白底紅太陽是怎麼來的?關於日本國旗的大小事

您是否曾對日本國旗的起源感到好奇呢?如此簡樸卻引人注目的設計是從何而來,而又為什麼中心是太陽?在本文中,我們將會解釋為甚麼日本國旗上的圖案是顆紅色太陽,也會告訴您太陽是何時變成國旗的圖示,以及日本國旗的其他變化。

日本

日本文化

日之丸:日本國旗

雖然日本國旗比起其他國旗來說設計上相對簡單一些(甚至也有人認為這是世界上最簡易的國旗),但的確沒有其他設計會比現有的太陽旗更來得有代表性和日本性。

純淨的白底色、以紅色圓圈為中心的設計可讓其他國家的人容易記住,並喚起日本和日本人民的強烈印象。在日本,這個旗幟有個正式的名稱「日章旗(Nisshoki)」,意為「太陽的旗幟」,通常被稱為「日之丸(日の丸)」或「太陽的圓圈」。這兩個名字均指日本國的意涵,也就是「日出之地」,在日本已擁有1200多年的歷史。

日本旗幟的歷史

日本國旗上的那一點紅是代表什麼?

日本國旗的白色部分上有一個實心的紅色圓圈,是代表太陽。這個設計的原因具有深厚的宗教和文化根源。

太陽在日本文化中有著核心地位。神道是日本島上的本土多神信仰,其中一個特點就是非常重視太陽。根據神道信仰他們相信世上存在著成千上萬的神靈(八百万神),而其中最重要的是太陽神「天照(あまてらす)」。祂是神道的主神也是日本皇室的祖先。這種對於太陽的崇拜,再加上地理位置上,日本位於中國的東方(太陽升起之位置,古代日本人的觀點認為太陽是從日本群島升起),而把這份信仰套用在了國名上,也把它套用在其國旗上。

事實上,「白色背景上的紅色太陽」是個很古老的意象,雖然它在歷史上並非一直持續地被使用,也不總是代表整個國家。日本與朝陽劃上等號的概念源於7世紀初左右,當時日本天皇就開始使用「天皇」一詞,在與中原政權的正式往來書信中也自稱為天皇。

8世紀末,首次有記錄使用稱為「日章」的元旦旗或帶有金色太陽的旗幟。不過當時旗幟的設計形式到底如何就是未知的了。目前的樣式:白色底上畫一個紅色圓圈,被認為是在12世紀的源平合戰後產生。

交戰雙方(平氏和源氏)的旗幟都以太陽為象徵,且以圓圈表示,而配色方面則不同。平氏的旗幟是紅底和金色太陽,而源氏的旗幟則是在白底和紅色圓圈。由於源氏取得勝利並成為統一日本的統治者,他們的旗幟就被流傳下來並使用。

目前存放最古老的日本國旗,是在位於山梨縣的雲峰寺。號稱是11世紀由當時的後冷泉天皇御前賞賜的禮物,雖然不確定這段說法的真偽,不過比較可考的是它應該於16世紀就已存在,因此至少也有4-500年的歷史。

日之丸正式被官方指定為日本國旗

直到19世紀末,日本才將日之丸作為日本的官方旗幟。19世紀中葉時,日本開始與從歐洲來的民族進行更多接觸和交流後,日本發現有必要與其他地區的船隻做上不同的記號加以識別。 1854年,江戶幕府下令所有日本船隻都需懸掛日之丸,並於1870年定為在日本貿易商船的正式旗幟。

而到了1885年時,日之丸正式成為日本國旗。由於當時國家正全面進行西化維新,法律的編纂方式也發生變化,因此耗時長達15年的時間。所有過去未在《日本國憲法官報》上發布的法律都被廢除,包括將日之丸定為船旗的這條法律。

這導致日之丸雖然已被視為國旗,但在法律定義上卻未有任何說明。直到一百多年後的1999年《關於國旗和國歌的法律》通過,再次將日之丸作為日本的正式國旗。

日本旗幟的多種樣式

白底上一點紅色圓圈的旗子設計並非唯一的樣式,還有其他幾個常見的,當中也包括了不論是過去還是現今仍存有爭議的幾面旗子。日本陸軍和海軍的兩個軍部都使用「旭日旗」。這種樣式的旗幟設計是日本的紅色太陽為主,並從太陽中心到旗幟的邊界增加16條紅色的光線(太陽輻射)。

1868年至二戰結束期間,日本帝國陸軍旗所使用的旗幟如上圖所示,將太陽放置在中間的位置。

1889年到二戰結束期間,日本帝國海軍旗則有點不同,如上所示是將太陽放置於稍微偏離中心的左方。戰後兩軍部都保留原本的旗幟,繼續使用曾於二戰中使用的標誌。不過後來為了回應外界的抗議,有稍微作了一些改動。

而日本自衛隊和地面自衛隊(日本目前的僅有的國防軍事部門)的旗幟則是將射線從16條減少至8條,並把旗幟變成正方形,還在邊緣增加金色邊框。

而新成立的海上自衛隊則只是將日本帝國海軍旗的顏色更改為稍亮的紅色,其餘部分則保持不變。

現今這個旗子還會在日本的空中飛舞著嗎?

這面白底紅點的日之丸在海外或許還算常見,但實際上在現今的日本當地並不那麼常見。 如果要能看到高掛的日之丸,通常只會在政府或國家建築物上。其他地方級行政機構如市政廳、國公立高中、銀行和其他場所則不那麼常見,就算有也不會高掛。這是因為它與二戰和超民族主義(或稱極端民族主義)掛有意涵,而超民族主義是戰時日本國家意識形態的很大一部分。

由於這種超民族主義即民族主義信仰,有些人會經常在自家懸掛這面旗幟。這也是為什麼日本政府直到1999年才將日之丸正式作為日本官方旗幟的原因。而即便是戰爭已結束6-70年的那時,修訂這條法律時也引起相當多爭議。對於現代大多數日本人來說,想到國旗就會想到政府設施,要不就是激進的民族主義。

受到日本影響的其他國家的國旗

雖然日本國旗對他國的國旗影響不像英、美、法那樣多且深,但目前世界上仍有兩個國家的國旗,看起來與日之丸的設計很相似。

帛琉

帛琉是位於菲律賓東南部的太平洋小島國,國旗設計是在藍底上使用偏左的黃色圓圈。黃色的圓圈代表月亮,藍色的底則代表太平洋。雖然和日本國旗極為相似,但國旗的設計者和帛琉政府都否認與日本國旗有任何關係。

孟加拉

孟加拉國旗也和帛琉的也有些像。在綠底上放置偏左的紅色圓圈。最初,紅色圓圈李還包含孟加拉本身的國土形狀的黃色輪廓,不過在1972年刪除了這個部分。綠色代表綠色植物的茂盛,紅色代表孟加拉在國家解放戰爭中的流血事件。同樣地雖然外人看起來設計上與日本國旗非常相似,但孟加拉官方也是否認了此事。

日本國內的其他旗子

日本除了國旗,各縣也都有自己的縣旗,且非常具有象徵性、醒目、富有美學感,令人賞心悅目。很多縣旗都加入帶有地方特色或有非凡意義的地標、事物,這是日本傳統上設計「紋章」慣用的手法。以下將介紹現今仍飛舞在空中的前5名最佳、最廣為人知的縣旗。

 

東京

東京有兩個官方都旗,雖然聽起來很特別,但其實在日本有兩面旗也不是一件稀奇的事。旗中央的綠色符號既是銀杏樹的葉子,也是東京英文開頭的「T」。

大阪

大阪府旗使用的是代表「長壽」的葫蘆,也是大阪人最喜歡的豐臣秀吉的象徵(戰國後期的關白,是著名的歷史人物)。藍色背景則代表著許多事物,包括海洋、天空和貫穿府內的數條河流。

沖繩

沖繩縣旗就像日本國旗一樣,由非常簡單的結構設計而成,有非常強烈的辨識功能。 整面旗的設計理念是用沖繩英文開頭的「O」,把日本國旗的紅色太陽包起來。

福岡

福岡縣旗的符號代表兩件事。其一,是設計過的的平假名「ふく(fuku)」,為縣名的前兩個音節。其二,它也代表福岡的縣花:梅。

 

靜岡

靜岡縣旗的設計很好理解,把富士山置於中央。背景的藍色代表天空和太平洋,而橙色則代表陽光和熱情。

結論

日本作為旗幟大國,上述介紹的這些縣旗和日之丸只是其中一部分而已,幾乎各個城市、地方行政機構,學校和協會都有會自己的旗幟,而這些旗幟通常都是獨一無二且賞心悅目。 如果您喜歡日本設計旗幟的理念,何不試試深入去看看那些懸掛在日本全國各地的數百種其他旗幟呢?也許其中一個會特別引起您的注意!

封面照片: Takuchu Camerabu / Flickr

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

搜尋餐廳

Everything You Need to Know About the Japanese Flag

Have you ever been curious about the origins of the Japanese flag? Where did such a simple, yet striking design come from? And why the sun? In this article, we explain not only why the sun is on the Japanese flag, but when it appeared, along with other variants of the national flag.

Nationwide

Japanese Culture

The Hinomaru - Japan's National Flag

Despite its relative simplicity (the simplest in the world, according to some) nothing may be more iconic and Japanese than its national flag. The red disk, centered on a white plane is immediately recognizable across the world and evokes strong images of both Japan and the Japanese people. Known in Japan officially as "Nisshoki" (日章旗), which means “flag of the sun,” it is more commonly referred to as "Hinomaru" (日の丸) or the “circle of the sun.” Both names refer to the nation’s sobriquet, the “Land of the Rising Sun,” which has been attached to Japan for over 1200 years. 

History of the Flag of Japan

What is On the White Background of the National Flag of Japan?

There is a solid red circle on the white background of the Japanese flag which represents the sun. The reasons for this design have deep religious and cultural roots.

The sun plays a central role in Japanese culture. Shinto, the indigenous polytheistic religion of the islands, places a very large emphasis on the sun. Out of the thousands of deities present in the religion, the most important is the sun-goddess Amaterasu. She is both the primary deity of Shinto and the claimed progeny of the Japanese imperial line. This sun worship, in combination with the geographic placement of Japan in relation to China (from its perspective, the sun rises over the Japanese archipelago) contributed to not only the name of the country but the placement of the sun on its flag. 

The “red sun on a white background” motif is old, though it wasn’t always in continual use and it didn’t always refer to the country as a whole. The "rising sun" aspect of Japan has been in use since the early 7th century when the emperor referred to himself as the “Emperor of the Rising Sun” in official correspondence with the Chinese court.

The late 8th century saw the first recorded use of a New Year’s Day flag known as "Nissho," or the flag with a golden sun. What form this flag took, however, is unknown. The current colors, red on white, are thought to have come about after the Genpei War in the 12th century.

The banners of two warring clans (the Taira clan and the Genji clan) both featured the sun, represented by a circle, but with different color schemes. The Taira clan's banner featured a gold sun on a red background, whereas the Genji clan's banner featured a red circle on a white background. As the Genji clan was victorious and became the rulers of a united Japan, it is thought that their color scheme was passed along and eventually came to be used by the feudal government.

The oldest known Japanese flag in existence is housed at the Unpo-ji temple in Yamanashi prefecture, where although its claim as a gift from the Emperor Go-Reizei in the 11th century may be dubious, it's at the very least 4-500 years old, originating before the 16th century. 

The Hinomaru Officially Becomes the Flag of Japan

It wasn’t until the late 19th century that Japan adopted the Hinomaru as the official flag of Japan. Once Europeans began making more contact through the middle of the 19th century, Japan found a need to be able to identify its ships versus those of foreign countries. In 1854, the Tokugawa shogunate ordered all Japanese ships to fly the Hinomaru for identification purposes, and in 1870 it was made the official flag of merchant ships trading within Japan and abroad.

From 1870 until 1885, the Hinomaru was designated as the official flag of Japan. This 15 year stint was cut short due to a change in the way Japanese laws were codified in 1885. All laws before that year that had not been published in the “Official Gazette of Japan” were abolished, including the law making the flag the official national flag.

This led to the Hinomaru becoming the de facto—though not the legal—national flag. It wasn't until over a hundred years later, in 1999, when the “Law Regarding the National Flag and National Anthem” was passed and once again made the Hinomaru the official national flag of Japan. 

Variations of the Flag of Japan

The single red disk on a white background is far from the only variation of the Japanese flag, and there are several others commonly and controversially seen both historically and currently. Both branches of the military—the army and the navy—use the “Rising Sun Flag.” This takes the Japanese red sun and adds 16 red rays, or “spokes,” from the center to the borders of the flag.

The Imperial Japanese Army flag (shown above), in use from 1868 through the end of the Second World War, centered the sun in the middle of the flag.

 

The Imperial Japanese Navy variant (shown above), in use from 1889 to the end of World War Two, put the sun slightly off-center and to the left. After the war, both branches continued to controversially use the flags flown in WW2 with only minor modifications.

The flag of the Japan Self-Defense Forces and the Japan Ground Self-Defense Forces (Japan's current defense-only military branches) reduced the rays from 16 to 8, made the flag a square, and added a gold border around the edges. 

The newly created Japan Maritime Self-Defense Force, on the other hand, simply changed the color of the Imperial Japanese Navy flag to a slightly brighter red, keeping the rest of it the same. 

Is The Flag Commonly Flown in Japan Today?

Contrary to its ubiquitous presence overseas, the Hinomaru is not actually seen that often in Japan nowadays. If it is flown, it is usually only at government or state-owned buildings. You will see the flag in front of city halls, publicly owned high schools, banks, and other such civic-minded places. This is due to its association with the Second World War and ultranationalism, which was a large part of Japanese state ideology during the war.

People who fly the flag privately often do so because of such ultranationalist, or nationalist beliefs. This is also the reason it took the Japanese government until 1999 to make the Hinomaru the official flag of Japan, and even then, the law didn't pass without controversy. For most Japanese people, the flag exists either as a marker of government infrastructure or the banner of the nationalist fringe. 

Japan-Influenced Flags Across the World

Although it may not have the same level of presence or effect on other national flags that the American, British, or French flag has had, there are two countries that have similar-looking flags to the Hinomaru.

Palau

Palau, a small Pacific island nation located south-east of the Philippines, uses an off-center yellow disk on a blue background. The yellow disk represents the moon while the blue represents the Pacific Ocean. Although it and the Japanese flag are extremely similar, the creator of the flag and various Palauan officials deny any connection to the Japanese flag.

Bangladesh

Similarly, the Bangladeshi flag places an off-center red disk on a green background. Initially, the red disk contained a yellow outline of the country itself, though this was removed in a revision of the flag in 1972. The green stands for the lushness of the country’s greenery, while the red the bloodshed by the Bengalis during their liberation war. Again, there is no official connection with the Japanese flag despite their very apparent similarities. 

Flags Within Japan

Japan’s vexological prowess doesn’t just stop with its national flag. The subnational flags of its prefectures are also symbolic, striking, and aesthetically pleasing to the eye. Many of the flags incorporate local or meaningful “mons,” which are traditional motifs used in Japanese heraldry and usually symbolize important objects or things. Here are the top five best/most notable prefectural flags flown today.

Tokyo

Tokyo has two official flags, though this is the more common of the two. The green symbol in the center of the flag is both a leaf from a ginkgo tree and a highly stylized “T” for Tokyo. 

Osaka

The Osaka flag uses a mon that represents a “calabash,” a long gourd that was also the symbol of Toyotomi Hideyoshi (the Regent of Japan in the late 1500s and a famous historical figure). The blue background stands for many things, the sea, the sky, and the several rivers that run through the prefecture. 

Okinawa

The Okinawan flag, just like the Japanese flag, is a very simple construction with a very powerful effect. It is simply the Japanese flag enclosed by an “O,” representing Okinawa.

Fukuoka

The symbol at the center of the Fukuoka flag represents two things. On one hand, it is a highly stylized hiragana ふく (fuku), which are the first two syllables of the prefecture’s name. On the other hand, it also represents the plum, which is the prefectural flower.

Shizuoka

Readily apparent, Shizuoka places Mount Fuji on the center of its flag. The blue color of the background stands for both the sky and the Pacific Ocean, while the orange for sunlight and passion.  

Conclusion

Of course, those prefectural flags and the Hinomaru are far from the only flags in the country. With the Japanese preference for flat, minimalistic design, the country is awash with city, municipal, school, and association flags that are all unique and pleasing to the eye. If you enjoy the motif of the Hinomaru, it is worth a search to check out the hundreds of other flags that fly across the country. Who knows, maybe one, in particular, will catch your eye! 

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

Title image: railway fx / Shutterstock

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search