當華燈初上時 在日式小酒吧探窺日本夜生活實景

從居酒屋、夜總會到卡拉OK,日本入夜後的生活總是那樣豐富多彩。而支撐這種夜間經濟的活力來源之一,便是神秘的「日式酒吧(Snack Bar)」。帶有秘密色彩、無窗戶的店面,對酒吧愛好者總是有一股吸引力。在您鼓起勇氣走進去之前,了解這種地下文化特有的潛規則、禮儀和習俗,是不可少的事前功課。本文要帶您走訪日本一家擁有40年歷史的日式小酒吧,透過近距離採訪媽媽桑,了解日式酒吧文化的真實秘辛。

日本

美食

日式酒吧(Snack Bar)是什麼?

日式小酒吧的日文單詞「スナック(バー)」,是從英語的Snack Bar衍生而來,它並非如同名字直譯所示「小吃店」,是提供吃食的店家。因此日式小酒吧並不適合那些以覓食為目的人們。這裡雖提供簡易餐食,但主要卻是喝酒和社交的天堂。日式酒吧的餐食菜單會依照各店家有所不同,其中有些提供「無限暢飲」,有些則出售瓶裝烈酒。比較常見的是後者,一排排威士忌酒瓶排在後方架子上,上頭寫著一個個常客的名字,標明每瓶酒的主人。這種所有權將一種熟悉感編織在一起——彷彿第二個家一般。無論工作壓力、家庭生活還是世界紛爭,都有一瓶專屬的酒總是在等待著您。

從新宿繁華的霓虹燈街道到鄉村小鎮,日式酒吧遍布日本商業和娛樂區的小巷。在人口比較少的地方通常也是當地人唯一喝酒的地方,被視為社區的基石。

即便有些日本小酒吧相當新穎現代,但大部分主要還是從昭和時代(1926-1989)便流傳下來,顧客多半是中年男性。被稱為「媽媽桑(ママさん)」的老闆娘年齡大多與顧客差不多,而旗下的兼職調酒師則會比較年輕一點。有些店還有被稱為「主人」的男性老闆,通常會僱用女性員工來顧店。飲品則非常簡樸不花哨——日本啤酒、威士忌和燒酒

顧客在店裡喝酒、聊天和歡笑。 儘管這種店常出現在紅燈區附近,但不提供任何性服務,店員會嚴格保持與顧客之間的距離。日式小酒吧也經常被誤認為是那種女性公關會和顧客坐一起同樂飲酒,並且會私下外出的夜總會俱樂部(キャバクラ ,歌舞表演和俱樂部的結合),但其實兩者大不相同。

日式小酒吧的歷史

日式小酒吧的起源不明,不過作為夜間娛樂的一環,在二戰後獲得蓬勃發展。

性產業在日本擁有極悠久的歷史,即便在戰後的混亂中,性產業仍然屹立不搖。為了與世界以及聯合國的社會道德保持一致的步調,日本政府修改法律將性產業定為非法產業。且為了準備1964年的東京夏季奧運,還制定相關法律,禁止提供親密服務(如坐在一起、聊天、唱卡拉OK)的店家在午夜後營業。至於只做基本飲料交易的酒吧就不受規範,仍然可以營業至深夜。

當年那些受法律所限的店家不得不尋找其他管道,以求在夜生活的黃金時段繼續做生意。為了解決這問題,有些店家開始提供輕食,以符合法律上所定義的「餐館」。不過終究是換湯不換藥而已,因為這些店仍然是以飲料和親密服務為賣點。

時序跳至現今,店家早已可以隨心所欲地自由營業,這些所謂的日式小酒吧又重新蓬勃發展起來,不少店家只是簡單地在桌子上放些米菓零食,就繼續合法地經營生意。

シャム貓之夜

為了體驗真正的日式小酒吧風情,我們來到「シャム貓(暹羅貓 )」,一家隱藏在新潟歷史悠久的「古町」商業區小巷中的小型酒吧。「シャム貓」已經營業長達40年,媽媽桑這數十年來一直勤奮地執掌櫃檯,隻身一人獨自經營這家店。店裡只有五個座位,提供無限暢飲和瓶裝販售服務。

如前所述,日式小酒吧背後很大一部分的吸引力,在於其家常、非主流的特性。「シャム貓」將這一點做到了極致,用許多懷舊的昭和時代用具所佈置,從哥吉拉小模型到轉盤電話等,每瞧一眼都會有新的發現。這裡給人感覺不像是營業場所,更像是被邀請進入某人的客廳。

「シャム貓」的媽媽桑是日本「老派」、「精緻」的體現。她直言不諱,和藹可親,每一個動作都經過仔細衡量,並且是有目的地執行。她的待客姿態無可挑剔,對顧客投以的關注也是無庸置疑。每次客人去洗手間後都會為其準備新的熱手巾,並在飲料杯子見底後立即加滿。她把談話變成一門藝術,讓顧客發洩和吹噓,同時貢獻她時機掌握完美的回覆和吹捧。雖然在便利商店買啤酒更容易且便宜得多,但我們都很清楚,在日式小酒吧裡,喝酒只是其吸引力的一小部分而已。

如何拜訪日本的小酒吧

「シャム貓」的媽媽桑從業40年,對日式小酒吧可說是略知一二。她認為,雖然店外觀看起來會讓人卻步,但人們應該毫不猶豫地嘗試走進店裡。然而她也希望第一次造訪的客人能明白,他們是很有可能會被拒絕於門外的。因為是否要接待這個客人,完全取決於媽媽桑的意願。筆者之所以有幸獲得這一探內部的難得機會,是因為「シャム貓」的媽媽桑正是筆者妻子的阿姨。

許多日式小酒吧只接常客,因此想到店裡光顧需要有熟客的邀請,有的日式小酒吧甚至有正式的會員制度。有時客人可能會因為外表而被拒絕入內,而這和是否為外國人不一定有直接關聯。每當顧客一進門,媽媽桑的腦海裡就會閃過幾件事:他們會付錢嗎?他們會尊重嗎?與店內氛圍相符嗎?如果是衣冠不整的背包客在預算有限的情況下在日本旅行,便很有可能會被拒於門外。如果您看起來精力充沛、且有能力付款,那麼受到媽媽桑溫暖歡迎的機會就會大大增加。

日式小酒吧的營運之道雖然看似現實,但這也是因為這種店的利潤微薄,媽媽桑需要保護自己的生意。這不僅僅只是為了賺快錢——新顧客的到來很有可能會讓熟客們感到不快,或者對媽媽桑的服務感到失望而永遠不再回來,從而導致巨大的收入損失。事實上,許多日式小酒吧都是因著這些少數熟客的光顧而得以生存,因此媽媽桑自然會尊重熟客,優先於新來者。

但媽媽桑也告訴我們,如果被拒絕了也不要氣餒。只需禮貌地點點頭,退出店門並嘗試尋找下一個小酒吧。探索其他店家的可能性,並找到一個適合自己的店鋪也是一大樂趣唷。

在日式小酒吧要注意的事情

日式小酒吧禮儀源於深厚的地下文化,本身就是一門複雜的藝術。

「シャム貓」的媽媽桑告訴我們,首先,打開店門往裡看後,應該先向櫃檯打招呼並問「いいですか? (可以進來嗎?)」。 未經允許就入坐是相當不尊重媽媽桑的。

如果獲得了許可,請在就座前提前詢問消費方式。 對她來說,這是至關重要的且一點也不粗魯。事前詢問清楚總比事後才得知價錢來得好,很多人會因為花上比預期高出很多的金額而感到生氣,進而破壞了難得的夜晚體驗。

若是預算有限,可以考慮直接買一瓶酒或無限暢飲的方案,價格約在4,000~10,000日幣左右。通常日式小酒吧是在結束離開前才結帳,且通常以現金支付。建議事先詢問好消費模式,如果不適合自己的話還能儘早離開。

坐下來安頓好後,媽媽桑便會給您倒酒。雖然有時候瓶子會直接放在櫃檯上,您想說自己倒酒也無妨,但其實這一行為很可能被視為不尊重的表現,意思是媽媽桑沒有注意您的酒杯這點。談話時也不要過於自信和霸道,輕輕感受這裡的氛圍基調,盡最大努力融入其中。

還有一點應該知道的是,店內抽菸是常態。且這種店面經常是沒有窗戶,通風差,新鮮空氣會被濃烈的香水和煙霧繚繞所取代。鼻子敏感的人可能就不適合日式小酒吧這樣的場所。另外日式小酒吧也較偏向接待單人客戶,如果是兩人以上的團客,或許普通的酒吧、居酒屋或卡拉OK是更好的選擇。

由於日式小酒吧的主要顧客群都是當地人,因此英文等外國語言在這裡通常是行不通的。雖然「シャム貓」的媽媽桑很歡迎來自世界各地的顧客,但她擔心如果您不會日語的話,她就無法充分展示她的接待魅力,因為店內收取的費用也包括了她所付出的時間與服務。如果不能夠和客人直接交談的話,她會感到內疚。但如果您會說一點日語的話,這裡無疑是提高日語口說能力的好地方!

日式小酒吧的其他享樂方式

在日本的街頭漫步時,可能會聽到中年男子高唱曲子的迴聲。這是日式小酒吧卡拉OK,跟許多日本的隔音良好的私人卡拉OK包廂比差很多。雖然不是所有日式小酒吧都備有卡拉OK,但絕大部分都有提供。因爲這是可以輕鬆炒熱氣氛的方法。要注意的是,要唱卡拉OK的話可能會需要支付額外的費用,有些甚至是以首計費。

前面雖然對於食物的部分輕描淡寫,不過日式小酒吧確實是有吃食的。經典的堅果、薯條和米菓、味噌湯、馬鈴薯泥和毛豆等更豐盛的菜餚應有盡有,如果您是日本居酒屋小吃或開胃菜的愛好者,那麼這裡絕對有很多您會喜歡的食物。

「シャム貓」還給我們帶來一些額外的樂趣,比如算命、用老式轉盤付費電話打電話給朋友以及抽獎(我們得到一個彈力球)。如同店名裡有「貓」這個字,這裡也有一隻常駐的貓,雖然它在我們拍照之前就消失不見了!體驗至此,「シャム貓」確實比起其他小酒吧更另類,但它也讓我們對這種獨一無二的文化有了深刻的了解。

日式小酒吧的未來

在這個行業長達40年的生涯中,「シャム貓」的媽媽桑看到競爭急劇增加,人們的喝酒習慣已從日式小酒吧轉移到酒吧、pub、俱樂部夜店等。此外,在昭和時代的繁榮時期開業的媽媽桑們,也差不多都到了退休的時刻。與其他許多日本傳統藝術一樣,繼承這些技藝與記憶的人是少之又少。

儘管如此,她堅信日式小酒吧是日本夜生活文化不可或缺的一部分,絕對能夠承受時間的考驗。雖然曾經繁華的古町街道在現在這個時代下顯得異常安靜,但也因為倚靠社區、團結在一起,日式小酒吧得以繼續於時代潮流中屹立不搖。

位於新潟信濃川對岸的万代區不斷改造更新,以跟上最新的時尚潮流。前身是珍珠奶茶店的店舖,現在則變成香料咖哩餐廳或來自韓國的馬卡龍甜點店,許多酒吧也一樣跟著改頭換面,但「シャム貓」40年來則一直不為所動——是其他老闆們值得筆記學習的店。

媽媽桑也分享過去幾十年來,因經濟衰退導致顧客的消費習慣也變得拮据,尤其是在1990年代泡沫經濟破裂之後。她回憶起,以前顧客還會在酒吧請每個人喝酒,或者毫不猶豫地訂購豪華壽司拼盤並分給大家吃。他們甚至會互相比較誰請的東西比較高級(為了面子),這是在其他高級餐廳所看不見的人情。

總歸來說,日式小酒吧文化是在1964年開創性的東京奧運會之後所形成。然而就算2020東京奧運會在疫情的影響下延期並順利落成,日式小酒吧這一行業仍然遭受到毀滅性的打擊。數據顯示在2020年春季,日本總計約有7、8萬家日式小酒吧中,就有至少8千家歇業倒閉。此外日本經濟新聞與NTT於 2021年進行的一項研究顯示,自疫情以來已有約4萬5千家餐廳倒閉,佔總數的10%。嚴格的營業限制,以及大眾對於夜生活裡酒吧餐廳等場所群聚的批評,已給這個行業帶來無法彌補的打擊。

在緊急狀態期間,與夜生活其他行業的許多一樣,「シャム貓」也大幅縮短營業時間。媽媽桑也盡最大努力根據政府法規重塑她的營業模式。她的一生都奉獻給了這個地方,她別無選擇,只能努力維持生計。

日本的街頭正慢慢恢復生機,不過許多當地人曾光顧流連的場所已一去不復返。幸運的是,雖然「シャム貓」不得不搬遷到租金更便宜的大樓,但至少它成功地活下來了。新潟市的疫情限制也於2022年2月完全解除,媽媽桑現在正興奮地籌備「シャム貓」的40週年派對呢。

日本夜生活那不為人知的一面

對於喜歡卡拉OK、居酒屋和「立飲(立ち飲み,站著喝酒)」的夜貓子來說,日式小酒吧是日本夜生活文化中的最後一塊疆域。那些鼓足勇氣踏入的人將獲得愉快的飲品、熱情的交談和豐富的地元知識。您永遠不知道小酒吧裡面有著什麼驚喜在等待您的到來,這也是其魅力的一部分。走一趟日式小酒吧,您肯定會在這裡寫下屬於您的故事!

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

作者簡介

Steve
Steve Csorgo

搜尋餐廳

The Snack Bar: Japan’s Eccentric Underground Bar Scene

From kyabakura to karaoke, Japan’s nightlife is unparalleled in diversity. The backbone of this after-dark economy is the enigmatic “snack bar,” whose secretive, windowless storefronts forever intrigue curious bar-hoppers. But before mustering the courage to step inside, it’s vital to understand the unspoken rules, manners, and customs unique to this underground culture. We visited a 40-year-old snack bar in one of Japan’s geisha districts to find out the facts from the “Mama-san” herself!

Nationwide

Food & Drinks

Buy Japanese Crafts Online click to get 10% off your first order - BECOS

What Is a Snack Bar?

Unlike the name suggests, snack bars, commonly called “sunakku” in Japanese, are not catered towards those feeling peckish. While finger food is served, snack bars are havens of drinking and socializing. The snack bar menu will depend on the joint, with some having “all-you-can-drink,” and others selling spirits by the bottle. Most famous is the latter, with rows of whiskey bottles lining the back shelf emblazoned by the name of a regular, indicating the owner of each. This ownership weaves together a sense of familiarity - a home away from home. No matter the stresses of work, domestic life, or the strife of the world, your drink always awaits.

Snack bars speckle the alleyways of business and entertainment districts - all the way from the bustling neon streets of Shinjuku to tiny, rural towns. In smaller populations, they are often the sole place for locals to drink, cherished as a community bedrock.

While some are youthful and trendy, snack bars are largely a leftover of the Showa period (1926-1989), and the average customer is male and middle-aged. The proprietress, called a “Mama-san,” likely matches the age of patrons, while the part-time bartenders under her wing veer to the younger side. Some also have male owners called “masters,” who typically employ female staff. Drinks are far from fancy - expect your standard Japanese beers, whiskeys, and shochu.

Customers patronize snack bars to drink, chat, and laugh. Despite their presence around red-light districts, they do not offer anything in the way of sexual service, and staff are strict about keeping their distance behind the counter. While not at all related, snack bars are often mistaken for the seedier “kyabakura” (portmanteau of “cabaret” and “club”), where staff sit with patrons and go out privately after business hours.

The History of Snack Bars

While the origins are murky, snack bars prospered after WWII as a byproduct of reeling in adult entertainment. Sex work has a long history in Japan, and in the post-war chaos, prostitution ran rampant. In order to align itself with the morals of the Allies and the United Nations, Japan amended its laws to make prostitution illegal. This was supercharged by laws implemented in preparation for the 1964 Summer Olympics in Tokyo, which prohibited establishments providing intimate services (like sitting together, chatting, singing karaoke duets) from opening past midnight.

While bars, which are limited to the basic transaction of money for drinks, were free to operate late, others had to find loopholes to keep running during prime nightlife hours. To counter this, some started serving light food to become legally redefined as “eateries,” even if drinks and friendly service were the main attraction. Now free to open as they pleased, these so-called “snack bars” thrived, with most simply making a cursory effort at some rice crackers on the table to keep running their business legitimately.

A Night at Cham Neko

Seeking an authentic encounter, we popped into “Cham Neko,” a tiny snack bar tucked in the alleyways of Niigata’s historic “Furumachi” geisha district. Cham Neko has been a part of Furumachi for 40 years, and its Mama-san has diligently stood behind the counter the entire time. Seating only five, she runs the joint alone, and offers both all-you-can-drink and full-bottle service.

As mentioned, a sizable portion of the appeal behind snack bars is the homely, offbeat character. Cham Neko ramps this up to the extreme, monopolized by a hoard of nostalgic Showa era paraphernalia, from Godzilla figurines to rotary telephones and more, inviting a new discovery at every glance. It feels less like a place of business, and more like being invited into someone’s living room.

The Mama-san of Cham Neko is the embodiment of old-school Japanese sophistication. Plainspoken and amiable, each of her actions are carefully measured and performed with purpose. Her posture is impeccable, as is her attention to the  customers, warming up fresh hand towels after each trip to the bathroom and topping up drinks the moment they are emptied. She turns conversation into a fine art, allowing customers to vent and boast while contributing her own perfectly-timed replies and jabs. While easier and far cheaper to pick up a beer at a convenience store, it was clear to us that drinking is only at the surface of a snack bar’s appeal.

How to Visit a Snack Bar in Japan

With 40 years in the business, the Mama-san of Cham Neko knows a thing or two about snack bars. She insists that, despite the intimidating appearance from the outside, one shouldn’t hesitate to enter. However, she wants first-timers to understand that there is a very real chance they’ll be rejected, as customer acceptance is entirely at the discretion of the Mama-san. Luckily, I was guaranteed a rare inside peek, as the Mama-san of Cham Neko is actually my wife’s aunt!

Many snack bars are regulars only, requiring an invite from a patron, while others have official membership systems. Sometimes, you’ll simply be rejected for your looks - and not necessarily because you’re foreign. Once a customer enters, several things rush through the Mama-san’s mind: Can they pay? Will they be respectful? Do they match the vibe? If you’re a disheveled backpacker traveling Japan on a budget, you’ll more than likely be shown the door. If you’re looking smart, fresh, and armed with a wad of cash, then the chances of being welcomed by warm smiles increases significantly.

While seemingly superficial, snack bars run on thin margins, and a mama needs to protect her business. It’s not only about a quick buck - regulars who feel annoyed by new customers or let down by the Mama-san may never return, resulting in huge financial losses. In fact, many snack bars survive owing to the patronage of just a handful of people, so they need to be respected and prioritized over newcomers.

The Mama-san tells us not to be discouraged if rejected. Simply nod politely, exit, and try the next one. Exploring the scene and finding the right snack bar for you is half the fun!

Things to Be Aware of at Japanese Snack Bars

Bred from a deep, underground culture, snack bar etiquette is a sophisticated art unto itself.

First up, the Mama-san of Cham Neko tells us that, after opening the door and peeking inside, greet the mama and ask “Ii desuka?” (Is it alright?). Simply taking a seat without permission is disrespectful, and will start the night off on the wrong foot.

If permission is granted, before sitting, inquire about the drinks system upfront. For her, this is vital and not at all rude, as many people become annoyed once a higher-than-expected bill arrives, souring the experience. Those on a budget, steer clear. You are likely expected to buy a bottle of spirits, or pay for all-you-can-drink, which can run anywhere between 4,000-10,000 yen or more. Better to be safe than sorry, and feel free to leave if it’s not for you. (Tabs are generally settled just before leaving, and it’s largely a cash-in-hand world.)

Once seated and settled, allow the Mama-san to pour you drinks. While the bottle will likely be sitting on the counter, handling it yourself may be taken as an insult, suggesting she isn’t paying attention. When socializing, don’t be overconfident and domineering. Feel the tone of the bar, and do your best to blend in.

Visitors should also be aware that smoking is the norm in many snack bars, so those sensitive to smoke should keep their distance. Often lacking windows, ventilation is poor. Instead, fresh air is replaced by potent perfumes and incense. Again, find an alternative if you have a sensitive nose. Snack bars are also catered towards individuals, so if you’re going out in a group of more than two, then a regular bar, izakaya, or karaoke are better choices.

Since snack bars normally cater to locals, they generally aren’t known for international language support. In fact, while the Mama-san of Cham Neko welcomes customers from across the globe, she worries that she can’t put her full talents on display if you don’t speak Japanese. Her fee includes her time and service, and she admits she feels guilty about charging if she can’t converse with you. For those that do speak the language to some degree, snack bars are fantastic places to improve your conversational skills!

Other Ways to Have Fun at Japanese Snack Bars

When wandering the streets of Japan, you’ve more than likely heard the echo of a middle-aged man belting out tunes. This is snack bar karaoke, a far cry from the sound-proof, private karaoke boxes many associate with Japan. While not all snack bars offer karaoke, many do, making for a smooth ice breaker. Just keep in mind that you may need to pay extra for karaoke, sometimes even per song.

Also, while downplayed, snack bars do have snacks! From the standard nuts, chips, and rice crackers to more substantial dishes like miso soup, mashed potato, and edamame beans, if you’re a fan of Japanese snacks or appetizers, then there’s a lot to love.

Cham Neko also entertained us with some extra fun, like having our fortunes read, calling a friend on a rotary pay phone, and winning a bouncy ball in a lucky draw. Like the name “Neko” suggests, there is also a resident cat, although it disappeared before we could snap a photo! While Cham Neko is admittedly far more offbeat than most, it gave us great insight into this one-of-a-kind culture.

The Future of Snack Bars in Japan

During her 40 years in the field, the Mama-san of Cham Neko has seen competition increase dramatically, with drinking trends drawing youths away from snack bars and into shot bars, pubs, clubs, and more. Furthermore, Mama-sans that opened during the boom of the Showa period are retiring, and like many traditional Japanese arts, successors are few.

Despite all this, she is adamant that snack bars are an integral part of Japan’s nightlife culture, and will continue passing the test of time. While the streets of the once-bustling Furumachi seem eerily quiet in the pandemic era, the community sticks together, letting the trends of the time pass them by. In contrast, Bandai, on the opposite side of Niigata’s Shinagawa River, is constantly reinvented to serve the latest fad, once tapioca outlets, now spiced curry restaurants or ddungcaron from Korea. Bars are the same, yet Cham Neko has remained unfazed for 40 years - entrepreneurs would do well to take note.

The Mama-san does grumple that customers have grown remarkably frugal throughout the decades, particularly after the bubble economy burst in the 1990s. She fondly recalls times when customers would treat everyone in the bar, or phone order platters of lavish sushi to divvy up without hesitation. They would race to outspend each other, something now unseen outside the highest of high-end establishments.

Though snack bars were fashioned in the wake of the pioneering Tokyo Olympics, the industry saw devastation as the Games returned amidst the global pandemic. According to one estimate, at least 8,000 of the 70-80,000 snack bars in Japan went out of business in spring of 2020 alone. Furthermore, a 2021 study by the Nikkei financial newspaper with NTT shows that 45,000 restaurants have closed since COVID-19, a whopping 10% of the total in Japan. Tight restrictions, along with criticism of Japan’s nightlife after the emergence of clusters in bars, dealt the industry an irreparable blow.

During the state of emergency, like many others in the nightlife industry, Cham Neko shortened its hours dramatically, and the Mama-san did her best to reshape her business in line with government regulations. With her entire life dedicated to the role, she had no other option but to fight to stay afloat.

The streets of Japan are slowly returning to life, but many of the establishments locals once frequented are gone for good. Fortunately, while Cham Neko had to relocate to a building with cheaper rent, it successfully survived, and Niigata City’s COVID-19 restrictions were fully lifted in February of 2022. The Mama-san is now excitedly planning for the bar’s 40th anniversary party.

The Hidden Side of Japan’s Nightlife

To night-owls who have enjoyed their fill of karaoke, izakaya, and “tachinomi-ya” standing bars, snack bars are the final frontier in Japan’s after-dark culture. Those brave enough to enter will be rewarded with pleasant drinks, hearty conversation, and a wealth of local advice. You never quite know what exactly lurks inside, but that’s just part of the charm. You’ll doubtlessly have a few stories to tell after visiting a Japanese snack bar!

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

About the author

Steve
Steve Csorgo

Restaurant Search