【東京美食】築地市場美食之旅!和Japan Wonder Travel一起朝聖美食天堂

2018年,原築地場內市場遷址豐洲,更名為豐洲市場,留下的場外市場則在原處持續經營。穿梭於築地場外市場,彷彿置身美食佳饌天堂;若您想以最有效率的方式探索築地,跟隨專業的觀光導遊無疑是最佳選擇之一,不僅能踏訪所有最棒的店家,若有日本文化、歷史、美食等疑難雜症也能立即獲得解答。這回tsunagu Japan編輯部實際參與了Japan Wonder Travel的築地市場美食之旅,請繼續閱讀本文,也許您也會心動喔!

築地

行程體驗

※本文與Japan Wonder Travel合作執筆撰寫。

關於築地魚市場

1935年於東京成立的築地魚市場簡稱築地市場),是全世界規模最大的魚貨批發市場無論作為料理職人的日常交易場所或知名觀光景點即使走過了半個世紀現今仍興盛不已築地市場可分為兩個區域內市場知名的鮪魚競標拍賣魚貨批發採購在此上演場外市場由餐廳飲食店組合而成主要販售新鮮海鮮蔬果產品熟食伴手禮

201810築地場內市場吹熄燈號魚貨批發市場連同鮪魚拍賣秀一同搬遷至東京豐洲新建的建築裡而築地場外市場則留在原址每日為好奇心旺盛飢腸轆轆的遊客提供各式各樣的美食佳餚與伴手禮

和Japan Wonder Travel探索築地市場,來趟「東京飲食之旅」!

Japan Wonder Travel是一家專門提供日本美食與文化導覽的旅遊公司,足跡遍訪東京、京都以及日本各地。旅途中,您將在親切又博學多聞、能說英語和中文的導遊陪同下,享有一段富有教育性的愉悅時光。雖然有時漫無目的地自行探索一座新城市也饒有趣味,但若您想利用有限時間、把握機會旅遊,不妨讓像Japan Wonder Travel一樣的專家來為您安排行程。

這回,編輯部決定參與走訪築地市場的「東京飲食之旅」(Tokyo FooDrink Tour)。請繼續往下閱讀,了解如何預約這趟充滿美食與樂趣的行程。

在築地本願寺集合

這趟旅程始於築地本願寺外——建於1931年至1934年間的佛寺,取代原先在1923年關東大地震中損毀的築地御坊。由於築地本願寺鄰近東京地下鐵築地站,且佔地廣大、便於尋找,以此處作為導覽旅程的集合點可謂相當貼心。

終於與此趟行程的導遊Tomo會合。每位團員都領到了一張小卡片,上頭寫有當日飲食菜單、可能會用上的單字句子以及注意事項。

由於我們已經在築地本願寺外,前往築地市場前,導遊快速地帶領我們參觀寺廟內部。別於日本多數寺廟為中國風,築地本願寺因為濃厚的古印度風格顯得格外與眾不同。進入寺內,可欣賞到更多的異國元素,如在本堂入口處氣派無比的管風琴。

進入市場、開始探索之旅

從築地本願寺出發,徒步前往築地市場的入口僅需數分鐘時間。儘管是一大清早,市場內早已熱鬧喧天,當地的料理職人為自家餐廳揀選新鮮高品質的食材,尋味而來的遊客們也迫不及待貪饞一番。由於多數商店和攤販會在下午三點關門,因此參觀築地市場的最佳時間是早晨至中午左右。

Tomo生動地講解了築地場外市場的歷史,原來這裏最早只有幾家餐廳和商店聚集,為外出用餐的場內市場員工們提供料理。後來,隨著市場搖身成為備受遊客歡迎的觀光景點,愈來愈多商店餐廳進駐,而一些歷史悠久的店家也為了吸引更多元的客人將商品加以調整。

即使不品嚐、不購買,僅以雙眼飽覽新鮮多樣化的海鮮和蔬果,也很令人著迷。無論您來自何處,您都可能找到在家鄉從未見過的食材,如第一張圖中新鮮翠綠的山葵,除了日本,在其他的國家可是相當難以尋覓。

品嚐道地日式美食

進入市場不久後,我們便開始品嚐各式各樣的美食,甚至是小卡片上未提及的餐食。店員掛著親切的笑容,端上乾燥黑豆與熟黑豆,讓我們嚐嚐有何不同。

乾燥黑豆嚐起來如花生,而煮過的黑豆則是口感柔軟,帶有甜味。同樣的食材因準備方式不同而有不同風味,著實令人驚艷。

接著,我們嚐了炸魚餅,由混有其他海鮮如烏賊等的調味碎魚漿,捏成餅狀,油炸而成。食用之前稍微烤過加溫即可。嚐起來有溫和的甜味和鹹味,喜愛海鮮的您絕對不容錯過!

我們還進入了知名玉子燒老店的廚房,參觀他們如何作業。只見巨大的玉子燒製作機上捲著加熱輸送帶,帶上則擺著成排的矩形平底鍋,注入蛋液後,職人們熟練地翻鍋、煎蛋,快手之間與機器簡直合作無間。

經過方才職人一番手藝展現,成品便是手上這如同磚塊般,橙黃、鬆軟、微甜、還熱呼呼的日式玉子燒。由甘甜味霖、鹹香高湯與蛋液均勻混合而成的這道人氣日式小吃,在國外甚至能見到它搖身成為握壽司上方的配料。只要嚐一口,您便能理解為何玉子燒會被喻為築地市場必嚐的美食之一。

接著我們繼續品嚐日式高湯——將鰹魚乾熬煮製成的湯汁。高湯可說是日式料理中核心的食材之一,無論味增湯、火鍋、御好燒的麵糊,幾乎處處可見其蹤影。雖然高湯多半作為其他料理的基底而使用,但直接品飲仍不減它的味美香鮮。接著我們也嚐了日本的頂級冷綠茶(如上圖)。日本綠茶以清香濃郁的茶味和它所帶來的健康益處在世界聞名。

我們在市場內持續走訪參觀,嘴巴也沒停下,嗑進了更多的美食,如日式和韓式佃煮(即魚貝類、海藻類等食材,以醬油、砂糖、味霖等調味料熬煮,滋味鹹甜的配料,經常佐飯食用。)、出汁(以小魚乾煮製的高湯)、頂級綠茶。若不是要前往下一個景點「築地魚河岸」,我們還能在宛如迷宮的市場裡待上好幾小時呢。

欣賞鮪魚解體秀

築地魚河岸是2018年10月新開幕的複合式建築,替代大部分已遷至豐洲的中盤批發商,延續過去場內市場的飲食文化。目前約有60家中盤批發商店進駐,販售著清晨自豐洲市場直送而來的新鮮魚貨,若您想購買海鮮,來此處絕對沒錯。

雖然築地市場不再上演鮪魚拍賣秀,但您仍然可以購買當天捕獲、最新鮮頂級的鮪魚。無論鮪魚或其他魚類的解體秀,精彩的過程令人目不轉睛。值得一提的是,這趟行程提供的是「搖滾區」,可以近距離欣賞職人大刀闊綽的英姿喔。

如同牛肉般,鮪魚的部位不同,風味、質地、脂肪含量也各異。如上圖所展示的鮪魚肉塊,便必須下兩刀:右方深紅色的赤肉(瘦肉),以及左半部顏色較淡、近乎粉色的中腹肉。

我們領了一盒現切的鮪魚生魚片,包括前排、色澤較淡的中腹肉,以及後排、深紅色的赤肉。輪流品嚐兩種不同部位的魚肉,感受口感與肉質在口腔裡的變化,有趣極了。有些人喜愛中腹肉柔軟、帶點奶油香氣的特色;有些人則偏愛肉質較紮實、滿滿鮮味的赤肉。通常如此新鮮的鮪魚要價不菲,而參加這趟導覽行程不僅能大啖現切、高級的鮪魚,還有其他日式美食,真是相當划算。

品飲日本清酒

以美味的鮪魚祭完五臟廟後,我們回到市場中央,準備前往行程的最後一站。途中,我們在一家酒鋪專門店品嚐精緻的日本清酒。

以傳統的「枡」(木盒形狀的酒器)品飲了數款「五人娘純米酒」,帶有清爽果味的清酒,與殘留在口中的魚肉餘韻非常契合。

我們效仿日本人的飲酒文化,高舉杯器,大喊「乾杯!」慶祝這一刻相聚的時光。

從清酒到綠茶、水果和其他美食點心,除了海鮮以外,築地市場還有許多珍饌佳餚等著被挖掘呢!若有機會造訪,請您盡可能地大啖、啜飲,充分感受這座充滿活力與多元化的市場。待導覽行程結束後,您可以再自行回到市場內購買您喜愛的商品。

以道地日式壽司收尾

行程最後來到立食壽司店,這裏店面雖不大,卻能嚐到新鮮實惠的頂級壽司。每位團員皆享有一份獨家特選的壽司組合(7貫)。

這盤餐食含有熟蝦、烏賊、紅鯛、生鮭、兩款軍艦壽司,而最驚艷的莫過於炙燒鮭魚,壽司師傅在我們眼前直接使用噴槍現場炙燒!(請注意,即使預約同樣的行程,屆時實際前往的店家也可能會有所不同喔)

導覽行程至此畫下了完美的句點。透過品嚐道地日式美食,感受魚產的鮮度,讓人深刻瞭解到,築地市場長久以來何以是日本烹飪界中重要且不可或缺的一份子。

※可能因當日行程調整參訪不同的餐廳,壽司項目也會有所異。

導覽行程細節

1. 預約頁面可選人數、日期、行程類型(私人或團體) 
2. 請點選【BOOK NOW】按鍵
3. 在購物車頁面,於「Coupon code」欄位輸入「tj2019」即可獲得10% OFF優惠!

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

搜尋餐廳

Enter a Culinary Wonderland on a Tsukiji Market FooDrink Tour with Japan Wonder Travel

While the main wholesale market area of Tsukiji may have moved to Toyosu in 2018, the Tsukiji outer market area still remains intact and is a veritable wonderland of delicious foods to sample as you walk around. One of the best ways to experience the best of Tsukiji in an efficient manner is with an expert tour guide who can take you straight to all the best spots, as well as answer all the questions you might have about Japanese culture, history, and cuisine. Keep reading to find out all about our experience with Japan Wonder Travel's Tsukiji Market FooDrink Tour so you can see if you want to book a tour for yourself!

Tsukiji

Experiences

*Article written in collaboration with Japan Wonder Travel

About Tsukiji Fish Market

Established in Tokyo in 1935, Tsukiji Fish Market (also known as the Tsukiji Wholesale Food Market) was the largest wholesale seafood market in the world in terms of daily transactions and a popular tourist destination within the Japanese capital for over a half-century. It was separated into two main areas: the inner market, where the popular tuna auctions and other wholesale activities took place; and the outer market, a mixture of restaurants and shops selling fresh seafood and produce, prepared foods, and souvenirs. 

In October of 2018, the inner market area was closed and all wholesale operations, including the tuna auctions, moved to a newly built market in Toyosu, Tokyo. However, the Tsukiji outer market remains intact and still draws in crowds of hungry and curious visitors each day to sample the wide variety of gourmet delights, as well souvenirs, on offer. 

Experience Japanese Cuisine and Culture with Japan Wonder Travel's “Tsukiji Fish Market FooDrink Tour”

Japan Wonder Travel is a tour company that offers food and cultural tours in Tokyo, Kyoto, and other areas around Japan. On their tours, you'll be guaranteed an exciting and educational time with a knowledgeable and friendly English-speaking guide. While exploring around new cities without a guide or a plan can be fun at times, sometimes it's better and more efficient to leave the route to the experts like those at Japan Wonder Travel, especially when you only get to spend a limited amount of time at your travel destination. 

We decided to give their "Tsukiji Fish Market FooDrink Tour" a try. Keep reading to see how it went and to learn how to book a delicious and fun tour of your own. 

Meet Up at Tsukiji Hongwanji Temple

The tour starts outside of Tsukiji Hongwanji Temple, a Buddhist temple that was constructed from 1931 - 1934 as the replacement for the former Tsukiji Gobo Temple, which was lost in the Great Kanto Earthquake of 1923. We appreciated this location as the starting point of the tour due to its close proximity to Tsukiji Station, and the temple itself was quite large and easy to spot.

We met up with Tomo, who was our tour guide for the day. She gave us some handy cards with the day's menu and some useful phrases and warnings written on them. 

Since we were already at Tsukiji Hongwanji Temple, we made a short stop inside the temple before heading to Tsukiji Market for the main part of the tour. Tsukiji Hongwanji Temple stands out from the majority of temples in Japan for having a distinctly Indian-inspired design, whereas most temples in Japan were built in the Chinese style. Once you step inside, you will see even more signs of foreign influences, such as a large pipe organ installed in the main chamber. 
 

Enter the Market and Start Exploring

The entrance to the Tsukiji outer market is a few minutes from Hongwanji Temple by foot. Even in the early morning, the market bustles with the lively commotion of local chefs picking up ingredients and supplies for their restaurants and tourists who have come to sample the delicacies. In fact, the best time to visit this market is from the morning to the early afternoon, and you will find that many of the shops and eateries will already be closed by 3:00 pm.

Tomo explained the history of the outer market, which started out as a collection of restaurants and shops whose clientele consisted mainly of workers from the inner market who would step out for a meal. Eventually, the market became a tourist destination in its own right, and in addition to more and more shops and restaurants opening up, some of the pre-existing shops started to alter their wares to appeal to a more diverse set of customers. 

Even if you don't eat or purchase anything, it can be fascinating to just walk around and see all the fresh seafood, produce, and other items on display. No matter where you come from, there will probably be a large number of interesting food items that you won't find in your home country. For example, in the picture above on the left-hand side, you can see a huge batch of fresh wasabi, something that is hard to find outside of Japan. 

Try Out Some Japanese Delicacies

It wasn't long after entering the market that we started to sample and taste a variety of the foods available in the market, including some that weren't printed on our menu card. At one shop, we got to taste and compare some dried and boiled black beans, which were served to us by an incredibly friendly and generous clerk. 

The dried beans tasted almost like peanuts, but the boiled beans were sweet and soft! It was amazing to think that they were the same ingredient, just prepared in different ways. 

Next, we got our hands on some fried fish cakes. This delicacy consists of ground fish paste that is seasoned and filled with chunks of other seafood, such as squid. The paste is formed into patties, fried, and then heated up on a grill just before eating. It's a delicious meld of sweet, salty, and savory flavors that can't be missed!

We also got to go inside a Japanese omelet specialty shop to see how their operation works. There, they make tamagoyaki (Japanese rolled omelets) with an ingenious combination of machine and manpower, as a row of skilled cooks take turns flipping each of the large rolled omelets as they travel down a heated conveyer belt in rectangular pans. 

The result is a bright yellow block of fluffy and slightly sweet Japanese omelet, still warm from the pan! The sweet mirin and savory stock used in the omelet combine perfectly with the egg to create this popular Japanese dish, which can be found even overseas as a topping for sushi. One bite and you'll understand why it is considered one of the top must-eat delights of Tsukiji Market.

Next, we got to taste some katsuodashi, which is a broth made with shaved, dried bonito (slipjack tuna). Katsuodashi is one of the core ingredients in Japanese cooking, and can be found in everything from miso soup and Japanese hotpot to the batter for okonomiyaki (savory pancakes). While it is generally used as an ingredient in other dishes, it was still delicious and satisfying when enjoyed on its own. We also go to sip some high-quality Japanese green tea (pictured above), served cold. Japanese green tea is known throughout the world for its refreshing, grassy flavors as well as its numerous health benefits.

As we walked around the market, we continued to sample more treats, such as various types of tsukudani (small pieces of seafood, meat, or seaweed simmered in a sweet-and-salty mixture of mirin and soy sauce). We probably could have spent several more hours just walking around the maze-like outer market area, but we headed to the Tsukiji Uogashi building for the next part of the tour. 

Watch Some Tuna Slicing in Action

Tsukiji Uogashi is a new complex that opened up in October 2018 to make up for some of the intermediate wholesale facilities that moved to Toyosu. It houses around 60 individual intermediate wholesale shops, and is the best place within the outer market area to get your hands on fresh seafood that has been shipped from Toyosu Market at the early hours of the morning. 

So, even though you can't watch the tuna auctions in Tsukiji anymore, you can still get your hands on some supremely fresh tuna that was caught on the same morning it's served to you. The process of cutting a large piece of tuna or other fish for sashimi or sushi can be fascinating, and this tour includes front-row access to watching a master at work.

Just like with beef, there are many different types of meat within tuna, each with its own flavor, texture, and fat content. The piece of tuna you see above actually contains two distinct cuts: akami (lean meat), which is a deep red color, and chu-toro (medium fatty meat), which is a lighter, pinkish color. 

We were given a take-out box of freshly cut tuna to try. The box contained a row of lighter-colored chu-toro, as you can see in the forefront, and a row of darker red-colored akami in the back. It was fun to taste each type one after the other to see which one we liked better. Some preferred the chu-toro for its decadent, almost buttery flavor, while others preferred the akami for its firmer texture and strong umami. This much fresh tuna on its own would usually cost quite a lot, so it was a real bargain to be able to enjoy it along with all the other foods on this tour. 

Taste Some Japanese Sake

After filling our bellies with tuna, we ventured back into the main market area and towards the final destination of our tour. On our way over, we stopped to sample some sake (Japanese rice wine) at a specialty shop.

We tasted some Gonin-musume Junmai Sake in these traditional wooden sake cups. The sake had a crisp and fruity flavor that paired amazingly well with the fresh tuna flavors still lingering on our palates. 

As is customary in Japan, we brought our glasses together with a "Kampai!" toast to celebrate our time together.

From sake to green tea, fruits, and other delicacies, there is a host of things to enjoy and explore in Tsukiji Market beyond just seafood! When you visit, try to taste, sip, and nibble as much as you can to make the most of this lively, multifaceted market. And of course, after the tour is over you can return to your favorite places to make purchases. 

Finish Up with Authentic Sushi

The tour wraps up at a small standing-type sushi bar with supremely fresh sushi sold at reasonable prices. Everyone who takes part in the tour is served a 7-piece sushi set (exclusive to tour participants) that contains a good variety of types to sample and enjoy.

The highlight of this sushi set was the aburi salmon, fresh salmon seared with a blowtorch right before our eyes! Other pieces included cooked shrimp, squid, red snapper, raw salmon, and two types of gunkanmaki (sushi wrapped with seaweed). Note that the sushi restaurant that you visit depends on the conditions and schedule that day, so the sushi that you receive on your tour may differ from what is shown above.

It was an excellent end to this tour, as savoring this Japanese delicacy which showcases fresh seafood really lets you understand why the Tsukiji Fish Market was such an important part of the Japanese culinary scene for so long.

Tour Details

1. On the tour page, select the number of participants, the tour date, and the type of tour you wish to join
2. Click "BOOK NOW"
3. On the shopping cart page, enter "tj2019" into the coupon code text field and the discount will be applied to the tour price!

 

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search