【京都自由行】感受历史,咏叹自然!京都之旅的22个推荐人气观光地

保留着日本味的京都,是一处深受国内外旅客喜爱的高人气观光地。这样的京都,既有能感受到历史风情的建筑,也有能用五感去体会四季变换的自然景色等等,集合了各式各样的魅力于一身。 本篇将要为您介绍来到京都时必游的几处推荐景点。

京都府

体验

说到京都观光首先当然是这里了!岚山5所推荐观光景点

天龙寺

天龙寺创建于室町时代,是足利尊氏为了替后醍醐天皇祈求冥福而建立,后来便成为临济宗的名剎,留传至今。它不仅是代表岚山的人气寺院,更被选为世界遗产。

特别要推荐的是曹源池庭园。室町时期的庭园大师梦窗疎石,他建造的庭园以当时的样貌被保留于此,是日本最早被指定为史迹以及特别名胜的地方。回游式的庭园将四季之美发挥得淋漓尽致,属于室町时代的浪漫萦绕其间。

嵯峨野竹林小道

嵯峨野的竹林小道,长度仅有短短200米,却能让人感受到古都的特殊风情。而且离天龙寺的北门非常近,是岚山知名的代表性的观光景点之一,游客众多。

每年12月晚间会设置艺术照明,充满梦幻气息。吹过竹林的清爽凉风以及竹叶轻擦出的声响,是否会让您有穿越时空之感呢?

渡月桥

每每介绍岚山时,照片中总是会出现渡月桥的身影,堪称岚山的象征,是人气很高的观光地。嵯峨野层层叠叠的山群与桂川、渡月桥相互交织出的风景,无论春夏秋冬,都会酝酿出不一样的美感。

从长155米,宽11米的桥上能够欣赏到非常美丽的风景,它向我们传颂着岚山的悠长历史,更承载着京都的骄傲。

祇王寺

安静地座落于京都嵯峨野的草庵--祇王寺,以作为「平家物语」中悲恋故事发生的舞台背景而知名,但其最特别之处莫过于这长满青苔的庭园,映入眼帘的是一片苍翠。透过树叶缝隙洒下来的阳光照在青苔上,闪闪发亮,能够让观者的心沉淀下来,暂时忘却都市里的杂事烦忧。

从竹林或杉木间吹出的清爽凉风轻拂于肌肤上温柔,叶子吹动间轻擦出的声响成了自然的背景音乐。请在这静谧的空间中,感受纯净而美丽的嵯峨野吧。

龟山公园(岚山公园)

有着众多观光客的岚山中,相对来说游客较少的就是这座龟山公园(岚山公园)了。公园内每到樱花季节或枫叶季节,都会展现出不同的美感。

虽说在这里散步也很有乐趣,但最棒的自然还是从展望台眺望景色。从这里可以将保津溪谷及保津川一览无遗,那沿着保津川顺流而下的船只,还有在岸边缓缓行驶的观光列车。再看向山的那一头,远远地可以看到三千院座落其间,到了秋季更可以欣赏枫红覆盖整座山头的绝景,俨然就是私房的观光胜地。

出乎意料竟不为人知!?京都5所私藏观光景点

高濑川

高濑川是一道江户时期所开凿的运河,正因为是人工运河,所以水流十分地平缓。在那里,仿佛连时间的流逝也变得缓慢了。

虽然面向较为热闹的街道,但因为保留了许多象征着京都的风情,您可以充分地欣赏品味这凛然高雅的古都氛围。或许,还能与森鸥外的小说中所描写的「高濑舟」来一场不期而遇。

一条妖怪街

从北野天满宫步行5分钟,即可到达一条妖怪街「大将军商店街」,它是一条从西大路到中立売通之间约400米长的商店街。这个名称的由来,或许是因为平安时期,众多的妖怪在夜间大游行时会经过一条通而得名吧。而如今一条妖怪街则变成了欢迎妖怪以及幽灵的地方。

看着这些可爱的妖怪们,人们似乎忍不住会想问,这到底是什么呀?在秋天,这里会举行装扮成妖怪的「一条百鬼夜行」变装游行活动。请您一定要来见见这些随性地伫足于某处的妖怪们。

深泥池

京都郊外,在宝池西边的广大湿地中有一座深泥池。从冰河时期就存在的动植物们至今仍旧栖息于此,拥有活着的「生物标本般的存在」之美名,广为人知。

从遥远的过去开始就一直守护着京都的静谧天然池塘,无声地栖息于其间的生命气息,应该可以让您感受到不同以往的京都吧。

石塀小路

位于八坂神社南侧的,就是石塀小路。因充满京都特有的风韵,也是最近聚集了超高人气的观光地。

路面铺满了石砖的小道两侧排列着一家家町屋建筑。这里有着造访京都的人们心中所期望见到的「京都」。它成立于历史相对较为近代的明治大正时期,现在则是一间又一间的料亭(高级的传统日本料理餐厅)与旅馆的聚集地。请尽情地在此享受高级也高贵的京都氛围。

京都府立植物园

其实京都也有属于学生们的街道,市区中可以见到许多博物馆及资料馆,而在这之中特别想推荐给您的,是「京都府立植物园」,在市区内拥有广阔的占地面积。

 

位于北山一隅的园内区域,无论任何季节都种满了各式各样的花草树木,宛如一个植物的博物馆。在这个与古典的京都截然不同的时尚明亮空间中,更让人感受到京都内蕴之深。

 

依春夏秋冬四季来推荐的12个京都景点

骚动春季出游心的京都三处赏花推荐景点

醍醐寺

没见识过醍醐寺的樱花,可别说你见过京都的春天。丰臣秀吉晚年曾于此举行过赏樱大会,这段历史也广为人知。目前约有800株的樱花为春天增添了许多色彩。因为位于距离车站不远,所以在游客间拥有很高的人气。

3月下旬至4月上旬期间,百花齐放的景色只能说是太壮观了。请选好时机来此尽情地赏花吧。

平安神宮 神苑

平安神宫可以说是国家级的名胜,在这里可以欣赏到「红枝垂樱」的风姿,那一带全被樱花所覆盖的光景,十分有气势。

东神苑的栖凤池水面上倒映出的樱花景象非常梦幻且高雅。从3月下旬到4月中旬为止,都可以愉快地赏花喔。

哲学之道

如果说一直伫足于某处是赏花的一种方式的话,那么在被风吹起的樱花雨中随性地散步,又是另一种不同的趣味。在哲学之道,每到春天就会有满开的樱花树延伸出的樱花隧道。

若意会到自己跟日本代表性的哲学家们一样,望着相同的樱花,走在相同的道路上时,感触是否也会更深呢。花期为4月上旬到中旬,这时京都的阳光正要变得暖和起来,对散步来说是最棒的季节。

炎夏中的京都三处推荐景点

顺游保津川

京都洛中地区的炎热程度是来真格的,如果您想逃离这样的酷夏,我们推荐您试试保津川游船。来保津川峡谷追求清凉吧,从龟冈到京都或是岚山为止,约16公里的路程可以用2小时优雅地顺流而下。

这里的魅力在于,能欣赏河川静静流动的溪谷美感。在稍微湍急处溅起的水花,伴随着游客的欢笑声在寂静的溪谷间响起。原本用于运输物资的小船,现今则成了夏日里高人气的优雅游船活动。您要不要也来这里体验一下将暑气一扫而光的快感呢。

贵船的川床

鸭川的川床(在河川上设置的座席)是京都夏天里如诗如画的风景,而贵船的川床更是有着与众不同的风情,以京都近郊的私房观光地来形容它是再贴切不过的了。

绿色是一种在视觉上非常舒适的颜色,在绿色环绕的幽谷中享用京都怀石料理,是夏日京都旅行中的奢华享受。因为游客众多,所以常常爆满,请务必记得提前预约。

祇园祭

祇园祭,宣告着京都夏季的到来,每年都会吸引许多人来朝圣,十分热闹。在祇园祭期间,各式山鉾的保存会,会将从室町时代就一直传承下来,可说是传家之宝的屏风或是骨董拿出来在各町家中展示。一间一间地去走访这些町家,也是私房乐趣之一。

梅雨季结束的那一瞬间,一边擦着不停冒出的汗,一边走访这些町家,应该也会变成非常难忘的回忆吧。因为很多展示品都分散于市内各个不同的地方,要在短期内全部都逛完一遍确实是有点难度,不过,也因此,才让我们会为这一生只有一次的相遇而感动吧。

秋天到访枫红绝景的京都三处推荐景点

清水寺

如果想从清水寺的舞台眺望京都全景的话,推荐您一定要选择空气澄澈的秋天。到了夜间,枫叶也会打上灯光,为这份美景增添一份色彩,与春天夜樱的梦幻感有着异曲同工之妙。

在京都市内各地,有红如烈焰的枫叶,也有发出金黄色光芒的银杏,还有常绿的松木等等。请来这里欣赏充满历史感的建筑物与枫叶们巧妙搭配而交织出的绝色美景吧。

渡月桥

如果说清水寺是用来再次确认京都市内之美的地点,那么渡月桥就是观赏雄伟岚山景色的地方了。广阔无边的晴空所见之处都是天蓝色,山峦有着说是锦绣也不为过的色彩,紧紧地抓住了旅人的心。

桂川水上,漂流着一叶枫红。长年间受到京都当地人喜爱的岚山,每次来到这里都能对它蕴含的美有更深一层的体会吧。

东福寺

东福寺的秋天,是一个可以感受到何谓枫叶之美的季节。经常用心打理的庭园里,枫叶被染上绝美之红。这里有着因担心会扰乱修行而砍掉樱木改种枫树的历史,一直被承袭至今。

旺季时期,一天会有数万人到访,如此高人气的观光景点,您要不要也来欣赏这拥有纯粹之红的枫叶呢。

最适合寒冬到访的京都三处观光景点

伏见稲荷大社

伏见稻荷大社是京都市内,人们来参加新年初次参拜人数最多的神社之一。一座又一座的美丽鸟居所连结而成的参道,是京都的名景之一,您一定也曾在某处看到过吧。

下雪的日子里,红色鸟居与白雪形成的对比,带给人们视觉上无比的震撼力。只是,京都一年中下雪的日子顶多只有23天,如果您正好遇到了,可以说是非常幸运了。

就算没遇上下雪,还有1月的奉射祭、2月的节分祭、初午之日的初午大祭等许多冬日活动。有许多人为了求得用神社境内的杉木做成、祈求生意兴隆或是家庭平安的护身符「SIRUSINOSUGI」而特地前来。

二条城

德川家康于1603年建造了二条城,以德川庆喜在此城决定将政权交还天皇的历史事件为世人所熟知。这座城可说是亲眼见证了江户幕府的兴衰始末。

年末以及年初的冬季时期,庭园或是城内会举行特别的公开活动,平常不容易见到的二之丸御殿的大广间等,届时将会以期间限定的方式开放参观。请做为冬游京都的乐趣之一,务必来这里参观看看。

北野天満宫

祀奉着菅原道真公的北野天满宫,作为著名的赏梅地点为大众所知,包括缘起于道真公的飞梅传说中的红和魂梅在内,有50种共约2000株梅花,好似在宣告冬天的结束与春天的开始般美丽地绽放。

不管白天或夜晚,神社境内都充满着梅花香气,彷彿要将无声的力量注入体内般。2月份有节分祭与梅花祭,更因为马上就是考试期,在静谧中也充满着活力。

忘却日常喧嚣,寄情古都-京都

您心动了吗?经过时间洗礼也没有遗失她的姿态的京都,有许多可以感受历史的景点。此外,随着四季变换的自然景色与街道交织出的绝美风景,也是她的魅力之一。请您务必来京都体验日本这古老而美好的风情。

文章提供來源:Relux Magazine

本文提供信息均以公开时为准。

Weibo

体验日本

住宿

购物

搜寻餐厅

22 Must-Visit Spots in Kyoto If You Want to Experience Its History and Get in Touch with Nature

Kyoto is a place where the traditional side of Japan is still very much alive. The former Japanese capital is a major tourist location that enjoys great popularity both domestically and abroad. Its traditional architecture harks to the city's long history and its beautiful nature brings about different sceneries every season. But that’s just a small sample of the multitude of attractions waiting for you here. In this article, you’ll get to know some of the most recommended places to visit in Kyoto, so keep reading!

Kyoto

Things to Do

One of the Best Places to Visit in Kyoto! Top 5 Sightseeing Spots in Arashiyama

Tenryu-ji Temple

Tenryu-ji is a Buddhist temple built during the Muromachi period (1336 - 1573). Shogun Takauji Ashikaga had it constructed for the purpose of mourning the spirit of the deceased Emperor Godaigo, and since then it has been one of the most famous temples of the Rinzai school of Zen Buddhism.

Listed as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, Tenryu-ji is one of the most popular temples in Arashiyama.
 

One place you shouldn't miss is Sogenchi Garden. This place of beauty was laid out by Soseki Muso, a Zen master who designed many of the gardens of the Muromachi period. Sogenchi Garden still retains its original appearance and was the first location in Japan to be designated as a Site of Special Historic and Scenic Importance by the government. Presenting beautiful sceneries that change with the passing of each season, Sogenchi Garden is what is called a "strolling pond garden" where guests can admire the charms of nature and the Muromachi period while walking on a path built around a pond.
 

Sagano Bamboo Grove

Though only 200m in length, Sagano Bamboo Grove is a charming spot where you can feel the essence of Kyoto. This location is very close to Tenryu-ji’s North Gate, so many people choose to visit both of these famous places when coming to Arashiyama.
 

Every year during the month of December, the bamboo grove is illuminated with lights at night, making the place look magical. Walking the path while listening to the cold wind and the sound of the rustling leaves will make you forget your daily life and might even give you the feeling of going back in time.
 

Togetsu-kyo Bridge

Many of the pictures used to introduce Arashiyama depict the Togetsu-kyo Bridge, so it wouldn't be an exaggeration at all to call this famous tourist spot the symbol of this region. The mountains, Katsura River, and Togetsu-kyo Bridge mingle together, creating an astonishing landscape that can be admired throughout the year, regardless of the season.
 

The panorama that this 155m long and 11m wide bridge presents is well worth a look. You can truly say that this gorgeous bridge connects us to Arashiyama’s long history.
 

Giou-ji Temple

Giou-ji Temple is a modest thatched hut hidden in the region of Sagano. This humble temple is famous for being where a tragic love story in The Tale of the Heike took place. However, the star here is not the famous story, but rather the temple's moss garden. Everywhere you look here is covered in a deep rich green. Beautifully illuminated here and there by the sunlight that escapes the tree leaves, this moss garden has the power to calm you down and make you forget for a while about the hustle and bustle of the big city.
 

A refreshing wind flows through the cedar trees and bamboo stalks to gently touch your skin. The sound of rustling leaves creates the perfect natural melody. Come and experience the serenity of the beautiful region of Sagano.
 

Kameyama Park (Arashiyama Park)

Though located inside the busy region of Arashiyama, Kameyama Park (Arashiyama Park) is a spot that relatively few people choose to visit. It shows a unique kind of beauty during special periods like the sakura (cherry blossom) and autumn foliage seasons.
 

Strolling around the park can be a lot of fun, but the highlight of this location is the view from the observation deck. From here, you have a panoramic view of Hozu Valley and the Hozu River, not to mention you can also see the boats going down the river and the torokko (sightseeing) train slowly running along the coast. Sanzen-in Temple can be seen in the distance and when fall comes, the whole mountain is covered in autumn colors. This a hidden place that you should definitely visit!
 

5 Excellent Tourist Spots in Kyoto That Many People Don't Know

Takase River

Takase River is actually a canal that was built during the early Edo period (1603 - 1868). This lovely artificial river has a slow and gentle flow, making it seem that even time enjoys lingering here.
 

The river runs by relatively busy streets, but the typical Japanese landscape that still remains here makes this area perfect to admire the elegant atmosphere of the former Japanese capital. You might even encounter one of the flatboats described in the short story "The Boat on the River Takase" by the highly regarded Japanese author Ogai Mori!
 

Ichijo Yokai Street

Also known as Ichijo Yokai Street (“yokai” standing for monster or demon in Japanese), Taishogun Shopping Street is a 400m street located between Nishioji and Nakadachiuri streets. It is a 5-minute walk from Kitano Tenmangu Shrine. The origins of this frightening nickname trace back to the old days during the Heian period, when it is said that Ichijo Street served as the stage for Hyakki Yako, the Night Parade of One Hundred Demons! Nowadays, instead of giving goosebumps, the infamous yokai give a warm welcome to tourists visiting the street.
 

These endearing yokai will make you scratch your head wondering what they are. When fall comes, the street holds a real Hyakki Yako parade with a great number of people in yokai costumes. Take the time to come and meet these very laid-back monsters!
 

Midorogaike Pond

In the wetlands that spread through the western part of Takaragaike in the outskirts of Kyoto, you’ll find Midorogaike Pond. This area is known in Kyoto for holding a great array of species, including animals and plants that have been inhabiting this habitat since the last ice age.
 

This serene natural pond has been witnessing the history of Kyoto for a long time now. The life force this place quietly emanates will certainly make you see the city with a new set of eyes.
 

Ishibe Alley

Ishibe Alley is located in the southern part of Yasaka Shrine. This spot has been attracting attention as of late due to the quintessential image of Kyoto it offers.
 

It has a cobblestone street with traditional Japanese townhouses lined up on both its left and right, fulfilling people's expectations of what they expect Kyoto to look like. Despite this, its history is relatively new, having been built during the Meiji (1868 - 1912) and Taisho (1912 - 1926) eras. Nowadays, the alley is home to a few ryokan (Japanese-style inns) and ryotei (high-class Japanese restaurants). Take the chance to enjoy one of the most exclusive and upper-class atmospheres Kyoto has to offer!
 

Kyoto Botanical Garden

Did you know Kyoto is a very lively student city with a great number of museums and archives? Among these numerous cultural and educational facilities, you find Kyoto Botanical Garden, a massive park located not far from the city’s main area.
 

Located in the neighborhood of Kitayama, Kyoto Botanical Garden was built with the concept of being a "museum for plants," and it always has a great variety of flowers and plants on display regardless of the season. The architecture here is modern and bright, very different from the classic image of Kyoto. It just goes to show how multifaceted the former Japanese capital can be!
 

Perfect to Admire the Cherry Blossoms! 3 Spots You Want to Visit in Kyoto During Spring

Daigoji Temple

You can’t talk about springtime in Kyoto without mentioning the gorgeous cherry blossoms from Daigoji Temple. Even the great daimyo Hideyoshi Toyotomi came to Daigoji Temple to admire the blooming sakura in what would be the last year of his life. Today, it is home to around 800 sakura trees that paint the colors of spring onto the temple. It is located close to the train station and extremely popular with tourists.
 

Every tree in the premises starts blooming in the same period from late March to early April. The scenery is just magnificent! Try adjusting the timing of your trip so that you can admire the beautiful cherry blossoms at their prime!
 

Heian Jingu Shrine's Shin-en Garden

Designated as a place of scenic beauty by the Japanese government, at Heian Jingu Shrine you can find stunningly beautiful weeping cherry trees (benishidare zakura). The whole area seems to be enveloped in cherry blossoms, creating a spectacular scenery.
 

The reflection of the flowers blooming to their fullest on Seiho Pond, located at the east section of the garden, is mesmerizing. You can enjoy the cherry blossom season from late March to mid-April at Heian Jingu Shrine.
 

The Philosopher’s Path

Taking your time in one place to admire the cherry blossoms is one way of doing it, but how about strolling along lines of cherry trees under the flurry of falling petals? At the Philosopher's Path, the cherry trees form a tunnel of blossoms when spring arrives.
 

It’s quite moving when you consider that many of the greatest Japanese philosophers used to walk this same path while admiring the same cherry trees that we do now. Here, the trees blossom from early to mid-April. The warm months of Kyoto are the perfect season to take a stroll through this beautiful area.
 

Top 3 Tourist Spots in Kyoto to Visit During the Hot Summer

Hozu River Boat Ride

The city of Kyoto is famous for its hot summers. The recommendation for those who want to escape the heat is to embark on a boat down the Hozu River, located within the much cooler Hozu River Valley. The boat will take you on a graceful 2-hour journey, crossing around 16 km from Kamegaoka City to Arashiyama, Kyoto.
 

One of the features that makes the ride so attractive is the chance to admire the beautiful valley while crossing the river’s calm waters. The river also has a few fast currents, and excited voices can be heard echoing through the quiet valley every time water splashes on the boat. The boats, by the way, were used to transport goods back in the day, but now they are mainly used during the summer for these highly popular and charming trips. How about giving it a try? It’s a great way to forget about the heat!
 

Kibune no Kawadoko

The wooden decks along the Kamo River are a part of summer in Kyoto. If you want something similar, but a tad bit more unique, check out another place in the city called Kibune. Kibune is a hidden gem on the outskirts of Kyoto, perfect for the hottest season of the year.
 

Located deep in a valley surrounded by green mountains, at the wooden decks of Kibune, you will be served a sophisticated Kyoto course meal that will make your summer in the former capital unforgettable. Most of the restaurants are always full during this time of the year, so you’re advised to make a reservation in advance.
 

Gion Matsuri (Gion Festival)

Gion Matsuri announces the arrival of summer in Kyoto, and every year, the city streets bustle with people. During the festival, many traditional townhouses open their doors to exhibit family treasures, such as folding screens and other antiques, that have been passed down for generations, some over hundreds of years! Visiting these houses is one of the many ways of enjoying the festival.
 

The festival is held right when the rainy season is about to end, so it can be quite hot and humid. Taking this opportunity to visit the townhouses might be a sweaty experience, but it’s bound to make an unforgettable memory of your trip. It can be quite hard to visit every exhibition in such short time since the houses are located in different areas, but as the Japanese say, “You should treasure every encounter as if it were your last,” so enjoy the ones you can see.
 

Beautiful Autumn Leaves! 3 Places You Should Visit in Kyoto During Fall

Kiyomizu-dera Temple

Fall, when the air is clear, is one of the best times of the year to see Kyoto in its entirety from the famous wooden deck at Kiyomizu-dera Temple. As you'd expect, the autumn leaves are illuminated by lights after dark, creating a beautiful scenery just as magical as the night cherry blossoms in spring.
 

The red color of the autumn leaves seems to take over the city, but you still have the bright yellow of the gingko trees and the deep green of the pines and other coniferous trees. Enjoy the magnificent landscapes that historic buildings and autumn leaves compose throughout the city.
 

Togetsu-kyo Bridge

If Kiyomizu-dera Temple is the perfect place to recognize the beauty of the urban area of Kyoto, Togetsu-kyo Bridge is the place to appreciate the majestic nature of Arashiyama. The wide blue sky above and the colorful mountains below paint a picture that moves the heart.
 

Though introduced earlier in this article, it needs to be mentioned again because of its stunning autumn scenery. An autumn leaf slowly floating on the waters of the Katsura River during this time is all it will take for you to recognize the charms of the region. Visit Arashiyama during fall to rediscover the true beauty of this location that holds a special place in the heart of the Kyoto locals.
 

Tofuku-ji Temple

Tofuku-ji Temple is an outstanding place to feel the true beauty of fall and its colored leaves. At the well-preserved garden, you can see the beautiful autumn foliage turning red. It is said that the temple cut all its cherry trees down because it hindered monks from ascetic practices, and planted Japanese maple trees instead.
 

Tofuku-ji Temple is incredibly popular, with tens of thousands of people visiting its premises on a daily basis during the peak season. If you wish to see beautiful red autumn leaves, this is the place for you.
 

Top 3 Sightseeing Spots to Visit in Kyoto During the Cold Winter

Fushimi Inari Taisha

Fushimi Inari Taisha is one of the Shinto shrines in Kyoto that receives the highest number of visitors during New Year’s Day for the first prayer of the year. You probably know this shrine from one of Kyoto’s quintessential images showing a long line of Shinto gates called torii.

The contrast between the brilliant red of the torii and the white from the snow creates a lovely scenery. Unfortunately, it only snows 2 to 3 times a year in Kyoto, so you should consider yourself to be really lucky if you encounter this magical scene.
 

But even if it doesn’t snow, the temple has many winter events waiting for you. In January you have the Bushasai Festival (an archery ceremony held to drive evil and darkness away), and in February the Setsubun Festival (the bean-throwing festival held to celebrate the coming of spring, expel evil spirits, and invite good fortune) and the Hatsuuma Taisai Festival (a ceremony to honor Inari Okami, the god of harvest). A great number of people also visit the shrine looking for good luck charms believed to bring prosperity to business and peace to the household.
 

Nijo-jo Castle

Nijo-jo Castle was built by the great daimyo Ieyasu Tokugawa in 1603. It is famous for being where the last shogun, Yoshinobu Tokugawa, endorsed the Restoration of Imperial Rule in 1867. It's no exaggeration to say that Nijo-jo Castle witnessed the birth and death of the Tokugawa rule.
 

Other parts of the castle and the gardens are specially opened to the public for a brief time during the New Year’s holidays, making it a great chance for visitors to see some areas that are usually restricted for the entirety of the year, such as the Grand Hall inside Ninomaru Palace. This opportunity only comes once a year, so don’t miss the chance and visit Kyoto during winter, too!
 

Kitano Tenmangu Shrine

Kitano Tenmangu Shrine is where the famous poet Sugawara no Michizane is enshrined. The shrine is famous for its beautiful ume (Japanese plum) trees, holding approximately 2,000 trees of 50 different species, including Beniwa Konbai, the tree said to fly to Michizane in the legend of Tobiume. The trees blossom from the end of winter to the start of spring, as if announcing the arrival of the new season.
 

The marvelous scent of the flowers fill the air of the shrine night and day, their serene force energizing one's body. February is a busy month for this usually calm shrine, as it is when the Setsubun and Ume Blossom festivals occur, not to mention that it’s the time of the year right before entrance exams, so many students and parents come to the shrine to pray for good results.
 

Take a Break from the Hustle and Bustle of Your Daily Life and Immerse Yourself in the Wonders of Kyoto!

The former Japanese capital has such a long tradition and so much to show. Kyoto preserves old landscapes and offers a wide variety of locations where you can truly feel the history of the city. And let’s not forget the distinctive natural beauty Kyoto displays every season, creating magnificent sceneries using its buildings and architecture. Come and feel the charming Japanese atmosphere Kyoto has to offer for yourself!

 

Translated and republished with permission from: Relux Magazine

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Things to Do

Hotels & Ryokan

Shopping

Restaurant Search