日本最具神靈色彩之地:宮崎縣5大秘境神社介紹

宮崎縣位於日本九州最南端,因其是眾多日本傳說的發生地而聞名,也被認為是日本最具靈性的地區之一。想當然爾,這裡也有著許多神聖的神社。本篇文章將一舉介紹宮崎縣5大著名且有著絕美風景的神社景點,也順便說說與這些神社相關的傳說故事。

宮崎

玩樂

充滿神秘能量的宮崎縣

宮崎縣有著相對溫暖的氣候、尚未被破壞的自然環境和許多地方特色美食,是在地文化豐饒的地區。除此之外,其和神社高度連結的信仰文化和眾多的日式神社,也塑造出宮崎縣獨有的區域特色。宮崎縣內不少景點在《古今集》和《日本書紀》這兩本日本古老神話和歷史選集中都曾出現過,宮崎縣內的部分地點也是神話和歷史人物故事中的舞台,也有人認為日本的神靈起源就是從宮崎開始其旅程,並和其他傳說中的眾神一起在這片土地上開創出日本國。

日本各地的神社雖然都有供奉著日本神靈,但宮崎地區的神社相較之下更明確地供奉著與日本神話或歷史相關的特定神靈。這些神靈們不僅代表並紀念著日本創建出的過程,也為宮崎縣的神社增添不少的神秘感和神聖程度。

宮崎縣5大神社聖地

鵜戶神宮 (日南)

鵜戶神宮傳說是日本第一代天皇——神武天皇的父親的出生之地,因此尤其具有歷史意義。神宮內兩尊型似女性乳房的「御乳岩」則據說是來自海神的女兒,也就是神武天皇的祖母——豐玉公主。據說此岩石讓她的小孩健康長大,神武天皇也曾受此滋養,因此現在有許多父母會到此祈求順產或胎兒健康,且若是能飲用御乳岩上的水還能讓願望更易達成。此外,這裡也是能為情侶和新婚夫妻帶來好運的一能量之地。

神社所在地相當罕見且有著絕美景觀。因主殿位在岩洞內,前往神社的路旁便是岩石斷崖和海岸線,一旁就是廣闊的太平洋可觀賞。沿著主道路前行後會看到「神門」,踏入神門之內就等同於進入了神的領地,因此遊覽時記得抱持著尊重的心情!在進到神社洞窟前,可好好享受沿路上的海景,並可以試試看是否能將幸運石丟擲到龜岩頂上的繩圈內,據說能丟進的話便能願望成真!

天岩戶神社 (高千穗)

在《古今集》和《日本書紀》中,天岩戶神社都不約而同地被記載著是當初天照大神躲進岩戶中,讓世界變得一片漆黑時的藏身之地。此神社的所在位置便是在傳說中天照大神藏匿的岩洞旁,而附近的「天安河原」(圖上)則是當時其他眾神靈們聚集商議要如何讓天照大神離開岩戶的地點。天岩戶神社內的所有建築可說是都是為了奉祀天照大神所設。

由於天岩戶洞穴非常神聖,並無開放遊客直接進入參觀,但仍可以從西本宮看到其蹤跡。從西本宮沿著岩戸川走一小段路後便會抵達天安河原和一座鳥居,在這裡您將會看見地上有數以百計的小石頭堆,因為人們相信若是在此地將石頭疊成塔並許願,便能願望成真,這些滿佈的石堆群也為現場增添一層神秘的氛圍。

高千穗神社 (高千穗)

高千穗神社為皇室神社,供奉著與日本神話中與建國之初有關的神靈,神社內也有許多菊花圖案的裝飾。根據《古今集》和《日本書紀》所記載,天照大神之孫「瓊瓊杵尊」來到宮崎高千穗山建立了大和,即日本的原名。這裡供奉的神靈包含高千穗皇神(日本神話中的日向三代及其配偶神之總稱)及十社大明神(天照大神的哥哥及其家族)。

座落於眾多高聳的樹林中,高千穗神社據說已有1800多年歷史,神社中最老樹木也估計有達1000歲的樹齡。「夫婦杉」是此神社中一著名景點,由兩棵因很靠近以至於樹根交纏生長在一起的杉木組成,當地人相信如果情侶或夫妻能手牽手繞著此杉樹走,便能得到祝福,獲得幸福。此外,您也可以在神樂殿中觀賞以眾日本神話故事為內容的夜神樂表演。

霧島東神社 (高原)

霧島東神社位於高千穗山腳,這也就說明了為什麼此地會被認為是瓊瓊杵尊最初降靈在世上的地點了。此神社主要供奉伊邪那岐尊和伊邪那美命尊,這兩位也就是創造出日本島神靈及天照大神等知名天神的父母的神靈。在這裡,您還可以一眼望見據說是神龍居所「御池」的壯觀景色。

神社矗立在相當陡峭的山坡地且被密佈的樹林環繞,讓整體神秘氣息倍增。主殿據知建於1722年,歷年來已經多次修繕。此神社內有兩棵筆直挺立著的夫婦杉,由傳統繩線將兩棵樹連結在一起。這裡遠離城市,空氣新鮮,呼吸著清新空氣的同時站立在山頭俯瞰眼前風景,讓周遭的一切感覺起來尤其神聖。在宮崎縣和鹿兒島縣中有6大神社被認為是與日本創始有密切淵源的神社,被稱為「霧島六社權現」,霧島東神社便是其中之一,具有相當的神秘性和歷史地位。

青島神社 (宮崎)

青島神社位於名為青島的小島上,只要穿過和青島海灘和島上相連的彌生橋即可抵達。這裡被認爲是非常神聖的神社,因此在江戶時代(1603~1868)前一直都沒有對外開放。前往神社前經過的紅色鳥居便是通往神界的大門。青島神社和日本神話中的山之幸海之幸神話相關,而山之幸正是為神武天皇的祖父,因此他與妻子豐玉姫命一同與另外一位塩筒大神被供奉在此神社中。此神社以帶來姻緣、產子和保佑海上安全而聞名。

島上佈滿綠色植物,有許多熱帶植物和棕梠樹,樹上掛滿寫著參拜者心願的繪馬也成了這裡的一大特殊景觀。沿著此繪馬古道繼續向前便會抵達本殿,這裡是青島神社最原始的祈禱場所,在這裡您可以藉由將素色的陶製盤子(「天の平瓮」)或貝殼往柵欄內丟來測試運氣,若是能丟入指定的區域便能願望成真,若是盤子破碎則可以為您除去厄運。

結語

宮崎縣是一處充滿著古老神話傳說和神聖信仰的地區,也是日本旅遊時值得好好探索一番的地點。無論在《古今集》或《日本書紀》中都佔是重要的故事發生地,也是宮崎縣引以為傲之特色,希望您也有機會能親自來感受一下這神聖且充滿能量的氛圍!

一起來探索九州地區!

要說九州是日本風景最優美、歷史最悠久的地區也不為過,而宮崎縣僅為九州七縣中的其中之一,如果本文中介紹的鵜戶神宮或青島神社等景點有成恭吸引您的目光,記得別錯過九州其他地區,相信您會發現很多精彩所在。若想了解更多九州地區相關資訊,推薦您點此進入九州地區官方導覽網站查看!

Visit Kyushu Official Website: https://www.visit-kyushu.com/en/

Thumbnail: Picture Partners / Shutterstock.com

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

搜尋餐廳

5 Mystical Shrines in Miyazaki Prefecture: Japan's Most Divine Prefecture

Miyazaki Prefecture, located on the southernmost main Japanese island of Kyushu, is famous for being the setting of many Japanese legends and one of the most spiritual places in Japan. Of course, this means that the prefecture is covered with many sacred shrines. This article will introduce five of the most famous and picturesque shrines, along with their divine origins.

Miyazaki

Things to Do

The Spiritualism of Miyazaki Prefecture

Miyazaki Prefecture has lots to offer in terms of local culture, with a relatively warm climate, untouched nature, and decadent local cuisine. Even so, another thing that sets Miyazaki apart from many other locations in Japan is its incredible spirituality and connection to the Japanese divine. Many locations in modern-day Miyazaki are introduced in the Kokinshu and Nihon Shoki, two of the oldest Japanese mythical and historical anthologies. Locations in the prefecture play parts in the stories of both myths and important historical figures, and it is even believed that the divine founder of the land of Japan landed in Miyazaki and began his journey there, him and other legendary beings making their way across the land to establish the country now known as Japan.

Shrines across Japan are dedicated to and enshrine Japanese deities, but Miyazaki has a relatively large amount of shrines that are devoted to gods that are mentioned in the mythical creation and founding of Japan. This adds to the spiritual importance of Miyazaki's shrines, which represent and memorialize the divine beings who helped shape Japan into what it is today.

5 Mystical Shrines in Miyazaki

Udo Shrine (Nichinan)

Udo Shrine is a place of incredible historical significance, as it is the mythical birthplace of the father of Emperor Jimmu, the legendary first emperor of Japan. Two large breast-shaped rocks called the “Ochiai-iwa” are said to have belonged to Princess Toyotama, the daughter of the Sea God, and the grandmother of Emperor Jimmu. These rocks aided in the healthy upbringing of her children, and supposedly nourished Emperor Jimmu as well. Due to these legends, it is understandable that many parents visit the shrine to pray for safe births and for their children to grow healthy and strong, and it is believed that drinking the water from these rocks will help with those causes. The shrine is also said to be lucky for couples and newlyweds.

The shrine is in a beautiful and rare location for a shrine, as the main hall is located inside a cave. The scenic path to the shrine follows the coastline that runs along a cliff overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Following the main path will lead you to the “Shin-mon,” or the “God Gate,” and once you step through it you are considered to be in a divine realm, so it is important to show the utmost respect! Before heading into the cave, soak in the scenery of the ocean, and try your hand at throwing some “undama,” or “lucky balls!” Getting the small, clay balls to land in the target is said to make your wish come true.

Amanoiwato Shrine (Takachiho)

Amanoiwato Shrine appears in both the aforementioned Kojiki and Nihon Shoki, described as the location where the legendary sun goddess Amaterasu hid in a cave behind a giant rock door, plunging the world into darkness. The shrine is built right by a cave where Amaterasu is said to have hidden herself, while the nearby Amano Yasugawara (shown in the photo above) is where millions of other deities gathered to try and figure out how to lure her out. Hence, the buildings of this shrine are all dedicated to Amaterasu.

Due to being incredibly sacred, visitors are not allowed at the cave, but it is visible from the shrine's Nishi-hongu, one of the main shrine buildings. A short walk along a path will take you to another large cave with Amano Yasugawara and its lonely torii gate, and where you can see hundreds of small stacks of stones. The reason for this is that it is believed that if you make a small tower of stones and make a wish on it, your wish will come true. Seeing all these small towers truly adds a mystical element to the landscape.

Takachiho Shrine (Takachiho)

Chrysanthemum motifs decorate the grounds of this shrine, as it is an imperial shrine due to the fact that it enshrines deities that are related to the mythical founding of Japan. According to the Kojiki and Nihon Shoki, Amaterasu’s grandson, Ninigi no Mikoto, came down to Mt. Takachiho in Miyazaki and founded Yamato, the original name for the nation of Japan. The deities that are enshrined at Takachiho Shrine are the Takachiho sumegami (three generations of gods that play a part in the Himuka myth, the story from Japan's creation to Emperor Jimmu), three generations of Ninigi no Makoto’s family, and the elder brother of Emperor Jimmu and his family.

Nestled in a grove of magnificent trees, the shrine itself is said to be over 1,800 years old, and the oldest tree is believed to be approximately 1,000 years old. One of the most famous points of Takachiho Shrine is the Meoto Sugi, or the “Couple Trees,” two cedar trees that grew close enough together that their roots have become intertwined. It is believed that if a couple holds hands and walks around the trees, they will be blessed with happiness. On the grounds also stands Kagura Theater, which hosts performances of famous stories about the Japanese gods. 

Kirishima Higashi Shrine (Takaharu)

Kirishima Higashi Shrine is located at the base of Mt. Takachiho, which is why it is understandable that it is said to house the halberd of Ninigi no Mikoto that he used to mark the spot of his descent to earth. The main deities that the shrine is dedicated to are also none other than Izanagi and Izanami, the two legendary gods that created the Japanese archipelago and the parents of several high-profile deities such as Amaterasu (who is also enshrined here). The shrine also has a spectacular view of Lake Miike, which is believed to be the home of a dragon.

The shrine stands upon a rather steep hill and is surrounded by trees, only adding to its mysterious atmosphere. The main hall is believed to have been built in 1722, although repaired numerous times over the years. Meoto Sugi stand fast on these grounds as well, connected by a traditional rope. Due to being fairly distant from the city, the air is fresh, and looking across the view from the mountain while breathing the clean air adds to the spiritual vibe. Kirishima Higashi Shrine is also one of the Kirishima Rokusha Gongen: six shrines that are scattered across Miyazaki and Kagoshima Prefectures and are considered important in the stories of the founders of Japan, both mythical and historical.

Aoshima Shrine (Miyazaki)

Aoshima Shrine is located on the small Aoshima Island and can be accessed by crossing Yayoi Bridge, a short bridge that connects Aoshima Beach and the island. The island was actually closed to the general public until the Edo period (1603 - 1868) as the island is considered sacred. The red torii gate that stands on the path to the shrine is the gate to the divine realm. Aoshima Shrine is linked to Umisachihiko and Yamasachihiko, the two sons of Ninigi and his wife, Konohananosakuya-hime. As Yamasachihiko was the grandfather of Emperor Jimmu, he is enshrined here along with his wife and another mythical being called Shiotsuchi no Okina. The shrine is also said to bring good fortune in childbirth and marriage, as well as safety at sea.

The island is covered with greenery, home to many tropical plants and palm trees. It’s a magnificent sight seeing the trees decorated with hundreds of “ema,” wooden slabs where shrine-goers write their prayers and wishes. Following the ema down a path takes you to the Moto-miya, the original site of prayer at Aoshima. Here, you can test your luck by throwing ceramic plates and shells into a roped-off area to have your wishes granted and to ward off bad luck.

In Closing

Miyazaki Prefecture is a land of divine legend and spiritualism, and it is undoubtedly a must-see when exploring Japan. Miyazaki prides itself on the important role the area played in the mythical founding of Japan and the many appearances in the Kokinshu and Nihon Shoki. Be sure to experience the mythical for yourself as well!

Title image credit (clockwise from top left): kan_khampanya / Shutterstock.com, Windyboy / Shutterstock.com, b-hide the scene / Shutterstock.com, leungchopan / Shutterstock.com

Explore the Kyushu Area!

Miyazaki Prefecture is just one out of the seven different prefectures that make up Kyushu, arguably Japan's most scenic and historic region. If shrines such as Udo Shrine and Aoshima Shrine are right up your alley, we think you'll love what the rest of Kyushu has to offer. Check out the official Kyushu tourism website for more information on what's out there in the region.

Visit Kyushu Official Website: https://www.visit-kyushu.com/en/

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Related Interests

Restaurant Search