美味程度不輸神戶牛!九州高級大理石油紋「宮崎牛」的五十道陰影

和牛口感多汁、柔軟,肉色如大理石紋精美。不可否認它是世界上最美味的牛肉之一。而和牛實際上有很多不同品種,每一種都來自不同的地區和血統。其中最高級的一種是來自九州的宮崎牛。如果您喜歡日本料理、牛肉或單純是美食,請繼續閱讀本文,因為宮崎牛絕對會讓您下定決心一生必吃一次!

宮崎

美食

和牛的五十道陰影

正如前言中簡要提到的,「和牛」並非單一品種的牛肉,而是分有許多種,為日本產食用牛肉品種之統稱。目前主要品種為日本黑毛和種褐毛和種無角和種日本短角種,佔日本所有和牛約90%。

除了品種之外,日本許多不同地區都有自己的和牛品牌,如神戶、松坂、米澤和宮崎等。雖然大多數著名的和牛品牌實際上都是日本黑毛和種,但牛隻的飼養方式、氣候、飼料等因素,都會使牛肉各具不同且鮮明的特徵。

根據農林水產省的數據顯示,目前日本共有320多個不同品牌的和牛。然而在日本全國稱得上家喻戶曉的知名種類,其實只有寥寥幾款。

至於本文的主角——宮崎牛,則是在日本國內外都受到關注的品種之一,下面將做詳細介紹。

宮崎縣在哪呢?

宮崎位於日本四大島嶼之一九州的南部。當地氣候宜人、溫和,以美麗海灘、溫泉和鬱鬱蔥蔥的國家公園、熱情好客的當地人聞名。儘管是個適合旅遊的地方,但它卻是外國遊客最不常前往的縣之一,如果想避開擁擠人群,宮崎其實是一個非常好的去處。

宮崎牛比神戶牛美味?

若是從來沒有吃過高級日本和牛的經驗,那麼無論第一次嚐的是什麼品牌地區的和牛,或許都會被其美味度感到大吃一驚。

和牛與其他牛肉的區別在於,脂肪均勻地分佈在整個紅肉中的程度,而非只是集中在特定部位。這種現象又稱為「霜降り」或「サシ」,在日語中的意思是「大理石花紋」,這樣的肉柔軟且易於咀嚼。人們經常將其形容為「在口中融化」,這是有原因的——比起其他國家、其他牛種的牛肉,和牛油脂融點較低。

如果從未體驗過在口中融化的牛肉是何等美味,那無論吃神戶牛或宮崎牛,您留下的印象或許都是差不多深刻的。 然而一旦吃過幾次和牛,有了經驗後,可能就會開始對不同品牌之間的差異產生興趣。

首先可以比較一下價格。一塊500克的牛腰肉牛排(生肉價格,非餐廳提供的料理)神戶牛的價格約為 50,000日幣(約13,000台幣),而宮崎牛的價格約為15,000日幣(約4,500台幣)。雖然兩者價錢上的差距相當大,但這種差異姑且只能說明世界各地對名聲遐邇的神戶牛有著大量需求,而非實質上肉的質量有如此大差別。

說到肉質的特性,神戶牛以非常細膩的大理石花紋聞名,據說比起其他和牛融點更低。然而另一方面,宮崎牛也正以其細膩的大理石花紋、光滑醇厚的油脂豐富度,以及瘦肉和脂肪之間的出色平衡聞名。如果您同時吃這兩種肉,可能很難當下立判哪一種更好吃。

聽聽沃夫甘·帕克(Wolfgang Puck)的選擇

沃夫甘·帕克(Wolfgang Puck)是著名的洛杉磯奧地利裔美國廚師,若問他比較喜愛宮崎牛或神戶牛,或許他會選擇將票投給宮崎牛。這位名廚在2018年奧斯卡頒獎典禮後派對上所做的牛肉料理,正是使用宮崎牛,他在過去20幾年裡一直擔任這個派對的主廚。而宮崎牛也在好萊塢頂級名人圈中大受好評,以至於他在隔年的活動中再次將其列入菜單 ,供應宮崎牛生牛肉塔(韃靼牛肉)、迷你漢堡和牛排等。

帕克甚至形容它為「我最喜歡的菜餚之一(ne of my favorite dishes)」,現在是不是真的沒有理由不去宮崎試試了呢!

宮崎市不容錯過的宮崎牛餐廳

如果您已決定前往令人驚嘆的宮崎縣,享受溫泉、海灘和宮崎牛,以下是我們推薦的一些專門供應宮崎牛的餐廳。 選擇這幾間餐廳絕對不會錯!

みょうが屋:宮崎牛燒肉

燒肉是享用任何一種和牛最受歡迎的方式之一,而宮崎牛也不例外。在此可以點各種部位切塊的小份量餐點,在一頓飯中同時品嚐和比較所有不同部位的味道和質地。也因為是自己烤肉,可以按照自己喜歡的方式烹飪和調味每一塊肉。

宮崎市最好的其中一家烤肉店叫做「みょうが屋」。這家餐廳由同一位老闆經營30多年,專門提供超新鮮的肉(所有供應的肉都是在兩天內屠宰的)。有精選的優質牛腰肉、菲力牛排等可以選擇;也有內臟,如肝臟和牛肚。

我們建議您選擇套餐,盡可能嘗試店裡任所有食物。套餐價格相對經濟實惠(5,500日幣),還配有開胃菜、牛肉湯以及精選的優質牛肉和內臟。

ミヤチク:宮崎牛牛排專門店

誰會不喜歡美味的牛排?在日本最流行的高級和牛吃法之一是在「鐵板燒」餐廳。每張桌子或櫃檯上都有一個大鐵板,專業廚師就在面前為您準備牛排。如果想要吃一頓完美熟度的牛排和觀賞性十足的飯,這裡是一個很不錯的選擇!

專門供應宮崎牛的鐵板燒餐廳「ミヤチク」在當地很有名,甚至在日本全國其他地方也有幾家分店。 不過宮崎市的本店是您一定要去試試看的地方。

晚餐有多種選擇,從3500日元的牛排(150g)到12600日元的優質菲力牛排(120g)應有盡有。所有的肉都是當地產、質量上乘的宮崎牛。午餐時間也提供相同的選項,價格則比較便宜一些。

要想好好坐著享用美味的餐點和最好的牛排(還會在您面前烹飪!),ミヤチク是無與倫比的美麗!

らんぷ亭:採用西餐方式烹飪的宮崎牛餐廳

另一種享受宮崎牛的有趣方式是「洋食」,意思是「西餐」。宮崎市一家名為らんぷ亭的餐廳,40多年來一直提供使用宮崎當地食材入饌的出色洋食。如紅酒宮崎燉牛肉,質地柔軟,醬汁濃郁芬芳;宮崎牛漢堡排,則可能是會您吃過最多汁的漢堡排;價格實惠的宮崎牛里脊或菲力牛排等。

還有許多其他經典的日本洋食菜餚如歐姆蛋包飯、義大利麵和炸物等,除了牛肉之外還有很多可以一起搭配享受的美食。試試這間餐廳,品嚐經典復古、充滿日式風格的日本洋食吧!

宮崎牛就在宮崎縣等著您!

宮崎牛是否讓您非常心動?下趟旅行何不就出發前往九州品嚐宮崎牛!如果您是喜歡閱讀介紹美食文章的人,旅行的美食清單,肯定也是您考慮最重要的事情之一吧?如果是這樣的話,九州會是您在日本的完美旅遊地。自成一格並風靡全球的拉麵風格、新鮮的海產、全日本最好的水果,九州可以說是一個美食天堂,也是日本人為了吃美食而旅行的地方之一! 欲了解更多關於九州的旅遊資訊,請到九州特輯看更多精彩文章。

封面照片來源: PIXTA

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

搜尋餐廳

Better Than Kobe Beef! Kyushu's High-End Miyazaki Beef Is a Must-Try

Wagyu. Juicy, divinely soft, and beautifully marbled. It is undeniably the best beef in the world. But there are actually quite a few different varieties of wagyu, each from a different region and lineage of cow. One of the finest is Miyazaki beef from Kyushu, and if you are a fan of Japanese food, beef, or just delicious things in general, keep reading, because this is one type of beef that you will want to add to your gourmet bucket list.

Miyazaki

Food & Drinks

50 Shades of Wagyu

As mentioned briefly in the intro, there are actually many different kinds of "wagyu" (a Japanese word that can literally be translated as "Japanese beef/cow"). There are four main breeds of wagyu: Akage Wa-shu (Japanese Brown), Nihon Tankaku-shu (Japanese Shorthorn), Mukaku Wa-shu (Japanese Polled), and Kuroge Wa-shu (Japanese Black), the last of which makes up 90% of all wagyu cattle in Japan. 

Beyond the breeds, many different regions across Japan have their own "brand" of wagyu, including places like Kobe, Matsuzaka, Yonezawa, and Miyazaki. While most of the famous wagyu brands are actually the same breed of cow (Japanese Black), the way that the cows are raised, the differing climates, feed, and so on, make for beef with distinct characteristics (to the experienced wagyu eater, at least). 

In total, there are currently more than 320 different brands of wagyu across Japan, according to the Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries. Of those, however, only a handful are well-known nationwide.

One such brand that has gained attention both inside and outside of Japan is Miyazaki Beef, about which this article will go into detail.

Miyazaki, Where's That?

Miyazaki? Isn't that the name of the guy who made that Totoro movie? 

It is, but it also happens to be the name of a Japanese prefecture that is located in the southern part of Kyushu, one of Japan's four main islands. 

Miyazaki has a lovely mild climate and is known for its great beaches, beautiful "onsen" (hot springs), lush national parks, and friendly local hospitality. Despite being such a great place, it is one of the less-frequented prefectures by international tourists, making it a very good place to visit if you want to escape the crowds found in some of Japan's more famous prefectures. 

Is Miyazaki Beef Really Better Than Kobe Beef?

We'll be honest: if you've never tasted real, high-end Japanese wagyu before, you will probably be blown away no matter what brand of wagyu you try.

The thing that sets wagyu apart from other types of beef is that the fat is spread nearly evenly throughout the red meat, rather than being consolidated in just a few places. This is called "shimofuri" or "sashi," meaning "marbling" in Japanese, and means that the meat is soft and easy to chew. People often describe it as "melting in your mouth," and there's a reason—the fat in wagyu actually melts at a lower temperature than the fat in other beef from cow breeds found outside of Japan. 

If you've never experienced beef that literally melts in your mouth, you will likely be equally as impressed by Kobe beef as you are by Miyazaki beef. However, once you have a few wagyu meals under your belt, you might start to be intrigued by the differences between the brands.

For starters, we can compare the price. For a 500-gram sirloin steak (just the meat, not at a restaurant) Kobe Beef costs around 50,000 yen (500 U.S. dollars), while Miyazaki Beef costs around 15,000 yen (150 U.S. dollars). That's quite a gap, but it's likely that the difference speaks more to the demand for the world-famous Kobe Beef than to the actual quality of the meat. 

When it comes to characteristics of the meat, Kobe Beef is known for its very delicate marbling, which is said to melt at even a lower temperature than other wagyu brands. Miyazaki Beef, however, is also known for its delicate marbling, as well as its smooth and mellow richness and excellent balance between red meat and fat. If you ate the two types of meat side-by-side, it would probably be pretty difficult to decide which was better.

This would then leave it up to the price, in which case Miyazaki Beef is the clear winner in terms of value for your money, hence the title of this article!

If Wolfgang Puck's Opinion Means Anything...

In case you were wondering, yes, Wolfgang Puck (the famous LA-based Austrian-American chef) would also pick Miyazaki Beef. In fact, that's exactly what the celebrity chef did at the 2018 official Oscars after-party, for which he has done the catering for the past 25 plus years. And, it turned out to be such a hit among Hollywood's top celebrities that he put it on the menu again at the next year's event as well, serving Miyazaki Beef tartare, mini burgers, and steak!

Puck even called it "one of my favorite dishes," so, there you go. Now you really have no excuse to not travel to Miyazaki to try it! 

Must-Try Miyazaki Beef Restaurants in Miyazaki City

So, you've made the decision to travel to the amazing prefecture of Miyazaki for some hot springs, beaches, and Miyazaki Beef. Good choice! Here are some of our recommended restaurants that specialize in Miyazaki Beef. You can't go wrong with any of these!

Myogaya - For Miyazaki Beef Yakiniku

"Yakiniku" (Japanese-style barbecue) is one of the most popular ways to enjoy any sort of wagyu, and Miyazaki Beef is no exception. Since you can order small plates of various cuts of meat, you can compare the tastes and textures of all the different parts of the cow in one meal. Also, since you grill the meat yourself, you can cook and season each piece just the way you like it. 

One of the very best yakiniku restaurants in Miyazaki City is called Myogaya. The restaurant has been run by the same owner for more than 30 years, and specializes in super-fresh meat (all of the meat served was butchered no more than two days before!). You can order a la carte from a selection of premium cuts like sirloin, filet, etc.; as well as a selection of "horumon" (offal) such as liver and tripe. 

We suggest trying a bit of everything by going with the course meal, however, which is an affordable 5,500 yen and comes with appetizers, beef soup, and a hearty selection of both premium cuts of beef and horumon for grilling!

Miyachiku - for Miyazaki Beef Steak

Who doesn't love a great steak? In Japan, one of the most popular ways to eat high-end wagyu is at a "teppanyaki" restaurant, where each table or counter has a large griddle connected to it and the expert chef prepares your steak right in front of you. If you want a perfectly-cooked steak and an entertaining meal, this is a great way to go!

One of the best teppanyaki restaurants specializing in Miyazaki Beef is called Miyachiku. The restaurant is famous locally, and now even has a few branches in other parts of the country. The original restaurant in Miyazaki City, though, is the place to go. 

Miyazaki Beef dinner meals come in a variety of options, ranging from a 150-gram red meat steak for 3,500 yen, up to a premium 120-gram filet for 12,600 yen. All of the meat is locally-raised Miyazaki Beef, and the quality is outstanding. The same options are also available at lunchtime for a slightly discounted price.

For a nice sit-down meal and some of the best steak you will ever eat (cooked right in front of you!), Miyachiku can't be beaten!

Lamp-Tei - for Miyazaki Beef Prepared With "Western" Techniques

Another interesting way to enjoy Miyazaki Beef is in "yoshoku," meaning "western cuisine." Japan is home to a surprisingly large number of yoshoku restaurants, most of which are run by Japanese chefs. The best places offer fresh Japanese ingredients prepared with French and other techniques, for outstanding cuisine you can't experience anywhere else. 

In Miyazaki City, a restaurant called Lamp-Tei has been serving outstanding yoshoku cuisine with Miyazaki ingredients for over 40 years. Some of the delicacies to try include the red wine Miyazaki Beef tail stew, which has a divinely tender texture and rich, dark sauce; the Miyazaki Beef Hamburg steak, which just might be the juiciest Hamburg steak you ever try; or the reasonably-priced Western-style Miyazaki Beef sirloin or filet steaks. 

There are also many other classic Japanese yoshoku dishes such as "omurice" (omelet rice), pasta, and fried foods, so there is plenty to enjoy other than just the beef. Give this place a try for a classic taste of retro Japanese yoshoku cuisine. 

Miyazaki Beef Awaits in Miyazaki Prefecture!

So, what do you think? Is Miyazaki beef going on your gourmet bucket list? If so, we urge you to head to Kyushu to give Miyazaki beef a try. It's so darn good!

In any case, if you're the type who read all the way to the bottom of an article about food, it's probably one of the most important things that you consider when traveling, right? If that's the case, Kyushu just might be the perfect destination for you in Japan. From famous ramen to incredibly fresh seafood, to some of the best fruit in all of Japan, Kyushu is a gourmet paradise and one of the places that Japanese people travel to just to eat the food! If you're interested in learning more about this amazing island, check out the official website:

Visit Kyushu Official Website: https://www.visit-kyushu.com/en/

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

Title image: PIXTA

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search