【東京自由行】洋溢著江戶風情的好地方!嚴選兩國20處觀光景點

兩國,一處以相樸之街聞名全國的地方。解說東京歷史的博物館、新設立的美術館、大自然豐富的公園…各式各樣的景點齊聚於此。本篇將為您從洋溢著江戶下町文化的兩國中,介紹20處嚴選觀光景點。來到東京旅遊時,請務必前來逛逛哦。

東京

玩樂

嚴選兩國20處招牌景點

1. 國技館

到了兩國觀光,「國技館」就是您不可或缺的景點之一。每年1、5、9月,一年三次會在這裡舉辦大相撲比賽。除了舉辦大相撲比賽外,設有最新音響照明設備、可容納10,000人以上的多功能大廳也會用於舉辦音樂表演、摔角、拳擊等比賽。

不妨配合著大相撲舉辦期間,來兩國觀光並欣賞相撲比賽吧。即使平常對相撲不太了解的朋友,只要實際到了現場看到迫力十足的比賽,想必也一定會感到十分熱血沸騰吧。但如果要購買當日門票的話,聽說可是要從早上7點前就開始排隊呢。

2. 江戶東京博物館

「江戶東京博物館」,一座為傳承江戶東京的歷史與文化而興建的博物館。以高床式倉庫為設計靈感打造成的獨特外觀非常引人注目。這裡做為男女老少,甚至是外國觀光客喜愛的人氣觀光景點,每天都吸引了許多人前來造訪。

 

特別是重現了江戶街道的立體模型是您絕對不可錯過的地方。請使用館內準備的望遠鏡好好欣賞一番吧,不知為什麼會讓人有種身處於江戶街道上的感覺呢。館內另有實際尺寸的長屋及劇場模型等,令人重溫江戶時期庶民的生活文化。

3. 相撲博物館

「相撲博物館」,一座併設在國技館內、展示著相撲相關資料的博物館。除了大相撲比賽舉辦期間外的非假日皆為免費入場,來到國技館觀光時可千萬不能錯過。雖然算是小型的博物館,但許多稀有的展示品可是會讓相撲迷尖叫不已哦。

 

館內展示的巨大相撲錦繪版畫、番付表(相撲選手階級一覽表)、歷代橫網的刺繡圍裙等,非常有看頭。每年會舉辦6次企畫展,您可以透過各種資料學習到日本固有文化的相撲知識。在大相撲比賽舉辦期間,若在實際觀戰前來趟這裡,相信會更加了解相撲相關知識,也能從觀戰中獲得更多樂趣吧。

4. 回向院

在「回向院」這座寺廟中,供奉著在江戶時期被稱為振袖大火的火災中,犧牲的10萬8千條寶貴生命。由於此院有著不分宗教派系、包含動物在內的生物皆應供養的良好信念,所以存在著像是貓塜等祭弔動物的墳塜。

回向院也因有著「鼠小僧次郎吉(古代有名的盗賊)之墓」而出名。據說只要削下墓碑石,就可以保祐金運亨通及考試合格等,也吸引了許多香客。目前放置的是專門用於讓香客削下用的石碑。

5. 舊安田庭園

「舊安田庭園」,一座鄰接國技館的日式迴遊式庭園。雖然是築於江戶時代的大名庭園,但因明治時期變成安田財閥的所有物,而被稱為「舊安田庭園」。鯉魚悠遊著的池塘旁的散步道、太鼓橋等,勾勒出一幅都會綠洲的風情畫。

從庭園可以眺望到晴空塔也是其魅力之一。整備得宜、美不勝收的日本庭園,巧妙地融合在現代化晴空塔建築之中,可說是拍照的絕佳景點。小型的公園內寂靜地彷彿遠離了一切車水馬龍的騷音,非常適合在兩國散步的途中稍做歇息時使用,且不需入園費用。

6. 墨田北齋美術館

「墨田北齋美術館」,一間以享譽國際的浮世繪大師葛飾北齋作品為主要展示物的美術館。因北齋大半生涯皆是在墨田區中渡過,所以做為復興地域計劃之一、由建築家妹島和世先生設計建造成這座美術館。採用極具未來感的鋁合金所打造的外觀衍然已成為最潮的觀光景點。

在漆黑壁面打造成沈穩氛圍的展示室中,展示著北齋有名的〈富嶽三十六景〉、肉筆浮世繪、版畫複製品等,一邊了解北齋生平趣聞一邊欣賞其作品也別有一番風趣。在逛完美術館後,也很建議在附近散散步哦。

7. 本所松坂町公園(吉良上野介宅邸遺跡)

位於回向院正東邊位置的「本所松坂町公園」是座區立公園,也做為「吉良宅邸遺跡」而廣為人知。雖然只是佔地100平方公尺的小公園,但代表了權貴之家的圍牆及大門讓人印象深刻。現在的公園佔地面積據說只是吉良宅邸的86分之1而已,足見本來的宅邸面積是多麼的廣大。

公園內,以吉良上野介像及追慕碑為首,另保留了像是刻有吉良家家臣之名的石碑、御首洗井、供奉過吉良上野介的松坂稻荷社等史蹟,是忠臣藏迷絕不可錯過的景點。

8. 都立橫網町公園

「橫網町公園」是為了慰弔在大地震與空難中逝去的寶貴生命所設立的紀念公園。在園內的東京都慰靈堂中,安置了16萬3千具的遺骨。在這裡,不用言語就能感受到許多災難的歷史,以及許多人們的悲傷,請懷抱著一顆追悼的心前來此處。

沈重建築外觀內的復興紀念館中,眾多公開展示的遺品及資料,在在無言地述說著當時震災、戰災的物語。在紀念館外圍,還展示了因戰災而溶解的車輛等。除了公園外,慰靈堂、復興紀念館等都是免費入場,不妨趁這個機會入內了解一下。

9. 兩國公園

位於「兩國小學」旁的「兩國公園」,是座設置了有趣的遊具,對啟發孩童們對於遊具的玩法下了很多功夫的公園。寬廣的佔地大到可以奔跑,也是居住在附近的孩童絕佳的遊戲場所。 

這座兩國公園,做為「勝海舟誕生地」也非常有名。紀念著這位活躍於日本史上、幕府末期不可或缺的勝海舟的石碑就凌然地聳立在公園的一隅。還有介紹勝海舟功績等資料牆也很值得一看哦。

10. 兩國橋

「兩國橋」,一座橫跨隅田川、以朱紅橋架散發著獨特存在感的橋樑。這座橋自江戶時代開始就非常有名,據說當時連橋的二側都非常熱鬧。在葛飾北齋的畫作中也出現過這座兩國橋,一邊這樣想,一邊眺望著橋樑風景,不禁讓人有點感慨萬千呢。

這座橋既是兩國的象徵,也因可以欣賞到晴空塔的景點而在近年來非常受到遊客歡迎。在知名的隅田川花火大會中,也做為欣賞煙火的絕佳景點而經常被擠得水洩不通。到了夜晚還會打上照光,浪漫的氛圍也很適合情侶約會。

嚴選兩國站周邊5處觀光景點

1. 江戸NOREN

「江戸NOREN」是利用JR兩國站舊車站建成、以江戶町屋(古代日式建築)為設計靈感的商業設施。挑高的室內空間打造了寬敞舒適的氛圍,嚴選的12間和食店聚集於此,提供民眾享受江戶純綷的飲食文化。

 

館內也設置了和國技館同尺寸的正宗土俵(相撲比賽時使用的圓型土製擂台),是相撲迷必訪的景點。有時還會舉辦土俵開光活動等,是間散發著兩國特有風情的商業設施。

2. 兩國花火資料館

「兩國花火資料館」內展示著原尺寸大小的花火模型以及花火彈藥平面模型等,可以近距離觀察到花火彈藥大小,以及內部塞滿的火藥。在這裡可以接觸到花火深奧的世界,外國的朋友一定也會雀躍不已哦。

館內也有描述隅田川花火大會歷史的資料。兩國,是施放最新型煙火的隅田川花火大會觀看的絕佳位置,而這個資料館設立在兩國而,只能說是再適合不過了。因為開館時間不長,休館日也很多,所以計劃在前往之前,別忘了上官網確認一下開館時間哦。

3. 安美(Ami)兩國總店

「安美(Ami)兩國總店」,一間位於JR兩國站東口徒步約1分鐘即可扺達的人氣相撲鍋店。來到了兩國,不吃吃相撲鍋怎麼行呢。在「安美」,可以品嚐到由伊勢濱相撲屋親傳的美味相撲鍋。大量使用了新鮮的山珍海味製成的相撲鍋,整鍋都是滿滿的美味精華與營養哦。

 

安美CP值超高的午餐也很推薦給大家。只要花上日幣1000元不到,就可以品嚐到正統相撲鍋的好滋味。午餐時段中,還可以品嚐到像是鮮美的海鮮相撲鍋定食午餐等各種美食,讓人有種賺到的感覺呢。請在打造成日式時尚空間的店內,悠閒地享受兩國當地美食吧。

4. 國技堂

說到兩國就想到相撲,而說到相撲就讓人想到相撲鍋。但在兩國還有這間以絕品甜點出名的名店,也就是這間從「國技館」徒步只要2分鐘的「國技堂」。這可是在《孤獨的美食家》日劇中,井之頭五郎先生造訪過的名店哦。

 

此店的招牌是「仙貝鮮奶油餡蜜佐冰淇淋」。名字雖然很長,但其實就是鮮奶油餡蜜,再加上放入仙貝碎片的冰淇淋。甜甜的冰淇淋加上微鹹的仙貝碎片非常合拍,口感也很特殊。來到東京觀光的女性朋友可千萬不能錯過哦。

 

5. 啤酒俱樂部 POPEYE

提供了70種以上手工啤酒的「啤酒俱樂部 POPEYE」,店內整排的啤酒水龍頭讓人看的目瞪口呆。來到附設的自家工廠中,可千萬不要錯過這裡的原創手工啤酒哦。到了晚上6點左右店內幾乎都會被坐滿,滿滿的人潮讓店裡顯得熱鬧非凡。 

喝啤酒怎麼可以不配德國香腸呢。在POPEYE販售的香腸種類十分豐富,像是加入啤酒花的香腸等,尤其是特製手工香腸非常受到饕客歡迎。細火慢熬的燉肉和啤酒也很合拍。是間想要三五好友一起熱鬧地喝酒聊天的朋友,或是想要一個人靜靜地在吧台暢飲啤酒的朋友都很適合的店。

嚴選兩國5處私房推薦景點

1. 江戶兩國亭

兩國,可不是只有相撲哦,在這裡還可以欣賞到落語表演。每月1~15號為止,圓樂一門會在「江戶兩國亭」中表演落語。因為演出時間是在晚上,所以到了兩國觀光、晚上不知道去哪裡的時候,就可以考慮來這個很適合消磨夜間時光的私房景點哦。

因為是寄席(能觀賞日本傳統娛樂的設施),基本上不需要趕著開演時間入場,或是有著最後才能退場等規距。只要寄席有營業,就可自由出入場。晚上剛好散步到附近,突然心血來潮直接進場看個落語也別有一番風趣哦。

2. 兩國湯屋「江石遊」

位於兩國站旁北齋通上的「江戶遊」,是座人氣的公共澡堂。剛改裝完畢的江戶遊,其日式時尚的造型帶給人深刻的印象。在泡湯處中,還裝飾著葛飾北齋的巨大磁磚浮世繪。 

館內不僅有岩盤浴、三溫暖,還有4個休息處、榻榻米房、更衣室、其他設施等,設備充實。在餐廳「北齋」中還可以品嚐到江戶名物的二八蕎麥麵以及正宗相撲鍋等美食。在逛完東京後,不妨來這裡洗去您一身的疲備,好好放鬆一下身心吧。

3. 兩國露台咖啡廳

「兩國露台咖啡廳」,一處鄰接著豐富大自然的「舊安田庭園」、洋溢著時尚氛圍的咖啡廳。自然的光線撒落在被綠意圍繞的露台之中,形成開放感十足的空間。位於隅田川徒步只需3分鐘的好位置,也很適合在用餐或品茗後,來趟小小的河岸之旅。

在兩國露台咖啡廳,除了活用當季食材製成的小酒館菜單外,還有像是單點菜單、自家製甜點等,種類十分豐富。店內晚上的氣氛也很好,很適合打卡拍照上傳SNS。因為營業到晚上11點,所以可以悠閒地在此渡過愉快的夜晚時光。

4. 映水庵

距離兩國站徒步約需7分鐘的「映水庵」,是處能一邊眺望隅田川美景,一邊悠閒品茗的私房景點。冷硬的水泥與帶有溫暖的木材巧妙融合,讓店內充滿時尚的氛圍。偷偷告訴您,這裡可是老行家才知道的名店哦。 

在這彷彿秘密基地的映水庵中,真心推薦一定要嚐嚐這裡的自製起司蛋糕。一入口的瞬間就讓人感到濃郁厚實,之後的口感卻意外地清爽無比。聽說許多人都是為了這個起司蛋糕而來的哦。這裡也是處一個人入店也不會感到任何負擔的店家。

5. 橫綱橫丁

「橫綱橫丁」,是指從兩國站西口出來鄰接的整條飲食店舖,也就是所謂的喝酒街。不論是哪家店,到了晚上都會被結束工作的上班族擠的水洩不通。非常適合在東京觀光造訪兩國之際,突然想要在居酒屋喝上一杯的朋友哦。

橫綱橫丁不只有居酒屋,還有相撲鍋名店「安美」橫綱橫丁本店,以及老字號餃子屋「餃子會館  磐梯山」,還有以絡繹不絕的人潮有名的炸豬排店「長谷川」等等的名店。讓您能夠一次品嚐到當地知名美食。

探索充滿江戶風情的兩國所蘊藏的歷史及文化!

兩國雖然是以相撲之街聞名全國,但在國技館及兩國站附近為中心的地方,其實有著許多充滿江戶風情的知名景點。突然在街上看到那穿著日式浴衣路過的相撲力士也讓人又驚又喜呢。不論是要花上一整天好好的把兩國逛一逛,或是心血來潮來兩國散散步都很有意思。車站附近許多店家都營業得較晚,讓人可以玩得晚一點也是其魅力之一。不妨趁著休日來趟兩國,一邊探索欣賞江戶的歷史文化,一邊再次開發著東京蘊藏的魅力吧。

文章提供來源:Relux Magazine

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

玩樂

住宿

購物

搜尋餐廳

Enjoy the Nostalgic Edo Era Atmosphere! 20 Recommended Sightseeing Spots in Ryogoku

Ryogoku, famous for sumo wrestling, is dotted with various tourist attractions such as a museum that portrays the history of Tokyo, a new art museum, and parks where you can enjoy nature. This time, we will introduce you to a selection of 20 tourist attractions in Ryogoku, where the working-class culture of Edo flourished. Please refer to it when you visit Tokyo.

Tokyo

Things to Do

Selection of 10 Tourist Attractions in Ryogoku

1. Kokugikan

The Kokugikan is a must when visiting Ryogoku. It is the facility where the Honbasho (major professional sumo tournament) is held 3 times a year in January, May, and September. In addition to being a venue for the Honbasho, it is a multi-purpose hall which can hold more than 10,000 audience members, equipped with the latest acoustic and lighting facilities. Thus, it is also often used for music events, professional wrestling, and boxing matches as well as sumo.

It is a good idea to schedule your visit to Ryogoku to coincide with the major sumo tournament dates and watch a sumo match. Even if you don't have much interest in sumo, the intensity of a live sumo match is a sight not to be missed. Note that in order to purchase an entrance ticket on the day itself, you will probably need to line up before 7 am.

2. Edo-Tokyo Museum

The Edo-Tokyo Museum was opened to pass down the history and culture of Edo period Tokyo (1603 - 1868). The unique facade inspired by warehouses raised on stilts is surely eye-catching. Many people visit this popular tourist spot every day, as there are attractive exhibits for people of all ages and nationalities.

The highlight is the diorama that reproduces the city of Edo. Try looking at it with the binoculars placed nearby. You will feel as if you were really in Edo. There are also real-life sized models of Nagaya (traditional Japanese longhouses) and theaters, allowing you to take a peek at the lives and culture of the common people during the Edo period.

3. Sumo Museum

The Sumo Museum is attached to the Kokugikan and displays materials related to sumo wrestling. You can enter the museum for free during weekdays when the Honbasho is not taking place, so it is recommended if you decide to tour the Kokugikan. It is a relatively small museum, but there are many attractive exhibits that appeal to sumo fans.

shitamachi0

The exhibits worth seeing include the large nishiki-e (colored woodblock prints) portraying sumo wrestlers, banzuke (the guard of sumo wrestlers), and the keshomawashi (ornamental aprons worn by sumo wrestlers during ring entering ceremonies) of successive Yokozunas (sumo champions). There are 6 special exhibitions every year, and you can learn about the unique Japanese culture of sumo wrestling from various materials. During the Honbasho season, you may be able to enjoy the actual sumo match more if you visited this museum and gained knowledge on sumo beforehand. 

4. Eko-in Temple

Eko-in Temple was built to mourn the 108,000 victims of the great fire that occurred during the Edo period, colloquially known as the Furisode Fire. Unrestricted by their religious school of thought, their wonderful philosophy of holding memorial services for all things with life contributed to the existence of many burial mounds for cats and other animals in the temple.

The Eko-in Temple is also well-known as the temple where the tomb of "Nezumi Kozo Jirokichi" (the Robin Hood of Edo) is located. It is said that scraping off the tombstone will increase financial and academic fortune, and this belief attracts many worshippers. Nowadays, you are only allowed to scrape off the tombstone which is specially prepared for that purpose.

5. Kyu-Yasuda Teien Gardens

Kyu-Yasuda Teien Gardens is a Japanese-style garden designed for strolling, located adjacent to the Kokugikan. It is a garden built by a feudal lord in the Edo period, but it was acquired by the Yasuda Zaibatsu (financial conglomerate) and became known as the Kyu-Yasuda Teien Gardens. With a walking path surrounding the koi pond and an arch bridge, it resembles an oasis among the urban sprawl.

It is also possible to get a lovely view of the Tokyo Skytree from the garden. It is a picturesque spot that portrays the perfect harmony between the beautifully maintained Japanese garden and the modern skyscraper. It is a quiet and cozy park far from the noise of the bustling traffic, so it is ideal for taking a break while walking around Ryogoku. Admission is free of charge.

6. Sumida Hokusai Museum

"Sumida Hokusai Museum" is an art museum dedicated to the work of Katsushika Hokusai, who is a world-famous ukiyo-e (woodblock prints and paintings) artist. This art museum was designed by the architect Kazuyo Sejima as part of a regional redevelopment project, based on the fact that Hokusai spent most of his life in Sumida Ward. It is a futuristic tourist attraction with a modern aluminium facade.

In the elegant exhibition rooms surrounded by black walls, the exhibits include the "Thirty-six Views of Mt. Fuji," an iconic Hokusai work. Both his original drawings and woodblock prints (which are the two elements of ukiyo-e art) are exhibited chronologically so that visitors can trace his art to his life experiences. After visiting the museum, you should also take a stroll around the area.

7. Honjo Matsuzaka-cho Park (Former Residence of Lord Kira)

Honjo Matsuzaka-cho Park, located just east of the Eko-in Temple, is a local park which is famously known as the Former Residence of Lord Kira (the antagonist in the story of the Forty-seven Ronin). It is a small park of about 100 sq.m., and the elaborate design of the walls and gates illustrate the high social status of the family. The park is estimated to be 1/86 of the original size of the former Kira residence, so we can imagine how vast it originally was.

The park retains many historical sites such as the memorial stone dedicated to Kira Kozuke-no-Suke and a seated statue of him, a stone monument inscribed with the names of the vassals of the Kira family, the neck-washing well, the Matsuzaka Inari Shrine which enshrines Kira Kozuke-no-Suke, and so on. Thus, it is a tourist attraction not to be missed by fans of "The Forty-seven Ronin".

8. Metropolitan Yokoami-cho Park

Yokoami-cho Park is a memorial park that pays tribute to the spirits of those who lost their lives to natural disasters and air raids. There are 163,000 remains in the Tokyo Memorial Hall located inside the park. We can learn the history of many disasters and the sorrow it brings to the people, as well as mourn for the victims.

The Memorial Hall of Reconstruction inside the monolithic building has many relics and material on display which tell the history of natural disasters and wars. In addition to the memorial hall, vehicles which melted down in the war are also on display. The park, Tokyo Memorial Hall and Memorial Hall of Reconstruction are all free of charge, so why not take this opportunity to drop in for a visit?

9. Ryogoku Park

 

Ryogoku Park, which is located next to the Ryogoku Elementary School, is a park where unique playground equipment are set up to encourage children to be innovative and invent their own ways of playing with them. It also has plenty of space to run around, making it the perfect playground for children living nearby. 

edokiriko_officiall

Ryogoku Park is also famous as the Birthplace of Katsu Kaishu. A magnificent monument of Katsu Kaishu, an indispensable figure in Japanese history at the end of the Edo period, stands in a corner of the park. The park is full of attractions, including a plaque that introduces the achievements of Katsu Kaishu. 

10. Ryogoku Bridge

Ryogoku Bridge is a bridge which is symbolically known as the red line over the Sumida River. The bridge has been famous ever since the Edo period, and it is said that business flourished at the foot of the bridge during that time. Ryogoku Bridge also appears in the paintings of Katsushika Hokusai, and knowing this fact should make it feel more nostalgic when looking at the bridge.

It is a symbol of Ryogoku, and in recent years it has also become a scenic spot from where to gaze at Tokyo Skytree. During the fireworks festival at the Sumida River, it becomes crowded with people because it is the perfect spot to enjoy the fireworks. The bridge is lit up at night, so it is also a recommended spot for dates.

Selection of 5 Tourist Attractions around Ryogoku Station

1. Edo NOREN

Edo NOREN is a shopping complex inspired by the architecture of Edo period merchant houses, built into the old building of JR Ryogoku Station. It is an open air facility with the perfect nostalgic feel. Twelve specialty Japanese restaurants line the complex, allowing you to experience the refined food culture of the Edo period.

Sumo fans will not want to miss the authentic Dohyo (sumo wrestling ring) installed in the complex, which is of the same size as the one in the Kokugikan. Depending on the time of year, events such as the opening ceremony of sumo tournaments are sometimes held here. It is a shopping complex that has a unique Ryogoku flavor.

2. Ryogoku Fireworks Museum

The exhibits at the Ryogoku Fireworks Museum include a full-scale firework model and a cross-sectional model of a firework ball, allowing you to observe up close the size of a firework ball and the details of the gunpowder packed inside it. Everyone would be thrilled to get a chance to discover the profound science of fireworks.

There is also material about the history of the Sumida River fireworks festival. Since the latest fireworks technologies are used in the Sumida River fireworks festival, it's a museum uniquely appropriate for Ryogoku. The opening hours are short and there are many closed days, so please check the website if you want to visit.

3. Ami Ryogoku Main Branch

Ami Ryogoku Main Branch is a popular Chanko-nabe (stew-like dish traditionally served to sumo wrestlers) restaurant located just a minute's walk from the East Gate of Ryogoku Station. If you go to Ryogoku, you'll want to try the Chanko-nabe. At Ami, you will be able to taste authentic Chanko-nabe passed down directly from the Isegahama stable (one of the most prestigious sumo wrestler organizations). It is extravagantly made with fresh ingredients from the mountains and seas, so it is packed with umami (Japanese savory flavor) and nutrition. 

We also recommend the reasonably-priced lunch sets at Ami. You can get real Chanko-nabe for 1,000 yen or less. They even have a seafood Chanko-nabe lunch set which is loaded with seafood-based umami and many other lunch sets which are a bargain. Enjoy Ryogoku's local cuisine in this stylish Japanese restaurant. 

4. Kokugi-do

Ryogoku makes us think of Sumo, and Sumo makes us think of Chanko-nabe, but there is also a shop popular for their heavenly desserts in Ryogoku. That shop is Kokugi-do, which is about 2 minutes on foot from Kokugikan. Goro Inokashira visited this shop in a TV drama series called “Kodoku no Gourmet (Lonely Gourmet)”. 

The specialty of this restaurant is called Osenbe-Ice-nose-Cream-Anmitsu. The name is long, but it's simply ice cream sprinkled with crushed rice crackers served with assorted fruits, jelly, red bean paste, and sweet black syrup. The sweet ice cream matches perfectly with the slightly salty rice crackers, and the contrasting textures also complement each other. Girls will want to visit this dessert shop during their trip in Tokyo. 

5. Popeye Beer Club

Popeye Beer Club offers more than 70 kinds of craft beer. The beer taps lined up on the bar is truly a sight to behold! They also run their own brewery, so you should try one of their original beers. The store is fully seated and bustling with energy by around 6 pm. 

You can't drink beer without having sausages, and Popeye's special original sausages are quite popular. There are many types of sausages, including sausages with hops in them. Their slow-cooked stew also goes perfectly with beer. This shop is great for people who want to drink, have fun and chat, as well as for people who want to drink alone at the bar counter. 

Selection of 5 Relatively Unknown Tourist Attractions in Ryogoku

1. Oedo Ryogoku-tei

Sumo is not all there is to Ryogoku. You can also enjoy Rakugo (a sitcom with one person playing all the parts)! Here at Oedo Ryogoku-tei, the Enraku Ichimonkai (a Rakugo troupe) hold Rakugo shows from the 1st to 15th of every month. Since it is held at night, it is an out-of-the-way attraction where visitors of Ryogoku can kill time during the night. 

The Yose (Rakugo Theater) typically has no strict rules concerning entering on time or staying until the end of the show. As long as the Yose is open, you may come and leave as you please. Stepping in to enjoy a Rakugo in the middle of an evening stroll should make for quite a stylish trip. 

2. Ryogoku Bathhouse "Edo-yu"

Large public bath and spas are common tourist attractions, and then there is Edo-yu, located on Hokusai Street just a stone's throw away from Ryogoku Station. Edo-yu, which was renovated recently, has an impressive Japanese-style modern design. In the bathroom, there is a huge tile art painting resembling Hokusai Katsushiki's ukiyo-e.

They also have Ganban'yoku (hot stone spa), sauna, and four different waiting rooms, namely one with tatami mats, another with wooden flooring, and even a detached room! At their dining room Hokusai, you can savor unique Edo-era food such as Nihachi-Soba (noodles made with 20% buckwheat and 80% wheat flour) and authentic Chanko-nabe. When you feel tired while sightseeing in Tokyo, why not drop in for a visit and rest? 

3. Ryogoku Terrace Cafe

Ryogoku Terrace Cafe is an uber fancy cafe next to the nature-rich Former Yasuda Garden. The al fresco terrace seats are surrounded by lush garden views and gets plenty of sunshine. Located just 3 minutes on foot from the Sumida River, it's very convenient. You could go for a walk along the river after a meal or tea. 

Ryogoku Terrace Cafe offers a wide variety of choices, including bistro-style dishes which make use of the best ingredients in season, a la carte dishes and homemade desserts. It also looks beautiful at night and you can snap a nice photo to post on social media. It is open until 11:00 pm at night, so you can pass your time slowly here. 

4. Eisui-an

Eisui-an is located about 7 minutes on foot from Ryogoku Station. It is an out-of-the-way cafe where you can leisurely enjoy tea while gazing at the Sumida River. The modern design which combines concrete and wooden elements is lovely! In fact, this shop is famous among those in the know. 

The hidden cafe Eisui-an's recommended dish is their home-made cheesecake. It's rich in taste, and yet has a refreshing aftertaste! Many of their customers order this exquisite cheesecake. It is also recommended for those who want to spend quality time alone in a cafe.

5. Yokozuna Yokocho

Yokozuna Yokocho is a street lined with restaurants located just outside the West Gate of Ryogoku Station. It's the place to go for a drink. At night, the whole street is busy with office workers coming home from work. It's recommended for those who would like to get a drink at an izakaya (Japanese-style bar) during their trip to Ryogoku in Tokyo. 

Yokozuna Yokocho is not only home to izakayas, but also famous restaurants such as the Yokozuna Yokocho Branch Store of Ami which is famous for Chanko Nabe, the long-established gyoza (dumplings) restaurant Gyoza Kaikan Bandaisan, and the tonkatsu (deep-fried pork cutlet) restaurant Hasegawa which always has customers lining up for it.  You can also enjoy the local food here. 

Discover the History and Culture of Ryogoku, Rich with Nostalgic Edo Atmosphere!

Ryogoku, which is famous for sumo, has many tourist attractions to visit such as the Kokugikan and the areas surrounding Ryogoku station, as well as various attractions filled with the nostalgic atmosphere of the Edo period. It is a wonderful town where you may even get to see sumo wrestlers strolling down the streets in yukata (traditional Japanese casual clothes worn in summer). It's enjoyable for spending a whole day sightseeing, or even just to drop in for a quick walk in the town area. There are many restaurants around the station that open till dark, so you may stay and have fun until late at night. Why not come on a holiday to discover the history and culture of Edo and uncover the nostalgic charms of Tokyo?

Translated and republished with permission from: SPIRA (formerly known as Relux Magazine)
By the way, you can book a hotel through Relux (run by SPIRA) by clicking here!

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.


Restaurant Search