日本人的聖誕節這樣過:特有日式聖誕文化

在日本,當氣溫開始持續下降、街道上越來越多閃耀的燈飾佈置、部分城市建築裹上白雪粉飾又或是商店裡接連響起聖誕歌曲,您就知道已經進入聖誕季節。雖說日本只有非常少數的人將聖誕節當作宗教性節日來慶祝,但這裡依舊有著非常濃厚的聖誕氣息,而除了聖誕樹、繽紛的燈光和必備的聖誕老人之外,這裡還有一些其他國家沒有的特有文化。跟著本篇文章一起認識日本人如何過聖誕節,相信您也能更感同身受,獲得更多樂趣!

日本

日本文化

日本的聖誕節:屬於戀人們的節日

傳統上歐美國家的聖誕節是主要是屬於家族的節日,但在日本,平安夜更接近於情人節,是屬於情侶戀人間浪漫相會的日子。若是有機會在平安夜或是聖誕節當日前往東京迪士尼樂園,您絕對能看到精心打扮過的情侶們出現在這個魔幻主題樂園中的各個角落。通常年輕情侶及夫妻也喜歡安排一頓浪漫的聖誕晚餐、參加像是演奏會等活動,當然,和心目中的特別對象交換聖誕禮物也是不可少的橋段之一!

近年來也有許多單身的年輕世代與朋友們在這些節日舉辦類似的聚會活動,希望能洗刷掉單身者在眾節日時孤單一人、人際關係不佳等負面形象。在聖誕夜前夕或是當天舉辦節慶聚會活動有越來越受歡迎的趨勢。這也就表示,無論您是跟自己、家人、朋友或是心目中特別的他/她一起共度聖誕節,您都可以在日本找到許多慶祝活動,不用擔心太會無聊!

無所能敵的平安夜

世界各地的許多小孩都在期待著一年一度最特別的12月25號聖誕節到來,但在日本,聖誕節的地位則比起平安夜要遜色不少。

有鑒於聖誕節在日本已經被塑造成更偏向屬於情侶們的節日,雖然有不少家庭仍會在聖誕節當天時與家中孩子一起拆開禮物,但有慶祝習慣的人更常見會選擇在12月24日時進行慶祝。此外,在流行電影和電視節目影響下,平安夜已然和浪漫劃上等號,許多人甚至會計畫在這個晚上進行人生中重要的戀愛里程碑,例如初吻、求婚等情境。

還有另外一個較為特殊的點是,因聖誕節並非日本的國定假日,大家都需上班上課,為了配合此狀況,不同於許多歐美國家,日本的聖誕慶祝活動多半會於傍晚、夜間時舉行,如此就能在離開工作崗位後盡情享受與愛人親友們一同慶祝的時光。

聖誕節必吃「肯德基」?

多汁的火雞或烤火腿是全世界許多國家用來慶祝聖誕節時的傳統節慶料理,但這些經典雞肉料理卻較少出現在日本的聖誕餐點中,而印有肯德基爺爺logo的桶裝炸雞則取而代之成為日本人慶祝聖誕節時的熱門選擇。這個特殊的習慣要追溯到1970年代肯德基剛進軍日本市場時,當時一位店經理構想出把冬季的聖誕佳節和口感酥脆的炸物相連結,只因為這兩項事物皆是由海外引入的。

而由於在日本很難購得應景的火雞,加上日本家庭多數沒有足夠用來烤火雞的大型烤箱,此一行銷策略因此獲得了很大的反響,還讓這位店經理成為後來日本肯德基的CEO呢!

因此,如果您想要在聖誕節期間吃上一桶美味的肯德基,最好能在提前幾週、甚至是一兩個月前就先行預訂以免向隅。日本肯德基推出的「聖誕派對桶」每年在聖誕期間的銷量可高達全年炸雞銷量的三分之一!雖然您可能會覺得這個「傳統」很特殊罕見,但在日本,炸雞和聖誕節幾乎可說是劃上等號,其受歡迎程度也是持續增長中。

光之盛宴:聖誕燈飾

儘管冬季的白天較短,但大規模的聖誕燈飾卻為日本寒冷的冬夜帶來了另一種喜悅。每年的12月初到1月中旬,光彩耀眼的聖誕燈飾和燈海為整個城市帶來了十足的聖誕氣息。

日本各地的聖誕燈飾有許多規模和呈現方式。有些走簡單路線,由基本的藍色汗白色燈光組成並鋪設在建築物周邊;另外有一些則較為精緻,例如足利花卉公園中的燈飾;甚至還有一些地方會全力打造為聖誕主題,讀賣樂園便是其中一例。若想了解更多日本觀賞季節燈飾的最佳地點,歡迎參考下列文章。

超越瑪麗亞凱莉的經典聖誕歌曲

當您開始能聽到瑪莉亞凱莉的聖誕經典歌曲《All I Want for Christmas is You》在廣播、餐廳和商店中環繞時,就代表聖誕節已經悄悄到來了。這首歌在日本雖然已經很有辨識度,但如果問被問及聖誕節會想到哪首歌曲時,大多數日本人可能會說是「轟!合唱團(Wham!)」於1984年發行的熱門單曲《Last Christmas》。實際上,日本進入聖誕季後,在幾乎日本各地您都可以聽到這首極具代表性的歌曲。如果您想要讓自己好好感受日本式的聖誕氛圍,12月左右時,這首歌總會出現在日本KTV排行榜熱門榜單上,若是擔心聖誕節期間無聊的話,和朋友相約前進KTV並點上這首歌豪唱一番或許會是不錯的方式!

聖誕市集

雖然日本有不少不同於其他地方特有聖誕傳統習俗和文化,但每年巡迴於全國的聖誕市集上,大家仍然能感受到傳統的西洋聖誕節氣氛。在聖誕市集上,來自國外的商店攤販擺設搭建為歐陸風格並販售各式和聖誕節相關的商品,從裝飾品、佈置擺件到聖誕樹等一應俱全。遊客們走在舒適的市集街道挑上一雙聖誕長筒襪又或者趕在聖誕節結束前買好禮物,過程中背景一首首傳統聖誕樂曲環繞耳邊,讓聖誕氛圍更加滿溢!

除了逛街購物外,吸引大家來到聖誕市集還有另外一大原因,就是可以在此一次享用到火雞腿、熱巧克力、德式香腸、進口啤酒等多種經典的聖誕美食!這些充滿西洋節慶感的餐點在日本並不是隨處都能找到,因此對許多人來說,這也是一年一度補貨囤貨或是大口品味的時間!

草莓奶油蛋糕

草莓奶油蛋糕也是日本在聖誕季時的有趣的代表食物之一。和許多其他國家不同,日本並非每種水果都能全年供應,而是具有季節性,這也讓某些水果和特定季節有緊密關連,例如冬天便是草莓的季節,加上和聖誕老人的紅白色帽子一起聯想,草莓奶油蛋糕就毫無懸念地成為這個季節最直接合適的選擇了!草莓奶油蛋糕也被認為是聖誕節蛋糕的定番款,若有機會受邀參加任何聖誕活動,帶上一顆前往絕對能讓現場氣氛跟著一起甜蜜起來!

迪士尼聖誕節

從11月到12月間,魔幻迪士尼這個「地球上最快樂的國度」也在節慶音樂和聖誕佈置的快樂程度再加倍些!聖誕節期間被認為是前往迪士尼樂園及迪士尼海洋的最佳時機之一,無論是在聖誕燈飾、角色們季節限定的服裝造型、出現在遊行中的聖誕老人等,都可以看出園區對聖誕節的用心。儘管迪士尼樂園在冬季期間的遊客數確實較多,但在平安夜和聖誕節當天的人潮和排隊情形或許沒有到想像中的那麼誇張嚇人,對於有小孩的家庭來說,到迪士尼遊玩可說最佳聖誕活動之一。

Merry Christmas! 享受日式風格的聖誕節!

日本的聖誕節文化或許和您所熟悉的聖誕節有些不同,但聖誕節慶的明亮感、溫暖和歡樂精神卻一樣都沒缺少!在體驗過日式聖誕節後,不妨接著來看看該如何在日本度過新年假期,相信也會為您帶來許多樂趣!

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

搜尋餐廳

Spending Christmas in Japan: What Makes Japan’s Christmas Traditions Unique

You know the Christmas season in Japan has started when the temperature begins to drop, holiday lights decorate the streets, gentle blankets of snow cover the cities, and the festive ring of Christmas tunes play at shops. While Christmas trees, colorful lights, and of course Santa Clause are all a big part of Japanese Christmas, there are a few unique traditions associated with the holiday in Japan that are not found overseas. Despite only a fraction of the population celebrating Christmas in Japan as a religious holiday, Christmas is alive and well in the land of the rising sun and if you know how to spend it right, it can be a lot of fun!

Nationwide

Japanese Culture

Shop for made-in-Japan treasures - click to get 10% off your first order on our partner site BECOS

Christmas in Japan: A Holiday for Lovers

Although the family is traditionally at the center of Christmas overseas, in Japan, Christmas Eve is the equivalent of Valentine’s day for romantic couples. If you visit Tokyo Disneyland on Christmas Eve or Christmas Day while in Japan, expect to see a large number of couples in nice outfits parading around the magic theme park. Typically young couples like to arrange romantic dinners, go to special events such as orchestra concerts, and of course, exchange Christmas presents with their special someone.

In recent years, an increasing number of young single people have been known to organize similar holiday gatherings with friends to help brush off the stigma of being all alone and not in a relationship during the holidays. Holiday parties held on Christmas Eve or Day have seen an increase in popularity as well. This goes to show that no matter if you are spending Christmas by yourself, with your family, with friends, or with that special someone, there is no shortage of festivities of how you can spend Christmas here in Japan.

Christmas Eve Is Second to None

While many children around the world count down the twenty-five days until Christmas Day on their calendar making it one of the most special days of the year, in Japan, Christmas Day takes a backseat to none other than Christmas Eve.

Although many families will still open presents on Christmas day with their kids, as Christmas has become a holiday to be associated more with couples, the majority of people who celebrate will do so on the 24th of December. The romantic Christmas Eve troupe evident in a number of popular movies and TV shows has gone on to perpetuate the social notion that Christmas Eve is supposed to be this big magical night of romance and many people will even plan to have significant romantic milestones such as first kisses or even proposals on this night in line with the romantic theme. 

One other unique aspect of how the holiday is celebrated in Japan is that the majority of these celebrations are held in the evening or at night. This is due to the fact that Christmas is a secular holiday in Japan and hence not a national holiday where people are given time off from work. To accommodate, many people will plan their festivities after work hours when they can enjoy time away from the office with their loved ones. 

KFC for Christmas

While many countries around the globe celebrate Christmas traditionally with a juicy turkey or a roast ham, you won’t find many Christmas dinners in Japan featuring the typical fowl. Instead, many Japanese celebrate this special day with a nice big bucket of the Colonel’s world-famous Kentucky Fried Chicken. The story goes that during the 1970s with the introduction of KFC to Japan, a store manager had the idea to draw a connection between the winter holiday and the crispy treat—both of which had come from abroad. Since turkey is hard to come by in Japan and most Japanese homes don’t have conventional ovens large enough to roast a ham, the marketing strategy was a huge success and the store manager went on to become the CEO of KFC Japan.

Today if you hope to get your hands on a bucket of the delicious chicken during the holidays, you’d better place your order weeks, or even months in advance. Every year, Christmas day sales of KFC’s special Christmas “ Party barrels” that are exclusive to just this one day make up one-third of their annual Chicken sales! While it may not be seen as traditional by you in your country, in Japan the fried chicken has become a representation of the holiday and its popularity continues to soar.

Illumination: Festivals of Light

While the days may be shorter, the twinkling of lights and mass luminescent displays bring joy to the cold dark Japanese nights. Every year from the beginning of December through mid-January, Japan gets us in the mood for Christmas with dazzling displays of LED lights known as “illumination” or “light-ups” that make these dark nights all the more jolly.

Illuminations across Japan take many sizes and forms. Some are quite simple, being made of basic blue and white lights that cover the side of the building. Others are a bit more elaborate like the illumination at Ashikaga Flower Park. There are even some places such as the Yomiuri Land: Jewellumination that are entirely devoted to this special seasonal event. Interested in seeing where the best place to see seasonal illumination in Japan is, read more about 8 Popular Japanese Illumination Spots

Move Over Mariah

You know it’s almost Christmas when you start hearing the legendary Mariah Carey’s enchanting voice grace radios, restaurants, and shop fronts alike with her infamous rendition of “All I Want for Christmas is You.” While the song is still fairly well recognized here in Japan, when asked about what song they associate with Christmas, the majority of Japanese will say that WHAM!’s 1984 hit single “Last Christmas'' is what really invokes the holiday spirit. In fact, it’s hard to go pretty much anywhere in Japan during the holiday season without hearing a few bars of this iconic tune. If you really want to put yourself in the holiday mood in the Japanese style, this song is always at the top of the karaoke leaderboards during the month of December and so if you’ve got a case of the holiday blues, perhaps the best cure is to sing it out at karaoke with some friends.

Christmas Markets

While Japan has a number of Christmas customs and traditions that are entirely unique to only Japan, a much more traditional western-style Christmas is still enjoyed by many at traditional Christmas markets that tour the country annually. Here, vendors from overseas set up traditional European-style Christmas markets where almost anything related to Christmas can be purchased—from ornaments to decorations, to even trees. As visitors shop for some last-minute presents and stocking stuffers along the cozy rows of the markets, the mood is set with traditional Christmas tunes and all your favorite carols.

Shopping isn’t the only thing that drives people to these cheery Christmas markets—turkey legs, hot chocolate, german sausages, imported beer and any number of typical Christmas foods can be found here as well! This impressive assortment of Western holiday foods is hard to find anywhere else in Japan and so for many, this may be the only time of the year to stock up and chow down on holiday favorites.

Strawberry Shortcake

Much like KFC, strawberry shortcake is another fun food tradition in Japan that is representative of the holiday season. Unlike many other countries abroad, not all fruit is available year-round in Japan which has made certain fruits like the strawberry culturally connected to particular seasons. Winter in Japan is strawberry season and so coupled with the red and white of Santa’s hat, strawberry shortcake is the obvious choice for the season. The cake is usually called “Christmas cake” and if you are invited to any Christmas event, bringing this special cake will make any holiday gathering all the more sweeter.

Tokyo Disney Christmas

Between November and December, the “happiest place on earth” becomes just a bit happier with the addition of holiday music and ornate Christmas decorations to the Magic Kingdom. Christmas is considered one of the best times to visit Tokyo Disneyland or DisneySea as the holiday lights, seasonal character costumes, and appearance by Jolly Old Saint Nick himself in the Christmas Parade all embody what there is to love about the holiday itself. While Disney does see an uptick in visitor traffic during the winter season, lines and crowds particularly on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day are not as horrendous as one would expect which makes it one of the best Christmas activities in Japan for families with young kids.

Have a Merry Christmas In Japan!

Overall, while Christmas in Japan may not be quite what you’d expect as compared to Christmas in your home country, there is no shortage of brightness, warmth, and holiday cheer in Japan. And if you are celebrating Christmas in Japan, chances are that you’ll also want to know How to Spend the New Year’s Holiday In Japan, which can be a ton of fun as well!

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

About the author

Alexander
Alexander Litz

Restaurant Search