電子鍋該如何挑選?日本電子鍋大廠傳授煮飯美味要領

身為米飯大國,米飯於日本無處不在,除了日常飲食脫離不了的白米飯,壽司、咖喱飯、丼飯等料理都能見其蹤跡。日本亦有各種各樣的煮飯炊具,其中技術革新不斷、功能多樣的電子鍋,插上電源,只一按鍵即可輕鬆炊飯,幾乎是現代日本人家裡必備品。不過市面上眾多的電子鍋該如何選擇?如何用電子鍋煮出美味白飯?一起向日本電子鍋大廠請教吧!

日本

購物

電子鍋的選擇方式

依家裡人口數選擇電子鍋尺寸

談電子鍋前,首先要了解日本炊米時習慣以「合」為單位,一合即一量米杯,約150g,以米杯換算則體積為180ml,大致可煮兩碗白飯。而挑選電子鍋,首要考量尺寸。

目前日本市面上的電子鍋尺寸多為3至5.5合炊,一般煮3合飯時會建議使用5合或5.5合炊的電子鍋為佳,而非3或3.5合炊的電子鍋。這是為了讓內鍋留有一定空間,使空氣與米粒能充分對流,避免加熱不均。

依加熱方式選擇機型

① 微電腦式

內鍋底部裝載加熱盤,藉此將熱能傳遞至鍋內,再利用微電腦控溫。由於加熱來源單一且火力較弱,鍋內的米粒容易受熱不均,可能底層的米飯已經熟軟了,但頂層仍夾生或米飯口感偏硬,因此微電腦式電子鍋較適合少量烹飪,如一人份。通常屬於低階機型,價格普遍相對廉宜。

② IH

藉IH電磁感應原理的加熱技術誘導金屬內鍋發熱,不只鍋底部,側壁也一同發熱,因此熱能傳遞上比微電腦式更為均勻,可確實傳達至鍋內的每一粒米。適合想輕鬆吃到美味米飯的人。

③ 壓力IH

結合上述IH式與壓力鍋原理,通過壓力提高沸點,溫度甚至可達100度以上,能讓米粒在短時間內加熱炊煮完成,牽引出米飯的甜與黏,讓口感綿實軟彈。具有高性能和出色保溫效果,多見於高級機種。

內鍋材質也是選鍋要點

電子鍋內鍋材質分成金屬、非金屬,根據材質與形狀,傳熱速度、受熱均勻與否、保溫效果、米飯口感等皆有所影響。

① 金屬製內鍋

最大特長為熱傳導速度快,效率高,能有效地傳遞熱量。典型內鍋金屬材質有鐵、不鏽鋼、鋁與銅。鐵鍋發熱最高;銅鍋則導熱性好,遠紅外線效果佳。不過金屬鍋美中不足之處,在於一旦關閉電源,鍋子便會迅速降溫,導致米飯溫度急速下降,連帶風味與口感也一同下滑。一般說道溫度越高,煮出來的飯也就越香,但因為金屬鍋蓄熱性較差、易散熱,最高溫只能達130°C左右,因此味道與口感可能略微遜色些。

② 非金屬製內鍋

多使用陶土、炭等自然素材製成,尤以土鍋的遠紅外線效果最佳,可將熱能牢牢傳達至米芯。另外土鍋內鍋也有優秀的蓄熱性及保溫性。由於可以用比金屬鍋高約兩倍的溫度來烹煮米飯,因此熱能更能直達米芯帶出米飯的甜與鮮。炭鍋同樣具備良好導熱性及遠紅外線效果,唯比起金屬鍋脆弱得多,宜謹慎使用。

高階電子鍋與平價電子鍋差別何在?

閱讀至此,相信您對挑選電子鍋已有初步概念。日本當今的電子鍋市場競爭熱烈,售價範圍非常廣泛,從日幣數千元至十萬元以上不等,依尺寸、加熱方式、內鍋材質、功能等因素而異。那麼高端機款與平價機種究竟差別在哪呢?

接下來透過日本業界巨頭「TIGER虎牌」於2021年新開發、堪稱業界規格最高端的「土鍋壓力IH炊飯器<炊きたて>土鍋泡火炊​ JPL-G100」,一起來深入認識頂級機種的優異之處。

土鍋壓力IH炊飯器<炊きたて>土鍋泡火炊​ JPL-G100(以下簡稱「JPL-G100」)

① 耗時3個月完工的真正土鍋內鍋

如前述提及,壓力IH是目前最受推崇的加熱方式,「JPL-G100」的內鍋不單採用壓力IH,還是真正的土鍋,於日本知名陶器「萬古燒」產地三重縣四日市製成。一般土鍋內鍋多半僅在鍋壁添上陶土塗層,但「JPL-G100」可是正統土鍋,製作工序之繁瑣,從依氣溫、濕度調節陶土,三度高溫素燒,到針對外觀、重量、尺寸逐一精密檢查,每只內鍋須耗時約3個月才完工。

由於原料為嚴選高品質的土材,能耐高火力(最高溫可達280度),即使急速冷卻也不易破裂,格外堅固,且從鍋底至鍋壁都維持一致的高發熱效率。擁有傑出的蓄熱性與遠紅外線效果,宛如傳統爐灶可將熱能量均勻穩定傳遞至整個鍋體,促進米粒糊化,催化米的鮮甜。

另外土鍋材質獨有的一大特徵,便是高溫加熱時,大量產生細緻均一的泡泡,這些泡泡能溫柔包覆米粒表面,使內鍋空氣與熱能對流時,減少米粒間摩擦損傷,牢牢鎖住甜味關鍵來源的澱粉成分。這次TIGER虎牌也特別提供內鍋5年保固期。

② 搭載鼎新技術「多階段壓力構造」與「彈力潤澤幫浦」

電子鍋內鍋往往溫度升降起伏大,「JPL-G100」所配備的新技術之一「多階段壓力構造」,藉由溫和的溫度變化,與階段式的壓力控制(如上圖),徐緩引出米的沁甜。另一道「彈力潤澤幫浦」技術,則比擬有吸收多餘水蒸氣功能的傳統木製飯桶,透過鍋底設置的溫度感測器感應溫度,並在高溫悶蒸時抽除內鍋裡過剩的水氣,進而讓米粒水份控制在最佳狀態,如此煮出來的米飯看上去晶亮潤白,嚐起來紮實彈勁。

③ 可配合一人份調整大小的內鍋

即便與家人同住,偶爾也有只需煮少量米飯的時候吧。「JPL-G100」的內鍋為5.5合炊尺寸,對於一人份米量(0.5合)而言稍嫌空間過大,為此,TIGER虎牌特別設計專用內蓋,闔上這款附贈內蓋,即能做出最適恰少量炊飯的空間。不論一人獨居或四人家族,皆可隨喜調整內鍋大小。

④ 易於使用也方便清洗的體貼設計

電子鍋是幾乎每日都會使用的家電,除了功能多元,順手好使用、方便洗潔也是一大重點。從前高機能的機種多裝載許多配件,需一一拆洗,稍嫌不便,但「JPL-G100」特別簡化設計,只要清洗內鍋及內蓋即可。

電子鍋炊飯的美味要訣

挑選好心儀的電子鍋,接下來如何洗米、煮飯、保存食剩的米飯也是一道本領。根據米飯達人TIGER虎牌的解說,可分為以下幾個重點。

淘米

米飯好吃的一大重點,即保留米粒的完整形狀與營養,因此淘米時只要適當去除米粒上附著的米糠及灰塵即可。過去常有「要把米淘得很乾淨」的說法,但其實現今的稻米多半已處理得很完善,不需過度出力淘洗,如此反而傷及米粒表面,甚至破壞米的養分。

洗米基本以乾淨冷水為主,這是因為溫水或熱水會讓米粒溫度上升,提高米的吸水力,易使米在淘洗過程中吸附其他異味。第一次淘米時不要讓米泡水太久,大約10秒左右就可倒掉水,接著不加水的狀態下,以指尖輕柔來回刷20~30回。淘米完畢後添水,立即倒掉,重複三四回直至水稍變澄澈即可。

水量

精確掌控米與水的比例,是煮好一鍋飯不可缺少的要件。由於電子鍋煮飯的過程中會自動算計好浸米、蒸米的時間,因此無需事先浸米。需注意的是,添水時內鍋需平穩擺放,量米杯盛滿米後則用筷子或手指撫平米粒表面,倒入內鍋,並參考內鍋的水量刻度添水(一杯米即加水至1的高度)。若沒有事先精確控制水量,則可能導致燒焦或煮沸溢出等情況。

盛米

一般都說飯煮好後要放置10~15分鐘左右,讓米飯再吸收水分,彈性更好,但其實電子鍋的烹飪過程裡已計入蒸米時間,因此炊飯完成時即可立刻開鍋享用。使用飯勺將炊熟的米飯劃成十字形,飯勺以斜面的方式切入舀起,如此就能在不破壞米粒形狀下盛飯。

冷凍、解凍

當有剩餘白飯時,該以電子鍋持續保溫,冰入冷藏庫,或存於冷凍庫呢?根據TIGER虎牌的建議,電子鍋雖有便利的保溫功能,但為了不讓米飯在保溫過程中乾燥、變色,甚至出現不良風味,最好避免長時間保溫。而放入冷藏庫裡則會有米飯水氣隨溫度下降而蒸發、風味逐漸流失、澱粉老化等問題,導致米粒乾燥發硬,因此也不甚建議。

為避免上述狀況,直接冷凍米飯、快速鎖住美味是最好作法。一般保存方法可將米飯裝入容器,或把一餐份量的白飯均勻攤平於保鮮膜上,捲起包成扁平狀,最外層再包覆一層鋁箔紙,以免壓傷米粒。不過若將熱騰騰白飯直接冰入冰箱,又怕會影響冷凍庫其餘食材,因此應利用最短時間減少米飯餘溫,比如放在金屬盤上或隔水降溫,當米飯稍微降溫後便迅速冰入冷凍庫,如此不僅能保有米粒水分,風味也不易改變。

至於解凍時,基本上將冷凍白飯連同保鮮膜放入微波爐,以600W、30秒~1分鐘的時間加熱,用筷子稍微撥鬆,再移入耐熱容器,覆上保鮮膜再以600W加熱約2分鐘即可(加熱時間需根據米量調整)。透過「兩段式加熱法」能有效去除多餘水氣,輕鬆吃到一碗口感緊實不軟糊、飯香豐溢的白飯。

根據需求挑選最適合自己的電子鍋

一碗看似簡單的米飯卻不簡單,工欲善其事,必先利其器,煮飯鍋具亦是成就美味的關鍵之一。而現代化、多功能便利的日本電子鍋,幾乎每戶人家都有一台,甚至有不少海外遊客赴日旅遊時會特意選購扛回家。希望本篇文章對您有所幫助,不妨根據自己的需求,選擇最適合自己的電子鍋吧!

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

搜尋餐廳

How to Choose a Rice Cooker According to One of Japan’s Biggest Rice Maker Brands (+ How to Make Delicious Rice!)

As a country known for its rice, Japan is naturally home to a wealth of tantalizing rice dishes! In addition to the irreplaceable bowl of plain white rice accompanying everyday meals, there is sushi, curry, donburi, and more! There are also a ton of rice cooking equipment flaunting the latest technology, such as the electric rice cooker, which is loaded with a dazzling array of handy features. Considered an essential item in Japanese households, the electric rice cooker allows delicious rice to be cooked and enjoyed at the push of a button. However, with so many different electric rice cookers on the market, how do you find the right one? And how exactly does one use it to cook tasty, authentic rice? To find the definitive answer, we spoke with a representative from Tiger Corporation, one of Japan’s leading rice maker manufacturers.

Nationwide

Shopping

How to Choose the Best Electric Rice Cooker

Choose Your Rice Cooker By the Number of People You Need to Serve

Before diving into the rice cookers themselves, it’s important to understand that Japanese people use the measurement unit “go” when cooking rice. “1-go” is roughly equal to 150 g or 180 ml, which is about one rice measuring cup and enough rice for approximately two bowls. When purchasing a rice cooker for yourself, it’s extremely important to consider the size before making your choice.

Rice cooker sizes in Japan currently range from 3-go to 5.5-go. It's recommended to size up to a 5/5.5-go rice cooker if you want to cook 3-go worth of rice, as there'll be plenty of space left over in the inner pot, allowing for proper convection of the air and rice and preventing uneven heating.

Choose Your Rice Cooker By the Heating Method

① Microcomputer-Controlled Rice Cooker

With this type of rice cooker, a heater controlled by a microcomputer is installed at the bottom of the rice cooker pot. As there is only one heat source, which is often on the weaker side, the heat is prone to being unevenly distributed within the rice. While the rice at the bottom will be soft and fluffy, the cooker’s inability to heat the entire pot at once can lead to hard, undercooked rice on the top. Because of this, microcomputer-controlled rice cookers are better suited for those who will be eating a single portion of rice. Compared to the other options below, microcomputer-controlled rice cookers are generally the most reasonably priced.

② IH (Induction Heating)

Using electromagnetic induction heating technology, IH rice cookers are able to generate heat within a metal inner pot. The heat transmission is more uniform than a microcomputer-controlled rice cooker and will reliably cook each grain of rice evenly. For those looking to eat delicious rice without fuss, this is a great choice!

③ Pressure IH Rice Cooker

This rice cooker combines the principles of IH with pressure cooking, which uses pressure to increase the boiling point and allow the temperature to rise above 100°C. Because the rice is heated and cooked over a shorter period of time, the resulting rice boasts accentuated sweetness and a satisfyingly springy texture. With a highly advanced performance and incredible heat retention, pressure IH is often seen on higher-end models.

Choose Your Rice Cooker By the Inner Pot Material

The inner pot of a rice cooker is either metal or nonmetal. This choice of material and shape will drastically affect the heat transmission speed and evenness, along with thermal retention properties and overall taste.

① Metal Inner Pots

The biggest feature of metal inner pots is the fast and efficient heat conduction. Most metal inner pots are made from iron, stainless steel, aluminium, or copper. Iron inner pots generate the most powerful heat, while copper pots have good thermal conductivity and far infrared effects. However, metal pots are also lacking in some areas, such as a tendency to quickly release heat and low thermal retention properties. This limits them to a temperature of around 130°C, preventing them from reaching the high temperatures needed to cook truly delicious rice and leading to lackluster taste and texture.

② Nonmetal Inner Pots

Nonmetal inner pots are made from all sorts of natural materials, such as clay and charcoal. In particular, the earthenware “donabe” is particularly renowned for its potent far infrared effects, allowing the heat to reach the core of each grain of rice. In addition, donabe have excellent thermal retention and can cook rice at roughly twice the heat power of metal. This ensures the rice is thoroughly cooked until fluffy and soft while drawing out its extra sweetness and umami flavors. “Suminabe” pots made from charcoal have similarly good heat conduction and far infrared effects, however, they are much easier to break than metal pots, making it important to handle them with utmost care.

What’s the Difference Between a High-End and Mid-Range Electric Rice Cooker?

By now you’ve probably got a pretty good idea of how to select an electric rice cooker! Today’s rice cooker market in Japan is brimming with fierce competition, resulting in an ample variety of sizes, heating methods, inner pot materials, and functions. Prices naturally range from just a few thousand yen to 100,000 yen and above. So, what exactly are the main differences between a high-end and mid-range rice cooker?

To understand more about the benefits of high-end versions, we’ll be taking a look at the leading Japanese appliance manufacturer Tiger Corporation's “Donabe Pressure IH Rice Cooker <Takitate> Donabe Gohobi Taki JPL-G100,” which was developed in 2021 and is said to be one of the world’s best rice cookers.

Donabe Pressure IH Rice Cooker <Takitate> Donabe Gohobi Taki JPL-G100

① Each Unit Takes 3 Months to Make! A Rice Cooker With a Real Donabe Inner Pot

In addition to using the highly recommended aforementioned pressure IH heating method, the JPL-G100 boasts an authentic donabe inner pot made in Yokkaichi, Mie Prefecture, the home of Japan’s famous Banko ware porcelain. While many donabe inner pots only have a coating of pottery clay, the JPL-G100’s pot is a real donabe that takes a whopping 3 months to craft! The clay is adjusted depending on the temperature and humidity and is fired unglazed three times at high temperatures. The appearance, weight, and size of each pot is individually and precisely inspected to ensure the ultimate final product.

The pot’s material is sourced from carefully selected premium clay, making it durable and able to resist high temperatures (up to 280°C), along with being impervious to cracking from sudden cooling and maintaining consistent heat from the bottom to the sides. It also boasts fantastic heat retention and far infrared effects, ensuring a stable heat energy that is equally transferred throughout the entire pot with the intensity of a traditional “kamado” flame cooking stove. The rice inside will be quickly forced to undergo gelatinization, amplifying the fresh, sweet flavors hidden within.

Another major feature of donabe material are the large amount of fine, uniform bubbles generated when heated at high temperatures. These bubbles gently envelop the surface of the rice, reducing damage caused by friction between grains during the convection between air and heat while also locking in starch, the origin of rice’s sweetness. This inner pot by Tiger also comes with a 5 year warranty period.

② Equipped With Revolutionary New Technology: The Multistage Pressure Mechanism and Haritsuya Pump

While temperature fluctuation within the inner pot can occasionally be severe, the brand-new “multistage pressure mechanism” on the JPL-G100 ensures gentle temperature changes through step-by-step pressure control (see above image), drawing out the rice’s sweetness. Meanwhile, the “haritsuya pump” technology works to absorb excess water vapor, giving it the same effect as a traditional wooden “ohitsu” container or the wooden lid of a kamado stove. The temperature sensor installed at the bottom of the pot allows control over the moisture of the rice by expelling excess vapor during the high temperature steaming. This ensures that the finished rice has the perfect moisture content, making it brilliantly white with a firm bite.

③ An Adjustable Inner Pot Allowing Rice For One

Even if you have a family or housemates, there are times when you just want to cook a little rice for yourself! As the inner pot of the JPL-G100 is 5.5-go, it’s way too big for just one serving (0.5-go). To solve this issue, Tiger has created a special attachable inner pot lid to make it smaller and suitable for smaller servings of rice. Whether you’re cooking for yourself or a group, with the inner pot lid, you can adjust your rice cooker pot to the optimal size!

④ An Easy-to-Use, Easy-to-Clean Design

As rice cookers are an everyday item, in addition to versatile functions, ease-of-use and hassle-free cleaning are equally important. While previous advanced units contained lots of inconvenient individual parts needing to be individually removed and washed, the JPL-G100 is designed to be as simple as possible, with only the inner pot and lid requiring cleaning.

The Trick to Making Delicious Rice in an Electric Rice Cooker!

Once you’ve chosen the unit you like, knowing how to properly wash, cook, and store leftover rice is vital in ensuring your rice cooker is used to the best of its ability! According to the masters of rice, Tiger Corporation, the following points are key to delicious rice cooker rice!

Wash the Rice

One of the most important factors in delicious rice is maintaining its shape and nutrition while cooking. This is why all you need to do when washing rice is remove the attached rice bran and dust. While many in the past would say “wash rice until it’s perfectly clean,” rice nowadays is thoroughly processed before being sold. If you put excessive energy into washing it, you can damage the surface and destroy the nutrients that lie within.

When washing, the norm is to use cold, clean water. Lukewarm or hot water will increase the temperature of the rice while enhancing its water absorbability, which may lead to it picking up other odors. When first washing the rice, avoid soaking it in water for too long - pour out the water after around 10 seconds. Lightly rub the rice with your fingertips about 20-30 times without water. Once you’ve washed the rice and added water, immediately drain it and repeat 3/4 times until the water is a little clearer.

Pay Attention to the Amount of Water

Correctly understanding the ratio of water to rice is another fundamental key to making delicious rice. As rice cookers are preprogrammed with the correct times for soaking and steaming, there is no need to soak the rice beforehand. However, make sure the inner pot is placed perfectly flat and the rice is even before pouring in the water as per the scale indicated on the side of the pot. An uneven water level can lead to burning or boiling over.

How to Serve Rice

While many say that leaving rice for 10-15 mins after cooking to reabsorb moisture will make it firmer, modern rice cookers already have steaming time built into the cooking process, so it’s fine to open the lid and start eating as soon as it’s finished cooking. Use a rice scoop and cut the cooked rice crosswise and scoop it diagonally. This will allow you to serve the rice without breaking the grains.

Freezing and Thawing Rice

If you have leftover rice, should you leave it to stay warm in the cooker, put it in the fridge, or freeze it? While Tiger’s rice cookers have a handy heat maintaining function, Tiger says that leaving it in the cooker for a long time should be avoided as the rice may dry, change color, or lose its taste. Likewise, putting it in the fridge will cause the moisture in each grain to evaporate as the temperature drops, ruining its taste, deteriorating the starch, and making the rice turn dry and hard.

The best way to store rice is to immediately freeze it, which will ensure that its taste is locked in and preserved. The most common way is to place the rice into a container or evenly spread a serving of rice across plastic wrap, wrap it up flat, and cover the outer layer with foil. This will allow you to safely store the rice without damaging it. However, putting piping hot rice straight into the freezer may affect other items, so it’s best to quickly cool it first, such as by putting it onto a metal plate or placing it into a container floating on ice water. Once the rice is cooled, immediately put it in the freezer. By doing this, the rice grains will retain their moisture and the taste will remain unspoilt!

When defrosting, most people will put the wrapped up rice directly into the microwave and heat it for 30 seconds to 1 min at 600 W. After taking it out and breaking it apart a little with chopsticks, transfer it into a heat-proof container, cover it with wrap, and heat it again for 2 mins at 600 W (the time required will need to be adjusted according to the serving). Through this “two-stage heating method,” excess moisture is removed, allowing you to easily relish fluffy rice without any sogginess or stickiness.

Choose the Electric Rice Cooker That Best Suits Your Lifestyle!

Even for something as simple as rice, there’s a surprising amount of depth involved! And to get the job done right, you first need the right tools! Rice cookers are one of many keys required to make delicious food, and modern, multifunctional Japanese rice cookers are an essential in virtually every Japanese household. These days, many international visitors to Japan are likewise keen to pick up their own Japanese rice cooker to bring back home. Aided by the information in this article, you’ll be able to pick out a rice cooker that fits your needs and treat yourself to mouthwatering, perfectly cooked rice every night!

 

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search