來去廢棄校舍住一晚 ── 新潟・片栗之宿

日本人口的減少代表著農村等小城鎮會面臨生存問題,新潟縣內陸的津南町就是這樣的城鎮之一,面對逐漸流失的人口,許多商店、學校等被迫關閉。為了解決這個問題,當地居民將一所廢棄的學校改造成「片栗之宿」,是一個相當另類的住宿設施,旨在邀請來客於日本內陸深處過夜。好奇心的驅使之下,我們前往津南町,親身體驗當地是如何想辦法振興該地。

新潟

實用資訊

坐落在秋山鄉的深曠荒野中的片栗之宿

坐落在新潟和長野的交界處的秋山鄉,是津南町和榮村兩個城鎮行政區的交界處。秋山鄉被指定為日本「百大與世隔絕地」之一,該鄉散佈在廣闊的峽谷中,以10月下旬繁盛的紅葉聞名。每到冬季,秋山鄉與外世隔絕的程度更為明顯。附近的森宮野原站有一個標有「日本最高降雪量」的標記,1945年記錄的深度達到驚人的7.85公尺。

秋山鄉的中心地帶就是片栗之宿,是一個相當奇特的住宿設施。翻新前,其前身為舊津南町中津峽小學的「結東分校」。雖然這裡因與世隔絕而未被列入義務教育的實施地區,但秋山鄉的居民仍透過私人集資建立結東學校、村裡的領導人們兼任教師,讓當地的孩子也能擁有繁榮的未來。學校最初於1884年在一間私人住宅中成立,1932年在現址重建,100多年來一直努力為社區服務。

送走了幾代畢業生後,由於缺乏新生的加入,結東校於1992年關閉。儘管不再有存在的意義,當地人還是不忍心看到這心愛的校舍建築被拆除或任由其腐爛。於是在1993年將其改名為「片栗之宿」,開啟秋山鄉及津南地區遊客住宿的新篇章。

雖然結東學校的結束可能看似令人沮喪,但許多以前的學生離開秋山鄉是為了尋找受更多教育的新機會,實現父母對成功生活的願望。結東學校努力地改善自己所處的小村莊,就算不再是以學校的身份續存,現在仍繼續作為遊客學習和體驗秋山鄉當地生活方式的有形文化遺產。

在日本學校度過一晚:在片栗之宿的夜晚

在只有車燈引導我們,看似無窮無盡的陡峭蜿蜒山脈之後,我們在一個寒冷漆黑的中秋之夜,於晚上9點左右到達片栗之宿。很快地友好的工作人員就出來迎接我們,帶我們到房間之前簡要介紹這棟設施。

作為一所隱藏在樹林深處的廢棄學校,一開始感到有點焦慮是正常的。不過從下車那一刻起,我們的心就放寬許多。片栗之宿溫暖且溫馨的木質外觀與鬱鬱蔥蔥的山林無縫融合,內部則散發出舒適私密的氛圍和充足的隱密感。走在教室之間,可以想像孩子們在大廳裡奔來跑去。雖然筆者與童年時代早已相去甚遠,但這裡讓人有種濃厚的懷舊感。

房間

片栗之宿有七間客房,每間客房均由教室改造而成,配有傳統的草蓆地板和日式床褥。雖然簡單,但舒適又安全,有足夠的空間供家庭和團體使用。儘管薄薄的牆壁幾乎無法隔絕外面的寒冷,但整棟建築包括房間在內均勻地設置了暖氣和空調,確保來客始終保持溫暖。

只要帶上露營裝備,想要與大自然近距離接觸的人也可以在學校運動場露營,雖然對我們來說天氣實在太冷了。如果沒有自己的裝備,片栗之宿也提供包羅萬象的「豪華露營計劃」,可以下榻有床鋪和附有餐點的豪華帳篷。

晚餐

我們本來以為住宿會是這裡的亮點,但晚餐卻搶盡了房間的風頭。廚師和旅館主人一樣有才華,為我們提供符合當地和季節的各種美味佳餚。

片栗之宿裡許多食材在其他地方都不常見,尤其是野菜,是在附近茂密的山脈中精心採集的。工作人員在冬末至仲夏期間收穫大約30種野菜,其中包括可食用的巨大冬花「蕗薹」,鴕鳥蕨、芥末葉、皇家蕨以及極為稀有、一種喚為「ぶなもやし」的芽菜。是日本山毛櫸樹的芽,只有在完美嚴苛的條件下才會出現。

野菜的季節落幕後,工作人員就會轉向收集栗子、核桃、銀杏、漿果、蘑菇等。找不到足夠和想要的份量話,他們就會向當地農民購買或自己種植,如津南在地的「雪下忍者」胡蘿蔔,和種植於風景秀麗、步行即可抵達的的石垣田梯田的新潟「越光米」等特產。(如上圖所示)

我們在這裡享用的餐點融合秋天一切的元素,從深紅色的陶瓷盤子到時令的鴕鳥蕨、香菇、日本栗子、柿子等。與我們交談時,工作人員洋溢著自豪的笑容,帶我們走了一趟這片土地及其居民的美食之旅。

娛樂設施

片栗之宿有很多可供客人娛樂的設施。作爲越後妻有藝術祭的一部分,在木製體育館中展示原倫太郎和原游的作品「妻有雙六」,於2021年首次亮相。這個巨大的互動式藝術品再現一個超大型的「雙六」遊戲, 類似於蛇梯棋的日本棋盤遊戲。這裡由過去校園日常生活中經常出現的多種物品組成,如鋼琴、籃球架、骰子等,值得花時間好好觀看並充分吸收。在這裡過夜的房客可以免費參觀「妻有雙六」,遊客則可以花300日幣或憑越後妻有藝術三年展2022「作品鑑賞護照(作品鑑賞パスポート)」觀看(價格見下方)。

片栗之宿擁有自己的室內溫泉,就建在前校長辦公室內。600公尺高的地勢加劇秋風的清爽,泡在溫暖滋養的溫泉中正是我們所需要的。泉水取自屬於罕見「芒硝泉」之一的結東溫泉,據說這種泉水僅佔日本溫泉的 4%。據說泡溫泉可以改善血液流動,防止脂肪和膽固醇在動脈壁上堆積等,以及其他健康益處。無住宿的遊客只要支付600日幣(大人)也能享受這裡的溫泉,是徒步旅行者回家前恢復活力的熱門選擇。

片栗之宿不僅是簡單的住宿,更像是乘載當地文化的基地,巧妙地引導我們了解結東、秋山鄉和津南的性格、歷史和遺產。雖然這裡與世隔絕,但片栗之宿是通往津南和鄰近的十日町周邊地區的好地點。第二天就可以探索附近的景點,如龍久保泉(如上圖)、美麗森林、 和清津峽谷。

越後妻有藝術祭:通過藝術賦予舊農村新的生命

作為復興的象徵,片栗之宿引發津南及周邊地區的一系列復興行動,進一步為該地區注入新的活力。

1955年人口流失達到頂峰以來,這裡已失去大約一半的人口,津南這樣的小鎮是受到人口高齡化和農村凋零化影響最為明顯的地方。1994年,在片栗之家成立一年後,新潟縣知事公佈「新潟新村創建計劃」,透過展現當地現有魅力來打破這種衰落。十日町市和津南市提出透過藝術推動旅遊的想法後,最終在2000年推出「越後妻有藝術祭」,是一個橫跨十日町、松野山、中里、松台、川西、津南六個城村的大型戶外藝術節。

自從2018年的藝術展吸引驚人的54萬名遊客,每屆越後妻有藝術祭都取得巨大的成功,將津南等周邊城鎮牢牢地印在人們心中。許多藝術品已自己發展為觀光景點,如令人驚嘆的「光之隧道(清津峽谷隧道)」,是新潟最具標誌性的景點之一,還有詹姆斯·特瑞爾(James Turrell)的宏偉「光之館」, 也有可作為住宿選擇的「片栗之屋」。當地人成功建立出一個新穎的「越後妻有」品牌,為這些藝術品提供支持和行銷活動,將以前本互不連貫的項目(如本篇主角片栗之屋)匯合在一個易於引導、統一的旗幟之下。

被遺忘學校的新用途

除了促進藝術和文化,越後妻有藝術祭同樣致力於修復廢棄和混亂的建築物。透過這些努力,新潟農村大約 有100個這樣的廢棄莊園已重生為藝術設施等,將觀光者吸引到人跡罕至、鮮為人知的社區。

像片栗之屋這樣的廢棄學校擁有長長的大廳、寬敞的體育館、開闊的場地和一排排的教室,都是成為美妙藝術畫廊的好基礎。越後妻有曾在舊學校策劃過許多令人瞠目結舌的展覽,如在1875年開幕和1997年關閉的舊東川小學舉辦的「最後一堂課」、以及2005年結束展覽的舊真田小學的「鉢&田島征三・繪本與木之實美術館」等令人耳目一新的藝術展。

片栗之宿本身為2003年越後妻有藝術展的一部分,本間純的「Melting Wall」是學校舊游泳池中設置的自然流動水的玻璃面板,再現潛水時抬頭時看到的景色。現在在展示「妻有雙六」,代表充滿遊戲和學習的童年。此外,秋山鄉的另一所廢棄學校大赤澤小學也在準備中,該小學於2021年關閉,成為展示當地狩獵文化等的博物館。

作為完整藝術本身的一部分,這些以前的學校是幫助當地變為現代日本的寶貴媒介。周圍環繞著質樸、陷入沉睡的鄉村,只有廣闊的荒野。像這樣的地區尚不適合主流旅遊事業,能對鄉村生活提供更真實的再現。除了華麗的藝術品外,村莊和當地人純樸的特質亦是吸引了人們前往,鼓勵人們更深入地探索與挖掘的原因。

2022越後妻有藝術展於2022年4月29日至11月13日舉行。展示數十件嶄新的藝術品,其中許多再次在翻新的建築中舉辦。值得一提的是,位於擁有百年歷史的農舍中的藝術畫廊「BankART Tsumari 2022」以及由 2012年關閉的舊上鄉中學改造而成的「上鄉丁香劇院」。雖然許多藝術品全年開放,但藝術展期間是個很好前往這裡的機會,可以在同一個活動下享受該地區的精華,並會有大量的特別活動和表演。不妨在下方的官方網站上查看節日行程表並進行您的旅遊計劃。

日本農村的無限創意

在片栗之屋的住宿和津南之旅,我們目睹被遺忘的日本農村努力在現代世界中生存的過程。與人口減少等趨勢戰鬥,這些創新為該地區注入新鮮能量。透過另類、真實的相遇讓客人沉浸在當地生活中。如果想在下次日本之行中尋求不一樣的事物,到津南及周邊地區冒險、在片栗之屋留宿,一定會給您帶來一次真正的冒險之旅!

封面照片來源:Noguchi Hiroshi

中部特輯

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

作者簡介

Steve
Steve Csorgo

搜尋餐廳

Katakuri House: Revitalizing Rural Japan With Art and Innovation

Japan’s dwindling population means that small, rural towns often struggle to stay afloat. Tsunan, in inland Niigata Prefecture, was one such town, forced to close shops, schools, and more in the face of disappearing residents. To combat this, locals tirelessly transformed one abandoned school into “Katakuri House,” an offbeat accommodation facility inviting guests to spend the night deep in outback Japan. Filled with curiosity, we set out to Tsunan to see first-hand just how Katakuri House and other local initiatives are revitalizing the region.

Niigata

Travel Tips

Help tsunagu write guidebook to restaurants in Japan! - CLICK TO LEARN MORE

Katakuri House - Nestled in the Deep Wilderness of Akiyamago

On the border of Niigata and Nagano sits Akiyamago, a collection of tiny settlements belonging to both the towns of Tsunan and Sakae. Designated as one of Japan’s “100 Best Secluded Regions,” Akiyamago is scattered across a vast gorge, famed for fiery foliage peaking in late October. The isolation of Akiyamago is doubled during the winter, illustrated by a marker claiming “Japan’s highest snowfall” at the nearby Morimiyanohara Station, recording a staggering depth of 7.85 meters in 1945.

The centerpiece of Akiyamago is Katakuri House, a quirky accommodation facility housed inside the renovated former “Ketto School,” a branch of the Tsunan Town Kiyotsu Elementary School. Despite the town’s isolation excluding it from compulsory education, residents of Akiyamago worked hard to privately fund Ketto School to grant their children a prosperous future, with village leaders doubling as teachers. The school was initially founded in a private home in 1884, before being rebuilt in its current location in 1932, diligently serving the community for over 100 years.

After hosting several generations of graduates, a lack of new students forced Ketto School to close its doors in 1992. Despite no longer having a purpose, locals couldn’t bear to see this beloved institution demolished or left to rot, and in 1993, it was revamped as “Katakuri House,” opening a new chapter as accommodation for visitors to Akiyamago and the greater Tsunan area.

While the end of Ketto School may seem disheartening, many of its former students left Akiyamago in search of new opportunities empowered by their education, fulfilling their parents’ wishes for a successful life. The school stands proud as a testament to this tiny village that strove to better itself, now continuing its legacy as a hub for visitors to learn and experience the local Akiyamago way of life.

Sleeping in a Japanese School: Our Night at Katakuri House

After a seemingly endless drive up a steep, winding mountain with only our headlights to guide us, we arrived at Katakuri House around 9:00 pm on a frosty, pitch-black mid-autumn night. Immediately, the friendly staff came outside to greet us, providing a brief tour of the facility before showing us to our rooms. 

Being an abandoned school hidden deep in the woods, we felt justified in being a tad anxious at first. However, from the moment we stepped out of the car, our minds were put at ease. The warm, homely wooden exterior of Katakuri House blended seamlessly into the lush mountain forest, while the interior radiated a cozy, intimate atmosphere with plenty of privacy. Walking between classrooms, we could easily imagine children racing down the halls, making us feel oddly nostalgic despite being worlds apart from our own childhoods.

Rooms

Katakuri House has seven guest rooms, each repurposed from classrooms and furnished with traditional straw mat flooring and futon beds. While simple, they are snug and secure, with enough space for families and groups to stretch out. Despite the thin walls doing little to keep the outside cold at bay, space heaters and air-conditioners were placed evenly throughout the facility, including rooms, ensuring we were always warm.

While too chilly for us, those seeking a closer encounter with nature can also camp on the school sports grounds, provided you bring camping gear. If you don’t have your own stuff, Katakuri House also has separate all-inclusive “glamping” plans boasting luxury tents with beds and meals.

Dinner

While we expected the accommodation to be the highlight, dinner stole the show. The staff at Katakuri House have just as much talent in the kitchen as they do as hosts, treating us to a smorgaboard of delicacies reflecting the locality and season.

Many of the ingredients at Katakuri House are rarely seen elsewhere, particularly the wild vegetables, which are painstakingly foraged through the dense neighborhood mountains. Around 30 species of wild vegetable are harvested by staff between late winter and midsummer, including “fukinoto,” an edible flower of the giant butterbur, along with ostrich fern, wasabi leaves, royal fern, and the incredibly rare “buna moyashi,” which are sprouts of the Japanese beech tree that only appear under perfect conditions.

Once the season for wild vegetables wraps up, the staff turn their attention towards collecting chestnuts, walnuts, ginkgo nuts, berries, mushrooms, and more. What they can’t find, they acquire from local farmers or grow themselves, such as specialities like Tsunan’s own “yukishita ninjin” carrot, and Niigata’s “koshihikari” rice, grown in the scenic Ishigakida Rice Terrace, just a brief walk away (pictured above).

Our own meal at Katakuri House was an amalgamation of all that is autumn, from the crimson ceramic plate to the seasonal morsels of ostrich fern, amandare mushroom, Japanese chestnut, kaki persimmon, and more. The staff beamed with pride as they talked us through the arrangement, bringing us on a gastronomic tour of the land and its inhabitants.

Facilities

Katakuri House has plenty on offer to keep guests entertained. It doubles as part of the Echigo-Tsumari Art Field, currently presenting “Tsumari Sugoroku” by Hara Rintaro and Hara Yu in the wooden gymnasium, debuting in 2021. This gigantic, interactive artwork recreates a super-sized game of “sugoroku,” a Japanese board game similar to Snakes and Ladders. It’s fashioned from an intricate arrangement of pieces representing the daily lives of former schoolchildren, including pianos, basketball hoops, dice, and more, and is worth taking the time to fully absorb. Those staying the night at Katakuri House can view Tsumari Sugoroku for free, while visitors can check it out for 300 yen or with the Echigo-Tsumari Art Triennale 2022 “Artworks Passport” (see prices below).

Katakuri House also boasts its own indoor hot spring, built in the former principal’s office. With the brisk autumn air intensified by the 600-meter-high terrain wearing us down, a soak in a warm, nourishing hot spring is exactly what we needed. The bath is drawn from Ketto Onsen, one of the rare “saline bitter springs,” said to make up just 4% of Japan’s hot spring resources. This exquisite natural water is claimed to improve blood flow to help prevent the buildup of fats and cholesterol on the artery walls, among other health benefits. Day-trippers can also enjoy the hot spring for 600 yen (adults), making it a popular stop-over for hikers to rejuvenate before heading home.

Rather than just simple accommodation, Katakuri House felt like a base of local culture, deftly guiding us through the character, history, and heritage of Ketto School, Akiyamago, and Tsunan as a whole. Despite the isolation, Katakuri House is also a well-located jumping off point into the surrounding bliss of Tsunan and neighboring Tokamachi, and the following day we were able to explore nearby sights like the Ryugakubo Water Spring (pictured above), the Beauty Forest, and Kiyotsu Gorge, which you can read about in this article.

Echigo-Tsumari Art Triennale: Giving Old Towns New Life Through Art

Standing as a symbol of revival, the restoration of Katakuri House has since sparked a flurry of restorative action in Tsunan and surroundings, aiming to further imbue the region with fresh vigor.

Having lost around half of its residents since peaking in 1955, small towns like Tsunan are where the effects of Japan’s aging population and increasing urbanization appear most starkly. In 1994, one year after the establishment of Katakuri House, the Prefectural Governor of Niigata unveiled the “New Niigata Village Creation Plan,” which sought to interrupt this decline by highlighting the existing charms of localities. After the city of Tokamachi and town of Tsunan offered up the idea of tourism through art, this eventually culminated in the year 2000 with the “Echigo-Tsumari Art Triennale,” a large-scale outdoor art festival stretching across the six former towns and villages of Tokamachi, Matsunoyama, Nakasato, Matsudai, Kawanishi, and Tsunan.

With the 2018 iteration drawing in a staggering 540,000 visitors, each Echigo-Tsumari Art Triennale has been a wild success, putting towns like Tsunan firmly on the map. Many of the festival artworks have blossomed into sightseeing attractions of their own, like the stunning “Tunnel of Light” (Kiyotsu Gorge Tunnel), now one of the most iconic sights of Niigata, along with James Turrell’s magnificent “House of Light,” which also serves as bookable accommodation like Katakuri House. It has also provided a network of support and promotion under the stylish “Echigo-Tsumari” brand, connecting formerly disjointed local projects like Katakuri House under an easily navigable, unified banner.

New Purposes For Forgotten Schools

Alongside fostering art and culture, the Echigo-Tsumari Art Triennale likewise strives to restore buildings that have fallen into disuse and disarray. Through these efforts, around 100 such abandoned estates across rural Niigata have been reborn as art facilities and more, attracting sightseers to lesser-known neighborhoods well off the beaten path.

With long halls, spacious gyms, open grounds, and rows of classrooms, abandoned schools like Katakuri House make for wonderful art galleries. Echigo-Tsumari has hosted many works at former schools, including jaw-dropping exhibitions such as “The Last Class” presented in the Former Higashikawa Elementary School, which opened in 1875 and closed in 1997, and the “Hachi & Seizo Tashima Museum of Picture Book Art” in the Former Sanada Elementary School, closed in 2005.

Katakuri House itself became part of the Echigo-Tsumari Art Triennale in 2003 with “Melting Wall” by Honma Jun, a glass panel with naturally flowing water set up in the school’s old swimming pool, recreating the view one sees when looking up while diving. It now hosts “Tsumari Sugoroku,” which represents a childhood full of play and learning. Preparations are also underway to renovate Oakasawa Elementary, another abandoned school in Akiyamago that recently closed in 2021, into a museum showcasing local hunting culture and more.

Complementing the art itself, these former schools are an invaluable gateway into ordinary, day-to-day Japan. Circled by rustic, sleepy settlements, with only vast wilderness lying beyond, communities like these remain unaccustomed to tourism, granting authentic insight into rural life. After being lured in by the flashy artwork, it’s the villages and locals that capture the heart, encouraging one to dive in deeper and uncover something of their own.

The Echigo-Tsumari Art Triennale is currently being held from April 29 to November 13, 2022. It features dozens of new artworks, many again hosted in renovated properties. Noteworthy additions include “BankART Tsumari 2022,” an art gallery housed in a 100-year-old farmhouse, and “Cinema Kamigo” in the “Kamigo Clove Theater,” originally renovated from the Former Kamigo Junior High School, which closed in 2012. While many artworks are open year-round, the festival is a great opportunity to enjoy the best of the region under a single banner, and there are loads of special events and performances held throughout. Check out the festival calendar on the official website below and get planning!

Boundless Creativity Deep in Rural Japan

Through our stay at Katakuri House and tour of Tsunan, we witnessed a forgotten slice of rural Japan striving to stay afloat in the modern world. Fighting against the greater trends of declining populations and more, innovations like this have injected fresh energy into the region, immersing guests in local life through offbeat, authentic encounters. For those seeking something different on their next trip to Japan, venturing out to Tsunan and surroundings and spending the night at Katakuri House promises a true adventure sure to inspire!

Top photo by Noguchi Hiroshi.

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

Chubu Feature

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

About the author

Steve
Steve Csorgo

Restaurant Search