【廣島購物】精選20款廣島必買伴手禮!從經典甜食到時尚配件應有盡有

廣島的必買伴手禮有經典的甜食或時尚配件等,種類五花八門。前往廣島觀光或出差想買伴手禮時,希望這篇文章能對您有所幫助。以下將精選出20款廣島必買伴手禮並詳加介紹。

廣島

購物

精選廣島10款伴手禮零食

1. 龜田商店 股份有限公司

此為「龜田商店股份有限公司」販售的「八朔果凍」,其中奢侈地加進了一整顆廣島縣因島產八朔(一種日本柑橘)。清爽的酸味與甜味很適合在炎熱的季節裡享用,在廣島當地也是人氣商品之一。微甜的風味、滑順的果凍口感與八朔的口感相當速配,是款大人小孩都會喜歡的甜點。 

這款「八朔果凍」從製造日開始可保存180天,保存期限長,因此推薦拿來送禮。冰過後享用會更加美味。相信收到這款裡面包了整顆瀨戶內地區溫暖氣候培育而成的八朔果凍一定會很開心喔!

2. Kashihara

「Kashihara」販售內含整顆廣島縣因島特產八朔的「八朔大福」,加了蜜柑的年糕中,放入以白豆沙餡包裹著的八朔果實,是款風味溫醇的日式點心。 

聽到傳聞來店購買的侍酒師田崎真也與作家內館牧子品嚐過後讚不絕口,並曾於「田崎真也葡萄酒誌」、「真也的極品訂購商品手帳」兩本雜誌中介紹,是兩位名人掛保證的自信之作。造訪廣島時請務必順道前往Kashihara看看喔! 

3. 長崎堂

「長崎屋」的「奶油蛋糕」也很適合當做伴手禮。在開店幾年之後,研發出以長崎蛋糕為基礎但更加美味營養的奶油蛋糕,為長崎堂的主打招牌商品。2年後逐漸廣受好評,現在已成為常大排長龍的名店。 

奶油蛋糕口感濕潤、奶油風味濃郁。店家希望做出不同於他處的味道,在長達40年期間,持續改良製作方式與材料。這種只要吃過一次就難以忘懷的味道,非常推薦買來當做造訪廣島的伴手禮。 

4. 御菓子處 龜屋

「御菓子處 龜屋」的「川通年糕」據說是廣島最古老的日式點心,現在販售的商品與創立初期的商品一模一樣。此處的年糕為師傅手工搗製,製作過程相當費工。年糕上頭灑了大量的黃豆粉,非常美味。 

會被稱為川通年糕是因為過去在慶祝的場合會將年糕製成小石頭的樣子食用。這款伴手禮只能放七天,因保存期限較短,建議儘早享用。商品販賣以廣島為主,如希望寄送至別個地區的話,不妨直接洽詢御菓子處 龜屋吧!

5. 共樂堂

「共樂堂」的「麝香葡萄」外觀非常華美。這款可愛的伴手禮是將早上現摘的整顆新鮮「亞歷山大麝香葡萄」包在求肥中的點心。 

店家40年來堅持原有的製作方式,每顆葡萄都由技巧純熟的師傅手工包裹而成。果香十足又水嫩的麝香葡萄風味清爽,和微甜的求肥譜出和諧的樂曲,請務必親身體驗一下這種滋味吧!賞味期限為購買當日算起9天左右,常溫保存。有空不妨順道前往長崎堂挑選看看吧!

6. BACKEN MOZART

「BACKEN MOZART」的「現烤野燕麥餅焼」也是熱門伴手禮之一。以加州杏仁與營養價值豐富的「野燕麥」為材料所製成的香脆餅乾。砂糖使用高級和三盆糖。 

這款伴手禮也有包裝設計成鯉魚隊造型的商品,對於廣島東洋鯉魚隊的球迷來說應該相當難以抗拒。推薦將這個伴手禮送給喜歡棒球的男性或小孩。賞味期限為寄送日算起30天以上。造訪廣島時,請務必前往「BACKEN MOZART」一探究竟吧!

7. 八天堂

「八天堂」的「奶油麵包」耗費三年時間研發,在不斷嚐試之下而誕生。麵包鬆軟、奶油滑順,不論吃幾個都不會膩,所以一不小心就會吃太多。綿密卻清爽的風味是其一大特色。 

爽口簡樸的卡士達奶油搭配頂級純鮮奶油的奶油麵包看似平凡,卻是深受歡迎的經典伴手禮。保存期限為購買當天起的隔天為止,適合送給能立刻見面的好友或家人。大推前往廣島八天堂品嚐人氣奶油麵包喔!

8. 菠蘿麵包本店

接下來要介紹的是店名和招牌商品都是「菠蘿麵包」的特別伴手禮。1936年開始營業的老字號麵包店所販售的菠蘿麵包外觀為橄欖球造型,麵包外面裹著香脆的餅乾,中間則是擠滿了令人懷念的卡士達醬。 

這款麵包份量十足。於吳市開店的菠蘿麵包保有著創立當時的味道,也是當地居民熟悉的美味。菠蘿麵包本店的建築為顯眼的綠色,除了菠蘿麵包外也陳列著眾多熱賣麵包,喜歡麵包的您不妨前往選購吧!

9. 小野貓點心鋪

「小野貓點心鋪」的「小野貓標誌尾道布丁1箱(4入)」是款風味濃郁且口感滑順的人氣布丁,有令人懷念的味道。淺嚐一口就會不由得笑顏逐開,是款能療癒身心的甜點。 

裝著小野貓標誌尾道布丁的箱子與布丁瓶上的插畫非常可愛,光看包裝就是款值得購買的伴手禮。保存期限為製造日起7天左右,需冷藏存放,但為了不影響其風味,還是建議儘早享用喔!

10. 錦堂

廣島經典伴手禮為楓葉饅頭,其中最為推薦的是「錦堂」的「生楓葉饅頭」。生楓葉饅頭是一種生菓子(水分含量較多的點心)類的饅頭,因麵糰使用廣島縣年糕餅粉與米粉,因此口感濕潤Q彈。請務必品嚐看看精選食材呈現出的高雅風味。 

錦堂創業於昭和26年(西元1951年),此處的楓葉饅頭有柚子風味的豆沙泥內餡、豆沙內餡,以及抹茶共三種口味。保存期限為製造日算起14天,因可存放較長時間,非常推薦拿來送禮。錦堂的楓葉饅頭是觀光必備的伴手禮之一喔! 

精選5款廣島伴手禮名產

1. 昴珈琲

「昴珈琲」的「海軍珈琲」雖是在地名產,但卻是相當獨特的伴手禮。此間咖啡廳創立於1959年,對於咖啡非常有熱忱。因堅持咖啡豆須從原產地進口,所以擄獲了眾多顧客的心。 

創辦人在經營咖啡廳的同時,每天都會烘咖啡豆,在沖泡咖啡給顧客時,某位前海軍相關人員的常客說「以前我在大和戰艦上喝的咖啡真的很好喝…」,也因為這句話,創辦人根據他描述的咖啡香氣與風味,花了5年的時間才重現了這款「夢幻咖啡」,這也是昴珈琲「海軍珈琲」的由來。造訪廣島時,別忘了去昴珈琲親身體驗一下吧! 

2. 倉崎海產 (久羅沙喜倉崎_廣島機場店)

牡蠣也是廣島知名的名産伴手禮之一,「倉崎海產」的「花瑠(Oil)&花星(Oyster)」為美味的牡蠣伴手禮商品。這款商品曾被電視節目採訪,也曾在日劇中出現,於自家廣島灣養殖場捕撈的新鮮牡蠣燒烤時邊以醬油調味後,浸泡於純玉米胚芽油中,呈現出濃郁的風味。如同鵝肝般的口感可說是頂級奢華的商品,非常適合下酒。 

「花瑠(Oil)&花星(Oyster)」除了牡蠣之外,以濃縮了牡蠣精華的油烹調的料理也非常好吃。這款人氣商品也曾在「大排長龍法律商談所」與「秘密嵐」等電視節目中出現。 

3. 廣島海苔股份公司 直賣店

「廣島海苔股份公司 直賣店」的「牡蠣醬油調味海苔」適合推薦給喜愛牡蠣的同好當做伴手禮。廣島以牡蠣聞名,萃取出牡蠣精華用於製作海苔時的調味,有著滿滿鮮味的海苔就大功告成了。 

「廣島海苔股份公司」的代表性商品為具有獨特辣味與風味的「芥末海苔」,以及第5代老闆傾盡全力製作而成的頂級商品「烤海苔」和「牡蠣醬油調味海苔」。每項商品皆是投注了傳統技術而製成的夢幻逸品,不妨買來當做伴手禮看看吧!

4. Asamurasaki

特別推薦給喜愛牡蠣的饕客「Asamurasaki」的「牡蠣醬油」。這款柴魚片、昆布、味醂與牡蠣以完美比例調配而成的商品在超市也有販售,是廣島在地居民常用的調味料。「牡蠣醬油」的功能等同於一般調味用的醬油。 

「牡蠣醬油」已連續5年榮獲國際品質評鑑大賞的最高榮譽金獎,不論直接涼拌,或用在香炒、燉煮類料理都能增添食物的美味。店家資訊中的住址為製造工廠(工廠所在地為岡山縣),也會舉辦工廠參觀活動。請務必前往Asamurasaki欣賞其製作過程吧!

5. Masuya味噌

「Masuya味噌」的「四季倉庫綜合味噌」值得推薦給喜歡鯉魚棒球隊的人。此款商品使用北海道黃豆、國產大麥、米與沖繩鹽巴「Shimamasu」等材料,釀製過程會播放韋瓦第的「四季」,是款以充滿愛意的心情釀造而成的味噌。印著鯉魚隊插畫的包裝也很有廣島風格呢!

雖然一般大眾對於廣島味噌沒有深刻的印象,但「Masuya味噌」是這次想特別推薦的伴手禮。據說讓味噌聽音樂是為了用音樂的震動促使酵母發酵,所以才得以製作出充滿濃郁風味的味噌。 

精選5種廣島雜貨伴手禮

1. 筆之里工房

廣島名產雜貨伴手禮為「筆之里工房」的「熊野筆」。熊野筆為江戶時代因廣島藩的獎勵,使得製筆文化從此生根茁壯。現今廣島已成為筆製造量日本第一多的城市。 

在繪畫、寫作與化妝等不同領域的筆刷中,也常見到「熊野筆」的蹤跡,因品質優良而廣受日本國內外使用者的好評。廣島市內有許多販售熊野筆的商店,不妨前往筆之里工房,實際感受一下這些筆刷的奧妙吧!

2. 光 股份公司

時尚的廣島特有的雜貨便是「光 股份公司」的「銅蟲」。銅蟲為廣島傳統工藝之一。其名稱來自於江戶時代,當時的藩主淺野公看著熱衷於製作銅製手工藝品的師傅便說「他們好像銅之蟲。(熱衷於某一事物專心工作的人被稱為『工作之蟲』)」。

將特殊的銅合金版成型加工後,以錘子和鑿子在表面打出花樣,再燃燒稻草後煙燻。根據光線的照射角度其表面會呈現各種不可思議的花紋。時髦的花瓶、裝飾盤與筆盤等物品很適合當做伴手禮。

3. 勺子之家 股份公司

其實廣島縣宮島的杓子製造量為日本第一,「勺子之家 股份公司」的「宮島杓子」也是深具廣島風格的伴手禮之一。據說宮島杓子的設計靈感來自於日本三大弁財天——嚴島弁財天拿著的琵琶。 

勺子之家 股份公司的勺子是宮島特產,也是傳說中能帶來幸福的人氣吉祥物,因此深受遊客喜愛。「誓約勺子」常用於結婚典禮中,是新郎新娘用來互餵食蛋糕的人氣商品,據說其中蘊含著「一輩子不會讓對方為食物犯愁」「一輩子都會為對方烹煮美味食物」等意。 

4. 山根對嚴堂・耀藝廊

「山根對嚴堂・耀藝廊」的「御砂燒」是值得推薦的器皿與小飾品伴手禮。宮島御砂燒起始於江戶時代(1603年~),當時現在廣島縣西部的旅人有「還沙」的習俗,那就是將嚴島神社御本殿下的沙子當做護身符,如果平安歸來就會把旅程目的地的沙子加上原本護身符的沙子加倍奉還於神社。 

當時廣島地區便開始以此種「還沙」的神聖沙子製作祭祀器具,這也是「御砂燒」的起源。位於廣島的「山根對嚴堂・耀藝廊」中展示並販售茶碗、鉢、盤子等日常生活中使用的器皿、花器與茶器等眾多作品。 

5. 森田織物

「森田織物」的「備後絣」是廣島特產中少見的伴手禮。「備後絣」始於江戶時代末期,當時將經織線與緯織線形成花紋的部分以竹子皮捲起後製作成井字花紋絣為備後絣的起源。 

明治初期,「備後絣」販賣至日本全國,因樸實與怎麼看都不會膩的花紋而廣受歡迎,但現在製作與販賣備後絣的業者大量減少,出現此種傳統工藝技術即將消失的危機。不妨前往「森田織物」欣賞尚未消失的備後絣吧!

廣島推薦伴手禮從甜食到雜貨種類豐富!

廣島地區有眾多伴手禮,雖然本文中只有介紹20款商品,但其實這裡還有數不盡的伴手禮與特產。造訪廣島時,請務必在店家以五感多看、多品嚐、多接觸這些人氣商品吧!這次以「保存期限」「可愛」「人氣」「小飾品」「時尚」五種方向介紹了廣島地區的伴手禮,請務必從中尋找您喜愛的商品吧!

文章提供來源:Relux Magazine

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

玩樂

住宿

購物

搜尋餐廳

20 Weird, Wonderful, and Delicious Souvenirs to Pick Up from Hiroshima

When it comes to souvenirs in Hiroshima, there are almost too many options to choose from. But not to worry—whether you need to get something small for your workmates or a nice present for your friends and family, this article has you covered! Read on for the 20 most coveted items to buy while you're in Hiroshima!

Hiroshima

Shopping

Top 10 Hiroshima Snacks

1. Kameta Shoten

This jelly is made from the flesh of a whole hassaku orange. Grown in Setouchi, these oranges can be as big as a grapefruit, and the kind folks at Kameta Shoten have decided to use a whole one for each jelly! They can be very refreshing in the hot summer, offering a sweet and sour treat. The locals love this dessert, as the sweetness is more controlled in jelly form, and the contrasting textures of the juicy fruit and smooth jelly just bring this snack to a whole new level. 

These jellies last for around 180 days post production, which make them a great present for people of all ages. Chill them in the fridge before serving to enjoy them at their best.  

2. Kashihara

Hassaku Daifuku is a wagashi (traditional Japanese dessert) made at Kashihara. An entire hassaku orange is mixed in with shiro-an (white bean paste) and then wrapped in mochi (rice cake) mixed with mandarins. This luxurious dessert only uses hassaku oranges produced on Innoshima Island in Hiroshima Prefecture, and this gives each daifuku a wonderfully mellow flavor.

This place has even been featured in magazines like Shinya Tasaki Wine Magazine and Shinya's Notes on Premium but Remote Food. Their hassaku daifuku has earnt the stamp of approval from several celebrities, so why not stop by if you happen to be in the area? 

3. Nagasakido

A few years after Nagasakido opened, the staff wanted to develop the castella cake into something more nutritious. This butter cake was subsequently created and became one of Nagasakido's signature foods. Within 2 years, word of this delicious souvenir cake spread far enough that long lines started forming at the shop every day.

For 40 years, they have strived for something that can't be found elsewhere, and the result is a moist cake with a creamy, buttery flavor. Not once did they change the process nor the ingredients that go into this cake, instead preferring to perfect this winning formula. Just one try is enough to get you hooked for life, so rope some of your friends in, too!

4. Kameya

Kameya's Kawadori Mochi is said to be one of the oldest sweets that is still sold today in Hiroshima. It is a rice cake that comes covered with mounds of soybean powder, but since each one needs to be prepared individually, it can sometimes take a bit of time to get your hands on one.

The name Kawadori Mochi dates back to the Sengoku period (1467-1600) when the treat was designed to look like pebbles from a river, and it is now eaten on celebratory occasions. Its shelf life is only 7 days, so it's best to consume it as soon as possible. They also do deliveries across Japan, so you can give them a call even if you aren't in Hiroshima.

5. Kyorakudo

Kyorakudo offers a very pretty wagashi: a Single Muscat Grape. This petite souvenir is composed of a single, large Muscat of Alexandria wrapped in a layer of gyuhi (soft mochi).

For 40 years, they kept the recipe a secret, with every single one carefully hand-crafted by skilled artisans. They last around 9 days at room temperature after purchase, so please give it a go if you bump into the store, as the balance between the succulent Muscat grape and sweet, delicate gyuhi is exquisitely refreshing.

6. Backen Mozart

Another really popular souvenir is Backen Mozart's Karasumugi no Yakitate Cookie (freshly baked oat cookies). They use almonds produced in California, high-grade wasanbon sugar, and oats to create this crispy treat.

The packaging pictured above is called the Carp design, and it depicts one of the mascots of the Hiroshima Toyo Carp baseball team. They last for over 30 days after purchase and make for great presents for baseball fans! 

7. Hattendo

Hattendo created this cream bread after three years of trial and error, but the resulting fluffy bun filled with a smooth cream was worth the wait. Don't let the cream fool you though, as it's so light that you can end up forgetting how many you've had already! 

This plain cream bread has the perfect balance of sweet light custard and whipped cream, earning it a place as a local favorite. It only lasts for around a day and a half, so it's best to grab some on the way to meeting friends or family.

8. Melonpan Main Branch

Yes, the store itself is called Melonpan (literally "melon bread" in Japanese).

This store has been offering its namesake pastry since 1936 when it first opened. Melon bread is a football shaped bun covered with a layer of cookie dough and filled with custard cream. 

It's actually quite filling! Since Melonpan first opened in Kure, they have continued to offer the same melon bread, and over the years, the locals have become so accustomed to the flavor that its popularity never wanes. Of course, they offer plenty of other types of pastries, too, so be sure to look out for this auspicious green building when visiting the area!

9. Oyatsu to Yamaneko

Oyatsu to Yamaneko offers a box of 4 separate puddings called Yamaneko Shirushi no Onomichi Pudding. Soft and creamy, their pudding somehow comes off as a little nostalgic, and anyone who tries it invariably ends up with a smile on their face.

Even the packaging has cute written all over it, and the attention to detail they've put into it can be clearly seen from the box all the way down to the little glass bottles with the pudding inside. While they last for around 7 days when kept in a fridge, they are still pudding, so the fresher the better!

10. Nishikido

Momiji manju, a staple when it comes to souvenirs from Hiroshima, actually has more than one variety. Nishikido's take on the classic snack is called nama momiji, which falls under the category of a namagashi—a type of moist wagashi (traditional Japanese sweet). These nama momiji have various rice flours in them, so not only are they moist like a rice cake, but they're also chewy like one, too. Indulge in the blend of flavors that can only be achieved with the best ingredients!  

Nishikido first opened its doors back in 1951. These days, they offer 3 varieties of nama momiji: matcha, yuzu with koshian (smooth azuki paste), and yuzu with tsubuan (crushed azuki paste). Great as a gift, they last around 14 days from the production date.

Top 5 Products of Hiroshima

1. SUBARU COFFEE

If you are looking for a gift that's popular but also a little strange, look no further than SUBARU COFFEE's Kaigun-san's Coffee. Opened in 1959, this shop has specialized in coffee from the very beginning. Many of their customers stock up on coffee beans through them, as they always get their supply straight from the producers.

Why Kaigun-san (navy personnel)? Well, the story goes that while the owner was serving coffee one day, he overheard one of his regulars—a navy officer—mention, "Back in the day, the coffee aboard the Yamato was very nice..." The owner decided to spend the next 5 years researching flavors and aromas to come up with this mythical coffee. Definitely drop by and give it a go if you're in town!

2. Kurasaki Kaisan Hiroshima Airport Branch

Oysters are another popular food to come out of Hiroshima, and these bottles of Oiru Ando Oisuta don't disappoint. Raised at the company farm, these oysters are grilled and flavored with soy sauce and then preserved in corn oil. This retains their rich oyster flavor while also giving them a foie gras-like texture. Needless to say, they go incredibly well with alcohol, and while the oysters are indeed exquisite, the oil that they've been sitting in can be taken and incorporated into any number of dishes of your own design, making this a very good pick for a present.

They've even shown up a few times in Japanese dramas and TV shows!

3. Hiroshima Nori Co., Ltd. Outlet Store

The guys at Hiroshima Nori Co., Ltd. have something perfect for those who love the flavor of oysters. Hiroshima is famous for its oysters for a reason, but these guys have taken it a step further, extracting the essence of these beautiful oysters and applying it to make their seaweed snack, Kaki Shoyu Ajitsuki Nori (Seaweed Flavored with Oyster Soy Sauce).

These, along with 2 other products—the Wasabi Nori (wasabi seaweed) with its unique flavor and spice, and the Yaki Nori, the proud creation of the 5th generation store owner—make up their 3 top sellers. Each of these products are crafted with all the tradition and skills that can be brought to bear, so get your hands on some whille you can!

4. Asamurasaki

If you still can't get enough oysters in your system, why not grab a bottle of this oyster soy sauce by Asamurasaki? More than just your regular soy sauce, they have decided to balance the flavor with bonito flakes, kombu seaweed, mirin, and of course, oysters. It can be used in all sorts of ways, and you can even find it lining the shelves of local supermarkets.

This Oyster Soy Sauce has earnt a Grand Gold award for 5 years and running at the Monde Selection. Whether you use it as is, add it to your stir fry, or use it as a base for broiling, this product will improve the dish by much more than you might expect out of soy sauce.

The address we've given below actually leads straight to their factory, where you can even join in a guided tour and learn more about their brewing process. 

5. Masuyamiso

This is a very unique miso, made using soybeans from Hokkaido, domestic wheat, rice, and salt from Okinawa named "shimamasu". Antonio Vivaldi's The Four Seasons is also played to the miso as it ages, revealing a level of care that you won't find in many other places. 

masuyamiso

Hiroshima may not be known for its miso, but an exception should be made for this standout item. The vibrations from the music is supposed to help speed up the fermentation process and thus deepening the flavor, and you can judge the results for yourself. 

5 General Souvenir Goods

1. Fude no Sato Kobo

When it comes to the general goods in Hiroshima, the Kumano Fude, made by the masters at Fude no Sato, makes for one of the best souvenirs around. The entire culture of making these ink brushes started in the Edo period when it was recommended to the people in the Hiroshima domain, and these days, they have become the top producers in all of Japan.

onesnishihiroshima

Kumano Fude are sold all over Hiroshima, and they also come in a wide variety, such as for writing, painting, or even for applying makeup and cosmetics. They've even earnt the approval of people all over the world for their excellence, so check out the level of quality of these brushes for yourself at Fude no Sato Kobo.

2. Hikari

Another traditional art form in Hiroshima is the Dochu, a type of copper craft. The name is made up of 2 characters that translate into "copper bug". It is said that the name came from back in the Edo period, where a lord spotted a coppersmith who was engrossed in his craft, and so the lord commented that he was "like a copper bug" (read: workaholic).

antevasin

After shaping the metal alloy, the craftsman uses hammers and chisels to create the patterns on the surface. They then smoke and polish the surface to bring about that unique hue. Plates, vases, and various small dishes can be created using this technique and they make for exquisite souvenirs.

3. Shakushi no Ie Co., Ltd.

The highest producer of shakushi (ladles) in Japan is actually Miyajima in Hiroshima. This makes the shakushi from Shakushi no Ie a very well-known souvenir. The motif of these shamoji (rice paddles) is said to have come from the biwa (type of lute) that the Benzaiten (Saraswati) in Itsukushima was holding. Benzaiten (Saraswati) is the Japanese goddess of everything that flows, such as water and words, and the Itsukushima Benzaiten shrine is one of the Three Great Shrines of Benzaiten in Japan.

Part of the reason why the shamoji from Shakushi no Ie is such a popular souvenir is that they are said to bring good luck. This has even extended to weddings, where a ritual based off the ancient Roman ritual of confarreatio is performed. Called Chikai no Shamoji (rice paddle of vows), the bride and groom would feed each other the first portions of the wedding cake using the rice paddles. This is popularly believed to symbolize one's devotion to not letting the other ever go hungry and their commitment to always make delicious food for each other. 

4. Yamane Taigendo - Gallery Yo

For smaller items, the Osuna-yaki (Osuna pottery) from Yamane Taigendo - Gallery Yo is recommended. This particular type of ceramics started in the Edo period, when travelers took a bit of sand with them from under the main shrine hall of Itsukushima Shrine as a good luck charm. These travelers from western Hiroshima would then go off to their destination and collect some sand while they were there. When they returned from their travels, they would bring the mixed sand, now twice the volume, back to the shrine. This custom is called osuna-gaeshi, or, returning the sand. 

atelier_turu

Osuna-yaki is the practice of using this sacred sand from osuna-gaeshi in pottery. They knead this sand right into the clay before turning it into special pottery to be used in religious festivals. These days, Yamane Taigendo makes and sells a wide variety of ceramic goods made this way, such as cups, pots, plates, vases, tea pots, and more.

5. Morita Orimono

Out of all the wonderful souvenirs that we have listed, this might be the rarest of them all. Bingogasuri from Morita Orimono is a double cross pattern created by tying parts of the fabric with bamboo sheaths and dyeing them. Separate sheets are then weaved together to generate a shape known as "igeta". This technique became popular in the late Edo period.

ryuubokuko

By the time that the Meiji period came around, Bingogasuri had become so popular for its simple design and appealing aesthetic that it spread across the entire country. These days, however, the number of stores that offer bingogasuri have been steadily decreasing as the traditional skills and techniques of this art form is slowly dying out. Get your hands on one at Morita Orimono while you still can for a truly precious gift!

There's so Much to Try in Hiroshima!

These were 20 of our top souvenir picks in Hiroshima, but that's not to say that there isn't more out there! Just remember to look out for a few things like expiry dates, design, popularity, size, and style while you shop for your friends and family. If you can do that, then you can freely explore Hiroshima to its fullest, eating and feeling your way through this wonderful city! 

 


If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

Translated and republished with permission from: SPIRA (formerly known as Relux Magazine)
By the way, you can book a hotel through Relux (run by SPIRA) by clicking here!

Header Image: Tataya Kudo / Shutterstock

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search