体验蓝染,畅游古民家!感受江户时代日本的川崎之旅

川崎市立日本民家园坐落在神奈川县川崎市,距离位于东京市中心的新宿仅需20分钟车程,从羽田机场前往则约需1小时。你可以在此观赏并体验好几世纪前的日本人生活,仿佛搭了时光机回到那个年代。这次我们参加的行程,不但可以游览设施中的古民家,一窥江户时代的生活样貌,甚至还可以亲身体验蓝染呢!不仅如此,行程中还有精通双语的导游为我们服务!如果你想暂时远离现代人的忙碌生活,建议你可以来这体验一下古代简朴的生活。

川崎

体验

※本文与关东运输局、当地自治体、铁道公司合作撰写。

川崎简介

川崎市位于神奈川县东北部,与北边的东京之间隔着多摩川相望,南边则邻近横滨与其它大城市,是十分受到欢迎的“睡城(Commuter town)”。这一带的京滨工业区,在高度经济成长期扮演了重要的角色,过去曾聚集大量工人,因此留下不少澡堂、老字号餐饮店等历史悠久之处,再加上许多大型商业设施进驻,已经成为十分宜居的地区。新旧并存的街道,正是这里最吸引人之处。

而我们这次造访的川崎日本民家园,非常适合已来过日本无数次,想更深入日本历史文化、建筑,并渴望远离城市喧嚣的人。同时也推荐给不喜欢跟团游,想跟家人朋友一起玩的游客。在我们参访的行程中,导游的主要工作为蓝染行程的中文口译,并为我们解说每个古民家的特别之处。以下就为各位一一介绍这趟行程的可看之处!

集合:小田急电铁 向丘游园车站

行程当日,我们当天早上9点30分在车站集合。在车站前与导游会合,听取当天行程与注意事项的简介后,导游便带着我们搭上前往日本民家园的路线巴士。

我们的旅程,就在途中不时传来的鸟鸣声中揭开序幕。日本民家园周围绿意盎然,据说风景会随四季而异,为我们这趟旅程增添了不少色彩。

以传统蓝染工艺染制手帕!

我们为了体验蓝染工艺而前往传统工艺馆时,发现工作人员和游客都佩戴口罩、测量体温,并以酒精消毒,对于新冠病毒的防范十分周全,真是让人放心。

所谓的蓝染,指的是将布料泡在以蓼蓝等植物为原料所制成的蓝液,再曝晒于空气中,反复使其氧化来染色,是一种从古流传至今的朴实手工艺。那美丽的蓝色渐层,据说曾被明治时代造访日本的外国人赞誉为“日本蓝”,是日本自古以来就存在的雅致色彩。

传统工艺馆的工作人员在我们面前实际操作介绍。导游事前提醒我们,蓝染的蓝液要是沾到衣服上,马上就会渗进布料里,而且再也洗不掉,所以前往参观时最好穿着脏污比较不显眼的深色衣物,避免穿着昂贵的衣服。建议你可以自行携带围裙等前往,这样一来就不必担心弄脏衣服了。

除了围裙之外,由于为了降低感染传染病的几率,古民家会打开所有门窗换气,建议你最好穿着比较保暖的衣物。(这里冬天即使没开窗也很冷,请多加留意。)

行程中准备了手帕、头巾、迷你手提袋等供游客体验。我们一行人正好三个人,所以决定每个人各挑一种来体验蓝染!(你也可以携带自己喜欢的布料。布口罩也可。馆方希望可以事先确认游客带来的布料是否适合染色,如果你要自行携带布料,请事先告知导游。)

你可以使用夹子、橡皮筋、红豆、底片盒等小工具,标示出不想被染色的部分,借此呈现自己想要的花纹。只要运用这些小工具,搭配上各种折叠方式,就能通过留白来呈现花纹(你也可以在染色时移除小工具,让布料染上浅蓝色)。

在染色的过程中,布料上会缠满夹子、棍棒、弹珠和底片盒,完全无法想象最后会染成什么模样。

其实这正是蓝染的特色之一。即使染色的工序和工具相同,染出来的成品也会不一样。因制作者而异的线条与渐层,搭配那蓼蓝所呈现出的深遂色泽,正是蓝染的意义所在。而这也让我们真正了解到所谓的“侘寂(Wabi-sabi)”,就是为不完全赋予价值的日本传统审美观。

开始体验蓝染时(其实应该说在开始之前),就可以闻到蓼蓝刺鼻的气味(蓼蓝经过发酵后即可用来染色)。在将已有花纹的布料泡进蓝液里,集中精神染色的过程中,那刺鼻的气味也就不再那么令人在意了。

将布料从蓝液中捞起,曝晒在空气之中后,原本绿色的布料转眼间就会化作蓝色。重复两次后以水冲洗,再进行脱水,蓝染便就此大功告成。经过一连串步骤后,这下终于可以欣赏到成品了。这瞬间真是让人又惊又喜!我们抱着忐忑不安的心情,取下绑在上头的橡皮筋,这时呈现在眼前的美丽花纹,那神秘的模样远远超出原本的想象。

这里也会展示出自工作人员之手的蓝染作品。这些作品在制作时运用了五花八门的手法,令我们不禁看得入迷。除了成品令人满意外,体验的过程也十分有趣,我们都觉得下次有机会的话一定还要来体验一次!

中国游客经常会选购化妆品、零食点心等作为伴手礼,但在这里制作的话,不仅独一无二、在其他地方也买不到,绝对是专属于您的伴手礼。实际造访就能亲身体验到真正的日本风情!

参观古民家,了解各处的时代背景与地区特色

接下来我们前往古民家的露天博物馆参观。川崎市立日本民家园开办于1967年,共有25处日本传统民家(古民家)坐落在大自然中,其中7处更是被列为日本的国家重要文化遗产。这些古民家是从日本各地迁移至此,原本主要位于神奈川县与其它东日本各县。每个古民家的建筑规格各异,建造时期也不尽相同(从17世纪到20世纪都有),另外也可以观察到各地之间的差异。

民家园是位于生田绿地内的设施。套餐行程中并未包括在绿地散步的行程,不过在各处景点之间移动时,还是可以在充满大自然的环境中感受到安详的时光。

如果25处都认真参观的话,可能会让人觉得有点无聊吧。不过用不着担心。其实导游也很清楚会有这种情形,所以会视游客感兴趣的程度来导览。

北村家住宅兴建于1687年,是此处展示的古民家中最古老的一处,原本位于神奈川县中央一带。厨房与大厅的开放式设计为其特色。墙壁与地板则是以竹子为建材。茅草屋顶虽然在古民家中很常见,不过相较于照片,亲眼目睹更能感受到其重量感,十分令人感动。再加上以现代人的观点而言,我们原本以为这种住宅(以及在里头的生活起居)会十分脆弱,不过到现场实际参观其结构后,才发现那技术之先进,简直让人无法想象工业革命之前就已经存在。特别是两层楼的住宅,更是让我们有这种感觉。

建造于17世纪左右的广濑家,则是从山梨县迁移至此。这个时代的茅草屋顶,大多是向四端斜下的庑殿顶,广濑家却是向两端斜下的悬山顶。据说以当时的技术而言,要建造这种屋顶非常困难,因此十分罕见。而且大门的屋檐非常低,低到我们还得低下头才能进去。除了平均身高增加不少的现代人外,恐怕就连当时的人,应该也会觉得屋檐太低而不太方便吧。至于为什么要把屋檐盖得这么低呢?其实这是因为房子面对山地,而山梨县的八岳会在冬天吹起名为“八岳颪”的强风,为了阻挡强风才会如此设计。

水车小屋则是建造于19世纪中叶,从日本中部地方的长野县迁移至此。根据导游的介绍,这个水车并不是用来发电,而是用于磨粉、捣米、打稻草等用途。而几乎不使用金属钉,正是这年代日本建筑的特色之一。这年代的建筑是以木材拼组而成,就像是益智游戏一样。通过水车来观察这种建筑手法,更是令人感受到其鬼斧神工。

古民家的最后一站是原家住宅。相较于园内其它建筑,原家住宅的年代较近,同时也是最壮观的民家,其屋主原本是当地的大地主。原家住宅兴建于1911年,与民家园同样是从川崎市迁移而来。只要漫步于其中,就能清楚地发现这里和民家园其它建筑的不同之处。原家住宅里有玻璃窗和吊灯,甚至还有日本精工株式会社的时钟摆饰。不过这里的暖炉是烧炭的,顶多只能暖暖手,冬天应该会很冷吧。

每处古民家都各具特色,随着时代、地点与用途而有所不同。只要所在地的文化不同,家中的结构也会有所差异;由于气候不同(温度、湿度等),使用的建筑材料也会不一样。每处古民家结构的复杂与雄伟程度,也会反映出屋主的社会地位。

这里也有从中部地区迁移而来的合掌造建筑(茅草屋顶)。为了一睹这象征古代日本风情的建筑,许多人会特地前往岐阜县白川乡朝圣,不过其实在这里也能欣赏到迁移而来的合掌造民家,而且离东京还很近呢!(而且这里还会在茅草屋顶的古民家中供应荞麦面,同时也是设施内唯一的餐厅。)

漫步于自然与历史中的喜悦

我们在这看到好几所房子里吊着小小的柿子。这是为了将水果晾干后保存,用来当作过冬时的存粮。其中一所房子前的院子里还有个水池。水池里有个名叫“鹿威”的小竹筒装置,在其他亚洲国家很少能看到正宗日式庭园,知道其意义的人想必会更少。此装置是会让水缓缓地注入其中,当竹筒注满水后,就会因水的重量而翻转,将水倒出。接着竹筒会弹回原本的位置,发出咚的一声清脆声响。这朴实无华的装置散发出一种风情,让人感受到日常生活的可贵,导游告诉我们这也是所谓的“侘寂(Wabi-sabi)”。

园内的小路蜿蜒,四周的植物发挥隔音棉的功能,隔绝了其它一切声音,让人完全沉浸于古代日本的气氛之中,就像是历史剧等作品中经常可见的日本往日风景。如果是盛夏时造访这里,对于古民家的印象也许会完全不同。甚至可能会想离开现代社会一个礼拜,找一处古民家住一阵子也说不定。不过这次我们是在寒冷之际造访,也因此清楚地认识到今昔生活之间的不同,以及我们现在的生活有多么方便。

抱着对现代富裕生活的感恩之情,决定前往主楼展示室参观,作为这趟旅程的最后一站。展示场陈列着详尽的解说,参观者可以从中了解各种屋顶、墙壁与其它建筑要素的知识。我们请导游翻译了各项解说,借此充分了解其中的价值所在!

整趟行程大约需要4个小时,如果是从上午开始的行程,建议解散后可以到博物馆的餐厅吃个午餐,下午再悠闲地自由行动。我们一路和亲切的导游聊天,漫步在通往向丘游园车站的路上,一步步回到现代社会。

如果你对日本的传统文化有兴趣,请一定要参加这趟川崎的套餐行程。通过这趟行程所能得到的经验,绝对是只到著名观光景点所无法体会的!

古民家探访行程结束后

生田绿地除了日本民家园外,还有藤子・F・不二雄博物馆、冈本太郎美术馆、蔷薇苑等值得一游的景点。

藤子・F・不二雄博物馆

http://fujiko-museum.com/sc/

藤子・F・不二雄是日本著名的漫画家,其作品《哆啦A梦》、《小超人帕门》等都脍炙人口,你可以在这里欣赏到藤子・F・不二雄的“梦想”、“不可思议”与“玩心”。

冈本太郎美术馆

https://www.taromuseum.jp/pdf/pamphlet_chinese.pdf

蔷薇苑

http://k-kankou.jp/travelkawasaki/chs/attraction/noborito.html#OkamotoMuseum

小田急 登户车站

小田急线登户车站以“可以遇见哆啦A梦里的角色,有点不可思议的车站”为概念,打造一座四处都能见到哆啦A梦登场人物的车站。站内的坐椅、墙上等处,都可以找到登场人物的摆设,你可以在这好好享受哆啦A梦的世界哦!

多逛一下

从距离日本民家园最近的车站“向丘游园”搭乘小田急线,换乘JR南武线约30分钟车程,即可抵达川崎车站,这一带可是神奈川县首屈一指的闹市之一。你可以在这里好好消磨一下时间。

川崎浮世绘艺廊 ~斋藤文夫收藏展~

这个艺廊的收藏十分丰富,其中也不乏希世珍品,深受日本国内外的好评。

https://ukiyo-e.gallery/en/

川崎工厂夜景

既然来到川崎,当然不能错过工厂的夜景。每到晚上,位于川崎临海区京滨工业区的各家工厂,就会点亮照明设备。这里的夜景是目前备受瞩目的“工厂夜景”之一,你也可以从川崎车站搭乘游船前往欣赏。

http://www.k-kankou.jp/travelkawasaki/chs/factory/

川崎赛马场

川崎赛马场每年约有60天会举办赛马,其中4~12月约50天的夜间赛马气氛极佳,你可以在充满戏剧性的氛围中观赏比赛。每年秋天在川崎赛马场举行的“川崎赛马秋季祭典”也十分热闹。

https://www.kawasaki-keiba.jp/en/

川崎市住宿推荐

川崎市观光网站

http://http://www.k-kankou.jp/travelkawasaki/chs/hotels/

本文提供信息均以公开时为准。

Weibo

搜寻餐厅

Indigo Dyeing and Traditional Japanese Houses! Experience Edo-Period Japan on a Tour in Kawasaki

In Kawasaki, Kanagawa Prefecture, just 20 minutes away from central Tokyo's Shinjuku Station and 1 hour from Haneda Airport, is the Japan Open-Air Folk House Museum. Here you can feel as though you've slipped back in time while experiencing elements of the Japanese lifestyle from centuries past. In order to best see all the highlights of the museum, including its rich collection of traditional Japanese houses and a hands-on indigo-dyeing experience, we chose to participate in a guided tour with a bilingual guide! Feel like leaving busy modern life behind for a morning to be transported back to a simpler time? Then read on to learn more about this awesome tour!

Kawasaki

Things to Do

*This article was written in collaboration with the Kanto District Transport Bureau, local governments, and local railway companies.

About Kawasaki

Located in the northeastern part of Kanagawa Prefecture, Kawasaki is bordered by Tokyo to the north, across the Tama River, and by Yokohama to the south. Its location between the two major cities makes it a very popular place to live. During the post-war economic boom, it formed a part of the Keihin Industrial Region and attracted many workers, and the area is still home to many long-standing restaurants, sento (public bathhouses), and other historic locations that sprung up to serve them. On the other hand, the city has become a commercial hub and has developed into a very comfortable city to live in. It is this unique mix of old and new which makes Kawasaki a very attractive city indeed!

Kawasaki's Japan Open-Air Folk House Museum is aimed at smaller audiences of Japan lovers, history buffs, or architecture fans rather than casual first-time tourists. In the tour we participated in, the tour guide plays a vital role in translating the indigo-dyeing instructions to English and pointing out what to look for in the folk houses. For details of the cool things that we saw and did on the tour, read on!

Meeting Up at Odakyu Railway's Mukogaoka-yuen Station

We met at Mukogaoka-yuen Station on a crisp winter morning at 9:30. There, our tour guide laid out the tour’s schedule and some points to keep in mind, before guiding us onto a local bus that would take us to the Museum.

When we visited, the crisp air was decorated with the occasional birdsong. The area around the Folk House Museum is lush with beautiful natural scenery that changes with the season, and we enjoyed the colors of the trees on the path leading to our first stop.  

Design a Cloth Handkerchief With Indigo Dye, the Traditional Way!

As we entered the workshop which was our first stop, it was clear that they were taking COVID-19 prevention measures seriously, as all staff and guests were required to wear a mask, have their temperature checked, and sanitize their hands. 

Indigo dyeing, called "aizome" in Japanese, is performed by dipping cloth into a potent liquid made from knotweed. When exposed to the air, oxidation occurs and stains the cloth a dark blue color. This simple and traditional process has been handed down over generations and is a part of old Japanese culture. A beautiful gradation of indigo colors can be produced, from pale to deep blue, and this was supposedly called "Japan blue" by foreign visitors to Japan during the Meiji Period (1868 - 1912).

We were guided through the process by some kind ladies who worked at the workshop and were experienced in the practice. We’d been forewarned that the indigo ink can splatter, and it can easily create stains in clothing that can't be washed off (this is, after all, why it works as a dye!). We were told we should wear darker-colored items that weren’t too valuable, or bring aprons with us. What we should have been prepared for is that the little house keeps its doors and windows open for ventilation (another coronavirus measure), so we should have brought more layers! Other wintertime visitors should take note.

They offer the options of dyeing handkerchiefs, bandanas, and mini-tote bags. Since there were three of us participating, we opted for one of each! (You can also bring your own items to dye, including cloth masks, but they must be of certain materials for it to work, so let your tour guide know beforehand if you’d like to go down this route.)

How it works is that the whole object is eventually soaked in the indigo dye, so we used objects like clips, azuki beans, rubber bands, and mini-film canisters to keep certain parts of the cloth from making contact with the dye. The little objects, combined with methods of folding, create white patterns in the indigo product. (Some objects can be removed partway through the dyeing process, yielding patterns that are a lighter indigo color.)

I thought it would be possible to plan out a fancy design, but by the time you’re halfway through, and your cloth is a tangled clump of clips and sticks and marbles and canisters, you’re not really in a position to visualize the end product at all.

Which is the point, of course. Even if you use the same little objects in the same configuration, each piece will turn out differently.  You’re meant to enjoy each line and gradient that are the results of your particular handiwork, combined with the majesty of the deep shade of indigo. This, I would learn, was wabi-sabi - the traditional Japanese aesthetic sense that calls for an appreciation of imperfection.

As you begin the soaking process (before it, to be honest), you do notice the pungent smell of the indigo. (Indigo plants have to be fermented before they can be put to use as a dye.) But this is something you get over quickly, and once I did, swirling my creation around in the intensely-colored, twinkling liquid became a calming experience.

After removing the fabric from the dye for the first time, its color begins to change from green to indigo as it comes into contact with the air. This is repeated twice before finishing with a rinse of water. When we were finally able to see our end products, we were pleasantly surprised! I was skeptical that it would end up looking like what I’d imagined, but after removing all the rubber bands and clips, the finished product was revealed and was beautiful beyond our expectations.

The facility also displays indigo products made by the staff, which use a greater variety of methods and are quite beautiful and fascinating.

The indigo dyeing experience was fun and left us with an awesome souvenir in hand, and we would definitely like to do it again in the future!

Explore Traditional Japanese Houses From Various Eras and Regions

Next, our tour moved on to the Japan Open-Air Folk House Museum. the museum, which opened in 1967, is a collection of 25 traditional Japanese houses situated in the midst of natural scenery, among which 7 are designated as Important Cultural Properties. These houses have been moved here from all over Japan, though primarily from within Kanagawa Prefecture and other parts of eastern Japan. They reflect the different architectural styles of various centuries (17th through early 20th) and each of Japan’s regions.

The Folk House Museum is located within the grounds of Ikuta Ryokuchi park. The attractions of the park itself aren't on the tour itinerary, but throughout the tour, you can still enjoy the peace and quiet of the natural scenery.

Examining 25 houses may seem daunting, but thankfully the tour guide knows exactly how much detail to give, adjusting with the group’s level of interest.

One of the museum’s oldest displays is the Kitamura Residence, which was built in 1687 and was located in central Kanagawa. It features a large kitchen and living room, and a very open design; its walls and floors are largely made of bamboo. Its thatched roof, a commonality across many of these houses, looked far more weighty and impressive up close than in photos. Indeed, even as these houses (and the lives led within them) look quite sparse to our modern eyes, I found that the actual structures themselves were quite impressive feats for a pre-industrial society, particularly those houses with a second floor.

The Hirose Residence is a product of the 17th century and was transported here from Yamanashi Prefecture. Most thatched roofs from this period were in the form of "hipped" roofs, which slope in four directions, but this house is "gabled", meaning its roof only has two slopes. This was a difficult feat for the time!

The roof at the entrance was extremely low, and we had to lower our heads to enter. My initial assumption was this was because people were shorter in past centuries, but it seems the entrance was low even then. The reason for this was apparently that there was a mountain in the vicinity, the Yatsugatake, and that a strong wind would blow down it during the winter (the Yatsugatake-oroshi). The low roof served as protection against it.

There was a Water Mill, a mid-19th century structure from Nagano Prefecture in central Japan. As our tour guide explained to us, water wheels didn’t generate electricity back then but rather had the function of processing wheat, rice, and straw. One characteristic of Japanese construction from this time was that metallic nails were rarely ever used; rather, buildings were held together by very puzzle-like joints that slotted pieces of wood together. This accomplishment was particularly impressive for something on the scale of the water wheel.

The grand finale was the Hara Residence, relatively new and more extravagant than the other houses within the park, as it was owned by a local wealthy landowner. It dates back to 1911 and originates from the same Kawasaki City where the Museum is located. You can fully walk around this one, and it appears much more recognizable to today’s audiences than the other houses, from the glass windows to the chandeliers to an early decorative clock from Seiko. Yet, central heating was still yet to come, and making a fire in the fireplace was the way that people stayed warm.

Each of the houses in the museum told the tale of its time and place. Different local lifestyles meant different machines were kept in the house. Different local climates (like levels of humidity) meant different building materials. The complexity and grandeur of each house depended significantly on its owner’s social status.

There was even a gassho-zukuri (thatched-roof) house, brought over from central Japan. Many tourists travel all the way to Shirakawa-go in Gifu Prefecture to capture this type of rustic structure emblematic of old Japan, but there’s a perfectly reassembled example here as well, this close to Tokyo! (There is even a restaurant on the ground floor of this thatched-roof house that serves soba noodles and is the museum’s sole restaurant.)

A Pleasant Walk Through Nature and History

In some houses, we found little persimmons hanging from window sills, which served as a store of preserved dried fruits for the winter season. One house had in its garden a water feature called a "shishiodoshi," where a small bamboo tube slowly filled up with flowing water until it tipped over, letting out a satisfying thock as the tube returned to its position. Appreciating this sort of simplicity and austerity in everyday life, we were told, was also wabi-sabi.

The path through the museum winds down a forested hill surrounded by the calm of nature. The surrounding park acted as a buffer between us and all of the sights and sounds of modern society, allowing us to be fully immersed in the atmosphere of feudal Japan, the sort of life that you would find in a historical drama. Had we visited in midsummer, I might very well have had a different impression of these houses - perhaps even a desire to live in one for a week to unplug from society - but visiting on a cold day really underscored how different life used to be and how much we take for granted.

With my gratitude for the luxuries of modernity replenished, we concluded the tour with a quick peek into the museum gallery. Our tour guide helped to explain the exhibits, which showed various roofs, walls, and other architectural elements of these houses and provided an excellent complement to the physical exhibits!

The tour finishes in about 4 hours, so if you start in the morning, you might want to stay after the tour finishes to slurp noodles at the museum’s restaurant before spending the afternoon however you please. We opted to walk back to Mukogaoka-yuen Station, chatting with the amiable tour guide as we slowly re-entered modern society.

If you’re a fan of traditional Japanese culture, or interested in Japanese architecture, you will love this tour. It offers a unique experience that can't be found at most other traditional sightseeing places, and is definitely worth checking out!

After the Folk-House Museum Tour

Within the Ikuta Ryokuchi park, where the Folk-House Museum is located, you can find other attractions such as the Fujiko・F・Fujio Museum, the Taro Okamoto Memorial Museum, or the Rose Garden.

■ Fujiko・F・Fujio Museum
http://fujiko-museum.com/english/
Fujiko・F・Fujio is a manga artist known for creations such as Doraemon and Perman, and at this museum, you can immerse yourself in his dreamy, wondrous, and playful world.

■ Taro Okamoto Memorial Museum
https://www.taromuseum.jp/index_english.html

■ Ikuta Ryokuchi Park Rose Garden
http://k-kankou.jp/travelkawasaki/attraction/noborito.html#OkamotoMuseum

■ Odakyu Noborito Station
Noborito Station on the Odakyu Line is a very unusual station, where characters from the Doraemon anime series feature very prominently in the design. Characters adorn the station's walls and benches, so that you can immerse yourself in the world of Doraemon when you visit!

Further Afield in Kawasaki

The Kawasaki Station area can be accessed from Mukogaoka-yuen by taking the Odakyu Line to Noborito and then the JR Nambu Line, and it is one of Kanagawa's most lively neighborhoods. There's enough there to keep you entertained all day!

■ Kawasaki Ukiyo-e Gallery, Saito Fumio Collection
This gallery's exhibitions are drawn from a rich collection that includes some very rare items. It is a well-known gallery both domestically and internationally.
https://ukiyo-e.gallery/en/

■ Night View of the Kawasaki Factory Zone
When visiting Kawasaki, one thing you absolutely must do is see the nighttime view of the factories, which are on Kawasaki's coastline and part of the Keihin Industrial Zone. These plants are illuminated during the night so that work can continue, and this ethereal nighttime scene has become quite popular. There is a cruise tour of the area that departs from Kawasaki Station.
http://www.k-kankou.jp/travelkawasaki/factory/

■ Kawasaki Racecourse
This race course holds racing events on about 60 days per year, and among those, there are about 50 nighttime races held between April and December, where the illuminated racetrack contrasted against the night sky creates a dramatic sight. Every year they hold the Kawasaki Racecourse Autumn Festival, which draws many visitors.
https://www.kawasaki-keiba.jp/en/

Staying the Night at Kawasaki

If you're looking to stay at Kawasaki, visit the local tourism website's hotels page here!
http://www.k-kankou.jp/travelkawasaki/hotels/

 

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search