【日本文化】台日租房文化大不同!外國人租房好困難?日本租房流程一次解說到位

相信有很多人是從漫畫、日劇等作品中認識日本,進而對日本旅遊產生興趣、甚至對住在日本有所嚮往最後付諸實行。不管您是利用打工度假簽證還是工作簽證,剛來日本的時候總會面對「租房」這件事。想要租到一間如日劇主角的家一樣的房子可不容易,在日本租房可比冒險打怪遊戲,除了要備好「固定收入、日本籍親友、足夠資金」等武器,還要從房仲開始一關關闖才能成功租到房子。到底在日本租房該怎麼做?又有哪些細節要注意呢?今天筆者以自己跟朋友的經驗,來淺談一下日本租屋吧。

日本

住宿

※本文為外部作者所撰

日本租屋四大步驟不可少 看房→訂房→審查→交屋

日本租屋簡單來說分成四大步驟:看房、訂房、審查、交屋。整個流程順利跑完最快兩星期,平均大概1個月就能完成。如果是在台灣透過一些國際租房公司租房子的人整個流程應該會更簡單,但在日本本地找房子時,是一定會經過這四個步驟的。

接下來就會依這四步驟分開介紹,告訴大家看似簡單的四步驟裡暗藏的許多不成文規則。

看房:看得到卻租不到!「外國人不可」的高牆

日本的房子目前都是透過仲介公司來跟房東洽談,基本上不會遇到房東,不透過仲介直接跟房東租的情況是少之又少。一般蒐集租房資訊的途徑包含網站、APP、店面海報跟傳單等,只要看到感覺還OK或有興趣的房子就可以透過「諮詢」跟房仲約時間看房子。

不過,對我們外國人來說,即使從以上途徑看到了自己想實際看看的房子也不一定可以順利看房。因為日本其實有非常多房東都「拒絕租給外國人」,甚至有些房東會特別指定不租給哪個國家的人。通常房屋資訊上不會寫,只有自己寄信問或是直接到了不動產公司的時候才會被告知「不好意思,這間房子不租給外國人喔!」

因此,不管照片上看起來有多好,房租有多符合預算,記得一定要寫信問一聲「すみません、こちらの物件は外国人でも借りられますか。(不好意思,這間房子可以租給外國人嗎?)」。

 

另外,有些較惡質的不動產公司會故意把條件很好、房租又低,但是其實已經租出去或根本不存在的房子放在網路上,就像是「釣魚」一樣要吸引找房子的人上門。這種不動產公司從一開始就會積極勸人實際前往他們的店裡,當下再從頭開始找,非常浪費時間又不可靠,介紹的房子問題也很多,要特別小心!

在過了看房的階段後,房仲會列出一張「初期費用表」,寫出你租這間房子第一個月需要的花費。裡面包含了敷金、禮金跟仲介費等費用,通常是房租的4倍到5倍。有關這個初期費用表跟看房子書面資料的細節介紹有機會會在日後跟大家說明。

◎順利租房小建議:

1.如果您的日文口語超道地,可以到比較大間的在地化不動產公司(如21世紀等)直接問問看碰運氣。有些房仲會幫忙說服房東或管理公司

2.找不動產公司自建自租或自行管理的房子,通常租金會高一點但是房屋品質也比較好

訂房:先搶不一定先贏?先找個日本籍親友吧

如果初期費用上沒有什麼問題的話,房仲就會拿出一張申請表請你寫。這張申請表上需要你填自己的基本資料跟公司職業資料,還有保證人或緊急聯絡人

「嗯?保證人?」沒錯,在日本租房子需要一位保證人,通常會要求要日本籍的親友。部分房子可以利用保證公司當自己的保證人,但是仍需要一位日本籍的親友(少部分可通融填寫住在日本的外國人)當緊急聯絡人。所以即使再怎麼想申請租屋,都一定要備好「日本籍親友」,或準備一筆錢利用保證公司幫忙做擔保,不然是無法申請租房的!

另外,當一切順利地送出申請之後,房仲都會請人不要臨時取消,要取消的話也要早點說。那是因為通常在送出申請並審查通過後,管理公司會幫忙聯絡網路、電視業者等幫忙開通線路,非常耗人力。另一方面也避免大家會亂申請租房,搶走了別人的租屋機會。

不過如果自己真的在申請之後找到了另一間非常非常想要的房子,或是因為自己身上有些狀況無法入住的話,請記得一定要盡早寫電子郵件或打電話跟對方取消,不然會造成對方麻煩,對自己的信用也不太好,據說日後若申請同家管理公司的房子時,審查會比較不容易過。

審查:能不能過靠運氣!工作、親友很重要

送出申請後就到了審查階段,通常會花一到兩個星期,是找房子中最讓人忐忑不安的時候。因為審查不通過,就必須去找下一間房子,而且對方通常不會告訴我們沒過的原因。

在不知道審查標準的時候,要怎麼提高過審查的機率呢?您的保證人或緊急連絡人,以及您的公司就是關鍵。

審查主要是要幫房東省掉日後有可能會發生的麻煩,像是不繳房租、人鬧失蹤、房子亂破壞等,因此會藉由送審資料來做基本判斷。

對我們這種在日本沒有任何信用紀錄的外國人來說,年收、公司規模跟保證人就會變成審查的重點。公司規模越大,或是公司願意當保證人的話是最萬無一失的。如果公司規模不大的話也沒關係,只要是正職非打工,足以證明自己有固定收入且足夠付房租的話,基本上也不會有問題。順帶一提,通常審查的時候會估看房租是否落在月薪25%~30%的範圍內,若房租超過月薪30%的話,即非常有可能被刷下來。

另外,緊急聯絡人與保證人的職業有時候也能幫助我們更好通過審查。像是職業是老師、東京都職員等公務員,或是在知名公司上班且屬於管理階層的話,對負責審查的管理公司來說會覺得比較有保障,審查也會更有機會輕鬆過關囉。

◎順利租房小建議:

1.無論如何,在正當公司找到一份正職工作是過審查的基礎

2.只想打工過生活怎麼辦?Share House、台灣房仲和房東會是打工族的好朋友

3.留學生可向學校詢問是否可利用「留學生住宅綜合補償制度」來代替昂貴的保證公司

交屋:鑰匙在手好圓滿?小心開門後僅見「家徒四壁」

「好不容易審查過關了,接下來就只剩簽約交屋了!」先別著急,在日本,簽約之後就萬事OK的概念可不通用。

日本的房子在交屋時基本上會是完全的空屋,沒有任何家具家電,有時候連盞燈都沒有。而且水電瓦斯都要自己打電話或上網啟用,因此若在交屋搬家之前沒有準備好家具家電跟預約開通水電瓦斯的話,就真的會面對物理上的「家徒四壁」,得特別注意。

在交屋的時候,一定會到不動產公司聽負責人說明契約內容,以及日後有可能發生的賠償條約等。這是日本法律上規定的步驟,必須要由合法的「宅地建物取引士(主任)」來說明合約並回答簽約者的問題,因此在聽說明前如果對方沒有出示自己的「宅地建物取引士(主任)」資格證,記得要問一下對方並請對方出示證明以保障自己的權益。

如果不是由專業的宅地建物取引士來說明的話會發生什麼事呢?可能會出現雙方對合約內容的理解與解釋不同,當退租時很有可能讓自己吃虧賠了一筆錢。

當合約簽訂完成後,房仲會將鑰匙、一張紙或明信片跟合約交到我們手上。一般來說,房仲不會陪你檢查房子有沒有刮痕或凹陷等問題,要由自己檢查之後寫在紙或明信片上回寄給管理公司。因此拿到鑰匙到新家開門後第一件事不是把東西搬進去,而是仔細檢查所有地方並拍照存證,將有問題或覺得有疑慮的地方寫好再寄回。另外,如果有哪裡壞的特別離譜甚至不能用的話,記得要趕快打給管理公司請他們找人來修,不然很有可能會被認為是後來自己弄壞的,甚至可能需要自己花錢修理。

◎順利租房小建議:

1.明信片上不用寫到像是「廚房牆上有五公分大污漬」等具體情況。除非哪裡有缺少些東西,不然大致上寫一寫就可以了。例如「廚房有污漬跟破損」

2.可以的話盡量拍照存證,如果不動產公司來檢查時就可以用照片證明不是自己的問題

3.有些不動產公司會在退租時收取過高的賠償費,記得要合理懷疑、據理力爭,以免權益受損

超實用!日本租屋必知名詞總整理

禮金/敷金/共益費/管理費

跟房租及初期費用最相關的名詞就是禮金、敷金、共益費跟管理費。

禮金:顧名思義是給房東的謝禮,感謝房東把房子租給我們。通常會收一到兩個月房租,也有完全不收禮金的房子。

敷金:等同於台灣的押金,通常會收一到兩個月房租。在退租之後會扣掉房子的清潔費與房子汙損的賠償費用後歸還。基本上全額返還的可能性非常低,能拿回一半就不錯了。

共益費:公共空間或設施的使用維護費。很少房子會收這筆或是跟管理費一起收。

管理費:付給保全及管理公司的管理費用,通常不會超過1萬日幣。

建物構造/公營水道與都市瓦斯

建物構造跟公營水道與都市瓦斯是會影響到居住環境和生活費的重要項目,要特別注意。建物構造就是指這間房子是用什麼蓋成的。一般會有鐵筋、鐵骨跟木造三種,最不推薦的是木造,最推薦的是鐵筋。

公營水道和都市瓦斯代表著這裡的管線是跟政府牽來的,沒有業者限制。可以自由選擇最一般的瓦斯跟電力公司,或是找出最適合自己瓦斯或電力公司簽約。

交易型態/不動產公司

交易型態(取引形態)跟仲介費特別有關,如果沒選好可能要多付一個月當仲介費!要特別小心。不動產公司的選擇也很重要,建議找比較知名的業者,或是有辦仲介費優惠活動的公司,更能幫自己找到省錢又好住的房子。

 

不知道租哪裡好?2020年日本人最想住東京首都圈地區排行榜!

每年日本知名不動產公司(Home's)都會整理出在以東京為中心的首都圈中,日本人最想住的地區排行榜,如果真的不知道要租哪裡,不妨來參考一下日本人的意見吧!

1.池袋

連續四年拿下第一名的「池袋」是不分國籍都很愛的地方。除了聚集了JR、西武池袋、東武東上、東京地下鐵等電車路線交通方便之外,百貨公司及商圈眾多,逛街購物超方便,便宜超市也很多,物價較新宿、澀谷等地又便宜不少,是不少人租屋的首選!

2.葛西

最近飯店越蓋越多的葛西,不僅離東京車站僅20分鐘電車車程,到羽田機場跟成田機場也只要客運一班車就能到,連到迪士尼樂園都只要搭公車就可以!而且房租相對便宜,好吃的地方也不少,許多人住過就離不開這裡,不過葛西唯一缺點就是上班尖峰時段搭電車的人實在太多了!

3.川崎

近年重新規劃開發的「川崎」是年輕世代格外注目的租屋地點。車站附近就有大型商場,加上離橫濱跟東京都很近,要去熱海等觀光景點也很方便。不過住在川崎站附近要特別留意的是治安。尤其車站西邊是過去的紅燈區,租房子的時候建議挑在東邊的房子比較好。

以上就是踏著前人的經驗整理成的在日本租房子的基礎知識跟小建議。希望大家都能順利在日本找到適合自己的房子囉~

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

搜尋餐廳

Why Is It Difficult For Foreigners To Rent An Apartment In Japan? A Step-By-Step Guide To Finding A Japanese Home

Many people learn about Japanese culture through reading manga or watching Japanese dramas, and some take such a keen interest in Japan that they decide to live here! However, finding an apartment can be quite tricky, and not everyone can live in a nice place like the ones that appear in TV dramas. Once you manage to find a realtor, you'll need to present proof of monthly income, a Japanese friend or relative to be your guarantor, and sufficient funds for upfront costs, just to name a few of the requirements. So, how exactly can a foreigner rent a place in Japan? What needs to be done? Read on to find out.

Nationwide

Japan In-Depth

Four Steps to Renting a Property in Japan: View, Reserve, Review, and Handover

The four major steps to renting a property in Japan are viewing properties, reserving a property, waiting for your application to be reviewed, and finally handover of the keys. The whole process takes around a month to complete but could be as quick as two weeks. In other countries, renting a house is probably an easier process; but in Japan, these four steps are mandatory.

It might sound quite straightforward so far, but in fact, there are quite a lot of unwritten rules hiding in each step—let’s learn about them one by one.

Viewing: You Can See, but You Can’t Rent: The “No Foreigners” Policy

Properties in Japan are generally negotiated with the landlord through a real estate agency. You will almost never meet the landlord, and dealing directly with the landlord without the agency is practically unheard of. Most people find information about rental housing from websites, apps, store posters, and flyers. If you come across a place you are interested in, you can contact the agency to make an appointment for a viewing.

However, for foreigners, finding an accommodation listed on one of those channels doesn’t always mean you will get to see it. In fact, many landlords in Japan "refuse to rent to foreigners," with some of them even specifying the nationalities that will not be considered as potential tenants. Listings don’t normally specify that a non-native is not accepted—it is only when you email or ask the agent directly about the property, that you are told "Sorry, this place can’t be rented by foreigners."

Therefore, regardless of how good the photos look or how budget-friendly a place is, you have to ask the agent if it can be rented by a foreigner first by saying 「すみません、こちらの物件は外国人でも借りられますか。」(sumimasen, kochira no bukken wa gaikokujin demo kariraremasuka?)

One thing to note is that there are also unscrupulous realtors that will deliberately advertise properties in great conditions or at low rents, but are in fact rented out or even non-existent, in order to bait customers into visiting their shops. Once these agents have lured people in, they will make customers start their search right from the beginning, which would probably end up being a waste of time and effort, and more often than not there are major problems with the apartments they show. You’ve been warned!

After viewing the property, the agent will produce an “initial costs table" listing all the expenses of renting the apartment for the first month. They include the deposit, reikin (a one-time fee for the owner), key exchange fee, and the agent’s commission, all of which can amount to 4 to 5 times the monthly rent. Further explanations on these “initial expenses” and property’s listing information, however, will be saved for another time.

Tips For Successfully Renting an Apartment:

1. If you are very fluent in spoken Japanese, you can go to one of the larger localized real estate agencies (e.g. 21st Century) to try your luck. Some of them might even help convince the landlord or property management company to rent the apartment to you.

2. Properties that are built and managed or leased directly by real estate agencies are generally more expensive, but also of higher quality.

Reservation: First Come but Not First Served? Find a Japanese Friend First!

Once you have agreed on the initial expenses, the agent will have you complete an application form, which requires you to fill in your basic personal data, company and career information, and provide a guarantor or emergency contact.

“A guarantor?” you may be asking. In Japan, renting a property requires having a guarantor, usually someone who is a friend or a relative of the tenant. Guarantor companies can be used in some cases, but the tenant would still need to provide a Japanese relative or friend (or in a few cases, a foreigner living in Japan) as the emergency contact. So, if you want to rent a house, you need to know someone who is Japanese and willing to vouch for you or fork out some cash to hire a guarantor company, otherwise, you won’t be able to move forward with the application.

Furthermore, once an application for a property is sent out successfully, agents will ask you not to cancel it, or if you need to do so, do it as early as possible. This is because after a request is sent out and approved, the property management company will contact the internet and TV companies to start the reconnection process, which is very labor-intensive. On the other hand, it also prevents people from applying for properties indiscriminately and taking away opportunities from other potential tenants.

However, if you find another property that you are absolutely in love with after having just applied to one, or if you are unable to move in because of personal reasons, be sure to email or call the agent to cancel your application as soon as possible. Otherwise, not only is it troublesome for the agency, but it could also affect your credibility—you may find the company less willing to help you with your future applications.

Application Review: It’s All Down to Luck, But Your Job and Guarantors Are Crucial Factors

After submitting the application, it could take one to two weeks for the landlord or the management company to review it. It can be a stressful time for the applicant, because if rejected, they would have to restart the search process, and the other party usually won't disclose the reason behind the rejection.

So, how do you increase your chances of passing a review? Your guarantor or emergency contact person and your job are the keys.

The review is mainly to help the landlord avoid potential problems, such as unpaid rent, the tenants leaving without notice, or the tenant making a mess of the property. Therefore, a basic judgment is made based on the information submitted in the application.

For most foreigners who generally do not have any credit history in Japan, their annual income, company size, and chosen guarantor will become the focus of the review. Someone who works in a large-scale company or a company that is willing to be their guarantor will have little to no problems getting an approval. But even if you work for a smaller company, as long as you have a full-time job and can prove that you have sufficient regular income to cover your rent, your application will typically be accepted. As a side note, a common benchmark for a review is whether the rental cost falls within 25-30% of the applicant’s monthly salary. If you are trying to apply for a property where the rent exceeds 30% of your income, you are unlikely to get a pass.

In addition, the occupations of your emergency contact and guarantor can also be crucial. For example, if he or she is a civil servant such as a public school teacher or an employee of the Tokyo City government, or in a managerial position in a renowned company, your application is more likely to succeed, as it gives the landlord or management company more assurance.

◎Tips For a Successful Rental Application:

1. Having a full-time job in a legitimate company is essentially a prerequisite.

2. Only want to work part-time? Find a share house, a foreign property agent, or a foreign landlord (preferably of your own nationality).

3. Foreign students should check if they can use their school as a guarantor and apply for "Comprehensive Renters’ Insurance for Foreign Students" (留学生住宅総合補償) to substitute for expensive guarantor companies.

Handover: You’ve Got the Key, Now What? This Is Just Another Beginning...

After passing the review, you are about to sign the rental agreement and get the keys! But don’t get too excited just yet—this is Japan, after all, so you’re not out of the woods yet.

More often than not, properties handed over to new tenants come unfurnished, meaning no furniture, no appliances, and in rare cases, not even a light bulb! You also have to reconnect the utilities—water, gas, and electricity—by phone or online. Otherwise, you might find yourself literally staring at nothing but the bare walls of your new home. So, make sure you find time to sort these things out beforehand.

The handover will be conducted at the real estate’s office, with the terms of the rental contract explained to you, as well as compensation clauses should damages occur. It is also a Japanese legal requirement for a qualified real estate broker to go through the details of the contract and answer your questions. If the broker doesn’t produce his or her license, be sure to ask for it in order to protect your rights.

This is crucial because if differences arise in the understanding or interpretation of the rental contract, you may find yourself having to dig deep into your pockets when you end your contract.

Once you have signed the contract, you will get a form or a postcard, along with your contract and keys, from the agent. Generally speaking, the agent won’t accompany you to inspect the property for scratches or dents; you have to do it yourself and write down any issues on the form or postcard. Therefore, the first thing to do when you arrive in your new home is not to move in, but to take a good look at every wall and corner, document and photograph any issues, and send the form or postcard back to the agency. More importantly, if there is anything broken or in such a bad state that it cannot be used, inform the management company immediately for inspection and repair, otherwise, they could accuse you of the damage and you might be responsible for the cost of repair.

◎Handy Tips For a Trouble-Free Rental:

1. When filling out your inspection form, don’t go into as much detail as “5cm stain on kitchen wall.” Unless there is something missing, a simple description like “stain on kitchen wall” is enough.

2. Take photos of issues if possible before you move in, to prove to the management company that they were not caused by you.

3. Some property companies may try to charge exuberant amounts of compensation at the end of a tenancy. Be sure to prepare evidence and reasons to support your own argument to avoid being bullied into paying.

Other Things to Know When Renting a Place in Japan

Japanese Words: Reikin 礼金 / Shikikin 敷金 / Kyoekihi 共益費 / Kanrihi 管理費

The four most common keywords with regards to rental properties are: reikin, shikikin, kyoekihi, and kanrihi. 

Reikin: The reikin is a gratuity you pay to your landlord for renting out their property. While it usually amounts to one or two month’s rent, some apartments require none at all.

Shikikin: Shikikin is the deposit, usually the equivalent of one or two month’s rent. This will be returned to you after deducting cleaning and repair costs at the end of the tenancy. Realistically, it is rare to be able to have the full amount returned—you'll be lucky to get half of it back.

Kyoekihi: Kyoekihi is the fee that pays for the maintenance of the common areas of the building, however, this is rare to see and is usually included in the management fee.

Kanrihi: Kanrihi is the fee that pays for security and property management and is normally under 10,000 yen per month. 

Building Structure / Public Water and Gas

It is important to note that the building structure, public water, and gas are factors that may affect the living environment and expenses. The building structure refers to what the property is built of: wood, light-steel, or reinforced steel. Wooden structures are generally the least recommended, while the most recommended are those made of reinforced steel.

Public waterways and gas pipelines are both managed by the government and are not restricted to any utility company. You can choose from the most popular gas and power companies, or sign a contract with one that offers a special deal such as cell phone companies that also offer electricity at a discount. 

Transaction Method / Real Estate Agency

Agency fees are related to the transaction type and a careless choice could cost you up to a month of extra fees! Choosing the right realtor is also essential, so go for a renowned company or one with promotional campaigns offering discounts to ensure you find a good home without costing an arm and a leg.

Don’t Know Where to Live? Check Out the Most Popular Neighborhoods Within the Greater Tokyo Area in 2020

Every year, famous Japanese real estate company LIFULL HOMES publishes a ranking of the most popular locations in the greater Tokyo area among Japanese people. If you really can’t decide on where to live, this might give you some suggestions.

1. Ikebukuro

Ranked first for the fourth year in a row, Ikebukuro is wildly popular among people of all nationalities. It is an accessible transport hub where various JR lines, the Seibu-Ikebukuro line, the Tobu-Tojo line, and the Tokyo Metro all pass through. What’s more, there are a plethora of department stores, shopping streets, and affordable supermarkets in the neighborhood, making shopping very convenient and much cheaper than places like Shinjuku or Shibuya. No wonder Ikebukuro is many people’s favorite choice!

2. Kasai

With more and more restaurants opening in the area, Kasai is just a 20-minute train ride from Tokyo Station. Haneda Airport and Narita Airport are both only one bus ride away; even Tokyo Disneyland is accessible by bus. Being a little away from the city center, rent is relatively cheap, yet it has no shortage of eateries to choose from. Once you experience life in Kasai, you wouldn’t want to leave! The only downside is that the trains do get very packed during the morning rush hour.

3. Kawasaki

Swiftly appearing on the radar of the younger generation is Kawasaki, an area that has recently undergone redevelopment and renewal, with brand-new shopping malls flanking the station. Kawasaki sits conveniently between Tokyo and Yokohama, while Atami and other sightseeing areas are also easily accessible. The only thing to be aware of is safety—particularly on the west side of the station, which used to be a red-light district. Because of this, finding a home on the east side instead would be a better idea.

This concludes the guide to renting a property in Japan. With these tips and suggestions, hopefully you will have fewer problems finding a nice home!

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Things to Do

Hotels & Ryokan

Shopping

Restaurant Search