九州門戶・唐津──武士與傳統陶藝的融合

前陣子 tsunagu Japan 編輯部去了趟九州的佐賀縣。在安排行程路線時,有一件事是大家都有共識的,那就是一定要去唐津!這個富含時代感的迷人小鎮,不僅體現豐富的武士文化,還被視為古代陶瓷傳統的發祥地。我們當然不會錯過這個融合日本文化獨特元素的地方!繼續閱讀本文,帶您探索當地的歷史奇觀、精美工藝品和必嚐的當地美食。

九州

玩樂

※本文與九州觀光推進局合作執筆撰寫。

唐津最佳旅遊景點

舊大島邸:在唐津的重要歷史人物之傳統別墅中找尋平和

到達唐津後,我們迫不及待地想了解當地豐富的歷史,為此「舊大島邸」就是個非常好的選擇。這座美麗的日本傳統屋敷是大島小太郎的故居,他是20世紀初推動唐津現代化建設的重要人物。大島小太郎是唐津藩士 大島興義的長子,他的貢獻對這座城市至關重要。也許與他創新和充滿活力的精神有關。大島在其有生之年成立唐津銀行、唐津工業鐵路公司、唐津電氣公司等,是當地非常重要的一位人物,不僅擔任唐津商會的負責人,也在佐賀縣議會工作。

該住所建於1879年至1880年之間,被認為是佐賀縣保存最完整的武士屋敷之一,也是一棟完美融合日本傳統建築元素和美花園的建築。我們很幸運地在一個陽光明媚的日子來參觀,柔和而溫暖的光線透過窗戶射入,更加地渲染室內所有迷人的小細節。精美的木製品裝飾著門窗的邊框,有梅花、鳥、麻之葉(傳統日本圖案)等,每一樣的設計都相當驚人。

除了這些木製工藝品之外,相連的房間使整棟建築充滿傳統氣息的氛圍,令人印象深刻。無論是「障子」(和式紙拉門)的半透明感、茶室的嫻靜宏偉,還是金色花朵和楓葉的迷人光芒皆點綴著牆壁,讓人無法決定最喜歡哪一處角落呢。我們坐在榻榻米上片刻,室內裡面閃閃發亮的物品和室外花園的秋日景像令人有種如入仙境的感覺,柔和的使人駐足不忍離去。

 

舊高取邸:以金箔點綴的傳統日式建築

唐津行的第二站「舊高取邸」就在附近不遠處,步行五分鐘即可到達。甫一見到該建築,映入眼簾的是景象由雄偉的日本松所圍護,似能預見其內部的宏偉壯麗。這座建築建於1904年,是當地一位有影響力的煤炭大亨 高取伊好的故居。他曾經營重要的杵島煤礦,也對當地的歷史和現代化有重要的影響。1998年舊高取邸因其獨特功能和極高的藝術價值被選為重要文化財產。我們很幸運能看到如此美麗的景色,迫不及待地開始探索這棟建築,進一步了解唐津另一部分的歷史。

當我們走進建築內部時,驚訝地發現與剛去過的另一座宅邸有著截然不同的感覺。雖然這兩棟傳統房屋位於同一座城市,卻各自有其驚人的獨特處。舊高取邸的空間瀰漫著深淺雙色,房間充滿神秘感,結構更為複雜,像在冒險的想法油然而生的。經過所有不同房間,焦點都是刻有動植物的「欄間(和式房間裡門上的拉窗)」雕花橫梁,以及由雪松製成、拉門上的「杉戶繪」,這兩種精緻工藝體現著人類的藝術結晶。

因為從未在其他地方見過如此眾多和精緻的設計,金色的杉戶繪給我們留下特別深刻的印象。金黃色的繭簇擁的櫻花、霧氣籠罩的森林山脈、海上飛揚的燕子和神秘的聖像;我們屏住呼吸等待一張一張的畫出現,好奇地觀望下一幅又會如何呈現。一次又一次的驚喜像極了一場場巡迴演出,直到到達這棟建築的中心地帶「能(日本傳統戲劇的一種形式)」舞台。1900年代初建造的建築中,可將能舞台轉變成供客人使用的榻榻米房間,在當時是非常特別的功能。

唐津城:能遠眺大海的城堡

唐津的歷史遺跡巡禮以這座城市的著名地標「唐津城」為終點。唐津城建於1608年,其材料來自附近被拆除的名護屋城。名護屋城是現今唐津市以南,於豐臣秀吉時代的武將寺澤廣隆所建造的城。坐落在面對海灣的山頂上,也被稱為「舞鶴城」。從附近的海灘看過來就像鶴在空中翱翔。其輪廓讓人聯想起鶴即將在水面上起飛的畫面。

當我們從前面的舊宅邸走向城堡時,可以看到佇立在遠處山頂上的城堡。我們也因此有機會欣賞和拍攝許多不同角度的照片,包括海水上反射的倒影,站在標誌性的「城內橋」上以及在日落時分映在橘黃色的天空中的景象。前往天守閣的數千石階需要一定的毅力(也可以使用電梯,但是當時已經關閉),不過這些努力絕對值得,因為更多美好的景色在上頭等待著我們。

花園裡的楓樹是鮮紅色的,因此我們可以欣賞到秋意滿盈的城堡。從周圍的樹木來看,肯定也會在春季(櫻花滿開)和夏季(當紫藤花盛開時)展現令人驚嘆的風景。對時間比較餘裕的人來說,可以參觀城的內部,其展示大量珍貴的材料和武器,讓遊客可以進一步了解江戶時代的唐津故事。裡頭也可能找到用唐津陶瓷和考古作品製成的藝術品。頂層設置成可觀察周圍景色的觀景台。由於我們再行常上沒有太多時間,因此沒有進入城堡內部。但幸運的是,我們還是有來到花園,欣賞令人嘆為觀止的海灣全景,與生動、溫暖的陽光相互映照在海平面上。

唐津瓷器:探索九州著名陶瓷中心之一的傳統工藝

結束參訪唐津城後,我們對唐津的歷史巡禮感到非常滿意,只花一個下午就完成。但此趟唐津旅程有一個小小遺憾,那就是沒有機會參觀唐津的珍貴陶器。事實上唐津被譽為佐賀縣的陶瓷村,也是九州最重要的陶器生產地區之一。唐津器皿的傳統可以追溯到室町時代末期(1336~1573年),在岸岳城(今天的唐津北部地區)城主波多氏於領地內燒製為起源。後隨著豐臣秀吉試圖征服朝鮮後,朝鮮來的陶工引入新的瓷器製作技術,唐津陶器的生產規模和種類漸漸擴大增加。

唐津陶瓷的品質極高,在日本各地都受人喜愛,其產品的簡單外觀讓人聯想到自然景觀,生產的茶碗在茶道界也享有盛譽。江戶時代時(1603~1868年)當地的藩主特別喜歡這裡生產的陶瓷,甚至將唐津陶瓷選為唐津的官方陶器。進入明治時代(1868~1912年)則漸漸失去競爭力而衰落。幸運的是,在20世紀日本著名陶瓷工匠中里無庵(有《活國寶》的稱號)的努力下,致力於保護唐津陶瓷並振興其傳統。使該地區的工匠人數增加,如今唐津市仍然有70多座窯爐活躍著,每座窯爐都有自己的風格,傳承悠久陶藝技術。

由於抵達時間偏晚,本不期待含有任何商家在營業,但是有一間店彷彿在等我們到來一樣,我們注意到城腳下的一家小巧可愛的陶藝作坊仍然在營業! 佐志山窯的老闆和工匠相當友善,讓我們在商店裡隨意逛逛,並介紹有關唐津陶器的資訊。如今它以實用的產品聞名,同時具有藝術品的品質。其多種風格的特色在其他地區生產的陶器中是挺少見的。

有趣的是,老闆親自向我們展示唐津陶瓷皿的許多面向,從呈現自然簡單美感的陶瓷到展示貝殼、松樹等傳統圖案的陶器、再到刻有複雜幾何圖案的作品都有。如果想帶回這些不僅是珍貴的紀念品也是體現城市歷史的手工藝,推薦您佐志山窯。買完紀念品之後,我們便出發前往晚餐的餐廳。

Steak House Caravan:令人垂涎的佐賀牛饗宴

在佐賀縣旅行期間,我們品嚐了美味的手工豆腐和新鮮海產。然而在佐賀美食清單上仍然缺少一道佐賀令人垂涎的著名牛肉。由於唐津是我們前往福岡然後回家之前在佐賀縣內的最後一站,因此我們希望最後的晚餐可以吃到牛肉!這就是為什麼我們選擇Steak House Caravan,其非常有吸引力的菜單,其中包括本地A5等級(質量最高的等級)佐賀縣「和牛」。

在Steak House Caravan,廚師特別喜歡接待國際遊客,只要他知道外國遊客要來,就喜歡用他們國家的旗幟來裝飾餐廳。為了將對唐津及其傳統的熱愛傳達給他人,餐廳呈獻溫馨的氛圍,使我們更加珍惜這座城市。而我們也不是唯一受感動的人,當主廚開始向我們展示他從許多遊客那收到的,來自世界各地的紀念品時,便能了解到 Caravan 為唐津的獨特性做出的深遠貢獻。

由於Steak House Caravan是一家鐵板燒餐廳,因此廚師邀請我們料理台前享受完整的體驗。不僅能與他共進晚餐,第一次來這裡的我們也會覺得自己像個常客,還能夠近距離觀賞所有熟練的準備工作和烹飪過程。

我們選擇「無菜單(お任せ)」的方案,也就是主廚會依照客人喜好和預算,再根據當天的食材決定菜餚的方式。這是品嚐佐賀牛的好方法。當廚師想要我們領略當地美食的多樣性時,他會以許多不同的方式料理牛肉,並使用精美的唐津瓷器展現。第一道料理是常見的涮涮鍋,一盤盤切成薄片的肉。火鍋通常都會使用高湯料理肉類,不過Steak House Caravan並非這樣處理,而是使用直接使用燒熱的唐津陶瓷。快速將肉片放在瓷器燒熱的表面上,使肉片比普通的火鍋吃起來更柔軟、更多汁,或許這更像某種特別的燒肉而不是涮涮鍋也說不定。

我們特別喜歡炙燒牛握壽司、以及由等級A5佐賀伊万里牛製成每天限量十個的令人驚艷的漢堡。晚餐的重頭戲,廚師在煎台放上一片牛排並巧妙地切開、頓時吸引了我們的注意,他用浮誇的表演調味、戲劇性的將其點燃(並迅速散開火焰),彷彿怕人不知道他是鐵板燒大師似的(笑)。絕對完美的外圓,外部酥脆、撒上薄薄一層胡椒和鹽,內部則柔軟的恰到好處。讓人難以忘懷!

唐津「呼子朝市」:日本最美的晨間魚市場之一

完美的晚餐和良好的睡眠使我們恢復精力,隔天很早就開始新的一天。呼子朝市是日本最重要的早晨魚市場之一,一年四季漁產都相當豐富。這個市場至今仍然很受歡迎,或許與其充足的漁獲產量有關,但我們也覺得可能是因為其具有如詩如畫的氛圍。

到達後我們便瞬間理解為什麼這個魚市場如此獨特,因為這裡呈現著與唐津市區完全不同的風景。一個古樸的小港口,坐落在一個零散的茂密森林中,到處是老式小船,遠處有木製建築,有粉紅色的卡通魷魚巨型招牌守護著。讓人不禁認為這是一個值得一遊的地方。

為什麼有一隻巨大的粉紅色魷魚在上頭呢?摁,魷魚是呼子最具特色的菜品,因此當地居民在村落周圍留下這當地美味佳餚的圖案。商家、街道、招牌、夾娃娃機上的裝飾,甚至是市場主要街道的大門入口,其形狀都像或描繪著可愛的魷魚。當然可以在市場上買到新鮮或乾躁的魷魚,通常都是當地的海女在當天捕獲的新鮮海產。市場販售各種食品以及當地蔬菜水果。我們決定就在這裡享用早餐時,被一個鄉村小攤和它的魷魚鹹鬆餅所吸引。味道相當不錯呢,可以試試。

朝市很寧靜、風景如畫,很幸運有來到這走走。對我們來說,沉浸在一個有起源的地方,就像在一百多年的歷史洪流尋寶,尋找迷人的小地方和令人心動的美。簡樸的攤位讓我們完全著迷(有些甚至只是由幾個箱子組成的),木製的前門則有懷舊的氛圍。

造訪唐津,充分了解日本文化和傳統

遊完唐津後,我們回到家,這是趟充滿美好回憶的旅程。未來希望還能在唐津待上更久。透過這座城市的眾多奇觀,可以感受到佐賀縣的歷史和文化,了解九州這一令人驚嘆的傳統,品嚐有史以來最美味的食物。唐津的藝術美感、當地人的好客,都讓我們在的唐津市度過一段愉快的時光,希望您下次來九州也能有同樣的體驗!

如果你喜歡本文的內容,那麼你一定也會愛上九州其他地方。關於九州的更多資訊,歡迎關注以下網站。

Visit Kyushu
官方網站:https://www.welcomekyushu.tw/
粉絲專頁:https://www.facebook.com/welcomekyushu?fref=ts

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

搜尋餐廳

Karatsu - Kyushu's Castle Town Where Samurai and Ceramic Traditions Merge

We recently got to visit Kyushu's enchanting Saga Prefecture in southern Japan. When we started planning the route for our trip, there was one thing we were absolutely sure about: we wanted to visit Karatsu! This charming castle town from the Edo period not only embodies a rich samurai culture, but it is also regarded as a place of ancient ceramic tradition. No way would we have missed a place where such distinctive elements of Japanese culture merge! So, read on to discover its many historical wonders, crafts of delicate beauty, and must-try local food.

Kyushu

Things to Do

Best Things to Do and See in Karatsu

Former Oshima Residence - Find Peace in the Traditional Villa of a Key Historical Figure of Karatsu

Once we arrived in Karatsu we couldn't wait to get a taste of the rich local history, so we decided that there wasn't a better place than the Former Oshima Residence to begin our tour with. This beautiful traditional Japanese villa was the home of Kotaro Oshima, a key figure in Karatsu's modernization at the turn of the 20th century. Kotaro Oshima was the eldest son of Okiyoshi Oshima, the last lord of the Karatsu Domain, and his contribution was fundamental to the city, which benefited from his innovative and dynamic spirit. During his career, Oshima established the Karatsu Bank, set up the Karatsu Industrial Railroad Company, and started the Karatsu Electric Company. Oshima was such a relevant figure that he served as the head of the Karatsu Chamber of Commerce, and even worked for the Saga Prefectural Assembly. 

The residence, which was built between the year 1879 and 1880, is considered one of the most beautifully preserved examples of a samurai villa in Saga Prefecture, as well as a building that perfectly incorporates traditional Japanese architectural elements and a beautiful traditional Japanese garden. We were very lucky to visit on a sunny day, since the gentle and warm light coming through the windows enhanced all the charming details of the interior even more. We were welcomed by the intricate woodwork that adorned the trimmings of the doors and windows, showing a striking variety of delicate designs, from plum blossoms, to birds, to "asanoha" (a traditional Japanese pattern representing hemp leaves), and we started our tour already amazed by the allure of this house.

The woodwork was not the only impressive detail of the Former Oshima Residence, and one room after the other, the house offered an ambience full of tradition that we won't easily forget. Be it the enchanting translucence of the "shoji" (traditional dividers consisting of sheets on a frame), the demure magnificence of the tea room, or the mesmerizing glow of all the golden flowers and maples leaves decorating the walls, when we finished the tour we couldn't decide which space of the house we liked the most. Caught by the traditional atmosphere, we sat on the "tatami" (traditional flooring material made of soft rush) for several moments, as the sight of the sparkling decor inside and the view of the autumnal scenery in the garden outside rewarded us with some true peace making it difficult to leave.

Former Takatori Residence - Be Mesmerized by the Golden Decor of This Traditional Japanese House

As the second stop of our Karatsu visit—the Former Takatori Residence—was nearby, we were able to easily reach its entrance with a five-minute walk. Guarded by a majestic Japanese pine tree, the highly-ornate traditional facade let us foresee the grandeur of its interiors. This beautiful Karatsu villa, built in 1904, was the home of an influential local coal baron named Koreyoshi Takatori who used to operate the important Kishima Coal Mine and who also performed a relevant role in the city's history and modernization. In 1998, thanks to its many unique features and the high artistic value of each room, the Former Takatori Residence was recognized as an Important Cultural Property. As we were thrilled to witness such beauty, we couldn't wait to start exploring the house and learn more about another part of Karatsu's history. 

Once we stepped inside, we were surprised to find a very different atmosphere to the one of the other residence we've just been to. Although located in the same city, the two traditional houses were each characterized by astonishing uniqueness. The Former Takatori Residence's spaces were filled with suffused light and darker colors that tinged the rooms with an aura of mystery, and the building had a more complex structure that made us want to explore more than relax. The focal points of all the different rooms we went through were the carved "ranma" transoms above the doors depicting plants and animals, and the "sugito" paintings on sliding doors made of cedar, both of such exquisite beauty we could just imagine all the craftsmanship that went into realizing them.

We were particularly impressed by the golden sugito, as we have never admired such a huge variety and refined designs elsewhere. From cherry blossoms cocooned by clouds of gold, and forested mountains covered in mist, to flock of swallows flying over the sea, and enigmatic sacred figures; we were holding our breath waiting for the next painting to appear, curious to see what type of scenery we would be presented with. We proceeded on the tour one surprise after the other, until we arrived at the highlight of the visit, the "noh" (a form of traditional Japanese theater) stage. Noh stages that could be converted into tatami rooms for the guests were not an unusual feature in Japanese mansions built at the beginning of the 1900s. However, the one at the Former Takatori Residence is the only one still standing today. The room left us in awe of the most spectacular sugito of the house, an elegant pine tree emerging from a golden background.

Karatsu Castle - Climb up a Japanese Castle Facing the Open Sea

Our Karatsu historical-spot hunting concluded with the famed symbol of the city, its castle. Karatsu Castle was originally built in 1608 using materials from the nearby dismantled Nagoya Castle, a castle built by Terazawa Hirotaka, a vassal of Toyotomi Hideyoshi (an influential Japanese warlord who completed the unification of Japan in the 16th century) south of today’s Karatsu City. The castle stands on a hilltop facing the bay and the open sea, and it is also often referred to as “Maizuru Castle”, which means the “castle of the dancing crane,” because of the nearby beach that looks like a crane with open wings. This silhouette is reminiscent of a crane about to take flight over the water.

As we were approaching the castle arriving from the direction of the two residences, we could see it from afar sitting on top of the hill. This gave us the chance to admire and take photos from many different angles, including reflected on the seawater, standing across the iconic Jonai Bridge, and outlined against an orange sky at sunset.  At the end of the day, climbing the thousand stone steps that lead to the castle grounds required some willpower (an elevator is also available, but by that hour it was already closed) but we didn't mind the extra effort, since even more charming views of the castle were waiting for us at the top.

Some of the maples in the garden were already bright red, so we could enjoy a few glimpses of the castle in its autumnal setting. Judging from the trees around, it is sure to offer stunning scenery both in spring (thanks to the many cherry blossoms) and in summer (when the giant wisteria tree blooms). For those who have more time, the interior of the castle is open to visit and provides a vast collection of valuable materials and weapons that let visitors learn more about the story of Karatsu during the feudal era. Artwork made of Karatsu's ceramic and archaeological pieces can also be found inside. The top floor is made into an observatory that provides an outstanding view of the surroundings. We couldn't enter the castle, but luckily, we made it just in time to the garden to view the breathtaking panorama of the bay tinged with vivid, warm colors of the sun sinking over the sea horizon.

Karatsu Ware - Discover the Traditional Craft of One of Kyushu's Renowned Ceramic Centers

Descending from the castle, we were very satisfied with the exploration of Karatsu’s historical wonders we managed to complete in just one afternoon and had only one regret: we didn’t get the chance to take a look at Karatsu's prized pottery. In fact, Karatsu is renowned as one of Saga Prefecture's ceramic villages and one of Kyushu's most important pottery producers. The tradition of Karatsu ware dates all the way back to the late Muromachi period (1336-1573) and seems to find its origins in the area of the Kishidake Castle (today's Kitahata area of Karatsu) under the patronage of the Hata clan, the ruling family of that area in the past. Following the introduction of new porcelain making techniques by Korean potters who arrived in Japan after Toyotomi Hideyoshi's attempt to conquer Korea, the production of Karatsu pottery expanded, and the variety increased.

Karatsu ware was considered so refined that it started to be traded throughout Japan. Tea bowls were particularly prized, as the simple appearance of the ware is reminiscent of natural landscapes, which is a property that is appreciated in the world of tea ceremony. Being particularly loved by the local feudal lords during the Edo period (1603-1868) Karatsu ware was even selected as the official ceramics of the Karatsu Domain. These famed ceramics fell into decline during the Meiji period (1868-1912) after losing its patronage, but luckily was saved during the 20th century thanks to the intervention of Muan Nakazato, an esteemed Japanese ceramics artisan who even received the title of Living National Treasure for his dedication to protecting Karatsu pottery and revitalize its tradition. This led to an increase of craftsmen in the area, and over 70 kilns are still active today in Karatsu, each one with its own style without forgetting Karatsu's long-history pottery techniques.

We thought it was too late to attempt a visit to any shop, but, as if it was waiting for us, we noticed a small, lovely pottery workshop at the foot of the castle that was still open! The owner and craftsman of Sashiyama Kiln was kind enough to let us wander around the shop and unveiled details about Karatsu ware. Nowadays, it is well-known for its practical products that have the quality of artwork but that can be used in everyday life. It is also known for its wide variety of styles, something that is unusual in other kinds of pottery. 

It was interesting to have the owner of the kiln himself showing us the many faces of Karatsu ware, from ceramics that reproduce the simple beauty of nature, to pottery that displays traditional motifs such as seashells and pine trees, to pieces carved in intricate geometric patterns. Sashiyama Kiln Store is the perfect place if you want to bring back home souvenirs that are not only precious, but are also hand-made pieces that embody the history of the city. That's exactly what we did, and after a round of souvenir shopping, we could leave for dinner even more satisfied than before.

Steak House Caravan - Feast on Kyushu's Mouthwatering Saga Beef

During our travel through Saga Prefecture we tasted its delicious hand-made tofu recipes and amazingly fresh seafood. What was still missing on this list of delectable treats, however, was Saga’s mouthwatering and renowned beef. So, as Karatsu was one of our last stops in the prefecture before heading to Fukuoka and then back home, we wanted our final dinner to be as memorable as possible. This is why we decided on Steak House Caravan and its very attractive menu, which includes local A5-rank (highest rank for quality) Saga's "wagyu" Japanese beef. 

At Steak House Caravan, the chef loves receiving international guests and explained how he likes to decorate the restaurant with their flags whenever he knows foreign visitors are coming. In hopes to infuse his love for Karatsu and its traditions to others, he created a homely atmosphere that made us value the city even more. Apparently, we weren't the only people impressed by the hospitality of the place! As he started showing us souvenirs from all over the world which he had received from his many affectionate returning customers, we learned that Caravan and its owner deeply contribute to the uniqueness and inclusivity of Karatsu. 

As Steak House Caravan is a "teppanyaki" (Japanese cuisine that uses an iron griddle to cook) restaurant, the chef invited us to the counter for the full experience. Since we had the chance to chat throughout the dinner with him, not only did we feel like we were regulars even though it was our first time there, but we were also able to get a first-hand look at all the skillful preparation and cooking of the meat. 

We went for an "omakase" course, which means we informed the chef of our preferences and budget, and he decided the types of dishes to serve based on the available ingredients of the day. It was a great way to approach Saga wagyu. As the chef wanted us to get a taste of the diversity of the local cuisine, he prepared the delicious beef in many different ways, presenting it on beautiful Karatsu ware. We started our dinner with an usual “shabu shabu.” Shabu shabu is a hotpot dish of thinly sliced meat that usually involves cooking the meat in a broth. At Caravan no broth was involved and instead we used a preheated Karatsu-ceramic bowl. Swiftly passing the meat on the hot surface of the bowl made the beef slices softer and juicer than those of normal shabu shabu. 

We also particularly loved both the seared sushi-style beef with rice, and the incredibly tender hamburger made from A5-rank Saga and Imari beef, which is so delicious that they only prepare ten per day (and they sell out quickly). Finally, we were served the highlight of the dinner, a fillet cooked on the griddle. The chef skillfully cut and flipped in front of our eyes before seasoning it with an extra show and theatrically lighting it on fire (and swiftly fanned out the flames) in a display worthy of a teppanyaki master. The fillet was absolute perfection, crispy on the outside with a thin layer of pepper and salt, and exquisitely soft on the inside; so good we won't easily forget about it. 

Karatsu's Yobuko Asa Ichi - One of Japan’s Most Picturesque Morning Fish Markets

As we recovered our energy thanks to the amazing dinner and a good night of sleep, we started our day very early so that we could board a tiny local bus and see the last spot of our Karatsu's must-visit list at the peak of its activities. The Yobuko Asa Ichi is one of Japan's most important morning fish markets, thanks to the nearby sea, the village is blessed with an impressive variety of fish all year round. The market is still popular today, not so much for the size of its catch but mostly because it's so picturesque and traditional that one can't help but be fascinated by its atmosphere. 

Once we arrived in Yobuko we could understand why this fish market is considered so unique, as we were welcomed by scenery totally different from that in Karatsu City. It is a quaint little port sitting in a fragmented harbor of dense forest, full of small vintage-looking boats with wooden buildings in the distance, and guarded by the giant signboard of a pink cartoon squid. Indeed we couldn't help but thinking that it was a place worth visiting.

Why was a giant pink squid chosen to welcome visitors? Well, squid is Yobuko's specialty, so the residents made great efforts to leave hints of the local delicacy around the village. Decorations on shops, street signs, signboards, a "gashapon" machine (a type of vending machines dispensing toys), and even the gate entrance to the market's main street are shaped like or depict cute squids. Of course, squid can also be found fresh or dried at the market, sold by the local elderly ladies along with other seafood caught on the day. There is also a selection of prepared foods and local vegetables and fruit. As we wanted to try the squid and hadn’t had breakfast yet, we searched for something easy to eat and were attracted by a rustic stall and its intriguing squid savory pancakes, which turned out to be a great choice!

The morning market was a pleasure to visit as it was so tranquil and picturesque, and it was easy for us to soak in the traditions of a place that has stayed so true to its origins. With a history of over a hundred years, visiting Karatsu's Yobuko Morning Market was like going on a treasure hunt in search of charming vintage details and heart-warming simplicity. We were completely enchanted by the simple market stalls—sometimes just made up of a couple of boxes—and the wooden front shops evoked an aura of nostalgia.

Visit Karatsu for a Full Immersion in Japanese Culture and Tradition

After visiting Karatsu we went back home, full of great memories and wishing we could stay longer. Through the city's many wonders we were able to feel the history and culture of Saga Prefecture, learn more about the traditions of this amazing part of Kyushu, and taste some of the best food we've ever had in Japan. We left Karatsu not only mesmerized by its artistic beauty, but touched by the hospitality of the locals. We had such a great time in the welcoming city of Karatsu that we hope you can experience the same on your next trip to Kyushu!

If you like what you read here, you're sure to fall in love with the rest of Kyushu. For more information about this stunning region, check out Visit Kyushu: https://www.visit-kyushu.com/en/

 

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search