享受副熱帶的大自然!沖繩的國立公園看點及玩法

沖繩被有著美麗珊瑚礁的海洋圍繞。在這裡,可以在日本國內最大的副熱帶雨林及稀有動植物等雄偉大自然中,享受健行、獨木舟、浮潛、觀賞動物等多樣休閒活動。這次將介紹能玩遍沖繩大自然的三處國立公園的各個看點。

沖繩

玩樂

特選自然景觀!日本的國立公園哪裡特別呢?

日本的國立公園是必須通過自然景観美觀程度、感受自然的便利度等多項嚴格標準後才能成立,是國家首推的觀光景點。日本國立公園的特點是,即使是國家負責保護管理的區域,但是國立公園的範圍並不限於土地所有權是否為國家所有的區域,因此公園內常有許多一般民眾居住於此。這點跟美國大多將公園內大部分的土地所有權及資源保全全歸國家所有的方法非常不同。
日本國立公園能在保護自然的同時也欣賞風景,有時還包含溫泉、登山、戶外活動、及歷史文化的觀光景點。
本文將介紹隸屬沖繩的三個國立公園的看點及玩法!了解各個地方的特色之後,下次到沖繩旅遊時就能當行程參考喔。

山原秧雞住的副熱帶森林 山原國立公園

面積17,331公頃(僅陸地)/每年平均遊客約83.6萬人次

在一個公園内能看到多種自然環境的「山原國立公園」。在這裡可以一覽日本國內最大片副熱帶雨林,石灰岩的海蝕斷崖及喀斯特地形、紅樹林等多彩景觀。另外,公園內還住著日本唯一不會飛的鳥「山原秧雞」。山原秧雞是全世界中只能在沖繩縣北部的山原地帶看到的鳥,於1981年被認定為新種而公諸於世。

在岩山周圍長著茂密又蔥鬱的熱帶植物等特殊景點「大石林山」也是公園內的人氣景點。依據流傳於這片土地上的神話,這裡是女神最初製造的地方,因此被當成祈禱的場所。

山原國立公園裡的這種副熱帶大自然,經常舉辦紅樹林的獨木舟體驗、健行、觀賞動物等悠閒活動,可以藉此與自然來場良好的互動。

在透明度傲人的大海中進行海上活動!慶良間諸島國立公園

面積3,520公頃(僅陸地)/每年平均遊客約23.1萬人次

慶良間諸島位於沖繩縣那霸市西方約40km處,是由30多個大小島和許多岩礁構成的群島。慶良間諸島國立公園的陸地約有3,520公頃,海域約有90,475公頃,因此整個公園絕大部分都是海。

在這個透明度極高,被稱為「慶良間藍」的美麗大海中,有著多種珊瑚棲息的珊瑚礁,也是座頭鯨和海龜的繁殖、產卵地。從沖繩本島(那霸市泊港)搭高速渡輪約35~50分就能抵達,交通十分良好,因此很推薦想要潛水或浮潛、冬天賞鯨等享受海上活動的人。夏天時座間味島會有大量觀光客聚集於此,不過阿嘉島的話即使是7~8月人也不多,想避開人潮就到阿嘉島吧。

慶留間島的村落裡有間19世紀後半搭建的沖繩民房「高良家」,被指定為國家重要文化財。

大自然稀有生物及傳統街景充滿魅力!西表石垣國立公園

面積40,653公頃(僅陸地)/每年平均遊客約241.4萬人次

這裡是日本國內最南的國立公園,有著接近原生狀態的副熱帶闊葉樹林,及日本規模最大的紅樹林。石垣島與西表島間有著超過360種的珊瑚群。珊瑚種類的多樣性不僅是日本國內第一,甚至能凌駕於世界最大珊瑚礁海域裡的大堡礁之上。

八重山地區的大自然是與人類生活相互扶持而成。人們在生活中與大自然共存,培育出對大自然帶來的豐富恩惠既感謝又尊崇的自然觀點。因此,在這地區中的各島都留存著民謠或祭典等傳統文化,竹富島上還能看到村落裡的房子大多是以傳統紅瓦搭建成的屋頂建築。

今後歡迎大家把握時光,到訪這些日本國立公園,悠閒地走走以療癒身心。在能接觸到日本原有動植物或文化的沖繩國立公園,一定能創造印象深刻的回憶。

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

搜尋餐廳

Japan’s Lush Subtropics! Exploring the National Parks of Okinawa

Surrounded by beautiful oceans filled with coral reefs, the southern archipelago of Okinawa is also home to Japan’s largest and most diverse subtropical evergreen forests. Encompassed by this incredible natural display, visitors can escape city life to enjoy trekking, canoeing, snorkeling, animal watching, and more! Best of all, spending time in the wide-open, pristine outdoors comes with a lower risk of catching a virus. To help you plan the ultimate getaway, we’ve selected three national parks representing the pinnacle of Okinawa’s untainted beauty!

Okinawa

Things to Do

Flawless, Pristine Nature! About Japan's National Parks

As Japan's foremost sightseeing spots, areas are only deemed "national parks" in Japan when they meet a rigorous set of criteria, including how naturally beautiful it is and how convenient it is to access for sightseeing purposes. While the Japanese government takes direct control in protecting and managing some areas, land can also be privately purchased, allowing people to reside within national park boundaries. This differs dramatically from countries like the U.S., where the federal government owns and maintains national parkland and the resources within.

In addition to stunning views and nature preservation, Japanese national parks also often boast hot springs, mountain trails, and loads of outdoor activities to satisfy the hearts of adventurers. Many are also dotted by historical and culturally-significant hotspots, leading to eye-opening discoveries.

In this article, we’ll introduce three must-visit national parks in Okinawa. Uncover the characteristics of each and craft your own ultimate Okinawa getaway!

Yambaru National Park: A Subtropical Forest That Is Home to the Okinawa Rail Bird!

Area: 17,331 ha (land) / Annual visitors: approx. 836,000

Yambaru National Park offers visitors the chance to enjoy a plethora of fascinating ecosystems in just one place. This includes Japan’s largest subtropical evergreen forest, along with limestone sea cliffs, karst formations, mangrove forests, and a multitude of others. In addition, the Yambaru region is the sole habitat of Japan’s only flightless bird, the Okinawa rail, which was announced as a new species in 1981.

Another iconic site is Daisekirinzan, a rocky mountain encompassed by dense tropical vegetation. According to legend, this dynamic wonder was the first creation of a local goddess, thus becoming a sacred place of prayer.

Adventurers can also partake in plenty of thrilling or relaxing activities, including canoeing through the mangrove forest, trekking across lush subtropical nature, exotic animal spotting, and more!

Keramashoto National Park: Marine Sports in Pristine Oceans!

Area: 3,520 ha (land) / Annual visitors: approx. 231,000

Located roughly 40 km west of Naha, Keramashoto consists of over 30 islands and a plethora of reefs of various sizes. Keramashoto National Park accounts for approximately 3,520 hectares of land and 90,475 hectares of sea, making it far more of a marine park than a land park.

Nicknamed “Kerama Blue,” the ocean water here is incredibly transparent and is home to a tapestry of coral reefs and exotic sea life, including humpback whales and sea turtles, who breed and lay eggs in the park.  Keramashoto National Park is easily accessed from Okinawa Island (Naha City, Tomari Port) via a 35-50 minute high-speed boat ride, making it a convenient choice to experience diving, snorkeling, winter whale-watching, and other staple Okinawa marine activities. While Zamami Island is packed with tourists during summer, Aka Island is comparatively quiet in July/August, allowing a summer holiday without crowds.

Additionally, the village on Geruma Island boasts elegant traditional folk homes (takaraya) built during the latter half of the 19th century that are registered as Important Cultural Properties by the Japanese government.

Iriomote-Ishigaki National Park: Vast Nature, Rare Animals, and Traditional Towns!

Area: 40,653 ha (land) / Annual visitors: approx. 2.4 million

Japan’s southernmost national park, the pristine Iriomote-Ishigaki National Park features a primeval subtropical broadleaf forest, Japan’s largest mangrove forest, and a plethora of other jaw-dropping natural wonders. Between Ishigaki Island and Iriomote Island lies a colony of over 360 species of coral. It is the most biodiverse place in Japan and even outdoes the Great Barrier Reef!

The expansive greenery of the Yaeyama Islands acts as a foundation for the lives of its residents, who have developed a deep respect and gratitude for the land by incorporating nature into their everyday routines. Because of this, the region brims with a deep culture of traditional folk songs and festivals that have been passed down through generations. Traditional culture is also seen in the red-bricked roofs of houses on Taketomi and nearby islands, a traditional style of architecture that thrives to this day.

 

While the spread of COVID-19 currently makes travel difficult, once you’re able to visit Japan again, we recommend letting your mind and body heal amongst the nourishing warmth, unique wildlife, and fascinating cultures found within Okinawa’s exhilarating national parks.

 

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search