從幫派制服走到時尚潮流尖端 刺龍刺虎的「橫須賀外套」

作為代表日本時尚文化的標誌性服裝,「橫須賀刺繡外套」是世界各地時尚達人夢寐以求的單品。本文涵蓋這種外套的起源、如何崛起為流行文化,並在國際上首次亮相等所有相關知識,以及在東京哪裡可以購買,又該如何選擇及穿搭。

日本

日本文化

橫須賀外套是甚麼樣的外套?

「橫須賀刺繡外套」是種帶有復古設計感的日本飛行夾克,由人造絲或平絨等布料製成。設計靈感來自棒球夾克,採用典型的日式設計、獨特的廓形和對比色明顯的袖子。藉由大膽的色彩運用、精心製作的醒目刺繡,來作為獨特的標誌。刺繡圖樣通常在夾克的背面,有時也會縫合於兩側。有些橫須賀外套還能反穿,內裏會另外縫製刺繡。

關於「橫須賀外套(スカジャン/sukajan)」的起源,從它的名字便可略知一二。其結合來自海軍基地城市橫須賀的「suka」和英語單字「jumper」的日語縮寫「jan」。 時至今日,橫須賀的老虎板通(どぶ板通り)上仍然佇立許多販售橫須賀外套的商店,而這條街也是通往美國海軍基地正門前的街道。

還有另一種說法是,「sukajan」一詞源自英語「sky dragon jumpers」,因為飛龍也是這些夾克刺繡裡常出現的一種圖樣設計。

據說二戰後,許多美國士兵會作為紀念品帶回美國,因此英文裡也把橫須賀外套稱做「紀念夾克(souvenir jackets)」。

橫須賀外套的歷史

橫須賀外套起源於二戰後,從日本回國的美國士兵開始將飛行夾克、甚至是用舊降落傘材料製成的夾克改造成紀念品,尤其是在上面手工縫製傳統的日式風格圖樣。每件外套的設計都包含士兵在日本的經歷和回憶,使它們成為獨一無二的作品。圖案五花八門,包括龍、櫻花、藝妓、日本藝術品,甚至代表士兵海軍基地或家鄉的裝飾品。也有人認為,諸如虎、鷹等圖樣,可能最初是源自士兵們所屬的單位標誌。

1960年代,美國的潮流文化與風格吹入日本,掀起一陣所謂的「アメトラ(a-me-to-ra)」效應,也就是對所有美國事物抱有高度熱愛。這些美國的元素被大量融入日本生活和文化裡,後來也連帶影響日本年輕人次文化的興起。有些年輕人不想順應主流文化和趨勢,於是穿上帶有大膽設計的橫須賀外套來抵抗主流文化。隨著時間的推移,逐漸形塑一種叛逆的象徵和印象,橫須賀外套也開始與幫派和青少年犯罪綁在一起。在電影中也常常見到將這種風格設定為黑幫和其他罪犯的服裝,進一步推動了大眾對它的負面印象。

流行文化中的橫須賀外套

直到近年,橫須賀外套才逐漸復興,成為日本時尚文化標誌的一部分。橫須賀外套的人氣飆升於2010年代開始,要歸功於熱門好萊塢電影《落日車神》,其中雷恩葛斯林穿著引人注目的白色款式,而後被全球名人和流行文化所喜愛並重新流行起來,並被Louis Vuitton, Saint Laurent, Gucci, 和Adidas等頂級設計師和街頭服飾品牌重新詮釋。

在東京哪裡可以買到

上野

・大熊商会

隱藏於上野市場-阿美橫町熱鬧的小巷中,有著歷史悠久的大熊商会,是東京庫存最豐富的專賣店之一。 大熊商会提供多種顏色和尺寸的選擇,包含經典設計,如龍、櫻花、錦鯉和富士山,以及繡有人氣動漫角色的款式。這家店甚至接受完全訂製的訂單,因此一定會找到最適合您的那件。

・Freak Market

Freak Market是在阿美橫町裡另一處可以買到橫須賀外套的好地方。Freak Market經營30餘年,專注於結合了日本風格的美國休閒時尚運動衣物,也包括各種價格的外套。諸如經典款、受日本動漫文化啟發的款式等,在這裡可以找到數百種不同的設計款式。

・HINOYA ONE

如果上述兩間位於阿美橫町的店裡,找不到您心儀的完美橫須賀外套,不妨試試看Hinoya One。這家店於 1992年開業,有很多精心製作的外套作品可供選擇。透過結合精湛的工藝、現代風格和傳統設計,努力創新橫須賀外套獨一無二的時尚。

原宿

・SUKAJYAN Dept.

SUKAJAN Dept.位於原宿的後街,專營高品質、復古的橫須賀外套,吸引那些希望將真正獨特作品帶回家的收藏客。超過 100種可供選擇,是這款外套愛好者的真正寶庫。

・Kinji原宿店

如果您到原宿可以前往Kinji。這家復古服裝店雖然不是橫須賀外套專賣店,數量有限,但店內經常會展示數款外套,或許能挖掘一些驚喜作品也不一定。

如何選擇您的橫須賀外套

在購買人生中第一件橫須賀外套時,您不妨先考慮一些事情。

對於新手而言,可以先決定要購買中古二手,或全新的外套。復古往往是嵌入原主人故事和經歷的獨一無二的作品。雖然聽起來不錯,但不僅難找價格也昂貴,且尺寸也有限。中古品也需要額外的呵護和精心保存,具體保存步驟則因材質等而異。可能必須用手洗,或在溫和的洗衣機環境中使用非研磨性洗滌劑,並用冷水清洗。

換句話說,即使是批量生產的外套,這種外套也不是用來抵禦寒冷和雨水的夾克。如果想用作日常穿著,請選擇耐磨耐用的人造纖維材質。

可以嘗試選擇與其他衣服相配的刺繡和顏色,因為這樣能讓您更輕鬆地駕馭穿搭。大膽的刺繡和鮮豔的顏色可能不大容易搭配,但可以的話,不妨在您的衣櫥裡備有一件充滿個性的單品。別忘了刺繡越多,視覺上就會越重,簡單的刺繡和柔和的色調可以營造出更乾淨的外觀。

最後則要特別注意尺寸,因為這種外套是要合身的,也就是不能太緊或太鬆。可以測量平常在穿的夾克並選擇大2~3公分的尺寸,建議不要只參考S、M、L等英文字母的衣服尺碼。

橫須賀外套該如何穿搭

因顏色和圖案種類繁多,讓這外套變成非常百搭的服裝單品。奢華的刺繡會讓任何裝扮都煥然一新,就算只是簡單的T恤和牛仔褲組合也沒問題。喜歡色彩亮眼的人可以挑選同色調的服裝,也可以嘗試混合印花。如果您選擇柔和或深色的外套,它能點綴出成熟的外觀。您也可以嘗試去做一些實驗,無論您的風格如何,一定會找到一款適合您衣櫥的橫須賀外套。

準備好用橫須賀外套來增添您的穿搭風格了嗎?

迷人的歷史,使橫須賀外套成為日本獨特的紀念品。擁有如此廣泛的顏色、設計和圖案,相信一定能找到屬於您的外套,為您的個人風格增添額外的時尚元素。

封面照片來源: MOHD FAZRUL BIN SULONG / Shutterstock.com

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

作者簡介

Stefania
Stefania Sabia

搜尋餐廳

History of the Sukajan - Where to Buy Japan's Iconic Retro Souvenir Jacket in Tokyo

Now an iconic clothing item representative of Japan’s fashion culture, sukajan or Japanese souvenir jackets are a statement piece coveted by fashionistas around the world. From their origins to their rise into pop culture and debut on international runways, this article will cover everything there is to know about sukajan, including the best shops to buy them in Tokyo and how to choose and style one.

Nationwide

Japanese Culture

Buy Japanese Crafts Online click to get 10% off your first order - BECOS

What Is a Sukajan?

Sukajan are retro Japanese bomber jackets made of silky fabrics like rayon, satin, and velveteen. Some sukajan are reversible, in which case they often sport a quilted side that both keeps the padding in place and serves as a design accent. Sukajan are inspired by letterman jackets and baseball jackets, and feature quintessentially Japanese designs, a distinctive silhouette, and contrasting color sleeves. They can be recognized by the use of bold colors and carefully crafted, eye-catching embroidery typically placed on the back of the jacket, but sometimes stitched on both sides.

These iconic Japanese jackets are also known as “souvenir jackets” as they were brought back as souvenirs by American soldiers after the post-war occupation of Japan. 

The name “sukajan” itself is a hint about the jacket's origins, as it combines “suka” from the naval base city of Yokosuka and “jan” which is the Japanese contraction of the English word “jumper.” Even now, you can find sukajan shops along Yokosuka’s Dobuita Street which leads to the main gate of the U.S. Navy Base. According to another theory, the word “sukajan” derives from the English “sky dragon jumpers,” as flying dragons were a very common design chosen for the embroidery of these jackets.

History of the Sukajan

Sukajan originated in the postwar period. American soldiers returning home from Japan started turning bomber jackets, flight jackets, or even jackets fashioned from old parachute material into keepsakes by getting traditional Japanese designs hand-stitched on them. Each sukajan's design contained the soldier’s experiences and memories of their time in Japan, making them one-of-a-kind pieces. Motifs included dragons, cherry blossoms, geisha, Japanese artworks, and even decorations representing the soldiers’ naval bases or hometowns. Some of the first designs such as tigers, hawks, and eagles are also thought to derive from the emblems of the units the soldiers belonged to.

During the 1960s, American trends and styles were massively assimilated into Japanese culture in what was called the "Ametora effect," or the love of all things American. This eventually resulted in the rise of a subculture of young Japanese people who didn't want to conform to this trend and ironically used the sukajan to show their defiance. Over time, this changed into general cultural nonconformism, and the sukajan began to be heavily associated with gangs and juvenile delinquency. It was not uncommon to see sukajan as the choice attire for the yakuza and other criminals in films, which only further pushed its negative connotation.

Sukajan in Japanese Pop Culture

Only in recent times has sukajan experienced a huge revival, becoming an iconic part of Japanese fashion culture. Sukajan’s spike in popularity started in the 2010s, supported by the popular movie “Drive” where Ryan Gosling wears an eye-catching, white sukajan. Adopted by celebrities and pop culture icons around the globe, the Japanese souvenir jacket was brought back in vogue and reinterpreted by top designers and streetwear brands such as Louis Vuitton, Saint Laurent, Gucci, and Adidas. 

Where to Buy Your Sukajan Souvenir Jacket in Tokyo

Ueno

・Okuma Shokai

Hidden in the vibrant alleys of Ueno’s market street Ameya Yokocho is the long-established Okuma Shokai, one of Tokyo’s most well-stocked sukajan specialty stores. Coming in a wide variety of colors and sizes, Okuma Shokai’s selection offers classic designs such as dragons, cherry blossoms, koi carps, and Mt. Fuji as well as sukajan embroidered with your favorite anime characters. The shop even accepts completely customized orders, so you are sure to find the perfect souvenir jacket for you. 

・Freak Market

Another great place in Ameya Yokocho for your sukajan shopping spree is Freak Market. With 30 years in the business, Freak Market specializes in American casual fashion sporting Japanese designs, including a wide range of sukajan at a variety of prices. From classics to sukajan inspired by Japanese anime culture, you can find hundreds of different designs in store.

・HINOYA ONE

If you are wandering around the streets of Ameya Yokocho in search of the perfect sukajan, you should also check Hinoya One. Opened in 1992, this shop has an ample choice of meticulously made sukajan. It strives to innovate the souvenir jacket fashion scene by combining great craftsmanship, contemporary style, and traditional designs.

Harajuku

・SUKAJYAN Dept.

Located in the backstreets of Harajuku, SUKAJAN Dept. specializes in high-quality, vintage sukajan, attracting those aiming to bring some truly unique pieces back home. Over 100 types of souvenir jackets are available, so it’s a real treasure trove for sukajan lovers.

・Kinji Harajuku Store

If you are in Harajuku, stop by Kinji. This vintage clothing store is not a specialty sukajan shop but they often carry a small selection of souvenir jackets. You might find some surprising pieces waiting for you.

How to Choose Your Sukajan

There are a variety of aspects you should consider when purchasing your very first sukajan.

For starters, you should decide if you want to buy a vintage sukajan or a new one. Vintage sukajan tend to be one-of-a-kind pieces that are embedded with the original owner's story and experiences. While this sounds great, this makes them rarer to find and more expensive, and you'll be very limited in terms of sizing. Vintage pieces also require cautious care and meticulous preservation, with the exact steps differing based on the sukajan material. Expect to have to wash your vintage sukajan either by hand or on a gentle washing machine setting, in cold water, with non-abrasive detergents.

That said, even with mass-produced pieces, sukajan are not made to shield from cold and rain. Opt for rayon pieces if you are thinking of using your sukajan as daily wear.

Try to pick embroidery and colors that go well with the rest of your clothes, as it will be easier to create multiple outfits. Bold embroidery and bright colors might be harder to pair, but you’ll be sure to have a statement piece in your wardrobe. Don’t forget that the more embroidery you have, the heavier, stiffer, and warmer the jacket. Simple embroidery and muted tones create a cleaner look.

Finally, pay particular attention to the measurements as sukajan are meant to be well fitted, meaning not too tight or too loose. Make sure to measure one of your jackets and pick a sukajan which is around 2 - 3 cm bigger than the jacket you measured. Do not rely on letter sizing.

How to Style a Sukajan

Thanks to the wide variety of colors and patterns, sukajan are very versatile clothing items. Lavish embroidery will brighten up any look, even a simple t-shirt and jeans combo. Those who love colors can create tone-on-tone outfits or even try mixing prints. If you choose a muted or dark sukajan, it can embellish sophisticated looks. Or maybe you can even go for something experimental! No matter your style, you are sure to find a sukajan that fits your wardrobe.

Ready to Level Up Your Style With a Sukajan?

Sukajan have a fascinating history that makes them incredibly unique souvenirs. With such a wide variety of colors, designs, and patterns, you are sure to find something special that will add that extra element to your personal style.

Title Image: PIXTA

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

About the author

Stefania
Stefania Sabia

Restaurant Search