【實用資訊】不怕一萬只怕萬一!日本旅遊前必備避難知識及應變方法

即將前往日本的您可能已做好了周密的計畫,但您是否曾想過若在日本旅行遇到天災該怎麼辦呢?本篇文章為您整理一些建議,好讓您就算不幸遇到災害也能以策安全。

日本

實用資訊

根據日本地震調查研究推進本部所發布的2018年日本地震預測地圖,可知東京都區(包含東京都、橫濱市、水戶市及千葉市)在未來30年內發生6級或6級以上地震的可能性非常高。

以下就來為您介紹在日本旅遊期間若遇到天災時,該如何確保安全的方法。

隨時攜帶身分證件

在日本,所有的遊客及國外居民都必須要擁有自己的身分證件。然而對於一個旅行者來說,要隨身攜帶護照前往各個景點,不免就會擔心不小心遺失。這時候您可以將護照彩色影印,並跟錢包分開保管。日本的便利商店大部分都有提供多語言的影印機服務。

此外,也別忘了在您出發前先提供一份您護照的彩色影本、旅遊行程以及在日本下榻的旅宿名稱及地址給家人或好友。最後再將護照的掃描檔及重要資訊,如住家地址和緊急聯絡人等傳送至自己的電子郵件信箱中。

保持聯繫

建議您隨身攜帶移動式Wi-Fi、手機充電器或行動電源,以便隨時隨地跟親朋好友連絡自己目前的情況。

下述三個免費英語APP,可為日語能力有限的人提供地震及海嘯警報。千萬別忘了在前往日本前先將APP下載好並熟悉操作方式及內容:

NHK World TV:提供地震、海嘯警報、與天氣相關的最新消息。

Yurekuru Call:提供地震預警功能、來自其他APP使用者所提供的地震(震度)即時資訊。

Japan Shelter Guide:提供地震與海嘯的即時資訊,以及在日本全國超過100,000處避難所、醫療設施及供水的位置。

識別這些標誌

緊急避難場所通常位於大型公園,當天然災害發生時,國中小學校也會成為避難所。

萬一發生海嘯時,請務必立即前往最近的海嘯緊急避難場所(津波緊急避難場所)或海嘯避難大樓(津波避難ビル)。

當地震發生時該如何以策安全?

若您位於室外...

遠離建築物、登柱並儘快找到開放式地區或空地避難。警防掉落或倒塌的破瓦殘礫、玻璃、樹木、路燈、標誌及易坍塌的混凝土牆。若您所在位置靠近海岸,請立即往高處尋找避難場所。

若您位於室內…

若出現劇烈搖晃時,請先躲在堅固的家具下方,藉以保護身體和頭部,避免被室內掉落的物品擊中。如果沒有任何可以躲避的地方,請儘可能遠離窗戶、照明設備、天花板固定裝置並蹲下保護自己的頭部與頸部。

即使停止搖晃,也還是有可能持續發生餘震。因此請您務必先評估建築結構的損壞程度及獲取最新訊息,確保現有狀況及安全性後再前往室外。切勿使用電梯。

若您位於電梯內…

在2009年以後安裝的電梯都設有緊急停止感應器,當檢測到地震波時,該感應器便會自動啟動。當地震發生時,電梯會停在最近的樓層並開門。此時請利用樓梯快速且小心地離開建築物。

若您是在搭乘舊型電梯時發生地震,請立即按下最近樓層的按鍵並儘快離開電梯。所有的電梯都配有緊急呼叫按鈕,可用於緊急聯繫。

若您位於電車或地下鐵中…

當發生震度5級或5級以上的地震時,日本幾乎所有的列車都會停止運行,僅在確認過軌道的安全性及功能性後才會恢復行駛。如果您搭乘的電車因地震而突然停駛,請您遵循列車長的指示行動。除非獲得指示,否則絕對不要離開列車。

當地震發生時,可能會發生電車延遲的情況。2011年3月11日大地震時,東京的電車停駛了超過6個小時!許多通勤者必需步行或找其他替代方案才能回家,因此也有一部分的人選擇留在辦公室等到電車行駛。

隨身攜帶現金及應急資金

雖說日本許多地方都可用信用卡來付款,但建議您最好還是隨身攜帶10圓日幣、100圓日幣及幾張千圓日幣,以防地震時因停電而無法使用刷卡機器。

此外,在停電時您可能也會需要使用現金來購買零食、飲料及個人衛生用品等。

在車站、醫療機構、政府機關和緊集避難場所都能找到公共電話。您也可以利用一些付費電話來播打國際電話跟親朋好友聯繫。

保持警惕及警戒

為不讓天災造成更嚴重的傷害,請多加善用本篇文章介紹的資訊。快快樂樂出門,平平安安回家!

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

相關分類

搜尋餐廳

Practical Tips and Advice For Staying Safe in the Event of a Natural Disaster in Japan

You’ve probably planned meticulously for your upcoming trip to Japan trip, but have you thought about what to do if there’s a natural disaster when traveling in Japan? Don't go to Japan unprepared. Use the advice and tips in this article to make the most of your Japan stay while being safe from the wrath of Mother Nature.

Nationwide

Travel Tips

According to the 2018 Japan Earthquake Forecast Map released by the Japanese Headquarters for Earthquake Research Promotion, the Tokyo metropolitan area (which includes Tokyo Prefecture and the cities of Yokohama, Mito, and Chiba), has a high probability of an earthquake of lower 6 intensity or above in the next 30 years.

Keeping that in mind, here’s how to keep safe in the event of a natural disaster when traveling in Japan.

Carry ID At All Times

In Japan, all tourists and foreign residents are required to have on their person a form of ID. However, as an overseas visitor it’s only natural that you would be hesitant to walk around with your passport. This is especially true if you have a very active itinerary.

Instead, keep a color photocopy of your passport page, along with a copy of your visa, or landing permit separate from your wallet. If you need additional copies while in Japan, nearly every convenience store has a copy machine with multilingual support.

Be sure to give a photocopy of your passport page, travel itinerary, and the name and address of your Japan lodging to a relative or friend prior to departure. Lastly, email yourself a scan of your passport page and important information like home address, and emergency contacts.

Stay Connected

Consider getting pocket Wi-Fi and carrying a phone charger or portable battery so you can get up-to-date information as well as notify friends and family of your situation.

There are several free apps with English language support that provide earthquake and tsunami alerts to those with limited Japanese ability. Download these three apps and get acquainted with them before coming to Japan:

NHK World TV: offers earthquake and tsunami warnings alongside updates on weather-related incidents.

Yurekuru Call: uses earthquake early warnings and real-time information from registered users in regards to the intensity of an earthquake.

Japan Shelter Guide: provides real-time information on earthquakes and tsunami as well as the location of more than 100,000 shelters, medical facilities, and water supplies across Japan.

Recognize These Signs

Evacuation areas are usually large parks (緊急避難場所, kinkyu hinan basho) while elementary and junior high schools become emergency shelters (避難所, hinan jo) in the event of a natural disaster.

In the event of a tsunami, you must immediately head to the nearest tsunami evacuation site (津波緊急避難場所, tsunami kinkyu hinan basho) or tsunami evacuation building (津波避難ビル, tsunami hinan biru).

Staying Safe When An Earthquake Happens

If you are outside...

Move away from buildings, light posts, and find an open area. Beware of falling debris, glass, trees, street lamps, signs, and crumbling concrete walls. If you are near the shore, immediately seek shelter at higher elevation.  

If you are inside…

Resist the urge to run outside if you feel a large tremor. In the event of intense shaking, protect your body and head by going underneath a sturdy piece of furniture. If nothing is available, stay away from windows, move from under light and ceiling fixtures and protect your head and neck while crouching down.

Even after shaking has stopped, do know that aftershocks can occur. Proceed outside only after assessing structural damage and getting up-to-date information. Do not use elevators.

If you are in an elevator…

Elevators installed after 2009 are equipped with an emergency stop sensor that activates when earthquake waves are detected. If an earthquake occurs the elevator will stop at the nearest floor and doors will open. Exit the building with caution via stairs.

However, if an earthquake occurs when riding an older elevator, immediately press the button for the nearest floor and exit promptly.

Lastly, all elevators are equipped with an emergency call button that can be used to contact emergency services.

If you are in a train or on the metro…

Nearly all trains in Japan halt operation in the event of an earthquake with an intensity of 5 or higher. Operation will resume only after the safety and functionality of the tracks has been confirmed. 

If you train stops suddenly due to an earthquake, you must follow the instructions of the train conductors. Do not exit the train until you have been instructed to do so.

A train delay caused by an earthquake will cause congestion for public transportation. In the case of the March 11, 2011 earthquake, train service in the greater Tokyo metropolitan area stopped for more than six hours. Many commuters had to rely on alternative train lines or walk hours to their home. Others remained in their offices until train operation resumed.

For more tips on how to stay safe in the event of an earthquake, visit our article, "What to Do in an Earthquake in Japan: The Basic Steps."

Always Carry Coins and Emergency Funds

Perhaps you can get away with credit cards and rechargeable IC cards for a majority of your Japan stay. Still, it’s best to have 10 yen and 100 yen coins in hand as well as a few 1,000 yen bills in case there's a power outage when an earthquake hits.

You’ll also want cash and coins on hand for buying snacks, drinks, and personal hygiene items, especially in the event of a power outage.

Pay phones are available in train stations, medical facilities, government offices, and emergency shelters. You can also make international calls from some pay phones. Look for a phone that says 国際通話利用可 ( kokusai denwa riyo ka). 

Be Alert And Stay Vigilant

Don’t let the possibility of natural disasters hinder you from experiencing Japan. Rather, use the tips in this article to make the most of your stay while being safe.

Now that you know what to do in the event of a natural disaster when traveling in Japan, we hope you’ll have a wonderful journey discovering all that the country has to offer!

Header credit: KenSoftTH/Shutterstock.com

 

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search