【实用资讯】从知名餐厅到便利店皆是?!“京都招牌颜色和世界基准不同”的秘密

京都曾是日本的首都,历史达千年之久。其间孕育出深具历史价值的建筑物与传统文化交织而成的街景,散发古色古香的风情。有着此番风貌的京都,与东京以及大阪等日本其他都市有着很大的不同,其中一项便是京都餐厅与便利店等店家的商标与招牌,与我们平时常见的配色不同,其配色低调到令人大吃一惊。为何会有这种现象呢?本文将介绍其背后蕴藏的秘密原因,也为你整理了造访京都时必看的特色招牌。

京都府

深度日本

被严格条例保护的京都美丽街景

京都市四周有三边为群山环绕,拥有丰富的自然景观,加上过去曾为日本首都,因此城市中分布着众多世界遗产与历史文化遗产。

但此地与其他国家大多数的旅游景点一样,随着文明发达等现代化现象,街景也随之改变,观光客增加的同时,商业设施与餐厅等店家数量也跟着增加,成为古老与新潮共存的城市。

京都街景最为明显的特征,就是为了维护众多妆点历史性建筑物的景观而整顿的街道。为了保护此番美景,2007年制定了景观条例“京都的景观准则”。在此规范中,建筑物的高度、颜色、设计与户外广告等都有着相当严格的规定,如屋顶颜色“瓦片原则上是素雅的银色”“铜板以外的金属板与其屋顶素材原则上需使用无光泽的深灰色或黑色”,外墙部分则是“红色系色相中,不得使用彩度超过6者”等制定了许多详细的准则。众多知名企业的商标也根据此准则做修改,家喻户晓的大型餐饮店与享誉全球的服饰店等品牌,也为了京都改变其风貌。

实际前往看看吧!京都与其他都道府县店家的商标/招牌设计哪里不同?

那么,符合京都严格的规定所制作出的招牌,到底是什么样子呢?以下就来比较看看遍布日本全国的人气企业与世界闻名的知名连锁品牌,其常见的设计与在京都的不同之处吧!

餐饮店

●麦当劳

提到麦当劳,就会想到全世界家喻户晓的红色背景加上黄色商标。位于京都分店的商标虽然也是黄色,但乍看之下不会让人联想到麦当劳,而是设计成融入京都的街景。就算招牌和普通一般的分店风格类似,但背景色会使用较为朴素的浅咖啡色,避免影响京都市容。

●星巴克

提到星巴克就会想到其令人印象深刻的白绿配色。但就像上方照片一样,只有京都才能看见木质调沉稳风格的招牌。挂着这个招牌的是位于清水寺参道上的“星巴克京都二宁坂八坂茶屋店”,此区京町家林立,也是京都地区中特别保有复古街景的地方。此处乍看之下也很难发现到星巴克,完美地融入街景之中。

●Sukiya

日本大型连锁牛丼(牛肉盖浇饭)品牌“Sukiya”在日本全国约有2,000个分店(统计于2019年),近年来也前往中国、泰国与巴西等地拓展分店。红色背景加上白色与黄色文字是常见的设计,但京都分店的招牌则是将原有的红色与黄色改为咖啡色与黄土色,采用比较不显眼的沉稳设计。

便利商店

●7-11

7-11是日本最大型的连锁便利店,在日本国内有超过2万个分店,全球则有6万个以上分店。我们常见的设计为橘色搭配绿色、红色格线加上商标,配色相当缤纷,但在京都部分分店则采用咖啡色与白色的简单设计。有些店家招牌使用的颜色与普通的设计款式相同,但背景的白色则改为透明,使其较不显眼,也会考虑是否能融入格子状建筑物外墙。

●FamilyMart

大型连锁便利店FamilyMart在日本国内有近17000个分店,以亚洲为主的海外市场也有近8000个分店,以黄绿色与白色为基调,再加上水蓝色商标是最常见的招牌设计。但京都的招牌白色比重占7至9成,以较不显眼的配色达到不妨碍景观的效果。

●LAWSON

大型连锁便利店LAWSON在日本全国有近15000个店,近年来也拓展分店至中国、菲律宾、泰国与印尼等地。水蓝色搭配粉红色的配色再加上白色文字是常见的招牌设计,在京都则可见到减少水蓝色比例并以白色为基调,文字改成水蓝色的招牌,或者以黑色为基调,为了降低整体色调而使用蓝色,或者在瓦片屋顶林立的地区增添日式元素等各种设计。

其他

●UNIQLO

全球拥有超过2,000个分店的服饰品牌——UNIQLO,其红色商标搭配白色文字是家喻户晓的设计。京都部分店家会像上方照片一样,将红色商标加上白色外框,使其较为不显眼。此外,建筑物也使用高雅沉着的配色,防止影响到京都市容,考虑与周围景观的风格是否相似。

●松本清

松本清是深受日本人与外国游客喜爱的日本人气连锁药妆店。普通的招牌有着以蓝色为基调的背景,再加上黄色与红色,使其较为显眼。我们可以看到京都的分店即使位于商店街中,招牌也以灰色为基调,采用较为沉稳的配色。

●au

au是日本国内大型手机服务品牌之一。通常为橘色背景加上白色文字,采用从远方就能看到的配色设计,但京都的招牌配色低调到让人吓一跳。

●Times

Times是在日本全国皆有大型时间制停车场及提供共享汽车服务的品牌。平常常见的招牌以黄色为基调,相当显眼,但京都则使用白或黑色等非常简朴的配色。

礼仪宣导也很符合京都风格!旅游胜地伫立着的独特看板

“禁止步行于道路正中央”、“路上禁止抽烟”、“不得碰触舞妓”等各式各样宣导礼仪的看板其实也采取符合京都风格的设计。因深具历史意义的传统建筑物大多为木造建筑,提醒游客注意事项的看板也是木制,在充满日式风情的街景中也毫不突兀。

京都为了长久保留自古以来传承至今的传统并尊重美丽的街景,根据许多规则打造了这座城市。以上的小地方之前没说可能没注意到,但知道了之后,说不定会让你的京都之旅更加有趣喔!

本文提供信息均以公开时为准。

Weibo

体验日本

住宿

购物

搜寻餐厅

Do You Know The Secret Behind Kyoto’s Strangely Colored Signs?

Kyoto was once Japan’s capital for close to a thousand years, and this history has left Kyoto with rich traditions that reflect the historical and cultural values of Japan. What’s interesting is that this culture can even be observed through their signs! Restaurants, convenience stores, and others all have their signs and logos altered from their original colors to be surprisingly calm and toned down. Read on to discover the reason why these signs in Kyoto are re-colored, and see some examples of the more interesting signs in the city!

Kyoto

Japan In-Depth

The Strict Regulations That Protect Kyoto’s Beautiful Cityscape

Surrounded by mountains on three sides, the city of Kyoto is blessed with nature, along with numerous world, historical, and cultural heritage sites left from its rich history of being Japan’s capital. However, similarly to other tourist sites across the world, Kyoto has experienced rapid technological advances and modernization, and a boom in tourists, commercial facilities, and restaurants has resulted, creating a city where tradition and modernity co-exist.

Kyoto’s cityscape is so distinctive, because they plan their city in a way that preserves its historical scenery. For the city to maintain its beauty, the Miyako Landscape Guidelines were created in 2007. These guidelines set strict regulations for the height and color of buildings, their design, and their outdoor advertisements. The very detailed regulations concerning roofs include “Roof tiles are to be silver-colored” and “Metal sheets other than copper sheets must be dark gray or black with no gloss”; regarding outer walls, “Walls with R hues [on the Munsell system] may not exceed 6 in value”. Many well-known businesses and enterprises have changed their logos according to these guidelines and have transformed into a look that can only be seen in Kyoto.

Let's Take a Look! How Different Are the Logo/Signs Designs in Kyoto, Compared to Other Prefectures?

So, how do the signs that follow these guidelines look? Below are some design comparisons for nationally and internationally famous brands, between their normal logos and their Kyoto locations.

Restaurants

●McDonald's

McDonald's is known worldwide for its red background and yellow logo. However in Kyoto, the logo remains yellow, yet the overall design blends in with the other buildings so much that it’s hard to recognise the store at first glance. Even if the style of the store and its sign don’t really differ from its other branches, most stores use brown-ish background colors in order to maintain the overall style of the city. 

●Starbucks

Starbucks is typically known for its white and green colors. However, as seen in the photos above, it has been transformed into a calmer design with a wood-like texture only seen in Kyoto. This Starbucks Kyoto Ninenzaka Yasaka Chaya branch is located on the road leading to Kiyomizudera temple, an area especially left to look like Japan in the olden days, lined with traditional Kyoto-style houses. This is another example where it’s blended into its surroundings so much that it’s hard to recognize.

●Sukiya

Japan’s major beef-bowl chain “Sukiya” operates around 2,000 branches within Japan (as of 2019), and in recent years, it has branched out overseas to countries such as China, Thailand, and Brazil. Its usual logo is designed with a red background with white and yellow lettering, but its Kyoto branch has toned itself down to a brownish, yellow ochre palette.

Convenience Stores

●7-Eleven

7-Eleven is Japan’s largest convenience store chain, operating over 20,000 branches in Japan alone and over 60,000 branches worldwide. It’s usually recognised by its orange, green, and red stripes, whereas in Kyoto, those stripes have been limited to a combination of brown and white. There are some branches that maintain its colorful logo, but make the white stripes transparent to de-emphsize the logo and blend it in with the traditional architecture.

●FamilyMart

With around 17,000 branches in Japan and 8,000 branches worldwide (most of them in Asia), Japan’s major convenience store chain FamilyMart is known for its lime green and white background with light blue lettering. We see here again that the color white takes up 70 to 90 percent of the sign as a way to tone down the emphasis of these logos and meet the cityscape guidelines. 

●LAWSON

LAWSON is another major Japanese convenience store chain with at least 15,000 branches within Japan, and in recent years has reached out to China, the Philippines, Thailand and Indonesia. The design is usually light-blue with notes of pink and white lettering, but the Kyoto branches get creative by incorporating traditional Japanese designs. This includes lessening the light blue ratio and changing it to a more white-based design, to using black as a base color to tone down the overall design and using the light blue as more of an accent color among the surrounding tiled roofs.

Other Stores

●UNIQLO

With more than 2,000 branches worldwide, the apparel brand UNIQLO is known for its logo of white text on a red background. As seen above, some branches in Kyoto tone the design down somewhat by simply framing the logo with a white border. The design of the building itself has a chic look to it, making it blend in harmoniously with its surrounding buildings.

●Matsumoto Kiyoshi

Matsumoto Kiyoshi is a popular pharmacy chain, loved not only by local Japanese customers but by countless foreign visitors as well. Usually the store has an eye-catching yellow or red logo on a blue-based background, while in their Kyoto branches, they use a calm, gray-based sign even in shopping streets.

●au

Au is one of Japan’s domestic cell phone providers. In Kyoto, its eye-catching white-on-orange logo has been transformed into a surprisingly moderate color scheme. 

●Times

Times is a major car-parking and car-sharing service, with locations throughout the country. They usually use an eye-catching yellow sign, but this has transformed into a very simple black-and-white sign in Kyoto.

Kyoto-esque Etiquette Signs! Unique Signs In Tourist Sites

Etiquette signs such as “Do not walk in the middle of the street”, “Do not smoke on this street”, and “Do not touch the maiko [apprentice geisha]” are also becoming a unique Kyoto custom. Since many of the historical monuments are constructed by wood, so are these etiquette signs.

In this way, Kyoto gives its all to maintain its ancient traditions and beautiful cityscapes by building its community upon strict regulations. You might not have noticed if you didn't know, but with this knowledge, your trip to Kyoto might show you something new and interesting. 

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Things to Do

Hotels & Ryokan

Shopping

Restaurant Search