【埼玉自由行】走走秩父長瀞 吃味噌切丟麵跟冬天也要吃一口的「阿左美冷藏」剉冰

隨著地方觀光逐漸到台灣推廣,秩父成為不少尋求大自然的旅客心目中的新旅遊勝地。但除了秩父之外,離秩父約20分鐘電車車程的長瀞也是值得走走的好所在。在長瀞,有著好吃到讓人冒著寒冷都要來吃一下的剉冰,還有賣到超人氣的味噌炙烤豬排跟冬天限定的味噌切丟麵,以及被稱為日本地質學發源地的壯觀景色!到底長瀞有多好吃又好玩?繼續往下看介紹吧~

埼玉

玩樂

※本文為外部作者所撰

要到長瀞玩,要先知道長瀞到底在哪裡!長瀞就在東京都旁的埼玉縣裡,可以從池袋搭JR、西武鐵道或東武東上線過去,再轉搭秩父鐵道就能抵達,路程約需花1小時40分鐘。雖然感覺有點兒遠,不過置身這裡的大自然中,再來碗讓當地人引以為傲的好水做成的剉冰或味噌炙燒豬排跟味噌切丟麵,就覺得再遠都值得啦!

秩父名產輕鬆吃 切丟烏龍麵&味噌炙烤豬排

在隸屬秩父郡的長瀞當然也能吃到好吃秩父名產!秩父地區主要食材以山菜為主,再加進天然好水讓食材風味更明顯,最有名的就是味噌跟烏龍麵了。在長瀞站附近,就有不少家主打味噌豬排、味噌蒟蒻、現撈烏龍麵或「切丟烏龍麵」等料理的店。每間都有它的特色在,但這次筆者選了最能悠閒吃飯的老品牌「Garden House有鄰」來慢慢品嚐。

「Garden House有鄰」是秩父鐵道開的餐廳,專門提供價錢合理又具特色在地料理,其中炸草鞋豬排、味噌炙烤豬排跟切丟烏龍麵都是這裡的熱門餐點。味噌炙烤豬排是秩父地區的傳統料理,在過去沒有冰箱的時代,只要在山上抓到山豬後,秩父人都會將豬肉切好放到味噌中醃漬以保存,這個做法就這樣流傳至今。

現在的味噌炙烤豬排雖然不是用山豬肉,但還是堅持只用秩父出產的味噌來製作,烤出來的味噌豬排又香又夠味,偏鹹的味噌中帶有一股甜,非常下飯。而「Garden House有鄰」更因為味噌炙烤豬排賣得太好,讓秩父鐵道又另外在長瀞站附近開了一間「有鄰」,專門販賣味噌炙烤豬排。只想吃吃看味噌炙烤豬排的人可以選擇到這裡用餐。

 

「切丟烏龍麵(おっ切り込みうどん)」則是非常常見的秩父家庭料理,名稱取自於「切了麵就丟進鍋裡煮來吃」的烹調過程。外表看起來雖然就像蔬菜烏龍麵,但是實際上卻跟我們認知的烏龍麵大大不同。切丟烏龍麵用的麵是不加鹽的扁麵,有時候還會在麵團中添加麥糠。麵本身不會先煮熟再加進蔬菜湯,是直接跟蔬菜湯一起熬煮,因此被認為是一種燉煮料理。

切丟烏龍麵的湯頭多以味噌或醬油為主,用的蔬菜雖然沒有限制,不過通常會加當季蔬菜、小芋頭跟白蘿蔔,所以每個季節去都會吃到不同風味的切丟烏龍麵。這次吃的切丟烏龍麵是味噌湯頭,加了白菜的基本款。濃郁的味噌湯不但沖散了冬天帶來的寒冷,還能喝到蔬菜熬煮許久後才有的甜香味。麵本身不算非常有嚼勁,吃起來很順口,很適合冬天來上一碗暖暖身。

另外,如果想單純吃吃看秩父味噌的風味,建議點盤味噌蒟蒻。秩父的蒟蒻大多不經調味,單純以味噌味道決勝負,是了解秩父產味噌的最佳方法。

用料實在吃不膩 開業130年的阿左美冷藏

阿左美冷藏是1890年開始營業的製冰店,原本都是製冰給別人賣,一直到1992年才自己開了冰店來賣冰。一開始的阿左美冷藏並不像現在這麼有名氣,但是當他們製冰的秘密陸續被日本雜誌跟電視介紹後,就搖身一變成了專程到長瀞也要吃的長瀞超級名店,甚至幾乎所有長瀞的餐廳前都會特別掛上「阿左美冷藏」特製的旗子來標榜自己家的冰塊全都從阿左美冷藏買來的。

究竟這裡賣的冰有什麼不一樣?原來,這裡主打的是「天然冰」,也就是在大自然中挖出一個人工池「冰池」,再引進寶登山自然淨化濾出的伏流水,耗費兩個月使其自然結凍成冰。這種作法只有在冬天非常寒冷的地區才有,而秩父一帶只剩阿左美冷藏仍堅持這種作法來製冰。用伏流水做出的冰不僅礦物質含量比一般的冰豐富,還帶有天然水特有的微甜口感,再加上阿左美冷藏的剉冰,從左右冰品品質與口味的糖水到配料都是純天然,不加人工添加物,就能看出他們的用心。

阿左美冷藏共有兩家門市,離上長瀞站比較近的金崎本店,以及方便觀光的寶登山店。兩間店的公休日不同,不會遇到特地來這裡卻吃不到的窘境。這次走訪的金崎本店,分成本館跟新館。本館內部以和風摩登為主;新館則是純和風設計,整體空間也比較寬敞舒適。下方右圖為入口擺放的兩館菜單。新館提供的菜單價格比本館高了一些,並以套餐為主。店員在帶位時會先給大家看菜單並說明,讓客人自由選擇想消費的地方。如果沒有太追求純和風的話,其實本館就已經足夠讓人放鬆吃冰了。

進入本館後,就像穿越時空來到了大正時期,和風與西洋交會。在日本老屋裡有著西式擺設與鋼琴,西畫下的自助式熱茶則是用日本傳統茶缸盛裝。感覺衝突又協調的空間意外給人一種安心而平靜的感覺,筆者十分享受這個有別於外界的空間。店員送上的菜單裡有著招牌冰、特製冰以及飲料跟簡單的吐司與日式餡蜜甜點等,牆上則貼著抹茶紅豆湯圓冰等新推薦冰品。因為這裡的冰都很大碗,建議大家可以點一碗冰跟一個日式餡蜜甜點或吐司,配上免費的熱茶一起分著吃才不會吃到口味有點膩。

這次筆者點的是最招牌的「藏元秘傳糖蜜 終極特製冰(蔵元秘伝みつ 極みスペシャル)」,可以一次吃到阿左美冷藏最具特色的糖蜜以及各種特製豆沙餡。朋友則是加點了起司吐司跟咖啡及優格的套餐(可換紅茶)以及抹茶紅豆冰。

餐點剛上桌的時候,那結實又超大份量的「冰山」似乎在向客人發戰帖,有種「你確定一個人吃得完嗎?」的挑釁感。不過下方三種光澤超美的紅豆、白鳳豆及抹茶豆沙餡,以及一旁份量超足的糖蜜都會是可靠的戰友,不需要太擔心吃不完。

這一大碗天然冰雖然結實卻不會硬到很難鏟起,直接吃一口後,更是發現當清脆的口感還停在口中,天然冰卻早已融化在舌尖,只留下一絲甘甜。在試過天然冰的原味後,建議淋上糖蜜品嚐,以德島三盆糖做出的糖蜜不會死甜,是清爽而恰到好處的清甜,光是加糖蜜吃就能讓人意猶未盡。而三種豆沙的甜度不一,帶些微苦的抹茶餡跟天然冰非常契合,適合不喜歡太甜的人吃。最甜的紅豆餡是日本的傳統口味,再加點糖蜜更能吃出甜度的層次。中間的白鳳豆餡味道獨特,不像紅豆般過甜,也沒有抹茶的微苦,很適合和冰一起吃。抹茶紅豆冰的味道一樣爽口清甜,但要論口味個人還是比較喜歡終極特製冰。

隨後上桌的起司吐司套餐有著滿滿鹹香,從撕開吐司的那一刻光用手就能感受到它有多Q彈紮實,味道更是無可挑剔,吃完甜品來一口鹹食,真的非常幸福。

吃完冰之後也別急著離開。店門口有放許多阿左美冷藏周邊商品及扭蛋機,包含長瀞餐廳店頭掛的阿左美旗幟,還有很好用的包巾跟毛巾都買得到。夏天來到這裡時還可以到店外的花園走走拍拍,為自己留下個到此一遊的紀念吧。

好山好水好星空!春夏秋冬都好玩的長瀞

長瀞主要以溪谷跟古蹟聞名,還有豐沛的自然資源給人一年四季來這裡走走的理由:冬末初春的梅花、夏天的溯溪、秋天的楓景和冬天的冰柱及溫泉,更別說好天氣就能看到的滿天星空!如果有機會到長瀞,記得到以下景點走走喔。

坐船也能窩暖桌?!長瀞溪谷與岩疊

長瀞溪谷是由荒川縱切而成的自然溪谷。由於周邊的地質特殊,在1878年德國地質學家到這裡調查研究,並發現這裡的地質稀有後,便成為日本地質學研究的重要據點,也被認為是日本地質學發源地。像是看似四方形層層疊在一起的「岩疊」,寬達500公尺的壯觀秩父赤壁以及明神瀑布,還有紋路如虎皮般的結晶片岩「虎岩」等,都是來這裡一定要看看的重點。

在長瀞溪谷,一年四季都能溯溪。夏天的溯溪非常刺激,跟著急流奔馳而下;冬天的溯溪則十分獨特,長瀞船家把日本的暖桌搬到船上,讓船客可以一邊窩在暖桌中,一邊欣賞溪谷的特殊地形與地質。當然,除了溯溪也能直接爬到岩疊上近距離觀察,還可以拍下有人正在溪谷溯溪的風景照。

米其林一顆星景點 寶登山神社

在寶登山上的寶登山神社是長瀞居民自古以來的信仰中心,據說建於西元111年,並在2011年被選為米其林一星的觀光景點。值得一看的地方除了春天的櫻花與傳說中的英雄日本武尊洗過的池水外,明治初期重建而成的神社社殿更是亮點之一。

這座社殿跟其他日本神社非常不同,刻滿了中國傳統故事「二十四孝」的雕刻,還有三國志裡的故事也被刻在牆上。而且每幅雕刻都上了色,作工精細又繽紛,光看雕刻還以為到了台灣的宮廟裡,格外親切。

IG美照靠這裡 長瀞酒藏&舊新井家住宅

在長瀞這裡有不少老屋跟老店,除了可以參觀,有些還可以住。其中最具代表性的就是鄉土資料館旁,自1729年就開始釀酒的長瀞酒藏,還有屋齡已超過200年的舊新井家住宅。

長瀞酒藏是長瀞地區稀有的清酒釀造研究所。創始人藤﨑宗兵衛光重帶著釀酒的技術來到關東一帶開創藤崎摠兵衛商店後,第13代的尾坂茂看上了長瀞的好酒及觀光潛力,便選擇將整間店搬到這裡。現在的藤崎摠兵衛商店除了可以到釀酒的酒藏參觀製造過程及試飲這裡出產的4種日本酒外,還有專賣當地工藝品的空間可以逛逛。

舊新井家住宅則是能一窺秩父一帶的老屋構造。過去的秩父有許多養蠶農家,新井家也是其中之一。不過隨著養蠶文化沒落,養蠶的道具與屋舍構造也跟著消失。舊新井家住宅除了有秩父現存的茅草木板屋頂,還可以到屋內參觀以前老屋的隔間。夏天來的時候是非常好的納涼處,也是拍情境照的好地方。

還在愁不知道東京附近有什麼好玩的嗎?試著離開市中心,到長瀞等遠一點的城鎮中尋找在地美食跟日常生活難見的自然風景吧。

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

搜尋餐廳

Miso Grilled Pork Chops And Pure Natural Shaved Ice: Must-Have Delicacies in Nagatoro in Chichibu, Saitama!

As more effort is put into promoting Japan's regional tourism, Chichibu has risen as a new favorite among nature lovers. A 20-minute train ride from the city would take you to Nagatoro, another town worth a visit. There you can find a shaved ice dessert that is tasty enough for people to brave the biting cold, the wildly popular miso grilled pork chop, and miso okkirikomi udon that is only available in winter. Besides, Nagatoro is said to be the cradle of geology in Japan because of its magnificent landscape. Have we piqued your interest by now? Read on to find out more!

Saitama

Things to Do

※Article by commissioned writer

Let's say you've decided on a trip to Nagatoro – where exactly is it? The town sits in Saitama Prefecture next to Tokyo, and is accessible by taking a train from Ikebukuro (JR, Seibu Railway or Tobu Tojo Line) then transferring to Chichibu Railway. The 100-minute ride might seem a bit daunting, but if you think about the scenery and delicious food awaiting you, it would all be worth it!

Chichibu Specialties: Okkirikomi Udon & Miso Grilled Pork Chop

Located within Chichibu City, Nagatoro also offers that city's specialties. Wild vegetables are the staple of the region's cuisine, and natural water is often used to accentuate the flavor. Some of the most famous examples are miso and udon. There are numerous restaurants offering miso pork chop, miso konjac jelly, stirred udon, and okkirikomi udon near Nagatoro Station. Each of them is unique in its own way, and among them is Garden House Yurin, a long-standing restaurant where guests can enjoy their meal in a relaxing atmosphere.

Managed by Chichibu Railway, Garden House Yurin serves reasonably priced local cuisine, including signature dishes like waraji pork cutlet, miso grilled pork chop and okkirikomi udon. Miso grilled pork chop is a traditional Chichibu delicacy. In the old days before refrigerators, locals would cut up the wild boars they caught and pickle the meat with miso for preservation. The method remains in use to this day.

Although nowadays wild boar meat is no longer used in preparing miso grilled pork chops, they are adamant that the miso must be from Chichibu. Not only is the grilled pork aromatic and savory, there is also a hint of sweetness in the salty miso which goes perfectly with rice. It is so popular that Chichibu Railway decided to open another branch called Yurin near Nagatoro Station, focusing solely on miso grilled pork chops. If you're fixated on that dish, you may consider eating there instead.

Okkirikomi udon is a very common household dish in Chichibu, its name literally meaning udon that is thrown into the pot right after being cut. It might look like udon with vegetables at first glance, but it is actually nothing like what we are familiar with. The noodle used here is flat and salt-free, and wheat bran is sometimes added into the dough. And instead of cooking the noodles before adding them to the vegetable broth, it is simmered together with the vegetables, thus the dish is regarded as a stew.

The broth of okkirikomi udon is usually miso- or soy sauce-based. Even though there is no restriction on the choice of vegetables, it is common to use seasonal vegetables, eddoe and radish. In other words, you would come across different variations of the dish depending on the season. The picture above shows the basic version with miso broth and Chinese cabbage. The rich miso soup, which is sweetened by stewed vegetables, is sure to disperse the cold, while the udon itself is more smooth than chewy. Have a nice bowl to warm yourself in winter!

For those interested in sampling Chichibu miso in its simplest form, the miso konjac jelly would be worth a try. Their jelly is usually unseasoned, relying solely on the miso to give it flavor. There is no better way to learn about the locally produced miso!

Established 130 Years Ago, Asami Reizo's Shaved Ice Never Grows Old

Asami Reizo is a store that has been producing and selling ice since 1890, but it wasn't until 1992 that they opened their own shop to sell shaved ice. They started off humbly, but since their secret ice-making techniques got featured in Japanese magazines and TV programs, they have risen to become the superstar of Nagatoro, so much that they are the very reason why some people visit the area at all. Nowadays, almost every restaurant there has Asami Reizo's flag displayed at the shopfront to emphasize where their ice comes from.

So what is so special about Asami Reizo's ice? The key is "natural": they would dig an "ice pool" in the wild to collect water from the subterranean river purified by Mount Hodo, then wait two months for it to freeze naturally. This is only possible in places with very cold winters, and Asami Reizo is the sole ice manufacturer around Chichibu still using this method. Ice made from subterranean water is higher in mineral content than normal water, with a trace of sweetness unique to natural water. Moreover, everything is natural with no artificial additives, from the syrup that dictates the frozen dessert’s quality and flavor to the toppings, a testimony to the care they put into their products.

Asami Reizo has two restaurants: the Kanasaki main shop near Nagatoro Station, and the Mount Hodo branch close to sightseeing spots. Their closing days are different, so at least one is always open. The Kanasaki main shop is divided into the main wing and new wing; the former is in modern Japanese style, whereas the latter is in traditional Japanese style and more spacious. The photo on the right below shows the menus from both wings placed at the entrance. The new wing's items are slightly more expensive and most of them are sets. Before taking guests to their seats, a server would first introduce the menus and let them choose a wing. Unless you have a particular interest in a traditional Japanese setting, the main wing should do the trick.

Stepping into the main wing is like going back in time to the Taisho period, when East and West met. The old Japanese structure is adorned by western decorations and a piano. Western paintings are hung above the self-serve corner, where tea is kept in a traditional Japanese teapot. Things seem at once conflicting and well-coordinated, resulting in an unexpectedly calming atmosphere. It is a nice escape from the outside world. On the menu brought by the waitstaff are items like signature shaved ice, special shaved ice, drinks, toast and anmitsu (Japanese dessert with agar jelly, red bean paste, mochi and fruits drizzled with syrup), while on the wall there are posters of newer items like matcha-flavored shaved ice with red bean paste and mochi. They are very generous with their servings of shaved ice, so it is recommended to order anmitsu or toast along with the ice, and help yourself to some hot tea to avoid numbing your taste buds!

The picture on the right below shows their signature "ultimate shaved ice with Kuramoto syrup", which includes the famed syrup of Asami Reizo and a variety of bean pastes. You might also try their side set of cheese toast, yogurt and coffee (can be changed to black tea), and matcha-flavored shaved ice with red bean paste.

The huge iceberg is a challenge in itself, as if asking guests "Are you sure you can finish me by yourself?" as it arrives at the table. There is no need to worry though; the three glistening pastes (red bean, white sword bean and matcha flavored bean) and abundance of syrup are there to help you make it through the trial.

The bowl of natural ice is solid, but not so hard as to pose a threat to the spoon. When you have a scoop, the ice melts at the tip of your tongue as soon as you experience its crispy texture, leaving behind a hint of sweetness. After sampling its natural taste, the next step is to pour over the syrup made from wasanbon sugar from Tokushima. Its light and refreshing sweetness is a perfect match with shaved ice, leaving you wanting for more. Lastly, the three bean pastes have varying degrees of sweetness: the slightly bitter matcha is for those preferring a lighter taste, the traditional red bean is the most sugary and goes well with syrup in bringing out the different layers of sweetness, and the unique white sword bean is right between the two. All three have their own magic as toppings. Even though the matcha-flavored shaved ice with red bean paste is just as charming, the ultimate shaved ice is still the most recommended!

Coming next is the savory cheese toast, which practically screams of chewiness as one tears it into smaller pieces by hand. A bite of salty treats is just perfect to balance things out after a big dessert!

If you have time to spare, check out Asami Reizo's goods and gachapon machines at the shopfront, including the flag seen at many restaurants in Nagatoro, as well as useful items like bibs and towels. During summer, you can even take a stroll in the garden outside the restaurant and snap some pictures to remember your trip by!

Experience Nagatoro's Four Seasons: Beautiful Mountains, Waters And Night Sky

Nagatoro is well-known for its river valley and historical sites, but those aren’t the only things worth visiting here. Its abundant natural resources make sure that there is always ample reason to come anytime of the year, whether it is the plum blossoms in late winter to early spring, river cruising in the summer, maple leaves in autumn, or icicles and hot springs in the winter. If the weather is fair, you can even see a starry night sky. Mark the following sightseeing spots for your eventual trip to Nagatoro!

Boats With Heated Tables!? Nagatoro Valley And Iwadatami

Nagatoro Valley is a natural river valley formed along Arakawa River. Due to the unusual landscape, in 1878 geologists from Germany traveled there to conduct research, and concluded that the geological structure is indeed of a rare type. As a result, the area has become the cradle of geological research in Japan. While you are there, remember to check out Iwadatami, a rock formation that looks like successive layers of tatami overlapping each other, and don’t miss out the magnificent 500 feet-wide Chichibu Red Cliff, Myojin Falls, as well as Toraiwa, a crystalline schist with stripes resembling a tiger’s skin.

You can participate in river cruising all year in Nagatoro Valley. It is especially exciting in summer to be rushed downstream by the raging currents. On the other hand, you get to enjoy the activity in a whole new light in winter; boatmen set up heated tables on their boats for passengers to stay warm while admiring the beautiful scenery. Of course, you can opt to climb Iwadatami to observe the rocks up close, and capture moments of boats drifting down the river valley.

Hodosan Shrine, a Scenic Spot With a Michelin Star

Standing on Mount Hodo and said to be built in 111, Hodosan Shrine has been the religious center of Nagatoro locals since ancient times. In 2011, the shrine received one star in the Michelin Green Guide Japan for its beautiful sculptures. Apart from cherry blossoms in spring and the pond where the legendary hero Yamato Takeru no Mikoto is rumored to have bathed, the main hall which was rebuilt in the early Meiji Period is noteworthy too.

Unlike other Japanese shrines, Hodosan Shrine's main hall has plenty of carvings depicting scenes from two traditional Chinese stories, "The Twenty-Four Filial Exemplars" and "Records of the Three Kingdoms". All of the carvings are colored and show excellent craftsmanship. One might even mistake it for a Taiwanese temple at first glance!

The Photogenic Nagatorogura Sake Brewery And Old Arai Residence

Nagatoro is lined with old houses and shops. Some are open to visitors, while others offer accommodations. Among them, you should check out the Nagatorogura Sake Brewery located next to the Nagatoro Town Museum, which has been in the brewing business since 1729. The Old Arai Residence nearby also has more than 200 years of history.

The Nagatorogura Sake Brewery is one of the few sake breweries in Nagatorogura. The founder, Fujisaki Sobei Mitsushige, brought brewing techniques with him to the Kanto region and established the Fujisaki Sobei Shoten. Then, noticing the high quality of Nagatoro's sake and the tourism potential, the 13th-generation head Ozaka Shigeru decided to move the entire business there. Nowadays, not only can visitors witness the brewing process and have a taste of the four locally produced sakes, but they can also shop for handicrafts in the brewery.

The Old Arai Residence allows people to glimpse into the structure of old houses around Chichibu. In the past, there used to be many silk farms, including the Arai family. However, as the practice fell out of favor, tools and structures designed for silk farming disappeared as well. This residence kept its thatched roof, and visitors can still see the partitions from before. It is a cool respite from the summer heat, and makes for an interesting backdrop for photos.

Have you run out of ideas about where to go in the Greater Tokyo Area? Try leaving the city proper and travel to smaller towns like Nagatoro to experience their local culture. You will definitely be pleasantly surprised by the delicious food and extraordinary scenery!

For more information about visiting Saitama, check out the official Saitama Facebook page! https://www.facebook.com/saitamajapan.en


If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search