【東京自由行】到多摩市「聖蹟櫻之丘」朝聖吉卜力經典動畫《心之谷》!回憶男女主角聖司與雫的戀愛點滴

最青澀純真的愛情,是在吉卜力工作室的《心之谷》裡找到,那時候看見男主角天澤聖司與女主角月島雫的追夢及戀愛點滴,相信亦勾起不少人對青春戀愛的回憶與遐想。令人詫異的是動畫竟然取材自真實都市--東京近郊的多摩市,兩人並肩而行的坡道、締造相遇契機的圖書館與地球屋等,動畫中出現的場境在現實中也能找到,影迷們何不趁機來趟朝聖小旅行,享受現場所帶來的微妙既視感。

東京

玩樂

 

※本文為外部作者所撰

 

《心之谷 (耳をすませば)》是眾多吉卜力工作室動畫中,最為觸動少男少女心靈的作品之一,以現實都市生活為基調娓娓道來青年們追逐夢想的勵志愛情小品。與吉卜力工作室一貫天馬行空的敘事角度截然不同,《心之谷》的取材樸實而無華,電影中日常出現的車站、商店街、水泥公寓與緩坡街道,甚至是女主角月島雫跟著小胖貓「阿月」所走過的街角巷弄,都是取材自東京近郊多摩市的實景。各個重要場景都能在現實中找到相應原貌,有不少的旅者都是透過這部作品,才得以看到1995年多摩市「聖蹟桜ヶ丘站」一帶的繁華風貌。

一切邂逅的起點 「京王 聖蹟櫻之丘車站」與「青春のポスト」

那天,在一個和熙明媚的早晨,搭上從東京新宿站開出的京王電鐵,大約行駛了35分鐘,便來到記憶中的「聖蹟櫻之丘(聖蹟桜ヶ丘)」車站,這次以尋找《心之谷》場景點滴為主題的日歸小旅行就是由此開始。

旅途中,每邂逅一個取景場地,都是既熟悉又陌生的感覺,一幕幕動畫回憶殺浮現腦海,帶動起懷愐過往的情緒。比如這趟旅途的起點「京王聖蹟櫻之丘車站」,亦是月島雫追逐小胖貓阿月的好奇之旅的起點,從列車靠站後起便已步入旅程之中了。跟著旅客走出車站後回首一看,那豎立在建築之上的京王百貨商標展板,以及車站外途人遊走的日常畫面,是不是跟雫當日的視覺交疊上了呢?車站前的馬路與交通燈等,都是她在追逐阿月時來不及細看的街景。

如果想按著散步地圖,把動畫中的各隅場景一一收集的話,建議可以先到車站西口附近的京王商場裡,免費索取一份「猫を追いかけて~散策マップ」的官方地圖,圖上把各個取景場地都標示了出來,還有收集紀念印的印章空間,非常貼心。

在取地圖的場所外,還會見到這個「青春之POST(青春のポスト)」的紀念郵筒模型,外觀設計是按照男主角爺爺所經營的「地球屋」打造而成,充滿古董典雅的氛圍,透過信箱上的小窗戶還可以窺探到與動畫場景相仿的店內佈置,只是男女主角們換成了調皮的小狸貓。事實上,這個郵筒是由當地的志願者與影迷一起創建而成,除了是向《心之谷》致敬以外,也是一個鼓勵青年圓夢的郵筒,當地青年人可以把夢想寫上卡上並投寄其中,事後便會有專人跟進及關心其夢想進程,聽起來就是個不錯的社區服務。

記錄著月島雫日常生活的「大栗川」與「いろは坂」

跟著手中的散步地圖走,很快便迎來一片遼闊開揚的河川景致,原來走了不到十分鐘便已漫步至「大栗川」。這條河堤大道便是月島雫從圖書館離去後,緩步回家時所看到的日常景色,蔚藍的天空與兩旁堆積雜草的河堤,潺潺流淌的河川與寧謐的鄉郊氣息,都與當時觀看動畫時所感的氛圍不謀而合。其實,電影片尾處持續了數分鐘的河堤過場,相信也是取景自大栗川。

沿路走過「霞ケ関橋」後,便是在電影中出現很多次的山丘小道「いろは坂」,當時雫就是沿著這條彎曲蜿蜒的坡道追逐著傲慢的小胖貓阿月走,也是從地球屋走往圖書館給爸爸送便當裡出現的那段山路。而且,隨後介紹的那些場景也都是位處於這座丘陵地之內,可以說是出鏡率很高的主要取景區域。

擁有絕佳視野的圖書館所在 「いろは坂桜公園」與經典悠長的階梯

雖然雫的爸爸所工作的圖書館是動畫中安排出來的虛構場所,但是在櫻丘坡道上也還是有跡可尋,地圖中顯示這個「いろは坂桜公園」便是電影中圖書館的所在,也有人說電影末聖司向雫求婚時所在的場景也是源於園內的城鎮視野。

公園位處於山坡之上,視野景致自然寬廣敞亮,從這裡可以俯瞰整個櫻丘地區的繁囂市貌,而且據說如果是初春來訪時,更有機會看見繁櫻飛舞的浪漫畫面,是當地人推薦的賞櫻勝地。

經過「いろは坂桜公園」後,便會迎來多道悠長的樓梯,其中鄰近公園出口的那道長梯,據說便是電影中雫從地球屋離開並趕往圖書館時,興奮地俯衝而下的那條經典長梯,也是地球屋店主爺爺口中所說的「捷徑」。再一次的虛實交接,旅者大可以幻想自己成女主角,感受飆速下樓梯的快感。

電影中令人緊張悸動的告白之地「金比羅宮」

走著走著,便來到藏於山上的小神社「金比羅宮」,這裡便是雫的同學杉村向她告白的場所,本來肅靜的神社在劇情帶動下莫名地添上了一陣戀愛氣息。在動畫中,兩人便是坐在神社前的梯級上,一起聊著關於雫好友妙子的事情,有趣的是無論告白前後,兩人都有點緊張無措,讓人懷緬起學生時代的青澀歲月。

除了朝聖以外,沒想到在小巧古樸的「金比羅宮」內,還能找到抽運勢籤的機器,每次付100日幣,只要把硬幣投進機器的入錢孔內便能獲得當日的運勢籤文,也挺有意思的。

繞過春意盎然的「櫻丘圓環」 能找到胖貓阿月與地球屋嗎?

最後,來到朝聖之旅的終點站,便是地球屋所在的櫻丘圓環「桜ケ丘ロータリー」。雫帶著滿滿的好奇心,奮力地跟著胖胖的阿月來到的車道圓環地段,相信影迷們都非常熟悉這位置。可惜,在現實中並沒有那間充滿寶藏的神秘古董店「地球屋」,只有溫馨簡約的咖啡小店;但電影中有汽車行駛的公路圓環及中央生長得茂密翠綠的大樹,仍能在現場實境中看到,還算是令人欣慰的。

本文資訊均以公開時為準。


玩樂

住宿

購物

搜尋餐廳

Tracing Shizuku's Steps: Visit “Whisper of the Heart” Locations in Real Life

Did you know? Studio Ghibli’s “Whisper of the Heart”—that beautiful expression of genuine and innocent love—is actually set in the real city of Tama in the suburbs of Tokyo! Here you can relive, with all of your senses, this nostalgic tale where Shizuku Tsukishima and Seiji Amasawa follow their dreams and fall in love. You can visit settings such as the slope which Shizuku and Seiji climb side by side, the library, and the antique shop Chikyu-ya where their paths cross. If you ever wanted to step inside an animated movie come to life, then this is the place to do it!

Tokyo

Things to Do

 

※Written by an external writer

 

The Town That Inspired "Whisper of the Heart"

Among Studio Ghibli’s many animated features, “Whisper of the Heart” (耳をすませば) is the one that resonates the most with younger viewers. Against the background of day-to-day life in a real city, this film recounts the inspiring story of two teenagers falling in love as they chase their dreams. In stark contrast with Ghibli’s signature fantasy-filled storytelling style, “Whisper of the Heart” is much more grounded in reality. The story mainly takes place at train stations, shopping streets, concrete apartments, and gentle slopes.

Interestingly, many of these locales, including the ordinary alleys and street corners which the female protagonist, Shizuku Tsukishima, passes through as she follows Moon the chubby cat, are based on actual locations in Tama City in the suburbs of Tokyo. And it’s this connection to the movie that has been bringing many travelers to the flourishing neighborhood around Tama’s Seiseki Sakuragaoka Station since 1995.

Where It All Began: Seiseki Sakuragaoka Station

On a warm and sunny morning, a train departs from Shinjuku on the Keio Line and 35 minutes later arrives at Seiseki Sakuragaoka Station, marking the beginning of our journey in search of sights and scenes from “Whisper of the Heart.”

 

Every encounter with a spot from the movie evokes powerful feelings, as memories of the animated scenes come face to face with reality. This starts as soon as the train pulls into Seiseki Sakuragaoka Station, where Shizuku embarked on her curious adventure chasing after Moon, the chubby cat. Stepping out of the station with our fellow passengers and looking back to see the Keio Department Store logo high above a bustling station surrounded by people going about their daily lives, we wonder if these were the same sights Shizuku would have seen on that fateful day. Probably not, though, because she would have been too busy chasing after Moon to pay attention to her surroundings.

If you want to make sure you don’t miss any real-life locales from "Whisper of the Heart," pick up a free official “Cat-Chase Walking Map” (猫を追いかけて~散策マップ) from the Keio Shopping Mall near the West Gate of the station. The map marks every major movie location, where you can also get stamps to commemorate your journey.

The "Seishun Postbox," Resembling the Movie's Antique Shop

After picking up the map, be sure to check out the Seishun Postbox (青春のポスト, or The Postbox of Youth) located just outside the building. It’s a commemorative mailbox modeled on Chikyu-ya, the antique shop run by the male protagonist’s grandfather. Radiating elegance and antique beauty, the postbox has little windows through which you can admire the intricately reproduced store layout within. It’s just like in the movie, with the only difference being that the two lead characters have been replaced by cheeky little raccoons.

This postbox was created collectively by local volunteers and fans of “Whisper of the Heart,” not only as an homage to the animated movie but also to encourage teenagers to follow their dreams. Local teenagers can write down their dreams on a postcard and “post” it, and then people will be assigned to follow up on them and inquire about their progress. Doesn’t it sound like a wonderful community service?

A Day in Shizuku's Life: Oguri River and Irohazaka

A wide and open river scenery greets you not long after leaving the station. It takes less than 10 minutes on foot to reach Oguri River, the same sight that Shizuku sees on her walks home from the library every day. The clear blue sky, the river bank overgrown with weeds, the sound of flowing water, and the serene countryside atmosphere make you feel like you’ve just stepped into the animated film. Specifically, the end-credits scene is believed to be based on the scenery around Oguri.

After crossing the Kasumigaseki Bridge (霞ケ関橋), you will arrive at Irohazaka (いろは坂), a hilly road that appears countless times in the movie. It is on this winding slope where Shizuku chases after Moon, the snobby, chubby cat. It is also the road she takes from the antique shop toward the library to deliver her father his lunch box. Many spots mentioned later are also situated nearby, so this is one real-life location from “Whisper of the Heart” that you don’t want to miss.

 

Breathtaking Views from the "Library" and Those Long Iconic Stairways

Even though the actual library where Shizuku’s father works is a fictional place created just for "Whisper of the Heart," familiar locations can still be found on the slopes in Sakuragaoka. The map indicates that the Irohazaka Sakura Park (いろは坂桜公園) is where the library would have been. Some fans also suggest that the spot where Seiji proposes to Shizuku would be located in an area of the park that overlooks the city.

Situated on a hill, the park naturally offers a wide and unobstructed view of the cityscape of Sakuragaoka. In early spring, it also becomes a romantic spot well known for cherry blossom petal viewing.

After passing through the Irohazaka Sakura Park, you will be greeted by a series of long stairways. The one next to the park exit is believed to be the spot from which Shizuku hurtles down towards the library after leaving Chikyu-ya. It is also supposedly the “shortcut” mentioned by Chikyu-ya’s elderly owner. Why not step into Shizuku’s shoes and take a quick sprint down the steps yourself, enjoying the thrill of the dash and the experience of reliving a part of the movie?

That Heart-Pounding Confession Scene at Konpiragu Shrine

If you continue walking, you will arrive at Konpiragu (金比羅宮), a small shrine tucked away on the hill where Sugimura, Shizuku’s classmate, confesses his feelings to her. It might be a little different from what you remember, as the original somber shrine was made a little more romantic for the movie. In the animated film, the teenaged couple is seated on the stairs in front of the shrine when they talk about Shizuku’s good friend Yuko. Interestingly, they seem rather nervous and awkward both before and after the confession, which was and still is a heartwarming reminder of how young and innocent we all once were.

Its connection to the movie aside, it is surprising to find a machine dispensing fortune slips in a shrine as small and simple as Konpiragu. All you need to do is insert a 100-yen coin through the slot to obtain your fortune slip and hope for the best!

Looking for Moon and Chikyu-ya at the Sakuragaoka Roundabout

The final stop on our journey is the Sakuragaoka Roundabout, where Chikyu-ya is supposedly located. Filled with curiosity, Shizuku relentlessly chases Moon the chubby cat all the way here in one of the most pivotal scenes in the movie, so fans of “Whisper of the Heart” should be familiar with this place. Unfortunately, the treasure-filled mysterious antique shop does not actually exist. In its place is a cozy little coffee shop. Thankfully, the roundabout with the huge leafy trees at its center can still be found there.

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.


Restaurant Search