【日本文化】謎與傳說的千年古寺-奈良・法隆寺

位於奈良斑鳩的法隆寺是全世界最古老的木造建築群,也是日本第一座登錄為世界遺產的古蹟。而與古代偉人聖德太子的密切淵源,更讓它在千餘年來累積了無數的謎團與傳說。

奈良

深度日本

※本文為外部作者所撰

奈良・法隆寺

不知提起法隆寺,讀者們會有什麼印象?大概很多人都立刻想到「搞笑漫畫日和」裡「聖德太子的愉快木造建築」吧!法隆寺是日本第一座登錄為世界遺產的古蹟,也是世界現存最古老的木造建築。不但如此,它更充滿各種神秘的傳說與謎團,為人們所著迷不已。

參道與屋瓦特色

走過法隆寺參道,最先進入視線,在最外圍迎接來者的南大門就是座國寶了。不像其他地方常見的華麗樓門,南大門形式低調,充滿奈良的風範。

穿過南大門後又是一條寬闊的參道通向中門。走進這裡,一瞬間看不到任何現代之物,完全像穿越時空了一樣。如果注意一下這裡屋上的鬼瓦,就會發現幾乎每一棟建物的鬼瓦都不同,每一張鬼面的表情、造型都精彩至極。

柱子與柱間之謎

參道的盡頭是中門,而法隆寺的第一個謎也就在此。日本受「奇數為陽,偶數為陰」的思想影響,佛寺的柱間(柱與柱的間隔)多為奇數。但法隆寺中門的柱間卻是偶數「四」,不管在中文台語或日語都與「死」諧音,入口也被中柱切成左右兩側。據說這根柱子,是為了封印法隆寺內的怨靈。去年(2019)去世的著名哲學家梅原猛還曾提出一個大膽的猜測:法隆寺是為聖德太子一族怨靈而設計的鎮魂之寺!

關於聖德太子,稍微接觸過日本史的人都知道他曾向隋朝送上「日出處天子致日落處天子」的國書,令隋煬帝大怒,卻建立了日本對中原王朝獨立平等的地位。他積極引進隋朝文化及佛教,制定「十七條憲法」,使日本文明產生飛躍性的進步。但恐怕很少人知道在他死後,其子山背大兄皇子在朝廷鬥爭中敗給了豪族蘇我氏。蘇我氏更攻打位於今天法隆寺東院伽藍的斑鳩宮,山背大兄皇子與族人集體自殺。聖德太子作為日本史上數一數二的偉人,其身後卻是一場血脈斷絕的悲劇。

聖德太子一族滅亡30年後,法隆寺一度燬於火災。梅原猛便認為後來掌權的藤原氏在重建時為了讓太子一族的怨靈不出來作祟,於是將法隆寺設計成一座封印怨靈之寺,更直指這乃是因為藤原氏的始祖中臣鎌足,正是消滅太子一族的幕後黑手!這種離經叛道的假說當然引來許多批判,也並未成為主流的史觀,但是不可否認,這種觀點的確更增添參觀法隆寺的樂趣。

來到有著列柱的廊下。法隆寺的柱子有著中身微微膨起的收分線特徵,而這也成為另一樁歷史公案。明治時代的建築史學家伊東忠太考察法隆寺後,認為這種特徵與古希臘神殿的柱式相似。他於是主張日本建築與希臘有著相同的源頭,而日本正是東西交流的絲路終點。

為了證實日本建築與希臘的淵源,伊東忠太與當時建築界往歐美取經的常識背道而行,從中國往南出發,遊歷了緬甸、印度、希臘、埃及、中東各地。雖然法隆寺和希臘的淵源終究沒有找到直接證據,但是此說卻一直流傳至今,使到訪法隆寺的旅人好奇不已。

日本式非對稱美學先驅

金堂和五重塔所在的「西院伽藍」,構成了法隆寺最重要的一塊區域。法隆寺的珍貴實在是難以一言道盡。它除了是世界最古老木造建築,更是日本式「非對稱美學」呈現在建築空間上的先驅。

中韓文化中對美學的概念是工整對稱,亦表現在空間配置上。中韓的寺院伽藍常沿中軸線對稱,而創立時間早於法隆寺的寺院,如大阪四天王寺等等,也受到這種影響,從中門、五重塔、金堂、講堂呈直線配置,左右對稱。但法隆寺卻打破了這種刻板的美學。過了中門之後,看到的是高度與形狀完全不同的五重塔和金堂各在一端,呈現出非對稱的姿態。這種「法隆寺式伽藍」成為寺院伽藍的範本之一,展示出獨立於亞洲大陸的日本美學。

五重塔頂端之謎

而法隆寺另一個謎就在於五重塔的頂端了。各位上網搜尋法隆寺一定都會看到「法隆寺七不思議」相關內容。雖然七條之中大部分是誇大或穿鑿附會,但其中「五重塔的相輪(塔頂的金屬尖端構造)有四根鐮刀」,卻是千真萬確的插在那裡。四根鐮刀的用意眾說紛紜。當然,不免也被視為封印太子一族怨靈的咒術裝置了。

不過根據較為可信的史料記述,是因為鎌倉時代五重塔曾因落雷而起火,事後便採用五行相剋的原理,雷屬木,鐮刀屬金,在相輪插上鐮刀來避雷。雖然不如「封印怨靈」這般聳動,但還是充滿了神秘色彩。

全境最古建築「金堂」

金堂是全境最古老建築,樣式與常見受唐宋風格影響的日本寺院有著不小的差異,保留了飛鳥時代的特徵。1949年1月26日,一場無名火從金堂內竄起,堂內的壁畫慘遭嚴重損毀。這場悲劇催生了日本的文化財保護法,也讓1月26日被訂為日本的文化財防火日。

金堂內由東至西供奉了藥師如來釋迦如來阿彌陀如來,各自代表了過去、現世及來世。其中位於正中央的釋迦如來,背後的銘文紀錄此像是在聖德太子病死之際所製作與太子等身大的佛像。因此更強化了「釋迦像即為太子之像,整座法隆寺亦為太子鎮魂寺」之說。

聖靈院及大寶藏院

金堂及五重塔東側相鄰的是供奉聖德太子的聖靈院。聖靈院原本是僧房的一部分,後來建物的最前端改建成佛殿,後方仍連結著僧房。院內於平安時代製作的國寶聖德太子木像是一尊不公開的「秘佛」,一年中只有每年3月21日,聖德太子忌日的前夜法會裡會進行特別開帳。這裡的御朱印寫的是聖德太子制訂「十七條憲法」第一句,也是深深影響日本民族行為準則的四個字:「以和為貴」。

聖靈院後則是收藏著千餘年傳承下來寶物的大寶藏院。其中包括了在火災發生之前取下,因而逃過一劫的部份金堂壁畫,以及法隆寺代表性的寶物「百濟觀音」與「玉蟲櫥子」。

供奉著名秘佛的「夢殿」

最後是東院伽藍的「夢殿」。曾座落於此的斑鳩宮是聖德太子病故之處,也是其子山背大兄皇子及族人滅門之地。夢殿原本便是為供養太子一族而建立,自然也充滿了神秘的傳聞。而其中之最便是夢殿之內供奉的「救世觀音像」。日本原本就有佛像收納於佛龕內不公開的「秘佛」信仰,而夢殿的救世觀音則是日本數一數二的著名秘佛。

救世觀音面容與金堂的釋迦如來神似,同樣被認為是聖德太子的等身像。但不尋常的是,救世觀音像的「光背」是直接用長釘釘入頭部,不僅違反製作的通例,對於佛像來說也是種褻瀆。這種反常的作法不免也被認為是鎮壓怨靈的手段之一。更詭異的是傳說雕刻此像的佛師,在佛像完成之後就立刻死去。而鎌倉時代另一名想臨摹救世觀音的佛師,也在臨摹完成前身亡。

救世觀音到了江戶時代後,便被法隆寺僧由白布包覆,封入佛龕內,此後兩百餘年再也沒有人見過。僧侶們更宣稱解開封印將觸怒聖德太子的怨靈,會遭到天譴並招致地震等災害。直到明治時代,東京大學的美籍教授恩尼斯特・費諾羅薩(Ernest Francisco Fenollosa)受文部省委託,與他的學生,日後的美學大師岡倉天心一同調查近畿古寺社時,才讓救世觀音重見天日。

根據記述,寺僧拒絕不了堅持開封的兩人,紛紛自夢殿走避。費諾羅薩親手用鑰匙滿是鏽蝕的鎖頭解開後,積滿塵埃的佛龕內竟竄出了受驚的蛇鼠。除去累積了兩百餘年,多到令人窒息的塵埃,打開卷覆在佛像身上的白布之後,閃爍著金色光芒的救世觀音終於出現在眼前。

費諾羅薩在記述中表現出當時的激動:「當最後一塊包覆的布終於除去後,這座全世界獨一無二,令人驚嘆的雕像,經過了數個世紀總算出現在我們眼前。」岡倉天心也寫下回憶:「看到七尺餘高的佛像,手持寶珠莊嚴的佇立,這可謂一生最大的快事。」

附帶一提,這兩人後來都活了20年以上才去世,應該沒有受到詛咒。

現在救世觀音每年春秋兩季皆有為期近一個月的特別開帳,一年中公開的總日數甚至長過許多其他的秘佛,要親眼目睹這座充滿傳說的佛像已經不再困難,甚至也不再那麼神秘了。不過當隔著木欄遠遠看到救世觀音在幽微的夢殿深處之中露出謎樣的微笑,仍彷彿能感受到一絲奇異的靈氣。
 

【夢殿 秘佛・救世観音菩薩立像 特別開帳】
舉辦期間:春 4月11日~5月18日 / 秋 10月22日~11月22日
舉辦地點:東院伽藍 夢殿

推薦美食:柿葉壽司

法隆寺境內頗為遼闊,旅人們走過一趟相信也累了。如果需要補充體力的話,推薦至參道上的150年老字號「平宗」一嘗奈良代表性的鄉土料理「柿葉壽司」。柿葉壽司以醃漬過的鯖魚或鮭魚等為主要材料,和醋飯一起押製定形後以柿子葉包裹起來。柿子葉不但具有殺菌效果,也會讓壽司帶有獨特的香氣。由於適於常溫保存,要外帶回旅館當宵夜也很合適。

參觀資訊

充滿各種神祕的法隆寺,在走過一千多年後,依然以古老的姿態將飛鳥時代之美帶到現代人的眼前。而那些曾令古人畏懼的怨靈傳說,在經過漫長的時光淬鍊後,反倒成了一種歷史的浪漫。

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

玩樂

住宿

購物

搜尋餐廳

Horyuji: Legends and Mysteries of the Ancient Temple in Nara

Horyuji Temple, located in Ikaruga, Nara, houses the world’s oldest extant wooden structure and was the first place in Japan to be designated a World Heritage Site. Built by the renowned Prince Shotoku in the 7th century, this temple has accumulated many myths and legends about it throughout its thousand-year-old history.

Nara

Things to Do

Nara's Horyuji Temple

Some of you might know Horyuji from the story “Prince Shotoku’s Fun Wooden Building” in the popular Japanese manga series Gag Manga Biyori. In fact, not only was Horyuji registered as Japan's first World Heritage Site, it also boasts the oldest wooden building in the world and, what’s more, its myths and mysteries have long fascinated visitors and historians.

The Entrance Path and Roof Tiles

As you walk down the broad avenue of Horyuji Sando (the entrance path), your first encounter with a national treasure is the Nandaimon (the southern main gate). Unlike most other historical buildings that have elaborate entrances, Nandaimon embodies an understated, modest Nara style.

As you enter beyond the Nandaimon to another long avenue towards the Chumon (middle gate), you are immediately transported back in time, devoid of any modernity. Take a closer look at the roofs, and you might notice that each building has its own set of onigawara (roof tiles depicting Japanese ogres), and each with a unique vivid expression.

Mysteries Between the Pillars

The first of Horyuji’s many mysteries is here at Chumon, at the end of the avenue. In Japan, influenced by the idea that "odd numbers are yang and even numbers are yin", the number of spaces between pillars at Buddhist temples is usually odd. At the Chumon, however, there are four between-pillar spaces, despite the fact that the number “four” sounds very similar to "death" in both Japanese and Chinese.

There is also a pillar right in the middle of the gate, which is unusual. Legend has it this pillar is built to keep vengeful spirits within Horyuji. Philosopher Takeshi Umehara even made a bold guess by saying Horyuji was designed to house the spirits of Prince Shotoku’s family.

The original Horyuji burned down in a fire 30 years after Shotoku's son, Prince Yamashiro, was forced to commit suicide by the rival Soga clan along with his family. Umehara believed that the Fujiwara clan who would later assume power rebuilt the temple to “seal in” the vengeful ghosts of the Shotoku family, and even theorized that the head of the Fujiwara was actually the one responsible for the annihilation of Prince Yamashiro! This controversial hypothesis attracted plenty of criticism and never made it into the history books, but it certainly adds much more intrigue to visiting Horyuji.

Walking down the corridors, you might notice that the pillars in the temple complex bulge slightly in the middle. Meiji architectural historian Chuta Ito believed that this is similar to the pillars of ancient Greek temples, theorizing that the two share the same architectural roots and even that Japan was the final stop on the Silk Road.

In order to validate his hypothesis, Chuta Ito traveled an unconventional route – heading south from China, through Burma, India, Greece, Egypt and the Middle East. Though ultimately there wasn’t concrete evidence to prove his theory, such an idea has been widely circulated, making visitors to Horyuji all the more curious. 

Pioneering a Japanese Architectural Aesthetic

The Sai-in in the west is the most important part of the temple, as it is home to the Five-Story Pagoda and the Kondo (sanctuary hall). Apart from the fact that these are the world’s oldest surviving wooden structures, they are also the pioneers of asymmetrical aesthetics in Japanese architecture.

Chinese and Korean aesthetics are centered on clean and symmetrical lines, which were reflected in their spatial designs. Temples in China and Korea are often symmetrical along a central axis, and this layout is often seen in temples in Japan that were established earlier than Horyuji, such as Shitennoji Temple in Osaka. From the Chumon, all structures from the Pagoda, the golden hall, and the lecture hall would normally be arranged in a straight line.

However, Horyujii went against this conventional aesthetic. Beyond the Chumon, you can see how the Pagoda and Kondo, which are completely different in height and shape, are set side-by-side, rather than in a row. Horyuji became a model for future temples, demonstrating an aesthetic unique to Japan.

The Mystery Atop the Five-Story Pagoda

Another mystery lies at the very top of the Five-Story Pagoda. Anyone Googling Horyuji would have come across “the seven myths of Horyuji.” While most of those myths are contrived, one of them states that “there are four scythes attached to the roof of the Pagoda,” which is absolutely true. No one can agree on why they were placed there, but some believed they were meant to keep the Shotoku family’s vengeful spirits within.

According to more credible historical records, however, the real reason was that the Five-Story Pagoda once caught fire in the Kamakura Period after being hit by lightning. Applying the principle of five elements, scythes were built on the wooden building to serve as lightning rods. Not as tantalizing as an instrument to suppress avenging ghosts, but it is still fascinating.

Kondo, the Oldest Surviving Structure

The Kondo is the oldest building on site. Retaining characteristics from the Asuka Period (538-710), its style has marked differences from the more common temples found in Japan that were influenced by the Tang and Song dynasties of China. On January 26, 1949, a fire rose from the Kondo, severely damaging the frescoes inside. This disaster gave birth to the Law for the Protection of Cultural Properties in Japan, and January 26 was designated as Fire Prevention Day for Cultural Properties.

Yakushi Nyorai, Shaka Nyorai and Amida Nyorai – Buddha statues representing the past, present and the afterlife – line the Kondo hall from the east to the west. According to the inscription on the back, Shaka Nyorai in the middle was created in the likeness and size of Shotoku Taishi after his death, thus supporting the claim that the Shaka statue is of the Prince, and that Horyuji is the resting place for his soul.

Shoryoin and Daihozoin

Adjacent to the east side of Kondo and the Five-Story Pagoda is Shoryoin, a temple dedicated to the worship of Prince Shotoku. It was originally a monastery, but the front end was later converted into a Buddhist temple. Shoryoin enshrines a wooden statue of the Prince, a designated Japanese National Treasure dating back to the Heian Era, and also a “Hibutsu”, meaning a Buddhist icon concealed from public view. It is only unveiled at a special event once a year on March 21, which is the eve of the anniversary of Prince Shotoku’s death. Written on the seal stamp of Horyuji is the phrase “in pursuit of harmony,” the first sentence of the Prince’s “Seventeen Article Constitution” and the essence of Japanese etiquette.

Behind the Shoryoin is the Daihozoin (the Great Treasure Gallery) with treasures passed down from over a thousand years ago. This includes some of the murals from the Kondo that were removed before the fire and thus survived, as well as the iconic treasures of Horyuji, the Statue of Kudara Kannon and the Tamamushi Tabernacle.

The Hidden Buddha in the Hall of Dreams

Last but not least is Yumedono, or the “Hall of Dreams” in the Eastern Precinct. The building was constructed on the site of the Prince’s private palace (Ikaruga-no-miya), where he lived until his death and where his son's family perished. Yumedono is full of mysterious treasures, the most important of which is the Kuse Kannon. In Japan, a number of Buddhist icons or statues are concealed from public view, and the Kuse Kannon is one of the most renowned of these hibutsu.

While the facial features of Kuse Kannon is very similar to that of Shaka Nyorai in Kondo, it is also said to be a life-size replica of Shotoku Taishi. What is unusual is that the halo of the statue was attached to the head by a large nail. Not only does this go against normal practices of making statues, it is also considered sacrilege in Buddhism. Scholars argue it was a voodoo-like technique to subdue the dead prince's spirit. What is even more bizarre was that the craftsman who carved this statue died immediately after it was completed. In the Kamakura Era, another Buddhist priest who wanted to replicate the statue also died before he could finish his work.

In the Edo Period (1603-1868), the Kuse Kannon was wrapped in cloth and enclosed in a Buddhist altar by monks and stayed hidden for over 200 years. The priests claimed that unveiling it would anger Shotoku’s grieving soul and would yield disastrous punishments such as earthquakes. It was not until the Meiji Period in 1884, when Ernest Francisco Fenollosa, an American art historian from Tokyo Imperial University, and Okakura Tenshin, a Japanese scholar commissioned by the Ministry of Education, visited and studied the temple, that the statue was unwrapped and saw the light of day again.

According to the accounts, the monks fled Yumedono after failing to stop the historians from unravelling the statue. When Fenollosa opened the rusty lock himself, rats and snakes dashed out from behind the dusty shrine. As 200 years' worth of filth was dusted off and the cloth was undone, the remarkable gilded statue glimmered in front of their eyes.

Fenollosa expressed his excitement at the time: "When the last piece of cloth was finally removed after centuries, one of the most unique and amazing statues in the world had finally re-emerged." Okakura Tenshin also wrote: "Seeing this statue standing at seven feet tall with a pearl in hand is probably one of my greatest pleasures in life."

Incidentally, both historians later lived for more than 20 years, unscathed by the so-called ‘curse’.

The Kuse Kannon is now open for public viewing during the spring and fall: once in April and May, and once in October and November, for about a month each time. This is longer than many other hibutsu, making it not so mysterious anymore. However, you might still feel its mystical aura when you see Kuse Kannon’s dignified expression in the depths of the Yumedono with your own eyes.

Nara’s Delicacy: Persimmon Leaf Sushi

Tired from all that walking around the spacious temple grounds of Horyuji? Why not stop by Hiraso, a 150-year-old establishment on the Horyuji Sando, and get yourself some “Kakinoha-zushi”, or persimmon leaf sushi. This iconic Nara dish is a bite-size rice ball topped with pickled fish such as mackerel or salmon and wrapped in a persimmon leaf. The leaf has anti-bacterial properties, and it adds a distinctive flavor to the sushi. It doesn’t need to be refrigerated, so you can easily take it back to your hotel for a cheeky midnight snack!

Visitor Information

Horyuji, with all its myths and mysteries, transports today’s visitors thousands of years back to the splendor of the Asuka Period. And with the passing of time, those ancient curses surrounding the temple that were once so frightening have evolved so that they are now a part of Horyuji’s charm.


If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Related Interests

Restaurant Search