【日本文化】10件在日本你不應該做,且可能會做錯的事情

打算在日本待上一陣子?或者只是短暫停留?或者正打算要來日本?這些常見的錯誤,即使對已經在日本待上好一陣子的人來說也常常搞不清楚,所以得要注意一下哦。

日本

實用資訊

這跟你曾在日本待過多久,或者你對日本了解多深,都沒有直接關係。有時候單純就是忘了、純粹就是懶了、或者真的不知情。來看看你是否曾經犯過以下的錯誤吧。

1. 和服或浴衣,右衽穿成左衽

千萬別這樣做!左衽只有死人才能穿。記得穿和服或浴衣的時候,一定是左側衣襟蓋在右側衣襟上方(也就是所謂的右衽)。萬一穿反了,可是會變成穿壽衣啊。如果你從Youtube或者是一些網站上學習怎麼穿和服,你會發現老師們會很強烈堅定地告訴你,左邊衣襟一定要蓋在右邊衣襟的上方。

2. 在電車上大聲交談

應該大家都知道車上是只能低聲交談的地方。而且到處都有標誌寫著別在電車內大聲說話。(除非你是在都心開往市郊的末班車上,這時候應該會被一堆醉酒又吵鬧的人包圍)

但是有些人--尤其是那些還沒有習慣日本的外國人--會以為自己已經很小聲地說話,但實際上還是會被認為太大聲。你可能要隨時注意壓低自己的聲量,就像在說悄悄話那樣才行。

3. 沒有做好垃圾分類

nameko-shima/Flickr

有時候你沒有把垃圾分類做好,可能只是因為搞不清楚手上的垃圾是可燃或者是不可燃,或是找不到可以丟塑膠類垃圾的桶子,甚至有時候是看起來收集寶特瓶的回收桶上有人吐了一堆嘔吐物。

但有時候你沒做好分類,只是因為懶惰。

千萬別成為第二種人。請盡可能把垃圾分類做好。

4. 圈起食指和拇指說「OK」

這個手勢在日本是代表「錢」的意思。你以為你是跟某人說「好」,但實際上這個動作會被誤認為要跟對方收錢。最好還是用口頭說明的方式,別比這個手勢,才不會造成誤會。

5. 在電車上看書但沒用書套

這只適用於日文的平裝版書籍或者是漫畫,因為只有這些常見的書能夠找到大小適合的書套。與其說這是一種普遍的禮節,不如說它是一種常見的習慣。你也可以用一些可愛的書套把你的書包起來。(還有當你不太想讓人知道你正在讀什麼樣的書時,包書套是很有效的方法)

6. 外帶飲料進入餐廳

dr.coop/Flickr

在日本你不需要付小費,餐廳就會提供很好的服務,所以別把外頭的飲料或食物帶進餐廳裡去,因為這樣表示你一點都不在意這家餐廳的食物,是很粗魯的行為。有些餐廳會很客氣地請你把自己帶來的東西收好,但是有些餐廳可能不會這麼客氣喔。

7. 在電扶梯上站錯邊

一般來說,在日本關東地區要站在電扶梯的左側,右側是留給人走的。而在關西地區的話,則剛好跟關東左右對調。如果你搞不懂或者是忘了,就看看當地人怎麼做吧。

8. 沒有正確地使用筷子

大部份的人應該都知道,別把筷子插在飯碗裡。然後也要記得不要用筷子傳遞食物。同時筷子不用的時候不要跨放在碗、盤上(所以才有「筷架」這種東西啊)。

可参考:

10個在日本拿筷子的禁忌

9. 坐在博愛座(優先席)上不讓位

你如果很累,而博愛座(優先席,yuusenseki)剛好有空的時候,不妨先坐下來。但是當乘客越來越多,並且有需要博愛座的人上車的時候,請記得要讓座。在日本,除了老人家很容易一眼就認得出來之外,從鑰匙鍊或包包也能夠看出孕婦的身份,所以不要再找藉口不讓座了。

10. 衣服曬了很久卻不收

在陽台上曬衣服是很常見的事。但是如果曬了很久不收,例如連續放個兩天,遇到下雨就完了。當然啦,有的時候就是沒辦法,我就曾經把衣服曬在外面好幾天過。不過,還是盡可能早點把曬在陽台上的衣服收進來,這也表示你又可以洗更多的衣服了,呵呵。

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

玩樂

住宿

購物

搜尋餐廳

This post is also available in: Chinese (Traditional)

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on RedditEmail this to someone

It doesn’t matter how long you’ve been in Japan or how much you know about it–sometimes there are things you just forget to do, or don’t do out of sheer laziness, or that you just didn’t know about altogether. Are you guilty of some of the ones on this list?

1. Wearing your kimono/yukata folded right over left.

rsz_yukata_tutorial
blog.capellahotels.com

DO NOT DO THIS. It means you are dead. Always be sure to fold your kimono or yukata so that the left side is over the right side; otherwise, you are dressing a corpse. If you are following a YouTube tutorial or reading up on how to put on a kimono online, chances are the author is very adamant that you have to have the left side on top.

2. Talking too loudly on the train.

mita-line-inside-train1
urbanrail.net

This seems obvious, and it’s written in practically every guide: don’t talk loudly on the train. It’s a quiet place for hushed conversation (unless you’re riding on the last train coming back from the center, in which case, you will be among some very inebriated and rowdy people).

But some people – especially foreigners, just because they’re not used to it – don’t realize that their not-loud voice is actually still loud. You might have to drop to what you believe is a whisper. Keep yourself in check!

3. Not sorting your trash properly.

Garbage_japan
injapan.gaijinpot.com

Sometimes you do this because you just don’t know if you’re holding a combustible or a non-combustible. Or because there’s no box for plastic. Or because it looks like someone vomited all over the pet bottle container.

Sometimes you do this because you’re too lazy.

Don’t be the second one. Try to make sure your trash is in the right place.

4. Making your thumb and forefinger into a circle to say “ok.”

tokyoweekender_Japanese-gestures4
tokyoweekender.com

In Japan, this is a gesture for “money.” You might think you’re telling someone you’re alright, but you’re actually making a secret deal with them that involves your wallet. To stop making secret deals, resort to using vocal affirmations.

5. Not using a book cover on the train.

DIY-Japanese-Paper-Book-Cover-07
kittyandbuck.com

This really only works if you’re reading Japanese paperbacks or manga because those are the most common sizes for book covers. It’s also not so much a common courtesy as it is a common custom. But you can get some cute book covers! (It will also hide the title if you are reading something you don’t really want everyone to know about.)

6. Bringing outside drinks into restaurants.

120531022724-sugary-drinks-story-top
cnn.com

You don’t tip in Japan because it is expected that the restaurant will provide good service for you without expectation of an extra payment. So don’t bring in outside drinks or food to a restaurant, because this suggests that you don’t think much of it even before you’ve had their food. It’s also just rude, and while some places will kindly tell you to put away what you’ve brought, others may not be as polite.

7. Not standing/walking on the correct side of the sidewalk/escalator.

cimg3869
umi2tsukuba.blogspot.com

DO NOT be those people standing where you’re supposed to walk. Or walking where you’re supposed to stand. As a general rule of thumb, on escalators in the Kanto area, you stand on the left and walk on the right. In Kansai, this is apparently reversed. If you can’t remember, or don’t know, then just watch everyone else.

8. Using your chopsticks incorrectly.

Tofu
new.uniquejapan.com

Most people know the general rule: don’t stick your chopsticks up in your rice. You also shouldn’t pass food from one set to another. It’s also technically not correct to lay your chopsticks across your plate or bowl when you’re not using them (that’s what the chopstick rest is for).

9. Not giving up your priority seat.

Priority Seat ,mark, at Tamachi station, March 15, 2012. Kitazume reports. MIURA PHOTO.
japantimes.co.jp

If you are super tired and there’s a priority seat (yuusenseki, 優先席) open, you can sit there. But once the train gets crowded, and people who actually need the priority seat get on, get up. There is no excuse. You can tell if a person is very old. And in Japan, you can also tell if a woman is pregnant by the keychain on her bag.

10. Leaving your laundry out for too long.

2011-01-16 laundry
adawak.blogspot.com

You may know that it’s common practice to leave your laundry out on the veranda to dry. But if you leave it out there for too long–as in, an extra day–you look sloppy. I know sometimes we can’t help it…I have left my laundry outside for days. DAYS. But bringing it in sooner is better for your clothes, and also means you can do more laundry. Hooray.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on RedditEmail this to someone