讓您住得安心,日本關西高級住宿設施8選

關西地區擁有眾多世界遺產、日本國寶等重要的歷史文化資產,除了國內遊客外,也吸引許多外國遊客前往觀光。而這次要為各位介紹的,就是關西地區六府縣─大阪、京都、兵庫、奈良、滋賀、和歌山的住宿設施!無論是景色壯觀、餐點美味,或是可以在私人空間享受溫泉的旅舍,都可以在這篇介紹中找到喔。

關西

住宿

大阪府地區

大阪自古以來就是繁華的商城,是一座可以享受美食與購物之樂的大都會。道頓堀有許多像是大螃蟹、巨型壽司等獨特的招牌,您可以邊欣賞邊品嘗周邊的美食。而位於道頓堀隔壁的主要街道─御堂筋,則是名牌店與百貨公司林立的街道。

另外像是豪華壯觀的歷史建築大阪城,能夠享受以好萊塢電影巨作與人氣動畫等為主題的遊樂設施與表演的日本環球影城,獲選為英國《時代》雜誌「世界的建築Top 20」的梅田藍天大廈等,許多觀光景點都位於此處,可說是只有一天逛不完的觀光勝地。

1. 大阪洲際酒店

大阪洲際酒店座落於新開幕的GRAND FRONT大阪,步行至JR大阪車站和梅田車站(御堂筋線)皆只要5分鐘左右,是一間位於大阪市中心的五星級酒店。全館共有272間客房,面積大多超過50㎡,既寬敞又具備開放感。如果您想長期投宿,建議可以選擇餐廳、廚房、餐具、洗衣機一應俱全的高層客房。只要有這些設備,即使是帶著一家老小投宿,也能享受如同在家般舒適的生活。

而且這裡居然有可以體驗溫泉氣氛的日式大澡堂,以高級飯店來說真的十分罕見!您也可以在飯店裡的寬廣游泳池和健身房運動,或是享受引進東洋自然哲學的美容療程,在高級的養生空間中一掃旅途的疲憊。

京都府地區

直到日本於18世紀下半葉躋身近代國家之列前,京都1,100年來一直是日本政治與文化的中樞。這裡四處都能見到充滿日本情懷的風景,例如歷史建築、寺社佛閣、風情萬種的町家風景等。

京都可以見到四季分明的美景,其中最受喜愛的就屬櫻花盛開的春季,以及能夠賞楓的秋季了。在春秋兩季,許多佛寺與神社會在夜間特別開放或是點亮燈飾,讓遊客沉浸於櫻花與楓葉的夢幻美景之中。
以下就為各位推薦兩間京都府地區的旅舍,一間位於市區,方便房客晚上出門逛街,另一間則是可以體驗日本風情的豪華飯店。

2. The Hotel Seiryu Kyoto Kiyomizu

「The Hotel Seiryu Kyoto Kiyomizu」是一間獨具特色的飯店,由建於1933年的小學校舍(舊清水小學)改建而成。房客可以在貴賓休息室體驗刷抹茶,有機會的話一定要挑戰看看喔。您可以在此眺望窗外的法觀寺八坂塔,一面品味自己刷的抹茶,以及免費提供的京菓子和輕食。
這裡有多間客房可以眺望法觀寺八坂塔,其中最寬敞的全景套房面積為136.3㎡,窗外的風景令人讚嘆。而且浴室採用玻璃牆面設計,讓房客可以望著八坂塔入浴就寢。

不僅如此,這間飯店位於東山地區,要到京都觀光十分方便。諸如清水寺等日本國寶與重要文化資產的眾多名勝古蹟,就散落於飯店四周。只要投宿此處,就能欣賞夜間的燈飾,或是早起避開人潮,悠閒地前往人氣觀光景點遊覽喔。

3. 季樂 京都 姊小路

「季樂 京都 姊小路」座落於人氣觀光景點二條城旁,是一家將現代設計,融入擁有90年以上歷史的京町家之中的旅舍。這裡的客房採用獨棟的型式,每間最多可供5人投宿,不必接觸其他房客,適合攜家帶眷或團體使用。

一踏進玄關,就能感受到縱向較高的町家所特有的開放感,以及和紙柔和的光線。房間後頭還有室內浴池、以枯山水為主題的庭院,以及能俯瞰庭院的露天浴池。這裡的露天浴池出自新銳設計師之手,是一種嘗試讓欣賞者與庭院融為一體的體驗型藝術。

一踏上2樓,許多人都會驚訝於那透明的地板。2樓的空間是以茶室為設計概念,讓房客可以在此享受抹茶之樂。
除了獨具特色的客房外,出自京料理老字號之手的「精進料理」早餐,更是美味至極!「精進料理」是一種不使用肉類與海鮮,只使用穀物、豆類、蔬菜等食材所烹調的料理,蘊含著禪心與京料理的傳統。

兵庫縣地區

在兵庫縣,遊客可以體驗到港町、溫泉、城跡等各式各樣的觀光景點。神戶是兵庫縣的主要城市,位於兵庫縣南部,自1868年神戶港開港以來一路發展至今,混合各國文化的街景魅力十足。這裡是兵庫縣最繁華的地區,除了購物外,也能品嚐到神戶牛等美食。如果要從神戶前往世界遺產姬路城所在的姬路,搭乘特急列車約40分鐘即可抵達。

城崎溫泉位於兵庫縣北部,開湯以來已有1,300年歷史,並且榮獲世界知名旅遊指南二星評價,是深受外國遊客喜愛的溫泉勝地。建議您可以在溫泉街上散步,欣賞河岸的柳樹與石橋等風情萬種的美景,順路到七大外湯(公共浴池)泡個溫泉。
以下就為各位介紹位於神戶與城崎溫泉的兩家旅舍。

4. Hotel La Suite Kobe Harborland

「Hotel La Suite Kobe Harborland」是日本第一家成為「全球奢華精品酒店(SLH)」聯盟成員的高級酒店。房客可以在沉穩歐風裝潢的客房中,以及能感受到海風的寬敞露臺上,度過一段奢華的時光。

難得有機會造訪神戶,許多遊客應該會想品嚐一下神戶牛吧?這家酒店附設了道地法國料理與鐵板燒兩間餐廳,而且都以「CUISINE TERROIR」(地產地消)為賣點,提供神戶牛等當地食材。

許多客房都設有圖中圓形的景觀浴室,房客可以付費體驗在玫瑰花瓣中泡澡的樂趣喔!不妨想像一下:一手拿著飲料,一面眺望神戶美麗的夜景,一面泡澡洗去旅途的疲憊;這種奢華的享受真是太吸引人了。

5. 西村屋 本館

西村屋本館創立至今已有160年歷史,是唯有一流酒店與餐廳才得以加盟的「Relais & Châteaux」成員,同時是一間深受日本海內外遊客喜愛的高級旅館。如果想投宿傳統日本建築的旅館,這裡就是您最好的選擇。

旅館內設有可供散步的日本庭園,房客可以在此欣賞新綠、楓葉、白雪與四季分明的優美景色。城崎溫泉以溫泉街的七大外湯(公共浴池)而聞名,而在西村屋本館也有三個大澡堂,使用的是與外湯相同的溫泉水。這裡有4間附設露天浴池的客房,非常適合想在私人空間中盡情享受溫泉之樂的遊客。

旅館所提供的晚餐採用當地的當季食材,例如神戶牛的源頭但馬牛,以及日本海的海鮮等。如果是冬季造訪此處,建議可以嚐嚐盛產於11月初到3月底,口味鮮甜的松葉蟹。無論住的是何種房型,基本上都會提供早晚餐讓您在房內享用,不用在意其他人的目光。

另外這座旅館的「平田館」,可是出自日本「數寄屋建築」的名家之手。「數寄屋建築」是一種源自茶室的建築樣式,以融合自然與樸實為其特色。「平田館」的客房也從周遭的景色中借景,呈現出一種樸實卻又雅緻的風格。

奈良縣地區

奈良縣是全日本擁有最多世界遺產與多種國寶的地區。在西元794年遷都到京都之前,奈良一直是日本的政治中樞,同時也是絲路的終點,發展出十分絢爛的文化。

奈良縣的觀光景點大致可分為四大區域。

首先是世界遺產藥師寺和唐招提寺所在的「西之京地區」。其東邊則是以能夠與鹿接觸而聞名的「奈良公園地區」。在奈良公園廣達660公頃的腹地內,聚集了以巨型佛像而聞名的東大寺,擁有美麗朱紅迴廊的春日大社,以及興福寺等被列入世界遺產的社寺佛閣。法隆寺是世界最古老的木造建築,而且是日本第一個世界遺產,其所在地正是「斑鳩及今井町地區」。最後則是春季櫻花美不勝收的「吉野山地區」。吉野山已經登錄為世界遺產,屬於「紀伊山地的聖地及朝聖路」的一部分。

6. 古都奈良之宿 飛鳥莊

從飛鳥莊僅需步行5分鐘,即可抵達興福寺與奈良公園,距離近鐵奈良車站也只要8分鐘左右,可說是前往奈良觀光時最方便的旅舍!如果要投宿此處,建議挑選能看見興福寺五重塔的客房。您可以在房間裡欣賞1,300年前※的人們也曾在此觀賞的景色,品味天空早晚不同的色澤,待在房裡就能體驗到觀光之樂。

而且從飛鳥莊頂樓的露天浴池也可以看見五重塔呢。這裡也提供露天浴池包廂,如果您不喜歡大澡堂,也可以選擇在包廂內泡湯。五重塔會在日落後到22:00之間點燈,就算天黑了也能盡情欣賞。

※西元730年創建,1426年重建。

至於用餐方面,基本上是在客房中享用。筵席料理採用周邊新鮮海產與當季食材,光是外觀就能令人大飽眼福。房客可以選擇濃郁的「黑毛和牛西京燒」或是鮮甜的「伊勢蝦生魚片」作為主菜。早餐的茶粥則是奈良的傳統食物。茶粥以焙茶烹調而成,雖然樸素,卻能感受到茶香喔。

滋賀縣地區

滋賀縣環繞在日本最大湖泊─琵琶湖的四周。這一帶有許多值得一看的歷史建築,例如日本國寶彥根城、聯合國教科文組織世界文化遺產比叡山延曆寺、近江神宮等,都座落於此。

如果想悠閒在街頭散步,建議可以前往八幡堀一帶,一面眺望近江八幡市歷史悠久的街景,一面順流而下。八幡堀的歷史可追溯到16世紀下半葉,附近的新町通保留了18世紀下半葉到19世紀初的商家等街景。至今仍會有時代劇在此取景,只要走在街上,就能強烈感受到過去的歷史。

7. HOTEL 講 大津百町

街頭那風情萬種的景色,應該會讓不少人想在此住一宿吧?如果您想在滋賀縣過夜,由歷史百年以上的7棟日本屋舍改建而成的「HOTEL 講 大津百町」就是不錯的選擇。傳統的日本屋舍與現代裝潢融為一體,感覺十分雅緻。7棟屋舍中有5棟是整棟包房,每間客房內部裝潢時尚,卻又有些許不同,光是挑選就樂趣十足。

用來check in的屋舍也提供觀光諮詢服務,晚上還會供應葡萄酒、下酒菜與輕食,服務相當周到。這裡的早餐採用預約制,提供使用有機食材、有益健康的日式早餐,讓房客一早就能好好放鬆身心。

和歌山縣地區

世界遺產「紀伊山地的聖地及朝聖路」中的高野山、熊野那智大社、那智大瀑布等全球知名的觀光勝地,就位於和歌山縣境內。這條遠在有歷史記錄之前,就有民間信仰存在的古道,散發出一種神祕的氣氛。

而位於和歌山縣紀伊半島南部的白濱、串本地區,則是一個四處可見美麗白色沙灘與蔚藍大海的渡假勝地。除了海水浴外,這一帶也是全世界可以潛水觀察桌形珊瑚群棲地的地方中,緯度最北的地點。

8. 濱千鳥之湯 海舟

「濱千鳥之湯 海舟」座落於面向太平洋的海岬上,房客可以在面對大海的露天浴池裡泡湯。除了大澡堂外,通往海邊的路上還有3個露天浴池包廂,愈往下走就愈是接近水平線。各處的浴槽不盡相同,有檜木桶、石頭浴池與岩石溫泉,建議您投宿時可以多多嘗試不同的浴池。

這裡提供的晚餐是懷石料理,可以品嚐到鮪魚等黑潮帶來的四季海鮮,以及肉質與風味兼具的品牌牛「熊野牛」的好滋味。用完晚餐後如果意猶未盡,建議可以到休息室來碗從22:00開始免費供應的「夜鳴蕎麥麵」(深夜時用來填肚子的拉麵)。就讓清澈透明的自製湯頭溫暖您的身體,一掃旅途中的疲憊吧。

總結

關西擁有世界遺產與日本國寶等文化資產,非常適合從事觀光旅遊。如果想細細品味關西的各處景點,建議最好找家舒適的旅舍長住幾天。
如果您計劃前往關西旅遊,可別忘了參考一下這篇文章所介紹的旅舍喔。

關西特輯

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

作者簡介

ikumiwatanabe
ikumiwatanabe

搜尋餐廳

8 Classy Hotels in Kansai for a Luxury Stay

The Kansai region of western Japan is the country’s cultural and historical heartland. It consists of the six prefectures of Osaka, Kyoto, Hyogo, Shiga, Nara, and Wakayama. With a wealth of national treasures and World Heritage Sites, it continues to thrive as one of Japan’s top tourist destinations. In this article, we’ll introduce our picks for the best Kansai hotels, inns, resorts, and more. Whether you’re seeking scenic views, scrumptious food, or opulent hot springs, we’ve got your Kansai accommodation sorted!

Kansai

Accommodation

Hotels in Osaka

Osaka, Japan’s ancient commercial hub, offers visitors one-of-a-kind dining, shopping, and sightseeing experiences. The iconic Dotonbori area brims with a sea of flashy billboards, like the famous giant crab, flaunting its renowned cuisine culture. Further onwards is Osaka’s main street of Midosuji, which is lined by high-class boutiques and department stores.

Naturally, you’ll need at least a few days to explore every one of Osaka’s amazing destinations. Must-sees include the majestic Osaka Castle, Universal Studios Japan, and the Umeda Sky Building, which was voted one of the “Top 20 buildings around the world” by The Times.

1. InterContinental Osaka

The 5-star InterContinental Osaka is a part of the brand-new Grand Front Osaka development area, just a 5 min walk from Osaka and Umeda Stations. Many of its 272 rooms are over 50m² in size, giving guests a real sense of freedom and space. For longer stays, we recommend the upper-level residences, which include a dining room, kitchen, tableware, and a washing machine. Packed with amenities, the InterContinental Osaka is a great place for large groups to spend time in Osaka whilst feeling at home.

Unlike most high-class hotels, InterContinental Osaka is equipped with large shared Japanese-style bathtubs reminiscent of a hot spring resort! The hotel also has a spacious pool, gym, and beauty salon with treatments based on eastern teachings. After a long day of traveling and sightseeing, a paradise of relaxation awaits inside the walls of InterContinental Osaka!

Hotels in Kyoto

Prior to the modernization of the Meiji Period (1868-1912), Kyoto diligently served as the political and cultural center of Japan for more than 1,100 years. Today, it hosts a multitude of historic buildings, temples, shrines, and other scenic locations bursting with Japanese charm.

While each season offers a unique beauty, Kyoto is particularly popular during the cherry blossoms of spring and the fiery foliage of fall. During these periods, many shrines and temples will hold after-dark light-up events transporting visitors to another world. With this in mind, we think the best Kyoto hotels are those in urban areas with easy access to night-time hotspots designed to represent the best of Japanese aesthetics.

2. The Hotel Seiryu Kyoto Kiyomizu

The Hotel Seiryu Kyoto Kiyomizu was built from a repurposed elementary school originally constructed in 1933. Embracing calming Japanese aesthetics, it offers guests the chance to prepare their own matcha green tea in the lounge - an unmissable Kyoto experience! The Hotel Seiryu Kyoto Kiyomizu also presents incredible views of Kyoto’s iconic Hokan-ji Temple and the Yasaka Pagoda. A perfect pairing for the tea and complimentary Kyoto confectionery!

Many guestrooms look out onto the temple and pagoda, with the largest and most scenic being the 136.3 m² “Panoramic Suite.” The bathrooms are fitted with glass, allowing guests to soak while relishing the views.

Situated in the heart of the popular Higashiyama area, guests can enjoy quick and easy access to historical Kyoto sites like Kiyomizu-dera and more. At night, one can stroll and admire the illuminated trees, or wake up early and beat the crowds to see Kyoto in peace!

3. Kiraku Kyoto Aneyakoji

Right next to the famous Nijo Castle, Kiraku Kyoto Aneyakoji is an inn built from a 90-year-old traditional townhouse given new life with modern sensibilities. Guests can rent out the entire facility (up to five people), ensuring total peace and privacy.

Upon entering, guests will be greeted by the spacious, long interior and soft glow of Japanese “washi” paper typical of traditional Kyoto townhouses. The inn boasts ensuite bathrooms and an outdoor bath facing a traditional Japanese dry landscape garden. The bath is the work of a famous designer, and is intended to be both functional and artistic.

The upper level has see-through floors, which can be a little daunting to walk on! The rooms were inspired by the aesthetics of the Japanese tea room, making it the perfect space to relish a bowl of matcha. The inn’s exquisite breakfast is delivered straight from a long-established Kyoto restaurant, giving guests the rare opportunity to try traditional vegetarian Buddhist cuisine made with grains, beans, and vegetables.

Hotels in Hyogo

Hyogo Prefecture has it all: vibrant harbor towns, tranquil hot springs, majestic castles. In the south is Kobe, the beating heart of Hyogo, which flourished after the opening of its port in 1868. With a long-standing history of international intermingling, this cosmopolitan city offers the best shopping and urban sightseeing in the prefecture, with plenty of esteemed restaurants to dig into the world-famous Kobe beef. Afterwards, visitors can take a 40 min limited express train to the World Heritage Site of Himeji Castle.

In northern Hyogo is Kinosaki Onsen, a hot spring resort town with over 1,300 years of history. Awarded two stars by the 2013 Michelin Green Guide Japan, it remains one of Japan’s most well-loved hot spring destinations. Kinosaki Onsen is centered around a gentle river criss-crossed by stone bridges and lined by drooping willow trees. Guests can stroll through this idyllic streetscape and hop between the seven hot springs open to the public.

4. Hotel La Suite Kobe Harborland

Hotel La Suite Kobe Harborland was the first Japanese high-class hotel registered by global hotel brand group “Small Luxury Hotels of the World (SLH).” The hotel accommodates guests in gorgeous rooms with elegant European interiors and spacious terraces to feel the soft sea breeze.

No trip to Kobe is complete without a hefty helping of Kobe beef! Luckily, Hotel La Suite Kobe Harborland hosts two restaurants serving this delicacy: one specializing in authentic French cuisine, and the other grilling up teppanyaki dishes. Starting from genuine beef, the guiding philosophy of both eateries is the importance of local ingredients.

The round, scenic bath pictured above is available in most rooms, with an additional rose petal service available for a fee. Just picture yourself unwinding in the bath with a drink, absorbing the breathtaking views of Kobe - there’s truly no better way to rest up after a day of traveling!

5. Nishimuraya Honkan

Founded 160 years ago, Nishimuraya Honkan is a member of Relais & Châteaux, an organization of luxury hotels and restaurants only accepting the world’s top facilities. Popular with domestic and international travelers alike, this high-class “ryokan” inn is the perfect place for those seeking a stay amongst traditional Japanese architecture.

Guests are free to explore the Japanese garden, which exhibits verdant spring greenery, autumn foliage, winter snowscapes, and other seasonal displays of nature. While Kinosaki Onsen is most famous for its public bathhouses, Nishimuraya Honkan gives them a run for their money with its own three large baths all fed from the same hot spring source as Kinosaki Onsen. There are also four rooms with outdoor baths for a soak in private.

Dinner is Tajima beef, the precursor to Kobe beef, complemented by seafood from the Sea of Japan and other local, seasonal ingredients. In winter (early November to the end of March), guests can also feast on succulent and sweet Matsuba crab. Breakfast and dinner are served inside the guest rooms, allowing the tastes of Hyogo to be savored in private.

The Hiratakan section of the inn was built by a master of the “sukiya” style of architecture, which evolved from tea ceremony rooms and emphasizes simplicity and harmony with nature. While modest at first glance, these rooms represent the height of sophistication with amazing views of the surrounding natural landscapes.

Hotels in Nara

Alongside a hoard of national treasures, Nara Prefecture holds the record for the most World Heritage Sites in Japan. Prior to 794, when Kyoto became the capital of Japan, Nara served as the country’s political and cultural center, as well as the end of the legendary Silk Road.

Nara’s tourist attractions can be found in four primary areas. First is Nishinokyo, home to Yakushi-ji and Toshodai-ji temples, both World Heritage Sites. Further east is Nara Park, known far and wide for its population of friendly deer. The massive 660 hectare park also hosts the World Heritage Sites of Todai-ji Temple, known for its giant Buddha statue; Kasuga Shrine, famed for its exquisite vermilion corridor; and Kofuku-ji Temple, along with several other notable gems.

The Ikaruga-Imaicho area of Nara is where you’ll find Horyu-ji Temple, the first World Heritage Site registered in Japan and the oldest surviving wooden structure in the world. Finally, there is Mt. Yoshino, a haven for natural sightseeing peaking in spring with a profusion of cherry blossoms. Mt. Yoshino is also part of the Sacred Sites and Pilgrimage Routes in the Kii Mountain Range World Heritage Site.

6. Asukasou

Asukasou is a traditional ryokan inn just a 5 min walk from Kofuku-ji Temple and Nara Park, and an 8 min walk from Kintetsu-Nara Station, making it the perfect spot for Nara sightseeing. When staying at Asukasou, make sure to ask for a room with a view of Kofuku-ji’s five-story pagoda. From the windows, guests can witness jaw-dropping beauty as the color of the sky changes over Kofuku-ji, a view practically unchanged for over 1,000 years.*

*Originally constructed in 730; rebuilt in 1426.

The pagoda can also be taken in from the open-air bath on the top floor. Those  uncomfortable about sharing baths with strangers can reserve a private bath for themselves. The pagoda is lit up from sunset to 10:00 pm, allowing its beauty to be enjoyed well into the night.

Dinner at Asukasou is largely served inside the rooms and consists of local seafood and seasonal ingredients served “kaiseki” style in visually pleasing multi-dish courses. For mains, guests can choose between rich Japanese Black beef served “saikyo-yaki” style (pickled overnight in white miso then grilled) or sweet spiny lobster sashimi. Chagayu, a traditional Nara dish of tea gruel, is served for breakfast. Chagayu made from roasted green tea has a simple, hearty flavor with wonderful aromas sure to tease the appetite.

Hotels in Shiga

Shiga Prefecture encircles Lake Biwa, the largest lake in Japan, and is chock full of historic points of interest like Hikone Castle, a registered national treasure; Hieizan Enryaku-ji monastery, another World Heritage Site; and Omi Jingu Shrine.

We recommend strolling the Hachiman-bori Canal, which will take you deep into the historic townscape of Omihachiman. Downriver boat cruises are also available for an even more memorable experience. The history of Omihachiman stretches back to the latter half of the 16th century, and the rustic merchant houses on Shinmachi Street near the canal were built between the late 18th and early 19th century. They remain perfectly preserved in their original forms to this day, which has made Omihachiman a popular location for filming historical dramas.

7. Hotel Koo Otsuhyakucho

Have you ever walked through an enchanting, traditional townscape and wished you could live there? At Hotel Koo Otsuhyakucho, you can! At least for a little while. Hotel Koo Otsuhyakucho is made up of seven renovated Japanese-style homes built over 100 years ago, seamlessly merging traditional architecture with a modern interior. Five of the seven houses can be rented out completely, allowing one to spend their time in Shiga in the utmost style and luxury. Each house features a slightly different interior, so take the time to choose one that suits your tastes.

Hotel Koo Otsuhyakucho also offers a handy sightseeing concierge service at the check-in area, along with night-time room service delivering wine, snacks, and light meals. The Japanese-style breakfast, which needs to be reserved in advance, is made from organic ingredients, giving one the energy necessary to conquer the day.

Hotels in Wakayama

Wakayama Prefecture is home to many world-famous destinations like Mt. Koya, Kumano-Nachi Taisha Shrine, and Nachi Falls, which are all part of the Sacred Sites and Pilgrimage Routes in the Kii Mountain Range World Heritage Site. The area’s ancient trails, which predate written history, exude a mystical aura drawing in adventurous travelers from across the globe.

Shirahama and Kushimoto (in the south of the Kii Peninsula) are well-established resort towns boasting picturesque white sands and blue seas. Along with swimming, the waters here are also coveted diving spots said to be the world’s northernmost habitat of table corals.

8. Kaishu

Sitting upon the tip of a cape overlooking the Pacific Ocean, Kaishu is most famous for its open-air hot springs with glorious coastal views. Alongside the large communal bath, there are three smaller open-air baths on the path leading down to the sea, which can be rented for a private bath with a view. Guests can choose between a hinoki cypress, stone, or rock bath - but be sure to try and hit all three!

Dinner at Kaishu is served kaiseki style and features seasonal ocean bounties like tuna brought over by the Japan Current, as well as meat dishes of premium Kumano beef and more. If you’re still hungry post-dinner, the lounge serves free ramen noodles after 10:00 pm, which will fix you right up after a long day of swimming!

Explore Japan’s Cultural Heartland in Luxury!

Packed with World Heritage Sites, national treasures, traditional cultures, and more, the heart of Japan continues to beat in Kansai. To see everything this diverse land has to offer without rushing and getting tired, we recommend booking a longer stay at a top-tier hotel or inn. Whether you’re interested in history, nature, shopping, or food, we have no doubt our picks for the best hotels in Kansai will help take your travels to the next level!

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search