島原城與城下町:德川幕府結束前的最後一場內戰──島原天草之亂的舞台

島原現在是長崎縣東南部一個安靜的城市。這裡曾經是一個繁榮的城下町,街道上滿是日本武士。筆者有幸參觀這座古色古香的城市,一座充滿日本封建感的城市。它也是日本天主教活動的重要據點。本文要帶您一窺島原的武士和天主教徒在這發生過的歷史,以及造訪這裡不能錯過的事!

長崎

玩樂

※本文與九州觀光推進局合作執筆撰寫。

島原市:長崎縣著名之武士之城

島原市位於長崎縣東南部,與繁華的長崎市相隔一座名為雲仙岳的活火山,並與坐落在有明海沿岸的熊本縣隔水相望。儘管距長崎市只有1.5小時的車程或2小時的火車車程,但這裡的感覺卻與長崎市截然不同,是個具有復古魅力的小鎮。筆者在一個陽光明媚的星期四早晨前往島原。這天人潮不多,很少遊客在城下和街道漫遊。在幾條街外的島原城天守聳立於空中,隨著距離越來越近,陽光灑在潔淨的白色牆上閃閃發光,一切都顯得越來越舒暢。

島原城:封建日本的象徵

島原城是島原市的核心地區,也是日本100名城之一。1616年,松倉重政受封日野江藩(後來稱為島原藩)藩主。1618年時開始建築島原城。費時7年於1624年完成,多年的建造時間使其基礎穩健,並在250年內侍奉著來自四個不同家族的19位藩主,也倖免於1637年至1638年間發生的動蕩起義──島原之亂。

最初的島原城被總長3,800公尺的牆壁和3,935公尺的護城河所環繞,並包含三座主要建築物:本丸,二之丸和三之丸。島原城在1874年被拆除,直到1964年被重建後又替這座城市增添歷史氣息。城堡周圍沒有任何高樓建築,也就是說城堡是這個地區最高聳顯著的地標,並與仍然沿用傳統日式城牆襯砌的街區,形成了完美的搭配,讓人回想起那個原本屬於武士的年代。

島原之亂

島原之亂發生的原因是因為二代領主松倉勝家對待人民過於殘暴、濫徵稅收造成飢荒,導致島原及鄰近的天草地區的人們遭受巨大苦難,進而引發嚴重的動亂和動盪。而另一個原因則是對天主教徒的迫害。當時長崎有很多人受到宗教迫害。雖然這裡最初是由信奉天主教的領主有馬氏統治,但在松倉勝家的治理下天主教徒在附近的雲仙岳遭受酷刑,並被迫放棄信仰。而那些堅持不放棄的人則被扔進火山的沸騰泉中,造成許多人因堅持信仰而喪生。

1637年10月,島原的一名農民交不起農租,妻子被領主松倉勝家的家臣田中宗夫帶人抓走,數百名憤怒的村民放火燒毀了田中的家宅,此舉導致島原和天草地區的人們終於受夠,由數千名天主教徒組成的叛軍開始攻擊熊本縣的島原城和富岡城。起義軍和幕府派來的軍隊在島原半島的原城對峙,並持續了三個多月。最終在1638年初,幕府軍連同九州眾大名,合共12萬5800多兵力開始攻打原城,克服守軍的拼死抵抗,於15日攻克原城。

如何遊歷島原城

島原城的天守是一座五層樓的建築,每層展示著該地區的歷史。第一層是天主教歷史博物館,陳列與該地區天主教有關的藝術品和手工藝品。值得一看的是有將日本傳統和西方天主教元素融合在一起的展覽品,如天主教墓碑和武士刀等。也反映當時天主教徒生活的詳細過程。展覽品的描述也有英文版本,即使不諳日文也可以瀏覽其來由和重要性。館藏非常之豐富,如果想看的非常仔細深入的話是足以在裡頭待上一大段時間的。

第二層的主題是島原的歷史;第三層的主題是當地百姓的歷史。每層樓都佈滿許多迷人的歷史文物和藝術品,還原當時的生活樣貌,如精美的漆器和武器等。四樓則有一個古色古香的休息區,五樓則有觀景台,可以一覽島原市周圍和城下町的景色。天氣好的話甚至可以看到海那一邊的熊本縣!

這裡雖然有許多神聖嚴肅的歷史遺跡,但也是有一些輕鬆有趣的活動,如武士鎧甲的穿戴體驗。穿上武士的盔甲,彷彿回到過去變為城的主人。出口外面有一座雕像花園,雄偉的雕像被雕成各種不同的姿勢。肚子餓的話也可以在城的入口處對面找到一些店家,販賣當地的紀念品、小吃和小飾品、土產等。

島原武家屋敷

島原武家屋敷距離島原城步行約7分鐘,沿路是寧靜安詳的住宅區。看到碎石路上有一條小溪流過時,就會知道自己走在正確的道路上!這流過街區的溪流是以往居民用來滿足日常所需的,是武士生活中至關重要的一部分。筆者很幸運能在陽光明媚、藍天白雲的日子裡徜徉在傳統的日本門扉和建築之中。

建造島原城時,在城外西側也建造了武家屋敷。這時的武士在戰鬥中主要是使用槍支,也因此該地區被稱為「鐵砲町(鉄砲町)」。武士的日常工作是地方政府的紀錄員、政府官員、檢察官、警察以及城門守衛等。

您可以參觀三個主要的武家屋敷:山本邸、篠塚邸、鳥田邸。裡頭保留著原汁原味的江戶時代的室內擺設;地板上舖有榻榻米,牆壁上裝飾著日本傳統藝術品,廚房則有傳統炊具。紙門將不同的房間分隔開,安靜的社區使空氣彷彿靜止不動。穿過門口進入內部,就像是時光也停止於這一刻般。

屋敷的外觀也保持傳統風格,茅草屋頂用日本竹柴重新設好。當時武士習慣在自家庭園內種植果樹,因此可以翻現許多住宅擁有李子、柿子,蜜柑等樹,這些樹一年四季都可以開花結果,因此能夠支援住民的生活。房屋周圍的氛圍依然富麗堂皇,永不過時。不過請確保不要太大聲喧鬧以免打擾附近的住戶喔。

島原市的在地料理:一嚐歷史和懷舊之情

島原市有幾種獨特的原創日本料理,拜訪這座城市時一定要嚐嚐!販賣這些在地料理的餐廳和咖啡店都在距離城區不遠的地方,不僅可以品嚐美味的食物,還可以在復古的氛圍中放鬆身心。

寒ざらし

寒ざらし(Samuzarashi)是島原市著名的地方料理之一。外觀簡單,由稱為「糰子(団子)」的圓形小湯圓所製。其特色是使用可食用的溫泉水煮至有嚼勁,再加入以蜂蜜和糖製成的獨特清新糖漿中。令人耳目一新的甜味使它成為美味的下午甜點!

具雜煮(ぐぞうに)

另一個廣受歡迎的島原料理是「具雜煮(具雑煮/ Guzoni)」,是一種燉煮料理,特色是耐嚼的「年糕」。據說這道菜可以追溯至島原之亂,當時起義的領導者曾讓當地農民向叛亂分子提供年糕,然後將年糕與海鮮等其他當地食材混合在一起,製成這種營養豐富的料理,成為支持當時起義軍的最佳糧食。溫暖美味的具雜煮會填滿您的胃,提供您足夠的能量繼續探索島原!

六兵衛(ろくべえ)

雖然跟島原之亂的江戶時代沒什麼關係,但六兵衛是島原地區特有的麵條。1792年發生的大地震造成當地糧食短缺,人們轉為以紅薯作為主食。一位名叫六兵衛的當地農民提出一個巧妙的構思,將碎山藥與乾燥的紅薯混合,加入熱水揉捏,直到麵粉成團並製成粗麵條。搭配醬油肉湯食用,簡單但懷舊的風味受到當地人的喜愛。

島原市:一個人跡罕至的城下町

島原市是一個相對未開發的小鎮,也就是說我們能夠了解武士的歷史而不需與大批觀光客排隊。長崎是日本著名的天主教景點,那些形成長崎文化的宗教元素著實令人著迷。何不試著走入這座鮮有人煙的小鎮,一窺封建日本史那不為人知的一面呢?有關九州的更多資訊,歡迎關注以下網站。

Visit Kyushu
官方網站:https://www.welcomekyushu.tw/
粉絲專頁:https://www.facebook.com/welcomekyushu?fref=ts

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

相關分類

搜尋餐廳

Shimabara Castle Town: We Visited the Location of a Christian Rebellion!

Shimabara, now a quiet city in southeastern Nagasaki Prefecture, was once a thriving castle town with Japanese samurai lining the streets. We got a chance to visit this quaint city, which is steeped in feudal Japanese history and was a significant location for Christianity in Japan. Read more to learn about its fascinating history involving samurai, Christianity, and what to do in the area!

Nagasaki

Things to Do

Shimabara City: A Historic Samurai City in Nagasaki

Shimabara City is located in southeastern Nagasaki Prefecture, on the opposite end from bustling Nagasaki City. Nestled alongside the coast of the Ariake Sea, its neighbor across the water is Kumamoto Prefecture. Although only about a 1.5-hour drive or 2-hour train ride away from Nagasaki City, the atmosphere is strikingly different, with the charm of a retro-style town. We headed there on a sunny Thursday morning, meaning that there was little traffic and few tourists roaming the castle and streets. The castle tower peaked out over the rooftops from several streets away, and continued to appear more and more impressive the closer we got, the sun shining off its clean, white walls.

Shimabara Castle: A Symbol of Feudal Japan

Shimabara Castle is one of the focal points of Shimabara City, and it was designated as one of the 100 finest castles in Japan by the Japan Castle Foundation. In 1616, Shigemasa Matsukura took over as feudal lord of the Hinoe Domain (later known as the Shimabara Domain) and in 1618 took to rebuilding the small, old castle he inherited. The new Shimabara Castle took seven years to complete, but the years of work paid off, as the demanding structure subsequently served as the home of nineteen feudal lords from four different clans for the following 250 years. It even survived the Shimabara Rebellion, a turbulent uprising in the area that occurred from 1637 to 1638. 

The original grounds were surrounded by a 3,800m long wall and 3,935m long moat and hosted three main buildings: the Honmaru, Ninomaru, and Sannomaru. The castle was torn down in 1874 and stayed in ruin until 1964 when the castle tower was rebuilt, restoring a historical air to the city. The city itself does not have any high-rise buildings around the castle, meaning that the castle towers over the surrounding area and wonderfully complements the neighborhoods still lined with traditional Japanese walls, reminiscent of the boundaries that would have been put in place during the age of the samurai.

What Was the Shimabara Rebellion?

The Shimabara Rebellion began when abuse, famine, and high taxes caused people of the Shimabara and neighboring Amakusa domains to suffer greatly, causing heavy unrest and turmoil. However, another major factor was the persecution of Christians, of which there were many in Nagasaki at the time. Although the area was originally ruled by a Christian feudal lord, under the rule of Shigemasa Matsukura, Christians were tortured at the nearby Unzen Volcano and forced to renounce their faith; those who did not were then thrown into the boiling springs of the volcano, and many perished for their beliefs. 

The people of the Shimabara and Amakusa domain finally had enough after a wife of a local headman was brutally murdered as punishment for her husband’s inability to meet the tax quota. In 1637, the rebel army, numbering in the thousands and consisting of many Christian believers, began attacking Shimabara Castle and Tomioka Castle in Kumamoto. Unable to seize control of the castles, the rebel armies convened at the Hara Castle ruins in the Shimabara Peninsula and continued to fight for over three months. The rebellion finally ended in early 1638, after a massive army consisting of troops that served feudal lords all over Kyushu descended on the Hara Castle ruins and suppressed the revolt, killing most of the rebels in the process.

What to See and Do at Shimabara Castle

Shimabara Castle is a five-story structure with exhibits about the area’s history on each floor. The first floor is the Christianity History Museum, which exhibits pieces of art and artifacts that are related to Christianity in the region. It is fascinating to see the blend of traditional Japanese and Western Christian elements in pieces such as a Christian tombstone and sword, and the exhibition gives a detailed insight into the lives of Christians in the area at the time. Descriptions of the artifacts are available in English as well, so it was very easy for us to navigate through and understand the significance of the items we were looking at. As there is so much to see and read inside, it is enough to keep busy for a decent amount of time depending on how in-depth you are looking to go.

The theme of the second floor is the history of the region, and the third floor focuses on the history of the local people. Each floor is lined with exhibits with numerous fascinating, historical artifacts and pieces of art that show life in the area back then, such as stunning lacquerware and even weapons! On the fourth floor lies a quaint rest area, which then leads to the fifth floor with the observation deck and sweeping views of the surrounding area. On a clear day, you can even see the neighboring Kumamoto Prefecture across the water!

Although home to many sacred and historical artifacts, the castle does also offer some fun attractions such as trying on samurai armor. Why not saddle up in some warrior wear and feel like a lord in your own castle? There is also a statue garden located right outside the exit, with majestic statues contorted into different expressive poses. If you get peckish, there is a gift shop that is located right across the entrance of the castle, where you can find local souvenirs, treats, and trinkets.

Shimabara Samurai Houses

About a 7-minute walk from the castle are the Shimabara Samurai Houses, quietly tucked away along a sleepy residential road. You will know you are on the right path when you see the gravel road with a tiny stream running through it! The water running through the stream was actually used back in the day for daily needs, so it was a vital part of the life of the samurai in this area. We were lucky to be there on a sunny day with a blue sky, which created a stunning backdrop to all the traditional Japanese gates and architecture. 

When Shimabara Castle was built, samurai lodgings were also built to the west of the castle’s outer wall. Due to these warriors mainly using guns during battles, this area was nicknamed “Teppomachi,” or “Gun Town.” The daily occupations of the samurai in this town were copyists at local government offices, government officials, prosecutors, police, as well as guards of the castle gates.

There are three main samurai houses that you can view the interior of: the Torita Residence, the Shinozuka Residence, and the Yamamoto Residence. The interiors appear almost frozen in time from the age when the samurai used to reside in them: the floors are lined with tatami, the walls are adorned with traditional Japanese artwork, and the kitchens are decorated with traditional cookware that would have been used in the olden days. Sliding doors separate the different rooms and the quiet neighborhood leaves the air still. Stepping through the entranceway and looking around almost feels like you are peering back through time. 

The exterior of the houses are also kept in the traditional style, with thatched roofs that have been rethatched with Japanese bamboo. By feudal decree, fruit trees were ordered to be grown on the grounds, and many residences owned plum, persimmon, mikan (mandarin orange), and loquat trees, which would produce fruit throughout the year and were therefore able to sustain the residents. The air surrounding the houses remains regal and timeless, and be sure to not be too loud, as to not disturb the neighbors!

What to Eat in Shimabara: Tastes of History and Nostalgia

Shimabara is the home to several unique, original Japanese dishes, which are also a must-try when exploring the city! There are several restaurants and cafes that are only a short walk from the castle area, and not only will you be able to enjoy some delicious morsels, but also relax in a retro atmosphere.

Kanzarashi

First up is “kanzarashi,” one of Shimabara City’s most famous specialties. A sweet treat with a simple appearance, Kanzarashi consists of small, round rice dumplings called “dango” which are boiled in spring water until chewy, and are then served in a unique, refreshing syrup made from honey and sugar. The refreshing sweetness makes for a delicious afternoon dessert!

Guzoni

Another beloved Shimabara dish is “guzoni,” a hearty stew that features chewy “mochi” (rice cake). This dish is believed to date back to the Shimabara Rebellion, when the leader of the uprising had local farmers provide the rebels with rice cakes, which were then mixed with other local ingredients such as seafood to create this substantial dish that was able to sustain the fighters throughout the rebellion. Warm and delicious, guzoni will fill your belly and give you enough energy to continue exploring the area!

Rokube

Although not connected to the age of the Shimabara Rebellion, “rokube” is a noodle dish that is unique to the Shimabara area. After a massive earthquake in 1792, food was scarce and people turned to sweet potatoes for sustenance. A local farmer named Rokube came up with the ingenious idea of mixing grated yam with dried sweet potatoes, adding hot water, and then kneading until the dough was able to be formed into thick noodles. Eaten with a soy-sauce based broth, the dish is simple but is beloved by many in the area for its nostalgic taste.

Shimabara: An Off-the-Beaten-Path Castle Town

Shimabara is a relatively unexplored castle town, which meant that we were able to get a look into samurai history without having to battle any crowds! Nagasaki is well-known as a hotspot of Christianity in Japan, and it was fascinating seeing the religious elements that shaped the culture of the area. Why not step a bit off the beaten path and experience an unknown side of Japanese feudal history?

Also, if this town peaks your interest, you'll be pleased to know that there's plenty more interesting cities scattered across the Kyushu region, which Nagasaki Prefecture is a part of. Learn more about the region and the exciting tourist spots it holds through the Visit Kyushu official website!

Visit Kyushu Official Website: https://www.visit-kyushu.com/en/

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Related Interests

Restaurant Search