In addition to delicious coffee, Blue Bottle Coffee also serves tea, fruit juice, hot chocolate, and even pale ale beer. They also boast an extensive food menu, including homemade baked goods, pudding, steaming-hot waffles and other sweets, granola, and freshly-made hot sandwiches. I ordered a non-coffee carbonated drink called Coffee Cherry Fizz, which was refreshingly sweet and sour. It’s the perfect drink to enjoy on a hot day!

There’s free Wi-Fi at the cafe, so it’s a great place to work as well.

Feel the Artistic Atmosphere of Kiyosumi-Shirakawa at the Museum of Contemporary Art Tokyo

Aside from coffee, Kiyosumi-Shirakawa is also known for art thanks to it being home to the Museum of Contemporary Art Tokyo, which opened in 1995, bringing many casual visitors and art lovers to the area. This museum’s purpose is the research, collection, preservation, and exhibition of contemporary art from Japan and abroad, with a focus on domestic postwar art.

Designed by renowned architect Takahiko Yanagisawa, the building has a very modern feel to it with its massive entrance, interior corridors surrounded by triangular columns, large glass windows, and steel walls with round hole decorations. The museum reopened in March 2019 after three years of renovations that started in May 2016, so if you visit it now, you’ll be able to enjoy its fresh, new look!

Currently, the Museum of Contemporary Art Tokyo displays approximately 5,500 works and houses a total of 270,000 books on contemporary Japanese art. The museum is divided into five areas: exhibitions, research, art library, artwork collections, and educational programs. There is also a restaurant and a cafe on the premises.

Also, right next to the museum you’ll find Kiba Park with plenty of greenery, a large garden where children can run around and play, and tables and chairs where you can sit and rest or have lunch. I recommend buying a cup of coffee and enjoying it here.

Visit the Coffee and Art Neighborhood Kiyosumi-Shirakawa!

Kiyosumi-Shirakawa is not only a place where you can find great coffee. It’s also a place where you can feel the retro downtown atmosphere of Japan thanks to the many temples and warehouses in the area. And you of course can’t forget about its art! If you’re looking for a quiet day-trip destination where you can relax, then Kiyosumi-Shirakawa is just the place for you. So go grab a coffee and look for more treasures hidden throughout this quaint part of Tokyo.

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

Kanto Feature

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.


About the author

Nguyen
Nguyen Loan

Restaurant Search